Andrew Loh - Written on Saturday, May 17, 2008 19:39 - 77 Comments

Film on Lee Kuan Yew seized by MDA

Andrew Loh

It was a private screening but that didn’t stop officers from the Media Development Authority (MDA) from seizing a copy of the film, “One Nation Under Lee”, at the Tulip Room in the Peninsular Excelsior Hotel.

The Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) screened the film to an audience of about 70 people, who paid $20 each to attend the lunch-cum-film event on Saturday, May 17.

The film, produced by activist and artist Seelan Pillay, was a narrative of how Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew subjugated various institutions in Singapore, such as the press, under the government’s control during his time as Prime Minister. It also depicted how the social divide in Singapore is a result of the People’s Action Party’s policies. The film included interviews with former Solicitor General Francis Seow, political detainee Said Zahari, opposition politician JB Jeyaretnam and scenes of various public protests which had taken place in Singapore.

Twenty minutes into the screening, three officers from the MDA, one of whom identified himself as “senior assistant director” Mr Tan Chiu Kee, arrived and demanded that the organizers stopped the screening and handed over the film. They were met outside the door of the room by Ms Chee Siok Chin and other SDP members and supporters.

The officers explained to Ms Chee that they were contravening the Films Act, which stipulates that any film intended for public exhibition must be submitted to the MDA for a licence. Failure to do so would incur a fine of $100 for each copy of the film in possession. Whether the SDP had committed any other offence is unclear as the MDA officers did not say.

The SDP explained that since the screening was already taking place, the officers should allow it to go on and the SDP would hand over the film then. The officers refused and at one point warned the SDP that they were “obstructing justice”.

The MDA officers then called in the police who arrived for a brief period. They left after the SDP agreed to hand over the film. By this time, the screening of the film had ended.

The copy of the film was then handed over to the officers who also asked for the dvd player used to screen the film.

The event continued with Seelan Pillay and film maker Martyn See taking the floor and answering questions from the audience, which TOC understands included two US embassy officials.

During See’s Q&A session, the MDA officers returned again and asked for the LCD projector. The SDP refused. The audience heckled and scolded the officers who promptly left – without the projector.

Below is a video of the film, One Nation Under Lee:

By Honest Production 2008.

Read also: Censors and police seize video at private screening” by Martyn See.

Below are two videos of the event at the Excelsior Hotel. Special thanks to tysploevil.

Part One:

Part Two

——————

1. An extraordinary film – Burma VJ
  2. Breaking News: MDA approves Martyn See’s film for screening
  3. Why ban only local film?
  4. Film censors behaving like bullies
  5. “Like the Wong Kar Wai film, Happy Together: Banned Together!”

77 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

jacob
May 17, 2008 21:26

I was invited for this event which was billed as a private event. Unfortunately, i wasn’t able to attend but i did get updates as to what was happening during the screening.
What transpired today was another revealing, revolting and despicable example of the police state.

paul
May 17, 2008 23:47

I was there but I chickened out and disappeared when the police were going to turn up. (was at your table….)

Now I regret it!

Well done Singaporeans!

Shawn
May 18, 2008 0:13

Martyn See is really gonna be a marked man (if he isn’t already) this time. Not his first time making “party political film”.

Oh well, it shows that there are some other sides of Lee which the fine folks at MDA don’t want others to see. I mean, if Mr See is portraying Lee unfairly, let the viewers judge for themselves and HECKLE the filmaker himself!

I’m sure there are many of us who respect the old man, nevermind his transgressions against his political opponents =P.

Maybe some people just do not have a clear conscience…

Selene Cheng
May 18, 2008 2:46

Dear Shawn,

Martyn See did not make One Nation Under Lee. Seelan Palay did.

hospitalisation
May 18, 2008 3:11

put on u-tube lay. i want to see. let the world see lah. 70 person paid $20 each. pls la, more important is to let more people see the film.

Daniel
May 18, 2008 4:36

Is he going to make
One Dynasty, One Lee ?

Lucky Tan
May 18, 2008 5:41

It is clear that laws have been violated and these officials are only doing their jobs. By hindering them and refusing to hand over the LCD, other laws are broken.

