Andrew Loh

If one were to follow the local media, one would be aghast at the gradual and subtle shifting of blame for alleged JI terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari’s escape.

It is propaganda at its most sublime.

It is propaganda because one, the government here in Singapore is all-encompassing and two, the local media is totally and completely beholden to the government. The media is used daily to lead public discussion and debate in the direction that the government wants it to go.

It is thus not unexpected that in a matter as serious as this escape the media would be employed to “hush things down” when ascribing blame to the government officials responsible for the “lapse”.

And so, we now witness a shameful shifting of blame – from the minister in charge, DPM Wong Kan Seng, to “Singaporeans’ complacency”.

It is also significant that this shift is spearheaded by the oldest member in the Cabinet, MM Lee Kuan Yew himself. Indeed MM Lee has spoken twice about this “complacency” – the first time on March 7:

“I think it’s a very severe lesson of complacency that we are confident we have this man sized up.” (Straits Times)

It is important to note that MM Lee avoided mentioning any names at all – including that of the Home Affairs Minister Wong. Instead MM Lee ascribed the “complacency” to his “custodians”.

On April 5, MM Lee again spoke about the escape but this time pointing the finger at Singaporeans in general:

“Complacency sets in when a people have not suffered any shock or setback for a long time, as in Singapore without jihadist terror attacks, although we have ceaselessly talked about it and prepared out (sic) defence.”

“Most people believe that bad things will happen to others, not to themselves.” (Link)

And to cement this shifting of blame, the Straits Times quoted PAP MP Lim Wee Kiak:

People’s Action Party MP Lim Wee Kiak called complacency a ‘side-effect’ of an overly successful Government and civil service.

‘This has bred a dependency mentality in our population who will blame the civil service and Government if any of their needs are not met,’ he noted.”

The shift is complete : The escape of Mas Selamat Kastari is due to Singaporeans’ complacency because “most people believe that bad things will happen to others, not to themselves”. And because of Singaporeans’ “dependency mindset”, they “blame the civil service and Government”. But no worries, this complacency is “a ‘side-effect’ of an overly successful Government and civil service”!

Game. Set. Match.

Singaporeans are to blame for the escape.

Who else should be responsible since we already have “an overly successful Government and civil service”? (Emphasis mine) Surely, they cannot be held responsible for Singaporeans’ “dependency mindset” and “complacency”!

If one recalls, one would also remember that the initial propaganda strategy was to use the escape to trumpet how “Singaporeans ace test of racial cohesion”, to quote a Straits Times headline. The ST reported NTUC Chief Lim Swee Say thus:

“Minister Lim Swee Say, who described the escape as a test in inter-racial cohesion, said Singaporeans passed it ‘with flying colours’.”

In all of the local media’s reports about the jailbreak, none, as far as I am aware of, has mentioned Minister Wong’s responsibility. Even the Prime Minister himself shrugged off the JI leader’s “toilet break” with “What to do? It’s happened.”

And so, it would seem that two groups of people are to blame: Mas Selamat’s custodians and Singaporeans in general.

As for the ministers in charge – Wong Kan Seng and his 2nd in command Ho Peng Kee, well, they are part of an “overly successful Government”. So how can they be held responsible?

Watch the local media go into overdrive to preserve and protect our extraordinary ministers in government – where lapses are easily and conveniently ascribed to others, even to those who had nothing to do at all with Mas Selamat.

In fact, most Singaporeans, I would bet, did not even know he existed until he gave his guards the slip on a fateful February 27.

But nonetheless, ignorance is not a defence.

Singaporeans are to blame for the escape.

Now, stop being complacent!

—————————

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

151 Responses to “Mas Selamat’s escape – Government shifting the blame to Singaporeans’ “complacency””

1. Apparently I am not the only one who got the inference in what MM Lee said:

Very poor service by the Straits Times (Mr Wang)

Playing the conspiracy game (Insane Poly)

2. Elfred, mind taking your beef elsewhere?

Let’s stick to the topic at hand.

Danke.

3. A comment left on Mr Wang’s blog:

Anonymous said…

I think MM Lee and the government basically want to have their cake and eat it (at the expense of the citizens of course).

Reading between the lines, what MM Lee is saying is: Singaporeans have become complacent because through an “overly successful” government, they have built up unrealistic expectations of what the government can do.

So Singaporeans should not always expect the government to have a perfect record in everything – in this case, the escape of an ISD detainee who is an alleged terrorist.

From this, MM Lee then uses the specious argument the government can’t be FULLY acountable for this debacle because you the citizens had unreasonably high expectations of the government. This is your typical PAP thinking- heads I win, tails I also win.

I wouldn’t be the least surprised if the COI report came up with a knock-out line like this: It is only to be expected that in spite of our constant vigilance, there would eventually be a lapse in our security efforts against terrorism. We have learned from this episode and tightened our security protocols. Singaporeans should now CLOSE RANKS AND MOVE ON!

4. I think Singaporeans HAVE closed ranks. Apart from a few blindly pro-PAP jokers, I don’t know of anyone who isn’t in full agreement that this was a major boo boo by the government, and the government alone.

5. Expected Analysis 6 April 2008

Hi Andrew,

Noted your explanation done on behalf of TOC. Simply hope that TOC is not manipulated by the PAP in any way.

Fellow Singaporeans,

We are too educated and smart to take to the streets over matters expressed here. In the crying lack of PAP govt’s
    transparency and accountability, we as citizens have every right to question and demand for revelation. Failing to do so reflects our own foolishness and immaturity, as good as living in the dark.

It would be good that PAP’s members visit TOC regularly to get the real feedback of the citizens. It will be even better if they reply to our postings.

Coining lame excuses are only good for PAP diehard supporters, not for those who are inquisitive and well-informed.

To put the blame on complacency and negligence without any responsible action is simply holding MR COMPLACENCY AND MR NEGLIGENCE responsible for this fiasco.

This is the so-called standard of our self-proclaimed first world govt – RIDICULOUSLY HIGH PAY WITHOUT LIABILITIES.

6. sgcynic 6 April 2008

F1 racer crashes into bollards. Dozens of spectators dead or injured. Organisers point finger: “Those in the audience were complacent”.

7. CelluloidReality,

So… You wanna lay siege on the old man…?

I am not pro-PAP~ I am neutral!

But if you people want a war, you might end up getting one.

Until the next topic then…

http://elfredinario.wordpress.com/

8. shoestring 6 April 2008

Another classic example of passing the buck on the sly – I wasn’t the one who started it. It’s you who is over-reacting to mere words I said, and laying siege. I didn’t want war, you did. So, don’t blame me for declaring war and clamping down on you.

It’s not my fault. It’s yours.

What’s new?

9. Gary Teoh 6 April 2008

Go ahead ask Balaji to shutdown TOC, I will be very happy to exercise my rights come 2010 or 11.I wait only, pls be patient,wait only, ask the old man don’t talk so much, the more you talk, the more ppl get angry,follow GCT, talk less, every month, collect 3 over million,shake legs,MM or SM redundant post, which country in the world has this post??!!!!

10. patriot 6 April 2008

When the Citizenry or the Government needs to have a war with each other, it only goes to show that there is a great failure in the management of the Country. And who should be responsible for the Failure? COMPLACENCY AGAIN? And who is complacent in this case?

11. James Michael Parthi 6 April 2008

The irony of the statment made none other than MM shows how manipulative and deceptive his speech could be,lets not forget people,MM is a lawyer,he has painstakingly crafted an eloquent & subtle speech to cover his own losses.That’s what the ruling coalition party does,don’t they?

Besides,lets look at something else,has any one of you noticed during the “Great Escape” or rather after the bloke was on the loose(there’s no evidence to indicate if he really did escape,only Home Affairs Ministry should know the entire truth & drama),our PM,SM & MM went MIA!What does that tell you?The silence,the tranquility is deafening!Maybe i should host a new programme : JMP – Justice Must Prevail!Cheers!

12. CelluloidReality 6 April 2008

Elfred,

It’s not about party politics or individual witchunts without due cause.

