Sunday, June 15, 2008 23:06

University admissions, employment and help for the poor

In Main Stories, Uniquely Spore • 685 views • 30 Comments

Leong Sze Hian

I am somewhat puzzled by the statistics on university admissions.

Surely, what is more important is the number of applicants, rather than the number of applications, since many may apply to all three universities.

What is the break-down of the applicants for Singaporeans, permanent residents (PRs) and foreigners?
Since 20 per cent of the three universities’ total offering of 14,700 places this year is reserved for foreigners, does it mean that the places for Singaporeans and PRs is 11,760?

Therefore, what Singaporeans may like to know is what percentage of Singaporeans and PRs who apply, will be offered places?

This may be a more meaningful figure than saying that “25 per cent of the graduating cohort would be offered places, compared to 23 per cent last year”.

The Ministry of Education said in July last year that the actual number of foreign students admitted was 4,218.

Since the three local universities provided 14,685 places last year, dividing 4,218 by 14,685 gives a foreign students enrolment of 28.7 per cent.

So, was the foreign students admitted last year 20 or 28.7 per cent of the total intake?

What was the first-year intake percentage of Singaporeans after adjusting for PRs?

What is the break-down of the percentage of Singaporean and PR polytechnic graduate applicants, and foreigner applicants, who are admitted?

Is the admission success rate of Singaporean polytechnic graduates lower than foreigners?

So, I think in order to clear up the confusion on university admissions, what Singaporeans may really want to know is what is the actual percentage of Singaporeans, PRs, and foreigners admitted, instead of the number of applications, applicants or the number offered places ?

References:

Charlene Sng’s letter “Uni entry still hard for most poly graduates” (ST, May 26)

Khoo Lih-Han’s letter “Govt should subsidise private courses” (ST, May 16)

Patrick Sio’s letter “Universities should be clearer about entry criteria” (ST, May 16)

“Smaller cohort, but universities getting more applications” (ST, May 14)

“University education: Economics of choice” (ST, May 17).

Employment: Who actually get jobs?

I refer to the articles “More jobs created, but number of jobless still up” (ST, May 1) and “Jobs for Singaporeans: WP challenged to act on its words” (ST, May 2).

I would like to point out the following worrying employment trends :-

Another quarter of record employment growth – employment grew by 68,400 in the first quarter, but the seasonally adjusted resident (Singaporeans and PRs) unemployment rate increased from 2.4 per cent in the last quarter of 2007 to 2.9 per cent this quarter. This increase of 0.5 per cent is higher than the 0.3 per cent overall unemployment rate increase, from 1.7 in December to 2.0 in March.

Despite employment growing by 68,400, the number of seasonally adjusted unemployed residents grew to 54,400.

In 2006, 52 per cent of jobs created went to residents, of which 37 per cent went to citizens.

In 2007, the percentage of jobs created that went to residents declined to 38 per cent. Of this, what percentage went to Singaporeans ?

Has this trend of declining jobs for citizens persisted in the first quarter of 2008 ? What is the percentage of jobs to residents, and to citizens, for the first quarter ?

A record 46,900 became PRs, in the first nine months of 2007, and 7,300 became citizens in the first half of 2007. Has this trend persisted since 1 October 2007 for new PRs, and 1 July 2007 for new citizens, to the quarter ended 31 March 2008 ?

How many of the new jobs for residents, went to such new residents ?

Labour stakeholders like NTUC should analyse the cause of the above worrying trends for Singaporean workers, explore what can be done to reverse or slow down the trend, and how to mitigate the effect and implications on citizens?

In this connection, according to the Department of Statistics’ Monthly Digest of Statistics April 2008, the ratio of job seekers placed in employment to job seekers attended to at Career Link Centres, has declined from 29 per cent in 2006, to 28 and 24 per cent in 2007 and March 2008, respectively.

Also, the total population in Singapore is growing at it’s fastest rate since 1990, at 4.3 per cent, compared to the resident (citizens and PRs) population growing at only 1.6 per cent since 1990.

GST increase statistics

I refer to the article “An exclusive club to help the needy” (Today, May 24).

The North-West Community Development Council is asking companies and individuals to donate $100 or more each month towards the North-West Food Aid Fund, because demand for food packages from the needy has more than doubled since December, as inflation hit another 26-year high, at 7.5 per cent in April.

There have also been media reports of hospitals raising funds to help needy patients pay for their medical fees.

Since the reason given for raising the Goods and Services Tax (GST) by another two per cent, was to help the poor, aren’t the CDCs and hospitals getting more money to help the poor?

In this connection, I understand that GST collections after the two per cent increase is estimated to be $ 1.9 billion, which is more than the initial estimate of about $1.5 billion because of a booming economy.

Moreover, in addition, I understand that co-operatives in Singapore have had healthy surpluses, of which up to 20 per cent are contributed to the Central Co-operative Fund under the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS).

Some of these funds are also available to help the needy.

What are the statistics on how the increased GST collections have been used to help the poor, on a comparative basis, before and after the GST hike?

—————–

1. What has university places got to do with compulsory annuities?
  2. Breaking News: MOM’s 2nd quarter report on employment
  3. Level the playing field for locals and foreigners in employment
  4. Another set of figures on university enrolment?
  5. University places – numbers don’t add up

30 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Gary Teoh
Jun 16, 2008 9:33

MOE should separate the PR from the Singaporean category.Actually PRs are considered foreigners. If they combine together, the actual no of singaporeans going to Uni will reduce. Singaporeans should be given priority in education. MOE should publish the actual statistics of the number of applicants according to their breakdown of local and foreign students. It should be transparent.

Dan
Jun 16, 2008 9:46

Do the male PRs serve NS? If not, shouldn’t the uni place be given to the S’porean male or female for duty to the nation? I wld expect the usual blah, blah abt attracting the best but blood is thicker than water. Citizens will hv to pay with their blood shd things go wrong here, foreigners take the first place/boat/car out.

Singaporespirit
Jun 16, 2008 9:48

I was very disturbed recently when my daughter shared that it would be very tough for her to get a place in Singapore university because of very limited vacancies given to Singaporeans. I have begun to question the government’s policy of admission into local Universities? Are they not for our own children first?

Gary Teoh
Jun 16, 2008 10:09

MOE should publish the 20% figure for foreign students.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 16 Jun 2008
Jun 16, 2008 11:43

[...] Discourse – TOC: University admissions, employment and help for the poor – The boy who knew too much: Miss Singapore Universe Beauty Pageant: an end? – Mr Wang Says So: If [...]

kero
Jun 16, 2008 11:51

2nd-gen PR males must serve NS, if I’m not wrong. I can’t remember clearly but if you turn PR but your parents are foreigners, you don’t have to, but if your parents are PRs/Singaporeans and you are PR you must serve NS.

