Tuesday, June 24, 2008 18:29
Responsibility, responsibility, responsibility!
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 921 views • 81 Comments
Andrew Loh
Yes, we are all appalled. In fact, we are more appalled than the Home Affairs Minister.
Appalled at the “lapses” (if ever there was a euphemism for a screwup, this is it), appalled at the “complacency”, appalled at how our security personnel are so lackadaisical about their jobs.
But most of all, we are appalled that the Home Affairs Minister still has a job.
Where is it? Where did it go to? How is it that it can be avoided, side-stepped, blamed on someone else – not once, not twice, but three times!
Mas Selamat Kastari – the number one alleged terrorist in Singapore – the man who escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre (WRDC) and is still at large.
Double escape attempts at the Subordinate Courts by two men facing charges for “robbery with hurt”. That is, two dangerous men.
A 61-year old man passes through all checkpoints at the Budget Terminal and gets on a plane — with his son’s passport. One wonders about the consequences if he was not an ordinary man.
All this within a span of 4 months – the last two after Mas Selamat gave the guards at the WRDC the slip in February this year.
Responsibility so far has been laid squarely and conclusively on the shoulders of those “on the ground”, leaving the man at the very top of the security department unscathed, unpunished, and un-disciplined.
Yes, leadership responsibility has been explained away with euphemism, semantics, play of logic and lame excuses about how the lower rungs have not or did not follow operational procedures.
A convenient cop-out by the minister
This is a convenient cop-out, a finger-pointing exercise to save one’s own hide.
Leadership responsibility does not end at operational procedures. It starts with respect that subordinates have for the leader (or not) and ends with the leader having the moral authority to lead (or not).
One question which all these so-called “lapses” raises is this: Does the leader of the department not command such respect and moral authority which would lead to subordinates taking their jobs seriously enough to prevent such “lapses”?
In other words: Are the subordinates’ lack of seriousness due to the lack of moral authority which they, the subordinates, see in their leader?
And if this is so, the leader is no longer fit to lead and must be relieved of his duties and position. This is even more so when the leader, or minister, is in charge of national security, where any lapses have the potential to result in the loss of lives, as in two of the three cases above.
It is shameful indeed that when subordinates do their job well, the leader of the department is praised and accolades heaped on his head. Yet, when subordinates fail in their jobs, the same leader or minister lays the blame squarely on them.
Where is the responsibility?
Where is the leadership?
Where is the accountability when one is paid one of the highest salaries on the entire planet as a public servant?
In a statement released to the media on the latest slip-up at Changi airport, Minister Wong said:
Any lapse by any department in the Home Team is a failure which all in the Home Team family must bear. (link)
Honestly and in all seriousness, I do not know what that statement means at all – as far as ministerial responsibility is concerned. I, and I suspect many others as well, wonder what the minister would “bear” for any failures, and how he would do so. The last time I checked, the minister still has his job and in all probability would also receive a substantial bonus for the year, together with his world-class salary.
Real root of complacency
Nah, the complacency is not with the ground troops. The truth is that complacency has its roots with the men at the very top of Government. 42 years of being in absolute control of power has caused this complacency.
We had hoped that we have men in Government who would not shy away from taking responsibility for failures. Instead, we are faced with a situation where accountability has become non-existent because of absolute power.
Singaporeans will call for Minister Wong’s resignation. The media will defend him, for sure, as they did during the Mas Selamat fiasco. The Prime Minister will also defend his minister.
The only people who lose will be Singaporeans, and Singapore, because should someone like Mas Selamat come back for a “return hit” (as Lee Kuan Yew called it), it is ordinary Singaporeans’ lives which will be lost, along with disastrous consequences for the country’s economy.
As for Government responsibility, we are beginning to realize what absolute power can do. The question I’d like to ask is: Will the Prime Minister ask for Minister Wong’s resignation only if or when lives are lost due to such lapses? Is that the bottomline? If it is so, then the Prime Minister should say so. Otherwise, such blatant disregard for taking responsibility can and will only do further damage to the Government’s claim that it is a government of integrity.
As was said in a TOC editorial, at the end of the day, Wong’s recalcitrance is bad for the PAP, but worse for the country.
—————
For the record, courtesy of “Copyman” who posted this on TOC:
Some of MHA’s achievements:
2004 – Huang Na’s killer escaped on toilet break under police custody.
2006 – Tan Chor Jin (One-Eyed Dragon) escaped to Malaysia, allegedly on a fake passport.
2006 – NKF Richard Yong managed to flee to Hong Kong.
2008 – Mas Selamat Kastari – toilet break again.
2008 – Two detainees’ attempted escape frorm Subordinate Court.
2008 – Ng Ting Hwa, the employee who siphoned almost S$2m from his company, fled to Malaysia when he’s under investigation.
2008 – Gurkhas’ scuffle over salary.
2008 – A retiree unintentionally bypassed Changi Airport’s security using his son’s passport.
—————
Wong Kan Seng’s elections record
First elections – 1984
Kuo Chuan – 64.55%
Second elections – 1988
Toa Payoh GRC (3 men)
Uncontested
Third elections – 1991
Thomson GRC (4 men)
Uncontested
Fourth elections – 1997
Bishan – Toa Payoh (5 men)
Uncontested
Fifth elections – 2001
Uncontested
Sixth elections – 2006
Uncontested
A span of 24 years, 6 elections.
Contested in only one – 24 years ago
—————–
81 Comments
Daniel
Sgcynic
Even if a bomb goes off, it will only be an isolated incident. System is still sound; just that someone got complacent and another got lucky.
Btw, what’s the difference between a leader and a manager? Our “leaders” seems to be managing the country and economy (as well as expectations) and fail at leading and building the nation.
Ryan
The lack of accountability sickens me a lot. Enuff said.! The garmen can continue to ignore calls for home affair minister’s resignation at their party’s own peril.. Let this come back to haunt them in the next GE.! SICK.!!!
Dick
Another honest mistake. We should move on.
Harry
Since the $500 million lost in 6 months in the purchase of Micropolis, the Leegime has been very creative in coming out with ways to justify their mistakes.
Every time a new justification is found, it applies to the whole government in order to prevent talks of neopotism. So the standard of accountability of the whole government declined over the years. Tragic. In the case of Micropolis they justified their non action on those involved (Ho Ching) by arguing that it is an honest business decision and we must not punish such people or they will be afraid to make decisive actions in the future. I have not seen the bureaucrates being more decisive but I have seen more and more of them being forgiven for making major mistakes.
Daniel
“Btw, what’s the difference between a leader and a manager? Our “leaders” seems to be managing the country and economy (as well as expectations) and fail at leading and building the nation.”
In Singapore, the leaders here are called LEEders and that’s probably explain why they are so different and unique that they are totally blameless and worth millions in any circumstance.
Critic
“This should not have happened. I am sorry that it did.”
If the man can say such insincere words for a big blunder like MSK escape, what’s there to say?
“This should not have happened. The officers will be charged and dismissed. LETS MOVE ON to more important things like inflation”?
Weijia
Despite all this he is still the best of the best of the best that we have. he is the most suited for his job. If not someone else would’ve been appointed long ago to take over him. what to do, we are simply not good enough.
happy man
don’t blame the garmen. u singaporean feed these monster yourself by not doing anything & stupid enough to believe them at every election. sent all these untested MP (who can’t fight one on one in election ) into parliament thru backdoor.sent retired top military personnel to run MOE so that he can shout command top down is it?? if i’m the garmen, i will also skin u people slowly but surely since u all lan lan one. follow yr 2 opposition leader and talk the way to parliament also futile. They will be happy for the opposition to keep talking cos nothing will change. not confrontation engagement will suit them. go back history, which change of garmen is successful thru talking ?? Dr Chee is doing the correct thing. non violent civil disobedient / protest. anyway, migrating soon, from his sick place & all the best Mrs Lee.
patriot
Will Singaporeans ever have the guts of the Gurkhas?
patriot.
Fever Guy
Change is coming…i can sense it. I see the stars and mrs old fart not going to make it. I said that in my previous comments when she first went into hospital. next year is the old fart.
I can only hope Pasir Ris isn’t a walkover when crunchtime comes~
Daniel
” next year is the old fart.” ?
Next year ? Hoping for next day ! We don’t even know if these clowns are using taxmoney for hospital fee. Remember they are the emperor and empress of Singapore .
That’s a bit harsh
John
Any “Feng Suei” master services available? you got a potential very wealth client in hand ! WKS badly need one to help to turn the table around ! His luck must be damm rock bottom this year !
Aberdyn
The scuffles over salary dispute that occurred at the gurkha’s police contigent in Mount Vernont Camp recently was a very significant hints that the Gurkhas are no longer an absolute lot of people of foreign origin who are so disciplined as before. They were well known from the British colonial time to be a bunch of uniform group particularly in the gurkhas police contigents that are very loyal, diciplined and dedicated all along. Gurkhas has high regard for being the most trusted force to protect the security and safety of Singapore VIPs as well as important installations in Singapore. Since the event in Nepal in the past few years, and the deposing of the Nepalese king by its people, it seem the spirit of the old had gone. The Gurkhas of today is a new breed of people in an independence Republic of Nepal with more open minds and demands and they know their rights better.
blackfeline
only one word : SHAMELESS!!!!!!!!!!
joker
John,
i heard from one famous feng shui master how to cure sick people using Pa kui formation. just put 2 nuts under the patient’s bed and a banana on the forehead for 49 days then mix the nuts & banana in mixer and applied on patient face. can try u know.
Certainly we do not have leaders but managers running the country. And they are superb at managing their career, remuneration, pension and other benefits in kind. I will not be surprised that our kids in school indicate the desire to be a politician when they grow up, but only with the ruling party.
Every single day that the despot is around , is one day too many for us. Surely our patience should be rewarded after putting up with him for so long.
The only way to find out about ‘guts’ is to give the locals equal access to arms as the gurkhas. My bet is WKS will be having sleepless nights.
Angry SS
I urge all those under this incompetent minister to think carefully what he is doing to shrug away from his responsibilities and Accountability.
He has now BLAMED ALL of YOU and I am sure there will be drastic measures taken up to tighten procedures immediately. I trust you have already been called in to ‘kenna tekan”? In his eyes, he did no wrong. It’s YOU. YOu are the Shame of the HOME TEAM.
Still want to vote PAP blindly and worry about your promotion etc etc? Afraid your boss will know you voted against them? (it’s secret right?).
In reality You are more shameless to vote for them without responsibility. You are accountable to the PEOPLE OF SINGAPORE. Through these lapses, amongst them the escape of a allege Terrorist who may one day come back to kill and maime Singaporeans, your friends or even your own loved ones. You are responsible for Voting this incompetent person to the job. By not taking the risk to have more check and balance, you have invariably allowed this to happen.
WAKE UP!
So Sorry
Well, need we say more ……………………………………………………………………………………….
The facts tell the stories again and again…………………………………………………………….
Singapore is not that good as its leaders want the citizens to think it to be………..
Catherine Lim is right about the great divide…………………………………………………………
Master at news, PR and marketing can only do this much……………………………………
Sooner and later something will go again and again and again…………………………….
We are not that good………………………………………………………………………………………………..
It is time to adjust the salaries of President, Ministers, and Civil servants downwards before it is taken away by the political
process in motion…………………………………………………………
intent
i only blame the people of singapore for voting these kind of people in parliament. People in singapore please start to read and discuss what is happening with our country. Only we can make a change. You cant expect this government to fire themselves.
Harrison
Singaporeans,
What made you believe that the the Gurkhas fought over pay issue? Did you hear from them or simply believe what you read from the PAP-SMEAR TIMES?
Don’t be complacent!
With regards to WKS, we must thank him for glueing himself to his seat because he will have to carry it’s burden with him come 2011.
Peeping
I stay just opposite the Gurkhas Camp. Every Friday near midnight, these soldiers will bring girls back to camp. I see this happening every Friday evening… these girls look like maids from phi or indo.. Not sure if this is allowed… they are not as disciplined and orderly as most might think. Ask the taxi drivers… they should know as I usually see this girls coming in cabs on Friday night….
Changi-gate T4
Blame blame go away, come again another day, little people want to play, outside people pay and pay, BIGGER PEOPLE GOT BIGGER AND B I G G E R P A Y !!!!!
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 25 Jun 2008
[...] and Flabbergasted – TOC: Responsibility, responsibility, responsibility! – Sgpolitics: A litany of security lapses by the Ministry of Home Affairs – Mr Wang Says So: Wong [...]
Secure Chain
With so many incidences, I wonder if complacency is the root cause or is it just the flavour-of-the-month excuse, just because our wise one said so.
It scares me to think that perhaps, another possible reason could be that our people are just stretched to their limits, and what we are seeing now are the symptoms of being too lean for our own good.
Once upon a time, it used to be managers and above, putting in the long hours. Now, it is a norm for practically everyone to be working more than the official 44hour week. When bosses add on more responsibilities and duties in the “guise” of increased productivity, or innovation, what can or cannot be humanly achieved within the 24hrs of a day becomes secondary.
And I suspect such attitude is worst in the civil service then in the private sector. With the mandarins having their tour-of-duties, each has to come up with new ideas / more productive ways to do things / etc, during their tours. And the poor rank-and-file are the ones who get the short end of things. These are probably people, because of their limited job scope and experience, less mobile then their private sector peers. So, they have no choice but to just try and cope as best as they can, until the ball is dropped! And then, they get blamed for being complacent. Damn if you do, damn if you don’t!
And it is not just the Home Ministry. The Education Ministry comes to mind as well. We have had so many Perm Secs and Ministers coming and going through this ministry through the years. Each time, some new direction is set. But guess what, the old problems are not solved! Like the current debate about tuition, which has been an age old problem. And yes, the poor teachers are the rank-and-file, tasked to face the wrath of parents…..year-on-year…..
Wouldn’t the higher salaries of a “blessed few”, be better spent on increasing the numbers of rank-and-files? Or in technological investments to reduce the load of rank-and-file?
Whilst I hope complacency is the real cause of some of the recent incidences, I just hope that imploding because we have been too productive, too driven, too “kiam-seap” (stingy) is not the true underlying reason behind things. For it would be extremely unfair, that the “blessed few” get their higher pays for coming out with ideas, which are just not humanly attainable by the rank-and-file without additional resources. And then these “blessed few” blames the same rank-and-file for being complacent!
tunkudon
the more i read the more i am sick !! so sick and angry , u r not even man enough to take Responsibility. . u make me so sick . !!!!
meesiam maihum
The recent series of security bleach under the watch of WKS is an indication of systemic failures at the Ministry of Home Affairs. It is incredible that WKS continues to blame those taking orders from other than himself. It is even more incredible that LHL agrees with WKS on assigning blame to the ‘little’ people instead of looking at the root cause of such failures and doing something to prevent it from happening again.
aygee
if we’re going to talk about errors:
- the cocaine ringleader who escaped, while on bail.
- Michael Vana, escaped while on bail.
but, on the flip side, his Ministry was very very efficient at
- hanging a naive 18 year old drug mule who the judge even admitted didnt know he was carrying drugs at all,
- stopping James Gomez from leaving Singapore and “interviewing” him for a few days,
- “interviewing” mrbrown,
- sending many police to handle “Cannot Tahan” show,
- stopping and fining speeding motorists
so dont be too harsh on him lah ;-)
BUT seriously, looking at the ERP hullabaloo, the main problem i see to all of this is the accountability issue. As i commented on the “ERP” article, i looka at LTA website, everything leads back to Ministry of Transport. The head of LTA only present in a press release quote. People in the lower rungs, are not empowered, and do NOT want to take responsibility for any decisions made. Everything must be passed on to a higher level.
I say the problems we face with HOme Ministry is simply there is no empowerment for junior levels, and the people below are not prepared to take any accountability. They only receive it when things go wrong.
If they change this attitude, where dept heads can make decisions, where officers on the ground are given the opportunity to make decisions, things will be different.
In this case – what likely happened what that senior execs say we need to be efficient, push the queues through, process quickly and dont waste time.
So what happened? people on the ground just execute, and process lor…
aygee
Daniel, Fever Guy, i agree with Joel, wishing for someone’s death is a little harsh, and uncalled for, and doesnt add to the conversation lah. if your wife is sick, and someone says in a public forum wishing for her to die, its unpleasant for you, right?
lets stick to the issues.
So Sorry Too
I am begining to feel sorry for the Ministers – perhaps the pay is really justified – fixing blame and corrective meaures as in Changi T4 may be more difficult than most people would thought; also once in, it is hard to resign. Perhaps a review for pay increase ……………………………………………………………………………………………..
Andrew Loh
While the govt can try and explain away the misshaps on ‘operational procedures’, we must not forget the aftermath fiasco of the Mas Selamat escape. The subsequent manner in which the govt gave out false or incomplete information is a responsibility of the higher-ups. This surely, cannot be blamed on the ground troops.
Besides, the latest 3 incidents are not the only ones.
As ‘copyman’ mentioned, it goes way back to 2004, at least:
2004 – Huang Na’s killer escaped on toilet break under police custody.
2006 – Tan Chor Jin (One-Eyed Dragon) escaped to Malaysia, allegedly on a fake passport.
2006 – NKF Richard Yong managed to flee to Hong Kong.
2008 – Mas Selamat Kastari – toilet break again.
2008 – Two detainees’ attempted escape frorm Subordinate Court.
2008 – Ng Ting Hwa, the employee who siphoned almost S$2m from his company, fled to Malaysia when he’s under investigation.
2008 – Gurkhas’ scuffle over salary.
2008 – A retiree unintentionally bypassed Changi Airport’s security using his son’s passport.
So, those who are giving excuses that such things cannot be entirely prevented is missing the point – which is, it is not an isolated incident. Neither are they only recent ones.
The only difference is that Mas Selamat was a high-profile failure which put the spotlight on the MHA and its minister. This, however, was a good thing as it brought attention to all the other previous failures.
Looking at it as a whole, surely the minister must accept some personal responsibility.
My take is that Wong Kan Seng should be replaced.
And if by replacing him we will cause the entire govt to be thrown into “flux” – as ST writer Chua Lee Hoong said – then, I say the govt is not worth the money it is being paid and a general election should be called for the people to decide.
For if the govt can be thrown into ‘flux’ just because one inept minister is removed, what does that say about the govt as a whole?
Jerry
Aygee,
don’t blame Daniel & Fever Guy. we all are also being push to a corner and no avenue to protest. when i was in camp, my CO told us. if it takes a platoon to hatam 1 sabo king, that means that sabo king is really damn ‘pain in the ass’ that cause hatred for a whole platoon to wack him up. thers’s alot of unhappy & frustrated singaporeans around hiding cos afraid to surface & kena caught. if we can’t get them out of parliament, can’t we just wish for them to be remove in one way or another. talk no use , if not singapore will be a better place if ’someone’ listen to the ideas of 4 million singaporean compared to his small garmen. behind every coward man there is a strong woman. take this woman away, coward will be gone.
any way , if you are nice & considerate to people, they will reciprocate. if not they will do the reverse.
Culture
It all boils down to culture… I have made a few police report before and I notice most of the police here are very afraid to make decision or even file in your report… they will do their best to pass you to some other department… trust me on this.. you can find this out yourselves. The culture of the police force under WKS appear not to do anything without explicit and specific instructions…. if in doubt, don’t do anything that may “break” your iron bowl… just go with the flow…..
There is a saying in chinese –
“More tasks, the higher risks for mistakes”
“Less tasks, the lower risks for mistakes”
“No tasks, definitely no risk at all for mistakes”
This attitude may have prevailed in the police force.. which sadly translate into the state we are in now…. It is because most singaporean are law abiding that singapore is safe.. nothing to do with the efficiencies of the police.
To change all these, it has to come from the TOP !!!!
aygee
a few other errors that’s also worth mentioning:
- giving a man a few extra strokes of the rotan.
- the sad story of late Dr Adrian Yeo, that Lucky Tan blogged about. a cynical person would call actions taken by the police to be “entrapment”.
basically, a gay doctor was asked by undercover cops to bring drugs to a private “party”, and if he brings it, they can all have fun. you can figure out the rest. The doctor’s father, a taxi driver, had to pay up when the govt broke his bond, after his arrest. and Dr Adrian was kicked out of his practice.
James
smacks of the new NTUC logo – it’s U not We, not us, but U.
The SS
To Culture:
One suspects it’s their KPI’s… if they report on more robberies/crime, it will look bad on their performance appraisals that’s why. Probably some competiton amongst the ’safest’ precinct myabe?
So this culture has inbred till this point of trying just to meet those KPI’s that matter. It’s not the service they are sworn to perform anymore and hence the complacency/bo chap/etc.
Chua Lee Hoong is right about the entire government thrown into ‘flux’ should WKS be removed, because there are many more inept ministers like WKS in this regime.
However, Ms Chua can not see beyond this major overhaul. The simple act of replacing the inept ministers with “real talent” will solve most problems.
Should the Straits Times start to take their credibility rating seriously, then Ms Chua’s position will be untenable.
Farquhar, Mr. Wang Says So, Lucky Tan, Leong Sze Hian etc, etc, will easily boost the S.T. international rating if they are the replacements.
george
These lapses, if not for their serious consequences, were almost comedic. It also set me thinking and wondering just what is the problem or issue here? Then the answer strikes me like a bolt from the blue. THE PLAIN AS DAY REASON FOR ALL THESE LAPSES MUST BE BECAUSE THE MHA RANK AND FILES COULD NO LONGER CONTAIN THEIR OWN CYNICISM AND DOUBTS ABOUT HOW SERIOUS A JOB THEY HAVE.
IT MUST BE A JOKE TO PROFESSIONALS OF THE POLICE FORCE TO WATCH THE KEYSTONE COPS ANTICS OF COLLEAGUES CALLED OUT TO ACCOST CHEE SOON JUAN , HIS SISTER AND THEIR FELLOW-PROTESTERS.
IT MUST BE A JOKE, TO WATCH THE DAILY MAMMOTH JAMS AT THE TWO LINKS WITH UPNORTH, POST- MAS SELAMAT ESCAPE.
IT MUST BE A JOKE, TO WATCH THE WAYANG OF ROUSING THE ENTIRE POPULATION TO HELP CATCH MS AND THE COMEDY OF ERROR RUNNING FROM THE INACCURATE INFO GIVEN OUT TO THE PUBLIC TO THE UTTER INCOMPETENCE OF THE ISD AT THE WHITELY HOLDING CENTRE. AND I HAVE A NEAKING FEELING THAT MS IS REALLY NOT AS DANGEROUS AS HE WAS MADE OUT TO BE. IT’S ALL BLEW UP TO KEEP SINGAPOREANS IN LINE. OTHERWISE, PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY THERE IS HARDLY ANY MORE CONCERN EXPRESS IN PUBLIC ABOUT THE INCIDENT?
Under the circumstances, it is understandable that the MHA staff have either lost their work morale or completely pissed off and totally embarressed at the laughing stock that they have become to the world’s community care of the Internet!!!
patriot
If Law enforcements get too lax, I am going to worry very much for the elderlies, the handicaps and the youngs. Recently, the spates of snatch thefts, robberies and housebreakings etc and murder cases have risen and one wonders if this country has LAWS.
However, no matter how bad the situations have become, curses of death and hatred are not the ways. The wishes that we should have; firstly, the Responsible be made answerable to negligences, failures and derelictions of duties. Incompetent Servants be replaced and inept ones to buck up. Death of anyone will not amend problems and really the Responsible people should live to see the consequences of their incapabilities and follies.
There is a dire need to remind the people now that the challenges ahead are abound and sufferings will follow if our leaders perform and behave as they do. Indeed, we may even say what tomorrow will be is beyond telling, that’s how unsure many of us are, NOW.
The many ‘enlightened bloggers’ could and should do their fellow Singaporeans the great deed of imparting your wisdoms and the guidings of the masses. You should know that the laymen are very much ‘brainwashed’ by the Official Medias and their Shepherds on top of the shortcomings of the Leadership.
Do be kind and help!
patriot.
sad day for gurkhas
My gut feel about the gurkhas was that after the Mas Selamat case, they would get out of hand in singapore when they could. If the operational procedures set up by higher ups and the big people was that gurkhas cannot talk to detainees, and only ISD staff could talk to them, then you cannot fault them for running out to call the ISD female staff when they suspect something amiss.
But still, it is the little people who gets blamed, and soon, more of the Chinese and Indian foreign talent will probably lead the brigade in Singapore when push comes to shove. Let us see how this foreign talent influx unfolds and come to haunt our govt!
thanks
http://harvardmagazine.com/go/jkrowling.html
I want to thank Andrew and all staff at TOC. Watch the above, and I salute you, like I salute Ms JR Rowling for speaking out for those who cannot speak.
Daniel
Even the gurkhas feel the pitch and exploitation during the all time high inflation in Singapore !
Fever Guy
Thanks for understanding from some bloggers here.
I do not wish anyone died in misery. Only one big “fart” family is all i wish and believe me hundreds of thousands singaporeans feel that way too. Why suddenly estate duty is removed? Coz some big FART ’s wife going to a far far away place and all her assets under her name cannot be make public. Removing the estate duty helps to remove scrutiny of her assets for taxation. People must understand our gahmen make policy changes not for the betterment of the nation but themselves only. I wonder how much shares she has under her name in various GLC and private companies. Her assets must be valued at around a billion SG?
Fever Guy
As i said before, WKS ’s home team will score more OWN GOALS before the year ends. I see stars again. Anyway the chance for WKS to quit his MHA ministerial post is less than 1% even another big event of screwed up is going to happen.
He is no ministerial materials, he is ex HP staff, previous career as teacher and admin service dept staff. That is talent?? Irreplaceable talent? Only the blind leads the blind. We have a blind gahmen so naturally they hired blinds. I think blind people has real sight than these “jokers” does. Just look at all the bad investments they got our hard earned money into. Merril Ly is losing another US$5 billion and selling stakes in shin corp…so forth. They are “TOA GON DAI” in hokkien.
Fever Guy
I NEVER TRUST THE GURKAS TO GUARD OUR LANDS! NEPALESE are more aggressive people and living their hard lives in their homeland teaches the survival fittest rules. They dont care about us singaporeans only themselves. Their loyalty is money if not why are they here to work for free? Singaporeans have families here, all their lives they grow up here and none of us will want Singapore to face great dangers. Why are we not good enough to protect our VIP ministers and president? So why are the gurkas here, simple reason to be at the beck and call of the “FART” family and cronies. Coz we singaporeans wont go that low but the gurkas can! They surely can! They have carried the balls of the British for many donkey years and just changing to local balls only but the trick is still the same.
FG
Fever Guy
James,
“smacks of the new NTUC logo – it’s U not We, not us, but U.”
Very smooth and catchy! Maybe you can email to NTUC about it. Haha…loving it!
FG
Fever Guy
Any thoughts on the 4th uni? Anyone?
The 4th university is built for 2500 intakes? Then might as well dont built! Coz it will be very expensive and not many locals going to benefit and of course more foreign talents going to get in to study at our expense. Making it more spruce up and expensive. Building such a small capacity gahmen university doesn’t help locals to get in and would have financial difficulties to study in private schools. When do their EARS start listening to the educated young?
Aberdyn
Massive traffc jams on both departures checkpoints at Tuas and the Woodlands/Causeway was a big headache daily. Especially during the peak hours. I don’t understand why the authority had put so many obstacles causing unnecessary delays to motorist. This had caused a massive traffic jam.
The worst was at the Woodlands checkpoint. I don’t see the point why the departing vehicles to Malaysia was tarerly checked by the police. For any apparent reason are they still on the look-out for Mas Selamat Kastari escaping from Singapore?
Why the ICA still needs Singaporean passport hoiders to go for the electronic fingerprint scanning. Isn’t that enough that Singapore passport carried all the relevant details and infos of the passport holder and can be retrieved and fed on to their computerised system. On the other side of the border I could see most of the time was more relax and smooth going. It seem the Singapore checkpoint growing to become so congested and chaotics.
The ICA of the MHA should do something better to addressed the problems like putting more staff on duty and opening more checking booths during peak hours and do away with the “kiasu attitude” bloodily checking every single individual finger prints and car booth that are leaving for another country. Let the other country to check on the smugglers entering their borders and not us to do the checking for them.
theonlinecitizen
Dear thanks,
Thank you :) Here at TOC we honestly feel that what we put up is only part of the job. The other, more important one are our readers’ participation. Without our readers, TOC is just a bunch of us blogging into the black hole of cyberspace… :)
Daniel
“The 4th university is built for 2500 intakes?”
I will not be surprised if it is meant for foreigner ! Remember the NSW Asian campus ? What is the ratio of foreigners study there ? Don’t forget that it is the same fee as the NSW in Australia.
Daniel
“Why suddenly estate duty is removed? Coz some big FART ’s wife going to a far far away place and all her assets under her name cannot be make public. Removing the estate duty helps to remove scrutiny of her assets for taxation. People must understand our gahmen make policy changes not for the betterment of the nation but themselves only. I wonder how much shares she has under her name in various GLC and private companies. Her assets must be valued at around a billion SG?”
Can we ask all the opposition party to do the investigation ? My sentiment tells me what the statement stated is very true. Business-man make use of rule and loophole to place their wealth somewhere else so this statement definitely make sense especially given that this pathetic and despondent LKY and his coffers family feels that the whole Singaporeans are indebted to him in one way or another and that he can make any rules he liked and wished. When one feel someone is indebted to him, he will do whatever right or wrong to reclaim what he thinks belong to him.
Can anyone in the world help monitor the flow of assets by the LCY ? My instinct tell me that we have a great Ferdinand Marcos in Singapore and history will repeat itself. No wonder the coffers perpetuate law to prevent investigation of ministers and political figures.
Don’t anyone think the following sound familar ? Taken from wiki of Ferdinand Marcos . Well, he doesn’t even hold a candle to LKY in term of wealth and regime.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferdinand_Marcos
“His supporters claim Marcos was a good president gone bad and that he was a man of rare gifts — a brilliant lawyer, a shrewd politician and keen legal analyst with a ruthless streak and a flair for leadership. Having been in power for more than 20 years, Marcos also had the very rare opportunity to lead the Philippines toward prosperity, with massive infrastructure he put in place as well as an economy on the rise.
However, he put these talents to work by building a regime that he apparently intended to perpetuate as a dynasty. A former aide of Marcos said that “Nobody will ever know what a remarkable president he could have made. That’s the saddest part”. Among the many documents he left behind in the Palace, after he fled in 1986, was one appointing his wife as his successor.”
patriot
Let’s supposed that a Marcos or the likes of him are found in Singapore alive or dead. What would Singaporeans do? What will the International Community do? Will anyone goes to the Court to seek justice?
As far as we can see, little or nothing had happened to the Marcos Family and their descendants’ opulences. And on top of that, famous or infamous, they are as popular as ever.
If the Local Law stipulates that no investigations and probes can be made on ministers, does it means they are immuned from been prosecuted? And if indeed they are, how can justice prevail?
patriot.
Daniel
patriot ,
that the paradox of Singapore. The coffers in questions are the one who set the and change law as they pleased and yet their character and integrity are also in question. But what actually expose Marcos is that the people revolt which means that unless Singaporean revolt, there are virtually nothing that is going to change at all. And if the coffers are been exposed and convicted, the same law that they set protected them well in their own country and internationally. That now explain why all modern dictators are acquitted of all crimes and treason. Hmmm, something for a thought.
It is more ironic given that the behaviour of our emperor is uncanny similar to Marcos. Well, look like we are in for a long long ride and may not see any radical change in my lifetime.
C J
The problem is that they hold themselves above the (their) law, and no one or no-body exists (or allowed) to question them.
We might as well ignore whatever WKS says after each and every lapses from now on.. it will be the same side-stepping and blaming someone else or Singaporeans.
World Class, aren’t they?
patriot
Daniel;
Now, that’s the REASON WHY HUMANS CREATED HELL, because justice does not prevail in Human Society!
patriot.
Andrew Loh
Complacency because of no electoral challenge for 24 years.
Wong Kan Seng
First elections – 1984
Kuo Chuan – 64.55%
Second elections – 1988
Toa Payoh GRC (3 men)
Uncontested
Third elections – 1991
Thomson GRC (4 men)
Uncontested
Fourth elections – 1997
Uncontested
Fifth elections – 2001
Uncontested
Sixth elections – 2006
Uncontested
A span of 24 years, 6 elections.
Contested in only one – 24 years ago
Gary Teoh
7th election 2011
Bishan – Toa Payoh ( 5 men )
PAP v SDP
Likely outcome :
SDP (50.2%)
PAP (49.8%)
Hooray …. Wong Kan Seng out you go
george
We are appalled that the MHA has the cheek to be ‘appalled’ when such appalling incidents of security lapses continue to happen at such an appalling rate.
By saying that WKS is in fact DISTANCING himself for any responsibility for the latest cockup. Of course, we know by now what will happen next – some frontline MHA/Immigration rank and file will become the sacrificial goats to whose blood will be scattered to appease the angry public, to protect the top man and his immediate coterie of retainers.
Andrew , You are spot on with the elections data concerning WKS.
There is no doubt about his complacency. But I believe WKS is incompetent in the first place, not minister material by a long shot.
How about some ‘elections data’ on his colleagues ? I think it is a good time to come up with a table on each of them. It can be informative and a useful reference for the readers.
The general public must accept responsibility for giving the PAP government the mandate for the past 40 years.
We have yet to see a true leader step up to the plate and take responsibility.
This government is complacent and has been taking the people for granted. The people must decide whether it is prudent to continue to give them the mandate.
We can not be complacent when we deal with a government that is complacent
tunkudon
uncontested !!! read about ST to day what old man say . y all r already so wasted what can be worst somemore . i am willing to try or give other a chance . if tat kind of money we pay all . i am CONFIDENT other can do better for lesser cause we love and really care abt singapore
SINGAPORE is not a company . …
Gary Teoh
obviously, he is incompetent. If he is good, he will be in trade or finance or transport ministry.
Dead Poet
I had a smile on my face after reading about the LKY article in todays ST. Why, because its shows a fear never displayed before. Here is a man who took on the odds, the democratic way (with some help) and proved that he is a worthy leader and has established his credentials. Now sadly, instead of preaching his follows to take the same path and prove their worth, he is fiding faulth with the very demoratic system which provided the avenue for good leaders. I disagree, 5 years will not ruin Singapore but will get rid on incompetent leaders. Leaders who are dispensable now due the a to a lot of reasons. Nepotism being not one of them.
Supporter
Does the old man think WKS will be re-elected in a single seat election. The old man has effectively denied Singaporeans the chance to vote for leaders like himself who are held responsible to the electorate and have worked tirelessly to prove their mandate.
Now we have back door self proclaimed leaders who the people have no avenue to get rid off. We need another LKY and a true single seat will produce one. Please get the true leaders, not driven by greed lead the country..not incompetent leaders who ride the party backwagon…
Supporter
Oh! I forget to mentioned. Met my ex army mate (regular) and he said that he got charged as the duty officer beause his men screwed up. But he accepted it for he considered that he failed as a leader to lead and guide his men. When million dollar earning, unproven leaders skive their responsibility.. I spit on their face..shameless..money minded faggots..
Frighten
The article on the front page of ST clearly show one thing… MR Lee is very frighten now… he know PAP will lose power if there is a snap election right now.. How about this heading for ST
“PAP in ruins after snap election”
Idiotshater
Some heads should roll !!!! Bloody (**()(#@$&^*(&
Fever Guy
The only way to save PAP from sliding down is not by giving more money to the people but by getting rid of incompetent leaders fast. What we need are People Leaders who are commited to help, guide and show the way for all to progress socially, economically and financially. on a more equal platform. The failed policies are a good reflection of the current crop of HIGHLY Talented ministers who mostly came through backdoor and are paid obscene salaries. Old FART is afraid but the system is now so deeply rooted he himself cant do much. As imcomptent leaders are not only just a few but more than a handful. So how do you get rid of them fast. No Way it can endangered his loyal supporters who might turn against old fart himself. Instead, Old FART will play the same old song that without PAP, all sinkies will do is to sink deeper into hell.
I am not a gambler, but if given a chance i would rather gamble the 5 years without PAP in control. Singapore already not much better and i dont think in the future it will be better more.
FG
Daniel
” HIGHLY Talented ministers ”
I do not deny that we have highly talented ministers running the country but what kind of talent ? To be more specific, We have ministers whose world class talent lies in taking advantage of government position to conceive plan and scheme to reap money off the pleasant and using it to enrich themselves, and eat Mee Siam Mai Hum. Don’t believe ? Just look at the position and power they holding in GLC and related company running as business-man and at same time a government offical ! LKY is senior advisor to Citigroup (How much is he pay per year on top of his position as MM ?).
WTF ! No wonder citizen get reap off by these greedy business coffers.
For these manipulative talents alone, they are worth millions. Period.
Daniel
When one is good, we show thumb up otherwise thumb down.
So let show our support for ‘best’ government in the world by design them their next logo.
PAP = bVb
The logo is the upside down word of the ruling party
During election, wear the shirt that show PAP wording upside down to show our disapproval and disappointment with the dynasty regime.
Long live the Lee Dynasty, 万水万水万万水!
Freaking expensive clowns still think they can hogwash Singaporean again.
tunkudon
real and solid leader wont cry foul… old man have a heart … it time ..
Gary Teoh
why now so many ppl hate this old man, 10 years ago, seldom hear ppl ask him die. Is it there is a change of wind ? He should step down immediately if not more and more ppl will cast no confidence vote against him in the next GE. If you notice, he always repeats himself, he got nothing to say anymore.
meesiam_maihum
I would like to propose a new word: Whenever there is a security lapse and that the resulting blame (as always the case ) lies with the folks at the bottom, let’s coin the phrase ” we’ve been Wongkansenged”.
Daniel
“we’ve been Wongkansenged”.
or
“we’ve been WronglykenaScapegoated”.
old talking cock
The Singapore opposition would ruin the wealthy city-state’s achievements in five years if they ever gained power, the country’s founding father Lee Kuan Yew said. ( I don’t think so, that is yr narrow perception. Is it only you who know how to rule & run the country and the rest are idiot ? )
Lee, 84, warned Singapore voters against putting the opposition at the helm of government “in a moment of fickleness or just sheer madness” when they get “bored” at some point in the future. ( we have been tormented for 40 plus yrs, not in moment of fickleness. But becos of the ways & policies you treat Singaporean )
Should this happen, “I think all bets are off because in five years they (opposition) can ruin this place,” he told delegates at an international forum late Wednesday. ( yah, so those parliament in the rest of the world with 2 or more opposition parties are ruin right. Is that your case? )
He stressed that, unlike many other countries, Singapore did not have natural resources such as oil, gas, forests, timber and aluminium. ( No, Singapore has a very good & intelligent nature resources that you do not know how to cherish – that is SINGAPOREAN. And they with brains will never take orders without substances from top down regime. That shows how 3rd world leader you are when you treat 1st world workers)
“When you are Singapore and your existence depends on performance — extraordinary performance, better than your competitors — but that performance disappears because the system on which it is based is eroded, then you’ve lost everything.” ( Performance on squeezing out every drop from Singaporean & cocking up big time overseas with money losing gambling punt on money losing investment. By the way those are singaporean’s money, not yours!!! )
Lee, widely credited for shepherding the underdeveloped port into one of Asia’s wealthiest nations in one generation, said younger Singaporeans often tell him he is “playing the same old record” when he delivers his message. ( pls lah you thought parliament only you alone, the rest transparent is it. Move on in life lah. Don’t be an obstacles to others )
Street protests are rare and public gatherings of five people or more are banned without a police permit. ( where is the freedom of speech & assembly as stated in our constitution , for show only )
Lee has maintained that Western-style liberal democracy is not the right model for Singapore. ( yah, only you know best till Singaporean all leave this country in great numbers continually without you knowing why. How 1st world are you even you know what is wrong but just wouldn’t reverse the trend. By not wanting to be held ransom by Singaporean who don’t buy yr ideas, you have foreign import to solve yr problem. But these import also got brains, they take Singapore as just a jumping platform.)
He said one ingredient for a country’s success is putting able leaders in government. This could be difficult under a more freewheeling US-style democracy in which “you are judged in accordance with your persuasive powers,” he said. ( yah, wong can’t sing is one. some more untouchable & unaccountable for. Please send all yr able leaders (80 plus of them in parliament)out to the world as salesman to earn some commission to send back to mother Singapore rather than act as parrot doing nothing but echoing someones speech, competing with the local business operator in local mkt)
Young Talking
Since the big bucks payout to the President down, the moral high ground of the policy makers seem to be slipping with many unfortunate incidents attributed to human errors lapses………….and passing the buck down to the last man
A case of S$ = Complacency!
Supporter
“persuasive powers” – meaning just words and claims, like
‘we have not got richer, Singapore has’.
I do not believe it, show us the prove. Make every government member declare his assets and net worth. Better still make make the declaration compulsary before contesting an election. Then we will know now much money the person has made over the years and how much money he/she earned while in office. Transparent, fair and honest system.
No need for words and claims
Singapore has, but the majority singaporeans have not become richer. Yes, we hear of billions in reserve, invested by GIC and Temasek but do we really know. All we have its words. Do we have a equivalent of a federal reserve and bank to independently manage and account for our reserves. From what we see in terms of the structure ,only a few people control our reserves. Just words again.
Able men in charge
Just because you hand pick and choose them based on their academic record or what ever connection does not able men. That’s just words, know we are seeing with actual prove how able these men are. Very able in making honest mistakes, blaming others and running away from responsibility. Words again.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 26
[...] and Flabbergasted – TOC: Responsibility, responsibility, responsibility! – Sgpolitics: A litany of security lapses by the Ministry of Home Affairs – Mr Wang Says So: Wong [...]
Police Sergeant
If the SAF, which is part of the overall system, only deemed Wong Kan Seng fit for the rank of a corporal during his NS days, then he is only fit to be a section leader, not even a platoon commander. How can he be subsequently, just like the old man who slips past the Changi Airport security personnel, slipped up the ladder to the highest post of a Deputy Prime Minister?
That is quite a great achievement for one who can’t even make it to become a commissioned officer, a 2nd Lieutenant, in the first place!
Can one imagine a NS Rservist Corporal telling a Full-Time Regular Police Sergeant what to do?
Isn’t that the real reason for all the slip-ups, slip-shots and screw-ups?
Lack of Leadership Qualities!
Mr K
I don’t think SDP could do better than dis…….I hope Mr Wong,PM-in-waiting,together wif the possible newcomer Sitoh Yih Pin may do the best to defend the GRC from Dr Chee and his gang with around 70 plus%….Dis may definitely be the very first contest in my place…..PAP shall rule,together wif Potong Pasir in which Bishan-Toa Payoh TC may take up should the PAP win back after about 24 years…….And after dis,SDA may take in for 2015 and either walkover,SDA again,SDP again,WP or DRP should go in for future contests for the GRC…….Then Potong Pasir may join the GRC as well in the future….Go to hell,SDP!!!!!!!!!

“Any lapse by any department in the Home Team is a failure which all in the Home Team family must bear. ”
Isn’t Wong Can’t Sing part of the Home Team ? If so, why he can talkcock as though it is none of his problem ? So what WCS bear in this case ? Nothing again ?
The PM supports WCS after all both are just inept and irresponsible, and cover each other smelly backside.