It’s about a simple case of “if your men stuff up, you as the commander don’t gloss it over”.

Well, our dear MM said yes the guards are negligent, but it doesn’t help if he attempts to ascribe more blame outside of the AOR.

Don’t get yourself in a tizzy lah.

Cheers.

13. Gleechoo,

For me to accept 100% that ANYONE is a criminal or terrorist, I would need to see him go through fair trial first. Not some cut-short method like ISA.

14. Shoestring,

Stop making nosensical accusations at me. Alright? :(

You see, you guys are more worrying than tis… ‘boo boo’ gahmen, it seems.

Zzz…

CelluloidReality,

I think there is no more need for me to say much. After all, I have said enough.

Try not to *disturb* what should be left in peace… :)

15. Fever Guy 6 April 2008

dear Elfred,

You don seem to me like a neutral if you have, your heart should have pointed to the truth.

You said i am radical…haha…i am a law abiding citizen, pay my taxes and fines regualrly. Did i ever incite revolt, ask ppl to riot, strikes or boycott. Do i go publicly to ask people power? Please refrain yourself from branding ppl as radical…don save face for your ah kong.

FACT: The terrorist escaped. Why? How? Who’s reponsibilites? Why the topic in ST becomes People are complacent? You as claim to be a neutral failed to acknowledge the simple truth that is failure in the system at WDC. Should it be treated as a non-issue or something we all need to ponder upon? Are we not complacent by not asking more? and letting it hidden in some dark scret closet for eternity? You keep infering to other topics of non relevancy mentioned by ST. I am amazed at your lack of understanding. Do you think i am dumb that i do not know politics? That piece of news is to soft sell and tone down the public curiousity and displeasure. Making it sound like some children went missing from a child care centre and every parents are to be blamed?

You keep using ISA and Ah Kong to scare the shit out of my pants. Yup, I am fearful but life still goes on rite? Should i live in fear and be a zombie? Maybe you have a good life, scholar status, more than enough to spend and life generally good for you. Therefore live your own good life and stop making yourself so morally high up coz there are ppl who are not that fortunate as you. Would you care anyway, my dear elite?

to all real TOC fans may your heart tells you the truth and the truth will set you free,

16. Darkness 6 April 2008

This elfredinario character is obviously a $1.99 a month counter insurgency muppet – you mean, you all cannot see it?

You mean all of you here need road signs?

We have known abt these characters here for the last 4 months – FYI, we count at least 3 here.

Hey Elfred, let me give you a 101 on basic counter insurgency:

Rule 1: never be to quick to defend your masters, if possible even go with the crowd to gain their trust first dummy.

Rule 2: Once Rule 1 has been firmly established, then and only then do you start to advance your POV.

Instead u go around threatening ppl – you want a war? I tell you what, I will give you one for free. I am just in the right mood for it bc I just had a big argument with my gf.

You stop threatening ppl here!

Darkness 2008

17. Fever Guy, yup I’ve noticed that there are lots of people anyhow throwing around the word “radical” nowadays.

18. Dear Expected Analysis,

Thanks for being patient with us. And to be sure, no, TOC is not manipulated by the PAP in any way, shape, form, means, etc.

If it were, I’d be the first to leave.

The same goes if TOC were manipulated by any other political party too.

I think our writers have shown that they’re independent in what they write. :)

Now, back to the topic at hand. Look out for more ministers coming out to repeat what MM said, in order to shove the message down our throats. It’s the usual propaganda method.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

19. CelluloidReality 6 April 2008

Dingo,

It’s glam.

All fun and fashionable.

It’s one of those discourses of hegemony and how words in their usual parlance are taken apart and used for contemporary through glitzy vehicles of transmission.

Too bad, like all things consumerist in nature, the effect when multiplied, is simultaneously diluted.

But then, hor. Some people don’t like a fair discussion leh.

How ah?

20. Fever Guy 6 April 2008

Well said Andrew!

Dingo,
    I have seen the word radical used by pro-pap bloggers many times. It is common nowadays. All singaporeans are now radical once the views are different from main stream. Very scary feeling.

