Andrew Loh

Reading about the Venerable Shi Ming Yi being charged for 10 counts of impropriety in handling funds collected through the Ren Ci charity organisation makes me very sad indeed. (Yahoo News)(CNA)

Venerable Ming Yi’s case follows that of Catholic priest Joachim Kang and the National Kidney Foundation’s (NKF) Chief Executive TT Durai. All three were trusted by members of the public and had collected millions in donations. Ren Ci and the NKF are two of the biggest and well-known charity organisations in Singapore.

While the monk’s guilt is yet to be ascertained, Durai and Kang were found guilty and were given prison sentences.

What is happening to our society, when even such men fail?

On 7 July 2008, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong called for more Singaporeans to “donate according to their means and from their heart”. He revealed that charitable donations to non-profit organisations (Institutions of Public Character) increased by more than 50 per cent to S$820 million last year. (PMO)

PM Lee said this tradition of philanthropy and volunteerism is needed to “keep our social fabric strong and vibrant”. However, with these recent cases of impropriety by the heads of charity organisations, one wonders if the ‘social fabric’ is being torn apart. Will Singaporeans’ generosity now be curtailed voluntarily? Will Singaporeans be more stingy in giving? Can we blame them if they are?

Part of that ‘social fabric’ is the trust and faith which the public places on the people who are responsible for handling public donations – donations which are meant for the needy.

Perhaps what is more significant, and which we should pay attention to, is whether these cases indicate something more deep-seated – that we have become a society where money is cherished above all else, even above the trust and faith which is freely and readily given.

But looking at things in perspective, there are many charity organisations in Singapore who are doing selfless work in helping the needy, the sick and the poor. Thus, it would be sad and inappropriate to tar all these organisations with the failings of the few.

Singaporeans should continue to give and support these organisations.

At the same time, the government and the relevant authorities should be ever vigilant in keeping an eye on these Institutions of Public Character. Here, I would like to commend the Health Ministry for its timely intervention and investigations into the affairs at Ren Ci last November, leading to the present charges against Venerable Ming Yi. The Health Minister, Khaw Boon Wan, should also be commended for his impartial handling of the case in its earliest stages. He had called for patience and fairness for Ren Ci and the individuals involved until the investigations were completed.

“It is important to let the investigators do their job. Let’s not speculate or jump to conclusions because that would not be fair to Ren Ci and the individuals involved”, he said. (Straits Times)

“I wanted to get to the bottom of it because if you leave it hanging and leave questions marks, it’s not fair to Ren Ci. Then people would jump to their own conclusions.” (Today)

Ren Ci’s two medical facilities – one at Buangkok View and the other at Jalan Tan Tock Seng – have a total of over 400 beds. A third hospital, being built near Tan Tock Seng Hospital, is due to be completed in September. The hospital is reported to be $4 million short of its target for the funds needed for this third hospital. The Straits Times said that “MOH is funding $21.04 million of the hospital’s construction costs, which come up to $30.8 million, according to previous reports.” (Straits Times)

While we may feel betrayed or angry over these cases, let us not forget the very good work which the other volunteers and staff at these organisations are doing, and there are many of them.

Yes, the heads of these institutions may have failed and abused the trust of the public but let us not forget that when we give or donate to these organisations, it is the needy, the sick and the poor that we are thinking of.

The onus is on the government to correct the shortcomings in the system which allows such abuse. For us, the public, we should question those who ask for our donations when we are approached.

But we should not stop giving.

For even if these few men fail, we ourselves must not fail those who need our help still.

———————–

90 Responses to “Even if these men fail…”

1. Harry 16 July 2008

I am shocked that he is charged. I hope the cases against him are solid. I hope there is no religious bias involved in the investigation and prosecution of this case.

2. If monks can failed, why not others? I think they better check all big churches too. I bet there are so called “disciples” of some huge churches who may be guilty as the monks too when put under scrutiny. Health ministry should check their books as well. Also all religious institution should also go through throughout checks on their books. Humans are not never holy and they are the most unreliable creatures on Earth. The same with the SELF PRAISE gahmen, who can do no wrong, mistakes and never made bad judgement, lastly blameless just like my dear GOD. Please take a good look at your the share price of citibank, UBS and Merril Lynch all are down 40% to 60% thanks to our stupid arrogant gahmen who invested in them when the turmoil started and ignored advise from all quarters. Now in their desperation, MM Lee even say good years ahead for Singapore. I cant imagined any good can come from the gahmen anymore. I have totally lost faith in them. Just like our Health Minister who praised Durai and Mingyi before their names become as smelly as shit. Mr Kwan also has no eyes to see, only blind leading blind to their downfall. Do we want to follow them? Sinkies asked yourself this question.

FG

Comments edited by moderator. Fever Guy, please refrain from posting sexual references which are irrelevant to the issue.

3. Daniel 16 July 2008

Since the equation, Singapore = PAP
    “Now in their desperation, MM Lee even say good years ahead for Singapore. ”
    rephase it into
    “Now in their desperation, MM Lee even say good years ahead for PAP. ”

Therefore LKY is right. Despite all the blunder and stupidness, LKY and his coffers still get yearly salary increment and perks whether inflation or not, ineptness, bullshit, nonsense or not. There will more ERP, more price hike, more foreigner to charge levy, more money-making scheme coming on its way, more excuse to increase hike to help the poor.
    Now who dare says there isn’t more good years ahead ?

Singapore = PAP = More Good years !
    The perfect equation !

4. TOC,

Truly Sorry. just too much anger when reading her article. makes my blood boils. Thanks for the reminder.

FG

5. xtrakm 16 July 2008

One of the primary responsibilities of the government is to look after the old, poor and the sick. If it had carried out its responsibility properly, voluntary welfare and charitable organisations like the NKF and Ren Ci would not have to carry out big fund raising campaigns or charity shows to raise large funds. And with big money involved, there will be more temptations.

The NKF saga drew alot of criticism on the government. And therefore, they have to do something to demonstrate to the public that they are now “on the ball” and in so doing aim to recover the loss in public trust. Therefore, I anticipate there will be more cases exposed.

I hope that this government should now realize that they must do enough to look after our old, poor and sick. Please do not turn your citizens into beggars and beholden to your meagre handouts. The people had worked hard to build this nation and now is not the time to turn your back against them.

6. Hi Andrew,
    A well written and balanced piece that reminds us to not forget the good that they have done as an organization. People are prone to failure and corruption simply because no one is perfect.

The poor and needy in Singapore are still highly dependent on religious and non profit organizations to meet their needs (eg, provide food, friends, activities…). Many of these organizations are very tight on cash and are badly hit by inflation, so they would need the support of the public as well as government funding for their operations.

The social service sector in Singapore is not getting the recognition it deserves for the hard and thankless (and obviously non profitable) work that they do. The demand for such services keep growing with an aging population living from hand to mouth, an with a growing number of at risk youths. Social workers are underpaid and their intangible (invaluable) contributions to the society often goes unrewarded–financially. The reward they get is the satisfaction of seeing a life that is helped, but that does not put food on the table.

Unfortunately, such episodes will undermine the public’s confidence in VWOs and would affect the donations that are so necessary for their continual service and survival.

7. Wow !!! nowadays a search warrant so powderful, all inclusive, anything incriminating can kena. This guy must be very suay to be caught with his pants
    down, with so many obscene stuffs. How on earth the movies were discovered. Must have been caught watching them or the whole house turned upside down. Lucky , no illegal 4-Ds found or drugs or illegal foreigners or This search warrant must be a ‘search anything’ warrant…or ‘ cannot leave empty handed’ search warrant.
    First you have guilty until proven innocent and now you have this.

8. (fill in the blanks)

It takes a _____ to catch another _____.

9. Daniel 17 July 2008

The problem with people if left uncheck is that they succumb to the conventional thinking that as long as they do something good, it doesn’t matter if they just take money for personal use.

10. Harrison 17 July 2008

“U did mention human being above! I just wonder why none of human being being held responsible for the crisis of US sub-prime. Dont they have audit to do check and balance and advise from Risk Management Consultant ? If this happen in Singapore, we will demand Mininster to resign. ha ha …

Maybe US is different from Singapore … Singapore is viewed to be corrupted..”

Luckiman,

Hoped that you have been following the US crisis closely. Many of the CEOs of the banks involved had been fired since besides those lower down the hierarchy. Furthermore, many tens of thousands had lost their jobs and many hundreds of thousands more job losses are in the pipeline.

This is leading to a severe US recession which is playing out and the full blown effects will surface before the end of 2008. If anyone preaches that Singapore or anywhere else will suffer minimal side effects from this crisis, it’s a damn lie and probably, to mask something that must be hidden at all cost.

By the way, human or system is practically the same. It is the former that creates the latter or the latter being created by the former. In other words, it’s a rotting systemic system that creates the crisis and the ultimate price will be paid by the masses.

11. Observer 17 July 2008

“I made and am making this call based on a very glaring; anybody can see it for yourself, superficialities and these are the OPULENCES of the PLACES OF WORSHIPS of the various Religions. In the cases of Bhuddhist/Taoist, even the Deities are in themselves opulent and made of costly materials. Bhuddhist Monks, Toaist priests, temple staff and temples themselves are resplendent with MATERIALISM. It is very difficult to detect and feel the slightest sense of spiritualism. Materialism overpowers and overwhelms the spiritual feels to zero.

Spiritual men are to be austere, simple and ascetic, but today we see the opposite ad in the case of Singapore, the Police Records show that some of our top clergies are convicted.”

We can’t afford to expose the greatest hypocrisy in our affluent society without repercussion to its ‘greater good’.

To preserve the ‘greater good’, we need to keep some powerful people corrupted or leave them to their hypocrisy?

12. horses for courses 17 July 2008

it’s a universal problem isn’t it….look at what’s happening in the US and others. The televangelists preachers like Jimmy Swaggart, Jerry Falwell, et el. SG is not exempt from abuses stemming from greed. they usually start out with good intentions and with the passage of time, self-interest takes over.
    so what’s the moral of the story….take ownership of your works of charity. at risk of overgeneralising, singaporeans take the easier way out..kinda of like outsourcing compassion. To give up because of some bad hats is throwing the baby out with the bath water….now that would be more tragic.

13. doublejeopardy 17 July 2008

in the name of ‘good’, some people get to practice ‘evil’ on others. i suppose, anything is justifiable under heavens as some are more ‘equal’ than others perhaps?

in life, though all are sinners – it’s easy to nail anyone with religious and secular laws and the powerful are the most vulnerable – but because of the pursuit of wealth, some have been made ‘saints’( ahem, whiter than white) by virtue of their state protected and approved immunity – no one can touch them lah like one poster said here. how to when when the president also don’t know the state of our reserves etc .

apparently, the richer or more powerful you are, the ‘holier’ you become. can a society built on this kind of hypocrisy stand?

a HIGHER standard and demand on the poor, disadvantage and weak( beating them up with our use of laws/policies if necessary to contain them) to live the ‘religious life’ or obedient life but our ‘uncorrupted’ system make it very hard to impute the rich, powerful and ‘TALENTED’ of their greater SIN?

a case of double standard?

14. Very sensitive issue. Going after people clad in monk robes can create the impression that the Govt is anti-religious.

Besides charitable organisations, the bigger fish to fry is the religious organisations where people contribute % of pay whether out of piety or the fear of going to hell and other various reasons.

It is easy to say Gahmen must do this and do that but the contributor is not absolved of all responsibility too.

Having been one of stupid suckers who went around asking for donations for NKF to fund the golden taps and first class executive trips in the guise of study trips, I’ve learnt my lesson. My sincere apologies to those who had contributed via me.

For myself, I’m currently sticking to contributing to the community chest.

15. Terence-C 17 July 2008

There is one thing which I like to add – to those who feel sad… and those who wonder why people like such (NKF chief, Ren Ci chief)commit those offences they did, actually, I would say these people have coloured vision or they are myopic.

The one central thing is in ourselves – its our expectations that failed us. ‘We are expecting this never to have happened’,
    ‘we don’t expect who and who or so and so to do this, do that’.

Where is there written such and such should not happen this nor that cannot have had happened etc etc?

One fine day, will we be surprised, very very surprise, again,if say news that another personality of great standing and popularity commit this wrong that wrong????

Very basic, no need rocket science – any, and all man are greedy and selfish at heart no matter who they are, what position they stand (besides being, kind, patient etc, and other traits). Its only how we exercise self-control – positively or negatively.

16. doublejeopardy 17 July 2008

everyone is subjected to temptations in life. some go weak in the knees when they see branded bags. some go weak when skirts rises. others yield to stealing because of lack. yet there are those who can’t resist to raise their salary to stratospheric level by exalting self importance.

when the weak /lacking/poorly paid / poorly educated gives in to vices or sins sometimes because life has been hard on them, you can be sure our moral laws will come knocking at their doors if not, some self righteous holier-than-thou will feature these losers in the newspapers or on ‘behind closed doors’ .

but for the ‘winners’ or successful in life with plenty of money to spare, hey, they can buy ‘temptations’ and satisfied their wanton lusts in any form, anywhere and any time – no need to steal beg or borrow and get caught lah.

don’t get me wrong, i am not against the rule of laws. but let’s face it. in life, it’s always the regular folks who get into trouble with the laws isn’t it? the poorer they are, the more crime or wrong they seem to commit. but the richer and more powerful they become, well, who dare speak against them without getting sued or risk losing one’s job(money and livelihood) and possibly, future?

so the higher up you climb, it seems that one must learn to abide by a certain code of conduct. at that critical level, one must know to utter sweet words and not offend important people in society even it is obvious to you they behave like hypocritical crap? the better educated holding critical position in society, the more a monkey sees not, hears not, and speaks not evil of some people you become?

let’s face it, some people have earn the rights to call others liars, cheaters or even psychopaths if they choose to. likewise, even in religious institutions, sheeps are taught not to touch ‘god’s anointed’. why? because they are special mah. so special that they can command wealth be sucked from the bottom up. easy money for these talkers who make others pay from their sweat lah.

for the rich talkers/masterminds to enjoy the high life, many have to suffer the indignity. now if the lower or middle class indignant grumble, the biblical laws in which they enact will be handy to keep them at bay.

and the moral of the story?

if you don’t have money and screw around, you may contract fatal chicken diseases . but if you are rich, virgins are for your picking and at your death bed, many shall sing your praises!

ahh..the wisdom of the prosperous clergy!

but if you are weak,

17. turkey 17 July 2008

That reminds me of this story:

A turkey was chatting with a bull.

‘I would love to be able to get to the top of that tree’ sighed the turkey, ‘but I haven’t got the energy.’

‘Well, why don’t you nibble on some of my droppings?’ replied the bull. They’re packed with nutrients.’

The turkey pecked at a lump of dung, and found it actually gave him enough strength to reach the lowest branch of the tree.

The next day, after eating some more dung, he reached the second branch.

Finally after a fourth night, the turkey was proudly perched at the top of the tree.

He was promptly spotted by a farmer, who shot him out of the tree.

Moral of the story:

Bull Shit might get you to the top, but it won’t keep you there.

18. Jackson 17 July 2008

Even monks can be corrupted in the hands of money. This shows that money is root of all evil. I also wonder why he has so many posts ie boss of this and that?

19. fail. fail better 18 July 2008

The man did not have enough political power not to be corrupt. The best criminals, the best practitioners of corruption, remember, are those who are never caught. These are those who have caused a great deal of harm to other persons and society in general, or who have at least profited in some illegitimate way. So I say he is a criminal only because he was caught. There are plenty of persons in influential positions who have done worse. But I’m only saying something that everyone knows.

20. fantastic 18 July 2008

I read the 154 today – and it says Ren Ci will stop giving loans to other organisations. I hope GIC and Temasek will also stop using our hard earned money and give loans to UBS and Citibank and Barclays. Really, what is the difference between the 2 orgainsations. Now I am unable to collect my pension (or what is termed central provident fund) at 55 years.
    And again we are told there will not be any transparency to the citizens and we quietly suck thumb.
    Or follow Chia Ti Lik and go to jail, go directly to jail, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

21. dragon boat 18 July 2008

I am so happy that the board of inquiry has absolved Kwek Siew Jin and other members of any blame for the tragedy. Although the international chapter indicated that life vest must be worn, the local chapter has disregarded the vest rule and allowed this to happen.
    Again in any inquiry from the govt bodies, all the top people are whiter than white. And in the UBS / Citibank fiasco, it was a judgemental error. (Best we cannot see this error until 30 years later, so say Lord KY) – no one is to blame and the MD and board in GIC / Temasek will collect their X number of bonus, while the little people cannot retrieve a cent of their CPF at 55. Cos your minimum sum was not enough to cover the losses??

22. Harrison 18 July 2008

What a systemic rotten management system!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Ren Ci chairman’s startling revelation about loans being extended to other parties was evidence of flawed management of donors’ well-meaning intention. To effect a thorough house cleaning, the roots of the problem must be extricated.

There is no doubt that the whole system is flawed right from the begiining when the chairman confessed that “more transparency and accountability will be practised.”

Lets not be myopic. The entire management is in fact liable for this by-product.

23. Ohmitor-hoot 18 July 2008

What is the Board for ? What has it been doing? Why is it there on the first place?

If the whole Board is embarrassed and shameful, they should all step down immediately and reconstitute a brand new one (like the previous hugh fiasco).

But before that, for accountability sake (even though asssuming they are non-paid volunteers, I’m not sure, anyone can verify on this)and for organisation decency, THEY SHOULD APOLOGISE, perhaps not for wrong doing, if any, BUT FOR NON-FULFILMENT OF DOING A PROPER JOB, THUS ALLOWING THINGS to happen such.

Reflecting on this – how can anyone have full confidence and trust in all of our nation’s institutional/commercial Management Boards???? (sounds more like cup-Boards, ironing Boards, wash-Boards!!!!)

24. I feel for those who are worried that their CPF will be untouchable when it’s time to retire. Please be prepared. The truth of the matter is MC Hammer is right, “You Can’t Touch This!”

Doublejeopardy is so right when he states, “let’s face it, some people have earn the rights to call others liars, cheaters or even psychopaths if they choose to. likewise, even in religious institutions, sheeps are taught not to touch ‘god’s anointed’. why? because they are special mah.”

He ended with, “and the moral of the story? if you don’t have money and screw around, you may contract fatal chicken diseases . but if you are rich, virgins are for
    your picking and at your death bed, many shall sing your praises!”

A very sexual example . . . So sad but so bloody true!

So the poor shall be celibate and the rich celebrates!

Some are even led to believe that corruption is good. “Yes, there was corruption. Yes, he gave favours to his family and his friends. But there was real growth and real progress. I think the people of Indonesia are lucky.” . . . “I feel sad to see a very old friend with whom I had worked closely over the last 30 years, not really getting the honours that he deserves. He deserves recognition for what he did.” So said MM Lee of ex-President Suharto of Indonesia.

Doublejeopardy wrote: “and at your death bed, many shall sing your praises!” How apt!

Thanks again Andrew for this piece and thanks to doublejeopardy for lightening me up with the above.

“Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
    Great men are almost always bad men.”
    John Emerich Edward Dalberg Acton, first Baron Acton (1834–1902)

feedmetothefish

25. Tan Kin lian 19 July 2008

The Government has to relook at its approach towards welfare and charity. Due to inadequate welfare spending, charities are encouraged to raise funds to help the needy.

There is no control over the amount of money that can be raised. Some organisations raised more money than is needed by their beneficiaries. It got out of hand.

Excessive funds have to be managed prudently. The governance structure of charities does not allow control to be handled efficiently.

I wish to suggest some immediate practical mesures:

1. Set a limit on the funds that can be raised yearly by each charity. It should meet their operating needs, which is measured by the number of beneficiaries, and a small reserve for the future. They should not be allowed to raise more money.

2. The funds raised by the charity should be managed by an independent trust company, and not be the charity.

Schools should not be allowed to get their students to raise funds for these charities. They can only raise funds for the school. Some teachers have complained that fund raising is adding a further burden to their teaching load.

26. Oscar Choy 19 July 2008

Dear Dragon Boat,
    I think your linkages and line of thinking has it all wrong, I mean specifically CPF minimum sum at age 55. What has this CPF moneys which is your moneys in your very own CPF a/c lodged onto the CPF Board got to do with GIC or Temasek?
    GIC/ Temasek are separate bodies/entities…. to the CPF Board which is a body set up by statue/Parliament. Your CPF moneys when you reach age 55 is divided into OA/SA/Medisave/Retirement a/cs. Your CPF moneys earned interests as stated in the CPF Act and guaranteed.

Surely, many people can/cannot meet the desired Minimum Sum because of many varied reasons BUT this has nothing to do with GIC/Temasek making profit or losses.

27. fart lee 19 July 2008

i thought there is a even bigger corrupted organisation in singapore??? NKF & Ren ci is only the tip of the iceberg. go read more shit times to know who. anyway, singaporean deserve it for being so divided.

28. dragon boat 20 July 2008

Dear Oscar Choy.

I do not write well. But I recommend this post.

http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/2007/09/before-i-die.html

Yes, for all purpose, CPF has nothing to do with GIC / Temasek losses with Suchou, Citibank and UBS. I really don’t know.

Then again, how do you know if the govt will not tell us? And pointedly tells us that they will not give an account to the citizens – or 1) we will clamour for more returns for CPF 2) Be angry at the losses.

Suck thumb.

29. Disgusted 20 July 2008

Even the misdeeds of someone totally unrelated to the government and when caught by the government, can spark off an anti-government tirade! Well-done, losers!!

Well Done! You have all proven yourselves to be so very credible, when one day you have actually real proof against the government. You would have lots of other like-minded fools who will agree with you anyway. :)

30. Disgusted 20 July 2008

If I ever leave Singapore one day, it would not be because of the government. It’d be because of how exceedingly stupid its people are.

31. lunatic 20 July 2008

I dont find this news suprising at all. looking at our society now, all young children are orientated to monetary and luxury rewards when learning. Even our government are comparing our civil services pay package to top private sector, for fear of losing talents.

It’s going to set a very bad and dangerous precedent in my own naive view. Occupation in serveral sector should be promoted with enthusiasm, pride and patriotism and not monetary rewards. Top civil services, teaching, social servicies, uniform group,legal, medical services etc. should never be associated with monetary returns.

Imagine that all the above and many more professional are all now attracted financially, who would be serving the country with patriotism, who would teach for love, who would do social works for that little return, who would want to protect the country one day when opportunities and payroll in private sector are more lucrative, who wants to be a judge when you can be a top QC charging top $, which doctor would treat the poor??????

This place is one of the world most liveable place in my view, if you can afford the luxury… cause everyone talks about money. We seen so many religious leader cant even resist the temptation!!!!

This good government in its attempt to bring Singaporean to the First World have made many of us lost our love, enthusiasm and passion for our work..

32. Do not feel disgusted lah ? 21 July 2008

“80) Disgusted on July 20th, 2008 4.50 pm Even the misdeeds of someone totally unrelated to the government and when caught by the government, can spark off an anti-government tirade! Well-done, losers!! ”

Well, if you like to claim credit for all the good that happens here whether directly or indirectly. Naturally, when bad happens, you should know where the finger will be pointed at, again whether directly or indirectly.

Remember the following : -

“” This could happen if voters became bored and decided to give the ‘vociferous opposition’ a chance – out of ‘light-heartedness, fickleness or sheer madness’.

‘In five years, you can ruin this place and it’s very difficult to pick up the pieces,’ he told 650 participants of a dinner forum at the Shangri-La Hotel. “”

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_251688.html

33. Want to know the secrets of Ming Yi Monk?
    Want to know the secrets of Ren Ci and the blue films?
    Want to know the secrets of… …

Hahahahahaha…

Man… always a disappointment.
    They love to play god when Buddha plays man.

Human rights. Yeah yeah…

34. kangkong 21 July 2008

Kang showed that though he preached for people to do good,
    even he can commit the ultimate sin.
    Kang served his sentence and is not repenting ….I hope.

:)

35. kangkong 21 July 2008

oops! typo typo , paiseh paiseh…
    I meant Kang served his jail sentence and is noW repenting…

36. Harrison 21 July 2008

81) Disgusted on July 20th, 2008 7.40 pm

“If I ever leave Singapore one day, it would not be because of the government. It’d be because of how exceedingly stupid its people are.”

Looks like this writer needs to visit IMH and stay there for a couple of weeks to stabilise emotion and frustrations. Leaving Singapore would be doing Singaporeans a big favour though.

Either you are not coming to terms with this fact or you simply freak out over this incident.

37. Something tells me that this will not be the last we hear of such failures. It is a systemic problem that has roots in how several public funds are managed even by the government.

While some funds do trickle down to those that need it (per the original intent of the funds), it is totally unacceptible that the few that has been entrusted with custodial functions are more focussed on accumulating personal wealth.

38. Dead Man Talking 25 July 2008

Yeh, accumulating personal wealth is the nation’s pastime …………see how much they earn

39. Tue, Apr 21, 2009
    AsiaOne

The ex-chief of Ren Ci Hospital revealed today that he owns three properties in upscale districts and owned a BMW in Menbourne, Australia as recently as two years ago.

According to Chinese evening daily Lianhe Wanbao, Ming Yi’s response to an earlier question about his lavish lifestyle was, “While helping others, I have to take care of myself as well.”

The monk, 47, is facing four charges for making an unauthorised loan from Ren Ci’s coffers to his ex-personal aide Raymond Yeung in 2004. Yeung faces two charges related to the same case.

When Ming Yi broke down several times as he took the stand today, Wanbao reported. He told the court how he became a monk, how be became abbot of Foo Hai Ch’an monastery and how he set up Ren Ci.

The court proceedings also revealed that the monk has three properties under his name. The properties are located in upscale areas at Orchard, Stevens Road and Holland Road.

According the Wanbao report, the properties were purchased with the help of a wealthy woman from Brunei as well as contributions from devotees. Ming Yi also revealed in court that he lived in one of these properties with other monks when the Foo Hai Ch’an monastery was under construction.

He also told the court that he is one of the listed owners of three other properties, including The Cornwall, a condominium at Holland Road. These properties were purchased using Foo Hai Ch’an monastery’s money and were meant to be investments, Wanbao reported.

The monk also stressed that none of Ren Ci’s money was used in the purchase of all the properties.

Lianhe Wanbao also reported that Ming Yi once owned a BMW which he purchased in Melbourne, Australia.
    Ming Yi told auditors in December 2007 that the payments made on his credit card to BMW were not for car parts as previously claimed, but for the purchase of a car. The payments were all made in Melbourne.

But when the auditors questioned him on how he could arrange to pay for a car by credit card, Ming Yi changed his statement, saying that he forgot which car parts were purchased at that time.

The monk also added that the BMW in question was sold in 2007, and that the car belongs to him. His then personal assistant Raymond Yeung, owns a second-hand car, which was subsequently sold.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne…21-136618.html