As a (female) PR I still think PR and Citizen rights overlap a bit too much. If you have citizenship from a “good” country (i.e. one that has few visa problems etc) there isn’t much of an incentive to become a Singapore citizen; you don’t get that many more perks.

And I am disgusted by how much the Unis seem to be catering for foreign candidates and not local ones…

Robert HO
Jun 16, 2008 12:24

RH:
1. I had, in this Comment previously [ http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/02/knowledge-based-economy-needs-more-uni-education-financing/#more-527 ] first tried to reason dispassionately about Foreigners and their effects on GDP leading to an unbelievable tidal wave of foreigners that has swamped our islet. Today, I will try to fuller.

2. What makes a Singaporean, vs a foreigner? I had postulated that it is SCE [Shared Common Experience]. “Thus, a Chinese and a Malay Singaporean can have More Shared Experiences than with a Chinese from China. However, if that Chinaman has enough Commonalities when he arrives, and gains more with time, he can be as Singaporean as any local-born.” [self quote].

3. Thus, while we become emotional and even angry at Foreigners many advantages over locals, we need to remember that our ancestors were once immigrants but became Singaporeans. Singaporeans vs Foreigners is not 1 or the other, not B vs W, but a Scale which we all, locals or not, are on, each at various points of being more or less Singaporean. Simply, it is how much SCE you have, I think. My maid has worked here >10 years. She can MRT and travel about, speak, read and write fairly good English, speak Teochew besides Indonesian and in looks and behaviour indistinguishable from Singaporeans. I think, on my basis, she deserves to be given PR instead of the FT who flies in with little Commonalities. This SCE principle may already be implicitly recognised by some countries. My wife’s colleague took his maid to London for several years. When he returned, his maid did not — she had qualified for PR!

4. Thus, countries may look into granting PR also on the basis of SCE and not just ‘economic value’. This will save much misadjustments to both the immigrant and the receiving society.

5. In PAPadise, it is purely economic value but as usual, stupidly [typically] unthought out leading to great harm and tragic results.

6. For example, suppose you vacuum your floor and wash clothes and dishes. You are generating NO economic value or GDP activity. Thus, a housewife, according to current Economic theories, generate little or no ‘economic activity’ and thus no GDP. Thus, housewives are encouraged to work outside because earning a salary gets recorded as ‘economic activity’ or ‘economic value’ so gets into the GDP figures. So when she earns $1,000, she ‘generates’ far more than $1,000 because she travels, eats outside, buys office clothes, etc. All these suddenly boost the GDP simply because that is how GDP is measured. Further, the maid she has to hire to look after her kids, for $350, also ‘generates’ far more than $350 because the maid also consumes some travel and personal-use goods, etc, thus also boosting the GDP since this is how GDP is measured. This explains the Second Wave in my 3 Waves Of Labour theory in my essay on Leeconomics [ http://i-came-i-saw-i-wrote-it.blogspot.com/search/label/RH%3A%20Robert%27s%20Complete%20Case%20against%20Leeconomics%20%5BMain%5D ].

7. Thus, we see the ATTRACTION of foreigners to the MinisterMoron, PrimeMoron, and their Cronies Morons. Even a lowly maid or other foreigner cheap labour generates far more ‘GDP activities’ than just their mere salary. To crystallise it, suppose they import a foreigner cripple without legs or hands. This cripple will still ‘generate’ appreciable GDP activity because he will eat, buy diapers, buy medical care, etc. So more GDP activities.

8. I don’t think the Morons, or anybody else, has reasoned it all thus. What they do know is that every time they import foreigners, the GDP goes up and hence, their Performance Bonuses so they keep importing foreigners even when these displace locals. In fact, by not understanding this all, their importing policies have deliberately DISPLACED locals because the GDP grows even more this way. For example, suppose a cheap labour foreigner is imported to displace a local low-wage labourer. This cheap foreigner generates far more than just his nominal salary in GDP activities, so good for the Morons Bonuses. But the unemployed local labourer still needs to house, eat, utilities, etc, so he still consumes and thus generate GDP activities. So the net gain is not just the foreigner but the captive local who still needs to consume and thus generate GDP. Thus, net gains even from his Displacement unemployment. This explains the callous policies and insane tidal wave influx of foreigners, almost all cheap labour but never mind, they still generate big GDP.

9. The Morons are like lab rats in a cage. They have discovered that by pressing the Green Lever more marbles drop into their cage and somehow, the lab scientists give them more tidbits as a result of the more marbles. So they furiously keep pressing the Green Lever, thinking they are “successful” [Performance Bonuses] even though there are so many marbles they have little living space left. But they still keep pressing as if addicted. This analogy explains the Morons unthinking addiction to foreigners and deliberate Displacement of locals.

10. Of course, being politicians, they spin and rationalise. They also Reclassify. This Reclassification trick reclassifies foreigners as PRs and even citizens to reduce resentment when the ‘official’ figures are out. If we grant PRs and citizenship more on SCE, this Reclassification trick will be more difficult. As is now, they can, with a simple sleight of the hand, change the numbers of foreigners into PRs and citizens. The problem is vaster than anyone, including the Morons, realise. They are just rats pressing levers and thinking they are doing a great job.

11. What can anyone do about it? Nothing. LIE KY LHL PAP rigged the 1997 Cheng San GRC election, almost certainly also the 1963 GE in a suspicious 6-hour electricity blackout, most probably also the OTC Presidential election, plus the Malaysia Referendum that offered no, only rigged, choices. Because LIE KY LHL PAP need no mandate because they cheat massively ['winning' 82 out of 84 seats is mathematically, politically and electorally impossible without massive cheating' like Saddam Hussein >90% votes] they do what they like, “never mind what the people think” — LIE KY.

12. This is the tragedy for us — not for Them. They just keep pressing levers and collecting marbles and Performance Bonuses. While the tidal wave of foreigners continue to swamp every aspect of life on this little islet.

Jackson
Jun 16, 2008 13:10

I’m a university undergraduate and I must say that I don’t feel a sense of ownership in school simply because I see so many foreigners that I’m unsure if I’m still in Singapore or not. Also, even the lecturers and tutors are mostly foreigners. I also have some friends who can’t get a place in local universities and they had to fly to other countries. It’s a shame that locals can’t even get into a local school.

Tak Boleh Tahan
Jun 16, 2008 14:52

As Mr Leong has said he’s puzzled, come to think of it, our garmen always said that they can stand up to scrutiny, one cannot understand why its that difficult to put up correct, accurate and uptodate uni application and admission figures.

Can our DOS, MoEdn stand up and give a straightforward simple reply ! I can recall that Minister Ng rebutted some figures put up by well known economists some time back, and if Mr Leong is wrong, rebutt him, simple as that. Or if Mr Leong is not wrong, then clarify (isnt it our garmen always do this when there were doubts raised.

