Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 22:13 - 64 Comments
Feeding our babies to the economy monster
Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor
This article is inspired by what Mr Wang wrote on his blog – a very thought-provoking entry titled, “Human rights and the Government baby incentives, Part 1”.
It led me to wonder why exactly Singaporeans would want to have kids, if they are treated as merely an economic necessity.
Mr Wang argues that the Singapore Government’s motivation in wanting to raise the birth rate is “purely economic; the aim is to generate a steady stream of future workers for Singapore Inc” – if Singapore views human rights as an ‘invention of the West”, having no relevance to us in Asia. Mr Wang cites the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) to illustrate an interesting perspective on how human rights actually can inform national policies.
I agree with what Mr Wang says.
In his first National Day Rally speech in 2004, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, said:
This is a matter of values, not of incentives… We want people to have babies because you want them and you love them. It’s part of a happy family life.
Despite those words from the prime minister, however, Singaporeans have become cynical about the Government’s reasons. “It’s not because having kids will provide a happy family life”, they might say. “It’s to bolster our economic competitiveness and indeed, our economic survival. After all, no babies means no workers for the future, right? No workers means our economy will be affected.” That’s how the thought process goes. That’s what the Government says all the time. It’s all about the economy. The sweet-saccharine citation of “a happy family life” is just packaging and PR.
This is further reinforced by ministers’ public statements and Government policies – such as allowing the influx of foreigners and immigrants. Two years after the PM said it was a “matter of values”, he admitted, in his 2006 National Day Rally speech:
We are short 14,000 babies… We have to bring in new immigrants. If our population shrinks, Singapore will face a very serious problem… To grow and flourish, we must welcome those who can help us to reach our goals… That is the way to build Singapore for Singaporeans.
And of course, we all know that the only goal that matters here in our tiny island is the economic one, above all else. Why? Because, according to Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, “as long as we have a dynamic economy, we can solve our problems.” (Straits Times). Do you understand now the Government’s obsession with raising the birth rate? Think: Babies = future workers = economic growth = dynamic economy = solving problems. That’s also the Government’s and the People’s Action Party’s (PAP) political legitimacy and relevance – if you’re not able to solve problems, who would want to vote for you, right?
In a nutshell, if we have money (economic growth) “we can solve our problems”, and the PAP can stay in power.
Meaning lin life
Therein lies the conundrum; The Government sees Singaporeans as workers for the economy, while increasingly Singaporeans want something more out of life than just being feeders for the economy monster.
The result is a declining birth rate because Singaporeans do not see anything meaningful in slogging away all their lives on the economic front. It’s a seemingly-endless struggle and competition which makes them hesitate and then decide against having kids. After all, if you are tired from the struggle, why would you want to put your kids through it as well? Where is the meaning in life?
That’s the key phrase: meaning in life.
It is so often nowadays that I hear my friends wonder what their lives mean. It sounds almost like a crisis. “I work 15 hours a day and I still am not sure if I will be able to retire. So, why have kids? Just do what we can, eventually die, and that’s it,” one said to me. “Why should I worry about the survival of the economy and what-not when the Government sees us as just workers for the monster? Life should be about more than just work, work, work!” says another.
A Government as obsessed with economic performance as ours cannot understand such sentiments. But even if it does and tries to come up with the solution, it will be an economic one. Thus, we see all sorts of economic incentives being offered, including subsidies and all. They have all failed.
See Singaporeans as human beings. Period.
Perhaps what is needed to solve the problem of a declining birth rate is to see Singaporeans first and foremost and always as people, human beings – and treat them as such. It is, as the prime minister said, about values.
It is about how much we as a nation value Singaporeans as human beings. Period.
And if we do, we will include considerations of the value of human rights.
As Mr Wang said:
In fact, babies are very much like Temasek’s investment in Shin Corp or Merrill Lynch. One day, they might generate good returns, but that will have to be in the very, very distant future. Meanwhile, they are just a huge, constant and bleeding economic loss.
This is not an obstacle if you view babies and parents as humans, and by virtue of being human, automatically having human rights (like those under CEDAW).
Maybe then Singaporeans will see meaning in their lives and would want children with whom they can speak of the amazing wonder of the experience of Life.
At the very least, the Government should pause and think about things outside the economic and not dismiss things like human rights casually or because of political or hegemonic reasons.
I think Singapore has reached a point where it has a lot of economic success and now it has some surplus, and it’s time to start thinking about the more human element.
- Dr Angelique Chan, Sociologist, National University of Singapore. (Channel NewsAsia)
If we are going to emulate Swedish policies on raising the birth rate, shouldn’t we also consider the Swedish approach to human rights as well? As Mr Wang so eloquently argued, the two are not mutually exclusive.
Indeed, it could be what saves Singapore from oblivion.
————-
Read also: “Foreigners bolstering Singapore’s birth rate: report” by Reuters.
Cartoon by My Sketchbook.
——————
64 Comments
Dear Andrew,
There is nothing surprising in this. It is vintage PAP ! For the PAP – everything has to be in terms of dollars and cents or numbers and grades. From your O level results to your paycheck. To the PAP – there can only be material success. Nothing else is worthy of merit……………
Sad to say – but Life is far more complex than as envisaged by the PAP. The intangibles in Life are just as important – if not more – than the measurable aspects……
Hi Dr Alwi,
You are right but one of the consequences is that the more able will leave. Just yesterday we were told that 1,000 singaporeans give up their citizenship every year. That’s quite alarming because these, I suspect, are not your average Singaporeans.
This is what happens and more will leave as our middle and upper middle class segments become bigger and larger. People will leave because they are looking for a meaningful existence. That’s the underlying reason – it’s always been so since humans walked the earth.
You may even call it a spiritual thirst. A thirst for something deeper. Sadly, all we have here in S’pore are superficialities. We boast of cleanliness, incorruptibility and so on and we dismiss things of the spirit.
Ironic then, isn’t it, that this year’s National Day theme is “Celebrating the Singapore Spirit”.
I am still trying to figure out what that is.
Hi,
I would like to point out that being treated as human and contributing to the economy are not exclusive. Singapore loses a lot of people to the States, and down here, the immigrants are people US wants to power its economy. Why would one choose to feed one economy over another? It is the standard of living, respect of individual’s rights and various other things.
Having said that, I should ask, what would you suggest be done then? Cultural changes are the most difficult. Germany protects women from loss of job 2 to 3 years after birth of a baby. This makes she can take no-pay leave for 2-3 years without failure of losing her job. I know someone with a job in Germany for 13 years (due to the birth of her 5 kids)! Can we do that? Can you as a manager accept such a subordinate?
You will find, dear friends, that human rights groups/organisations are also about the dough. In a money-mad world everything is fair game, even human rights. It’s all a process of negotiation. For the dough. Human rights activists, like other activists, can be reimbursed for their attention to be directed elsewhere. Do not be deceived by the rhetoric, friends, just as– since you’re on your way to becoming activists– no one is deceived by yours.
Could you? It starts with how you see any person. Of course if you saw the person as a statistic, then no, no one would accept such a subordinate. But if you saw the person as a PERSON, then you would accept it.
More babies = more voters… perhaps. The next generation to come might be made to remember clearly (by their parents and the government) who gave their parents the money for their education and enrichment classes, from preschool to whenever. This could well be another strategy to buy votes. (Ohh lalahhh, crossing the line of defamation here? Hahaa)
Anyway I see this place being more and more crowded every single day… the saddest thing is that parents nowadays just pop more babies but never think of how to spend more time with them. The more babies they pop out, the more hours they have to clock in for overtime. How do I know? Well I take care of those kids and I clock in free overtime hours as well…
It is all about the money man… it sure is! :P
To be honest, there’s a time to make a living, and then there’s a time to make other things. Most of the time however, and for most, it’s THE time to make a living. What is not quite understood is how procreating is supposed to be ‘purely economic’.
This is a good post. Becoming a parent is a huge step: it’s not a relationship which should be taken up unless there is real personal meaning to it for the potential parents, and no amount of politicians badgering or tinkering with (quite literal!) motherhood statements can make a decision that would otherwise be wrong for some individuals thereby become right. The people most closely involved in the decision are the parents themselves, and their judgment as to what is right for them has to be paramount. For women, it is particularly intrusive – indeed, literally, invasive – to be browbeaten with the necessity of having children, when it may not be appropriate in the circumstances of the family in question, at the time in question.
- Jolene (http://www.glass-castle.org)
Singapore has become an extremely stressful society to live and work in. The moment, a baby is born; the journey of hard life for him just begun. His parents, presumbably both working will be too busy working to pay up their mortgage loans for their condominium housing and other commitments. The baby hardly sees their faces. Then he begins to attend child-care at the age of two. His life starts to be busy with tuition, enrichment and enhancement courses throughout his childhood. He finds himself streaming after streaming in schools, then junior college and then local university? or overseas university? Later, he competes his job prospect with FT and gets frustrated because he is less favourable than them.
His parents chased after the 5 Cs and now he has another C – “children” to make his life more stressed up. Please spare him and give him a break!
Some parents believe they spare children by not having them at all. Metaphysically absurd but totally understandable. While i like students and i like teaching, i truly wonder if Singapore is the right place to bring up kids, if we want them to grow up healthy. Mens sana in corpore sano – a healthy body is the most important but having a healthy body doesn’t mean you have a healthy mind. And in Singapore, a healthy mind is probably something hard to find.
Actually i suspect that those who have a healthy mind are accused of having the wrong attitude in Singapore. Hmm…
There are 2 perspectives I see :
(a) it seemed that the policies attempting to raise the population growth has been ongoing for quite a while :-). Now, given the dismal results, one can draw only 2 possible conclusions :
(1) It is ‘impossible’ in Singapore’s context to raise the population growth from
Singaporean babies no matter what means are employed. I don’t know
enough if there’s a quiet resignation within the public or some policy
makers on this.
(2) I am assuming we still have those who believe something can be
done. If we believe so, then there is already a need to revisit why previous/
current policies aren’t/ weren’t working. When we sit in the chair as a policy
maker, we must have been armed with extensive analyses, and
persuasive arguments for our case why a certain policy should be there.
The fact that there are other countries who have fared better on TFR, meant
that either the thought processes (of the policy makers) WEREN’T ROBUST
or this was never treated as the overriding priority.
If again, we give the policy makers the benefit of doubt that ‘this issue was
already treated with overriding priority’, then it’s time the relevant authorities
do an open book system, dishing out the entire account/ thought process of
how each of the family policy was arrived (not what was done as reported).
(b) I can understand that an issue such as TFR is not totally within the
government’s control.
However, in the private sector, many a time, we are given key performance
indicators (KPIs) to OWN and DELIVER on aspects we don’t have control
(entire or even partial) over. KPIs (qualitative or quantitative) are the main
elements for ACCOUNTABILITY AND PERFORMANCE.
Perhaps, we can have disagreements on KPIs, and agree to disagree but
to have a policy made/ program implemented, without at least 1 KPI in mind :-
), will raise the issue of pegging public sector payscale with private sector.
For those who are concerned we may be merely raising baby numbers, apart from providing quality upbringing, my view is you are NOT likely to see the TFR go up, before this issue is addressed :-)
Oh yah and regarding PR…Gahmen just got praised by some dude about good PR in his dissertation what. But then again, it’s ONLY a dissertation…which could imply how desperate the MSM is for praise.
Authoritarianism for Idiots, indeed.
Oh yes, another ‘C’ which the Government pride it for bringing economic growth – the CASINO. You have brought this vice nearer to my doorstep that I FEAR, FEAR
the greatest harm is imminent to be upon the society.
Hi TOC, oi you forgot to quote this bombastic quote from a genius ar :
The Quote of the day can be :
“…Make sure that our young people are hungry. If our young people are not hungry enough, bring in hungrier ones from overseas. Make them feel hungry, increase the hungriness index.”
just to be a devil’s advocate here…
Babies and economically-biased education system. Its not only Singapore – its a problem in every major Asian city – HK, Tokyo, Seoul etc. its tough to raise kids without having them to face the pressure of a stressful education system.
The issue is even more acute for Singapore because we, as a nation, have nothing else except for our people (and the money we have in the bank).
I think the govt is just being its usual pragmatic self in this aspect.
the problem here is again the point of the govt elites not being in touch with the people. They still think most Singaporeans have the “survival of the nation first” in their minds. They are still in the “listen to us – we know whats good for you. just do as we say” mentality.
And to me – this is the saddest part of our current leadership.
And Andrew, as you mentioned, the govt thinks that dynamic economy = solving problems. I think the more important equation is:
dynamic government = solving problems.
Hi Andrew,
When i was a kid,i loved Spore more than anything else in this world,that includes family,friends,hobbies,other miscellaneous forms of interests,unfortunately,as i grew older,serving NS & coming out to work n study on a part-time basis,i realized,being a kid wasn’t that easy,my childhood was spent in days of being bullied,i thought after i grow up,since the ruling coalition was aggressive in its strategy of “making things happen”,i thought,maybe after the age of 26 or 27,get married n have 2 beautiful kids,a boy n a girl,IT WASN’T MEANT TO BE!
I’m 30 this year,a swinging single,trying to figure my way out on how this nation,that i grew up in is now only KEEN in making money,money,money,we aint Donald Trump,Warren Buffet or Mark Mobius for that matter!Even Hollywood artistes are adopting kids just for fame n fortune,my point is this,as long as the elites are in power n control,every birthrate that has been mentioned,is all about filling both pockets with lots of cold-hard cash,irrelevance to the fact that although Spore has progressed beyond its means,our attitude towards life has become oblivious to the environment,yes,kids are an investment for our future,they will be the leaders of the next eons to come,but for now,@ this moment,its money that walks n talks!
Money does not buy the citizens happiness,prosperity,peace or wisdom in life,its a necessity but not slavery,we can’t buy love with money,people can be bought for a price,@ what cost?Their livelihood,i beg to differ!To all that has stated their opinions her in TOC,WHY SO SERIOUS?INTRODUCE A LITTLE ANARCHY IN THE ESTABLISHED ORDER,ARE WE AGENTS OF CONTROL OR CHAOS?LETS PUT A SMILE TO EVERYONE’S FACES!
PS : Andrew Loh,a great n wonderful article,don’t let it up,keep going dude!You have my support for all times!Cheers
The Dark Knight – James Michael Parthi.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 24 Jul 2008
[...] Prosperity versus individual rights. Human rights, democracy and the rule of law in Singapore – Mr Wang Says So: Human Rights And The Government Baby Incentives – Part 1 – TOC: Feeding our babies to the economy monster [...]
The Dark Knight – James Michael Parthi.
As the Dark Knight, perhaps you can save Singapore from the Joker that running the country as money-making machine that greatly benefit the his dynasty. His henchmen are on rammage feeding propaganda and rubbish on MSM and net, destroying anyone that get on their way.
Singapore has become Gotham city for the rich and elite who has the way to play god themselves.
this place isn’t ideal to raise a kid.
i was a teacher before, and know how ridiculously competitive and inadequate our education system is.
international schools here aren’t like that, and from what i hear about schools elsewhere (yes even in Malaysia despite the various discriminatiory practices), students get second chances, third chances, if they choose to take certain steps towards that. nobody gets streamed into severe “castes”, and certainly no principal will tell “hopeless” bunches to drop out or go vocational schools.
i know the system here is out to teach youngsters that nobody gives anybody a second chance in life. but the truth is, you make those chances happen by the positive actions you take. my former students, especially those in certain “castes” feel caged in and helpless — they misbehave and become defiant because they have no way to channel out those feelings. school for such big numbers of “casted” students is a torture. we are fortunate that our disenfranchised youth have yet to lapse into the mindless street violence like in the UK.
I personally think the main issues and questions are:
1) Would I want my kid to live under such environment? Because whatever the parent decide, the kid will have to bear with it until they are old enough to decide where to live. (just like all of us).
2) Raising a kid is a big decision especially during adverse time where parents are constantly having to face work pressure, financial pressure and what not. What-if both bread winners looses their job with one or more young toddlers to feed and bring up? The parents may be able to take the heat, but the young should not be put throguh such agonies. Most younger parents today will want to make sure they are financially sound even before considering (if they wanted to have one let alone a few). And also, hardly, there are enough leisure time (besides rest days so to speak) due to work load and pressure. How to spend quality time with them? Leaving the toddler to a maid or entrust the duty to parents or parent-in-laws is not the best way to raise a kid.
3) Then there are a lot of singles who decided it is better off staying single. Again could be due to financial reasons and stability of their livelihood. It is unlike Singapore in the older days. Such concens are less.
Well, these are at least the case cited in a Hong Kong survey.
Singapore today is unqiue. One of its kind (no where else can you find another such great city!!!). The policies that the government had set previously has come back to haunt them now. Until the citizenry felt that they are really well taken care of (not just being treated like commodity or digits ~ well you kind of felt this sentiment is commonly echoed), the decline birth rate will persist. Financial perks alone will not resolve the issues.
Life is not all about paper chase and money. There are so much more intangible things in life. But the Singapore is just not the best place. At least not for the next 15 years until the citizenry (those that can and are of production age) felt it is worth to continue to populate.
As long as we equate people to economics, as a country we will go down the “slippery road” , of haves and have nots, elitism etc.
In any society, or …….isms, history has shown us there must be a balance between pursuit of wealth and happiness, think all of us know this and the numbers to migration are showing and telling us something.
All the statements by our leaders always have a double meaning and we are smart enough to see through their game plan, which is basically to grow economically and at that only a small minority benefits, if you’re smart enough to tap into this.
More and more I see that this balance of wealth and happiness is also equated to the morality of life and living, some of you would term / equate it to human rights. For example, how high should our HDB flats be priced, at a certain price I think it becomes a moral issue with so many corresponding social and financial issues. Again the argument, what is the correct notion of human rights for Singapore. I think Singapore as a country has “achieved” it, that is economically but at a great price to the people, and this is where the social and moral aspect of running the county comes in.
Our country and leaders has failed in this aspect, many times over.
Why, as mentioned by so many of you, we are treated as digits. No problem,
if one does not perform well, just replace with another sucker, dangling the money carrot. But money is not and will be not be everything to everyone at some point in their lives.
What will we become, a desert not of immorality but people devoid of human feelings ( truly no time for love! ) , that’s why the baby rates are falling, devoid of creativity and ultimately devoid of meaning in life. Some things got to give.
As to copying another model, it has never worked for us, we need to find our own model, country making great sacrifices and at some point, trade off some of that economic success perhaps. Will it cause our country to fall beyond a third world status, I don’t think so.
Bringing in foreigners is not the answer too, because their children will eventually be sucked into the system! Vicious cycle ya?
Do we have to give up earning more money ? Not at all. The system must allow us to balance our lives. But I think the consequences of not balancing life and living, will be far greater than not having any money at all in the long run!
I tink someting buay zoon here. The misssstake is to belive that only gahmen lurb money. Hackchoally there are many many many citizen also lurb money. So dose many many citizen swure very lurb gahmen.
There is not so much haffective diwide, more of co-ewolution.
Wat is co-ewolution? Means zeng hu say “peoples, you many ting cannot have. Cannot anyhow demostrate, cannot anyhow talk. But at least can make lui zway zway, buay pai lah!”
Den people say:”OK!” Notice that peoples dat pai say “OK!” because no choice mah, since no choice my-swell make lui zway zway better then nothing.
And den many years passed already, people slowly expectation is that gahmen must ensure they make lui zway zway. All the other seemee “lights” kah “hweedom” jiam see bung zit bih – chin cai dan boh lah!
So gahmen under stress – must ensure peoples gots lui, otherwise dey no happy. The idea is must economy keep going ups, have many many jobs to pay many many lui. Wats fast-fast way to ups economy? Have many many people lah!
So must encourage peoples to make baby to make more lui to make more baby to make more… positive hweedback mah!
But people very gek seem leh, they everyday wake up squeeze MRT like sardine, from ginnah time fighting competition with other Singaporean, now grow up already still have to fighting FT – whole life fighting for donno wat. Lui looks more but buying less tings, no hweedom, no powder, no lurb, no happiness so cannot see hwuture – how to make baby? Anyhow shotgun ah?
So gahmen boh pian finds more FT to fill the lumbers, but when more FT come in, eben more competition and peoples of course cow peh even more. Dong buay deow already!
So how ??? So how???
You tink all dose “siren majority” who drive Mars-dee car willing to speak ups meh? Dey swure siren siren one, tak keh ho peng you ahnie jweh nee liao, no poblem what.
Hi,
There may be a shortage of new babies.
To simply ‘recruit’ from external seems too simplistic.
Please consider that there is also likely a shortage of land to accomodate a much larger population.
Cultural, living standard, language and believe differences could lead to friction or social problems. also, dilution of national identity that takes a long time build and accumulate.
Who is responsible to handle problems caused by influx?
Is it simply opening the door wide open so as to address the shortage?
Is it done at anyone’s expense?
Are elites spared of direct competition from the influx?
If the bottom level of the hierarchy are the ones most impacted,
what are the measures to help those not born with silver spoon where careers paths are not pre-designed for them or simply let them handle this huge influx of competition?
If I am an elite, I would not mind the influx of cheaper labor as competition in the labor market is good for the bosses.
Although many have migrated and are migrating, and singapore may not be the ideal place to bring up their children, many many simply have not choice because they are not qualified to migrate.
Migration requirements (not ‘AND’ condition but ‘OR’):
1. Skilled and Wanted
2. Tertiary educated
3. Rich
4. Open minded
5. Adaptable like our fore-fathers.
6. Think out-of-the-box
As you can see, not many qualify to migrate.
Was it in the 70’s that they made a boo-boo with their over zealous Stop-at-Two population strategy? It was a gross miscalculation and the (dis)incentives worked too well that it changed people’s mindset on having babies. There was a U-turn under Goh to have 3 or more, If you can afford it. And in the past few years we have imported, what, 1 mio foreigners?
They are rewarding themselves based on Economic performance KPI’s so do they care for you as an individual? Happiness is not measurable in KPI’s. How else do you explain our poor/dismal/shameful performance in intrinsic measurements of happiness yet do so well in per capita league tables?
This is a ‘country’ club. Once you stop paying your dues.. you are not welcome.
Although it is a fact that at least 1000 migrate each year, and many of these believe that this is not the ideal place to bring up their child,
migration is not for anyone .
To successfully migrate requires either of the following or a combo of the following:
1. Adaptability like our forefathers.
2. Skilled and experienced and most importantly your skills are in demand or not.
3. Rich or not
4. Open mindedness
5. other reasons …
As shown above, Migration is not for anyone.
Even then, many have or are migrating.
Why ?
Daniel,i do strongly agree with you of what you’ve mentioned in your opinion,the problem is even The Dark Knight has to deal with issues first before striking it big,as you are probably aware,as a fellow Sporean,what symbolizes is the people of this nation,not the money nor the economy!Even advocating constitutional universal human rights is definitely the correct way to do so,therein lies the mentality of the ruling coalition,wipe out the anomalies,accept the system the way it is,they will listen your feedback n inform u,”We’ll look into it,taking into other mitigating factors for consideration,nevertheless,we’ll get back to you asap!”Does this statement sound familiar?I have nothing but contempt for empty promises n words that rhyme like the ones mentioned above!
Being a local in a “cosmopolitan” city,Spore is a little bit of Metropolis n Gotham city,if you ever have had thoughts of getting married here in spore,think again,the local women are materialistic,demanding,expect the man to think,act n run like a TERMINATOR,or maybe even like Brad Pitt,Tom Cruise,Richard Gere(perhaps),or be one of the richest billionaires like Bruce Wayne,or maybe even Clark Kent,women nowadays look for metrosexuals,not an alpha-male(i belong to this category),nor a heterosexual!They expect men like us to be perfect in all things!
We aint Gods for goodness sake,i’m only human like Neo from the Matrix,that’s who n what i am,just an ordinary joe trying to make his way into this planet called Earth,trying my very best to fulfill my destiny,but fret not,all of us are mortals,not HIGHLANDERS!Maybe we men should ply our trades elsewhere!All of us have options,either DOWN UNDER,USA OR EUROPE,NZ OR MIDDLE-EAST!Choose your options carefully!Feel free to comment,fellow sporeans,after all,National Day is around the corner,how does that make u feel?I feel like puking my guts out!TOC IS VERY COOL,I GUESS I’M DESTINED TO DO THIS FOREVER!!TOC IS TRULY INCORRUPTIBLE,THATS WHEN AN UNSTOPPABLE FORCE MEETS AN IMMOVABLE OBJECT!
The Dark Knight – James Michael Parthi
RH: Dear 23,
1. You wrote, “For example, how high should our HDB flats be priced, at a certain price I think it becomes a moral issue with so many corresponding social and financial issues.”
2. Excellent point. Many have also written excellently on how the HDB [read LIE KY LHL PAP] have cheated us with humongously high HDB prices that bear no relation to their costs of construction. They have written that ‘NEW flats are priced only slightly below RESALE prices, which new flats then sell for very high upon resale, thus setting the benchmark prices for even NEWER flats, and so on, never endingly’. The HDB then hides such obscene profiteering through sleight of hand accounting.
3. That’s common knowledge nowadays. What I would like to point out is that SINGAPOREANS ARE TRAPPED INTO BUYING HDB FLATS BECAUSE THEY CANNOT RENT.
4. The reason is simple. My mother in law’s new flat in Jalan Membina near Tiong Bahru MRT was estimated to fetch S$2,500 pm rental fully furnished. That’s more than most Singaporeans earn pm. So how can they rent? Thus, they have no choice but to ‘buy’ a HDB flat BECAUSE THEY NEED NO CASH OUTLAY PM SINCE THEY CAN USE THEIR CPF. Thus, most of us, especially the new couples, HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO BUY A HDB FLAT NO MATTER HOW EXPENSIVE. We are trapped. Even if a 4-room costs S$1m, and it is becoming not farfetched, we still have to buy. And since the LIEgime controls land and development charges, private flats are made even more expensive, so cannot compete with HDB. That’s the plan.
5. Any wonder couples think twice before childrening, in order to ’spare’ any offspring such an entrapment and a life of servitude paying off the HDB housing loan.? We are trapped. By the LIEgime that has closed every other possible option.
6. There is 1 simple solution that may restore sense back into this totally distorted ‘unmarket economics’. Disallow CPF for housing. Insist on cash. Then, magically, prices of resale, new, flats and even private flats, will all tumble. And we will then restore some market economics back into the housing market. Currently, everything is distorted by the LIEgime for its own interests. When we have money in CPF and we are then ‘allowed’ to use this to pay for flats, we do not pay cash pm and so cannot see the real value of our money vs the flat asset. This distortion distorts the whole mechanism of society from having children to spending on all other things. It creates problems of having enough money to retire, which most people cannot, since most of their money goes into that pigeon hole flat. It is probably the single greatest distortion in the proper functioning of society and as such, probably the single biggest error of the LIEgime. But enough said. I hope other Commenters can pursue the logic. Maybe another day, another time.
We have alot of money, why not go overseas buy babies then pay parents to raise them up? Hahahahahahahahahaha…
Hey! Better than just sucking in foreign workers, right?
You see Robert, there is something sinister about the HDB and CPF connection which occurred to me recently. Why are the flats especially under the DBSS schemes prices so high? And rightly said too, the never ending bench marking.
You see it is the entrapment thing and also to suck out of us our CPF, legally!
It is the right hand, HDB taking from the left hand CPF and eventually this money of ours getting lost in the GIC / Temasek tangle of funds, within the same family ya?! This scheming tool cleverly uses the masses greed and National Day indoctrinations, buy, sell over the years, “assert enhancement” thing by GCT. Who pays part of our CPF, employers too. Like I said this is now a tool to get hard earned money from citizens legally. Implication are these too, among those you mentioned, our children will continue to pay for their parents expensive HDB flats ( by that time, it makes no sense for them to buy! ) and again perpetuate the vicious cycle.
The same would be for private housing. Why is the development cost so high! They have done their sums, figures do not lie, people lie or rather politicians!
Whoever thought of this clever tools really takes the cake! You ask any lower / middle class person who are servicing their flats, how much will they have for their retirement, basically nothing! Of course the policies for our CPF draw down has changed too or keep changing to suit this tool, all are interconnected , right hand giving to the left hand.
So I ask the question again, has the government crossed the line of morality in so many aspects of running and failed policies over the recent years?
Another question that I would like to raise. By deferring the $4 billion worth of construction projects, is the government running out of liquid cash and they foresee bigger problem if they go on with a few of them even on a limited scale. So where does that leave Singapore? I see very serious financial problems for the government of Singapore in the very near future. How much money have we lost so far with the scale of the problem in the US?
good idea elfred…hahahahahahha
Hi Andrew, well written. But, one figure might be wrongly quoted :
You mentioned that we heard 1,000 Singaporeans leaving this little dot every year….
If you read correctly, in the ST, WKS said ‘about’ 1,000. He didnt say its 1,000
And as you know, who can trust these figures of ‘about 1,000′?
I can safely assume 1,500 every year, OR 5 LEAVE SINGAPORE EVERY DAY should be more like it. If not why the PAP is soooo desperate to bring in aliens ????
“We have alot of money, why not go overseas buy babies then pay parents to raise them up?”
Instead of buying babies, why not buy cheap ministers from oversea ? They are cheaper and more talented as our gahmen always say blatantly about foreigner. So let them eat their own words otherwise the gahmen are lying. Anyway, does it matter ? Gahmen lie and still get away with and move on. Just ask LKY over the IBA case.
Solution: Replace the Ministers and expensive clowns.
ACACIA ,
you are right.
Most of the time we are dealing with paper money and that is why the gahmen never feel any pain about losing and exploiting it. billions lost over investing of old frailing banks and you know why ? Because it is paper money !
Why have kids and put them through the grind for the enjoyment of a few elites.
First was the social engineering where women with 3 O levels were encouraged to have more kids. There was an outcry as parents with no O levels also produced President Scholars. Then they revert to economic engineering noticed the super schools are all within the Bukit Timah Belt – as the majority of houses and apts cost over a million bucks the assumption is it would create a more elite breed of kids. So u have genetic, social and economic engineering.
Next was the enslavement – buying a HDB flat and paying thru yr nose – now
so that it ties u down to paying for a lifetime. Yes 14 hours workday till you are
in your 70s – WORK TILL U DROP – is there a life after this
and then Fighting with the foreign talent for your job as your job is being jeopardise because u are expensive compare to them where your salary can hire 2 or 3 or them.
This article hit the nail right on top why u feed yr kids to the monster when u dont have a life yourself.
They say HDB is highly subsidised.
Maybe all believe this ?
I have no comments. sssshhhhh…..
In an emerging or under-developed or developing country, the people work for the economy to allow future generations to enjoy fruit. By then, when the country is developed, the economy works for the people.
In SG, after almost 50 yrs of 1 Party rule and unchallenged policies, people R still slogging away for economy, and earning wages eroded by normal inflation, never mind the 7-8% now.
The ills of too much emphasis on money has been talked about way back in the 60’s and 70’s when Singapore made a concerted push into economic development. That after over 40 years the pap are still emphasising so heavily on money is a clear indication that they have not evolved onto a higher level of political management. I guess it is easier to meet monetary objectives than non monetary ones. That is why Singapore may be an economic success story but when it comes to nation building, it is a failure. Singaporeans are less attached to the country now than in the 60’s and 70’s when they are poorer. Having the same person for 49 years could also be the reason for this sad state of affair. The Taiwanese only started to evolve towards democracy and human rights after
the death of Chiang Kai Sek.
The real reason for the govt postponing $1.7 billion worth of public building projects: http://littlespeck.com/content/economy/CTrendsEconomy-080724.htm Someone should report her to the Problem Gambling Hotline.
Hello, my80ctsworth~
Yeah, that should be good joke.
But if gahmen really wants to pay me $1m a day to raise precious babies, why not? I can sub-contract them to apu ne in indian mamas like what privatisation does.
Actually a better idea is to just grant the Singapore men to India or China to have sex with the prostitutes, then you can have many babies and you can control the race composition by increasing or decreasing grants for the type of hookers, and the men will probably vote PAP every year.
Better than to throw billions for nothing. Only the real f$$$ bring in babies.
Since Singapore is cultural desert and everything is money money money, I believe no need to worry about raising babies. Hungry babies will grow up as hungry money faces pretty naturally. And we’d have a competitive society of many many Singaporeans after more money to contribute to the grandiose economical success.
Hahahahahahaha…
Yeah, just a joke. But if gahmen really thinks this is viable, why not? I’d volunteer then to contribute to the production of eurasians. Persian babes will be fine with me. Hahahahahahahaha…
The one good thing here is this, it costs lesser to produce babies overseas in general than in Singapore where rental is high in boom and probably still high in slump. Hahahahaha…
There is nothing wrong in Singapore’s push for economic development. After all we all want to be richer and live a comfortable life. However, our government seems to get two things wrong. They seem to think that 1) Singaporeans will be happy as long as money and that 2)Singaporeans aren’t thinking feeling individuals but just cogs in the booming economic engine. I remember that during my scholarship ceremony a prominent minister told us very unabashedly that each and every one of the scholars was a million dollar investment whose returns Singapore’s future would depend upon. I guess I was supposed to feel honoured, but my overwhelming feeling was that I had been taken for a ride. What difference is there then between a scholar and a high performing stock?
The reason that the government frequently cites is that we’re a small nation and we have to be practical. Human resource is the only resource we have after all. But we’re human first and resource second.
It’s was an Honest Mistake. Let’s move on.
Firstly I want to be clear, I do not support PAP blindly and am not defending their actions. But with regards to this topic, I have this to say.
The fact of the matter is that money drives the world. Whether you like it or do not like it. The poor and lower income will always exist in every part of the world not just Singapore. The middle class will always be squeezed and the rich and elites will always be the ones having all the fun. That is just how it goes, any part of the world. Anyone watch the TV program,”The World’s richest people”?
No government can come out and proclaim that they want to have a 3rd world existance for their citizens and just have riches of the heart and spirit. You sure you want a Government like that?
Every country and every politician will come out and want to push for more money, same story with the recently concluded Taiwan elections, what is Ma’s tagline? Build the economy…..
The thing people forget is that migrating to lower cost countries will stretch your money and migrating to higher cost countries will put you in the same struggle as you are facing here. I know a well paid individual who recently retired to Malaysia as the cost in his home country the U.K. is just too high!!!
It is not a true reflective picture that in Europe, Australia or USA, life is definitely better as the basic foundamental principle of hard work and thift and contentment will still ring true. People who went over to Australia still face money issues despite the “better” work hours? Anyone knows what the tax rate is?
The reality of the world is this, money talks and bullocks walks. Has never changed from the time of the Emperors to current times.
The biggest issue with the current regime is the lack of regard or understanding of what actually happens on the ground as opposed to the drive for more money.
Policies made in ivory towers and public bodies working to the betterment of GLCs like the transport providers etc is the core issue here.
Talk to anyone who has 3 kids and starving about higher aspirations like nobility and riches of the spirit, they will tell you give me more money and I will forgo that. Or they will be happy to make more money if they have the opportunity for employment.
Every economy strives to be an economic machine, but the key is what is on the other side that balances the scale.
Meaning in life is really what you make of it, if the rat race is too tough then you have the right to quit. But you face the problem of money later in life. That is just how it is. You either pay now or later, but eventually you gonna pay.
We are all caught up with money, that is why many here is writing with such conviction and passion about the meaningless-ness of it all. But how many of us are willing to drop out of the rat race now?
I readily admit that I am caught deep in the rat race and my only motivation is to earn to give my kids chances which I did not have, which I know money can buy. At the same time, all my free time is devoted to my kids and family, so what gives? I have no time for myself…. Is that meaningless? Not really to me.
Good luck in the pursuit of your Happyness as the Will Smith movie goes, happiness is not something one can own but we are constantly in pursuit of….
Hi Enough,
Why the recent ERP hike when inflation is all time high?
eureka !
“The reality of the world is this, money talks and bullocks walks. Has never changed from the time of the Emperors to current times.”
No one denies that money talk, but to go to extreme like our gahmen, then it this statement is hogwash. If indeed one accept such reality, why not the world accept that the corruption exists without transparency and accountability, and that nepotism exists from company to company ? Why even go to election knowing that PAP will win anyway. Isn’t this reality too ?
We accept it to certain extend but not to the extent of our gahmen who virtually protected by the own law they make. The world not perfect and it is the human to make it a better place. Don’t be deceived by the gahmen that it is pragmatic.
If gahmen is that pragmatic, why do you think your employer won’t be pragmatic too ? Come on, don’t preach the worldly view. It don’t have to be this way and it can be changed.
The article and postings are great food for thought for all in Singapore.
That material acquisition and greed are basic instincts of humankind is beyond doubt. However for a government with such overwhelming influence over the population to propagate it day in and day out will only lead to the current situation Singapore is in – a wealthy nation without a soul, a nation where the income divide is as bad as third world dictatorship, a nation where a small percentage are very very rich and the vast majority have to erk out a living.
Hi Daniel,
I may not have expressed myself clearly enough. My point was the rat race and the feeling of overwhelming pressures does not only reside in SIngapore, but the world. One of the biggest issue we face is not merely the regime of governance but also the “keeping up with the jones” type of thinking which many who are complaining about how tough things are. I know many who have plentiful and complain about not having enough.
Look around yourself and you will know what I am talking about. People who strive to upgrade their cars, watches, condos etc etc. This is seriously causing alot of stress and pressures. But you have to then ask yourself who is actually causing the stress?
On your point, “If indeed one accept such reality, why not the world accept that the corruption exists without transparency and accountability, and that nepotism exists from company to company ? Why even go to election knowing that PAP will win anyway. Isn’t this reality too ?”
The fact is that corruption do exists, it is just different in the shape and form that it exists. Nepotism too, ever been to a company whose entire board and management team bears the same surname?
Transparency and accountability are incorporated to tighten the process but frankly I am sure you have heard stories of how someone perceived to be incompetent getting promoted – transparency? Someone screwing up major but nohing appears to have happened to him/her.
As long as we are talking about humans handling the issues, this will always come up.
PAP will win in every election is actually a choice which 66% of the population accepted so frankly that is not much to pick here. If you are part of the 33% then tough, cause as much as you do not like it, you have to accept that this is the democratic process. as much of a joke it is.
Finally, employers are pragmatic being they are profit driven first and foremost, even if the government is not. Regardless of whatever the government view is, the corporations will be profit driven and pragmatic. The great employer is more a marketing tool than a fact.
That is why there is no such thing as a lifelong job, there is no need for nonsense like loyalty. That is why you are suppose to be your HR manager and leave when a better offer emerges.
My most crucial point in my post is to share that, envy and discontent is as big a factor as the economic regime in the creation of pressures and stress, More importantly, do what you can first by thinking through what your needs are and work on those as oppose to waiting for the macro picture to change so that life is “better”… Cause if like you say, the macro picture indeed changed then we would all somehow find something else to be angry about if we have not sorted out our internal thought process.
Respectfully,
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 30
[...] – Mr Wang Says So: Human Rights And The Government Baby Incentives – Part 1 [Recommended] – TOC: Feeding our babies to the economy monster [Recommended] – TOC: Singapore has an independent [...]
Hi Ace,
Not sure if you are able to clarify roughly how much of the entire population does the 66.6% really represent?
Could you enlighten please.
While walking in a park, I overheard 2 joggers saying “we will never loose because of the GGRRZ”
I wonder what that mean?
Hi AStore,
Apologies dun think anyone will be able to give you a good or even rough representation of what the 66% actually represents, as you correctly point out, with the GRC system, it is impossible.
If there was a single seat to single ward type election, then I would think we will see more of opp in parliament.
The 66% i refer to is whatever is reported in the 147th ranked..or is it 160th now?
Again, by correctly pointing out these flaws would anything really change for you and me?
My post is more to touch on the things we can change internally first as opposed to waiting for the macro picture to change. As one of the major point that came out of the initial article was the meaningless-ness of life in tis economic regime, and the more important thing from my perspective is to manage myself and create the balance of needs and wants if you do not want to be caught in this mindless rat race….that is all.
If you read both my post you will probably get that, or if you dun, then it must be because of my poor command of english…apologies for that.
I have worked and travelled in a few countries and just sharing what I have both seen and experiences shared by friends and family. No one is truly happy regardless of the regime if your mind is not tuned to accept happiness.
Over the years, I have decided that unless you are the agent of change e.g. Dr. Chee, or you are able to give up on everything to fight for the cause, then frankly endless anger and rantings really get you no where.
Some old man told me this thing which is quite interesting, he asked this question,”What is fair and what is equitable?” His answer was, “As long as you are able to receive some benefits from whatever it is then it will be fair and equitable, if you are not one of those who gotten any benefits, then your immediate response would be it is not fair!!!!”
Take the case of the annual NDP tickets fiasco, people who receive the tickets will be happy and say the system is great while the others who did not get the tickets will think otherwise.
By managing your internal thought process, you will then be able to find your meaning in this or any regime and if you decide not to participate, the machinery will still chug along with or without you.
That is all….. Have a good weekend.
mr government, get real. can you seriously raise a generation of people who want to procreate on a diet of fads, idol worshipers, ears plugged to ipods, minds filled with cinematic fantasies, xbox games, manga dressing, hip hop techno trance, flip flops, travel savvy or wannabe culture vultures, disrespectful to elders and parents, shopperholics, eat and eat, club and club, constantly paper chasing, performance graded, pigeon holed, sardine packed in trains in the most populated and smallest island in the world with no natural resources, labor intensive society, little rest possibly no retirement from work, people stymied by a single political party, kiasu and kiasi, tissues ‘choping’ office workers, swarmed by and dependent on opportunistic foreigners many with no intention in becoming citizens, aging and becoming hazardous to its highly demanding workforce, also proud and arrogant, thin skinned leaders who enjoy suing and behaving like cowards, no time and money never enough to care for their aged parents, high cost of living with little welfare, middle management plagued with frauds etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc well….
i will be surprised that this materialistic, individualistic and self obsessed generation would care for anyone but themselves to seriously think of having more than 2 kids, if at all, to care for and nurtured.
in short, the government is basically wasting tax payers money on those who , even without incentives, will be mad enough to subject their kids to the city way of life.
the old saying that the second and third generation will destroy the hard work of the first generation may actually come to pass.
face it, to achieve the high life enjoyed by the minority elites, the majority must pay the ultimate price of foregoing the fundamentals of life in order to be offsprings mainly to fuel a voracious consumer orientated society in which this wealth is derived and built on for such ostentatiousness and hegemonic existence.
only a simplified life can restore the fundamentals of living.
some people living in ivory tower are having too much fun to admit their high paying jobs, wanting to be the best, protecting their legacy and being the model city etc maybe the cause/s of declining birth rate or quality of living of the people.
oh, the irony of it all?
Forget about having babies in Singapore. Let the govt bring in more FTs, so that one day, they will totally be replaced by FT-PAP.
This baby issue is a paradox.
PAP wants more babies to keep themselves in power.
But it takes an alternative government which values the individual to really encourage the people to have babies.
So the PAP must lose power in order to have more babies. It cannot lose power and increase power at the same time, thus the paradox. Simple.
Many sentiments expressed in the articles are similar to what most feel. That we are working harder for less, that we are working harder just to survive.
I, too, feel this way.
There is very little to look forward to after slogging day in and day out and certainly this climate does not want to make more babies who would drain more resources away.
Nicholas Lazarus,
are you the one in YPAP or just someone with similar name ?
My friends, my fellowman, a baby plays no part in being born in Singapore. But you are responsible for that decision. Look at what’s happening in the world today, especially so in this country. Unless you have absolute confidence to be able to provide a good quality of life and an escape route for them in case this country fall into the dumps, will your children turn to you one day and say,”Thanks alot for bringing me into this world.”
Sorry for throwing a spanner in the gearbox, but somehow I really do not agree with Mr Wang’s angle of argument. I know Mr Wang is a staunch supporter of human rights. However, in my opinion, linking it with the baby issue is an opportunistic attempt on Mr Wang’s part to bring on the human rights issue.
If one wants to broach in the Human Rights issue, that is OK. Let’s talk about it on its own merit. Linking it with the baby issue muddles things up.
What if the government says, “Let’s just have babies and forget about Sweden.”
What then? Would Mr Wang and his supporters now agree to have pro-baby policies and ditch this human rights stuff?
Dear Daniel,
It’s the YP that I am a member of (and not YPAP).
There are about 2400 view, perhaps some are repeats, but only 61 contributions and same people too I guess. How about those who haven’t contributed, give your 10 cents worth and it might be worth a million dollars!
Through your views we can change the system too and bring the rest, your friends, family and colleagues to a high political consciousness at the next election! It’s worth more than a million dollars, your vote!!
Interesting insight too in ST forum today about having babies too, have a read.
Thanks to gov’s brainwashing & manipulation, many locals’ idea of leading a good life is PSLE -> O Levels -> A Levels -> Degree -> High paying job. C’mon, you don’t need a formula to live a full & enjoyable life. Only you can find true meaning in your life. There are no fixed formulae. To be bound within a formula is to trap yourself in a box. Why do that?
The only aim of this formula is to create highly educated adults to slog their lives away working & contributing to the economy! As The Hurricane says,”What’s up with that?!”
Big population means more pay GST.
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 125 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 125 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

Not just about babies, what we see for our education system today (primary to university etc) is also the result of this overriding objective…
Continuous failure to address these discontents may result in a backfire eventually- being destroyed by the very objective that was intended to “safeguard” our survival.