A compassionate “fine” system

Wednesday, 28 May 2008, 7:00 am |

Tan Kin Lian

Someone once said that Singapore is a “fine” city. We have a fine for littering, a fine for jay-walking, a fine for late payment of taxes, a fine for traffic offences and a fine for paying a fine late.

It is all right to have fines to impose discipline on the people. This is how Singapore gets the reputation of being a clean, orderly and safe city. It has its advantages.

However, in their zeal, the authorities may forget that their manner of imposing the fine can cause additional unintended hardship.

I wish to share some personal past experiences to illustrate this point.

A few years ago, I received a ticket for a parking offence. I tried to call the relevant authority to discuss the penalty, which seemed to be quite high. It was difficult for me to get through the hotline to speak to the officer in charge.

After much effort, I did get through to an officer. I got the impression that my enquiry was not welcomed. I felt that it would have been easier for me to write a cheque to pay the fine, and not to ask any questions.

On another occasion, I received a ticket for an ERP offence. I did not insert my cash card properly and did not pay my ERP fee, which was less than $1 during the old days. I was given an option to pay the fine through an AXS terminal or to appear in court. The AXS terminal seemed to be an easier option.

I visited an AXS terminal and had a difficult time. The system to levy the fine had just been introduced and was extremely difficult to use.

I had a lot of trouble trying to navigate the software. I had to declare that I was guilty of committing the ERP offence (as if it was my intention to commit this offence). At many stages of the interaction I was warned that any wrong statement will get me into more trouble. If I do not plead guilty, the other option was to appear in court.

I hesitated in pleading guilty as I was not sure if it would have any negative impact on my other dealings with the authority or it would leave any permanent blemish on my name. I was not able to ask the computer terminal to tell me about its implications.

After declaring guilty of committing the offence, I had to pay the fine using my ATM card. The connection with the AXS terminal was very slow. It seemed to have hung. I had to abort the operation after waiting for a long time.

I had to go through the whole process about three times, before I finally succeeded in paying the fine. It took me more than 30 minutes and was a frustrating experience.

Fortunately, I did not have the misfortune to go through an ERP gantry with a misplaced cash card in subsequent years. My friend told me that she paid an ERP fine recently by writing a cheque. It seemed to be more convenient nowadays.

If an educated person with a good knowledge of technology, like me, had so much trouble paying ERP fines, it must be much more frustrating for people who are less familiar with the use of technology. I am thinking of the taxi drivers, sales persons or delivery persons who have to drive daily in the course of their work. They must be very angry at having to pay a hefty fine and waste time which could be used to earn some income through productive work.

All these fines have to be paid within a deadline of a few days. If you open your mail a few days late and found that the time to pay the fine was running out, it could add further stress.

To follow from the example set by the authorities, some banks and service providers seem to feel that it is their commercial right to impose hefty charges for late payment or other administrative oversight.

Once, I received a letter from a credit card company informing me that the charge for late payment and for “insufficient funds” is in the order of $30 to $50. This is in addition to their interest of 2% per month. I was so angry that I called the hotline to cancel the credit card. The customer service officer was surprised at my action. He did not seem to understand why I reacted in that manner.

Let me discuss the concept of a compassionate “fine” system. Let us impose the fine in a way that does not add a further burden to the person who has been fined. Here are my suggestions:

1. Give more time for the offender to settle the fine. There is no need to impose a short deadline.

2. Allow the offender to call a hotline and accept the composition by a telephone call. There is no need to make the person go to see the officer in person or to go to “talk” to a computer terminal.

3. Allow the offender to pay the fine by installments, say $50 or $100 a month. This can reduce the burden on poorer offenders who have to work hard just to earn $50 a day. I am sure that they will learn their lesson.

Some people may argue that the Government faces the risk that the offenders may not pay the fines under this compassionate system. This should be all right. I believe that the Government will not go bankrupt from this credit risk.

I do not know if the “fine” system has improved since the days of my unpleasant encounters. Perhaps, some readers may share more recent experiences. I hope that the system has improved. If not, perhaps some of my suggestions can be considered by the authorities?

—————–

Email this to a Friend Email this to a Friend

Bookmark this

Comments

27 Responses to “A compassionate “fine” system”

1) nhyone on May 28th, 2008 12.57 pm

For parking and traffic offenses, there is no urgency and it’s easier to compose a letter and mail it in.

2) tunkudon on May 28th, 2008 1.53 pm

cause we have a fine gahment

3) gtiong on May 28th, 2008 3.59 pm

I had encountered my fair share of fines too. But the worst of all is the parking fine imposed on my father.

His work requires him to use lorry (not those huge lorry) for delivery. But becos of the height restriction, he was unable to enter multi-storey carpark to park his vehicle, so he needs to park in the Loading/Unloading bay below his HDB flat. Otherwise, he has to park at a heavy vehicle park which is 2km away.

When my dad first shifted from a HDB estate with open-space carpark to an area with only multi-storey carpark, he tried the old way of parking his vehicle, by parking at the Loading/Unloading bay and displaying parking coupons and subsequently a season parking coupon. However, on those occasions, he was fined $100 for each offence. We were lucky that the HDB officer was willing to waive it after hearing our story.

Then on one fine (pun intended) Sunday, my dad got fined again. We wrote a letter in to HDB to explain that it was a Sunday afternoon and that 90% of the HDB carpark would be free parking. But it was rejected and the response fails to show any understanding and compassion.

Then during a MP visiting day, one of the MP from my GRC visited my flat and I highlighted this issue to the MP. Below is a summary of my highlight:-
    1) My dad bought a HDB flat, he went home to take a break and he got fined. Even with season parking coupon, also cannot.
    2) Why Sunday also got fine when most HDB carpark is free?
    3) $100 is more than my dad’s one day income and he needs to pay for food, petrol, etc, don’t you think it is too heavy?
    4) Where else to park if can’t park in Loading/Unloading bay? Middle of the road?

Here’s the summary of the “solutions” given by my “beloved” MP:-
    1) Ask your dad to change vehicle. (Yar right! And lose his job?)
    2) Ask your dad to hire an assistant. (For wat? To look after his lorry? And share his pay?)
    3) Ask your dad to buy a car, so that he can drive to get his lorry. (Erm, he is $60/day or less, not $13,000/mth?)

Anyway after cracking his head to offer me those valuable “solutions” above, and still not able to convince me or pacify me. (In fact, I was more agitated after his so-called solutions.) His bunch of entourage noticed the embarrassing situation and plan for his quick exit.

Both my dad and I stayed in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC. This incident will surely help us understand our MP better and ensure that we choose wisely in the upcoming election.

4) aygee on May 28th, 2008 4.00 pm

aah, but Kin Lian, i think our govt departments, and in turn our commercial organisations, very likely view fines differently from the traditional view.

Compassion, did you say? you didnt put in a ;-) emoticon at the end of that statement.

5) nhyone on May 28th, 2008 6.37 pm

gtiong, what happens if there are more people who think like you? Compassion is one thing, wanting things your way is another.

If the heavy vehicle carpark is just 2km away, how about cycling to and fro?

6) The Law on May 28th, 2008 6.38 pm

“The only power any government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws”

‘Atlas Shrugged’ - Ayn Rand

7) Tan Kin Lian on May 28th, 2008 6.54 pm

Hi aygee

I tend to be optimistic. I think that there are some compassionate people in our government agencies. We should give them some suggestions on how to be compassionate. I hope that they will implement them.

8) botah on May 29th, 2008 12.44 am

to be a efficient government - you cannot spend to much time to talk sense to the public. just set rules. you do wrong or against the rules, we fine you or sue you or see you in court. you cannot take it so don’t break rule. don’t blame the government, blame singaporean. cos you choose to have a efficient & uncompassionte government. And the worst thing is that, we still have to pay them millions of dollars to ‘ tekan’ ourselves. Uniquely sickapore !!!

9) Rakesh Rai on May 29th, 2008 1.41 am

compassionate-fine = oxymoron :-)

I agree somewhat but I won’t blame the authorities. There’s the ugly Singaporean who keeps parking his car in the lot meant for the disabled. For these people I guess $100 is nothing.

10) Tan Kin Lian on May 29th, 2008 4.41 am

Hi gtiong

I am sorry to learn about the problem faced by your dad. Can you approach your MP again and ask for his or her help to allow your dad to park at the loading/unloading space during the night time, as it will probably not affect other users.

This can be a temporary arrangement and can continue as long as it does not cause inconvenience to other people. The car park inspector can be told about this arrangement, so that they do not issue a ticket to your dad.

If the loading/unloading space is not suitable, they may be able to suggest some other suitable space that is nearby.

Give it a try. Maybe, we can find some compassionate people within HDB.

11) Tan Kin Lian on May 29th, 2008 4.45 am

By coincidence, I committed my second ERP offence on Tuesday (a day before this article appears).

I removed my cash card to top it up and forgot to put it back. I only realised it after I passed the ERP gantry point.

On the suggestion of my daughter, I called the LTA hotline to explain this oversight. The LTA officer took down my particulars, the place and time of the “offence” and said that his collegue will call me back. I have not received the call for two days. Maybe he called, but I did not answer it.

I will experience once again, how the “fine” system works this time. I hope that it is more compassionate.

12) Fever Guy on May 30th, 2008 9.19 pm

Tan,

What the gahmen knows best is to create a list of fines for her citizens! There is no compassion to talk about, no money go to jail. Straight forward execution. Asking compassion from this gahmen when it lacks “the heartware” most. What you brought out is just the tip of the iceberg about this current gahmen! More fines and more laws will be created in the future just to contain us citizen to a mere DIGIT. Dont worry you will adjust to the FINE culture like everyone rich or poor do! It takes time to be FINE.

FG

13) Tan Kin Lian on May 31st, 2008 9.29 am

My government officers implement fines according to the book. They are reluctant to be flexible. Either they do not have the flexibility or they are unwilling to exercise it.

I hope that there is a system of empowering the officer to exercise flexibility and discretion. They should use their judgement. We will then have a more compassionate culture.

14) Tan Kin Lian on May 31st, 2008 9.29 am

Correction:

Many government officers implement fines according to the book. They are reluctant to be flexible. Either they do not have the flexibility or they are unwilling to exercise it.

I hope that there is a system of empowering the officer to exercise flexibility and discretion. They should use their judgement. We will then have a more compassionate culture.

15) MG on May 31st, 2008 10.16 am

Actually the system is not that bad la.

Offenders can be given more time to settle the fine. If the government officer refuses to accede to your request, just go to court and ask. You’d usually get about 4 weeks or so.

There’s also usually no need to see the officer in person to compound the fine. This can usually be done in writing.

Instalment payments are also possible. Just go to court and ask.

16) Alan Wong on May 31st, 2008 3.57 pm

The best part is that our petty Gahmen will not hesitate to send you a summons of arrest when you forget to pay the annual TV licence fee.

It is as if the offence of not paying the TV licence fee is as serious as killing someone.

That must be the best joke about our Gahmen, especially even when our neighbour up north has already abandoned collecting monies from its citizens for watching something like 5 or 6 TV channels for free.

Really unique Singapore, sometimes hopelessly lack of any compassion.
    Just like the old man and his son.

17) Tan Kin Lian on June 1st, 2008 11.25 am

I want to share an example of an inconsiderate Government agency - the URA Car Park division.

I received a FIRST REMINDER/ REQUET FOR DRIVER’S PARTICULAR for a parking offence held on a specific day at a specific plan.

I did not receive any earlier notification. This reminder was mailed on 31 May and expires on 6 June, a period of 7 days. (Fortunately, I happened to open the mail today. Otherwise, I may miss the short deadline).

I am asked to pay a composition fine of $6. I wanted to write a cheque. I do not know who to pay the money to - so I left the payee blank.

I am also required to provide the particulars of the driver. The car is used by my family. So, I have to asked my wife, son and daughter who is the offender and for their particulars.

It is an unnecessary hassle for me. This is a minor parking offence, i.e. expiry of the parking coupon.

I hope that URA will be more compassionate and make life easy for minor offences.

http://www.tankinlian.blogspot.com

18) Tan Kin Lian on June 1st, 2008 11.32 am

The letter on my ERP parking offence arrived today. The LTA officer, who was supposed to call me, did not call. I was asked to pay the ERP charge of $1 plus the administration fee of $10.

They gave me a whole list of ways to pay the fine, including the AXS terminal (that I had a lot of trouble a few years ago).

I opt to pay through the http://www.onemotoring.com.sg website.

I accessed their homepage. It contained 100 items of information. I search all over the place and found a link called “Pay ERP fine”. That is wonderful.

This link led me to another webpage. Another round of searching through this wepage. There was a link called “Pay ERP fine”. That is wonderful.

This link led me to an interactive page that showed me how to pay the fine. I do not need this e-guide. I only wanted to pay the fine and get done. I search all over the page for the place to make my payment. There was none.

I cancelled this page and went back to the previous page. I searched again for another link to make payment. Then I saw a notice that the LTA payment webpage is undergoing some updating and is not available for another hour. I think that I must have real bad luck.

I wasted 15 minutes for this troublesome way to make payment - and failed.

I read the notice again, and found that I could pay through my bank’s website. Let me go and try that wonderful option.

19) gtiong on June 2nd, 2008 3.33 pm

Hi Mr Tan, thanks for your suggestion, but I doubt I will give it a try as it will be just like walking into a brick wall.

Actually there are 3 issues that I would like to bring out resulting from my dad’s incident and they are not entirely personal.

1) Why did HDB build housing estate with only multi-storey carpark without any open-spaced parking lot? Haven’t the experience of building flats in the past with lift that does not stops at every floor taught them anything? HDB did not spare a thought for the elderly and handicapped in the past, now they also doesn’t spare a thought for SME or low-income workers. Is these all in the name of cost cutting?