21. CelluloidReality 6 April 2008

FG,

A blatant abuse of the english language shows the lack of cogent vocabulary amongst the user lah.

22. tiredman 6 April 2008

” theonlinecitizen Says:
    April 6, 2008 at 5:23 pm
    A comment left on Mr Wang’s blog:

“Anonymous said…
    From this, MM Lee then uses the specious argument the government can’t be FULLY acountable
    for this debacle because you the citizens had unreasonably high expectations of the
    government.

23. tiredman 6 April 2008

” theonlinecitizen Says:
    April 6, 2008 at 5:23 pm
    A comment left on Mr Wang’s blog:

Anonymous said…
    From this, MM Lee then uses the specious argument the government can’t be FULLY acountable
    for this debacle because you the citizens had unreasonably high expectations of the
    government.”

Then, what the F*** take so much salary for what? Is there any conflict between “unreasonably high expectations” and “”reasonably” high salary”? I still don’t understand.

24. CelluloidReality 7 April 2008

Funny thing is, the state is the ultimate arbiter of security, and is obliged to use as much effort as possible to ensure this, as espoused by Morgenthau, whose ethos is very clear in the national politics of survival of Singapore.

We expect the state to secure us, because it is the state’s ambit.

This is not an unreasonable expectation. It is however, unreasonable when the State tells the citizens, “Hey, lay off our ass because we’re only human”.

Well, yes we are all human. But different individuals or groups carry different responsibilities. While a mistake has been made, and is irrevocable, it is disappointing when the authorities that make the mistake say that it is unreasonable to expect them to maintain security at all times under all circumstances.

As long as due diligence has been made, why fear the public eye?

25. CelluloidReality 7 April 2008

Heck,

Ultimately, we all want MSK caught, we all want secure borders and for our reptutation to be salvaged.

Everyone wants this nation to be safe..so why the grief?

26. Even if DPM Wong Kan Seng isn’t too happy to ‘take the blame’ for letting a terrorist escape, he should not shift the blame on Singaporeans. Bad move. Creates disharmony in my opinion.

I fully agree with CelluloidReality,” It’s about a simple case of ‘if your men stuff up, you as the commander don’t gloss it over.’”

27. Yi-Long 7 April 2008

Andrew said, “Now, back to the topic at hand. Look out for more ministers coming out to repeat what MM said, in order to shove the message down our throats. It’s the usual propaganda method.” It’d be really damn sad if one of those to speak up is DPM Wong. I’ll have no qualms smashing my radio if I hear the news.

The grief is naturally there. Imagine, a lot of Singaporeans, both uniformed and non-uniformed, had put in precious time to help clean up the mess our DPM Wong and his ISA had created. And this is the kind of gratitude that we’re getting?! It may sound absurd, but why didn’t any of the Ministers or MPs join in the search? when it was pouring for the whole week in March, our army, police, gurkhas etc braved the harsh weather and spending less time with family. This is what they get in return?!

28. Hi Andrew,

Thanks again for getting citizens online!

‘Complacency sets in when a people have not suffered any shock or setback for a long time.’ said MM Lee Kuan Yew. As far as I know, the ruling party has been sitting pretty for so many arrogant years that complacency has finally creeps in. Looks to me like there are too many deadwoods within the papland.

For the benefit of Mister MM, though I hate to make his life meaningless*, I must let him know that with so much power and money, I’m afraid that he has become complacent in not keeping his subordinates on their toes, doing the jobs that they are paid ‘eat gold, drink liquid diamond’ millions to do. Maybe MM should understand that the art of living is to let go and let others (including his son and subordinates) do their jobs and get on with their lives without hoarding the limelight and playing Mr KnowsAll all the time!

Poor me, I have to hoard rice (long enough not to let the evil weavils creep in) as even NTUC Fairprice has unfairly started hike essential items!

And pleeeeze do not say, [“Even from my sick bed, even if you are going to lower me into the grave and I feel something is going wrong, I will get up.” 1988 National Day Rally, when he discussed the leadership transition to Goh Chok Tong in 1990.] again. Enough is enough!!! I sincerely hope that he’d give his son and others a chance to justify their obscene million $,$$$,$$$ salary.

*”Between being loved and being feared, I have always believed Machiavelli was right. If nobody is afraid of me, I’m meaningless.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 6.10.1997

feedmetothefish

29. Shoestring,

If PMO read your reply to me… they will probably laugh their Ss out… Why? You think I am living that wonderfully better than most Singaporeans???

Very unfair to me.

You still don’t understand what I’m driving at… Precisely becos I am neutral, I have to assess this from a macro down view. And one of it is… what kinda choice will such be by pushing MM relentlessly.

He is an elderly, he had already spoken a few times. In China, 给个台阶. He’s not your regular forumers who can be just shoot here shoot there, ban here ban there. If you guys push him too much, what do you expect him to do?

As a neutral, you make your point, you hit and go, you look at things on a broader sense.

Stop saying I am trying to scare you with Ah Gong or ISA. ISA exists, and is precisely used for ‘special moments’. Now, MM spoke, PM spoke, DPM spoke. All three are involved…

Your ‘ah gong’ is not known for upholding free speech. Not that it’d happen, but why push it to such limits?

To you, it looks reasonable and fair… In reality, if everything is so left by left right by right, those lawyers could have just protest alongside with SDP…

What is neutral? Think again.

In politics, certain scenario is considered radical…

You know Mao’s 百花齐放?

Being neutral is like fishing, pull a bit, loose a bit, pull a bit then loose a bit, then you can pull again… and the rope won’t break easily.

People should recognise the situation.

30. Fever Guy 7 April 2008

Everyone here,

Take a look at Elfred ‘s comments. Wow! Unbelievable spokeman for MM. He sells FEAR to all of us. I take note of your “advise” and you can continue being “NEUTRAL”. Here in TOC, as a blogger we write and discuss what is important issue to us. If you so afraid, please join the kindergarden blogs like the P65 or FM ‘s blog. Take your baggage with you, it somehow is too heavy for us to bear. You know MAO’s many flop policies? When the day CCP falls people will curse and swear his name. As for me, its my business not yours. I used to repect MM alot but too many recent issues over the last few years have dimished his name. He has a lot of contribution to singapore nation building that i will remember eternity. Rest assured i will tone myself down so that you will not be back to sprout anymore fear. Keep TOC free of you such ppl is important, Fear mongers.

31. shoestring 7 April 2008

Elfred,

It am entitled to my opinion, just as you are entitled to yours. Whether you are neutral or not, let the readers be the judge. There’s no need to be agitated and over-react.

32. Disgusted 7 April 2008

Elfred,
    it’s mostly because of people like you that talented Singaporeans are leaving the country and not going back(as what PM Lee mentioned recently). I will hardly classify the views on this forum as “radical”. Anyway, you keep
    mentioning if they “push it”, they will want “a war”.(whatever that means) I want to tell you that you already have your “war”. Many of us wish you good luck living in your tiny well. The most successful of us have moved on to greater, better things(and places) in life. Have fun withering in stagnation as the country’s soul collapses into a hollow shell. Have fun.

33. gleechoo 7 April 2008

Dingo,

Good point. I used the word ‘suspect’ and therefore no judgment made on my part (haha). If the grapevine reckons he is, then it better do its job efficiently and put him wherever he should be asap! But are there capable younger leaders on the job to mobilise?

One cannot change a system unless one is in authority. A department such as ISA exists internationally, so…

Complacency means contentment…are we, citizens, a contented lot? Have we been one? Or have we being pigeon-holed for so long that…

34. Disgusted,

Yes, you are successful. But no reason to be careless.

That’s why I think something is wrong here with the gahmen. It creates an environment grooming people to kick itself. Hahahahaha…

Look, people leaving or not has obviously no business in people like me.

You guys can go overseas if the gahmen have enough and start clamping down. Many of the netizens who may join you cannot. The issue is also that since you have not regards to the moderates, and if you think banishing anyone who is not with you is cool, what can I say?

