From the Singapore Democratic Party’s website:
The group of activists who protested outside the Parliament House on 15 Mar this year have been charged for two offences: participating in an assembly as well as a procession without a permit in a public place.
Those charged under the Miscellaneous Offences Act are Mr Gandhi Ambalam, Mr Chong Kai Xiong, Mr Chia Ti Lik, Ms Chee Siok Chin, Mr Ng E-jay, Ms Go Hui Leng, Mr Muhammad Shafi’ie, Mr Govinda Rajan, Dr Chee Soon Juan, Mr Jeffrey George, Mr Carl Lang, Mr Sylvester Lim, Mr Muhammad Jufri, Ms Suraya Bte Akbar, Mr John Tan, Mr Seelan Palay, Mr Mohamed Jufrie, Mr Yap Keng Ho and Mr Francis Yong.
Each offence carries a penalty of fine of up to $1,000.
Mr Seelan Palay said this of his charge: “This is our constitutional right that cannot be taken away. I hope that through our persistence and conviction for the cause, others will be inspired to stand up.”
————–
Activists also staged a protest against the recent ERP hike.
From the Singapore Democratic Party’s website:
Activists protested against the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) by unfurling a Tak Boleh Tahan! banner underneath the ERP gantry at Bras Basah.
Protesters were also at hawker centres to protest against rising food prices. The Tak Boleh Tahan! activists call on Singaporeans to join the campaign and tell the PAP: “We can’t take it anymore!”
—————
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

It is good to see that we have lesser liberties in such things compared to Malaysia and Indonesia and Thailand.
These are harmless Singaporean who came with voices and not weapons to protest.
Wait till the foreign workers who protest if their bosses exploit them due to the Stagflation. They are even in worst predicament than the worse poor singaporeans.
My question to the authorities is this:
If these Singaporean protesters are charged for “illegal assembly” and “procession without a permit in a public place”, what then of the group of Burmese who also held a protest in Orchard Road at about the same time last year?
Why has the police not charged them as well?
See here:
Burmese citizens mount protest on Orchard Road
TOC Breaking News: 50 Burmese nationals protest
Has the law become an ass?
Andrew Loh on June 27th, 2008 11.43 am
“Has the law become an ass?”
Very much as I would like to refrain from saying it. I think the answer is that it has become one (a very smelly one to add). Selective application ?
Reference to Mr Loh’s question.
Section 5(4)(b) of the Miscellaneous Offences Act: which I presume the 19 people were charge under, states:
“Any person who participates in any assembly or procession in any public road, public place or place of public resort where he knows or ought reasonably to have known that the assembly or procession is held in contravention of an order”
In theory at least, the burmese have the benefit of saying that they are not aware of Singapore law. btw, I make no comments about the fairness of the law…
Read this:
http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/2008/06/minister-mentor-which-ever-way-but-lose.html
saw this quote
“But we either believe in democracy or we not. If we do, then, we must say categorically, without qualification, that no restraint from the any democratic processes, other than by the ordinary law of the land, should be allowed… If you believe in democracy, you must believe in it unconditionally. If you believe that men should be free, then, they should have the right of free association, of free speech, of free publication. Then, no law should permit those democratic processes to be set at nought, and no excuse, whether of security, should allow a government to be deterred from doing what it knows to be right, and what it must know to be right… ” – Lee Kuan Yew, Legislative Assembly Debates, April 27, 1955
So MM Lee must be right and wrong at the same time :)
who can tahan, petrol goes up, every now and then, electricity goes up every quarter. ERP up, only Lim Swee Say can tahan. Can not protest, can not voice out, meet the MP session for f**k, can they accept our suggestions ? no way, they tell you, we are not a welfare state. They don’t get rich, only Spore get rich, who is Spore? Nia Mah !!! Tak Boleh Tahan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
To lim,
Ignorance of law is no excuse. If this is the case, a foreigner caught smuggling heroin into Spore, he can say he is not aware of the death penalty. The court will not accept this argument.
