The charge of the Chee brigade

Friday, 23 May 2008, 11:45 am | 137 views

Chee Soon Juan gets his day in court

Surveying the horrific barrage of artillery raining down on Union soldiers struggling valiantly - but hopelessly - to close in on his lines, General Robert E. Lee was said to have uttered, “It is well that war is so terrible, or we should grow too fond of it.”

One imagines that a certain other Lee - in this case Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - might have fashioned a similar thought as he faces down yet another charge from his perennial adversary, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) Secretary-General Chee Soon Juan.

The elder Mr Lee had probably hoped that his recurrent tactic of bringing - and winning - defamation suits against people who are coincidentally also his political opponents might have had the effect of dampening the enthusiasm of Singaporeans for challenging his government’s rule. It has worked to some degree by hammering home to Singaporeans the potentially grave consequences of political activism, particularly if they find themselves on the wrong side, and by substantially raising the cost of free speech.

But it is a lesson clearly lost on the intrepid Dr Chee. To paraphrase Lord Tennyson, Dr Chee and his plucky brigade - which includes SDP diehards such as his sister Chee Siok Chin and party chairman Gandhi Ambalam - appear oblivious to the “cannon to right of them, cannon to left of them, cannon in front of them” as they ride on “into the valley of Death” that is flanked menacingly by some of Singapore’s most prominent lawyers.

This time the issue at hand was yet another defamation lawsuit brought on by Mr Lee - with his son and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as co-plaintiff - against the SDP and its leaders for an article published in the party’s publication “Demokrat” in April 2006. The Lees found fault with the article’s critique of the government’s handling of the National Kidney Foundation scandal. The High Court ruled that the article had defamed both the Prime Minister and the Minister Mentor and granted a summary judgement against Dr Chee and the SDP. The plaintiffs’ lawyers also sought to strike out statements of evidence filed by Dr Chee, such as an affidavit by former Solicitor-General Francis Seow testifying about the “reputation” of the elder Mr Lee, which they claimed were unnecessary and scandalous.

Dr Chee responded by challenging the Lees to appear in open court to face him. Dr Chee had on occasion taunted the Lees about being afraid to do so because their testifying could lead to other ugly details about them coming to light. Now he’s about to get his wish. In a statement released on 22th May 2008, the Lees said that they were prepared for a court hearing on 26th May to determine the damages that Dr Chee and the SDP will have to pay. However, it is still unconfirmed whether the hearing will take place in open court. The presiding judge has apparently yet to make up her mind, but it should only be a matter of time now that the Lees have given their assent.

The Lees also indicated in their press statement that they had been prepared to appear in court earlier on 12th May to testify, but that Dr Chee had tried to delay this in order to avoid the court pronouncing on the amount of damages to be awarded. That’s probably true, but it may have been driven by Dr Chee’s attempt to confirm with the Court that the hearing will be held in open court first. Having the debate heard in chambers would diminish the political effect of any ‘revelations’ that he might have had in mind.

Their’s but to do and die

The Lees’ assent to open court is probably an attempt to show that they have nothing to hide. They might be hoping to further discredit Dr Chee and to put paid to his claims about their impropriety once and for all. But they could very well fail on all these counts. This is because the segments of the population that already believe strongly in Dr Chee’s message are unlikely to be assuaged even if the Lees are vindicated by the Court. Suspicions of the Lees’ impropriety are almost built-in to the mindset of such folk and the case will only spark a platitudinous outpouring of discontent on the Internet. Furthermore, it is difficult to see how much further Dr Chee and the SDP can be discredited, given that the party polled a dismal 18% amongst respondents to a survey in 2006 that it was a “credible” party, and this case probably won’t win the Lees any new converts. In fact, it could reinforce popular perception (or misperception) of their pettiness.

The problem is that testifying in open court was the logical culmination of the Lees’ defamation suit against Dr Chee and the SDP. Putting off the question any further would only have given credence to Dr Chee. Thus, the mistake lies in bringing the suit in the first place. The Lees find themselves now potentially handing Dr Chee a big microphone to get his message out to both Singaporeans who would typically be beyond his reach as well as an international audience. They might actually end up giving Dr Chee more media exposure and credibility - exactly the reverse of what they had sought to pre-empt. All this over a fringe issue that lingered ephemerally (if it did so at all) in the public consciousness without any visible repercussions for the Lees.

Yet in a sense this is the inevitable consequence of two things of the elder Mr Lee’s own making: his success in winning previous defamation suits and Singapore’s generous laws on libel and defamation. Both factors encourage his continued use of defamation suits. One way out of this in future is to reform Singaporean law to make it harder to prove defamation. For instance, the American standard for libel was set by the Supreme Court’s decision in New York Times v Sullivan in 1964, which ruled that the plaintiff has to prove that the defendant knew that his statement was false or acted in reckless disregard of its truth or falsity. The high burden of proof on the plaintiff ensured that cases were difficult to make, thereby helping to enshrine the freedom of speech and the press. But obviously this is unlikely to come to pass anytime soon in Singapore’s current political climate.

Another reason why filing the suit might prove to be a mistake for the Lees is that the case will probably end up strengthening the resolve of Dr Chee and the SDP in pursuing their brand of confrontational politics. The SDP’s struggle has settled into a predictable pattern of provocation by the party to draw a response from the authorities. In the process they hope to swing the attention of the public and advance awareness of their message. Campaigns such as Dr Chee’s sit-in on Myanmar and the Tak Boleh Tahan drive to address the rising costs of living (both of which resulted in arrests of SDP members by the authorities) are premised on this philosophy. This approach stems from the SDP leadership’s rejection of the unspoken rules of political engagement in Singapore because they believe that the system is so skewed towards the government that such rules have ceased to be meaningful.

Unsurprisingly, the SDP leaders have become distressingly familiar with defamation suits and even prison. Nevertheless it seems that, regardless of how few of them manage to return “from the mouth of Hell” or whether the Singaporean public “honor[s] the charge they made”, they persist in their Sisyphean endeavour, perhaps because “their’s not to reason why, their’s but to do and die”. One has to admire their relentless fortitude, which is in a way, rather un-Singaporean. But expect more baiting from the SDP ahead. And expect the Lees to oblige - with relish - the SDP with just the kind of response they expect.

Read also:

CSJ to LKY: Will you agree to a full cross-examination? by Chee Soon Juan.

PM Lee, MM Lee say they’re ready to be cross-examined in their case against SDP by Channel NewsAsia.

———————-

Email this to a Friend Email this to a Friend

Bookmark this

Comments

36 Responses to “The charge of the Chee brigade”

1) tunkudon on May 23rd, 2008 12.25 pm

it show time .regardless win or lose the message have been pass on to more pp . more and more support.

2) Gary Teoh on May 23rd, 2008 12.31 pm

I salute Dr Chee & company for the courage to confront pap leaders who over time have lost credibility in many issues. People are not stupid, given the new media, they know what is going on and not be fooled by the MSM. Given 10% swing in votes,the pap will have big trouble ahead.

3) SevenEleven on May 23rd, 2008 1.15 pm

The outcome is obvious. It’s a total waste of time and money

4) PAPER on May 23rd, 2008 1.28 pm

Chee is as screwed up as ever. The next thing you know, he will harangue the Lees in court and then be arrested, and all these for what? For show. Seriously, he and his sister should consider joining The Singapore Idol.

5) CelluloidReality on May 23rd, 2008 1.42 pm

Those who think Chee’s screwed, lack a fine appreciation of real political strategy. There are many roles in politics, he’s just playing the role that he’s better at, activism.

Sadly, many Singaporeans have little inclination or knowledge to differentiate activism and political office.

6) hor fun man on May 23rd, 2008 2.24 pm

I agree that the Lees have made a mistake and placed themselves in a dead end. They have missed the forest for the trees. It is a given that the non-independent judiciary will hand the Lees victory, but where are the real gains? It would have been wiser to act in a manner that will bring less attention on the Chee camp.

Today we read in the PAP-controlled press more posturing and absurdity from the Lee camp, this time from MM’s press secretary. The Lees and their camp can’t be very clever if they still don’t realise the futility of their actions.

Perhaps the purpose has always been to instill a climate of fear amongst the populace.

7) Netizen Ramseth on May 23rd, 2008 2.26 pm

CelluloidReality,

I feel that it’s Dr. Chee himself who’s confusing Singaporeans about the difference between politics and activism.

Activism is non-contest for political power, but for the power-that-be to agree to and support certain causes.

Politics is contest for political power, not to lobby the power-that-be what to do but to win power to do it.

Dr. Chee appears to be doing both but neither here nor there.

8) Zheng Xi on May 23rd, 2008 2.45 pm

Great article I thoroughly enjoyed this piece! Tennyson’s Light Brigade always caught my imagination as a kid, it must have been grand going down in a blaze of glory that way! However, as I grew up, I much preferred the more realistic and grittier Owen, if you get what I mean ;)

Incidentally, I don’t think NYT v Sullivan to date has not been imported completely in any other country of the common law world: there seems to be a judicial consensus that NYT offers too much protection to political speech for comfort. South Africa, Canada, NZ, Aus, UK all have differing levels of protection for political speech, set lower than the NYT standard. Reynolds in the UK does come close though.

Singaporean defamation law is quite something else, maybe we’ll do an article on it sometime huh? =)

9) Harrison on May 23rd, 2008 3.22 pm

Fellow Singaporeans,

Like it or not, SDP has done what none of us are prepared or dare to do. SDP raised precisely those questions that are burning in our mind - ridiculously high minister pay, changes in CPF withdrawal age, annuity scheme, means testing, nepotism, cronyism, etc, etc, etc.

Whether they are doing this out of self-interest or party interest, they are also doing Singaporeans a respectable favour. For a long time, we have been psyched by PAP that CSJ is a trouble-maker, lacks credibility, etc.

Remember the fact that SDP fell foul of the laws here because those are unjust laws.

Please ask ourselves honestly and clearly whether CSJ deserves our support. My negative opinion of him has changed for sure.

10) Andrew Loh on May 23rd, 2008 4.13 pm

Today’s Straits Times has a piece titled:

Chee taking fright again, say PM and MM

The article was written by Zakir Hussain.

Also in the Straits Times, another piece taking potshots at bloggers - and one in particular, TOC writer Joel Tan, for this article which he wrote on his own blog: “ST in the flesh!”

The ST article was titled:

Old and new media don’t have to be strange bedfellows written by Lynn Lee. A quote from her article:

“Indeed, the best bedfellows are those who, at the end of the day, respect each other’s stand, even if they may not always see eye to eye.”

Perhaps Lynn Lee should read this article: Demonising the Internet - and bloggers

Back to Chee. As for all opposition parties, and the prospects of electoral victories for them, if they carry on doing what they’re doing - whether SDP or WP - nothing’s going to change.

But if the PAP keeps screwing up, like they’ve been doing, the opposition may benefit from it.

11) Sylvester Lim on May 23rd, 2008 4.51 pm

Unless an independent Elections Commission is convened, no matter what the Opposition strategy, we are never going to make an impact thru the elections especially when the goalpost keeping moving. GRC for the sake of racial equality? Right…. I was one of the Singaporeans that believed all that crap that the PAP fed us. We are paying the price now for the loss of our freedom of speech and human rights.

Even if the PAP keeps screwing up, the opposition will benefit from it if Singaporeans know about it. When the MSM have a hand in keeping things mum, how is it going to spread? The internet? Uncles & Aunties use the internet meh? The control of the MSM is a brillant stroke by old Lee and 4 decades have made a huge impact on the Singaporean persona.

12) Daniel on May 23rd, 2008 5.24 pm

“Chee taking fright again, say PM and MM”

Clown PM and senile MM should be remind of the monkey that drops from the tree as quoted by PM to the opp pary, and in Selamat’s the real monkeys turn out to be the PM, MM and the coffers

So who taking the fright ? It is the monkey again.

13) Tan Ah Kow on May 23rd, 2008 6.12 pm

Sylvester Lim noted:

Right…. I was one of the Singaporeans that believed all that crap that the PAP fed us. We are paying the price now for the loss of our freedom of speech and human rights.

It may not just be loss of “freedom of speech” and “human rights” but also potentially, you could be inheriting a economic, political and judicial system that is ill equipped to cope with the future.

On the economic policy front, things have not changed since independence. Many of the so-call economic “success” formula have its roots that were devised by foreign advisor or inherited from the colonial government. The present establishment have not deviate from these roots and are running the country on policies that were dated even before independence. Of course, if you swallow what MSM says, you will get the impression that the economic front is “successful” but the rot may have already set in.

On the judicial front, I know for a fact that publicly many MNCs may singing praise about it but deep in the back of their mind, there is a suspicion that they won’t necessarily get a fair play when come up against a Government body such as a ministry and maybe some leeway against a GLC. If you put aside the cases brought up by the Chee et al, just look at how MDA applies its regulations as if they were statues, already makes many MNCs wonder in private about the judiciary. For example, why aren’t the media companies taking up judiciary reviews to test if fines imposed by MDA are justifiable?

Coming back to the issue of the defamation suit by Lee, what it show is you know have an elite that simply out of touch with the reality of its own reputation and being seduced by the rightness of its own propaganda and blind faith in its own institutions as an arbitrator.

With this kind of elite running the country, one wonders what rots have already been set and currently be masked!

14) Fever Guy on May 23rd, 2008 9.24 pm

SDP deserves my support and Dr Chee and gang are not the docile OPPosition especially those 2 sitting in parliament. The two are good for nothing opposition. Dr Chee is a fighter and a true Singaporean who wanted Singapore to be ruled justly and that people are treated like citizens. We should all wish Dr Chee to put up his best performance and make the old and young FART looks like school children.

15) Tan Ah Kow on May 23rd, 2008 9.46 pm

Andrew Loh noted:

Back to Chee. As for all opposition parties, and the prospects of electoral victories for them, if they carry on doing what they’re doing - whether SDP or WP - nothing’s going to change.

But if the PAP keeps screwing up, like they’ve been doing, the opposition may benefit from it.

The problem I believe lies not in the political parties but the electorate themselves. What do they want? Do they really want the opposition to check the government or do they just want the government itself to tone down?

The situation as it stands with the electorate is that I believe what they want is for a government of soften. They don’t necessarily want an opposition as a check. The PAP could screw up and even screw up really to the point of catastrophic event, the electorate will still stick with the PAP. They may moan about the PAP’s modus operandi but frankly, the electorate themselves won’t leave a finger — even something as simple as voting for the opposition — to effect change.

As far as the electorate is concern the PAP is the only game in town and they will have to stick to it come hell or something worse. That is because the what you got is a highly wishy-washy electorate that do not and does not care to know what it wants.

16) Fever Guy on May 23rd, 2008 10.46 pm

T A K,

That is why TOC and other bloggers are educating the masses(sheeps) about alternative views.

We cannot assume that electorate will be in such a status quo forever. Internet is changing how people understand issues like never before. MSM can kiss their propaganda goodbye in the next 5 years.

More and more singaporeans young and old are embracing internet and are interested in reading blogs and engaging in meaningful conversations.

Look at how are investments are doing overseas shown that our gahmen is an oversize advertisement of themselves. They are just like any DICK TOM and HARRY who has shown no foresight and many bad judgement.

The important point is to get the message across to the non internet savvy populance. That may take some time and effort but nothing is impossible if it is good for all singaporeans.

I do my part by sharing with my relatives on alternative views they can have and they are quite responsive and shocked to see the truth. It gives them a awakening about singapore. You too can be a part of the change.

17) Gary Teoh on May 23rd, 2008 11.41 pm

Fever Guy,
    I agree with you, but many heartlanders esp. those aunti and uncle who have this misconception that govt is good ppl and opposition is bad ppl. govt helped the poor ppl by giving rebates blah blah blah… so how to convince these ppl esp. they can’t read blogs.

18) Tan Ah Kow on May 24th, 2008 12.14 am

Fever Guy,

Reading the Internet is one thing. Really act is another thing.

In fact long before the Internet, people are already spreading the message by word of mouth and through real, not virtual coffee shop. Even at a time when the PAP was less “powerful”, you had real independent press, a Law Society that is ready to stand up to the PAP, what happens? The electorate still voted for the PAP and accept laws that make it more “powerful” now.

If at a time when it is easier to, not necessarily overthrow the PAP, but put opposition to check and the electorate still vote for the PAP. Now the situation is going to be even more complex and more, and more people in the civil service and GLCs stands to lose if the PAP get overthrow. Under such condition, do you honest expect a kia su and kia si electorate to dare overthrow the PAP?

Look at Zimbabwe, when the situation get super desperate, the elite will consolidate power and the helpless simply emigrate. The same will apply in Singapore when, not if, it get to a desperate situation. As long as emigration remains an option Singaporean will take that rather than fight for their “bread and butter”, if not rights!

Let me use a personal analogy. A friend of mine always complain about how bad his employer treats him. Always complain. But when I ask him why he don’t quit, he says “can’t do it now must wait for bonus then leave”, after he got his bonus, he still stay and now his excuse is, “economy bad, job market not good, wait for better economy”, when economy turn good, ” he says ah.. good economy so expect bonus wait until I get it”, the cycle goes on and in the meantime he complains and complains.

That is exactly what will happen. Ask people why they don’t vote for opposition? The answer is opposition not “credible”. Ask why don’t more people join the opposition? Answer, don’t like politics because they don’t like party politics. And the circle goes on.

19) Fever Guy on May 24th, 2008 1.05 am

T A K,

I fully agreed with your point that it is difficult to persuade the mindset to change. 40 years of brainwashing really makes most sheeps living in a make believe MARTIX net. But for everything there is always a start and we should do our best to educate masses and not fear disappointments. Like i spread the word through my relatives and also intent to start with my friends.

There are people who would like join opp political party to make a statement, others blogged with their views, some spread the word by mouth, some engaged in civil disobedience and others write to forum to critic the gahmen. All these actions are little drops of water that one day will make a hole in a rock. Time is the ingredient we need and all we know it is GOD given FREE.

We cant stop educating the public(non savvy internet users) but try new ways and means to engaged them. WP doesn’t believe in blogs it will be their biggest mistakes. People like aunties/uncles now can learn internet from CC and their grandchildren are more savvy than then they too can teach them to use internet.

They are always some people sitting on the fence looking for the wind of change before pledging their support but we cant lose hope. I believe in human willpower and change will one day come. So do you!

Cheers
    FG

20) Ned Stark on May 24th, 2008 12.22 pm

Netizen Ramseth ,

Perhaps this is a telling indictment of the Singapore system; instead of civil societies doing the job of a human rights watch dogs you have political parties doing such a job.

21) Gary Teoh on May 24th, 2008 12.38 pm

I don’t know why WP don’t believe in blog, look at their website,very dull. Nevertheless, if we can educate the electorate, a 10% swing to opposition would make the difference. why worry about GLC, or Temasex. If opposition be the govt. they can change Temasex CEO, or if present CEO is capable, then let her stay, no harm done. If GLC chairman is still Lee Kuan Yew, the new govt can sack him if it feels he is too old, or if the new govt. thinks he is capable., then retain him. Why the folks worry so much about change in govt? If pap does not rule, then xyz will rule the country. May be xyz is better , who knows.

22) Fever Guy on May 24th, 2008 1.54 pm

Gary Teoh,

The point is for GIC and temasek to be accountable for their investment returns. This is a sore point for them. They cant be accountable and transparent. Citing all sorts of reasons, being accountable to her people seems like a tall order.

I agreed that if there is no Pappies, any XYZ can rule Singapore and we will be still fine. Look at HK, as prosperous as ever and going thru modern same challenges as a former colony of British. Have they become backward than us? NO. If fact many of our policies are cut and paste from HK. Is a shame, our gahmen likes to blow their big trumpet to the world.

FG

23) tunkudon on May 24th, 2008 1.54 pm

yes . more more and more pp know our right and the truth , the war is win half already

24) Fever Guy on May 24th, 2008 2.11 pm

Horsburgh Lighthouse on Penda Branca.

Just take a look at Penda Branca episode. We win some we lose some. We won the lighthouse we lost the middle rocks and that makes it very tricky for drawing up terrotrial waters clearly. If Malaysian Navies encroached into Penda Branca, Singapore patrol boats and coast guard can chase them out. NOW, it is impossible because middle rocks is just 250 metres away, a short stone throw away, and all the military sensors built on the lighthouse will serve a lesser usefulness. If Malaysia also builts sensors and lighthouse on middle rocks what can Singapore do? Protest? When a lighthouse is a lighthouse just keep it that way, why did we need to install military installations there to provoke the Malaysian to seek Penda Branca and middle rocks + southern ledge. Having it play out in ICJ after more than a decade of rows. Now instead of always default Singapore presence of activities there, we now encourage our friendly neighbour to finally stake a successful claim there and be involved. I glad we at least won the lighthouse with a 12-4 votes in our favour. If southern ledge is lost it will definitley reduced our terrotrial waters greatly . The pendra branca is important to Singapore economy as we relied on trade through shipping between east and west. At least no road is off limit to us. Thats good news!

Look at ST paper today, not much celebration at all because we didnt win completely infact we lose even more.

FG

25) Ordinary Citizen on May 24th, 2008 2.39 pm

Excellent article! Keep up the good works, TOC.

In the past, I have never like CSJ at all. I have been reading articles from local newspapers that have been painting a negative picture of him. Maybe that was why I had a bad impression of him.

But after reading his books and watching how he has really suffered so much, whether justly or unjustly, whether for his party’s interests or for Singaporeans, I begin to pity him and sympathise with him.

Even my wife and children also began to feel for him. My 12-year-old grandson takes him as his hero. Maybe he strikes a cord inside our hearts. Maybe that is why someone sees him as a serious threat and therefore has to be incapacitated? Just may be …..

It reminds me of how James Gomez was treated during GE 2006 too.

And it also reminds me of our National Pledge:

We, the citizens of Singapore
    pledge ourselves as one united people,
    regardless of race, language or religion,
    to build a DEMOCRATIC SOCIETY,
    BASED ON JUSTICE AND EQUALITY,
    so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and
    progress for our nation!

I begin to ask myself, “Have we lived up to our National Pledge?”

OC.

26) Gerald on May 24th, 2008 5.36 pm

Chee likes to compare himself with Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr. I think that is getting a bit too big headed. Those two men are giants who will not find a match for several generations to come.

I agree with Ramseth.

The Chees and all the Tak Boleh Tahan members who are in SDP should all quit the party and start an activist group. That is what they are best suited for. They can still get their foreign funding (in fact it will be easier) and the prickly Lees won’t see them as a political threat (although I don’t see why they do currently).

In the meantime, the other opposition parties can get on with their work of actually winning seats in the next elections, without having to be grouped together with Chee, who is frankly unelectable.

27) patriot on May 25th, 2008 12.32 am

May I assert again that so long as the Oppositions do not engage the people to gain their trusts and win their hearts, they(opposition parties) will not succeed in their political endeavours.

Politicians that act alone and with only handful of supporters are but attention seekers. And those more interested in gaining supports from foreigners are trying for international fames and not working for the interests of the Locals.

Then there are political party that believes it should play only second fiddle, such a party is unlikely to give electorates much confidence.

In view of the above, PAP knows it will not be overwhelmed for at least the next few elections, unless some unexpected situations arise.

The Oppositions in Sg got to seriously re-examine their strategies and agenda.

patriot.

28) Lai CF on May 25th, 2008 3.53 am

Henry Weaver: “there can be no progress except through the more effective use of our individual energies, personal initiative, and imaginative abilites - applied to the things and forces of nature.”

That FEAR FACTOR is really killing off Singapore as it deprives SIngapore of its very own natural resources - Singaporeans - “individual energies, personal initiative, and imaginative abilities”.

Yes, like Harrison said, once upon a time, I looked upon Chee and SDP with contempt, clownish (and still do), but through time, more and more, rightly or wrongly, I looked upon them as the first sign of trying to ignite political activism within Singaporeans.

I suggest that Chee Son Juan is effectively following that “Howe Yew Thong SYndrome” where an unpopular, arrogant and abrasive civil servant turned politican, and my perception by reading The Straits Tiems at that time, rather unpopular at Potong Pasir, and more or less handed over Potong Pasir to Chaim See Tong on a plate.

Do not underestimate Chee Soon Juan, JB Jeyaretnam and the rest of those experienced demagogues with Lee Hsien Loong showing such disconnect with grassroot in enforcing all those unpopular policies.

They are onto a good thing with Lee Hsien Long and his new team compeltely out-of-touvh with grassroots and only listen to what they want to listen.

By perservance, by persistence, by continuous wooing athe Electorate and remain in public limelight, by attracting young activists like Chai Ti Lik into their ranks, and with GE2011 still far away, you will never know …

the American called it “giving a mercy f**k”.

That is, worn our by the persistence of the suitors, taking pity on him, touch by his sincerity and ardor, the lady may just give him one “mercy f**k” only.

And that is what Chee Soon Juan and et al are aiming for in GE2011.

Just one “mercy f**k” from the Electorate.

he got 3 years to do that.

29) patriot on May 25th, 2008 10.01 am

‘Wooing the Electorates’; well said Lai CF. That is exactly what the Oppositions have to do but I do not see them doing much in this respect.

As can be seen in the Blogosphere, the Bloggers and commenters are saying much much more than the Oppositions combined in political affairs. I have yet to see and hear Oppositions refuting the Main Stream Medias in their reportings, only the people in the Blogosphere are doing that.

When politicians, activists are able to rally the people, liked Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr, they will have people standing behind them(politicians/activists) and not viewing them from the front, when they are ‘in actions’. When the Masses stand infront of the politicians and watch, the politicians are but treated as entertainers which could be anything from jugglers to clowns. And here is where ‘wooing’ is not the carrying the meaning it should.

The Workers Party, though the largest Opposition Party, is lilliputian to the PAP. The rest of oppositions, even if merged or combined, are insignificant, and yet we are fully awared that all of them though not fighting each others openly, are fractious. How are they(oppositions) to give and provide the people the confidence?

The Citizens see through the weaknesses of the Oppositions and know that they could not provide the solutions to their(people) problems. They(citizens) are plagued by a dilemma and have to weigh in the consequences politics have on their livings. Since the Oppositions are unlikely to work together on a common platform against the Ruling Party, putting them into Parliament do not serve much purpose.

When Opposition Parties in Sg are small, insignificant and yet fractious, the Electorates will always have to face the Political Dilemma.

patriot.

30) DC on May 25th, 2008 10.54 am

Hi Patriot,

I totally agree with your sentiments. As long as our Oppositions don’t band together and drop their differences aside, I find its going to be close to impossible to gain serious ground in terms of parliamentary seats.

Only when we see the combined efforts of SDP, SDA, WP and the other parties coming together like the Raykat Alliance in Malaysia, the most we can do next election is probably just lower the incumbent’s votes and/or maybe win a GRC.

Like many other people, I used to see SDP in a bad light and WP as the most viable opposition party to take over the government. Nowadays, I seem to have swung the other way.

When WP started to censor its members’ online activities as well as the more recent YSL debacle, I begun to think about WP’s statement of becoming the Alternate Government. It seems awfully similar to what the incumbent would do if they were the opposition. (And its not in good light).

If it talks like a duck, quacks like a duck, then I guess, it must be a duck.

SDP and like many other frustrated Singaporeans know that there is no other way to change the government with the unfair playing field that the incumbent have created for the elections.

For me, I’ll still be voting for the Opposition as I feel the PAP is losing it touch with the people on the ground. Even though I think WP is basically PAP #2, and god knows what they’ll do when/if they become the ruling party.

31) Tan Ah Kow on May 27th, 2008 12.01 am

DC said:

I totally agree with your sentiments. As long as our Oppositions don’t band together and drop their differences aside, I find its going to be close to impossible to gain serious ground in terms of parliamentary seats.

Who says the opposition “don’t” band together?

Have you forgotten, the opposition did band together at a time when winning election was much easier — i.e. no GRC and low election deposit?

Remember when the “by-election” strategy was used where the opposition deliberately let the PAP win power by contesting less than 50% of the seats. They also had a pack to avoid a three-cornered fight. What did the electorate do?

Instead of taking advantage of the situation to not overthrow the PAP but at least put meaningful check in Parliament, the electorate still gave the PAP the power the change the constitution.

You see the opposition did band together but it still did not work. Whose fault is it?

The opposition parties or the electorate?

Frankly, I would say it is the electorate of Singapore with their wishy-washy mentality!

Hey even if the opposition band together and lead by a combined team comprising of God, Allah and Buddha the electorate will still vote for the PAP. And guess what when asked why they didn’t vote for such a opposition, the Singapore electorate will say:

“Oh these people have no experience running the government and they are probably too concern with spiritual issue rather than ‘bread-and’butter’ ones!”

32) Andrew Ong on May 27th, 2008 12.26 am

Though I salute CSJ’s bravery and confrontations with the famiLEE, but I am bewildered by his strategy and actions.

Politics is about garnering and winning votes in which CSJ doesn’t seem to be aware about the game. His endless antics is losing him more and more votes.

I agree with Gerald that he is better off joining an activism group. That would put him in a better position to fight for human rights and upkeep the overall credibility of opposition parties in Singapore.

33) Tan Ah Kow on May 27th, 2008 5.59 pm

Andrew Ong said:

I agree with Gerald that he is better off joining an activism group. That would put him in a better position to fight for human rights and upkeep the overall credibility of opposition parties in Singapore.

Here we go again this “credibility” word. Can you or anyone define it?

I suspect not. It is so typical for people to brandish the word and use it as a stick to beat the opposition parties and they, as electorate themselves, don’t lift a finger to support the political parties - WP, SDA, NSP and SDA.

It is jolly well for people to sit on the sidelines, criticise and then act big like complaining about “credibility” but when it come to the crunch they chicken out.

I mean how would fighting for human rights under the banner of an political party undermine the overall credibility of the opposition parties?

Andrew are you saying the WP is hurt by SDP’s so called “antics”?

If YES, then isn’t it the fault of the WP itself not what SDP does or does not do if the WP itself can’t garner wining votes?

34) Fever Guy on May 27th, 2008 8.52 pm

I agreed with TAK.

What is other opposition politcal party doing or seen doing by the people?

NOTHING! Except SDP.

I wondered why i bother even to visit every rally of WP during GE2006 when now i see what a “great WP PArty” it has become. Doing nothing, not pushing hard, not bothered but to by time….

There is really no hope of oppostion parties as for now. WP is the weak link, in fact SDP is doing all the dirty job knowing full well they have lost their chances at the next GE. Yet, WP and SDA just sit tight and watch a good show btw PAP and SDP. Really disappointing.

FG

35) Insulted on May 28th, 2008 12.10 am

Each and every opposition party adopts a strategy which best suits its objective. WP and SDP have very contrasting approaches but never the less they are offering an alternative. So lets not be too quick to condemn them. For those who are critical, be brave and join the opposition and be counted. I respect the people who are willing to stand as a opposition given the history of destruction they have faced since the birth of our history, It started with Lim Chin Siong and has not ended yet. You can add in the names yourself.

What ever little I am hearing (minus what reported in th e MSM) shows the level of srutiny our exteemed leaders can stand up to. I dread the day when they take on the challenge of protecting their honour and intergrity in any other place (for example in US where a certain Nair is really insulting them) than here and subject themselves to cross examination in an open court under a jury system. That will be the day when I would say they have gained the true honour of a few good men who will be remenbered in history and forever dispel the notion that we have a kangaroo court.

36) patriot on June 1st, 2008 12.33 am

Hi DC;

thanks for thr concurrence.

Chee SJ leaves only one impression, which is indeed more befitting of an activist than that of a politician. He is a ‘hero to hero worshippers, but what has he done to rouse the average man to his cause(s)? The commoners are hardly on his side for Chee SJ had hardly communicated with them.

Allow me to partially quote FG; “in fact SDP is doing all the dirty job knowing full well they have lost their chances at the next election.” Unquote. May I say SDP is not doing ‘dirty job’, quite the contrary, it is doing a noble duty, except that it chooses to do it alone(one party affairs) with just a handfull of members. This gives the impression that they(SDP Members) choose to play heroes. Why?

WP wants to play second fiddle and second fiddle it will be for a long time to come if it just plays piecemeal contributions to the political endeavours of the people and not go full throttle in the political discourse.

Political Parties do not have common agenda, that is natural, otherwise they would not have registered as different parties. But, different agenda do not mean different ideals and they(oppositions) can work together on common ideals individually and collectively. Every each of them can seek political and social benefits for themselves and most importantly for the people either at individual party level and or in unity with other parties.

But, when political parties choose to be individualistic, want to outshine others and or want to prove to be better than other parties which is normal or normally the case, then naturally, they simply appear incohesive. Under such circumstances, the electorates simply have to weigh the consequences accordingly. In the end, it is the Political Parties that confuses the people and make them feel doubtful.

patriot.

Leave a comment

Bottom