I suggest that if someone makes the next film outliining the grand achievements of LKY, send it to the MDA for censorship. You might have inadvertantly included scenes that might have nudity, violence, etc and the MDA can help you to clean the film up.

Singapore is governed by the rule of law. You should be glad the MDA and police turned up promptly this time. When I pass by HDB flats, the signs of loan sharks are everywehere. Paint in the lifts, outside certain flats and people endlessly harrassed by these loan sharks and the police is nowhere in sight. Our police have their priorities right when it comes to protecting us. Get rid of pesky opposition activists, party political film makers…..and loan sharks rank low on the list of threats.

Aidil Omar
May 18, 2008 13:00

Lucky Tan, have you seen the film? This wasn’t a political party film. It would be the same home-made videos people would make of weddings, birthday parties, using their handphones, camcorders, video cameras and whatnot.

We asked if it is true that every Singaporean in possession of all videos made by such items are to submit their homemade videos to the MDA for approval- Yes, all MUST, they answered.

It’s hysterical. You should’ve been there Lucky Tan.

sarek_home
May 18, 2008 14:03

Aidil Omar,

I think the answer is in the “film intended for public exhibition must be submitted” or it will be later clarified as such.

Often, laws are in place with no intention to be fully executed and enforced. For example, jaywalking, we don’t expect the police to be at every junction of the road to enforce it. However, they are in place to give the authority a tool to make an example of individuals to discourage others or target specific individuals or groups.

Regards.

Gary Teoh
May 18, 2008 14:15

I understand that private function does not require any police permit. Why the police came and disturb ? Might as well go Geylang catch prostitutes. Under Lee Kuan Yew, he wants to control everything, let him control ok, the most another few years, look at his picture when he met HK Donald tsang, a tired old man who is very relactant to give up power, please be patient, singaporeans.

Aidil Omar
May 18, 2008 15:06

Sarek. The event was not a public event where every Ah Seng, Ahmad Burkha and Gupta SIngh can stroll in and see. It was billed as a private event. Confidential invites were sent only to the intended recipients. Furthermore the film was not intended for public viewing ie. the youtube.

Would people then submit their homemade videos to the censors for approval prior to uploading to youtube? Youtube is clearly a public place. Everyone can see your video. If the Film act does not need to be enforced why create such ludicrous laws in the first place? Does it not specifically show that every Singaporean must abide by it?

We cannot be complacent in our faulty perception to accept laws that have been used to repress freedom of expression while dogmatically rejecting views that are contrary to the government’s.

Fever Guy
May 18, 2008 15:55

Can we stop paying MDA $120 for some stupid license every year? They are a waste of my money so free to catch politcal film activists.

Daniel
May 18, 2008 17:19

“During See’s Q&A session, the MDA officers returned again and asked for the LCD projector. The SDP refused. The audience heckled and scolded the officers who promptly left – without the projector.”

SDP is smart not to give the projector because once confiscated, it is as good as given to the PAP. It will be next to possible to get it back ? Why ? Because a projector cost a lot of money and by taking away and never give it back, it discourage people from attempting the same thing again. This has a psychological effect. The shameful government has a way to tame citizen that pose threat to its billion-dollars regime, that is confiscation of precious possession. That how the coffers work since independence.

Strange that these fake leaders still can everyday preach in MSM. Uniquely Singapore indeed.

sarek_home
May 18, 2008 18:29

Aidil Omar,

Yes, it is one of those “laws that have been used to repress freedom of expression”. Sorry if I gave you the impression I agree with such laws.

It was billed as a private function like the “Dare to Document” and the “Complaint Choir”. All three events used the private function line to “contravene the Films Act”. MDA singled out this particular one while turned a blind eye on the other two.

That is why I said the laws “are in place to give the authority a tool to make an example of individuals to discourage others or target specific individuals or groups.” in the first place and that it will not be used against the general public.

I think MDA will not do anything if the video were uploaded to Youtube for all Singaporeans to see. The PAP has a strange notion that it must stop these acts in real world but turn a blind eye of the internet. Another example is that foreigners can say anything online to “interfere” Singapore internal affairs, but not doing the same thing in real life in Singapore.

This is uniquely PAP thinking.

Gary Teoh
May 18, 2008 21:56

seem like govt. targets SDP more than other opposition party. This shows that SDP people are more capable and is a real threat to pap.

Benny
May 18, 2008 22:42

I think many people (locally and internationally) know about the PAP govt and how they run Singapore. Unfortunately for SDP/ the rebels, we need something more substantial than just opposing for the sake of opposing. While I do not give full credit to PAP and LKY style, I can’t seem to call SDP/ the rebels ‘hero’ for these actions.

No point blaming MDA or the police. If anyone out here can really create an impact to Singaporeans, MDA and the police could be under your governance in the near future. Unfortunately, most Singaporeans are happy with things are now. This is something you guys should explore and look into – how to change people’s mindset substantially.

CelluloidReality
May 18, 2008 23:44

When I saw this article, the first thing that came to mind was

“So 3rd World, so sia suay. We should not let this kind of lame actions tarnish our image as Singaporeans, we’re definitely above and better than these banal acts of harrassment and whatnot”

patriot
May 19, 2008 0:08

There were too many occassions of selective enforcements targeted at opposing citizens(on policies) vis a vis social crimes and ills.

The Enforcement Authorities(MDA/SPF) should be mindful of such glaring practices for the Public does not find them fair and as can be seen, are quite irritated.

patriot.

feedmetothefish
May 19, 2008 0:38

“Nation Under Lee”

Truths and history which are hard to come by!

I’m supposed to sleep but the 45 minutes spent watching the film kept me glued to my computer and reminded me of the kind of politics that I grew up with.

Must watch again.

http://uy-cyber-help.blogspot.com/2008/05/one-nation-under-lee-familee-movie-foc.html

Thanks to Uncle Yap for posting it and my sincere gratitude to Seelan for making this happen.

The times . . . they are changing

For the better!

feedmetothefish

Daniel
May 19, 2008 2:54

After watching the film, there are some elements that are still too lenient for the coffers.

One scene show LHL getting pay $3.7 millions per year. I thinking is there all about this ‘peanut’ $3.7 millions ?

How about he’s been husband of head of Temasek Holding that manages billion dollars of investment ? Conflict of interest ? Anyone try to guess how much millions his wife get paid ? Everyone knows that TH and GIC belongs to Lee, and it worths hundred billions given the kind of control and way it is managed, it just belong to the LEE.

What is these millions to Lee anyway ? Any wonder Joker Lee want to donate his ‘peanut’ salary ? No wonder the rest of ministers don’t follow suit. They just see through joker Lee.

» One Nation Under Lee | SGFRAG
May 19, 2008 13:06

[...] TOC’s full coverage of the MDA seizure during the screening. General, Vote PAP [...]

Gary Teoh
May 19, 2008 14:08

Good work by Seelan Palay. LKY has so many enemies, his next life will be at 18th level of hell.

My Pro-Singapore Political Views « Andrew: Inside & Insights
May 19, 2008 16:50

[...] Read the event coverage with the uploaded movie here>>> [...]

» Film on Lee Kuan Yew seized by MDA | SGFRAG
May 19, 2008 17:43

madeinsingapore
May 19, 2008 21:58

Thank you very much for posting and producing this video. I have added the video in my blog. I thought it was very direct and straight to the point without being defamatory. I hope to see more of such local production on social issues and I hope everyone of us can help spread the words(videos) around. There is no way they can try to ignore all these questions being asked forever. Some day the truth will be out.

One Nation Under Lee at UnionPost Developers Community
May 19, 2008 22:38

[...] Film on Lee Kuan Yew seized by the MDA [...]

strangeknight
May 19, 2008 23:06

What I’m curious about is — what were 2 US Embassy officials doing at the events as invited guests?

/scratches head

Gary Teoh
May 19, 2008 23:11

of course no defamation, it is true facts. with the circulation of this video, more and more sporeans are aware of this oppression by the dicatator regime. This Lim Swee Say and Lim Boon Heng don’t know do what in PM office, waste tax payer money. Malay say gaji buta, what the fish !!!!!

Bruce Lee
May 20, 2008 1:42

One Nation, One Singapore, One Lee… Bruce Lee!

Law
May 20, 2008 10:44

“The only power any government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws”

‘Atlas Shrugged’ – Ayn Rand

One Nation Under Lee/ Further Reading on Non-Violence « Readings From A Political Duo-ble
May 20, 2008 11:08

[...] 2. Film on Lee Kuan Yew Seized by MDA, The Online Citizen, 17 May 2008. [...]

noleeway
May 20, 2008 11:11

The film should be titled ” No Lee Way”. Ha ha!

blackfeline
May 20, 2008 11:20

saw the video online…pretty good. Forwarded to 10 friends and told them to do likewise.

Patriotic Professional
May 20, 2008 13:17

In my humble opinion, LKY is a genius. Our country is run like a company… people afraid of collecting cans, we do what we do best taught to us by example from our parents. We work harder.

But as I reach the twilight years of my twenties, tempered by wisdom drilled into me I have to ponder… How do I feel about my country and how do they feel about me. For what is a man without his spirit his goals his ideals, truly we are a first class country of a mere 4 million mostly professionals with diplomas/degrees. Those that lack the qualifications do menial tasks and are forgotten.

To one such as I who’se loyalty lies to his family foremost, the PAP are smart to remind me of my beliefs in likeness to the Lee’s and in my bubble of comfort they have made this meritocratic logic sound….

to levvy democracy in contrast to family/self-preservation?

I salute you at your attempts, however I think that all oppositions had one thing in common: Desperation and desire, people’s spirit cannot be rallied without the need for change. In Singapore we are content, we are rich so what if the PAP takes a big slice of the cake… Materialistically it’s A HUGE CAKE and the 4 mill are content with he crumbs.

However Patriotism … the spirit of a country MY country’s soul? that is another question

All that glitters is not gold, how oft have you been told. Fare thee well thy suit is cold.
[Merchant of Venice]

P.S If the authorities had made an arrest like in Singapore Rebel, I believe it would have made for a better story, martyrdom always does.

Daniel
May 20, 2008 15:13

“2 US Embassy officials ?”

You see how much Singaporean need the foreigner to do the talking ! Without foreigner there to witness the whole event, the coffers will do whatever they want and like unreasonably in order to secure their paycheck and kiss the Lee’s ass. So next time always bring a AngMoh around least in such event because they will bring back their account to the world and to George Bush, Obama etc while in the meantime the coffers can continue their nonsense and musicial chair.

Now those MDAs must be shocked to see those AngMoh there. haha… now these MDAs’s backside on fire in the way they handle the case in front of the AngMoh.

MDA, go get creative , and rock on like your pathetic rap now !

Daniel
May 20, 2008 15:18

This has to be the video of the year for so short a video says so much about the oppressive and selfish regime of the Lee’s dynasty. The fact that MDA’s interference speak very much of credibility of the video itself. Look like MDA and the coffers cannot handle the brutal truth in the video.

To the coffers,
“This was the truth, what to do, it’s happened.”

Gary Teoh
May 20, 2008 15:57

It really hurts the dictator, otherwise why they bother to confiscate the CD.

A Curious Student
May 20, 2008 16:59

Anyway…I think that this whole saga is rather interesting… which shows how foolish and frightened the MDA officers are. The more you try to hide something, the more the public will know. The internet and youtube are not within their power, and they should know that from Myannmar’s and Beijing’s unrest. And I guess it is only more sensible if the government or any persons of interest respond to queries directly. But I still respect the government a lot for what they have done, which I thought that no other party at that time could have played a better role when Singapore just declared independence. However issue for issue, this isn’t the way how a democratic society is supposed to run. And let’s face it, the video doesn’t violate social fabric against race or religion. If anything, it merely allows the new generation more say in how the country is run.

Jackson
May 20, 2008 19:37

watch movie oso illegal? wah liew!~!

Fever Guy
May 21, 2008 12:32

Daniel,

The HDB is now getting a new image revamped. Heard over the radio they are going the MDS Rap style. This time no big shots but the small prawns will be in the video rap. Cant they learned from MDA the last time? I vomited when i saw the RAP it is just not platable to me. Why spend such money to revamp HDB image? They should spend the money on video that reached the people suffering from lack of housing and other matters. It is really puzzling how HDB as a private entity has become. I longed for the EX-HDB.

Gary Teoh
May 21, 2008 14:20

heard from news Seelan Palay is under investigation. He is a great hero, sacrifice a lot ,

Daniel
May 21, 2008 16:32

“heard from news Seelan Palay is under investigation. He is a great hero, sacrifice a lot ,”

In other democratic countries like USA, it will be LKY and his coffer families, and the police department under the investigation for corruption and dereliction of duty. I used to live in western country where the press media will criticize the government and ensure that citizen there has independent and critical thinking, I cannot help but see how the sad state of Singapore ended up this way due to decades of propaganda and brainwash of thinking that PAP party is honest and full of integrity. Absolute power corrupts and it shows in all facet and system of the government. Thank to Internet, it has exposed the coffers. Here we have modern version of Junta.

Daniel
May 21, 2008 16:34

If the police force in the high order takes charge from Clown Prince who himself is the head of the despondent dynasty, what’s hope is there for Singapore ?

Daniel
May 21, 2008 16:44

Fever Guy,
the whole world praise Singapore for the MDA rap and yet they do not understand why the citizen here mock the government. You see, Singapore has successfully implant the image of success and propersity to the world at expense of the citizen here, so government will always to appease the foreigner here first as priority after all if these foreigners are happy, they will become a international mouthpiece for Singapore government. Of course, the government here screw the citizen here after all these citizens are irrelevant and just a digit. Give you a house to live ? Not when they can make huge money out of you. Want to vote them out. Call the military and police. See how much Singaporeans are been screw here and there to get rid of status quo.

Well, if only the Junta is as smart as Singapore, they will imitate Singapore by doing RAP in military, with the monk, with the citizen, at gun point of course. Junta should learn about PR from the coffers here because image branding is very important.

Why HDB doing RAP ? The answer is Youtube is free and they want to capitalise it as much as possible. In the future, you see whole lot of government body placing video on popular video service to spread their propaganda …

What they do that ? To wayang the world that they are down to earth and engaging. Puke…
We citizen should know better.

Gary Teoh
May 21, 2008 21:31

Ya true Daniel, in western country, media is the watch dog, just like the watergate scandal, can bring down a president. over here, media represents govt. worse still the people blindly follow the media report. and 66.6% supported them

Recent « Self Confessions of A CoffeeMan
May 21, 2008 21:46

[...] It was… kind of entertaining to watch. I’ll the comments to you while you watch the confrontation between the MDA, Police and SDP. (This is an actual [...]

Gen Y Kid
May 21, 2008 23:16

this video, indeed educates/informs us (mostly the Gen Ys) on the political arena/issues in Singapore.

That aside, with the Internet and inherent power of viral distribution of content online. Controlling the mainstream media will soon no longer be feasible.

T
May 22, 2008 8:34

Aidil Omar, re your first response to Lucky Tan – in case you are new to him or his blog – his sarcasm/satire are mostly done with such a straight face that most new comers fell for it. He often gets nasty comments for this “pro-government” pieces when the opposite should be the case.

Double Meaning
May 22, 2008 8:41

Yes, Lucky Tan is truly one of the best we have in town. Sometimes, when he praises you, then you have to think twice the meaning behind it.

Daniel
May 22, 2008 9:35

Aidil Omar,
Lucky Tan is one of the creative smart blogger that praise the government intensively but sarcastically. Hence his avatar is that of a laughing face not of himself but of the millions-dollars minister (haha)

Just reverse what Lucky Tan says and the “lucky” government will become “unlucky”

Daniel
May 22, 2008 9:39

“The HDB is now getting a new image revamped. Heard over the radio they are going the MDS Rap style.”

Since all these clowns like to rap, I will like to see them rap and dancing during election instead of doing the rhetoric and ‘More Good Years’ kind of feelgood speech on the election rally. If they do that, I will be touched and given them my earnest important vote: A vote of no confidence.

Alice Cheong in Wonderland » Political film, “One Nation Under Lee” seize by MDA during [private?] screening
May 22, 2008 11:36

[...] to Reuters, TodayOnline and TheOnlineCitizen, Singapore media regulator (MDA) seized the political film “One Nation under Lee” and [...]

ashke’s blog » Blog Archive » One Nation Under Lee
May 22, 2008 13:12

[...] is a story about the screening where MDA officers came down and tried to seize the film (but, HA! they didn’t take it away until after the screening was over). This is the film in [...]

Fever Guy
May 23, 2008 21:54

Since MSK magic escape, you hardly see George Bush wanting to join the any talks in ASEAN and anything security with Singapore. Blackout was given. The US also stop praising us as STRONG ALLY in TERRORISM. The US officials are furious with Singapore lack of security in letting a TOP LEADER JI escape thru the toilet. Yet, our F*** UP MHA WKS is busy visiting countries e.g. Vietnam and so for. He dont know what is sia suai? His face as thick as ELEPHANT?

NOW MDA and police has such great intelligent network in place to rob a private event of a film names “One Nation Under Lee”. Why our intelligence is not working overtime to catch MSK? But are so good catching uncensored film? Do they pose immediate danger to human lives? JI TOP leader can call for attacks anytime since his escape. I am very fearful that such attacks may occur in the future. But it seems our authorities are more focused on catching uncensored films than anything else. Where are their priority?

MDA and police has shown how disappointing they are. MDA and MHA could spend some money to make a video on MSK and distribute it to neighboring countries and interest their people with a reward or something like that with provision of information in successfully capturing of MSK . Yet, MSM just easily forget the whole issues and with MHA too being forgetful that a TOP JI LEADER just escaped not too long ago.

When monkeys are calling the shots in the current gahmen, we all can expect monkey business. Pay them peanuts will do.

betray
May 24, 2008 1:55

“When the Truth is on your side, why worry about Darkness?”

Apparently, WKS is NO LEADER that deserved the million $ paycheck!

With MSK still on the run (though I believe the dead theory more), MSK is abusing state resources to protect their own selfish interest and their millions $ salary.

Either MSK thought of himself as smart or we citizens as stupid, instead of sending out ISD or SPF to do their dirty jobs, he now making use of NEA and MDA to do all the harassment on SDP.

Pathetic!

betray
May 24, 2008 1:59

Correction:

Para 3 should read:
With MSK still on the run (though I believe the dead theory more), WKS is………

betray
May 24, 2008 2:02

Correction again:

Para 4 should read WKS instead of MSK being pathetic.

JustMe
May 24, 2008 8:14

Like it or not… let’s just move on…. the people’s perception on whether this is an authoritarian state or paternal state with benign strongmen leaders will always have their critics and supporters. That’s life, isn’t it? :)

Fever Guy
May 24, 2008 11:30

JustMe,

Moving on just like that is like chickening out. Taking the easy route. Having strongmen is good for the country but are we having strongmen or tyrants? Thats the difference. Do we live in a modern democracy or a depostism under one LEE? Thats the big picture. It is the people perception that counts and for me i cannot move on like that. I am no nomads that move on whenever the river drys cause this is my homeland and i hope to see changes at all levels soon.

FG

Oppressed
May 25, 2008 4:32

One thing that the video did not show, which I’m not too happy about and believe should be changed, is the fact that our court system was changed from that of a jury system to a one or three judge system.

When we were under British rule and even after we became independant, we had the jury system in place. This was, and still is fairly used, in most courts around the world. When it got changed, we all know by whom, and why no one aposed it is a mystery to me. Maybe someone out there has some clue to this.

Even our Padra branka ruling was by a 15 panel judge ruling. That’s like a jury system in itself. They deliberated the isues. We heard, even before the ruling was out, that S’pore and Malaysia would accept the outcome. Well why don’t they bring back the jury system so it is fair to people in all manner of justice. this way there’s no favortism to the man on the street or anyone in office. Including the PM or the President.

I rest my case.

Fever Guy
May 25, 2008 14:57

Jury system cant be implemented until an old fart dies. So are the freedom of speech and right to assembly. All this hope of FREEDOM we all have to wait for a while until that “day” come.