Alan Wong
Jun 16, 2008 15:09

Many thanks to the Singapore Government for the following :-

“Welfare is a dirty word in Singapore”.

“Singaporeans who are in the lower income bracket are now competing with foreigners for their jobs.

“30% of Singaporeans now say that their standard of living is much worse than that 5 years ago”.

On the other hand, our Ministers continue to enjoy their self-paid world class salaries plus bonuses, oblivious of the peasants’ hardship and misery.

Should we give them a signal of our displeasure ?

positive???
Jun 16, 2008 16:41

let’s keep the discussion going and keep talking about what is not right about garmen policy and direction. one fine day, things will change . lets hope for the best and die like the rest. just continue doing the talking and things will change. remember – continual drop of water will even penetrate rock through long time. by the way, is there an incident in world history through talking that lead to change in garmen? and how long it takes ? cos i trying very hard to sell myself this idea of talking about it will change the system.

Tak Boleh Tahan
Jun 16, 2008 17:04

@Positive:
Yep agree !! We will prevail to the end !! I commend all who say the pledge, all who sing Majullah S’pura, all who pay taxes, all who serve NS, and all stayers – let us keep speaking out.

Statistics freak
Jun 16, 2008 19:24

It has reached a stage that when it comes to gahmen statistics, I have internalized a personal formula – just discount 60% (or any % you want to fill in as long it is more than 50%) of whatever and whenever they say it.

They have all the right numbers but are not giving it to us as the way we want it.

Just talking to any Tom, Dick & Harry on the ground will give you some crude but better feel.

Chao Fan
Jun 17, 2008 0:31

As Mark Twain says :”Lies, damn lies & statistics”

Robert HO
Jun 17, 2008 9:48

RH:

1. I had, in this previous Comment in The Online Citizen [ http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/02/knowledge-based-economy-needs-more-uni-education-financing/#more-527 ] first tried to reason dispassionately about Foreigners and their effects on GDP, which have led to an unbelievable tidal wave of foreigners that has swamped our islet. Today, I will try to fuller.

2. What makes a Singaporean? — vs a foreigner? I had postulated that it is SCE [Shared Common Experience]. “Thus, a Chinese and a Malay Singaporean can have More Shared Experiences than with a Chinese from China. However, if that Chinaman has enough Commonalities when he arrives, and gains more with time, he can be as Singaporean as any local-born.” [self quote].

3. Thus, while we become emotional and even angry at Foreigners many advantages over locals, we need to remember that our ancestors were once immigrants but became Singaporeans. Singaporeans vs Foreigners is not one or the other, not Black vs White, but a SCALE which we all, locals or not, are on, each at various points of being more or less Singaporean. Simply, it is how much SCE you have, I think. My maid has worked here >10 years. She can MRT and commute about, speak, read and write fairly good English, speak Teochew besides Indonesian and in looks and behaviour, indistinguishable from Singaporeans. I think, on my basis, she deserves to be given PR instead of the ‘Foreign Talent’ [FT] who flies in with few Commonalities. This SCE principle may already be implicitly recognised by some countries. My wife’s colleague took his maid to London for several years. When he returned, his maid did not — she had qualified for PR!

4. Thus, countries may look into granting PR also on the basis of SCE and not just ‘economic value’. This will save much maladjustments to both the immigrant and the receiving society.

5. In PAPadise, it is purely economic value but as usual, stupidly and typically UNTHINKING, leading to great harm and tragic results.

6. For example, suppose you vacuum your floor and wash clothes and dishes. You are generating NO economic value or GDP activity. Thus, a housewife, according to current Economic theories, generate little or no ‘economic activity’ and thus no GDP. Thus, Singapore housewives are encouraged to work outside home because earning a salary gets recorded as ‘economic activity’ or ‘economic value’ so gets into the GDP figures. So when she earns $1,000, she ‘generates’ far more than $1,000 because she commutes, eats outside, buys office clothes, etc. All these suddenly boost the GDP simply because that is how GDP is measured. Further, the maid she has to hire to look after her kids, for $350, also ‘generates’ far more than $350 because the maid also consumes some personal-use goods and services, etc, thus also boosting the GDP — again, since this is how GDP is measured. This explains the Second Wave in my 3 Waves Of Labour theory in my essay on Leeconomics [ http://i-came-i-saw-i-wrote-it.blogspot.com/search/label/RH%3A%20Robert%27s%20Complete%20Case%20against%20Leeconomics%20%5BMain%5D ].

7. Thus, we see the ATTRACTION of foreigners to the MinisterMoron, PrimeMoron, and their Cronies Morons. Even a lowly maid or other foreigner cheap labour generates far more ‘GDP activities’ than just their nominal salary. To crystallise it, suppose they import a foreigner cripple without legs or hands. This cripple will still ‘generate’ appreciable GDP activity because he will house, eat, buy diapers, medical care, etc. So more GDP activities. In short, like in the movie “Matrix”, just Human Bodies are enough to generate GDP. Thus, today, >1 in 4 of people in Singapore are foreigners! The most astounding rate in world history! Do LIE KY LHL PAP know something we don’t? The contrary.

8. I don’t think these Morons, or anybody else, have reasoned it all thus. What they do know is that every time they import foreigners, the GDP goes up and hence, their Performance Bonuses, so they keep importing foreigners even when these displace locals. In fact, by not understanding this all, their importing policies have DELIBERATELY DISPLACED locals because the GDP grows even more this way. Let me explain : suppose a cheap labour foreigner is imported to displace a local low-wage labourer. This cheap foreigner generates far more than just his nominal salary in GDP activities, so good for the Morons Bonuses. But the unemployed local labourer does not become 0 upon being displaced and unemployed. He still needs to house, eat, utilities, etc, so he still consumes and thus generate GDP activities. So the net gain is not just from the foreigner but also the captive local who still needs to consume and thus generate GDP. Thus, 2-WAY net gains from this Displacement policy. This explains the callous policies and insane tidal wave influx of foreigners, almost all cheap labour — but never mind, they still generate big GDP. The so-called FT are only handfuls and mostly used to justify the real tidal wave influx of cheap foreigners. FTs have better options elsewhere so most don’t come or stay.

9. The Morons are like lab rats in a cage. They have discovered that by pressing the Green Lever, more marbles drop into their cage and somehow, the lab scientists reward them more titbits as a result of the more marbles. So they furiously keep pressing the Green Lever, thinking they are “successful” [Performance Bonuses] even though there are so many marbles they have little living space left. But they still keep pressing as if addicted. This analogy explains the Morons unthinking addiction to foreigners and DELIBERATE DISPLACEMENT of locals — nothing is NON-Deliberate in Singapore, except maybe the unique or extremely rare KASTARI escape from an ISD prison! Which is why it is so unbelievable and led to so many conspiracy theories.