Hi Gary
It is actually a matter of how each law is phrased.
The Singapore drug laws have specific provision to say that ignorance cannot be used as an excuse.
The onus in this specific section of the MO Act, is on the police to prove that a person is not ignorant of the law. That is difficult in relation to foreigners.
The way I see it, other than the usual suspects ie Chee, Gandhi, Chia etc, the rest have a better (or more believable) case to plead ignorance as a defence (which may indeed be true for some) esp if this is a first time. But I’m not a lawyer.
btw, as above, I’m not commenting on the fairness of the laws (drug or otherwise) nor should my posts be regarded as encouraging anyone to break the law as this is not my intention.
lim on June 27th, 2008 3.06 pm
“In theory at least, the burmese have the benefit of saying that they are not aware of Singapore law. btw, I make no comments about the fairness of the law…”
Tell you something lah. Let us put it this way. All along from little things observed here and there, I have this funny feeling that our dear authority has this fantastic liking for foreigners lah and like to curry favour foreigners more than our own Singaporeans lah. Right ?
In practice (not theory lah), they have to be reminded that they should not treat Singaporeans like dirt lah and that they really need to get their priority right.
And why should you be so concerned to the extent of having to qualify such a simple comment by saying “I make no comments about the fairness of the law.” If such a practice is so obviously unfair and yet you make no comments. Frankly, your other comments are pretty much irrelevant lah. Get it Mr. Lim.
Hi Ah Keng,
You are entitled to your views. I do not expect anyone to agree with mine.
To many a drug offender who are about to hang and their families, the sentence is about as unfair as it gets (eg fundamental right to human rights). To the families of victims of drugs, it can be as fair as heaven can make it so.
For me to say whether I believe it is fair or not, would imho indeed prejudice my comments. That is just my humble opinion. I do not expect an agreement.
Best Regards
To lim,
I think the Burmese does not pose a threat to Spore, so no action is taken against them. Whereas, SDP being an opposition party is a threat to PAP. So in order to suppress the oppositions, the govt will go all out to arrest these protesters. So the law is applied selectively. Remember the protesters at US embassy during Iraq war, they are never charged.
lim on June 27th, 2008 3.55 pm
“For me to say whether I believe it is fair or not, would imho indeed prejudice my comments”
Everyone stands to be corrected, me included.
About the drugs law here, though I also feel uneasy about the whole process, I shall not commend it here but restrict our discussion to the above article on the SDP & gang being charged.
About the burmese, the question as per Andrew’s (Andrew Loh on June 27th, 2008 11.43 am) is “why has the police not charged them as well?” The process of charging them and the process of defending are two separate activities altogether – in which the latter activity has to be done in the normal court of law.
There is nothing to be gained by the authority by excercising arbitrariness. It will only reinforce existing held view of their selective picking on political opponents.
Disagreements are healthy Mr. Lim as we learn from one another – of course, only to the extent that if I am not being charged or put in jail for holding a different opinion not criminal in the strictest sense.
Actually, since I’ve never been in the police force, so I am not privy to why the police charge certain people but not others eg the Falungong got it for illegal assembly (jail and fine) whilst as Gary pointed out, the 6 arrested for the iraq war protest was released without charge.
It could be due to a variety of reasons, none of which I can discount as I do not have any facts.
I sincerely hope none of us are put in jail for holding a different opinion. I don’t wish that on anyone.
lim on June 27th, 2008 5.03 pm
As reputation is at stake and wrong perception on authority may be held in such a situation. Imagine not-so-kind words are being said about them because of this.
Why would the authority want to maintain such a silence and not wish to come out to clarify openly the reasons (indeed if the reasons are valid) for the different treatment.
Even you Mr. Lim seem to be putting a stand (even if it is a small stand) to say something in their favour. They as the all powerful authority would not even say a word and be scrutinised. I would say, just look at their pathetic standard.
My feeling is that the law is too much with us lately.
And the enforcing of it ironic (no pun intended) in the heavy metal sense.
Its a challenge and will I am sure will stir some creative response.
For not being given enough or no rope, there is always the possibility of an escape from hanging.
Eg. Even if I am aware of the law, must I run away when three or more similarly T-shirt attired individuals approach me? Or just stay at say three meters distance.
The law is not ass if you ask me. We are assess.
Very simple. By now we can see clearly that our government rules with the head and not the heart. So when a decision has to be made, the thought process would simply be this: Which option give the best return and the lowest cost.
So with regard to the two situations it is the same. If arresting the Burmese brings more benefit than cost then they will do it. But in this case, it brings more cost than benefit, so no deal. Alternatively, the reward of arresting the SDP brings more reward than cost, from the govt point of view. So deal.
It is as simple as that. This is how our govt works. So if you want to change their mind, you have to up their cost and minimise their reward.
Like this govt very black heart liver, protest is peaceful, no violence at all. Not flexible , where is the theme open and inclusive society ???
Lim,
Ignorance of the law is no excuse – this is a fundamental premise of the law. Therefore even if the Myanmarese claim not to know the law they can still be charged. This principle applies in all situations… it is not dependant on any wording of the statute.
However there is a defence which allows for some ignorance; the defence of mistake of fact – s.76 of the Penal Code. The person must reasonably believe that his actions are justified by law. This defence is more onerous then simple ignorance.
Andrew,
thats a very intersting comparison you made. Under the Constitution the Prosecution is given the discretion to bring charges. This discretion is quite broad and there appear to be no guidelines. The exercise of such discretion is the reason why TBT is charged and the Myanmarese are not. Perhaps the AG’s Chambers thought that the Myanmarese did not deserve to be charged and exercise their discretion. For whatever reason.
The best opportunity to show our displeasure with this government is to wear all black for the entire day on 9th Aug. Please include all family members , local and ‘foreign’ friends. It is the only effective way to make a statement without breaking any laws.
Those who feel hard done by the government’s policies should collectively do so. There is no necessity to gather in any specific location, just go about your normal routine, even watching the parade. Let us see for ourselves whether Singaporeans can do something as simple as this.
What do you guys feel about this ?
Don’t instigate the police to charge the poor Burmese. Remain focus. The law is bad. Its enforcement wrong.
Blacksheep:
Your suggestion is quite similar to mine which I did mentioned in the
“The relentless rising cost of living in Singapore”
aquarius on June 26th, 2008 4.28 am
“The people are the real power – they have to find out this power themselves and excercise them responsibly.”
“Perhaps, it’s time to feedback effectively to have a silent protest, everyone plays his/her part as Singaporean by wearing white & black(attire) everyday to send the message across. We, and I believe, most people are unhappy over the relentless rising cost of living in Singapore now.”
Do you think Singaporeans have the courage to do so as what you have suggested? Unlike HKG. I doubt so, only the SDP.
these protests are really bad for Singapore’s image as a peaceful nation and for Singapore’s image as a peace-loving people.
Hi aquarius:
I am glad that we have the same idea. But I think BLACK is more appropriate because WHITE is the official colour of the ruling party. The contrast is important to enhance the visual impact.
I like your idea of the people doing it everyday to get the message across. There are so many people who are affected by the ‘bloody’ policies. Surely they can support such a cause.
Take the simple act of wearing BLACK as a symbol of mourning for the country.
amanda:
Tell me, amanda, what other choices do we have all these years? Protests are really bad for Singapore’s image as a peaceful nation? Is silent protest(wearing black) classified as “NOT PEACEFUL” to get the message across. Tell me the reasons why most people are not happy over the relentess rising cost of living in Singapore. Are you one of the unhappy people? Many from the outside world thought Singapore is a paradise city, the many foreigners I met had the same vision but then these people did not realised how unhappy (most)Singaporean over the govt. policies imposed on us.
wear black on national day — Good idea. get the rest of the middle & low income to support. don’t know about others but i’m on for it. keep bullying us , you psuedo – democratic bullies.
No, please do something meaningful instead of protesting.
For example, if you think that the poor people need your time, go volunteer at the grass roots level.
If you think that poor people need your money, go donate $.
if you think that the cost of living is too high, make more money.
If you think that Foreigners are stealing your jobs, please become better than them. I have firm believe in Singapore’s meritocracy.
If you think NS is a problem, change your mindset.
Hey, you need to grow up! Maybe I am wrong, you are not the one living in NY!
amanda
Protesting is in a way doing something meaningful, when the government stops listening. Do you have a better way to get a positive response from the government ? We only plan to wear black attire and go about our harmless routine. Will that be ok for you ?
There are enough volunteers helping out at grassroots level , are you one of them ? I have been at it for a long time because I will never forget my past.
Most of us are not that well off to increase our donations to the poor. What about you ? I know our ministers have plenty and there is the exorbitant reserves they have bragging about. Time to show us the money, at least a little of it, right amanda ?
Some of the folks out there are doing 2 jobs to pay the bills and there is only 24 hours in a day . Are you making a lot of money ? Perhaps you can advise the readers how to do so, since you sound so smart.
Foreigners have been invited in abundance by the government and it is extremely difficult for locals to compete with them in certain low skill jobs. Singaporeans have to match them in every category, like staying in a room with 5 to 10 other people and make do with the same pay. Can you honestly agree that Singaporeans should regress back to living in 3rd world conditions because that is what it takes to be better than the foreigners, working harder with lower wages.
Perhaps you have some smart suggestions for the middle age beer ladies working in some kopitiams on how they can be better than the younger China women. How about the elderly folks working in food courts clearing tables, or elderly folks in charge of public toilets ? Mind you , most of them can be my parents. Should they hold 2 jobs or perhaps work overtime if they need more money to pay their bills ? Or do you have some smart suggestion as to how they can upgrade their skills ?
Personally I think you should drop by and chat with some of them and ask those elderly folks what they think. Those elderly folks are gainfully employed BUT there are some collecting cans and card boxes etc,etc who will be grateful to your smart suggestions on how they can increase their collection and make more money.
When the day this government implements a policy to draft all the able young ladies for NS with similar conditions and pay , I believe many men will change their mindset. lol
They will love your company .
Amanda, once upon a time I was a very loyal Singaporean. I did volunteer work, donated money etc. Not anymore. It is the government’s duty to make sure that citizens have a decent life. I will wear black on national day. Good way to protest. Blacksheep, do you think we can find 2million to wear black?
sohlung,
still have lots of time till national day, let’s do it . i going to tell all my friends and supporter. as for the amanda baby, we have more than enough people & reason to drown her & her way of thinking. let’s rock on national day…… black celebration
@ sohlung
I believe the 33.4% will support if they are “aware.”
Base on the number of voters from the last elections, it can add up to > 100,000 people. Hopefully there will be some from the 66.6% who share the same sentiments.
The simple act of wearing BLACK for the entire day is a test for Singaporeans to bond with each other. There is not much time left to 9th Aug.
I believe it is better to have tried and failed, than failing to try.
Only way to find out about ourselves as Singaporeans.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. -Benjamin Franklin
I shed no tears whenever fellow Singaporeans complain about the high cost of living, how there are too many foreigners etc..
Singaporeans deserve it for their inaction and if you die poor,tired and hungry, you only have yourselves to blame.
spoilers, we have such a good image and these people are spoiling the good image of singapoe with their protest. i do not not what the country has brought them to such a disadvantage to, am sure they are confident to wake up safe and secure, they wont go hungry, tere is political stability, wat else do this ppl want,? simply seeking attention
protest… a great way to let off steam. And steam will become air.. and hopefully this air will be breathed by people, many people.
Black shirt it is.