Not that I see no issues with the gahmen. The gahmen will also have issues. Ever since Mas Selamat escaped, Mr Wong openly apologised, MM spoke, PM spoke, and the report is so said to be in the making, unfinished yet. The old man is just making a general statement. And it fuels hell.

Now this is a give n take. Assuming the gahmen does clamp down on your neutral views, what do you expect?

There is nothing wrong even when MM said the gahmen has no wrong in this. Think carefully. The report may not find the gahmen guilty. This is one basis. One Mr Wong cannot possibly go down to check on every single detainee and his/her loopholes to escape. That’s another. Mr Wong has already started to do as much as he could. That’s yet another.

This escape is, as explained by MM. Whether he is right or not, complacency that Mas Selamat is an escape artist and the guards relak is valid. On Singaporeans, he is just offering a national education.

You are a Singapore, a good citizen of the society; especially when you show such concern. So Elfred is homeless or jobless, will you care for other Singaporeans more than this Mas Selamat yourselves?

Come on. If you are really that kinda member of public, that’s one thing. But are you?

Now, why do people leave? Becos Mas Selamat escaped? Or becos this society has been most cold n they are seeking prospect out there?

So what DPM is mentioned by MM, that some have wanted?

I don’t think people like me makes people leave Singapore. What do you expect MM to react to this? To apologise? To sack DPM Wong? To award TOC and major forums?

Who is making things worse?

35. Alan Wong 7 April 2008

In spite of what you have said about your neutrality, you seem bent in defending MM & the pappies without much reason.

For whatever your motives, they should invite you for a tea party but please make sure you have 4As before you go along.

36. Alan Wong 7 April 2008

Sorry, the above is directed at Elfred.

37. Blaming Game 7 April 2008

As I see it, complacency if any, comes from the spinning of the
    mass medias, as the mouth piece of the government, that always say
    only the good things but failed to highlight the bad side of
    things. This has lulled the people into believing that our govt is
    super-duper and everything is fine – being 1st World and being led
    by extraordinary people who are incorruptible (if paid $millions).

Another way of seeing it is that owing to too much power wielded
    by the government, complacency sets in because it is able to make
    use of this power to silence or render ineffective any “Maverick”
    who attempts to single out mistakes made by any government agency
    or civil servant. And being in the government for too long, they
    begin to take it for granted that they will continue to rule this
    country forever. This can be seen in the recent speech by PM Lee
    stating that he would be the PM for the next 13 years or so. (He
    is so cock-sure that he would live for another 13 years and that
    he would continue to wield the power of a PM and that the PAP will
    continue to rule) If this is not taking things for granted, and
    therefore complacency, what is?

Thirdly, by paying ministers and top civil servants heftily at the
    expense of the citizens could also have contributed the attitude
    of arrogance and complacency in the top echelons that they began
    to think that whatever they do is right and is for the good of the
    people. This can be seen by their frequently demonstrated
    tendency to discard feedbacks given to them with regards to major
    decisions that affect the people, e.g. the casino issues, the gay
    issues, and the CPF issues.

I think these three are the biggest culprits that have caused
    the general attitude of complacency that MM Lee is talking about.

38. crankyed 7 April 2008

a bit of selective reporting by toc. in a balanced view, old man stupid to say that singaporeans as a whole are complacent. but he also said custodians are negligent in the paper version.

so complacency as a whole is a problem for all singapore and any country anywhere. but negligence by the custodians, here he carefully never specifically use the word “government”, is the real blame.

39. Fever Guy 7 April 2008

Quote From Elfred the “Neutral”

Not that I see no issues with the gahmen. The gahmen will also have issues. Ever since Mas Selamat escaped, Mr Wong openly apologised, MM spoke, PM spoke, and the report is so said to be in the making, unfinished yet. The old man is just making a general statement. And it fuels hell.

Now this is a give n take. Assuming the gahmen does clamp down on your neutral views, what do you expect?

There is nothing wrong even when MM said the gahmen has no wrong in this. Think carefully. The report may not find the gahmen guilty. This is one basis. One Mr Wong cannot possibly go down to check on every single detainee and his/her loopholes to escape. That’s another. Mr Wong has already started to do as much as he could. That’s yet another.

elfred,

What are you talking? Human language or bird language? WKS apologise? Are you sure his words are exactly that, did he say sorry due to the failing of the WDC? As for MM spoke and PM spoke so i must all kowtow and say is my fault rite? Give and take what? Gahmen give us what, holiday in WDC? We take what? A gift from WDC? Clamp who? This is a BLOG mind you, not a official media medium. Are we racist? or have said anything about it go take a look at SBF they are worst why not clamp them? That deserve all of us to be treated as radicals!!!!!!

Nothing wrong when MM says gahmen has no wrong. HAHAHA….you are an idiot my elfred. You are sure brainwash of the highest level i have encountered from a “neutral”. Whether the gahmen has wrong or the report says no wrong is not the government ‘s call. It is the people ‘s judgement. Something you will not learn by associating too much with YP/PAP they teach power in our hands never power to the people. Get it? Boy, you really piss alot of bloggers off. Now instead of discussing issues you flame all of us with your aggressive threats of ISA. Either you are in some MHA, GOV Sector or SAF, mind your own business! Please go take a break and bring your bags with you.

40. william 7 April 2008

It’s kinda of similarity here where I am working now. We employees made mistake we are marked for poor performance and demerit points given. We are warned to be more competent and learn from mistake and say no more. Don’t blame the management and the culture here, just blame yourself. I think same here. Don’t put the blame on government but yourself.

As a Singaporean I feel quite ashamed that till now there is no news about Mas Selamat’s whereabout and I lost count of the days since he escaped from prison. I always think we have a bunch of sophisticated police able to find him quickly and put him back where he belongs. I think we should not be complacent and relook at our own police capability and the training given to them. Hmm.. quite doubtful isn’t it?

41. sghome 7 April 2008

THE People’s Action Party (PAP) is mounting a quiet counter-insurgency against its online critics. It has members going into Internet forums and blogs to rebut anti-establishment views and putting up postings anonymously… the initiative is driven by two sub-committees of the PAP’s ‘new media’ committee chaired by Manpower Minister Ng Eng Hen… Aside from politicians, some 20 IT-savvy party activists are also involved… This can only work if activists are not ‘too obvious’ about it, Mr Baey said yesterday. Otherwise it comes across as ‘propaganda’. ‘The identity is not important. It is the message that is important,’ he added.

“PAP moves to counter criticism of party, Govt in cyberspace” by Li Xueying
    The Straits Times, 3 Feb 2007

TOC and supporters, beware of this ‘war’.

42. Complacent Singaporean 7 April 2008

I think it is good to be complacent. Complacency is part and
    parcel of the Swiss Standard of Living, Gracious Living, More
    Good Years, Stay Together and Move Ahead, and all other “Bulls”
    that make this make-believe world of ours.

If we are not complacent, then we would be giving the government
    a hard time. We would not have allowed them to take us for a ride
    for so long. We would have challenged all the laws that have
    violated our constitutional rights. Our leaders won’t be so
    cock-sure that they will continue to be the PM for the next 13
    years. Our Parliament won’t be having a 82 vs 2 MPs. Our Cabinet
    won’t have such extra posts as SM and MM. Our minsters won’t be
    so easily get away with demanding $million salary and bonuses in
    order to prevent them from becoming corrupt.

Think about it. Complacency of the citizens is a very good thing
    for the government if it wishes to continue to rule forever.

Three cheers for all Complacent Singaporeans!

One Complacent Singaporean.

43. Disgusted 7 April 2008

Elfred said:
    “Now, why do people leave? Becos Mas Selamat escaped? Or becos this society has been most cold n they are seeking prospect out there?
    So what DPM is mentioned by MM, that some have wanted?
    I don’t think people like me makes people leave Singapore. What do you expect MM to react to this? To apologise? To sack DPM Wong? To award TOC and major forums?
    Who is making things worse?”

People leave because their opinions are not respected. People leave because there are people like you around Elfred, people who love to toe the party line and fail to see the truth. People leave because Singapore is increasingly getting run by a bunch of incompetent, indecisive and inexperienced politicians + civil servants. The escape of Mas Selamat is just the tip of the iceberg. There are other issues that are equally disastrous, if not more. The UBS subprime debacle comes to mind. Who issued the order to invest in it? Why was it so sudden? Is it really a long term investment? Why throw away billions of dollars so carelessly and still claim that there is no money to help the poor? Where is the transparency in this whole issue? The money is taxpayer’s money and shouldn’t be treated lightly.
    Back to the issue of the escaped person, I will like to ask for the CCTV footage to be shown. You mean to tell me that there isn’t CCTV footage of how he escaped? The footage for James Gomez during the elections was released rather quickly during the elections. And it wasn’t even in a prison! Where is the CCTV footage of the escaped prisoner? The public should have the right to see it.
    So Elfred, I’ll like to say one more thing. Wong Kan Seng should be fired. You are going to say the usual,”But does this help the current situation? In these troubling times, we should band together and help out yada yada yada…” Let me just say that firing Wong Kan Seng is the right thing to do for the country. It might not help in the short term but as a long term thing, it is beneficial for everyone. We do not want incompetent people in charge of the security of the country. We can always hire someone else more capable of doing the job. Given his current performance, it shouldn’t be too difficult.

44. TooMuch 7 April 2008

The govt had very early on pinned the blame on the Gurkha guards who were escorting Mas Selamat to the visitor centre. See http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=242464 for ST report. To add insult to injury, “Gurkha” was spelt as “gurkha”.

45. CelluloidReality 7 April 2008

All this bollocking is making me damn thirsty.

It’s deplorable that a discussion has become thus.

Have some teh tarik to cool down yeah…

46. GiinaKiah 7 April 2008

ALL HAIL THE GREAT OLD MAN!

I, a citizen of Singapore, hereby do apologise to our wonderful, extraordinary, unique, top-talented, overly successful government for being complacent.

I beg the great Men In White to forgive my transgression!

I, a worthless citizen, will forever submit myself to grovelling at the feet of our GREAT masters in humility and slavery.

I BEG our great MM to forgive me, spare me, and have mercy on my worthless soul. I hereby kow tow 3 times to the Great Lee!

When the next election comes around, maybe I will have a chance to be truly free and vote for an alternative. My vote goes to the opposition, no matter what the PAP does in the next 2 to 3 years.

I’ve had enough bullshit shoved down my throat the last 2 years after GE 2006.

Enough!

47. GiinaKiah 7 April 2008

Disgusted,

I agree with you, bro. WKS should be fired. He has had almost 40 days to capture Mas Selamat. Yet, he doesn’t even know where he is! AFTER ALMOST 40 DAYS! All we keep hearing are:

1. “We believe he is still in Singapore.”

2. “Singaporeans are complacent.”

3. “The government is overly successful.”

F**king hell. Left they win, right they also win. And the bloody PM is a wimp. Where has he been????

48. sghome 7 April 2008

Remember these faces. Come next election, I will vote them out if they are in my estate.

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-M…Christopher.htm
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-M…WongKanSeng.htm
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-M…of-NgEngHen.htm
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-M…Prof-Vivian.htm

one is anti human right
    one is mas selamat in disguise
    one is anti-mature workers
    One is anti-poor

Let the rest in gov get their millions for the time being because the stupid opposition is not ready. bw2/twisted.gif

49. Gary Teoh 7 April 2008

I, on behalf of citizen of singapore unreservedly apologised to pap gahmen for letting mas selamat to escape from the DC.I promise I will not be in complacency and I will uphold justice by voting pap gahmen in for the next 50 years,so that the ministers can enjoy million dollar salary,and we citizens can get rebate,singapore shares,ntuc vouchers,and pre election bonus.Cheers to pap,

50. shoestring 7 April 2008

Yes, be careful of entrapment. If you like it hot, go eat mee siam mai hum instead. If it’s too hot to handle, drink teh tarik with ice with kaki at kopi tiam :)