Grail
May 27, 2008 12:26

I’m a Singaporean married to a European foreigner. The patriotic songs and stories of my wife’s homeland actually bring tears to my eyes. I have never even lived there before.

Singapore is a mighty and well-oiled machine. That is her function through and through. Other nations may have a heart and soul, but my nation has never had an appeal beyond bragging rights about records and facts and numbers.

Where is the heart? I might as well be dead. All this nation provides me is a strong economy to earn a living. But what use is a living without a life?

Daniel
May 27, 2008 12:50

Oppressed, oh what the point of jury system if they going to be ‘independent’ like the Commission Of Investigation in Selamat’s case ? And if the clown could buy supporter’s vote and fix opp party ? Will I doubt that the clown will fix those people in COI or buy their votes ?

Let’s not make thing worse because everytime the change is made in government system, it is still the same old crude thing and wayangness. Remember how the government help the poor ? Increase GST to help the poor, and the poor endup paying more ?

So rather remove the clowns rather than ask those clowns to fix themselves.

Insulted
May 28, 2008 0:17

It is difficult to pick and choose a jury for every case but a lot more easier to appiont a few judges. Why even a guy who is out of the legal industry for donkey years can become the chief judge because he is so talented at giving out the correct judgement. At the end of the day they can all sleep peacefully as their conscious is clear. Retribution will come another day.

bluey
May 28, 2008 5:16

Belief in retribution is basically avoiding conflict personally and hoping somebody else does the difficult job instead.

The Lee’s and PAP ministers already have their money and land overseas. They can flee anytime they want without any emotional attachement to Singapore should the retributor arrive. ~~ Thaksin somehow came to my mind here~~

bluey
May 28, 2008 5:17

i meant fleeing like Thaksin.

desmond
Jun 6, 2008 23:52

hmm…honestly the film open up to alot of politics in sg that i don’t know about..but i just got piss off at part where they make fun of the MDA officers in the video..i feel humilated n sorry for them because l feel those ppl are just doing their job..if they cooperate after awhile of gentleman debate maybe at the end of the day when they reach home they might realised maybe the Chee make a point..

Jayden
Jun 9, 2008 1:43

Hi there,

Can I have your permission to archive this article and then re-post it in its entirety on my blog with full credits to you?

Cheers,
Jayden

theonlinecitizen
Jun 9, 2008 8:13

Jayden,

Please go ahead… :)

GTBlogger
Jun 25, 2008 21:34

So many of you were at the scene huh?

I’m a 15 year old student here, nice to meet you all. Some of you share my views, comment on my blog, i have posted numerous views.

journalism.sg » Obituary of a ban: Political films may get a new life
Aug 19, 2008 10:56

[...] Loh, A. (2008, May 17). Film on Lee Kuan Yew seized by MDA. The Online Citizen. Re-trieved May 28, 2008, from http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/05/film-on-lee-kuan-yew-seized-by-mda/ [...]

how i can know more about Lee Kuan Yew?
Sep 24, 2008 21:08

how i can know more about Lee Kuan Yew?:)

James
Oct 25, 2008 16:12

Congrats on the video! Keep up the good work!
I hope SDP will not loose faith and become demoralised after all the losses from the defamation suits.
Continue to press on in the good fight for more freedom! :)

It really opened up my views and brought a whole new light on why the opposition party risked so much to do what they do.

Lets continue to spread this video on our part and make it a viral one.
That there may be more balance of power in our country for the good of our future generations.

Remember: Absolute power corrupts absolutely!

Unlce Muthu
Dec 2, 2008 14:34

One dynasty, don’t know how many Lee..

Charles Lee
Jul 27, 2009 11:22

I enjoy reading the Singapore papers.
You should read the crap I have to read in The West Australian.
If you want to see how media dumbs down the public, come and live in Perth !

PowerCorrupts
Feb 1, 2010 12:14

Shocking behavior of the people in power. Unbelievable. The truth is never afraid of daylight. If the flim contains errors, point out the errors. If not why try to stop its screening???

jiangbao
Feb 1, 2010 12:50

yes the police took mins to get there but 5 weeks to confirm that the driver was a romanian when most singaporeans concluded that in 5 seconds.

Leave a Reply

Comment

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 124 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized