Friday, June 13, 2008 10:23
Local vs foreign workers: Unravelling the debate
In Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story • 6,240 views • 52 Comments
By not offering adequate protection to foreign workers, the government has created the conditions that make it advantageous and lucrative to hire foreigners over locals.
Jolovan Wham
Economic fears and resentment towards foreign workers usually rest along two main premises: they take away jobs that locals can fill, and they lower the wages of local workers.
Whilst it is understandable that foreign workers are found in jobs such as those in the construction sector because it is too dirty, difficult and dangerous for locals to do, what seems to have attracted the most vocal critics is the presence of foreigners in the service sector as these jobs can easily be taken up by the local poor.
Opposition political parties have also jumped into the debate, questioning the government’s pro-immigration policies, and criticising it, fairly enough, for not protecting the interest of local low wage workers.
The Singapore Democratic Party’s May Day message this year accused the government of letting an ‘influx of cheap foreign labour’ reduce local workers to doing ‘contract and casual jobs.’ Similarly, The Worker’s Party called on the government to put Singaporeans first, lest the societal standing of Singaporean workers is eroded by the presence of foreign workers.
Public endorsement of the exploitation of foreign workers
There is no doubt that our government is unabashed about its liberal recruitment policies for foreign workers. In fact, it has been trumped as a model of economic development for Singapore. Take this excerpt from PM Lee’s May Day speech as an example:
First, foreign workers are hardworking and willing to work long hours. By hiring them, coffee shops can open late, or even 24 hours, round the clock.
Second and more importantly, with the help of foreign workers, airport, seaport, factories, offices, hotels, restaurants and retail outlets can offer better service and business hours: 365 days a year, 24 hours a day, they can run their operations, service their customers, and so strengthen Singapore’s overall competitiveness.
Third, many SMEs do not make good profits, especially the neighbourhood shops. If they can hire some foreign workers in addition to the locals, they can reduce their business costs; otherwise, they may have to go out of business. Their Singaporean employees will then lose their jobs.
What is disturbing, though not surprising about PM’s speech is its public endorsement of the exploitation of foreign workers. Our businesses and ports can run 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year on foreigners because we have created an industrial and work culture that disciplines them into accepting conditions that local workers would not usually agree to. We have allowed businesses to cut corners by squeezing foreign workers dry.
Our restrictive work permit system, which ties foreign workers to a single employer, makes it difficult for them to bargain for better working conditions and higher wages. Many fear losing their jobs if they dare to ask for more. Returning to their countries of origin remains a frightening option as many would have taken out loans of up to $9000 just for a chance to work in Singapore. These workers slog long hours not only to support their families but to re-pay their debt.
In the 3 years that I have worked with HOME as a social worker, almost all of the foreign workers who approached us for assistance did not have written contracts with their employers. Of those with contracts, they are written by employers with the sole purpose of protecting their own interests, rather than creating an equitable relationship between themselves and their workers. Our unions also do little to demand better working conditions for them.
Compromising rights in the name of ‘economic development’
Products and services can be produced cheaply when business costs such as wages, taxes, and the cost of complying with regulations are kept low. In Singapore, it seems we are willing to compromise the rights of individuals in the name of ‘economic development’. Somehow, we believe that by granting rights to workers, the societal gains we have made, and the economic prosperity that we have enjoyed all these years will be threatened.
One example that is often cited is how legislating a minimum wage for workers will affect the competitiveness of Singapore’s economy. It will drive potential foreign investors away and make the cost of doing business here too high. This argument rests upon the assumption that Singaporean workers compete with workers of other countries on the basis of how ‘cheap’ our workers are. In a country that has a relatively educated work force and a government that exhorts its population to ‘life long learning’, the skills and knowledge of our workers should be the competitive factor, rather than how costly it is to hire them.
When workers are poor and lack legal protection, they are often willing to work longer hours for lower wages. Hence, the reason employers are willing to hire foreign workers in favour of local workers is because working conditions of all low wage workers in general are poor to start with, and not because we are allowing too many of them in.
Employer and employee – a power imbalance
By not offering adequate protection to foreign workers, the government has created the conditions that make it advantageous and lucrative to hire foreigners over locals. Hence, blaming foreigners for taking away local jobs and depressing local worker’s wages is not an adequate analysis of the problem. Capping limits on the numbers of foreign workers entering the country will not be a long term solution. Rather, we should be working on improving the lot of all workers in Singapore. If hiring foreign workers does not become a cheaper alternative, we need not be so concerned that foreign workers are stealing jobs from local workers.
The Employment Act, which was enacted in Singapore’s post independence years is limited in its protection of worker’s rights. The amount of medical benefits, annual leave, rest days, and provisions of work hours and salary payments that the Act provides for leaves much to be desired. Our government prefers employees to negotiate working conditions with their employers, rather than guaranteeing better protection through legislative action. However, by adhering so adamantly to this ‘free market’ model, we conveniently ignore the power imbalance that exists between both parties. As a result, workers – both local and foreign – are worse off because of it.
—————–
About the author:
Jolovan is a social worker with the Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME).
—————–
TOC thanks Jolovan for contributing this article to our Human Rights Focus Week.
—————–
52 Comments
Dr Syed Alwi
chris
No values. What we are interested in CHEAP products,services but when it comes to hurt out pockets and places are crowded then we SHOUT, FT taking our jobs.
We dont want to let our maids take holiday for atleast 1 day a month;
We let the workers traveling dangerously in lorry even when it rains
We let the old workers suffer while we spend/waste money on materialistic things.
If nothing happens then go back and shout at the government.
Derrick Chong
Jolovan
I don’ know abt the shipyard or construction foreign workers employment terms
but one thing for sure, maids (foreign workers,too) are a protected group here.
sohlung
Jolovan
Good article.
The hardship which foreign workers face is also aggravated by the government and agencies of the countries they come from. It is a huge problem. A quarter of a century ago, I was involved in the kind of work you are doing today. As far as I can see, the plight of these workers remain unchanged if not worse.
Edn
Foreigners are not only in the construction and blue-collar sector. Look around us, many white-collar jobs are taken by foreigners. Most of them, educated and come with high expectations – have no vested interests in this country. What they earn here is many times greater than what they would have made at home. When they have made enough here and gain the exposure aboard, they pack and leave. How could our locals not capable of doing these white collar job. Many of them, not that they are under qualified, are forced to work as taxi drivers?
PC
Hi,
When FT come to town, all the parties concern are winner ( making money). The loser is thsoe who need to compete with the FT for the job .
Dr Syed Alwi
Dear People,
The whole business of FT is another idea based solely on economic materialism and capitalist exploitation. Bring in the FT to lower business cost !
If we attach more value to the meaning and privileges of citizenship – over and above economic expediency – then certainly we would not be in this quagmire today !
FT lover
“First, foreign workers are hardworking and willing to work long hours. By hiring them, coffee shops can open late, or even 24 hours, round the clock.”
I must agree with this statement. I love FTs and I will support the gahmen. The more the merrier.
I will even venture the suggestion that they cast their net even wider to capture those of ministerial quality to include the possibility of hiring those ex-ministers from some other countries looking for some part-time retirement income at fraction of the cost that we are maintaining our own expensive ones. Win-win for the nation.
Running a small Singapore should be peanuts for them given that almost every other country is bigger in size and complexity than with Singapore.
Well, I think the rationale for FT’s should be equally applicable & valid across the whole vertical skill level.
MichaelEng
Actually not all FT are bad.
We can try hiring George Bush, Tony Blair and Donald Tsang at their present rate.
They are cheaper to maintain and can help to lower the wage bill.
lim
I have my reservations with GWB Jnr.
Hire George Bush then to be our PM. He is finishing his term soon. Cheap and good.
qwerty
Our monkey ministers(who are not paid peanuts) only know one thing to keep singapore competitive- lower wages. They always keep repeating this like a broken record.
There is no real innovation in Singapore and they have provided no real solution to the challenges of globalisation. This low cost/wage model may have worked for singapore in the past but it is not sustainable and may lead to social problems in the future.
Jobs for foreigners NS for locals.
lim
lol. Thanks to gary for highlighting my last post having double meanings. I should have said: I have my reservations about GWB Jnr which more accurately reflects my thoughts… My vote, if there is one amongst the 3, would actually be with Tony Blair.
Tankuku
FT lover – you have my support.
Maybe we can consider hired PM Wan Jia Bao – I am sure he will bring alot of experiences to us and at the same time cost so much less to pay him!
Local non-talent
Anyone will do. Just cheap and good will do. That should be the criteria – the same criteria that our dear leaders like to use it on the common people.
Throw the same stuff back to them. If it is good enough for the common people, it should also be good for them. Why should there be a different standard. Who are they trying to kid.
FT Maniac
Yes, our local extraordinary talent ministers have become too expensive.
Just imagine, for the cost of employing our PM we can hire five US Presidents.
And for PM, SM and MM and our President together, we can hire 20 US President
calibre type of people.
I think we should seriously consider outsourcing all our ministers to foreigners.
That will save us tens or hundreds of millions of dollars every year. What is
needed is to elect a 5-men National Management Council to serve as the
overseer upon all the ministries that are out-sourced to foreigners. Perhaps
only Home Affairs and Defence can still be kept to own citizens to manage.
And all our present ministers can go overseas to become consultants and
advisers to earn money back for the country. That is a real win-win solution.
On the one hand we save costs, while on the other we can earn more foreign
dollars through ministerial consultancy works overseas. How wonderful if this
can really be done!
What’s wrong with having minimum wage system in Singapore?
Lots of local seniors especially those in the cleaning industry are hurt so bad that they are really getting peanuts. Not the Mrs Goh kind! I cannot imagine why everything has gone up except their pay. It’s really sad that they are earning less now due to the influx of foreign competition.
If there’s a minimum wage law, their plight may be alleviated..
With the current inflation, it’s really tough for the cleaners to barely survive with $600 per month.
On the other hand, the $308,000 per month paid to PM is more than enough to pay 500 cleaners.
While a minimum wage law may help the poorly paid, maybe it’s time to have a Law on Maximum Wage too.
The ransom paid to Singapore Ministers has become such an embarrassment that the Maximum Wage Law must be legislated soon!
Or is Sky the limit for those who make the laws?
feedmetothefish
Hi Jolovan,
Excellent points made in your article. It’s a new perspective I never thought of — that poor working conditions for foreign workers is not only unconscionable, but actually also depresses the wages and employability of local blue collar workers.
Lai CF
let’s put this into the proper perspective.
Foreign Workers are a multi-billion dollar business in SIngapore.
Assuming on the average 300,000 construction workers per annum.
At S$10,000 per pop = S$3-billion per anum turnover.
That is agent fees for the rights to worker in Singapore…upfront paid by a foreign worker before he even starts working in SIngapore.
Or deductible for the first 6-month he worked here.
And they are not paid overtime, and illegaly, daily rated and not paid when they are sick, and not paid overtime.
and here come the tneresting part.
In some cases, it was alleged that the foreman or supervisor will tkae 10% cut of their overtime pay – for the privilege of granting them overtime.
And it is indeed an indentured bondage like said….a 2-year contract with no overtime, but you are paid bonuses….and even with that, these workers will earn more than even here than back home.
And it si such a lucrative slavery trade than companies nowadays will not even depend on labor suppliers, but do their own direct recruitment in India and China.
And yes, foreign workers priced out Singaporeans.
here is how the system works:
Joint-venture company secured a multi-billion contract in SIngapore.
Say hiscontract value is 1.00 unit.
foreign partner took the first cut – 20% = 0.8 Unit remains.
Local partner took 20% = 0.64 Unit remain.
And a Singaporean supervisor (diploma holder) will cost S$3,000 pm, excluding overtime.
An Indian supervisor, degree holder, is willing to accept S$2,000 pm, including overtime…..time-off given in lieu of overtime.
S$3,000 x 0.64 Unit = S$1,920 pm.
WHich construcitonn companies in its right mind will ever employed a SIngpaorean site supervisor at S$3,000 pm?
What am I dong working in Macau and Dubai now?
SImply my jobs are being taken by FLippino, Indian or Mainland Chinese willing to work at half of what I am getitng in Macau or Dubai int eh cosntruciton industry.
In January 2008, I was offered a job in SIngapore, paying 50% of what I was earning in Macau.
I declined and accept an offer, paying the equivalent of what I earned in Macau, to work in Dubai in April 2008.
Friends, the slavery trade is alive and well in SIngapore – all S$3-bilion per annum turnover in the cosntruction industryy alone.
And they are 900,000 foreign workers in Singapaore; and perhaps grow to 1,500,000 to 2,000,000 by 2015…reaching that “magic figure” of 5.5-million SIngpaor residents inculding foreign workers.
No soluiton in sight; as like a heroin addict, it is extremely painful, perhaps even fatal, for SIngapore to go “cold turkey” to cure itself of its dependency on “cheep cheep” foreign labor.
Jolovan’s article hit a raw nerve which I think a lot of local bloggers fail to comprehend – that when it comes down to the root cause of the problem, it is that while foreign workers are being exploited, local workers are also disadvantaged. The problem all boils down to not just the Singaporean system (of which the government has a large part to play) but also the global world.
If we want to take his point further, it is the unbridled/ untamed free market system which needs to be denounced. Unfortunately, a lot of Singaporeans again don’t understand how economic globalisation around the world and in Singapore (is in fact harming us). I think the point of foreign vs local worker debate very clearly shows so.
What we are witnessing is an almost complete freedom of capital but not freedom of movement of people. There is a need for regulation and greater democratisation not just in Singapore, but also the global insitutions. If Singaporeans don’t learn that, we will forever be running around in circles… …
Lai cf
yes, the main culprit is actually NWC and tripatitism, which divert from tis noble aim like Japanese and German trade unions.
Tripatitism had evolved Singpaore style from three equal aprtners to a dog standing on its hind legs with trade unions as the tail.
Is the tail wagiing the dog or the dog wagging the tail?
A good example is the stagnation of wage increment since after the 1980s recession.
Those halycon days of the late 70s and early 80s, when SIngapore had gone through its Eocnomy Re-structuring from low-cost labour intensive to hi-tech, capital intensive with NWC recommendation increment by leaps and boudns tog et Signpaore out of the “low wage” trap like in all 3rd World countries then.
Our salaries were then on par or slightly cheaper than Hong Kong.
Hong Kong with its laissez faire Economy allowed salary to find its own level, to market demand….and of course, no CPF, no “iron rice bowl”.
Today, I think ont eh avergae, Hong KOnger salaries are double that of SIngaporeans for an equivalent job in SIngapore int eh cosntruction industry.
Even durign the 60s, 70s and 80s, SIngpaore depend very much on foreign labour – Malaysians – to man its industry and manufacturing sector.
Guess many of you will recall thsoe produciton oeprators which need to be bus in from Johor?
But then, Malaysians are paid the same salaries as Singaporeans as simply SIngpaore does not have sufficient (wo)manpower to man its rapidly expanding industries int eh 60s, 70s and 80s.
And there were insufficient Malaysians, and so, employers started looking to Thailand, Philippines, CHina, India, etc
The very first wave of cheap labour is actually Thai maid as PAP Government were encouraging women to join the work-force, to forgo their traditional role as home maker (guess with the latch-key kid syndromw, and there is where a “lost generation” fo Singaporeans were brought up by maid without imbibing their traditionals and culture which were tuaght by “words of mouth” by grandparents and full-time housewives).
Look at the pattern:
1st wave – Thai maid
2nd wave – Flippino maid
3rd wave – Indian maid (CHiense maid did not work out.)
4th wave – Indoensian maid
1st wave – Malaysian production oeprator
2nd wave – CHinese production operator.
Signapore re-strucutre and labour intensive idnustry relocated to Johor, Batam, Thailand, China.
Skilled Labor
tradiitonal source – malaysia
Thai worker
Indian worker
CHiense worker
And today, Flippino professionals are making a major in-road into SIngapore labour force.
There lies the dilemma:
Singapore does not have sufficient (wo)manpower to man its modern Economy.
And if a minimum wage law is implemented, it will benefit foreign labour more than SIngaporeans.
And if you implement, “Employ Singaporeans first”, you will end up with a “Bumiputera” Policy.
Regardless of what PAP Govenrment does now, even to the extend of scrapping NWC and let market force dictates, there is no guarantee that SIngaporeans will enjoy high salaries as Singpaore is surroudned by a pool of cheap and skilled labour on par with SIngaporeans.
Implement a “Bumiputera Policy” then?
My suggestion is to study and find out the reason why during Booming 70s and early 80s, there were no compliants against “foreign labor” and the pie was bigger and SIngpaoreans were generous enough to share with their foreign counterparts.
Is uspect it si more to do with the rapidly declining SIngaporean purchasing power – main culprit being GST, HDB pricing policy, transportation pricing policy and utilities pricing polciies.
or that odl cliche – Living in a 1st World on 3rd World salaries.
jumbo
I concur with Charles on the point that global economic forces is creating the influx of foreign labour. But pragmatically speaking, I don’t think it’s worth denouncing capitalism – let’s not forget that the benefits it has also brought about to Singapore and the world.
On the macro-scale, I believe the keys are regulated liberalization and maintaining social mobility. And on the micro-scale, it’s most effective for the individual to be dare to compete, accept fresh faces, and also look at the big picture, including the bright side of life :-)
the unknown soldier
Maids are hardly protected. What kind of world allows people to a 5 day week and holds Maids to a no-day off situation? Singapore has failed in this area and will continue to fail because maids are in a no win situation, much like other low wage workers. As long as taxes are paid, the economy will keep humming along. They will continue to exist and help our economy. But based on our past record, I don’t expect any rights to emerge any time soon to help the exploited. It’s too top down and not enough grassroots action.
patriot
It is not that the average Singaporeans do not understand the threats of foreigner workers. The Government and Employers welcomed the idea of having foreigners to work here; for the employers, they pay lower wages, the foreigners are willing, even offer to do overtime because they do not have to tend to families. And they are definitely hoping to earn more, who does,nt?
The Government on the other hand has got money in the form of levies, the comsumptions will go up, properties prices will be pushed upward in terms of rental and purchase. Consumptions play a big vital part in the economic progresses of any country today, in fact it is part of the engine of growth. It sounds well and good until one examines the potentials of our own barren, infertile landscape.
Within this tiny resourceless land, its’ destiny is almost calculable, if not predictable. If importing foreign workers work positively for economic progress, Japan, Taiwan or any other country for that matter, would have embarked on this method during their early days in industrialization. They did but had tight controls over the numbers, wage depressions did not happen to their citizens, otherwise riots would have gone out of control. And most importantly, they(other countries) did(do) not allow foreigners to take citizenships, unlike in Singapore.
This resourceless island had much undeveloped land for primary produces(pig/cattle/poultry/vegetable/fruit farmings) before the seventies, the endless shore surrounding the whole island had plentiful of marine produces. Population then was low and few faces problems of survivals because land and foods were in abundance.
Today, within our concrete jungle, almost all primary productions have ceased, industries have moved to other countries since they are invariably cheaper in everything from land uses, logistical facilities, transportations to uitilities and labour costs. Production manpowers are no more crucial as computerization and mechantronics are doing much of the production processes. However, having embarked on a ‘high productivity’ stage, this country is unable to afford a slowdown anymore. It has to go into higher gear; the unfortunate but unavoidable result is that higher gear lacks power, the higher the gear, the more power gets lost. So, we got ourselves trapped.
The question now is, should we still dream of going into higher gear to mount the higher challenges ahead? Will the engine stall and the vehicle roll back into the ravine? Or is a different tact required? Merger with another country? Singaporeans to go abroad to work as foreign workers in whatever capacities? Or the Singapore Government to buy lands in foreign countries for Singaporeans to settle in?
Personally, I think the only idea that works against our(Singapore?Singaporean) interests is the further importations of foreign workers and foreigners to be PRs and Citizens, simply because there is not enough space and resources(man-made, since none natural) to sustain further growth in population. We should not get ourselves into a dead corner.
patriot.
Of late too, we have been hearing in the news and media that there are some returning Singaporeans – folks who have previously given up their citizenship in search of greener pastures abroad. And now, all a sudden, they are scurrying back. Whether through their own will or due to economic reasons, we will not know.
The thing to ask is, are they coming back as citizens or as Employment Pass holders?. If it is the latter, then it should be ok.
But if they can enjoy the benefits of being sg citizens again, then maybe we can impose a tax upon them for coming back as such. Afterall, they did not toil for our beloved country all these years when there was a feast overseas. Now only when the feasting has dried up and times are lean and mean i.e. famine, then they come trotting back.
Fair weathered citizens, I call them.
Foreigner
Reading about FT gets me confused as ever. What is a FT to you guys (Singaporeans) out there ? Please enlighten me.
Is the American CEO of a local bank a FT ?
Is the Australian who founded the fast food shop ” Crazy Ang Mo” a FT?
Is my Myanmar domestic help a FT ?
Is the Chinese tuition teacher a FT ?
Is the British GM of a social club a FT ?
Is the Malaysian cashier at the supermarket a FT?
Is the Indian Construction worker a FT ?
Is the NZ Executive Director of a local investment conpany a FT?
Is the Filipina nurse at a local hospital a FT ?
You see, the list can go on and on and on – and so thank you Singapore for accepting us.
Finally if I retire here eventually am I also considered FT?
Thank you guys. to us, Singapoe is a paradise indeed.
Be nice to foreign talent OK
Do not be too confused lah. Why crack you head so much.
To start with, as long as you are a human and as long you are able to step into Singapore, you qualify as a FT lah. Simple as that.
As in Wikipedia, you can slowly edit the above.
Singaporean
Last night, I brought a couple from China out to dinner. His pay is around 5,000 singapore dollars a month as an engineer. Throughout the dinner, his mobile phone rang several times. Each time was his boss and he answered the phone politely, interrupting his dinner. He then told me that he has to work on weekends as well without any overtime pay. I then suggested that he turn off his mobile while having his dinner to avoid being interrupted since he actually did not like the interruption. He then told me he would like to but he cannot, because he believed that he will be sent back if he did not answer his boss’s call. Two points here.
1. It is not only low pay workers that Singapore companies like to hire.
2. Any boss would prefer to have this kind of employee who is on standby 24 hours a day.
It is true that one can get better service from foreigners. Earlier in the day, I lost my way in Gul Circle, trying to get to a sofa warehouse sale. I asked the security guard at one of the factories, I could tell he is a local from his accent, and he was very rude and arrogant in the way he answered my questions. He even tapped me on my shoulder and asked “Hello, are you okay?” when I do not quite understand his answer. I think a foreigner guard will be more polite and more helpful. Point to note here.
1. Singaporean workers should learn to be more polite and friendly when performing their duties, especially in frontline positions, otherwise we will be undermining our employability.
Singaporean
The dangers of having foreigners as our PM, SM and MM are many. For one, policies made may not be in the interests of Singapore. We are already seeing many of these in the corporate world. My last job in Singapore, I reported to a foreigner who reported to another foreigner whose boss is a foreigner. Over time, you will see our national policies being skewed to benefit from whichever country that foreigner came from. Why do you think the concept of our retirement village to be in a neighbouring country came about?
Also Singaporean
Singaporean
“Over time, you will see our national policies being skewed to benefit from whichever country that foreigner came from. Why do you think the concept of our retirement village to be in a neighbouring country came about?”
Well said and true, but what makes you think that same thing is not happening at the mid-level or lower-level of the employment scale or that you know it already but choose to ignore the implications.
What say you, that it is good enough for the common people but not good enough for the senior ministerial level ? That the common people deserve to to face competition with foreigners but not the top ministerial people ? Smack of double standards in the usual sense, nothing new and nothing special.
2nd Class
SO ALL COMMON SINGAPOREANS WILL ALL END UP 2ND CLASS IN OUR VERY OWN COUNTRY WE DID NS FOR
2nd Class hoping to be 1st Class (Fat hope ?)
The marketing on the need for NS was really a good.
The discomfort on the need for it is even more glaring nowadays given some recent policies which seem to slowly eat away our understanding on why we should sacrifice ourselves for the sake of our nation or should I say for the benefits of a chosen few.
I wonder those sitting in their comfortable shell have sized up the no-holds-barred ground swell of what is being discussed and talked about nowadays.
curious88
To Singaaporean.
If your engineer friends earns $5,000. I beleieve he is on empolyment pass (check http://www.mom.gov.sg) and not tied to any employer. If he has the right qualification, he can even get a PR very very easily. So, he shouldn’t be afraid of being sent back.And if his boss requires him to be on call 24/7/365, he should get another job soon :)
Jackson
My general feeling is that firms tend to employ foreigners simply because of lower wages and longer working hours. If so, Singapore citizenship becomes useless.
Anon
Just ask any foreign scholar what is sacrifice and they will say “Coming to Singapore after all it’s not Yale or Harvard. But I’m working on creating a bogus company while I look out for chance to study overseas” see the bond is actually quite easily discharged.
“I thank the kind people(your mom and dad) of this country to finance my bright future while your son take his time to grow into a man.” Even If he score better than me.
And If the condition elsewhere is not so good I will come here and stay to make sure my fellow countrymen got service jobs. We _____ are not easily bullied and we can get away with anything Huang na, soup spoon,etc,etc.
“Poor us PRC worker, our rights not protected” another propaganda in the making.
We need to protect the right of people who knowingly lower their salary and then? say that they are not paid enough????
Foreigner
Agree with “2nd class hoping to be first (no hope)” – for as long as we are around and entrenched.
Groundswell – none of my business – only concern is that my wallet should swell for the work I am contracted, with locals not accepted, which implied that the work I am doing is not easy.
Worker
I am here not speaking for those high level pay of the foreign worker because it’s known that they got high pay and also high allowances. I am here for the foreign construction worker. We need to treat them more humanly. There are some construction companies that required them to work from Monday to Sunday and for long hours from 8 am to 11 pm or 12 am (it means 1,5 days). Not only that, after finishes their job and return to their dormitory, they still need to cook (in order to cut cost) for their food to bring to their job site in the following morning. In the morning they have to wake very early to get ready for the job. So we can imagine that they only take a few hours to take rest in the night. Their food is very plain while they need a lot of energy in the work. They can not speak their own opinion because they are afraid to be sacked and to be sent back to their country. Before come to Singapore they need to pay a very high fee to the agency (S$ 6,500-S$15,000). There are a few systems need to be changed here: 1. Government should required the construction company to apply shift work system and only allow a worker work over time based on his own willing, not because of being forced by their employer. 2. The date line/delivery schedule of the project should not be too short and at the same time the project owner can not apply big sum of penalty to the contractor (which will lead the exploitation of the construction worker by their employer in order to avoid LD). Government need to realize that if the employer forces their worker to work overtime continuously, it will result fatigue on the workers, which is danger to their safety and also to the building safety. Tired worker can not concentrate well on their job and this may affect to their own safety and also building safety. Singapore land is vulnerable with earthquake and earth vibration so that everything must be done correctly in the construction project. Work result is not the same if it’s done by fresh worker and fatigue worker. 3. Urge job agencies to stop take high fee from those foreign worker (agent in Singapore and agent in worker’s originate country both took high fee from them) which is immoral because those workers need years to pay it while their families need the money to support their life. 4. Urge the employer to provide proper transportation for them, don’t wait until they have to lose their life. 5. Salary adjustment with current inflation 6. Housing improvement; there’re some companies have improved their workers dormitory but there are still a lot of companies need to do it. They come here to take job that many Singapore don’t want to take (based on the fact that even at the supervisory level, Singaporean can only stay maximum 2 or 3 months before leave the job).
Inta
I read a good comment here yesterday (last commnet & quite long). Where is it, why you all deleted?
student
I must say having foreign workers on our land will wake up SIngaporeans idea. One thing for sure Singaporeans are not hardworking, complain alot, want to work on easy tasks and hoping to earn big bucks. Just take a look around and compare it yourself. Want to earn big bucks but no education, so the tripatite people organise courses for them to upgrade but they think is wasting times and rather spend their time on their 4D, toto dreams.
If only our local workforce are as hardworking as these FT, then they dont have to worry about FT snatching their jobs.
Sometimes when we see big organisations having retrenchment exercise, they are actually getting rid of those staffs who are not contributing to the organisation.
I personally believe that if a worker has a good working attitude, he/she don’t need to worry about FT invasion.
dennis
student (#39),
Openness is the key. I agree with your last point that if one has a good attitude, one doesn’t have to be afraid of competition.
However, your acrid tone makes your overall message less receptive and less effective. If you could just hold your horses back for a minute and edit your post, it can become more convincing. You may find the following guidelines useful:
- stay composed; be civilised (for eg, don’t insult people)
- state your point in a positive tone
- KISS (keep it simple and sweet)
- imagine how people might react to your post; revise
Don’t just get your message in, get a strong message through. Challenge yourself to compose a more convincing message each time. Cheers!
Daniel
student ,
what you said is agreeable. And that should be applied to the gahmen first. The problem has never been FT policies but the extreme at it. Apply it to the gahmen first who along has been protected from their own FT policies. Will the gahmen complain then if they themselves subject to their own policies they put forth ?
Listen to Mr Brown
http://www.mrbrownshow.com/2008/05/05/the-mrbrown-show-the-replacement/
and you see the obvious wayang.
Vinnie
Singapore is being viewed by the international community as a country that breaches human rights. The living condition these workers live in are inhumane. Singapore is viewed similarly to Dubai which treats its own foreign workers the same. How can one live in a dog box with 15 others in unhygenic conditions? Aminals have the protection of the SPCA but foreign workers have no proper voice. Singaporeans need to see things from a more humane view and stop thinking about making money.
Jaslyn
Labour chief urges employers to give priority to local workers, said by our Labour chief Lim Swee Say at the Singapore Tripartism Forum on Thursday.
At last I find that it is very fair to all Singaporeans workers.
As you see how we Chinese working under some foreign countries (Those lower graded ) are those Chinese workers being treated well or not?? Even fair or not??
In Singapore foreign workers is being treated differently here, they are much more fortunate and lucky here.
IF As :
Acting Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong related a conversation he had with a company head
“If he were asked to employ only Singaporeans, his costs would have gone up and he would have had no choice but to shift the whole company out of Singapore to China,” said Mr Gan
Who says Singaporeans not a hard working workers , Right. Why always Singaporeans not helping Singaporeans?? Because of the Salaries.??
Not forgotten how much they earn in Singapore dollars rate converting it to their own individual countries dollar rates. How much their pay will be then in total.
For Singapore workers rate Salaries to Singapore dollar rates amount is already very fair to those employees already if you want to compare in dollar rates wise.
If Singapore Employees think this way , not trying to gives priority to local workers, then might as well all Singaporeans being unemployed then, all engaged foreigners workers then. Then Singapore will be given a NAME SOONER ” For Foreigners workers country” no more Singaporean workers.
This is my individual comments.
Moby303
If priority given to local workers, so what is the point increasing the temporary dorm sites for foreign workers? Which one they want?
Jaslyn
Increasing the temporary dorm sites for foreign workers, is temporary accomdations for them to lives in. Majority all Singapore workers or even to says all Singaporeans have a home to stay in,especially talking about in Singapore, Right .That is why I says foreigners workers working here in Singapore is considers already very fair and lucky for them to stay here to work with. .
This are just part of the benefits in Singapore . You know , previously foreigners worker even have CPF for working in Singapore but I don’t know now still have this benefits. After they went back to their own country , I dont know for how many years later, they can take back their this CPF money . This is not fair to them??Singaporeans treat them not well??? Still everyone is talking about we Singaporeans don’t take care of the foreigner workers , no place for them to lives in etc etc……. The foreigner workers , majority actually now staying around little india ,Right? By renting HDB rooms.You know why , as foreigner finds that it is cheaper to share with more friends for one room.There must be some control, right?
As too many foreigner workers living in a HDB room will cause much inconvient to our local people.Must be fair to us, local people too, Right? Why I says this then……..???
We saw NEWS saying they smoke , drank and some even fighting for those foreigner workers in HDB area.
Then you think is fair for us as a local Singaporean staying in our HDB flats with a lots of foreigners workers around. Mentally, Of course we feel uneasy for the way they behaves as above , majority everyone is just trying to protect our childrens safety., if too much of the foreigner workers living in HDB .
Thats why Our government is trying very hard planning out for their accomdations.Good for us and good for them.Both Win Win situations.
Singaporean Bangala
We singaporean work, work and work for one average 90+ sqm four room flat for 99 years, foreigner go back buy big houses, big plot of lands, cars. cools… Who is the big winner here?
mr tan
everyday there are trucks, lorries, cars, buses parked illegally in little india area.
The entire roads of klang lane, belilios road, chander road, rotan lane are packed with illegal parking and illegal workers and overstayers lying on the floors of hdb void decks and pavements and lift lobbies in hdb areas.
So why do singaporeans pay to live in hdb areas ? why do singaporeans pay conservancy charges ? To ensure that illegal workers sleep comfortably on their void decks and lift lobbies in hdb residential areas ?
If you visit 672 and 671 klang lane, residential void decks and areas are swamped with illegal workers, overstayers and these areas become permanent squatters on weekends and weekdays.
These non residents lie on the floors and on the pavements
On weekends, hundreds of them crowd the area.
Young Professional Singaporean Engineer
Foreigners are not only taking away singaporean jobs, they are also deprving us of the opportunities for training to move on to a management level. I am feeling very disappointed with my company for sending engineers who are foreigners instead of singaporeans for the training. And, to mention, my company is a local company who is able to receive the funding our govt gives out, in light of the economy recession. So, does our govt control the use of the fund given out? Or, in this case, a local company receives help from the govt to help foreigners advance their career?? govt fund is taxpayers money and the money comes from singaporean. This is so unfair. Furthermore, these foreigners degree are worth less than locals since we have a world class education system and NUS is one of the top 5 Asia’s university.
sg education system failed totally.
ann yap
everyday many illegal immigrants and overstayers and foreign workers lie on the floors of void decks at 671 and 672 klang lane. They openly bring their food and beer and liquor and get into fights . but no officers arrest them.
its free for all.
every weekend, hundred and thousand of workers , foreign talents crowd at the hdb void decks, roads and block the traffic. they take up the entire bus lanes of serangoon road, belilios road and klang lane . there is no form of crowd control or spotcheck to see if they have valid passports and visas.
Raine
The author outlined unjustice about the overall treatment the foreign labour workers received in Singapore. However, whom he met are those who needed help and how many percent is that sample when compared to the no. of workers here? Written media often published bad news about those who had their work permit terminated and were unable to pay their costly agent fees. However, whomever in the right mind would demand their rights and be compensated before agree to go back to their country (they can always refuse to go back). There are also workers with excellent skills earning $2,000 – $3,600 per month. They do not have to complain to any authority or society that they are earning too much.
PG
Cheap foreign workers in Singapore and Malaysia are giving their industries an unfait advantage , and it can be called exploiting others . These countries should be have import and other dues charged on all their goods and activities . Wages , working hours , social cover , ecological laws are not the same as in the West or even China , things have to be levelled out , especially when we see the profits that companies in these countries are making ( not the population)
This will also make things better for Singaporeans and Malaysians , better pay , resonable working hours , better conditions . Also foreign workers do not have the same competency level or education and are allowed to live in conditions Singaporeans are not. There is a very big question of quality of work from these countries .
Singapore along with Malaysia and other countries have large breaches concerning human rights and if they don’t improve , have to have their products and services boycotted by western countries .
It is obvious the governments of these countries are not there to improve their populations quality of life , just make the country a place of cheap labour .
The advantages and salaries received by the governments and its services in these countries is excessive , and the governments are becoming stale with no ideas or competition due to the authoritarian regimes and lack of aloowed opposition . This should be taken into account , and free trade agreements with these countries should be avoided.

Great article ! Like I have said before – Singaporeans are way too materialistic. To the point of openly exploiting foreign workers.
Seriously – Singapore must begin to think about what kind of VALUES it stands for.
Economic Development versus Human Rights & Ethics.
Is life all just a matter of Economics or does Values & Ethics play a role ?