Whose future is “shining”, really?
Friday, 27 June 2008, 5:00 pm | 3,209 views
Andrew Loh
Ministers scheduled to be given a third pay hike this year
If you ask me, the future is really shining for us… We will survive; this is a red dot, which we can make redder and brighter. (MM Lee, 2006)
We are into a period of good economic growth and social development… If there are no wars or oil crises, this golden period can stretch out over many years… (Singapore in a golden period, says MM Lee, 2007),
Mdm Soh (not her real name) is more than 70 years old and has been working as an office cleaner for more than a year. Her daily routine starts at 7am and ends at 5pm, which means she puts in 10 hours of work, including a one hour lunch break. She works five and a half days per week – 55 hours in all.
She is paid $650 per month.
$2.95 per hour.
In January 2008, the Minister for Health, in advocating for the implementation of means testing starting at the median income, cited the figure of $2,170 for full-time employed residents. Mdm Soh clearly is not in this income bracket, even though she works full time.
Mdm Soh says that she started work when she was 10 years old, doing various jobs over the years. Although she finds life tough with the current rate of record inflation, she declines help from her children. “They also have their families,” she says. “I’ll just make do with what I have. I don’t go out except for work and maybe once in a while I buy a little 4D”, she says in Teochew, referring to the lottery. She quickly adds that she spends “at the most just one dollar’s worth” on the lottery.
The elites - a third pay hike
At the other end of the spectrum, top Government ministers had their salaries increased twice in 2007, the second one in December of that year. According to a Straits Times report:
Under the revised salary package announced by the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday, ministers at the starting grade will take home $1.94 million next year - an increase of 21 per cent over this year’s $1.6 million.
Also in the same report:
With the pay revision, the annual salary for President SR Nathan will go up from $3.1 million this year to $3.87 million in 2008, the Prime Minister’s from $3.09 million to $3.76 million, ministers and senior permanent secretaries, from $1.593 million to $1.94 million, entry superscale grade Admin officers, from $384,000 to $398,000 and MPs, from $216,300 to $225,000.
The Prime Minister’s salary was increased by $670,000 per year. That is about $55,833 per month. The PM’s salary is currently $3.76m per year ($313,333 per month).
According to the Reuters news report, “Singapore’s economic boom widens income gap” (9 November, 2007):
“The proportion of Singapore residents earning less than S$1,000 (US$690) a month rose to 18 percent last year, from 16 percent in 2002, central bank data released late last month show… and Singapore’s Gini coefficient, a measure of income inequality, has worsened from 42.5 in 1998 to 47.2 in 2006, and is now in league with the Philippines (46.1) and Guatemala (48.3), and worse than China (44.7), data from Singapore’s Household Survey and the World Bank show”.
The Government is expected to announce a third salary increase for civil servants, including ministers, later this year, as part of a three-step effort to close the gap in the benchmark for ministers’ salaries. This was explained by Minister in Charge of the Civil Service, Teo Chee Hean, on the 9th of April, 2007:
Salaries at the MR4 Grade are currently at 55% of the benchmark. Given the large gap, it is not realistic to close the gap fully in one go. Instead, we will close half of the current gap, that is, from 55% of the benchmark, to 77% of the benchmark by the end of this year.
This will be effected in two steps - one step now, and another step at the end of this year. Next year, we aim to close half of the remaining gap, bringing salaries to 88% of the benchmark by end-2008.
(Sprinter)
What is the Government doing about the income gap for ordinary Singaporeans, especially the poor? It prefers to take a “targeted approach”, giving periodic handouts and assistance and schemes like the Workfare Income Supplement (WIS). The Government has dismissed suggestions for the institution of a minimum wage and has also regularly warned that “subsidies will not solve Singapore’s problems”. (Lee Kuan Yew)
Give our elderly a sense of peace and security
Yet, with the anticipated third increase in ministers’ salaries, which is already the highest in the world, Singaporeans are beginning to wonder if only the top few are reaping the rewards of the hard work which everyone had put in during the boom times.
As was asked in an earlier article on TOC, “Why have Singaporeans, with one of the highest savings rates in the world, become so dependent on government handouts to even just get by?” With regards to the latest handout as reported by Channel NewsAsia, Over 780,000 households to receive $134m of utility rebates, one wonders why such a huge number of Singaporean households need such handouts to pay their utilities.
Have Singaporeans, consistently ranked one of the hardest-working and overworked, suddenly become beggars with hands extended towards the Government all the time, even as they continue to strive and compete with foreigners?
Perhaps it is time to seriously consider a more institutionalised approach to closing the income gap, such as having a minimum wage policy, and give Singaporeans, especially the working elderly such as Mdm Soh, a sense of security and peace in their twilight years. This is more pertinent now as the Government is also encouraging Singaporeans to work for as long as one can. Minister Lim Boon Heng even urged Singaporeans not to think of retiring (Channel NewsAsia).
To have someone like Mdm Soh work for $2.95 an hour is, in all honesty, quite shameful for a country which regularly trumpets its economic achievements. But more importantly, it says something about how we value those who have given practically their entire lives helping Singapore become this “world-class” city which the Government now boasts about.
While chatting with Mdm Soh, she was very anxious not to be seen talking to me too long. “I have to get back to work, or else my boss will be looking for me”, she would periodically say. I could not help but wonder: Are our elderly so frightened of not being able to find jobs that they would accept any jobs offered to them, even if they do not pay them fairly?
As former NTUC Income CEO Tan Kin Lian said here:
I believe that local workers deserve to have an adequate salary for a hard day’s work. This salary has to be commensurate with the cost of living. It should be adequate for a worker to feed a family, at least in a frugal way. The worker should not be expected to work for 12 hours a day, and still not earn enough for the family.
Indeed, our elderly who put in full-time work should not be struggling to keep up, or made to work for less than what would be minimum wage, all in the name of “globalisation” or “competition”.
Otherwise, ministers should be prepared for a severe backlash if and when they increase their own salaries later this year – the third time in two years – by millions of dollars again.
It seems that this “golden era” which MM Lee declared we are in is only for a select group – and we also wonder whose future it is that is “really shining”.
Read also:
Uniquely Singapore – F1 or F9: Income statistics?
Elderly toilet cleaners a sad reflection of society here.
————–
Below is a recent letter which my colleague Leong Sze Hian sent to the Straits Times. It was published in the ST on June 25:
Retraining low-wage workers: Let’s be realistic
I REFER to the article, ‘Contract workers: Caught in the pay squeeze’ (June 8).
The Building Custodian Job Re-design Programme, an initiative supported by the Workforce Development Agency and National Trades Union Congress, seeks to enhance the skills of cleaners to value-add in work such as changing light bulbs, clearing blockages and ‘custodial checking’, such as sighting and reporting defects, pests and killer litter.
This job of building custodians or multi-skilled cleaners comes with a $1,000 starting wage, compared to a cleaner’s $700 to $800.
As I understand most cleaners are elderly with low education, how realistic is it to expect them to undergo re-training to expand job duties and responsibilities?
How many companies have sent cleaners on this re-training programme?
How many of the 37,000 contract cleaners have so far been sent for re-training?
As most cleaners are employed by contractors which have to bid for contracts at the lowest competitive price, how likely is it that one paying the lowest wage of $700 will pay the $1,775 course fee and allow time off for the 112-hour course?
With regard to the advisory to all companies and contractors on responsible outsourcing practices issued by the Ministry of Manpower in March, I have come across an elderly road sweeper, an 84-year-old Singaporean man who works 55 hours a week for $650 a month, and an elderly woman who works 24 hours a week as a housekeeper at a community club for just $300 plus a month - no wage increment, bonus and so on.
Government agencies, statutory boards, government-linked companies and so on should take note of the very low wages of workers on their premises, and try to influence their outsourced contractors to pay decent wages.
For example, they could follow the example of the PAP town councils, which have recommended a $1,000 starting wage for full-time workers and $500 for part-time workers, in new cleaning contracts since April.
Although no minimum wage is imposed, cleaning companies are required under the new contracts to send their workers to the National Skills Recognition System Clean Residential Estates course.
—————
Email this to a Friend
Bookmark this

Yes, the government give target this and target that
It prefers to take a “targeted approach”,
remember Selamat’s “targeted search” ?
now the coffers are deemed for “targeted reward” for themselves in next salary hike.
how can that be? Only Singapore got richer, they never did
Ho much do you think insurance salesmen and women get for filling up forms and promise to take care of your claim in the future, if there is one. In one of the posts in the Channel News Asia forum a former receptionist turned agent earned a few hundred thousand a year for selling insurance. Like to jump on this bandwagon?
Golden period, what golden period, nia mah !!!
gahmen wants the majority poor and middle class votes. To do that they make conditions in terms of wages low and increase all costs of living so that the poor forever rely on the handouts. They will vote out of fever and gratitude. When will the poor and middle class realise that they are as powerful in asking for a better future. Stop being a slave to pap.
Moral of story? Study hard when you are young and able or you will grow up to be like the old aunty cleaning tables or the garang kuni man.
We really should campaign against this obscene act of a pay hike for the already fatcat Ministers! Stock markets have tumbled all over the world and corporate CEO pays are trimmed down by market performance and the US regulatory bodies are contemplating legislation to prevent obscene CEO packages except Singapore, where the high and mighty still demands multimillion pay packets for inept, inane and totally appalling incompetent performance!
To each of the fat cat Minister, juxtapose a senior citizen from the lowly paid ranks. Make a photo image of it, print the incomes of each of them. Do the same comparison for all the Ministers. Print large posters and distribute them or buy ad space in ST. Get the ordinary people who have been left out of the ‘rich’ Singapore to sit up and notice this disparity of income, and get their anger up to throw out the whole lot!
With their salaries pegged to top private sector pay, which include the remunerations, there is substantial conflict of interest. That explains why our ministers are adopting a free-for-all policy for immigration and work visas. With almost unrestricted import of labour, CEOs here can get cheap labour, thereby increasing profits…..and their own remuneration. A liberal work visa policy will enhance the probability that some people drawing very high salary would want to work in S’pore.
So our ministers’ salary can shoot up faster…….to the moon!!!
It might interest readers to note that although in theory the entire civil service was supposed to get a pay hike, some people in the civil service still have not their promised hike.
However rest assured, the ministers have already gotten theirs and not just once.
Best Regards
Yes, the ministers’ and president’s salaries are obscene. I like the placard protest. Going to jail is tough though.
there will be retribution on you blood suckers and yr families. i open my eye big big to see. keep oppressing us.
I am in my late forties and am self-employed from 10 years ago. There is no handout from the government to help me when times are bad for me. I have to rely on my one two dozens of credit cards to help me overcome bad times.
While there are 77,000 confirmed millionaires in Singapore, there are about 777,000 ordinarily citizens like me who need some form of help. Of course there is none as the government keep emphasizing that we are not a welfare state.
Half the population now is PR’s and PR’s turned Songapore citizens who came in to take over all the good jobs. That left the half of us struggling to survive the future except those 77,000 millionaires.
What is the future for us? When I am old and my child grows up, I encourage him to migrate overseas to search for a new life. Maybe his chances are better overseas unless he becomes a minister or millionaire in Singapore.
I have spoken to my
One gets what one had voted for.
Stop complaining and do something for yourself and young ones.
Either become an elite yourself or get out of this sorry state.
Rosewine,
by ur logic, the Myanmarese people have got what they voted for in voting for the constitution. But clearly it is illogical to attribute everything to the ballot box.
Simply put, Singaporean voters are not entirely at fault for this state of affairs. There are more complex issues than simple cause and effect.
I used to worked in the financial industry and after an extended period of time of not getting a job in my mid 40s, I’ve decided to move to a place where most Singaporean(66.6%) and the PAP govt despice; where people can speck their mind, where you work for decent wages, where there are real democracy and welfare.
Its nothing glamorous over here. I don’t pretent to be the CEO of a bank here! I only work 8 hours a day, five days a week, as a Security guard.
However, the most important thing is that with my income, I can raise a family of 4, own a car and a house is within striking distant as soon as property price comes down a little. My retirement and health care are also taken care of.
It is dignity, like Tan Kin Lian said:
“I believe that local workers deserve to have an adequate salary for a hard day’s work. This salary has to be commensurate with the cost of living. It should be adequate for a worker to feed a family, at least in a frugal way. The worker should not be expected to work for 12 hours a day, and still not earn enough for the family.”
I do not want to be a slave, and I am glad I call it quits.
Quitter,
can you tell us this ‘paradise’ that many want to go ?
Like I said, this is not paradise, nothing glamorous. But at least you live a dignify and free life. And I like the weather here too. Its Beautiful British Columbia!
Are the ministers still getting pension and salary? can anyone who is aware please enlighten me? if so the actual amount is much much higher.
“Are the ministers still getting pension and salary?”
Salary still get as usual.
Pension ? Who need pension when salary outperform the pension scheme ! It is pathetic that they play around taxmoney. They know that if pension is no longer feasible due to public outcry then use other creative mean to compensate. Use exorbitant millions salary to replace pension. No wonder LKY and coffers want to up retired age ! Useless old farts just keep drawing millions salary of perk if they never retired, right ? Old Pappies FARTS !
Aiya, tok so much here…still will end up being oppressed and controlled one la…
Ask ourselves what the garment has done for us? Basically increase our cost of living, and their own big fat salaries only…
Wanna vote for opposition during GE also no chance sometimes…walkover…
Can’t wait to leave this corrupted place man…
How does one go to this British Colombia isle? Over 40 can still qualify? Work as security guard also can go? If so, I think alot of our security guards here in their 40s would also want to leave. Any links for us to consider?
You claim we have a sense of entitlement? third damned pay increase. Do you know how much I made when I was in the army??? freaking less than $20 a day. how the hell can youhave the face to take $58000 a month. what job do you do that’s worth so much???
You will always be a third class citizen in any other country than your own.
Weijia,
Yes, ministers who are have reached pensionable age are receiving both pensions and salaries at the same time. I wrote about it here:
Annuities for Singaporeans, pensions for ministers?
“Ministers are not given pensions” - Halimah Yacob.
If anyone is in doubt, here is the answer given by then DPM & Finance Minister Lee Hsien Loong in 2004, to NCMP Steve Chia’s question:
Mr Steve Chia Kiah Hong: Clarification from the Minister. Does any serving Minister who turns 55 actually receive both salary and pension at the same time? If yes, should he be serving?
Mr Lee Hsien Loong: I believe the answer is yes. That is the rule for the civil service, and the Ministers follow the civil service rules.
Isnt it true that NTUC Union should fight for the rights of lowly paid or exploited workers?
“Isnt it true that NTUC Union should fight for the rights of lowly paid or exploited workers?”
Isn’t the purpose of NTUC is changed to one that useless and bootlicking role long time ago ?
NTUC = Not To Upset Coffers
So do you think the union will fight for workers’right or fight for PAP’s greed ?
“Otherwise, ministers should be prepared for a severve backlash if and when they increase their own salaries later this year—the third time in two years, by millions of dollars again”. Unquote.
Andrew; the ‘backlash’, if any, will be neutrlized by some little piecemeal handouts. In any case, no backlash can be severve WHEN THE LEADERSHIP HAS INDICATED THAT FORCE WILL BE USED. THAT IS THE ARMY WILL BE USED IN CASE OF A FREAK ELECTION RESULT. BY LOGICAL DEDUCTION, ANY THREAT TO THE LEADERSHIP WILL INCUR SUCH A MEASURE OF ARMY DEPLOYMENT. THE LEADERSHIP IS VERY AWARED OF THE DISSATISFACTION OF THE POPULACE.
patriot.
“Mr Steve Chia Kiah Hong: Clarification from the Minister. Does any serving Minister who turns 55 actually receive both salary and pension at the same time? If yes, should he be serving?
Mr Lee Hsien Loong: I believe the answer is yes. That is the rule for the civil service, and the Ministers follow the civil service rules.”
May I suggest to the honourable PM. Change the rule if you know that something is not right. Governement and Ministers are representatives of the people and they are expected to do the right things and not just follow outdated rules which do not make sense. You have the power to do it. You are the PM. Am I right ?
Sorry lah - shinning future and golden period for who ?
I’m quitting too with my entire family. This is really a pathetic government and they still think that the population love them. My middle finger to all the ministers. I had been running my business and struggling to earn a decent living for a few years. We obtained the licence from the government to run this business. Instead of allowing us to continue and earn a decent living, the government quietly established another similar business and charge the public one-tenth of what we charge. Owing to this, a number of us who had pioneered this business will have no choice but to close down our businesses giving way to the under-cutting tactics. I strongly believe many industries are also affected by the government similar tactics.
The asrsehole civil servants do not know the repercussions of such move. Let me explain, we, who are affected would tell our spouses and children how merciless this government is. They, in turn, will tell their relatives, friends, neighbours, colleagues, schoolmates, varisty-mates, poly-mates and religious groups what this foolhardy government and arrogant civil servants had done to the breadwinner’s business. As such, there is already a wide-spread disquiet and all who have heard our plight - EVERYONE OF THEM AGREED THAT OUR GOVERNMENT IS ARROGANT AND HAS LOST-TOUCH WITH THE GROUND. We can’t wait for the next election to vote them out. ONLY IF WE HAVE THE CHANCE TO VOTE.
In another country, we may be treated like a third-class citizen, at least the government of that country gives us dignity to earn a decent living and that government does not interfere with the business affairs of the community. Although I pay a higher tax, I am assured of a pension, free healthcare and education for my children. I can also own my own freehold property working with blue collar salary.
One thing for sure, I dont need to end up collecting cardboards or drinking cans like those old folks in Singapore.
So sad that we have to leave the country that we love so much because of the deep resentment of the PAP government which has become corrupted and totally not transparent. They have fooled us all these years and our veiled eyes seemed to open finally and make that the decision to get out.
Ministers/civil servants of other countries may not be so highly paid or intelligent or efficient than the Singapore ministers/civil servants but the minsters/civil servants of other country have more wisdom and respect for their citizens and practice proper human rights which is very lacking in this tiny red dot. Just look at all the recent events and how the government and ministers pushed away responsibilties. If Singaporeans still cannot see and act accordingly, then we can’t help but feel sorry for our beloved countrymen.
“Mr Lee Hsien Loong: I believe the answer is yes. That is the rule for the civil service, and the Ministers follow the civil service rules.””
This shows the lack of confidence in him. A yes means yes, no need to say believe. Just a fundamental question he can’t even answer directly and honestly ? As a PM, what did he really know except to exploit the citizen for more money ? Is he really the Prime Minister or Pathetic Moron ? Freaking disgrace as such a tiny tiny red dot need the world most expensive PM, MM, SM to manage with the world most expensive and useless president of all time ?
Ironically, those he and his coffers who always claim that economic growth is important all the time are the one that greatly benefits from it in term of perk and salary increase because the economic is tied as KPI. In other words, these coffers tend to ignore the social issues for the sake to pursue economic growth using MSM, radio as mouthpiece.
Policies have been made and it affects the salary increment of an elderly worker; Salary increment, it seems to be quite impossible one. I begin to wonder, what would happen to me when I am old. I might see myself being underpaid at the same time I have to look after myself.
Our great leaders love to earn all the credits and when I talked about gratitude / rewards i.e. look after the elderly, they would just say,” haven I paid you a salary previously?”. ( I was told this in an online discussion @ youngpap blog)
This could be the logic in the little people mind. Increase pay X time and after 5 years. He has enough for another 4X years of pay in pocket….
Tiredman on June 28th, 2008 10.29 am
“Our great leaders love to earn all the credits and when I talked about gratitude / rewards i.e. look after the elderly, they would just say,” haven I paid you a salary previously?”. ( I was told this in an online discussion @ youngpap blog)”
Use the same approach back to them (e.g public officers, civil servants, MPs and Ministers, etc) if opportunity presents itself so that they can have a taste of their own medicine. Spread the message to as many people as possible with evidence. People will feel uncomfortable because the same thing can happen to them also.
Snobbish and arrogant people need to have a taste of their own medicine. To be effective, you know what to do when it comes to the ballot box.
Medicine,
I think you are a funny guy who hide yourself behind different names. I am sharing my views and experience. I do not like the word spread. People will realise this themselves.
tiredman
when everything still going up and hitting the roof. and yet ur whole bloody team of pp salary not affected at all.and still going to increase .let me remind u again u play no god u r just like us .ENOUGH IS ENOUGH .
Tiredman on June 28th, 2008 12.20 pm
Lobang broken already. Never mind. One thing I do know and it is my sole objective. To support people like you. You’re right. People will realise this themselves. However, we still need to do the tiring work (this fits comfortably with you name) to hasten the process.
Good luck to you and till we meet again. Keep it to yourself about the lobang.
[...] http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/06/whose-future-is-%E2%80%9Cshining%E2%80%9D-really/ Local, Vote PAP somemore [...]
hi all,
i think that you people are taking this in the wrong light. Even though the government allows foreigners into the country does not mean that Singaporean’s are second class. Thus far I have never seen a case of discrimination because of a person being Singaporean. Why would our own government want to harm you? It just does not make sense. I believe the government is trying its best to help Singaporeans in the long run. By providing the Singapore government with the job security and necessary means to draw talent, we can ensure the stability and well being of our country. I think that even if it may seem unfair to others that the government draws a salary much higher than others, it is by no means “obscene”.
There are many great aspects about Singapore. For example, Singapore is much safer than New York. It is true that two cronies attempted to escape recently, but overall the crime rate is still much lower. The government has also managed to provide affordable housing for many Singaporeans. Singaporeans should be thankful for such things too.
To end this all, it is reasonable that the government peg is salary to the private sector.
In the states, the best CEOs, attorneys and bankers can easily earn in excess of US$10million. However, not many people complain about these people earning that kind of money. This is because they create value for their clients, be it through winning cases, investment or the successful running of a business. Therefore, since Singapore is doing well, we should judge the government by this same yardstick. Over the years, the government has built Singapore from small fishing village into a great metropolis that can hold its own amongst the best cities of the world to live in. Once we learn to appreciate that, we will complain less about the “obscene” salaries.
Oh, one last point - no where in the world can you expect to always have job security. I agree that S$2.95 is ridiculously low. But from a holistic picture, if we implement a minimum wage, for example S$10 (comparable to US$7 in the States), it would make obtaining jobs much more difficult for workers in general.
Dear amanda,
Allow me to ask you one simple question :
How do you justify the billions lost to bad investments against the absolute refusal to spend a little on SOME subsidies (e.g. rice) ?? On what moral ground ?
To me - if the Government is prepared to lose billions in bad investments - then it must first be prepared to spend a few on SOME important subsidies.
Dear Dr Syed Alwi,
Financial investments always involve risks. Yes, I know that’s cliche but its true. Every major investment bank has made losses before. Even UBS, Morgan Stanley, Citibank and so on had to make hefty write downs in the wake of last year’s housing crisis. Everyone knows that Wall Street has the best investors (in general). I think therefore it is unrealistic to think that GIC, or Temasek can truly avoid losses.
Dear amanda,
If one is prepared to risk billions of dollars of public funds - then one must first be prepared to spend a few on SOME subsidies.
Remember - the public should NOT subsidise the Government in risky investments. It is the Government who should subsidies SOME commodities for the public !
Amanda, how old are you? Is this what they’re inculcating in Social Studies these days?
haha. that’s a secret. but probably not as young as you think; I’ve been working in the States for some time.
Dear amanda,
It is NOT the business of government to become another Morgan Stanley. The government is not a profit making body answerable to shareholders.
The government is answerable to the people. And it is NOT the people who should subsidise the government in risky investments.
To me - if the government wants to make risky investments - then it must first spend some money on some subsidies. Otherwise the people will just be giving the government a blank cheque.
Worse still if all these risky investments is done in secrecy and without transparency. What you then breed is NON-ACCOUNTABILITY whose end result is simply an abuse of the system - sooner or later.
I think it is fair for the government to build up its reserves. Building up reserves generally happens in only two ways
1) Taxing the population more
2) Investment
Investment is a pragmatic and useful solution to increase Singapore’s reserves. So I don’t think there is a problem here.
On the other hand, the government has built up a fair amount of reserves. These can of course be used to subsidize necessities. However, what subsidies would be necessary? Furthermore, the fact that it is possible does not make it necessarily expedient.
I think that generally speaking, Singapore’s cost of living is already pretty low. The lowest cell phone plan in the States cost US$40 (S$54) but it costs only about S$25 the last time I visited (2006). Furthermore, food is sooooo cheap (and tasty). Even using the MRT are much cheaper than the subway. It is like US$2 a trip here (regardless of how many stops you take).
So Singaporeans are already saving alot of money.
also, Dr Alwi,
don’t you think Singaporeans lately are starting to develop a great sense of entitlement - as if the government has to provide everything for them. They want cheap food, good housing, 5Cs, etc. Plus no competition in the workplace, job security, etc.
Cannot la! so unrealistic.
The excellent work ethics that Singaporeans have had and that which has brought us to become what we are today should not be trodden down by this sense of entitlement. just because we are Singaporean, and just because this is Singapore, doesn’t mean we should have special treatment. How is that different from the malaysian Bumi Putra policy which Singaporeans like to criticize.
Dear amanda,
The cost of living in New York may be high. But I too have lived and worked in the USA. Try South West Virginia - its a lot cheaper than New York.
In any case - the cost of living in Singapore is becoming unbearable especially since there are no subsidies. Unlike America……………….
But we are NOT asking for American standards. Just don’t expect us to subsidise Government investments without a corresponding committment towards some kind of subsidy………
Dear amanda
As for asking for too much and entitlements etc - I think that it is the Government who has developed a subsidy mentality here ! They expect Singaporeans to subsidise their mistakes and poor investment decisions !!
Amanda,
If everything so cheap why so many struggling to make ends meet? Leaving beyond their means ? Tell that to the lady cleaner.
Dear amanda,
It is not cheap here in Singapore and yes - Singaporeans do have an excellent work ethic. Too bad the same cannot be said of our politicians.
They expect Singaporeans to subsidise their highly inflated salaries. And they also expect us to subsidise government investments.
That is OK - PROVIDED - they return the favour by subsidising some commodities for us. I honestly think that its only fair and wise.
How can a government be prepared to risk and lose billions of dollars of public funds in bad investments - but at the same time - totally refuse to spend some money to subsidise some commodities for the people ?
What kind of morality is that ?
Amanda,
I believe you are one of the trendy, cool young adult, probably not married yet.
Everything is provided for you by your parents ( maybe both working) when you were young. Your life is so smooth-sailing that you feel that the bloggers are exaggerating about what life is happening in Singapore.
One thing for sure I do not realise I have any entitlement from the Government except that I know Singapore is my country where I was born and probably buried (if there is still land) here.
Like others, I have a home and felt the turbulence of inflation lately. It is no jokes for those who struggle daily to feed a family. I don’t think that these people are asking the Government to help them paid everything but to ease a little of their burdens by using the surpluses/reserves the Government have accumulated from the past 40 over years.
I don’t question the Government policy in making investments overseas, but no Government is indispensable and what provisions have you made should your investments failed. I hope your foresight is sharp and accurate but I learnt from my teeny investments that there is no absolute win situation.
Quitter,
>>Like I said, this is not paradise, nothing glamorous. But at least you live a dignify and free life. And I like the weather here too. Its Beautiful British Columbia!
>>
Ah, another Canadian resident! I am a half-quitter. I brought my whole family to Ontario to comply with the mandatory landing, then returned to Singapore. Technically speaking, we are Canadian residents too.
The reason why my family returned is because while waiting for the PR approval (about nearly 4 years), my eldest daughter bonded herself with the Sg government, while my second son looks to be heading that way too. Things change during those 4 years, you know.
However, since we already have the PR, I may consider residing in Canada at least 2 years out of 5, so that I can extend the PR for another 5 years for my wife and youngest child.
BC was actually my first choice because of its relaxed environment. However I have had a few reservations. One is the cost of living appears to be higher in Vancouver than other cities, no thanks to the Hongkongers driving real estate prices. Secondly, I believe that city is not too far off from the earthquake belt.
Toronto and Barrie areas don’t look too exciting (still too crowded by my standards) but I am quite comfortable with it. That was the area I was around, when I brought my family over to Canada.
How’s the going in BC then? Other than the scenic and relaxed lifestyle, how is the cost of rental now? I may reconsider that province if I were to drop by there again.
====
Singaporean
>>How does one go to this British Colombia isle? Over 40 can still qualify? Work as security guard also can go? If so, I think alot of our security guards here in their 40s would also want to leave. Any links for us to consider?
>>
The cut off age for application for Canadian residency is 49, I think. You need to have qualifications, skills and experience that the Canadian government wants, of course.
Waiting period is now 4 and a half years to 5 years, for you to have the PR approved.
Useful link: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp
Dear amanda,
things in singapore would seem cheap to u if u earn an american salary. the straits times interviewed a gardener employed by the NY municipal govt to take care of the central park some time ago. his salary is higher than mine at that point of time. i’m not a gardener, so u cant say that its comparing gardener to gardener. i am a middle-mgt civil servant with a master’s degree.
Dear Amanda,
Saving a lot of money? It is relative to how much someone in the States takes home as well. You can’t just say that objectively, Singaporeans save a lot of money, because it is only relatively cheap, without taking into consideration that people in general do not earn as much as Americans, unless you happen to be a politician.
As for our sense of entitlement, i don’t think our sense of entitlement is that unrealistic. But as people become more educated, you can’t avoid the fact that they will start wanting more. So we should educate our people, raise their human potential, then leave this human potential unused? A Government serves the people, and you can’t say objectively that it has been. Subjectively, you could say it has been, although it is your own opinion. Why, you work in the States. These demands take different forms but are present as well.
Dear Amanda,
Since you like to compare apple to orange, please convince me why our Prime Minister / ministers’ pay is higher than the America’s president, Bush’s salary? A man who is able to wage war against another country (making great decision) takes a lesser salary?
I understand that the living standard over there in America is very high (lower than in SG; correct me if I am wrong), however, President Bush takes home lesser salary than ours. So, what so different is our ministers as compare to the ministers in America? Enlighten me.
Regards,
Tiredman
..sigh… all these talks…
They (the government) say they don’t owe us a living. But somehow, we ended up owing THEM a living! And for what? For an increasingly frugal and desperate living in Singapore as citizens.
They coin fancy terms, phrases, and seemingly logical sounding initiatives. But do they really work for us? DID anything positive come of it all? Why does it all turning out like half pails of water to put out a forest fire?
If in the ultimate end they lose votes and eventually gets voted OUT, they deserve it. And no, Singapore WILL NOT be ruined in 5 years with an opposition party restoring livelihoods, happiness, motivation, and sense of belonging in Singapore among Singaporeans.
FAP, it is soon time to take a hike…
amanda, your mistake is judging Singapore cost of living with your American pay. That is why everything in Singapore is cheap to you. However, you are not doing justice to the average Singaporean who most likely is earning only a fraction of your income. To accurately judge the cost of living in a country, one must relate it to the income. The avearge monthly income of Singaporean is $2,200 according to Lee Hsien Loong. Tell me what is the average income of a New Yorker ? Then you have to factor in the income distribution. I know Singapore is amongst one of the worst in the world. It is as bad as those of third world African dictatorship.
Dear Amanda,
Your view of our gahmen is so good and positive. There is nothing to talk about with you. Anyway you are so brainwash i hope you continue to stay here in a PAPPY controlled country till you grow old and useless to the gahmen and end up collecting cans and old newspaper. I hope you are not highly skilled or highly educated like overseas uni so that you can feel the pain once you hit 40. There are many less fortunate people like you who hardly can make a living now in a high inflation period and influx of cheap foreign labour.
As for the GIC and THE MASAK(like playing toys) lousy investments, all the big ticket items are bought in early 2008 (UBS S$14.5billion, CITI S$10B, Merri Lyn S$7B) when we all know (even those uncles who donno a thing about finance) will not want to get involved in such a purchase. Talented ministers and his wife are really jokers who pour our hard earned money into them. Still got face to ask for more PAY INCREMENTS in millions. REALLY THICK SKIN to the MAX!
Gahmen tax GST and give back some of our money coming this july. I will take becoz its my money but dont think i will be happy about it. GST increases at a time when the gahmen say we had a deficit but is trying to fool who? They know about the surpluses early mid last year and still our dear heartless PM says better to eat the bitter pills at one go then to have to eat in stages. Thank YOU lor!
“don’t you think Singaporeans lately are starting to develop a great sense of entitlement - as if the government has to provide everything for them. They want cheap food, good housing, 5Cs, etc. Plus no competition in the workplace, job security, etc.
Cannot la! so unrealistic.”
I really laughed at your ignorance. I believe most sinkies are not thinking about 5C and job security or competition. They are finding jobs snatched by foreigners, like pump assistant, Video shop assistant, food staff helper, beer lady, cleaners, grocery shop helper are hard to find. If you are a civil servant, you really shown us how out of touch our gahmen has become.
FG
fascinating that they have the balls to declare a minimum wage for their people in the city. Whereas here in Singapore, our govt does not have the balls to antagonise the EMPLOYERS by declaring a minimum wage. WE can all do the calculations : $3.50 X 3 meals X 30 days + rental per person + utilities + kids - but our govt has no heart to set a minimum cos they know that with inflation, their numbers will be way off. And all their outsourcing effort in cleaning the govt buildings / sweeping the floor will go haywire….
Dear People,
It seems to me that we are subsidising the Government for higher pay and bad investments.
However it is the Government who should help us with some subsidies - especially if they are prepared to lose billions of dollars in bad investments.
Amanda maybe a Singapore Civil Servant based in New York, USA.
And she is using selective comparisons, she avoided comparing the average incomes of New Yorkers, prices of cars(vis a vis comparing public transport fares), Social Securities for citizens.
And I think she is not a loyal Singaporean. If transport expenditures are cheap, foods in Singapore are sooooo tasty and cheap and cost of livings in Singapore is cheap. Why does she choose to work away from Singapore? Because there is less stress in New York? Talk is definitely cheap.
To build up Reserve of a country, Amanda believes investment is the way although she says investments ALWAYS INVOLVE RISKS, luckily it does not always involve losses. She cited the problems face by many of the Banks,in which our government have just invested in some of them. Dr Syed Alwi think that “It is NOT the business of government to become another Morgan Stanley”. Unquote.
I think it is not that Singapore cannot invest in banks or even operates bank, it is the timing of investing in those banks that is the issue now. The Banks are ailing when the monies were pumped in as investments. Yes, invest by all means, does Singaporean see the monies put into the ailing banks as investments to make profits or have lost a big sum? Or to save the Banks at little or no gains with risks of losing big in time to come? Based on the timing of the Investments, I think Dr Syed Alwi is right in saying that the monies should be used to subsidize Singaporeans. Singaporeans will be helped and in time to come, Singaporeans will repay the kindness many folds in works(productivity) and dedications to the country.
In any case, in the face of inflation, inflating the remunerations of the leaders against the stagnant, falling incomes of the low income earners and structural unemploment situation, is beyond justification.
This lousy govt will be toppled in 5 to 10 years time. It is not transparent on investment. Even President Ong is not allowed to know our assets. Dont say Nathan lah, even worse, a bad president. Why evrything must compare to USA, if u compare then our cost will be cheaper, but dont forget, the workers in US earn more than ours. How to compare, one bowl of mee in Thailand cost $0.80 sing dollar, in malaysia one bowl of mee cosr RM2.50, why dont u Amanda compare that everything US, nia mah!!
To Tiredman,
very simple, President Bush served the country with dedication and commitment. What I know western leader is more liberal and see money not so important in life. Not like asia PM, where everything talk about money, literally money face, this gives people a bad impression, linking money to willingness to serve, you can peg your pay to MNC CEO pay, provided you can perform like a private CEO. You take responsibility when a serious mistake occur. This govt operate terbalik, as everybody knows, I dont have to mention again. That is the different between Bush and Lee
Dear patriot,
I did NOT say ‘that Governments should NOT invest. To me the Government can and should invest.
HOWEVER - they should FIRST take care of their own citizens BEFORE they put billions of dollars of public money at risk in bad investments.
In other words - if the Government is prepared to risk and lose billions of dollars of public money in bad investments - then they should first be prepared to help the people via some subsidies.
How can a Government risk so much public money - and yet - totally refuse to subsidise some commodities like rice - especially in a time of food crisis and petrol crisis ?
What kind of moral value is that ? And yet they can raise their own salary !!
That is why I say that in Singapore - it is the Singaporean public that subsidises the Government - but in other countries it is their government that subsidises the public !
Everyone has a choice when the next election comes to do something with his vote. Show the gahman who’s boss and they will eat humble pie. Don’t be grateful for the pittance that it throws your way in the form of rebates, handouts etc just before the elections but remember the hardship that you had to go through immediately after the last election. Grow some… and show your wrath.
we the citizen are taking care of the government not the government taking care of us. We take care of them by feeding them billions helplessly but yet the government keep telling the citizen money not enough.
amanda ,
Are you sure your comment aren’t meant for MSM Forum or http://www.pap.sg ? Why don’t your comment to the MSM instead. They will no doubt publish it.
PAP doesn’t harm us, after which each ‘world class’ government do that ? They doesn’t harm us, they just exploit the citizen to no end, feeding rhetoric that only to benefit the coffers themselves. Come on, don’t treat Singaporean as moron. Any common sense laymen can see it, sense and experience the ground.
OK, guys let’s not bully poor Amanda here. She lives in the US of A and once you’ve see how filthy places like New York and London can be, you can appreciate quite a few things about Singapore.
Having said that, I think we are drastic need of more accountability over how our money is being spent. I have no objection to the government spending money on special projects per se but I think the people spending money need to be accountable to their shareholders and in this case, we the citizens happen to be the shareholders. It’s all very well to say that we get $300 a year regularly when we pay $500 a year in extra taxes, if you get what I mean.
Why do we need Temasek Holdings? Why do we need GIC? Is it because the government cannot balance its books without income from elsewhere? What value are we getting from all these investments that the government makes? Look at it this way, if the government’s investments boom some 20 years down the line, do I, as a Singaporean get any benefits in the form of cheaper taxes? Well, based on previous records, we all know that the answer seems to be no. Corporate taxes for the rich go down, gst for the poor go up? Apparently Tamasek and GIC are doing to so well, we need our CPF to held by them even when we reach our 60s.
And look at the competence we’ve had from our well paid civil servants and managers of Temasek/GIC. Since pumping 11 billion Swiss Franks or 14 billion dollars into UBS, the shares have only fallen in value since then. But that’s only money - let’s look at something else - security - in half a year, we’ve had one alleged master mind terrorist limp out of his cell and remain at large, two other clowns nearly walk out of prison and finally an old man walks through immigration with a passport that’s not his own. - This is from a ministry in a government that only pays for the best people and best technology. Incidentally, if you read the budget - $102 million will be spent on ungrading anti-terrorist facilities compared with $92 million for health promotion - it’s most fun to promote our medical industry as being great than to actually teach people how not to get sick.
Dear People,
Indeed - if the Government is willing to subsidise some commodities - it might even help us retain talented Singaporeans from migrating away.
The reason why people migrate is because of economic and political factors. Why should a young, talented and well-educated Singaporean have to put up with nonsense like working more for less ? They are upwardly mobile and can easily migrate to the West where they enjoy a better quality of life.
What plans does the Government have to improve the quality of life here for us ?
More ERP !!
“don’t you think Singaporeans lately are starting to develop a great sense of entitlement - as if the government has to provide everything for them.”
It is the government in the first place want the citizen to depend on them so that the latter can be easily control and stay obedient, don’t they ? The government still do it nowsaday. They control CPF and everything that do with money and profit from the citizen, and then tell the citizen to fart off if they want help from government. Didn’t the role of government is to serve the citizen and country, not themselves, oh I forget. Forget about the country part, Singapore is currently been run as though Singapore=PAP=LKY with no accountability , responsibility and transparency, a obvious sign of pure dictatorship.
Once LKY preaches his ‘word of wisdom’, everything just move on.
The government can’t just behave like someone who pregnant a woman and say that he is not responsible for what happen to the baby and future of the woman.
Dear Tang Li,
Spot on dude. Well said. I totally agree on the accountability issue. I am NOT against the Government investing. BUT - like I said before - if they are prepared to risk that kind of public money in investing overseas - don’t you think that they - the Government - owes it to us to subsidise SOME important commodities like rice etc ?
We’re paying them. And hell of a lot too. ERP, GST, CPF etc etc - where is the ROI (return on investment) for us ?
It cannot be one way without check and balance. Besides I seriously believe that it is their moral duty to help the citizens since the capital that they use for overseas investments comes directly from us citizens. Its public money after all.
You are spot on about the accountability issue.
Governments are NOT Morgan Stanleys etc. A Government has a moral duty to protect its citizens above all. Especially in this era of food and petrol crises.
This is fascinating. Some of you think that just because there are surpluses, we should start giving out handouts and subsidies. Right. Let’s start with rice. Oh, how about cooking oil? Sugar? Everyone needs some desserts from time to time so let’s throw in some ice cream too.
C’mon, it’s a tough world out there, but that does not mean that the way to solve all these problems is to throw away surpluses. How long do we do that for? Until there are no surpluses? Until our foreign reserves are halved? Quartered? How much is too much and how little is too little?
Some of you ask what the ROI is? Well, believe me, I’ve seen how things work elsewhere in Asia (most everywhere else in Asia). We have something that works. Warts maybe, but generally everything works fairly well, and tax rates are low — grumble about GST all you want, but find me any other country where 70% of the people do not pay income tax. That was the trade-off for low tax rates! Fair bargain if you ask me.
There is absolutely no logical connection between investing our savings overseas, and handing out subsidies. In the global economy, with cross-currency transactions and foreign exchange issues, the company or country that does *not* diversify its holdings and invest in foreign currencies *is* betting on currencies. Betting that its own currency will always hold against major trading partners. Any first year B-School person will tell you that in today’s economy, it is essential to spread risks across different countries/currencies.
Painting the little-old-lady-collecting-recyclables is good political sniping, but what does it *really* mean. In any country, there will always be a stratification. There will always be those who for whatever reason, get bogged down. Do we give them handouts, or find some way to help them with skills-training etc? Many of our countrymen open small/medium enterprises. Many of them fail. Ask these SMEs whether they have a clear idea what they are doing and what their business plan is?
Everyone aspires to be their own boss, but not everyone can do it. Many try and fail. That’s the way the cookie crumbles.
The great thing about America is that those who fail pick themselves up, and try and try again. Don’t bemoan failures and “government-doing-it-cheaper”. If government can be in your chosen business and do it cheaper, maybe (a) that was not a good space to be in, (b) you’re just not very good/efficient at it.
I see TOC likes to use the old woman/man picking up cans or washing toilets or cleaning tables as evidence of government not doing enough.
In comparison to most advanced western countries, where there are millions of homeless people or thousands of people dying of hunger, Singapore is doing exceptionally well.
Furthermore, the story of the old woman cited above “declines help from her children” - it’s her choice. In fact, if anyone really need help or dying from starvation, our government will certainly help.
There is no such thing as a perfect government. PAP has achieved more than any government in the world. Yet it is still continuing to seek better people to manage the country 20, 30, 40 years down the road, I think it is admirable. Very few countries in the world can do that.
Think about it and perhaps you should thank PAP for the awesome job they have done, are doing and will continue to be doing many years ahead. I know I will always support them. Because of their policies, someone from a poor family like me is able to get educated, get a good job, roof over my head, have a balanced lifestyle, have great healthcare system, have freedom to travel or just stay at home and enjoy quality time with my parents and children. I don’t know what you people want, but being an average Singaporean, I am proud of our leaders.
Grateful pap supporter,
Say hello to Maslow’s hierarchy soon enough.
What you have described, was probably the core of the Singapore dream for the post-war generation. This is merely the foundation, and expected base situation for the generations to come, and the ones who are stepping forth into the corporate world at the moment, do not take kindly to being told that that’s all they should ever hope to attain.
We do not merely think of the almighty dollar, we are equally interested in self-actualisation. If the ground is not conducive for self-actualisation, people will either migrate, or attempt to change it.
Wow, I’ve been getting alot of responses. Where to start:
Singapore Spirit: “I believe you are one of the trendy, cool young adult, probably not married yet.”
-wrong, I’m married and have a daughter in elementary school.
patriot: “Amanda maybe a Singapore Civil Servant based in New York, USA.”
- no, I have not taken a single cent from the government, not for education , and not for employment overseas. Funny hor, Singaporeans think anytime someone speaks a positive opinion of the government they must be a civil servant/ pap member. Such a mentality of “us” against “the government” is very divisive. You should support the government as it works in the best interest of the Singapore people.
Patriot : “Why does she choose to work away from Singapore? Because there is less stress in New York? Talk is definitely cheap.”
- Why? Family, family, family. I met my husband in the states. Surely it is not wrong to migrate because of that? Anyway, if I had asked him to Singapore, you people would have said “ah , another dirty FT”. Patriot, singaporeans are impossible to please, aren’t they?
Tiredman: “please convince me why our Prime Minister / ministers’ pay is higher than the America’s president, Bush’s salary?”
- that depends on the market rate, in the States, as there is a large population which results in a great supply of would be politicians, we do not need to pay more money to attract talented people.
- Furthermore, the Singapore government is very politically competent. Much more so than the democratic / republican party. Why is this? Singapore is a free open democracy with elections every 5-6 years. Yet, despite this opportunity , the government has managed to secure the mandate of the people every election. If you can secure the mandate of the people for every election for so many decades, it means that the ruling party is very politically competent and that the people support them (or at least know that they are better than the rest of the competition). this cannot be said of the US parties, which flip flop every 8 years or so.
- In other words, unless you think that the Singapore government doesn’t count the election votes properly, then you should accept that the Singapore government has been doing very well. Furthermore, if you believe that the Singapore people are a smart people, which I do, then the only logical reason how the ruling party can hold on to power is that the well-reasoned, well-considered and objective opinion of the singapore electorate has decided that the PAP governments policies, plans and vision is the most suitable for our tiny island of 4 million Singaporeans.
Dear Grateful PAP supporter,
I agree that the pap has done alot for us. but that’s been their argument all along. that because they’ve done so much, they have a right to govern us. but is this really true? I’m not a pap hater. i don’t hate PAP. i pity them (to steal a line from Dr. Chee).
they’ve certainly brought us a long way, but i really wonder how much further they can bring us. please bear in mind this is a country and not a corporation. run a country like a corporation and you’ll have problems. in a corporation, unhappy workers leave. in a country, what do unhappy citizens do?
IMO, some key failures that PAP have are:
1. failure to keep in touch with ground sentiments
2. lack of leadership. e.g. do not lead by example.
3. failure to recognize the true importance of the opposition and the arrogance to think that they are the most capable, to think that they are the only option.
4. failure to realise that singaporeans are growing up.
If they are really as capable and well-received as they think they are, then open up the press! stop controlling the media! stop oppressing the opposition! stop redrawing electoral boundaries willynilly, creating absurd GRCs! stop having walk-overs! stop suppressing dissent! what are they so afraid of? show the citizens what you are made of and we will vote you in.
I love this country, but i feel if the pap government don’t “wake up their blardi idea” soon, we won’t last as long as we wish. being so entrenched with no danger of being unelected makes them complacent. suppressing opposition such that we have no viable “back up government” is dangerous. power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. This is so true.
Dear Amanda,
I enjoy your alternative views:), but here’s my take on why the government gets elected every election.
some factors which helps them to stay in power (and this is just a rudimentary and incomplete analysis)..
1. GRCs allow them to retain seats by virtue of walk-overs. there just aren’t enough oppositions to field 6man teams!
2. strict campaigning rules, strict rules on donations to political parties, draconian laws on defamation (and never afraid to use it!). all these invariably inconvenience the opposition more than the incumbent.
3. controlled media paints the opposition in a bad bad bad light. dissent is discouraged, even punished.
4. re-drawing of boundaries, increasing GRC size.
ultimately, only a minor fraction of the population gets to vote. pap is assured of staying as government even with the election! perhaps it is more telling how MP Low and MP Chiam has managed to retain their seats despite PAP using hundreds of millions of dollars to entice the residents with their “upgrading”.
“then the only logical reason how the ruling party can hold on to power is that the well-reasoned, well-considered and objective opinion of the singapore electorate has decided that the PAP governments policies, plans and vision is the most suitable for our tiny island of 4 million Singaporeans.” is just too narrow a view.
amanda, I think your reasoning behind PAP’s electoral success fails to take some other considerations into account.
You assert that winning the election implies political competence, but in the current situation where there is only one party with enough manpower to make up the govt, competence is not necessary to win. Obtaining the mandate at every election looks good on paper, but ultimately it is the legitimacy of this mandate that becomes questionable in the absence of viable competition. On top of that, the spectre of GRC walkovers, gerrymandering (re-drawing electoral boundaries), perceived manipulation of the judiciary and Elections Dept will always cast a shadow on this mandate. If you want to see an example of a hollow claim to the people’s mandate, look no further than the recent happenings with our neighbours up north.
This is not to say that they are not competent, but an F1 champion can’t really call himself an expert driver if he was competing on the course against others riding bicycles, even if it were Lance Armstrong.
Dear Amanda,
Yes, so far, so good. But a track record, although a good marker for something you want now, doesn’t mean that it will be relevant in the future. It remains to see if they deliver or not. As to Singapore being a free, open democracy…well, so it says lah. I don’t know if it’s really true, but a free, open democracy wouldn’t need threats, would it? A free, open democracy would work hard to garner the people’s mandate, instead of making threats, and i don’t mean Progress Packages!
After all, it says in the pledge, ‘to build a democratic society.’ Which implies that one day, we will be democratic, but not yet. The government has managed to secure the mandate of the people so far, but the mandate is slipping away slowly. The election statistics would tell you that, and refer to the above paragraph.
Singaporeans hard to please? Of course. Singaporeans who were easy to please would be what the government would want anyway. Furthermore, i wouldn’t trade quantity for objectivity. Statistically, it seems objective. But every man’s subjective view probably would tell you another story. An objective view, statistically, can only be obtained if you interviewed every citizen and PR in Singapore and then calculated the percentages. With Singapore being well-known for a culture of fear, objectivity could be imagined as a propaganda tool. Statistics in the elections LOOK objective, but they don’t have to be. How many walkovers were there would be a starting point for you.
A country gets the Govt it deserves. Until and unless there are good quality folks willing to do things really differently and organise themselves to work the ground and participate to put forth a different voice, we are left with what we have.
All of you clamouring that there should be a better opposition — are *you* prepared to be that better opposition? What would *you* do? Not prepared to put up the fight and with the scrutiny? Well, there you have it. What do you think politicians in the US have to go through? Every minute detail of their lives is scrutinised — did they ever hire a nanny who was a non-documented alien? Did they ever smoke pot or snort cocaine or have an affair 20 years ago? Well, despite all that scrutiny, there are enough people who want to walk the talk, and not just talk.
And by the way, what *is* the talk? This and that is not good enough, or is a bad idea. Well, do you have a better one?
We can clamour for more — but its like nuclear power in the U.S. — “great idea, yeah its safe, but not in my state/county”.
So think through and assess — what would you *really* do differently. Charge less ERP? Sure, nice populist measure. But where would that leave our roads which are already crowded?
Give less COEs? Sure, but then prices will go up and the grumble will be, why so expensive for a piece of paper. Stop all ERP and COE measures? Sure, then say welcome to systemic gridlock islandwide.
Lower GST? Sure, but then sooner or later income taxes will have to go up. Pay less for top Govt political appointees and/or civil servants? Sure, but then let’s see who is willing to fill those jobs. Do we have a sufficient pool of talent that there will *always* be public-minded, good quality citizens willing to take (in that scenario) lower-paying jobs to work for the Govt instead of in the private sector?
The problem is not that S’poreans have learnt to clamour for *more*. There’s nothing wrong with that. The problem is that S’poreans (at least the vocal grumblers on forums) want more, but they want more handouts/goodies/guidance/freebies *from the Govt*. You want more and aspire to reach greater heights and can pull your own wagon, go do it. Make your own fortune. Don’t keep whining that Govt ain’t doing it for you. That’s the thing that sets the Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Sim Wong Hoos apart from the SME owner that opens yet another retail outlet in Sim Lim or Funan selling the same stuff as his neighbour and competing on price in a low-margin retail environment.
I find it strange that there are so many negative opinions about the government aka PAP, and yet each time the elections come around, PAP won by a healthy margin!
The opposition rallies attracted large crowds, and louder applauses, compared to PAP’s. The ruling party even had to rely on supporters brought in by buses from elsewhere, supplied with packed food and drinks, just to make up the number.
YET, when the votes are counted, they emerged winners!
Some blamed the GRC, the lack of suitable opposition candidates, the redrawing of constituencies, the walk overs etc….etc.
Surely, if that was the case, there should be significant wins in all the constituencies where there are reliable oppositiions. Or at the very least a lot of spoilt votes to send the message to the PAP. Do we have them? No.
So, if there is something wrong with the way Singapore is governed, isn’t that our own fault? We complained so much……… yet we do not want to take a risk? Why? We complained so much about ministers’ salaries, yet we prefer our children to be bankers, businessmen, doctors, engineers etc………earning fat pay, but without the adverse downside that comes with being a public figure.
We all know that complaining vehemently here is NOT going to change anything except ventilating our anger. Perhaps many here who feel strongly about the matter should consider doing something, like being an opposition leader. From what was written, I’m sure they are very well educated and qualified.
What about me? Well, I believe if I cannot walk the walk, and talk the talk, it is best I keep quiet.
amanda,
The MM already said he doesnt believe in democracy based on the Western, esp.US model. His brand of ism is paternalism, or guided democracy. Ministers are not servants of the people, but mini-gods who cannot be impugned, insulted, slighted or mocked. Compared this to the days when he was a lone Assemblyman in the opposition bench, crying out loud and waxing about real democratic freedoms and railing again