10. Another example of this unthinking Green Lever Syndrome is the DELIBERATE [like Displacement of low-wage Singapore workers -- in many cases, also higher wage ones, too] policy to bias towards Manufacturing as against Services. Our Morons have always scorned Hongkong for its Service Economy and prided themselves on still having a big Manufacturing Economy. The Green Lever Syndrome at work again.

11. In the first place, Hongkong DOES have manufacturing and very big, too, except that it is all captured as China statistics in Shenzhen and other centres. Second, it is Green Lever Syndrome again because manufacturing is mostly measurable in $ [as in widget parts costs and final selling prices] and so easily captured into final GDP figures whereas Services like a Hongkong clerk processing forms or answering calls in a Call Centre is difficult to value in $ and so only their nominal salaries get into the GDP. This doesn’t mean that Manufacturing is superior to Services! as the Morons think. Only that one is more measurable than the other — at least in $ and GDP terms. But, just like reading to a child or volunteer social work instructing elderlies in exercise, activities that are not capturable in GDP does not mean inferior or not worth doing, as the Morons believe in both thought and action.

12. The >1 in 4 of us being foreigners has obviously [how can anyone NOT notice!] become ’sensitive’, meaning actually ‘explosive’ — as it would be in a democracy instead of the secretive, suppressive dictatorship here. So, being politicians, and a govt obsessed with looking good ["Every time LIE KY looks good, the Truth doesn't" -- self quote] they spin and rationalise. They also Reclassify. This Reclassification trick reclassifies foreigners as Residents, PRs and even citizens to reduce resentment when the ‘official’ figures are out. If we grant PRs and citizenship more on SCE, this Reclassification trick will be harder. As is now, they can, with a simple sleight of the hand, change the numbers of foreigners into Residents, PRs and citizens. The problem is vaster than anyone, including the Morons, realise. They are just rats pressing levers and thinking they are doing a great job.

13. What can anyone do about it? Nothing. LIE KY LHL PAP rigged the 1997 Cheng San GRC election, almost certainly also the 1963 General Elections in a suspicious 6-hour electricity blackout centred around the City Hall Vote Counting Centre, most probably also the Ong Teng Cheong Presidential election, plus the Malaysia Referendum that offered no, only rigged, choices. All because LIE KY LHL PAP need no mandate since they cheat massively ['winning' 82 out of 84 seats is mathematically, politically and electorally impossible without massive cheating -- like Saddam Hussein >90% votes every 'election'] so they do what they like, “never mind what the people think” — LIE KY.

14. According to a 2008 report from the Asian Development Bank, “The Singapore govt estimates that foreign labour contributed 3.2% of its annual growth rate of 7.8% in the 1990’s.” Another factoid : >40% of Singapore total labour force are cheap foreign labourers and >170,000 of the nearly 1 million foreign labourers are maids.

15. This is the tragedy for us — not for the Morons. They just keep pressing levers and collecting marbles and Performance Bonuses. While the tidal wave of foreigners continue to swamp every aspect of life on this little islet.

Robert HO
Jun 17, 2008 9:51

Dear TOC,
1. I just posted a much better version of my earlier Comment, this new 1 of 15 paragaraphs. Please delete my earlier version of 12 paras. And this note. Thanks.

Ronin
Jun 18, 2008 23:46

Let’s also focus our attention on Primary 1 (P1) registration.

Currently, children of PRs and citizens enjoy EQUAL rights for P1 registration. Why is that so? Why should PR enjoy the same rights as citizens? Why can’t the govt give priority to citizens for P1 registration at popular primary schools?

I asked MOE the above questions, but their response puzzled me. MOE says that by giving PRs equal rights, they hope to incentivise them to become citizens!!!! Isn’t the logic weird? Why should PRs get S’pore citizenship when they already enjoy the same privileges as citizens????

Given how easy it is to obtain PR status here, the govt is eroding the value of citizenship by granting PRs equal or close to equal privileges enjoyed by citizens.

Ronin
Jun 18, 2008 23:53

Only second generation male PRs need to serve NS. However, if they decide to relinguish their PR status by the age of 16, they need not serve NS. That I think is the biggest loophole.

After enjoy good and heavily subsidised primary and secondary schools, second generation PRs can say bye bye to S’pore without any liability to serve NS!!! Now, why does MOE give PRs equal Primary 1 registration privileges??

Robert HO
Jun 19, 2008 9:59

RH:

1. I had, in this previous Comment in The Online Citizen [ http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/02/knowledge-based-economy-needs-more-uni-education-financing/#more-527 ] first tried to reason dispassionately about Foreigners and their effects on GDP, which have led to an unbelievable tidal wave of foreigners that has swamped our islet. Today, I will try to fuller.

2. What makes a Singaporean? — vs a foreigner? I had postulated that it is SCE [Shared Common Experience]. “Thus, a Chinese and a Malay Singaporean can have More Shared Experiences than with a Chinese from China. However, if that Chinaman has enough Commonalities when he arrives, and gains more with time, he can be as Singaporean as any local-born.” [self quote].

3. Thus, while we become emotional and even angry at Foreigners many advantages over locals, we need to remember that our ancestors were once immigrants but became Singaporeans. Singaporeans vs Foreigners is not one or the other, not Black vs White, but a SCALE which we all, locals or not, are on, each at various points of being more or less Singaporean. Simply, it is how much SCE you have, I think. My maid has worked here >10 years. She can MRT and commute about, speak, read and write fairly good English, speak Teochew and some Mandarin besides Indonesian, and in looks and behaviour, indistinguishable from Singaporeans. I think, on my basis, she deserves to be given PR instead of the ‘Foreign Talent’ [FT] who flies in with few Commonalities. This SCE principle may already be implicitly recognised by some countries. My wife’s colleague took his maid to London for several years. When he returned, his maid did not — she had qualified for PR!

4. Thus, countries may look into granting PR also on the basis of SCE and not just ‘economic value’. This will save much maladjustments to both the immigrant and the receiving society.

5. In PAPadise, it is purely economic value but as usual, stupidly and typically UNTHINKING, leading to great harm and tragic results.

6. For example, suppose you vacuum your floor and wash clothes and dishes. You are generating NO economic value or GDP activity. Thus, a housewife, according to current Economic theories, generate little or no ‘economic activity’ and thus no GDP. So Singapore housewives are encouraged to work outside home because earning a salary gets recorded as ‘economic activity’ or ‘economic value’ and thus gets into the GDP figures. So when she earns $1,000, she ‘generates’ far more than $1,000 because she commutes, eats outside, buys office clothes, etc. All these suddenly boost the GDP simply because that is how GDP is measured. Further, the maid she has to hire to look after her kids, for $350, also ‘generates’ far more than $350 because the maid also consumes some personal-use goods and services, etc, thus also boosting the GDP — again, since this is how GDP is measured. This explains the Second Wave in my 3 Waves Of Labour theory in my essay on Leeconomics [ http://i-came-i-saw-i-wrote-it.blogspot.com/search/label/RH%3A%20Robert%27s%20Complete%20Case%20against%20Leeconomics%20%5BMain%5D ].