2) Like what Mr Tan had commented, the inflexibility of government agencies. Add this to the over-zealousness of third-party parking wardens and we would get plenty of fines, plenty of appeal and plenty of “automated” rejection by HDB/URA.

3) I understand the difficulty an MP might faced especially when they are thrown with difficult questions. If he is unable to give me a good solution on the spot, at least he can show some sincerity by giving me an assurance that he will address it and follow up with me at a later date. What I cannot accept is someone who think up some crap solutions and throw them to me. They are elected to help with residence’s concern, not shoved our problem to one side.

20) Tan Kin Lian on June 2nd, 2008 4.56 pm

hi gtiong

You should give a try and ask your MP to get HDB to allow parking of lorries in open parking places nearer to your father’s flat. This special space should be reserved for vehicles that cannot enter the multi-story carpark. I think that your father has a case, so it give it a try.

21) Tan Kin Lian on June 3rd, 2008 7.39 am

I hope that Government officials who implement fines realise that the person who is being fined is an ordinary citizen trying to make a living, and that the offence may be unintended.

It is not just a matter of implementing the law rigorously, and exercising the power granted by the law. There is a saying that “power corrupts” and “absolute power corrups absolutely”. This saying can be applied to the top level in the Government, but it can also be applied to the lower levels.

I hope that Goverhment officals can be compassionate and considerate in the exercise of their power.

22) gtiong on June 3rd, 2008 9.17 am

Hi Mr Tan, my dad had tried everything he could.
    1) Park with overnight coupon, kena fined.
    2) Park with season ticket, kena fined.
    3) Consult with HDB for a solution, their reply “Sorry, cannot park.”
    4) Consult with MP. “Sorry, cannot park downstairs. Have to park far away, then walk, cycle or take bus back to your OWN house.”

Maybe the last resort could be to ask my parents to join the grassroot, then stick the town council decal or PAP decal onto the lorry and hoped that it will be immune to fine. Wonder if this might work?

23) Singapore Tahan Terus on June 3rd, 2008 3.25 pm

$25 fine for failing to pay $110 of TV license.
    $5 fine for late payment of Town Council fee of $61.50.

but then … for years, the authorities are unable to tackle the issues of illegal advertising stickers (property agents, tution agencies, exam-papers peddlers, swimming instructors, locksmiths, “legal cash” etc) pasted at lamp posts, traffic signs, bus shelters, lift lobbies, letter boxes etc.

24) Singapore Tahan Terus on June 3rd, 2008 3.32 pm

Mr Tan,

“I hope that Goverhment officals can be compassionate and considerate in the exercise of their power.”

Actually they are quite compassionate and considerate as they would waive the fine for the first offence. But then there are so many lorry drivers in every HDB flat, imagine if the officials were to be compassinate and considerate towards every lorry drivers who wants to park their oversized lorries below their block, I am sure the other residents would also come out in arms to protest that the lorries are creating noises and pollutions let alone posing safety hazards to the residents.

25) Jackson on June 3rd, 2008 10.55 pm

Despite the imposition of the fine system in every industry, there still remains incompleteness in the form of media piracy and drug trafficking. This shows that the usefulness of the fine system is limited to a certain extent and a much better alternative solution needs to be implemented in place instead.

26) Pay And Pay on June 5th, 2008 12.04 am

I bet if you ask the people why cannot litter on the streets, do you know what i think the answer will be? The answer will be ‘cannot litter or kena fine’ Very rare will you hear people say something like ‘it pollutes the envoironment’
    The same for parking. Why cannot park at some place? Also because of kena fine. I would like to hear people say that it will cause obstruction or cause hazard to other road users. Why must submit your annual tax income? Because if not kena fine! Not because it’s the right thing to do! Why cannot bring durian aboard the MRT? Because will kena fine! Not because it will cause annoyance to other commuter! Or why cannot smoke in certain places? Not because it’s hazardous to other people’s health! Kena FINE!!! No spitting in public. Why? Or else kena fine! Not because it’s unhygenic! Get the point? Or should I continue?
    It’s all about money now. And the gahmen is using money to manipulate the people into doing what they want. Compassion my!@#$%%^
    Singapore is a FINE city indeed!

27) Tan Kin Lian on June 7th, 2008 6.40 am

I believe that fines are necessary to impose discipline on the people, so that we can enjoy a clearn, order and safe environment. However the fines should be implemented i a compassionate manner that does not cause additional stress and hardship, as follows:

> allow more time to respond
    > allow the fine to be paid in installments

Some agencies are quite compassionate in levying the fine. But there are still many other agencies who approach this matter too zealously. They seem to enjoy imposing hardship on the people.

I hope that the collection of the fines should be outsourced to an agency which is more customer-friendly.

Leave a comment

Bottom