Thursday, July 17, 2008 8:04
Going Swedish
In Quotes • 859 views • 11 Comments
We have decided our first baby will have a Swedish passport, and not a Singapore one.
Heng Siew Cheng (Ms) (Straits Times forum)
11 Comments
Dr Syed Alwi
By all means, if you have a chance to live in Sweden or Canada etc.. go for it. Singapore’s policy is not that pro family in housing, child care esp for middle income earners. HDB flat is too expensive, you have to fork out cash about 50k, to buy a flat in a resale market.
Now you know why Singaporean women like to “dey” ang moh men… not only taller, more hamsome and got more lui but also provide escape plan!
Poor Singapore dah bor… not only do our gahmen hate us, but Singapore women also see us no up.
If got no powder to migrate where got future for children?
Where got? Where got?
Just joking lah.
James
Gg Swedish? Not surprised. Singapore is more like a hotel.
If possible I would send my children abroad somehow, and tell them not to come back …. just yet. Since Singapore is always geared for the external and the outside without the internal and the inside, then it makes sense that children get a chance to see the outside world of possibilities, meet more people and find more opportunities. I am not talking abt glass ceiling or discrimination in other countries, those things are a given everywhere including here.
The idea is that it is better than being subject to abuses to human dignity in your own homeland. For life to be meaningful and sustainable, it has never been just a roof and bread on the table. Even if my children decide to get involved in aid work to the real poor and suffering, I would still say it is better compared to the mess that the charitable sector is in as highlighted over the years and lately.
Everyone knows that but adults in general and the govt just learn to shut up and move on. Even Confucius has a wise advice to rulers – treat yr subjects as a father would treat his children. Anyone who cares should go and listen to the lyrics of Luka by Suzanne Vega … you just don’t ask why and you just don’t argue anymore.
Though irrelevant here, but anyway, in times like these days, no one is really safe. Even America will not be allowed to be an exception in the days to come. IMF is going to do an audit on the American system though it may not be like the photo of the former IMF guy meeting Suharto in that shameful photo-op.
It could still be better in Sweden. Those who know how Norway celebrates their national day should take note – it’s family and children oriented. Not march parades, not military hardware, not politicians at the centre stage. Even university commencements always get it wrong – it is about the graduands and their parents, not grand speeches and multimedia shows……
Yes yes we must tink of the children! If have ang moh husband then maybe your ginnah will look hamsome like Fei Xiang or sexshie like Kristin Kreuk… wah lau eh!… queue also long long ah.
More future! Like that got more future!
Lim Leng Hiong,
not really, depend what kind of ang moh. I heard there was a spore girl married to ang moh, over there kena bully, the ang moh very abusive, treat the girl like sex object, every day drunken (alcohol is cheap there), come back very rough and threaten the girl to have 3 some. in the end, the girl run away. Not necessary ang moh is good. !!!
Aiyo Tewniaseng… don’t make me more gek seem lah… tiong kim Singapore women dowwan Singapore dah bor liao.
They always say Singaporean man got no self con-hwee-dence, speak soft, stand kiau gu, cannot tink outside box and always scared-scared one.
Scared who? Scared gahmen, scared boss, woman also scared – because he got no powder mah. After NS, who dare? Speak loud-loud meh? Smoke outside yellow box meh? All those self conhweedence King already kena DB already, don’t play play ok.
Ang moh stand taller, not scared zeng hoo ciah yee lim deh, got more self conhweedence somemore got “See Hor Yee” I mean CEO, lui zway zway.
Come on lah, cannot win one, girl sure choose hamsome lui zway zway one with the escape plan. Rough so what? Rough means got self conhweedence what, only gu niang speak soft-soft ok.
Singapore dah bor say: “I lurb you!”
Singapore zah bor say: “I don’t lurb you!!! You where got CEO? I wants to go Sweden jiah kendang! Only nobodies gots left behind. Tink about our CHILDREN!!!! TINK!!!!!!!”
No LURP how to have children? Many many incentive also boh lor eng ah…
Laniaz
In the 60s and 70s the HDB subsidised Singapore Citizens (many of them naturlaised ones) to buy the pigeon holes.
They begged you to take the flats at maximum S$40K only.
From the 80s those of us who had been born, grew up in HDB flats and served National Service were told that HDB cannot subsidize anymore.
Prices were now more than S$100K .
Which means only one thing the govt could not care less for the younger generations of people.
Wait a minute, these youngesters are the future middle aged citizens and then senior citizens.
So when you got married , you had to decide whether to weather this until the
govt will change the policy or do what many have done : Leave Singapore
It is now more than 20 years since the 80s nothing has changed in terms of policy as well as more and more of us have left or prpearing to leave Singapore – our birthplace we are supposed to call our home.
That is very interesting
aeki
Sweden sounds like a great place. The standard of living there I hear is higher. They don’t have summer all year round for one thing, a good number enjoy flexible work hours, the cost of living there is moderate, the Swedes need not trade if they don’t want to, being self-sufficient like a lot of other countries; they’ve got a constitutional monarchy I believe, they’ve got brands like IKEA and of course, not least at all, they’re home to the Nobel. Sweden, definitely, has a higher standard of living than that of Singapore.
ACACIA
Not all marriages to the ang mos will go to the dumps, it’s quite unfair to say that.
There are ups and downs in all marriages, whether mixed or same race.
What is sad here is that the government is not listening or don’t want to listen.
Should I say too, hopeless MPs. Two issues here high priced HDB flats and high cost of bringing up children. In a recent survey too, the PR are pricing us out of the HDB market. My fear is not for our generation but for our children’s, what would the price of a HDB flat cost then?
Sweden has a population of 9 million people although a larger land area of 449,964 sq km , and the government can come up with social policies to make their people stay and at that happy too, bearing the high taxes. I am totally ashamed with our government, highly paid and yet devoid of ideas to run our small country with a small population. How loud more should we shout or rather how many more will leave before they wake up.
Ang mo or not, men will be men. ;)
Thing here is, there are some people out there who do not believe in protests or even speaking out against unfair policies… or even policies they do not agree with hence their ‘only’ way of escaping ‘unhappiness’ is to get out of here… men are getting out, moving away, not only the women. Hey but some Caucasian men choose to settle down here with their Singaporean wives so… comeon man, not all who marries a foreigner flies away!
Actually the quote above is enough for the government to start reflecting upon themselves and their policies. People don’t go away because they do not appreciate the ‘good effort’. People go away because they think they are not powerful enough to change things… etc.
Just my two cents.

The Government has to step in and give subsidies to lower the cost of living in Singapore. If the Government is prepared to lose billions in overseas investments, I don’t see why they cannot provide some subsidies………