7. Thus, we see the ATTRACTION of foreigners to the MinisterMoron, PrimeMoron, and their Cronies Morons. Even a lowly maid or other foreigner cheap labour generates far more ‘GDP activities’ than just their nominal salary. To crystallise it, suppose they import a foreigner cripple without arms or legs. This cripple will still ‘generate’ appreciable GDP activity because he will house, eat, buy diapers, medical care, etc. So more GDP activities. In short, like in the movie “Matrix”, just Human Bodies are enough to generate GDP. Thus, today, >1 in 4 of people in Singapore are foreigners! The most astounding rate in world history! Do LIE KY LHL PAP know something we don’t? The contrary.

8. I don’t think these Morons, or anybody else, have reasoned it all thus. What they do know is that every time they import foreigners, the GDP goes up and hence, their Performance Bonuses, so they keep importing foreigners even when these displace locals. In fact, by not understanding all this, their importing policies have DELIBERATELY DISPLACED locals because the GDP grows even more this way. Let me explain : suppose a cheap labour foreigner is imported to displace a local low-wage labourer. This cheap foreigner generates far more than just his nominal salary in GDP activities, so good for the Morons Bonuses. But the unemployed local labourer does not become 0 upon being displaced and unemployed. He still needs to house, eat, utilities, etc, so he still consumes and thus generate GDP activities. So the net gain is not just from the foreigner but also the captive local who still needs to consume and thus generate GDP. Thus, 2-WAY net gains from this Displacement policy. This explains the callous policies and insane tidal wave influx of foreigners, almost all cheap labour — but never mind, they still generate big GDP. The so-called FT are only handfuls and mostly used to justify the real tidal wave influx of cheap foreigners. FTs have better options elsewhere so most don’t come or stay.

9. The Morons are like lab rats in a cage. They have discovered that by pressing the Green Lever, more marbles drop into their cage and somehow, the lab scientists reward them more titbits as a result of the more marbles. So they furiously keep pressing the Green Lever, thinking they are “successful” [Performance Bonuses] even though there are so many marbles they have little living space left. But they still keep pressing as if addicted. This analogy explains the Morons unthinking addiction to foreigners and DELIBERATE DISPLACEMENT of locals — nothing is NON-Deliberate in Singapore, except maybe the unique or extremely rare KASTARI escape from an ISD prison! Which is why it is so unbelievable and led to so many conspiracy theories.

10. Another example of this unthinking Green Lever Syndrome is the DELIBERATE [like Displacement of low-wage Singaporean workers -- IN MANY CASES, ALSO HIGHER WAGE ONES, TOO] policy to bias towards Manufacturing as against Services. Our Morons have always scorned Hongkong for its Service Economy and prided themselves on still having a big Manufacturing sector. The Green Lever Syndrome at work again.

11. In the first place, Hongkong DOES have manufacturing and very big, too, except that it is all captured as China statistics in Shenzhen and other centres. Second, it is Green Lever Syndrome again because manufacturing is mostly measurable in $ [as in widget parts costs and final selling prices] and so easily captured into final GDP figures whereas Services like a Hongkong clerk processing forms or answering calls in a Call Centre is difficult to value in $ and so only their nominal salaries get into the GDP. This doesn’t mean that Manufacturing is superior to Services! as the Morons think. Only that one is more measurable than the other — at least in $ and GDP terms. But, just like reading to a child or volunteer social work instructing elderlies in exercise, activities that are not capturable in GDP does not mean inferior or not worth doing, as the Morons believe in both thought and action.

12. Thus, Hongkong has a more ‘normal’, REAL economy as opposed to the LIEgime FALSE and distorted economy. For example, like all Real economies, Hongkong considers many factors besides GDP numbers, such as inflation, unemployment, jobs creation, consumer spending, social spending and welfare, govt spending and taxations, etc, and devises policies towards these ends, whereas the False and distorted economy of the LIEgime is constructed and deliberately designed to produce high GDP numbers only. The US, probably the most intelligently monitored and managed economy, has a whole slew of economic indicators besides GDP numbers. US business media almost daily analyses dozens of indicators, from housing starts to PMI to Producer Price Indices, etc, and not just the final GDP numbers. Only the LIEgime stupidly constructs an economy solely to produce high GDP numbers. Thus, Hongkong’s Real economy is probably far bigger and better than the False economy of the LIEgime, which is more like a shop window display, artificial and for show only.

13. This False economy of the LIEgime is paralleled by its equally stupid education policies. In Education, there is also obsession with scoring high marks in exams, thus paralleling the construction of the False economy to score high GDP numbers. So, schools, principals, teachers and students are obsessed only with scoring high marks in exams. This means that non-exam subjects are hardly taught and studied. Worse, teachers and students choose subjects purely to score high marks, hence the decades-long bias to Math and Science subjects [far easier to score] than say, Lit and Lang. Unfortunately, due to the nature of Singaporeans and the way Math is taught from primary to university, this bias produces several generations of unintelligent ’scholars’ who, other than high Math marks, cannot think, since Language is the Basis of Thought rather than Math. Thus, when you teach [and learn] to the test or exam, you do score high marks but learn little, in not much of an education.

14. Thus, the LIEgime has only 5 aims of govt. First, to entrench and further the LIE family stranglehold on power and to increase that power without limit so as to control every aspect of life in Singapore. Second, to look good always — an obsession — even if this is only surface or cosmetic. Third, as regards the economy, to produce high GDP numbers. Fourth, to produce huge budget surpluses. This means decades of Overtax and Underspend policies, overtaxing exorbitantly on HDB housing, car taxes [both giving many multiples of profit or rather, profiteering], GST, etc, while underspending on everything else except the military, which always has the biggest budget allocations. Thus, Singaporeans are overtaxed in every way possible and imaginable while spending on heathcare, education, the poor, etc, are all shortchanged. The budget surpluses are not enough apparently, so in order to create even bigger SWF [Fifth goal], Singaporeans CPF are withheld to make the Reserves bigger. Thus, Singaporeans cannot even withdraw their own monies because the LIEgime wants it in its own kitty. CPF was as much as 40% of every worker salary and bonus OVER HIS LIFETIME CAREER, now slightly less. Thus, ‘managing for results’, which is pretty legitimate, became bastardised, like everything else, to become ‘managing by numbers’, further bastardised to ‘managing FOR numbers’. Thus, the economy is constructed to run mostly on cheap labour. This is why there is such an unbelievable tidal wave of foreigners in Singapore, the Third Wave in my essay.

15. The >1 in 4 of us being foreigners has obviously [how can anyone NOT notice!] become ’sensitive’, meaning actually ‘explosive’ — as it would be in a democracy instead of the secretive, suppressive dictatorship here. So, being politicians, and a govt obsessed with looking good ["Every time LIE KY looks good, the Truth doesn't" -- self quote] they spin and rationalise. They also Reclassify. This Reclassification trick reclassifies foreigners as Residents, PRs and even citizens to reduce resentment when the ‘official’ figures are out. If we grant PRs and citizenship more on SCE, this Reclassification trick will be harder. As is now, they can, with a simple sleight of the hand, change the numbers of foreigners into Residents, PRs and citizens. The problem is vaster than anyone, including the Morons, realise. They are just rats pressing levers and thinking they are doing a great job.

16. What can anyone do about it? Nothing. LIE KY LHL PAP rigged the 1997 Cheng San GRC election, almost certainly also the 1963 General Elections in a suspicious 6-hour electricity blackout centred around the City Hall Vote Counting Centre, most probably also the Ong Teng Cheong Presidential election, plus the Malaysia Referendum that offered no, only rigged, choices. All because LIE KY LHL PAP need no mandate since they cheat massively ['winning' 82 out of 84 seats is mathematically, politically and electorally impossible without massive cheating -- like Saddam Hussein >90% votes every 'election'] so they do what they like, “never mind what the people think” — LIE KY.

17. According to a 2008 report from the Asian Development Bank, “The Singapore govt estimates that foreign labour contributed 3.2% of its annual growth rate of 7.8% in the 1990’s.” Another factoid : >40% of Singapore total labour force are cheap foreign labourers and >170,000 of the nearly 1 million foreign labourers are maids.

18. This is the tragedy for us — not for the Morons. They just keep pressing levers and collecting marbles and Performance Bonuses. While the tidal wave of foreigners continue to swamp every aspect of life on this little islet.

Robert HO
Jun 19, 2008 10:02

RH: Dear TOC, this 18 para new version of my Comment is probably the very final one. Please do bear with me.

Robert HO
Jun 20, 2008 15:55

RH: I am very sorry, TOC. Just improved it a bit more [about 10%].

Robert HO
Jun 23, 2008 14:14

RH:

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/search/page.news.php?clid=33&id=30038130

Recent 500-page extensively-researched book, “Lion Without Teeth” proves that everything most people, especially foreigners, know about Singapore and LIE KY are carefully planted and fabricated LIES.

Robert HO
Jun 24, 2008 12:50

RH:

3. Thus, while we become emotional and even angry at Foreigners many advantages over locals, we need to remember that our ancestors were once immigrants but became Singaporeans. Singaporeans vs Foreigners is not one or the other, not Black vs White, but a SCALE which we all, locals or not, are on, each at various points of being more or less Singaporean. Simply, it is how much SCE you have, I think. My maid has worked here ~15 years. She can MRT and commute about, speak, read and write fairly good English, speak Teochew and some Mandarin besides Indonesian, and in looks and behaviour, indistinguishable from Singaporeans. I think, on my basis, she deserves to be given PR instead of the ‘Foreign Talent’ [FT] who flies in with few Commonalities. This SCE principle may already be implicitly recognised by some countries. My wife’s colleague took his maid to London for several years. When he returned, his maid did not — she had qualified for PR!

6. For example, suppose you vacuum your floor and wash clothes and dishes. You are generating NO economic value or GDP activity. Thus, a housewife, according to current Economic theories, generates little or no ‘economic activity’ and thus no GDP. So Singapore housewives are encouraged to work outside home because earning a salary gets recorded as ‘economic activity’ or ‘economic value’ and thus gets into the GDP figures. So when she earns $1,000, she ‘generates’ far more than $1,000 because she commutes, eats outside, buys office clothes, etc. All these suddenly boost the GDP simply because that is how GDP is measured. Further, the maid she has to hire to look after her kids, for $350, also ‘generates’ far more than $350 because the maid also consumes some personal-use goods and services, etc, thus also boosting the GDP — again, since this is how GDP is measured. This explains the Second Wave in my 3 Waves Of Labour theory in my essay on Leeconomics [ http://i-came-i-saw-i-wrote-it.blogspot.com/search/label/RH%3A%20Robert%27s%20Complete%20Case%20against%20Leeconomics%20%5BMain%5D ].

7. Thus, we see the ATTRACTION of foreigners to the MinisterMoron, PrimeMoron, and their Cronies Morons. Even a lowly maid or other foreigner cheap labour generates far more ‘GDP activities’ than just their nominal salary. To crystallise it, suppose they import a foreigner cripple without arms or legs. This cripple will still ‘generate’ appreciable GDP activity because he will house, eat, buy diapers, medical care, etc. So more GDP activities. In short, like in the movie “Matrix”, just Human Bodies are enough to generate GDP. So the Morons keep importing bodies, almost all cheap labour since they cannot lure betters. Thus, today, >1 in 4 of people in Singapore are foreigners! The most astounding rate in world history! Do LIE KY LHL PAP know something we don’t? The contrary.

8. I don’t think these Morons, or anybody else, have reasoned it all thus. What they do know is that every time they import foreigners, the GDP goes up and hence, their Performance Bonuses, so they keep importing foreigners even when these DISPLACE LOCALS. In fact, by not understanding all this, their importing policies have the effect of Displacing Locals because the GDP GROWS EVEN MORE THIS WAY. Let me explain : suppose a cheap labour foreigner is imported to displace a local low-wage labourer. This cheap foreigner generates far more than just his nominal salary in GDP activities, so good for the Morons Bonuses. But the unemployed local labourer does not become 0 upon being displaced and unemployed. He still needs to house, eat, utilities, etc, so he still consumes and thus generate GDP activities. So the NET GAIN is not just from the foreigner but also the captive local who still needs to consume and thus generate GDP. Thus, 2-WAY net gains from this Displacement policy. This explains the callous policies and insane tidal wave influx of foreigners, almost all cheap labour — but never mind, they still generate big GDP. The so-called FT are only handfuls and mostly used to justify the real tidal wave influx of cheap foreigners. FTs have better options elsewhere so most don’t come or stay.

10. Another example of this unthinking Green Lever Syndrome is the DELIBERATE [like Displacement of low-wage Singaporean workers -- IN MANY CASES, ALSO HIGHER WAGE ONES, TOO] policy to bias towards Manufacturing as against Services. Our Morons have always scorned Hongkong for its Service Economy and prided themselves on still having a big Manufacturing sector. The Green Lever Syndrome at work again.

12. Thus, Hongkong has a more ‘normal’, REAL economy as opposed to the LIEgime FALSE and distorted economy. For example, like all Real economies, Hongkong considers many factors besides GDP numbers, such as inflation, unemployment, jobs creation, consumer spending, social spending and welfare, govt spending and taxations, etc, and devises policies towards these [multiple] ends, whereas the False and distorted economy of the LIEgime is constructed and deliberately designed to produce high GDP numbers only. The US, probably the most intelligently monitored and managed economy, has a whole slew of economic indicators besides GDP numbers. US business media almost daily analyse dozens of indicators, from housing starts to PMI to Producer Price Indices, stock indices and prices, etc, and not just the final GDP numbers. Only the LIEgime stupidly constructs an economy solely to produce high GDP numbers. Thus, Hongkong’s Real economy is probably many times bigger and better than the False economy of the LIEgime, which is more like a shop window display, artificial and FOR SHOW ONLY, like everything else about the LIEgime.

13. This False economy of the LIEgime is paralleled by its equally stupid education policies. In Education, there is also obsession with scoring high marks in exams, thus paralleling the construction of the False economy to score high GDP numbers. So, schools, principals, teachers and students are obsessed only with scoring high marks in exams. This means that non-exam subjects are hardly taught and studied. Worse, teachers and students choose subjects purely to score high marks, hence the decades-long bias to Math and Science subjects [far easier to score] than say, Lit and Lang. Unfortunately, due to the nature of Singaporeans and the way Math is taught from primary to university, this bias produces several generations of unintelligent ’scholars’ [many become Cronies Ministers or Generals who later metamorphosise into GLC CEOs] who, other than high Math marks, cannot think, since Language is the Basis of Thought, not Math. Thus, when you teach [and learn] TO the test or exam, you do score high marks but learn little, in not much of an education.

14. Thus, the LIEgime has only 5 aims of govt. First, to entrench and further the LIE family stranglehold on power and to increase that power without limit so as to control every aspect of work and life in Singapore. Second, to LOOK GOOD always — an obsession — even if this is only surface or cosmetic. Third, as regards the economy, to produce high GDP numbers. Fourth, to produce huge budget surpluses. This means decades of unremitting, relentless, Overtax and Underspend policies, overtaxing exorbitantly on everything possible, especially HDB housing, car taxes [both giving many, many, multiples of profit or rather, profiteering], GST, etc, while underspending on everything else except the military, which always has the biggest budget allocations. Thus, Singaporeans are overtaxed in every way possible and imaginable while spending on heathcare, education, the poor, etc, are all shortchanged. The budget surpluses are not enough apparently, so in order to create even bigger and more impressive Reserves and SWF [Fifth goal], Singaporeans CPF are withheld to make the Reserves bigger. Thus, Singaporeans have little access to and cannot even withdraw their own monies because the LIEgime wants it in its own kitty. CPF was as much as 40% of every worker salary and bonus OVER HIS LIFETIME CAREER, now slightly less. Thus, ‘managing by/for results’, which is pretty legitimate, became bastardised, like everything else, to become ‘managing by numbers’, further bastardised to ‘managing FOR [GDP] numbers’. Thus, the economy is constructed mainly to score high GDP numbers and the easiest way is to massively import foreigners — preferably rich — but practically, mostly cheap labour, since millionaires or FTs cannot be imported in numbers for various reasons. This explains why the LIEgime bends over backwards [this time] to play nice to all foreigners. It also explains why there is such an unbelievable tidal wave of foreigners in Singapore, the Third Wave in my essay.

15. The >1 in 4 of us being foreigners has obviously [how can anyone NOT notice!] become ’sensitive’, meaning actually ‘explosive’ — as it would be in a democracy instead of the secretive, suppressive dictatorship here. So, being politicians, and a govt obsessed with looking good ["Every time LIE KY looks good, the Truth doesn't" -- self quote] they spin and rationalise. They also Reclassify. This Reclassification trick reclassifies foreigners as Residents, PRs and even citizens to reduce resentment when the ‘official’ figures are out. If we grant PRs and citizenship more on SCE, this Reclassification trick will be harder. As is now, they can, with a simple sleight of the hand, change the numbers of foreigners into Residents, PRs and citizens. There is here, the ‘magic trick’ of DOUBLE or 2-WAY ‘gains’, just like in Displacing local low wage and even HIGH WAGE workers with foreigners. When the LIEgime reclassifies a foreigner into a PR or citizen, 1 MORE is added to the PR or citizen group while 1 LESS is reduced in the foreigner group. So double-counting ‘gains’! But foreigner or local or whatever, the buses, trains, food centres, roads, infrastructures, malls, etc, are all overcrowded [noticed the many big groups of dark-skinned young men watching the big tv displays or loitering near the money-changers or just loitering]? The problem is vaster than anyone, including the Morons, realise. They are just rats pressing levers and thinking they are doing a great job.

16. What can anyone do about it? Nothing. LIE KY LHL PAP are proven to have rigged the 1997 Cheng San GRC election, almost certainly also the 1963 General Elections in a suspicious 6-hour electricity blackout centred around the City Hall Vote Counting Centre, most probably also the Ong Teng Cheong Presidential election, plus the Malaysia Referendum that offered no, only rigged, choices. We can all do nothing because LIE KY LHL PAP need no mandate since they cheat massively ['winning' 82 out of 84 seats is mathematically, politically and electorally impossible without massive cheating -- like Saddam Hussein >90% votes every 'election'] so they do what they like, “never mind what the people think” — LIE KY.

17. According to a 2008 report from the Asian Development Bank, “The Singapore govt estimates that foreign labour contributed 3.2% of its annual growth rate of 7.8% in the 1990’s.” Another factoid : >40% of Singapore total labour force are cheap foreign labourers and >170,000 of the nearly 1 million foreign labourers are maids.

18. In an official Report from the ManPower Ministry for 2006 : http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/others/mrsd/Publications/ReportonLabourForceinSingapore2006.html

The 2006 Total Labour Force was 2.59m; ‘Residents’ [note Reclassification Trick] were 1.80m. UNEMPLOYED ‘Residents’ [seasonally adjusted] were 70,000 or 3.6% but 84,000 or 4.5% non-seasonally adjusted.

19. The point to note is that the overwhelming PAPaganda which has overpowered all thinking and discussions about foreigners, is that firstly, “foreigners do the dirty and dangerous jobs we locals shun”. Secondly, “FT do the kind of Talented Jobs that we locals don’t have the Talent to do so shut up and don’t dare complain when YOUR job goes to a foreigner”. Thirdly, “foreigners average DOWN business costs so businesses can profit more” [this is actually done by rigidly tying foreigners to employers so they cannot jobhop to better, plus other draconian conditions to give employers great advantages to exploit them, which explains why no employer wants Singaporeans!]

20. To this, I can only ask, pointing to MOM statistics in Paragraph 18, are there really so many “dirty and dangerous” jobs in Singapore? Or so many Talent jobs we cannot do? To the extent 3.6%/4.5% of us are unemployed? Or is it the usual politicians scapegoating and ‘blaming the victims’? After all, even garbage collection is highly mechanised, requiring few workers. Same for cleaners who even drive cleaning machines. Same for construction work, since there is a limit to how many workers can work at any time because concrete floors are laid and harden floor by floor. The Truth is, employers PREFER foreigners because they can be exploited far more easily due to LIEgime policies, entirely pro-business and anti-workers at the best of times, having jailed union leaders from the moment LIE KY seized power half a century ago, who then constructed and maintained by force, a fake NTUC ‘union’ body to further supppress workers, an NTUC whose main objective like every LIEgime org or institution, is to profit from its multiplicity of businesses from supermarket ‘co-ops’ to condos and even funeral parlours.

21. This is the tragedy for us — not for the Morons. They just keep pressing levers and collecting marbles and Performance Bonuses. While the tidal wave of foreigners continue to swamp every aspect of life on this little islet.

Robert HO
Jun 24, 2008 13:02

RH: Sorry, TOC. Just improved my comment essay about 15% more.

theonlinecitizen
Jun 24, 2008 13:56

Dear Robert,

Is it possible to not post such long comments? Maybe you can shorten them? I am all for free expression but your comments are about 2,000 words long (I think more).

Thanks.

Andrew

Robert HO
Jun 24, 2008 15:18

RH: OK, Andrew. Sorry. Will try not to essay too long next time. This particular 1 happens to be an extreme case because it is a series of insights that crystallise years of reading, observations and thinking, all culminating in the final above 21 paras. Unlikely to be extended.

If similar happens in future, which I doubt, since I am not capable of such similar intellectualising all the time, I will probably post it in my blog and link to it. However, I much prefer to Comment in TOC because TOC is by far the best and most important web resource in Singapore, so most of my thoughts find better expression here — in fact, most of my recent thoughts are actually triggered off by TOC articles, so I naturally, continue from your articles, continuing in the thinking and discussion started by TOC. Sorry.

theonlinecitizen
Jun 24, 2008 15:37

hi Robert,

Ok. We’ll allow it this time.. :)

Thanks for understanding…

Sad Father
Jun 24, 2008 16:05

It saddened me to see that there will be a 4th uni so late too soon only after it took the heartful and public comments of Ngiam Tong Dow and Tony Tan to change some mind sets.

When your own Singaporean children who dis NS have no place in the local unis, and foreigners get the places and not that you need their fees- there is a very painful cycle -starting from disappointment, to act of borrowing to see your own abroad in foreign unis, losing them later, and then with more disappointment facing the present policy makers – bang, there is no more inclusivity only widening diversity.

Any of your parents have children affected by the closure of the UNSWAsia campus ? Business decision, yes but where is the accountability ? When ministers involved refuse to meet parents ! You take what is dished out > It is time for CLASS ACTION should there be another debacle.
Pass the buck… protect my job…not my fault…..human error….and yet can get another pay rise ah! ….. Yet some guys cannot detect the groundswell until the volanco erupts…………..

Robert HO
Jun 25, 2008 16:57

RH:
1. My thanks to Mr Kaye Poh for pointing out this article, which proves that by FALSIFYING INFLATION NUMBERS LOWER, THIS AUTOMATICALLY RAISES GDP NUMBERS HIGHER! This explains why for half a century, and especially NOW, the LIEgime’s Inflation Numbers are always so [falsely] LOW! So that the GDP Number will automatically be HIGH! Mr Kaye Poh kindly pointed out in his email how this works in Singapore — ALL ALONG!

2. It seems that any govt that is determined to ‘produce’ high GDP numbers can do so with very simple sleight of hand Number Tricks, usually requiring no more than just a slight raising here and a lowering there, or to leave out some negative factors and include a couple of favourable ones.

3. This article is from Euro Pacific Capital, titled “They Have Got to be Kidding” and was onlined 1 Nov 2007, just some months back. Although it describes Bush accounting tricks, it applies equally to LIE KY LHL PAP. Please read it with the LIEgime in mind and much will become clear as daylight…

http://www.europac.net/externalframeset.asp?from=home&id=10612

4. I cannot do better than quote Mr Kaye Poh email, especially this part :

“In Singapore’s case, the central bank, MAS, expects inflation for 2007 to be around 1.5% although the citizens have been facing price increases of double digits (in some cases, up to 20% rise) in daily necessities like food, transportation, utilities, housing, healthcare, education, etc ? (refer Seah Chiang Nee’s article in The Star newspaper of 3 Nov 2007, “..Increasing prices in just about everything has overshadowed the city state’s prosperity in the last four years” – link http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/3/focus/19360112&sec=focus. For additional reading, refer to The Straits Times article of 5th Nov 2007, “Grocery bills increase as prices for foodstuffs go up” – link http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_173723.html).

“In the Star article, Seah also says, “The (Singapore) government appears unable to take action to stop the epidemic (rampant price rises everywhere), a contrast to the first-generation government during such crises.”.

“Well, it seems that while the majority of the citizens are reeling from the rising inflation, the ministers are not only unaffected, but their salaries and bonuses are getting fatter: because, according to the MAS, it expects Singapore to achieve “…8 per cent growth this year”.

“Now let’s take a closer look at the ministers’ bonuses:

“If GDP growth is 5% – 10% or more, yearly bonus can reach up to 8 months’ salaries. So, for ministers earning $1.8 million a year, the bonus can amount to as much as $1.2 million, giving a total salary of $3 million a year plus benefits.

“Is it any wonder why then are the rich in Singapore (including the ministers with their million dollar salaries and bonuses) getting richer while the poor (and the middle class too) are getting poorer with “real” double-digit inflation and stagnating/marginal wage rises and miserable returns (less than inflation rates) on their pension (CPF) funds?

“Therefore, my question to the government: are the inflation and GDP figures reliable and independently verifiable by credible professionals?”

5. Thank you, Mr Kaye Poh.

My Views
Dec 10, 2009 3:37

For goodness sake, Singapore has more than 3 universities!

What is wrong enrolling your kids or yourselves into a private university? Many foreign students are currently studying for degree courses conducted by private universities in Singapore. Their degrees are as good as the 3 government-universities, judging from employers’ response in the job market.

The Government has successfully turned Singapore into an education hub. There are far more foreign students studying in private universities than in SMU, NUS and NTU. Like the Singaporeans, upon graduation, these foreign students will be staying back to work and contribute to the economy of Singapore.

It is unwise to draw lines between Singaporean students, PR students and foreign students. All students in Singapore are trained to benefit the nation as a whole.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook