Sunday, May 18, 2008 10:21

Support the “Day Off” campaign for domestic workers

In Events & Announcements • 368 views • 5 Comments

This Campaign is a joint initiative by the National Committee of UNIFEM Singapore, Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics and Transient Workers Count Too. For more information about us, please look under the section of ‘Campaign HQ’ this site.

This is a public education campaign aimed at encouraging employers in Singapore to voluntarily give their domestic worker a day off. Through campaign activities such as talks, events, news articles and this website, we hope that enough people become convinced on the importance of giving their domestic worker personal time off.

To lend your support to the campaign and to know more about it, visit the Day Off website.

Watch the video, The Maid Trade – Singapore.

—————-

1. Human Rights for Migrant Domestic Workers
  2. Poly students seek endorsements for fares campaign
  3. ST writer makes controversial remarks on domestic violence
  4. Facebook’s bra colour campaign for breast cancer hurts more than it helps
  5. Domestic violence, whether mild or severe, is not acceptable

5 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Kew Kah Fatt
May 18, 2008 12:30

The problem is not the off-day. It is the $5,000 deposit and penalties if the maid misbehaves.
The government pushes the responsibility to the employer by getting the $5,000 bond. So kiasu Singaporeans dare not let their maids off to prevent them misbehaving outside and causing trouble to them.
The way the government treat the maids is as if they are slaves, not human beings. Just imagine maid contract can stipulate no day-off in black and white. And the MOM is saying they have no control over them.
If the government treat foreign workers as human beings, they should protect these workers from exploitation. These maids are paid the cheapest in the world developed countries standard. They get higher salary in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Canada. So many are here gainging experience before going over there. They can apply in Singapore to work in those places after gaining the required years of experience.
In a way, Singapore is a training ground for these maids. So you don’t expect a high standard from them as many will be leaving for better pasture elsewhere. What we get are the new maids, with little experience.
I am neutral on the voting as the problems of the maids are not settled, day-off cannot help them but may be making things worst.
Employer should treat them with respect and bring them out during Sundays and holidays. In this way, they can see the places in Singapore.

Ace
May 20, 2008 14:21

The issue is not the 1 day off. This is just 1 big wayang for the govt to show that they care….if we have spent money and time for maids to have benefits and off days, why dun our single mothers i.e. citizens or our very daughters get the 3rd month maternity just because they are not married?

While you are correct about the $5000 bond which is totally bore by the employers and the low starting salary. My point is why can’t we do without the maid levy? Maid levy can only be charged if the Govt or the relevant department is fully responsible for the maid and they can fight for rights and benefits and whatever the heck it is they want to wayang.

If all the responsibility is going to be on the families that employ the maids, then the maid levy should be given to the maids at the end of their contract by the Govt as a form of end of contract bonus. then you will see a definite quality of maids by the above reasoning.

The current laws and regulations are stacked against people/families who employ maids and of course, you would place as much restrictions as possible to prevent having to handle the many issues that will come up.

Let me ask a simple question, who the heck wants to hire maids/strangers into their homes if not for the fact that both parents are working and young kids are in the house.

By blaming the increasing cost on globalisation, stagant growth in salary to competitiveness (which do not apply to themselves), and punishing the families should anything happen to the maids. Any wonder why this situation is happening?

The key is not the attitudes of the families but the attitudes of the govt, if they are indeed so high and mighty and holier than thou….then they should give up the maid levy and be a partner when issues comes up and not always be blaming the people who things goes south….

Day off will never come under this sort of regulatory framework whereby the govt wants to be the nice guy without doing any thing at all.

george
May 22, 2008 13:04

The maid levy is like ‘dirty money’ to the govt which collects them for allowing maids’ employers to bring them in. The govt don’t see the presence of maids as an assert to its citizens – enabling them to live and work better. The govt sees them as a liability, as distinguished from tourists/travellers who actually come here to spend. But this true only up to a point. The problem is this is Singapore inc. not Singapore, my county, my people.

Raymond
May 22, 2008 14:48

Those families who do not want a day off maid just pay for the off day to the maid lor. Some maids do after all prefer to work on their off day. Everybody wins.

xiao wei
Sep 17, 2008 13:16

Raymond, if your employer offered you a tiny salary increase for you to work 7 days a week would you take it? I highly doubt any of us would.

These women who manage our homes, cook our food and take care of our families are human beings too. Everyone needs time to recharge, to spend time with family and friends, to laugh, eat and feel part of a community. After food and shelter socialisation is a basic human need.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook