Theonlinecitizen has obtained a copy of the original blog entry by Raffles Institution teacher, Otto Fong. It also includes comments which were originally posted by readers of his article.

The original posting on his own blog has since been taken down.

AN OPEN LETTER FROM OTTO FONG

I am Otto Fong. I have been teaching Science in Raffles Institution for the last eight years.

Being a teacher has been the most rewarding part of my professional life thus far. My students continue to amaze me daily with their wit, maturity, independent thinking and leadership. It is very fulfilling that I am a part of an institution that moulds the future generation of Singapore‘s leaders.

Leaders are people who can rise above the tide of popular opinion, people who are guided by the conviction of rightness and justice and in being so guided, lead others towards that right path.

Recent events leading to my action

Recent events have made me decide to write this open letter. In April this year, Minister Mentor Mr Lee Kuan Yew – one of the school’s greatest alumni – called homosexuality a “genetic variation”, questioning the validity of criminalising gay sex. In July, MP Baey Yam Keng expressed support for the repeal of Section 377A of the penal code (which criminalises gay sex acts). In August, Malaysian columnist and ordained pastor Oyoung Wenfeng released his inspiring new Mandarin book “Tong Gen Sheng”, encouraging gay men and women to come out of the closet.

A few evenings later, I attended a forum organised by People Like Us on gay teachers and students. A few brave twenty-something guys asked, “Why has there been so little guidance available to me as a gay teenager?” It was a question that I had asked myself often, growing up.

When I became a teacher in 1999, I looked back on the good guidance my own teachers gave me as a template, and tried to be a better teacher to my students. Besides teaching them Science, I spent considerable effort in imparting good social values: give up your seats to the needy, save the handicapped parking lot for those in wheelchairs and their caretakers, respect people regardless of profession or social status.

How hate is perpetuated

Yet, in the eight years I have taught, I have done little for that small group of students who are gay. When the religious group Focus on the Family masqueraded as sex guidance counselors and gave a talk full of misinformation about homosexuality to our students, I was furious but kept my mouth shut.

When my niece returned from school saying, “Gays are disgusting!” I knew she learnt that hatred from a classmate, who had in turn absorbed that hatred from a parent. I knew that this hatred has been perpetrated for generations. But hatred grew out of fear, and hatred, as a line in a movie goes, “leads to the Dark Side.” This is the same environment of hatred I grew up in, as a gay teenager and student.

Until Section 377A* is repealed, there will be precious little the Ministry of Education can do to help these students. As a teacher, I am bound by my professional duty to follow the directives of my superiors.

While these events helped crystallize my decision to come out of the closet, my motivation remains deeply personal.

My family and I

As far back as primary six, I have been aware of my attraction towards classmates of the same sex. For those who argued about nurturing factors of the family, my brother and sister grew up under the same parents and remained heterosexuals despite growing up with me in close proximity.

As a teenager, I was very quick to sense society’s aversion towards the ‘sissies’ in my classes. I worked hard to distance myself from them. While I was successful in modifying my outward behavior, my sexual orientation remained unchanged. My denial gnawed at me, and the suppression of my true self resulted in self-destructive behavior during my overseas university years.

Fortunately, my American fraternity mates were supportive. I began to see a counselor who helped me accept myself for who and what I am.

Returning to Singapore, I came out to my family. My father, mother, brother and sister, out of love for their son and brother, walked the long road to acceptance. It was not easy for them, but they loved me before I came out, and they love me after. When I finally settled down with my longtime companion (we have been together for more than nine years), my entire family made sure my nieces and nephews included us in their lives. I loved my family too much to keep them in the dark, to deny them the chance to really know me. And they loved me too much to let some old prejudice tear our family apart.

I kept my sexual orientation a secret at work, and only a handful of my colleagues knew about me.

I don’t want to be a bonsai tree

Not counting my childhood, I have spent more than twenty years in the professional closet. I am nearing my fourth decade on Earth. While I have had some successes in life, I am not content to be just average. As I have often told my students, “Why be average when you can be your best?”

Do you know what a bonsai tree is? A bonsai tree is an imitation of a real tree. It is kept in a small pot with limited nutrients, trimmed constantly to fit someone else’s whim. It looks like a real tree, except it can’t do many things a real tree can. It cannot provide shelter, it cannot find food on its own; its life and death are totally reliant on its owner. It is the plant version of the 3-inch Chinese bound foot for women: useless and painful.

Being in the closet, pretending to be straight, trimming our true selves to suit the whims and expectations of others, is just like being a human bonsai tree. By staying in the closet, we cannot even hope to be average, much less above and beyond average.

I felt that in order to reach my fullest potential as a useful human being, I must first fully accept myself, and face the world honestly. I have lived long enough to know that what I am is not a disease, an aberration or a mental illness.

Hate is not a religious value

Many people have cited many ‘reasons’ for hating homosexuals, just as many people tried to justify their views that the Earth was flat, that the darker skinned should always be inferior, and that women should subjugate their lives to men. The teachings of the world’s great religious traditions offer many words of wisdom, but the interpretations of their human followers are not infallible. As Jesus said in his Sermon on the Mount (yes, a personal Bible was given to me by a great lady and I honored her by reading the book), we must love our neighbors as ourselves. It is a simple teaching, but one that’s rarely followed by those who seek to oppress people different from themselves. The path to enlightenment always faces stubborn resistance. As Mahatma Gandhi said, “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you…”

There are some people who are using homosexuality to advance their personal ambitions vis a vis religion. They claim that the homosexual ‘agenda’ is to make the whole world gay and threaten the stability of the family. Yet, let us examine the evidence: Denmark, Norway and Sweden, the first countries to legalise gay marriage, are more stable than ever – their population has not been converted by gays and their heterosexual divorce rates have even decreased since gays have been afforded legal rights. (William N. Eskridge, Jr and Darren R. Spedale, Oxford University Press, 2006).

The only agenda gay people have is to be able to live with the same rights and dignity as our heterosexual brothers and sisters. Our very vocal opponents are the ones actively preying on innocent people, recruiting them to their cause by spreading fear and misinformation. I hope thinking people will quickly see that it is this small group of vocal objectionists who have a more dangerous agenda, that their fight with gay people has nothing to do with what’s right or wrong, but is merely a litmus test of their political influence. For peace and prosperity to continue, Singapore must always uphold secularism, where each different segment of the population respects the beliefs and rights of the others.

Can a country with no natural resources afford to drive away its own citizens?

There is a very pragmatic reason that you should support the rights and dignity of gay Singaporeans: in this globally-competitive era, Singapore needs her gay sons and daughters, just as we need our Singaporean Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, immigrants, men and women, old folks and young. Most importantly, we need those gay sons and daughters because those gay sons and daughters are Singaporean Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, immigrants, men and women, old folks and young. Can a country without natural resources continue to flourish when it starts to drive away its own children?

As I said before, leaders are people who are guided by the conviction of rightness and justice and in being so guided, lead others towards that right path.

I am still a teacher. My main purpose and joy is to teach our youngest citizens, the same ones who will be the leaders of our nation tomorrow. But, I feel I am shortchanging both society and myself by staying in the closet. I must be true to myself. If my colleagues and students, both gay and straight, see that being true to one’s own self has great value, perhaps we can produce a new generation who is truly courageous. A new generation of young people who are proud to be themselves, no matter what difference they have from their classmates. Then I will have succeeded in providing them a better education than I had the opportunity to receive during my years in school.

So here’s what I am, and I am a friend in need at the moment

So here it is: I, Otto Fong, have always been and always will be a gay man. When you ask about my spouse, I will say he is a man. I am as proud being gay as you are proud being straight. I am not, as some people like to label gays, a pedophile, a child molester, a pervert or sexual deviant. I did not choose to be gay, just like heterosexuals did not choose to be straight. I am not going to hell (not for being gay anyway).

I am not going back in the closet. When you ask me who I am, I will answer: I am a son, a brother, a long-time companion, an uncle, a teacher, a classmate, a colleague, a part of your community, a HDB dweller, a Singaporean. And I am also gay.

I would like to enjoy the respect that all other Singaporeans enjoy. I will not let the closet bind my feet, because I am made to sprint. I am not interested in being a bonsai tree, my DNA is programmed to climb higher. My heart aspires to reach my fullest potential as a human being.

I hope, dear friends and colleagues, that you look back and remember what I am, and see that I am not someone you fear. I am essentially the same person – flawed, imperfect, but brought up properly by two loving parents to lead a productive, beneficial and meaningful life. My friends and family love me for who I am, and I hope you can too. I come out to you with as much hope and trepidation as when I first come out to my mother and father. Your support and understanding are very important to me at this moment.

Thank you, may you prosper in health and soul.

Yours sincerely,

Otto Fong

8th Sept 2007

Comments:

christao17 said…

Yeah, Otto! Tawn and I are so proud of you! You’ll certainly face resistence, ignorance, and hostility – but you’ll be pleasantly surprised with how much more support, affection, and appreciation you receive. Best regards!

September 8, 2007 8:47 AM

Bong said…

GO SIR!

As an ex-student from RI, your sexuality was never in doubt. Although you have never taught me, you came across to me as a very cheerful, artistically inclined teacher :) I remember how you tried to teach us how to draw cartoons with your workshops.

Now that you have decided to open up, I can only wish you all the best in your struggle against societal views. I don’t know if this is the right media to open up to, or if the timing is right, or if you have taken precautionary steps beforehand to protect yourself, but one thing that is undeniable is your concern for youths. A simple question of “why has there been so little guidance available to me as a gay teenager?” contributed to this courageous move, by appealing to your “teacherish”/personal instincts to come clean. That is a mark of a great teacher :)

Bless you

-Lim Bing Li (class of 2005)

September 9, 2007 5:01 AM

Jock said…

Hi Otto,

Firstly, I want to let you know that I admire and respect your decision to come out to your friends and especially to the people you work with. I am sure you have thought this through and have the support of your partner, family and your friends.

I will never understand your motivations for choosing a public media like this to reveal such personal insights about yourself and how it can help you be a better teacher and colleague.

What it will only do is provoke a knee jerk reaction from your school, the school’s board and the parents of the students who are paying high tuitions fees to pay your salary. Unfortunately, the group that will stand to lose most are your students, whom you have been an inspiring and admirable teacher, guide, mentor and friends to.

I truly believe that it is time for a change. But I don’t believe that RI, MOE or Singapore is ready to contemplate having a male gay teacher, especially in an all boys school. I may be wrong, but I foresee that in the knee jerk reaction, you will be asked to leave the school. The students, that you so hope to provide guidance to with this announcement will then be deprived of that guidance by such a forward looking teacher like you.

I do sincerely hope that your actions will lead to a positive change in your students, your school and Singapore.

September 9, 2007 6:27 AM

1029 said…

=)

a great read, and great to know. like it or not, i have so many gay friends who are teachers that i have lost count. you made the right decision, and it is time. if not, you wouldn’t have done it.

all the best.

September 9, 2007 8:42 AM

‘ [ gAnNie ] said…

Dear Mr Fong, regardless of your sexuality, you’ll still always be one of our greatest ever teachers.

We believe that your decision to announce this in public media like a blog is not an uncalculated one. Right now we are feeling afraid for you for the potential backlash that you will get. The world isn’t perfect; we have learnt that through our experiences and what you have taught us. The backlash will be great, people being people, gossip will spread like wildfire.

RI’s motto reads “Auspicium Melioris Aevi”. Hope of a better age. Its ironic in a sense that the direction this school is taking may not be relating to this ideal you are strongly advocating. Even right now as this is being typed, people we know, students you might like, are already having an adverse reaction to this. On msn people are reacting. This is life, Headmaster may know, but whatever his stand is, diplomatic or not, do not worry. You are more than justified in being unique and being a special person. Live in that glory, have self belief.

We as leaders under you for two years have seen how you set the foundation for us and pushed us forward. Where we are now, especially in our cca leadership has come from you. We strongly believe that your teaching is too valuable to be compromised because of sexual orientation. RI cant lose this gem. We hope they don’t.

Life in 1E and 2E would have been extremly boring and uneventful if not for your being our FT and we greatly appreciate what you’ve done for us in our lower sec years.

To us, you were definitely more of a teacher than any other teachers we ever had; especially in light of your post. Hence, we thank you for everything and my family supports you in every way too.

Again, this is not a letter in which Si Yuan and Eugene are following the crowd to write letters to you. This is a sincere encouragement to the ideals in which you push for, however faint and unrealistic they seem at the present moment. Eugene “I being a Christian, I know that my religion does not condone this, but I tell you that Christianity is not a religion of rules and strict restrictions. It is one of love and acceptance.” Keep that in mind.

We being your students who have looked up to you so much, admittedly are shocked, but are certain that our respect for you will never change. To end this, we only have to say, expect the worst, its life, but hope for the best, and know that amongst the group of people behind you. Family, partner, friends, you have Yeo Si Yuan and Eugene Gan as well.

We wish you the best!

Yours sincerely

Yeo Si Yuan (Asst. Monitor 0’5, Monitor ’06), Eugene Gan (Treasurer ’05,’06)

September 9, 2007 8:49 AM

Ng Yi-Sheng said…

Thanks, Otto. I’ve read both your comic books – “Sir Fong” and “Sir Fong 2″, so I know about your love of teaching and I can see how brave a step this is. I wish you the best of luck in school, and I only wish my own gay teachers had been as open as you.

September 9, 2007 12:30 PM

skinnylatte said…

I applaud you. Your decision, whatever the implications, makes a difference.

Adrianna

http://www.popagandhi.com

September 9, 2007 1:39 PM

Kevin said…

Mr Otto, as a fairly straight person, I must admit it’s hard to realize the social prejudice faced by someone in the gay community in Singapore.

Aside from your clear documentation of local events, it’s neat that you’ve share your cross-cultural experience as well, so we know how social support structures could be improved.

Finally, I find it quite appropriate that you’ve shared this on your blog, and I do hope more readers / bloggers are encouraged to bear a more open mind and a supportive heart.

Kevin Lim

http://theory.isthereason.com

September 9, 2007 3:07 PM

kohfamey said…

Hi Mr Fong. I’m Jie Kai, and I worked with you in a play about 7 years ago, back when I was in RI. This is a very brave decision you are taking. I wish you all the best.

September 9, 2007 5:39 PM

Randuwa said…

Otto,

Your words and your act of integrity is being discovered all around the world. I am also a teacher, 23 years in the elementary school level here in the United States. For the past 13, I have had the privilege of working for a school district where my being gay was no more important than my wearing a green shirt to school! I know it’s not so easy in Singapore. You have all my well wishes.

randy
randuwa.blogspot.com

September 9, 2007 5:54 PM

Sivasothi said…

Dude, what a powerful letter! It was also inspiring to read your student’s comments. You sound like an insightful and dedicated teacher, well done.

All the best.

September 9, 2007 7:02 PM

numbernine said…

Hi,

As an old boy I’ve always found that RI, in spite of its ambivalent attitudes towards unconventional sexuality, has always been a more tolerant place than many would expect. A teacher who taught my year was transgendered. A student from my year was gay. He came out of the closet after he left school but many of us suspected he was gay anyhow. (Later on, the aforementioned student became the subject of controversy when he was dismissed from his post of relief teacher with no explanation given.)

I was also involved (only a bit part) in a drama production which tackled the topic of homosexuality. It won the drama feste, even though admittedly the rest of the script was quite ordinary, so I think the judges were applauding its courage.

I bring all these up because the RI that I studied in did give a fair bit of leeway to homosexuals / transgendered people. I don’t want it to be easy for other people to say “RI is supposed to be like ___” (insert euphemism for “intolerant”).

Because the RI that was so much a part of my youth and growing up was not like that.

September 9, 2007 7:24 PM

Monkey said…

I really applaud you. I have so many gay friends who are as you said, in a professional closet and I think you’ve a great leap forward. This letter was superbly well written and expressed so much love and if nothing else, I can tell you are a great teacher just from reading these words. Indeed, who is there to give students the objective perception of other sexualities in our school systems! We need more like you :)

September 9, 2007 7:30 PM

Colin said…

Well done, Otto. I wish you courage and all the best in the tough days ahead. Thank you for standing up and to be counted.

September 9, 2007 7:37 PM

Lucian said…

This is my personal opinion (insert standard disclaimer).

MOE should fire you.

Only if they’re willing to fire all heterosexual teachers working in schools which have students of the opposite sex.

Thanks for being courageous. We could definitely have a litle more openness and straight (pardon the pun) talk.

September 9, 2007 7:53 PM

loupgarou said…

you are so brave in homophobic singapore..(ok lah,.. only the extremist xtian sects are homophobes)

September 9, 2007 8:13 PM

Saltwetfish said…

Great courage, well done!

September 9, 2007 8:42 PM

Miak said…

we stand with you.

truth, love and courage will stand all trials and tribulations, and there are no greater values to teach the next generation but these

September 9, 2007 8:51 PM

d8nnis said…

You share the same name as my BF!

I’m proud of you coming out, doing the things you believe in.

I live overseas, not because of prejudice, as you get those everywhere in the world (except SFO, AMS and SYD) but also of better opportunities.

I do not think it’s a Singapore issue. We should not have an arguement based on religion. We should also not base our arguement on the pink dollar.

We should leave Politics, Religion and Capitalism out of the picture.

Why should equality be debated on those? We should just have equality regardless, Period.

September 9, 2007 9:15 PM

Eileena said…

Wonderful! I remember you from Oyoung’s “Tong Gen Sheng” launch, glad that you took the big step to come out. Take care and keep well!

September 9, 2007 10:31 PM

Sandy said…

I am so glad the hear that the law may be repealed in Singapore in the near future. I am looking forward to a world where everyone is accepted for who they are everywhere. No prejudices or bigotry. My best to you.

September 9, 2007 10:44 PM

guapochino said…

We are so proud of you! Way to go! I think you have just shown the way. We’re proud to stand behind you and give you our full support!

September 9, 2007 10:54 PM

jeff said…

Wow! this is definitely great!! and wishes more people will have some time to read it.

Bravo Otto, you are fantastic, brave and motivated.

210 Responses to “TOC Exclusive: Otto Fong’s Open Letter”

1. sieteocho,

has anybody been thrown into jail for homosexuality so far?

so just because you have been used to things being forced down your throat so now you do the same to other people?

if a police office tells me i shouldn’t take drugs because our country would suffer economically, i would give him one tight slap. we stop drugs because we want to save lives not to enrich the economy but simply because it is the morally right thing to do.

prostitution is legal not because of the money it brings but because of a social need that it satisfies. because it isn’t about money, prositution is neither promoted nor advertised.

i jog past a hotel with hookers standing outside almost every night.

you can use money to explain concepts. but you can’t use it to judge matters of principle and morality.

i don’t think anybody would glare or want to punch or tell a gay couple to shoo. people may stare but that’s simple out of curiosity. that’s the price to pay for being at the forefront.

yes you have fought on your own, but RI boy chose to hide behind LKY. so what if LKY wasn’t around? he won’t fight anymore?

you sure have listed enough to satisfy yourself. but it is not enough to change my beliefs. and if because of that you say that i am intolerant, i can only say, your paragraphs aren’t concrete enough.

2. beAr,

the problem is that the minority is insisting on the majority to accept their views. so if the minority can take a step back and say “i have stated my stance, i have made myself clear. i have been heard. i have also heard from the other side. we can choose to agree to disagree.” then we can be harmonious. if the minority won’t take no for an answer and keep perstering the majority to convert, it’ll simple mean endless quarrels and arguments.

no, your flip argument isn’t obvious, maybe i’m not asture enough. could you unflip it so that i may come to understand how my unreasoning has been unsound? could you also enlighten me how i have put words into your mouth and what bad is it that you mean? thank you.

in switzerland, all men have weapons at home. so having a gun isn’t necessarily wrong.

it’s also funny that you mention the part about “why should i hurt people just because i’m carrying a gun?”, since it was you yourself who brought up the example of why we should NOT support people who espouse gun-toting as a parallel to why we should not support homosexuality. talking about shooting yourself in the leg…

you can call it fighting. but it is only verbal fighting. i think that is only as far as we can go. as for leaving this place, you call that fighting? more like giving up isn’t it? i’m not saying you are wrong. i’m just saying leaving means given up.

since you like flipping, why not flip it around and think of it as you being the one with preconceived notions?

3. sieteocho 13 September 2007

OK, so it’s a law that is never used. Why leave it there? Why not abolish that law? Because if a law is not used and you leave it there other people might think it’s alright to break other laws right?

You can’t have it both ways. If you agree with me that it’s OK that that law is never used then you are saying that it shouldn’t be illegal now or in the future. Which means that the law should be abolished. Or you can say that the law should stay, in which case homosexuals should be thrown into jail. Or you can take the third position and say that we can have laws that aren’t followed in which case you are saying that you can mess around with the law.

About forcing things down people’s throats, you need to realise that by thinking that homosexuality is wrong and should be illegal, it is intolerant and it is forcing your beliefs down other people’s throats. People are gay and can’t help it, and you are forcing them to be a second class citizen. If you think forcing things down other people’s throats is wrong then why do you do it?

Maybe you don’t use only money to judge matters of principle and morality, but I will demand that you have to explain in a concrete way why things are wrong and not use abstract principles. You might want to know that that was the way that the Nazis were thinking. A lot of Jews, homosexuals, gypsies and mental patients died because it was somebody’s “gut feeling” that it was immoral. Just want you to know that there is a lot of similarity between your thinking and their thinking.

If you say that something is wrong but you are not able to explain why it is wrong then it is bigotry, simple as that.

4. Nobody is absolutely right and none is totally wrong and so it appears. For thousands of years discussions and studies have not reached any conclusion and none can be expected. But maybe we have much fun and entertainment from the arguments.

5. Hey BeAr and sieteocho

I personally feel there are many serious problems created by homosexuality (for reasons different from TrulySingapore’s). Ultimately, our own beliefs are just too ingrained in our psyche to be changed by the most rational arguments.

Trulysingapore and I are probably not gonna change our minds, ever, but I’m sure you have reached out to those who are not burdened by baggage, religious and/or otherwise.

And, Otto, I wish there were more straight men who have the same courage and integrity as you in this world.

Iife is definitely stranger than fiction because my first living and breathing Singaporean hero is a gay man!

*Comments edited by moderator. No personal attacks, please. Thanks.

6. The issue shouldn’t be about homosexual TOLERANCE but one of ACCEPTANCE. Gay people are still people after all. The only difference is they seek sexual intimacy with other people of the same gender. I salute Otto’s brave move and hope that this will help bring more public awareness to the plight of homosexuals not just in Singapore but everywhere in the world.

7. Goh Bun Hiong, bunhiong@magix.com.sg 13 September 2007

to mr fong, i salute you for your honesty. to ri, i can only say that this is a perfect opportunity to take the lead and show the way, that we’re not content to just accept ‘mainstream wisdom’ and practices, that we’re enlightened enough to distinguish between issues of morality (homosexuality is not a morality issue), job performance (“was mr fong good at what he did ?”) vs personal inclinations and mainstream practices.

if ri has to lose mr fong, it has to be for the right reasons and not because he was different.

if i had a son, i would be more ashamed of him if he did not give up his seats to the needy or if he engaged in low-down shameless office politics and corporate backstabbing. strangely enough, i know of many who are held in high esteem despite such questionable character traits (which i should add, IS a morality issue in my opinion).

we should take a leaf from history and remember that many important discoveries and milestones were achieved during the dutch golden age, where many researchers flocked to the netherlands (due to her reputation for tolerance) to avoid the fates of galileo and copernicus. they were discredited professionally on grounds that have absolutely no relevance to their profession.

[just some food for thought on the issue of tolerance, 'am not proposing that we embrace the dutch system, i can already predict detractors trying to sidetrack this discussion with the chaos caused by the casual attitudes towards drugs and sex in the netherlands. let's not confuse the issues, we're now on the issue of whether mr fong should stay as an educator, if not, we should support that purely on professional and moral grounds and not on grounds that he is different]

btw, for the records, i am non-gay and singapore.

8. Goh Bun Hiong, bunhiong@magix.com.sg 13 September 2007

ps : the last line should have read : i am singaporean and non-gay

9. For a gay person (guys especially), it is so hard to come out of the closet.

Otto, I salute you on this occasion that you choose to reveal yourself to the public eye. For this, gay people will remember you and other pioneers who try their best to change public opinion towards homosexuality. I am ashamed to say that I was, and am still a little, predisposed against the gay population, but I’m trying hard to get rid of my own prejudices.

Thank you for coming out. =)

10. shoestring 13 September 2007

As an ex-Rafflesian, I have been following this closely. I do admire Otto Fong for his courage, regardless of the motivation behind his letter. To be fair to my Alma Mater, however, I hope TOC and/ or Mr Fong would oblige with the following information:

It would be great if TOC or Mr Fong could provide the original full statement from the MOE/ RI on their websites. I believe it is important to view the quote on Fridae’s website in its full context. The last time I checked, it wasn’t found on the MOE website.

It would be very much appreciated if Mr Fong could clarify whether he had already intended/ been confirmed to leave RI before coming out on his blog.

11. Hi shoestring,

We’re not aware of any press release by MOE. We had expected MOE and RI to issue press releases but as far as I know, they didn’t and haven’t.

I am not sure why Fridae.com cited (or quoted) an MOE press release.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh
    co-editor

12. To Rin,

I just like to clarify, to love someone does not necessarily mean to seek sexual intimacy. Love can be expressed through other means.

To others,

I just hope that all of you please stop arguing constantly over mr otto fong. No matter whether he’s gay or not, its his own private affair. Please don’t make baseless accusations out of empty air, and digress from the main point. I also feel shocked after reading Ponder’s comments. I am currently in RI, but not taught (yet) by mr otto fong. Only now did i know he was gay. He has never gone around advocating homosexualism. And i’ve never seen any of his current students turn gay. He just acts normal, thats it. Insiders know the best about the situation, so please control yourself if you’re not one of them. And anyway, a person’s sexuality can never be changed by others, only yourselves. Of course there are exceptions, in cases of sexual abuse. A “gay agenda” spoken by a local pastor is really stupid, cos its nearly impossible and meaningless. Gays have better things to do, like everyone else.

13. gambling is against the law, but that doesn’t stop people from gambling at home during chinese new year. so everyone’s breaking the law during chinese new year yet nobody gets caught. nobody bothers with the law yet the law is there. should we abolish gambling laws too?

the law is there as a deterrent. gambling is not tolerated but who cares if you do it as part of a festive custom behind doors? similarly in the case of homosexuality, the law is necessary as a deterrent because it is against general public sentiments. but nobody will stop you doing what you do behind closed doors.

so you you can have it both ways and i do not agree it’s ok we abolish the law simply because no one hasn’t been caught yet. it is because of the law that no one hasn been caught yet.

you claim that it’s wrong to think of homosexuality as wrong. but you also think of nudity and porno as wrong. but someone else, like the french may say nudity and porno are right. so you see, everyone has different standards. as such, there is no right or wrong standard to follow. there is only the general standard set by society, followed by most people. that is the standard we stick to.

it is precisely because i think forcing down the throat is wrong that i refuse to let you force your opinions down mine.

you need to be specific about your demands. what precisely is it that you demand that i explain?

you analogy is too far from the truth. the nazis systematically exterminated the jews and homosexuals. do we see homosexuals exterminated? do we see them rounded up in concentration camps? do we even see them scolded or beaten up? nothing! nothing at all. nobody touched them. why do you say we’re nazis when we didn’t even touch them? your reasoning is a little twisted to be believed.

you never, never judge matters of principle and consience with money. the moment you do that, it means someone can buy your consience.

i did not say homosexuality is wrong. i am only saying that our society doesn’t accept homosexuality as yet. so it is wrong to force society to accept homosexuality just because a small minority says so. the homosexual isn’t denied of his rights, so there is no wrong done to them.

so don’t use the word bigotry on me. i don’t think that’s being fair.

14. To all,

A teacher informed my class that Mr Fong would have left RI next year anyway, for plans to further his studies overseas, his leaving RI was not a result or consequence of this letter.(To whoever taught he left because of this)

I feel that ever since this letter had received so much attention, I have noticed that students started averting their eyes or some avoided him, he also appeared downcast. This is saddening, if homosexuality is truly a result of genetic traits being passed down, then what could those gay people have done about their sexual orientation, as Mr Fong has stated. A teacher says that he had known about this for some time already, and he expects our class to support Mr Fong.

Also, I can see that Mr Fong is very much a normal person despite his sexual orientation, this came as a surprise to us, he taught his lessons really well and we all just think of him as a great science teacher.

I don’t particularly support homosexuality, as it just feels unnatural, but I believe we should treat them as we would treat any other person. As a Christian, like so many others who have said, even if it does feel ‘wrong’ they are still human, and God loves them as much as you and I. Other religions also would tell their believers that we should treat people equally right?

Well. I’m tired.
    Good luck people
    and bye bye

15. Hello
    “I being a Christian, I know that my religion does not condone this, but I tell you that Christianity is not a religion of rules and strict restrictions. It is one of love and acceptance.”
    I am a Christian too, I do not support homosexuality too and completely agree with this.
    I admire your courage to write this article and I am sure many others do too. Perhaps you may be asked to leave the school, and some people will still look at you in disgust, but always remember that many other people will look at you in admiration.
    You have led other homosexuals in this stand of respect, and for many heterosexuals with new found insight and respect.

God loves You,
    NG

16. >>>A Little Bird Atop the Canopy: despite MOE’s press statement, we have not seen any disciplinary action against Mr Fong have we? is he not a teacher at RI still?

Yes, but how do you know that implicit disciplinary action was not meted out? I doubt the principal called him into the office just to chit chat.

And you would know that there are many ways for a boss to get his/her subordinate to do his/her bidding without handing out outright punishment. As you have read the blog entry, Otto Fong was adamant that he wasn’t going to go back into the closet. So what did the principal do to make him go back inside? Only Otto Fong and the principal would know, and it would be an entire story in itself.

>>>i think is good that the MOE adopts its own stance irrespective of what MM or SM says. because that would mean they have a mind of their own.

As a government ministry, the MOE has to base its education line on directives handed down from the government ministers, and given that the biggest minister of them all has already stated that homosexuality is linked to genes, they should be expected to toe the government line.

====

And as for the laws against gambling, there’s a reason why the authorities call it the “Gambling SUPPRESSION Act”, not “Gambling ERADICATION Act”. Therefore, you are wrong in saying that gambling is illegal. It has never been, for the law draws a line between social gambling and operating a gambling den.

On the other hand, the anti-gay sex laws are draconian and sweeping – no ifs, no butts [sorry for poor pun], no exceptions. As Mr Wang has said before, the punishment for anal penetration by a man on a man is as serious as culpable homicide not amounting to murder – yet it is ok for a man to penetrate a woman’s anus.

17. shoestring 14 September 2007

anon @ 124,

Whether Mr Fong is gay or not isn’t the issue. The issue to me is, why virtually everyone is jumping into the bandwagon pointing fingers at RI and MOE with unfounded accusations when there is no concrete evidence? Fridae.com is a gay site and I am curious as to why only they have access to the “statement”, not even MOE. Are arguments based on conjectures reliable? You are right. There shouldn’t have been a big hooha.

But it seems to me, some people are making a mountain out of a molehill. I know of students who have been asked to close down their blogs or delete blog entries for various reasons although they may not always be valid. They don’t cry wolf, do they? Or should teachers be given special privileges? They should in fact be more aware of the consequences of their actions and hence be more prepared to face them.

Really, what is the big deal? Unless there is a hidden agenda. And it becomes an issue when they mess with something as dear to my heart as my Alma Mater.

18. >>NutCase: I don’t particularly support homosexuality, as it just feels unnatural, but I believe we should treat them as we would treat any other person. As a Christian, like so many others who have said, even if it does feel ‘wrong’ they are still human, and God loves them as much as you and I. Other religions also would tell their believers that we should treat people equally right?

Ponder: Well said. Good to read postings from RI students who show a sense of maturity and sincerity.

19. i am really curious..

Why the big fuss on a homosexual saying he is one??

No one is condemning you so please dont make a big fuss and be a drama king or queen.

There are many people out there with bigger problems than yours and who need to be listened to as well so please move along, get along with your life, nobody’s condemning you, so shut up and live your life like the rest of us, and stop trying to claim gay rights in singapore, i’d rather support handicapped rights or yellow ribbon rights, people who really need help rather than people who keep imagining they are victims…

honestly, i am not homophobic but am tired of all these publicity grabbing antics, of reasserting yourself in the world.

why dont i reassert myself as well? i would like to come out of the closet!

*Comments edited by moderator.

20. sieteocho 14 September 2007

“you need to be specific about your demands. what precisely is it that you demand that i explain?”

When people claim that things are immoral, they should explain why it is immoral. That is the question I’m asking all people who think that homosexuality is wrong. Why is it wrong? So far the reasons are irrational, such as “it feels wrong”, or “the moral majority think that it’s wrong” or “it doesn’t lead to procreation”.

If moral standards are arbitrary then you can anyhow mess with the system and just say anything is wrong. The Nazis did this too. Sending the Jews (and homosexuals too) to be exterminated was step 5, but in order to get to step 5 you need to get through step 1, which is to say that they are immoral, without explaining why they are immoral. Maybe it will stop at step 1, but maybe it won’t.

That’s why, if you insist that something is wrong without being able to explain why it is wrong, then it is forcing things down people’s throats and is bigotry.

And as for you, I don’t understand, you can link homosexuality with promiscuity, prostitution, gambling, nudity, taking illegal drugs, that’s OK. Once I start linking prejudice with Nazism you start kaopehing.

I’m not going to insist that these people (who think that homosexuality is wrong) change their minds. So long as they admit: 1. they’re irrational and 2. so long as they persist in their beliefs, people are going to get hurt. Then it’s for them to change their minds.

And if trulysingapore doesn’t think that it’s wrong then why does he say that accepting homosexuality is the first step on the slippery slope to moral oblivion?

“why virtually everyone is jumping into the bandwagon pointing fingers at RI and MOE with unfounded accusations when there is no concrete evidence?”

RI and MOE should know that if and when they issue press statements that answer the questions that people have they will stop gossiping.

People need to come out because they need to realise that if they have to keep quiet about their sexual orientation this is not the same as “being treated the same as everybody else”. Is it possible to think that they are immoral and still “treat them the same as everybody else”?

21. a fellow human 14 September 2007

you are a very brave man. i respect you for that. singapore is not ready to accept gayness, and i dont think it will be anytime soon, our asian influences will make sure of that i think. however, i think that does not mean that we should not try to remove this discrimination, and accept people who are gay. as long as a gay does not promote people change their sexual orientation and are law abiding, i see no reason to dislike them or discriminate against them. i say we should accept the homosexuals in our society and respect them.

however, considering singapore’s political climate and culture, and the fact that you teach in a boy’s school, i think MOE or RI will try to get you to resign or fire you outright. because what you did will definitely endanger your ricebowl, i think it was a foolish thing to do, posting this letter under your real name. i know you feel outraged at the discrimination in singapore, but you should have thought about the consequences that might follow. your students might not be able to accept you now(this is obviously because of their sterotypes, you are in all ways a very good teacher) and this will impact your ability to teach.
    i admire you for your bravery. =)

22. Otto Fong is a remarkable man
    to come clean and acceptance with his own sexuality

Coming from a good background, good profession .. everything is going well for Otto Fong

But he risked it all for a clause.

The clause is gain social acceptance about his sexuality
    and not be looked down by others.

How many of us will risk everything we have to fight for a greater clause?
    Not many i would say.

Otto Fong had made his mark on history by doing just that.

23. Dear Mr Fong,

Well-said letter. I have learnt many things myself.

I know it has been a tough decision as to whether to take the risk of ostracizing, but at look – you’ve cleared the boulder in your heart! It IS not good to keep secrets to yourself.

If anyone should fire you or avoid you, it would be because of the dark patch in their own class. Being your student (I currently still am), I feel that you’ve been a wonderful teacher. With this letter in place, it seems like the complete building block for a model teacher.

We often do not have choices in our daily life and when we are made out to be different from the crowd, the crowd learns to respond by looking from you at a very different angle.

We may tell our peers and juniors to be this and this or this and that, but what is the use of that if we do not do it ourselves?!?!

I don’t think anyone should be telling you to take this letter down. Forcing someone to do it is as bad as marginalizing people. They’re saying,”you should be what you are and so don’t ever try to step out of that tiny circle we’ve drawn out for you. If you’re given this tag (the common perception and stereotyping), then be proud of it whatever it is, and hold it up high.” However good the reason may be, this is what it is.

I know this sounds very repulsive of the fact that people are pushed back into their closets. I am saying this once and for all. This will always have oncoming support from whoever out there, and will always receive criticisms on the morals and the moral values this action promotes.

Note to general public
    Role modelling should be the way. We should lead by example and not be shy to admit who we are, or what we are. We are Homo Sapiens, sentient creatures capable of wisdom. DO NOT OSTRACIZE HOMOSEXUALS. IT’S AS BAD AS RACISM.

It is also wrong to term such people as gay or what. Homosexual is only alright if you do not call yourself straight. After all, we’re all fellow human beings.

I hope this message has inspired you to rally against ostracizing homosexuals.

BE REAL. BE TRUE TO YOURSELF. DON’T BE AFRAID. BE YOURSELF.

Regards to all Earthlings,
    Jonathan Chow of class 2H, RI 2007.

24. disneyanime91 14 September 2007

Dear Sir,

Since I came into contact with you in Sec 3, I have never doubted your ability to teach. Even though you never taught me before, the simple gestures you gave to me while mentoring me in cartooning were more than enough to convince me. No matter your sexual orientation, I will always support you and respect you as a great teacher!

And to everyone else, being gay is not wrong. I feel that homosexuals are just like any other human, it is their choice, and who are we to deny them their rights? One should not be discriminated against because of his/her sexual orientation, it is, after all, moral courage and uprightness that defines a person.

Mr Fong, thank you very much for all the things you have done for me!

CGoh

25. Since when did God love homosexuals? The wave of “empathy”, or even sympathy i see here is simply too hypocritical. This man here is emphasizing the fact that he’s being true to himself, and comments given here opposes this outrightly, and seems to be ridiculous to such an extent that i see it as a mockery rather than an encouragement to him. Ask yourself some questions before you post sweet sounding comments like ” God loves you” or “i support you”. What if your son turns out to be gay? Will you tell him the same thing that you’re telling Mr Fong right here?

I’m not trying to ostracize homosexuals. The truth is the society is not ready to accept them as healthy and normal individuals. Voice your views truthfully, and responsibly, or it might create a facade for homosexuals in Singapore that the majority of the population condones homosexuality. Meanwhile, if I’m in Mr Fong’s position now, I’ll be more worried about the government’s action against me than protecting my sexuality.

Peace

26. chris chin 14 September 2007

My son is being taught by you. I used to be a person that really disliked guys and felt that they were not normal.

However, as i grow up, i found that the prejuiced was all mine. I applaud your courage, I am proud of you as my son’s teacher.
    I think you have a lot to teach and impart.

chrisc

27. Hi Mr Fong,

I am from Raffles and is Secondary 3 this year. It was certainly a brave confession from you, however I believe we as students of RI will continue to see you as a kind and caring teacher. Looking back last year when i was Secondary 2, you have published self-drawn comics which looked great and sold really well. Additionally, despite the fact that RI has an extremely and i stress, and extremely hectic schedule, you have never failed to show kindness and compassion on us students. Although I wasnt taught by you, i saw how you joked with your classes and your care and concern for not only your pupils, but every student in Raffles.

I have believed and experienced since Secondary 1, that RI teachers are the best. No, they do not only go RI just to get a high paying job. Treat others as you would like to be treated. This is a sentence which I live my life by, and we the students from RI will definitely repay your care and concern. Gay? I would like to chide people who resist gays. In Singapore, what we have been taught and reminded over and over again, is to respect one another, regardless of race and everything else. Therefore, I find debates about gay rights, gay marriages etc. really contradicting to what our teachers and parents preach to us. There is nothing wrong in being gay, and whats most important is to face it.

In conclusion, I hope you would come up with more brilliant works of art and continue to stay strong, stay happy, ignore negative comments about your sexual preference and most importantly, continue to work in RI to carry on the league of excellent teachers we have had in the many years since RI was founded. Auspicium melioris aevi. =)

28. I dont have an extreme aversion towards gays, but the downright perverse and disgusting form of sex(sodomy/anal sex) that they do absolutely disgusts me. I rank it THE most disgusting act among with gay paedophilia and necrophilia and beastiality (farm sex). Can you imagine the filth and the pain and the diseases transmitted when the penis is inserted into the anus? It is not only UNNATURAL, it is UTTERLY REVOLTING!!!

*Comments edited by moderator for irrelevance.

29. Dear Otto,

It’s great that you can be honest with yourself and the world. You have nothing to be ashamed about. It’s no use suppressing your true self, when you know it is emotionally damaging. Live your life to the fullest =) and don’t think too much about what others think!

30. oh dear, here comes the kids.

31. to anti gay 15 September 2007

Dear Anti Gay.

what about oral sex. Is that ok in your books?

Or is that sinful cos some sperm are wasted instead of fertilising healthy eggs?

Thanks.

Anyway, I think this is a great educational site and should be made compulsory reading for all secondary school students. It might prevent a future hitler fascist Leegime.

32. Dear Otto,

I salute you for stepping out of the closet. You taught the world about true courage and honesty which is the essence of a human being in the finest.

Christians claim that they “love your neighbors as yourself” and want to build church without walls. However their actions are a far cry from their words when they judge gays and are determine to exclude them from the society. Instead of promoting love and tolerance, they propagate hatred and bigotry in the name of Jesus to persecute this minority who are already marginalized by society. “Hate the sin but not the sinner”. Did the 10 Commandments, any prophets or Jesus Himself condemn gays? Not a single word mentioned. Rather Jesus healed the servant (or call boy) of the gay centurion. Like how they had misused the bible to make women 2nd class citizens, to promote racial segregation, to justify slavery, to reject Gandhi at doorsteps of church, to condemn Galileo and his “earth is flat” theory etc in the past, history repeats itself and now the target is on gays. They quote scriptures from Old Testament without knowing they are breaking half of the other laws meant for Jewish society in Leviticus or quote scriptures from the New Testament being ignorant that the word “homosexual” only appeared in late 19th century. Their so called “love for sinners” is shown by forcing homosexuals to convert their sexuality which usually ends up in depression and suicidal thoughts or to live a life of shame and lies thinking one is “healed”. Is that what the blood which Jesus died on the cross for? Isn’t it to reconcile rather than to discriminate?

Religion aside, the society shows prejudice against homosexuals mainly because of the government and the main stream media. Instead of police catching thieves they ended up catching gays who went jogging together. Gays are usually generalized with pedophile, Aids and promiscuity but the truth is that most of them are just normal people you see in the streets who just desire to be accepted by society. Is straight marriages ever so perfect too with the ever increasing divorce, pre marital sex, adultery, youth pregnancy and abortion rates? Many in this forum says gay sex is disgusting and abnormal. This is because mainstream media never shows that same sex activities are common in NATURE. From majestic lions to beautiful dolphins to cute penguins, same sex activities are as natural as heterosexual mating in the animal kingdom. In the scientific aspects, homosexuality is no longer seen as a “mental disorder” which needs treatment but a possibility of genetic variation.

Being human is to see the people around you as humans too.

33. Gerry Lee 15 September 2007

Way to go Otto. Your letter is very well-written. I agree it’s a small minority of the religious who are the vocal ones who seek to sow distrust and hate by scaring the majority esp. parents about how societal values would be compromised if Gay rights were recognized by the government. Some of their viewpoints are so ludicrous that it would be a laugh, except the opinions expressed are so bigoted that its actually sad.

I salute you for your letter that was written with so much love…we need more of that now…when there is so much hate being expressed in the world..

34. Mr Fong,

For your courage and guts, you have my respect.

What gay men and women can do most in support of their cause is not by arguing louder or harder, but just by the simple act of honesty.

There can never be a wrong time to speak truth to power.

An old boy (’02)

35. not anti church 15 September 2007

please see this.

Hold on to your views first please. Not all are the same….

http://www.forthebibletellsmeso.org

36. It’s a brilliant letter, Otto.

The citizens are controlled by fear. The goverment and religions are acheiving what they want through control by fear. The fear of being ostracised, an outcast, being pursued by the government, and going to hell :) that is what keeping Singaporeans under-cover and having a mindset that agreeing with the government will keep them well. Can we say.. Dogma?

I salute your bravery to stand up (and wake up from among the mass of fear-controlled citizens) for yourself and good luck in your future.

Best Regards,
    Fey

37. LifesLikeThat 15 September 2007

This guy says it all for me. Why can’t we just be open-minded about this and have a national dialogue? Isn’t that what “education” is suppose to be? Why are RI and MOE covering it up so quickly? Why not use this as an opportunity to educate our young, especially our young from our top schools who might go on and become our national leaders?

Education is not and should not be limited to textbooks.

38. t r u l y s i n g a p o r e 15 September 2007

sieteocho,

the stance has always been that society can’t accept it. whether they feel it is immoral or are simply uncomfortable about it or don’t like it, the fact remains they can’t accept it. it’s like i don’t like coffee, i cannot explain why i don’t like coffee, but you insist that i explain why i don’t like coffee and if i can’t, you say i’m being irrational. what kind of rational demand are you making?

furthermore, having been told explicitly that i don’t like coffee, you still insist in shoving it into my face. are you not being unreasonable? despite the fact that i don’t like coffee, i don’t prevent you from drinking it. but why must you insist on shoving coffee into my face?

everyone has different moral standards. some people can be bought with money, some cannot. but the society as a whole has a general standard that most conform to. you and i may be at extremes but we cannot expect everyone else to be like us.

if you are saying that the nazis exterminated the homosexuals, then it automatically means that singaporeans are not nazis, because homosexuals are not being exterminated here. on the other hand, you see similarities between the nazis and the proponents of homosexuality. the nazis is a small group that ended up controlling the entire nation. do we also let the will of a small group of homosexuals control the fate of our country?

so the moral thing for the homosexuals is to not force those who cannot accept their lifestyle to accept their lifestyle.

so i’ve explained why my stance is not wrong whereas yours is. so bigotry isn’t commited by me but by you rather.

the similarity between homosexuality and such things as animal sex, drugs and carrying of arms is that they are all frowned upon here. if you say one thing is acceptable but not another, then you are merely contradicting yourself and have no basis for argument.

don’t say i kao peh, because it really feels like the other way round.

you insist that those who don’t like to drink coffee are irrational. how rational can you get? you say that if i persist in not liking coffee, people are going to get hurt. how?

care to show me where i wrote “why does he say that accepting homosexuality is the first step on the slippery slope to moral oblivion?”

i don’t see many fingers pointing towards RI and MOE. where do you find them? we are already having so much discussion. what makes you think when MOE issues a statement, it is going to lessen the discussion?

i don’t think you should keep quiet about your sexual orientation. neither do i think you should shout it in our faces.

if you are really convicted about something, then whatever the world thinks or says will not change that conviction. you do not need approval to do what you want to do. you do not need approval to feel good about who you are. because if you do, then perhaps you aren’t really as convicted as you claim to be.

39. sir,

what you did took a lot of courage,no matter what, you will always be a great teacher
    who will never be forgotten.Gd luck with Sir Fong 3 and all that may follow.

arun

40. Mr Fong

You are a very brave person, a good teacher, a good man, etc…

Although i spent only 4 days under your care in the Malaysian Montage, you will leave a deep impression with your openess, kindness, humour, and pleasant nature.

All the best for you, Mr Fong and those that are supporting you or are supported by you,
    Russell(2C,07)

41. sieteocho 16 September 2007

If you want to talk about coffee, then of course we can. It’s perfectly alright that you don’t like coffee. But what you are insisting is that people do not drink coffee in public (because it’s offensive), that nobody advertises coffee in public. What you want is for coffee drinkers to either drink them in their own houses or some secret underground chamber.

Coffee drinkers are just going to drink their coffee in public. They’re not forcing you to drink it.

And I will think that it is unreasonable.

Also, I’m not very clear what you mean by “accept their lifestyle”. It is a very vaguely worded concept. Yes you claimed they are treated like human beings. But these coffee drinkers have to drink their coffee secretly and make sure that nobody finds out they are drinking coffee.

Imagine you couldn’t be seen with your girlfriend in public, and every time you had a date with that girlfriend, you have to arrange a secret place, in case people find out. You call that being treated like a human being?

But maybe you don’t even know what you mean by “accepting their lifestyle” because you already claimed that you are treating them like human beings.

If you are merely disgusted at homosexuals, I tell you picking your nose is a disgusting habit but I’ve yet to see laws against that.

“you can’t legalise homosexuality without also legalising pornography, open nudity and soft drugs. where does it end?” (= accepting homosexuality is the first step on the slippery slope to moral oblivion)

Also, I’ll put 2 of your statements side by side, without any further comment.

“the stance has always been that society can’t accept it. whether they feel it is immoral or are simply uncomfortable about it or don’t like it, the fact remains they can’t accept it.”

“if you are really convicted about something, then whatever the world thinks or says will not change that conviction. ”

And another 2 of your sentences:

“you do not need approval to feel good about who you are. because if you do, then perhaps you aren’t really as convinced as you claim to be.”

“the similarity between homosexuality and such things as animal sex, drugs and carrying of arms is that they are all frowned upon here.” (ie homosexuality is wrong simply because the law says so, or because it has always been wrong all along and not because you are convinced it is wrong.)

I’ll tell you why all these other things are wrong:
    animal sex: animals get hurt.
    drugs: people get addicted, leading to social problems.
    carrying of arms: people get injured / people might get injured.
    homosexuality: ???? (this is the only thing I cannot explain.)

Last time in some countries it was considered wrong for white people and black people to use the same toilets, but according to you it has to stay that way otherwise people will start taking illegal drugs and stripping for porn magazines as well.

42. There will always be people who resist change, because they love sitting in their comfort zone and do not want to see their little enclosed world tossed around by reality.

Get with the program guys..

43. There is only one org in my view that has a very clear and balanced view of what’s really happening.

BP. There are very clear, straight and level.

The rest is just very far!

44. RI student from 1B 16 September 2007

Yes Ri student, i feel tat way too. I dun understand y a short letter caused u ppl 2 comment on it this way. cant we respect him, even though he is gay (which we dun really believe)?

45. trulysingapore 16 September 2007

you demanded explanation on why the public cannot accept homosexuality. some people don’t like coffee and that’s that. do you demand explanation for not liking coffee?

so the coffee analogy is used to illustrate that – you cannot demand an explanation for individual / societal preferences.

now, about drinking coffee in public. you certainly can do that. but can you strip in public? can you carry guns? can do do drugs? why is it reasonable to advertise homosexuality but not animal sex, pornography or guns? do we practise double standards?

i’m always straightforward, accept their lifestyle means accept their homosexual lifestyle.

you see, they’re not just drinking coffee, they want to do something that is equivalent to animal sex, drugs and guns.

i don’t see why homosexuals cannot go out on a date to public places. they probably can’t hold hands but they certainly have no problems going out together right?

you try telling 4 million singaporeans not to be disgusted with homosexuals. if you can, i have nothing else to say. similarly, you try telling 4 million singaporeans to stop nose picking. would they listen to you?

i feel homosexuality is equivalent to pornography, nudity, drugs and so you allowing for one means allowing for all. so in that sense, it’s a downright plunge rather than a slippery slide down to moral oblivion.

what is wrong with the following two sentences?

“the stance has always been that society can’t accept it. whether they feel it is immoral or are simply uncomfortable about it or don’t like it, the fact remains they can’t accept it.”

“if you are really convicted about something, then whatever the world thinks or says will not change that conviction. ”

and what is wrong with these two?

“you do not need approval to feel good about who you are. because if you do, then perhaps you aren’t really as convinced as you claim to be.”

“the similarity between homosexuality and such things as animal sex, drugs and carrying of arms is that they are all frowned upon here.” (ie homosexuality is wrong simply because the law says so, or because it has always been wrong all along and not because you are convinced it is wrong.)

you say in animal sex, animals get hurt. how? are they actually in pain? how do you know the animals aren’t enjoying themselves? how do you compare animal sex with chaining animals by the neck or locking them in cages or keeping them in a fish tank?

yes, drugs and carrying of arms lead to harm but homosexuality when practised in public is like public nudity or pornography. you mentioned that public nudity = behaving like animals so homosexuality = behaving like animals?

public nudity and public homosexuality are the same in the sense that people find them offensive. when you thrust something offensive into people’s face, you’re wrong in the context of our society today.

there is a time and place for everything. black and white sharing the same toilets occured some time back. homosexuality’s time may arrive in the future but not now as far as public sentiments go.

yes, i think what i said makes sense and i will say it again. public nudity is perfectly fine in countries like France. today someone wants homosexuality, tomorrow, someone else may want public nudity. if you do not wish to be denied public homosexuality, you certainly wouldn’t deny public nudity if someone wants it tomorrow. would you?

46. MOE and the school keeps stereotyping

gay teachers as people who would spread their own homosexual beliefs, students as gullible followers of their teachers, and parents as people who would hate for a gay teacher educating their children.

but why doesn’t anyone initiate a survey for both students and parents, to give evidence that Otto Fong in fact had not attempted to persuade his students to be gay, or to ascertain whether parents really felt that way about a gay teacher whom, as a matter of fact, is teaching the cleverest minds of the generation?

they are underestimating RI students and parents, man.

they shouldn’t jump to conclusions, and for that matter, RI students who have expressed their views on Otto’s coming out have all said the same thing – they respect and admire Otto Fong for his courage. Isn’t the response just biting them in their ass?

MOE and school managements really screw their ideas up sometimes.

47. random dude 17 September 2007

hello to everyone on the online citizen!

Addressing the issue of a male teacher, Otto Fong, publicly declaring himself as a homosexual in society, i would like to an inconsistency with his blog post.

Otto fong mentioned that he is not a paedophile. I’m sure none of us, straight people (as referred to by otto), will consider ourselves to be paedophiles. but can one really control his sexual urges and tendencies? It is total beyond our conscious control and is imbued into our biological programming. Hence if a gay would be in an all-boys school (RI in this case), he would definitely be attracted to at least one pupil in the school, or worse, in his class. augmenting this problem, some students may have matured faster and hence would look and act more “manly”. Now can we question Otto Fong’s word on his declination of being a paedophile??

48. To Random Dude,

If that is the case, should not all Male teachers be barred from teaching in all girls or mixed school since straight people too have sexual urges and tendencies ?

49. The dude with ill logic 17 September 2007

Hi Random Dude,
    Then let’s remove all heterosexual male teachers from all girls school and heterosexual female teachers from all boys schools while we are at it. Since there will always be kids that mature faster, now we won’t want our teachers here to end up like those in some of the other countries who have none professional relationships with their students now, do we?

According to your implied reasoning, that is something that is innate in everyone and that we should as far as possible try to prevent by pulling people of certain preferences away from their environment, no matter how unreasonable it may seems.

I believe that there are people out there who value their work and live their lives professionally, I don’t think anyone should look too seriously into this matter. Otto Fong is merely trying to reach out to some of the students that he felt that were left out I supposed.

And I guess, the supposedly if Otto Fong is a paedophile, why would he then out himself? Doesn’t it seem weird for someone who like that to draw so much attention to himself?

All I can say is that if he’s a good teacher, and remain professional, who really cares at the end of the day if he’s gay, bi, straight?

50. Does anyone sincerely believes he/she is wiser than another in understanding homosexuality? And honestly tell us, is any enlightened in the Subject matter? For many thousand years, the Problem persists; philosophers, scientists, sociologists and governments tried and are trying to tackle the Issue the best they could but to no consensual conclusion. It’s complex and let’s handle the problem the best it can be handled till an acceptable solution is found. Meanwhile it is not too much to ask the homosexuals to resist publicising themselves.

As pointed out by many, the Local Authority has hardly being harsh towards homosexual and dare I say, they appear to close one eye if not both. It is also natural to say that none of us are perfect and as such there are deeds and nature that are best kept within ourselves as secrets as private matters. No one can truthfully be ‘opened’ one hundred percent in everything, is there any harm in keeping some personal matters private?

An issue that one knows very well has no solution with none insight should be dealt with with the next most sensible way and that is do not involve(trouble) others with ones’ personal problem(s) and accept it(problem) with grace; regards.