Thursday, July 24, 2008 11:09

Hunger is the key

In Quotes • 923 views • 23 Comments

Make sure that our young people are hungry. If our young people are not hungry enough, bring in hungrier ones from overseas. Make them feel hungry, increase the hungriness index.

Philip Yeo (Straits Times)

1. Money doesn’t attract ‘talent’: It merely attracts greed

23 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

GS
Jul 24, 2008 11:46

Why not bring in some truly talented FT to replace some of the folk in our Parliament too? Let our extremely well paid ministers get the same exposure and have a run for their money.

At least there could be some decent solutions instead of increasing costs or wasting money (re: renaming Marina Bay exercise) etc…and letting us taxpayers pay for the mistake.

Maybe they not hungry enough too? It is very amusing to see themselves conveniently excluded from this issue completely unlike us – mere mortals.

Dr Syed Alwi
Jul 24, 2008 13:23

How can Phillip Yeo say such things ? What kind of people do we have in Government ? Is this the kind of people which the PAP is so proud of ?

Sorry – but I do not respect people like this…..

Dr Syed Alwi
Jul 24, 2008 13:24

Dear People,

Lets make Phillip Yeo’s children “hungry” ! Lets see whether he can stomach his own medicine !

filip head screw driver
Jul 24, 2008 13:24

many overseas are hungrier than hungry willing to work for less than a million.
Not a bad idea.
Lets see some walkie the talkie and leading by example leh.
Enough of talks. Lets do it.

Bravo
Jul 24, 2008 14:41

Still hungry but no job ! FT are hungrier ?

Conjob
Jul 24, 2008 14:45

About time Philip Yeo makes some prickly comments. Not in the nature of someone arrogant to keep quiet for too long. LOL

We folks seem to think that our political leaders’ hunger for success is about serving the people well. How wrong !
It is all about hunger to make money…money…and more money.
In this respect, we cannot doubt our politicians’ hunger for success.
Philip Yeo serves such political leaders and we know where he is coming from.

Singapore is run like an exclusive business and do you folks agree with the situation ?
If not , then we folks must have this extreme hunger to make Singapore a country.
Even Prickly Yeo will admire such hunger. LOL

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 24, 2008 15:06

Birds of feather. That is all I like to comment on PY. By the way, PY=Psychotic Yappy?

I need to be hungry (recite 100 times)
Jul 24, 2008 15:14

“2) Dr Syed Alwi on July 24th, 2008 1.23 pm How can Phillip Yeo say such things ? What kind of people do we have in Government ? Is this the kind of people which the PAP is so proud of ?”

This is precisely the problem we are facing.

Yes, we should be hungry. But are we the ones keeping all the fruits of doing the hard work . While they come out with faciful methods (legal construction) of “sharing” our fruits (via taxes / fees / etc where public services are so profit oriented to the extent that sometimes they have so much surplus which should have stayed with us in the first place for our important spending priority) with well crafted logics by “top notched scholars” whose only “value creation” is to think of ways of diverting value from us to them.

All of this with the possibility of being outcompeted by hungry FTs because of their delibrate act of having liberal FT policies in an existing environment which we have helped to build with our sacrifice in the first place.

It is one thing to know it already without being told while swallowing the insult, it is quite another for it to be rehashed in such a talk-down manner.

“1) GS on July 24th, 2008 11.46 am Maybe they not hungry enough too? It is very amusing to see themselves conveniently excluded from this issue completely unlike us – mere mortals.”

Here, GS talks more sense. Why not subject themselves to the hungriness index also. Preaching is cheap and people will be cynical if practice is not put in place properly.

GS
Jul 24, 2008 15:40

In this ‘democratic’ society where meritocracy rewards and anything else less than the best punishes, all are men are assumed equal to the task and opportunity, regardless of background.

Except….some are more equal than others.

Honestly I am really thankful to be born complete without any sort of semi-serious/serious physical or mental handicap and definitely do not envy those who have had the shorter end of the stick. The odds have already been tipped against their favor since birth, don’t need no gahment to do them in further.

Hunger to each person is different. Some need to feed their stomachs, others their mind and some their spirit.

Who is he to define what people should hunger for just because life has worked out for him? Since he feels that he is a product of that successful formula, everyone should also apply the same in their lives?

What nonsense. Do something more noble – make a public contribution to those families in SG who cannot even afford to put 2 meals on their table each day.

Empathy does not have a place in our society for the simple reason that it has little economic worth.

Daniel
Jul 24, 2008 16:21

“Make sure that our young people are hungry. If our young people are not hungry enough, bring in hungrier ones from overseas. Make them feel hungry, increase the hungriness index.”

Oh, Yes, he can talk and talk as usual , can the public ask to replace him and many of the minisers who are not hungry and take the easy way to $$$$$ ?

Can we say the same for Philip Yeo and the ministers ?
“Make sure that our gahmen are hungry. If our gahemn are not hungry enough, bring in hungrier ones from overseas. Make them feel hungry, increase the hungriness index.”

Don’t do to others what you won’t do to yourself otherwise you are just TCSS (TalkCockSingSong)

hairy
Jul 24, 2008 17:35

Of course our young r hungry, but to force them to eat shit, they wld rather leave the shit to the cheap FT.

hummy
Jul 24, 2008 18:13

Daniel,

If I am someone in the ‘boss’ category,
I would love the idea of a super competitive labor market in terms of over or huge supply of labor / workers. Its an employer’s paradize.

But not when you are not born with a silver spoon with career path pre-designed for you, as an example of super well-off individuals. That is, when you are an employee and get to enjoy intense foreign competition.

Its good to have some competition but not too much like when the door is wide open and anyone with a cert of some sort can compete with you for your rice bowl and possibly add pressure to wages.

edn
Jul 24, 2008 18:18

Not too long ago in this site, “Whose future is Shining, Really” at the main stories section, a commentor (comment #204) gave a vivid example of a football club, to another commentor, Amanda, a like-miinded of PY’s school of thought. That example illustrated that s’poreans are pushed to its limits because of this hungriness index, and eventually being replaced by the brutality of such system. That comment was contributed by Lim Leng Hiong – fit the profile nicely, of how our establishment is creating a ‘get-out-if-you-can’t’ environment, driving s’porean to the extreme when many have to give up. We are working ourselves to exhaustion, in the expense of our family and divorce rate are at it highest!

How much more we have to sacrify! The older Sporeans who have contributed half their entire life in building s’pore, now find themselves replace by the so-call ‘FT’. This is completely inhumane.

zhummmen
Jul 24, 2008 20:04

Phillip yeo’s statement should be directed at the garment. They are not hungry enough and that is why they need million dollar pay .
Ask Bush if he is interested for half of our garment’s pay after his term ends.Bush should be hungry or maybe any one of the presidential candidates.
Now you know the truth how they think of us. No wonder thousands are leaving.
You can give to the jobs to the hungry ghosts, phillip yeo.

study_and_make_people_rich
Jul 24, 2008 20:49

You are born > study > more study > work to gain experience > work to make sure your boss becomes richer > else you loose your rice bowl > retire > work at Mc Donalds > until > you are dead.

red_dot
Jul 25, 2008 0:10

It’s best these top civil servants talks less and be seen to do more for the society.
Asians are well known for their hardworking attitude and Singaporeans are no exception. Our people work hard inspite of the inflationary cost of living and mostly making ends meet. The high GDP growth is the testimony of the society’s high value add.

A leader must lead and not to indulge in playing heros and glorifying themselves While the people are working evenings, weekends and public holidays these elites are found in fine-dinings and golf coursrs. So do your country men a favour and be more appreciative of them. They are paying your salary don’t forget.

Ex-Civil Servant
Jul 25, 2008 2:03

red_dot is spot on.

money issues can even makes the hungry ghosts displeased with Catherine Lim and vice versa.

time is running out – cash in and cash in if you can, how else but to bench mark the high salaries- how else but to use it to keep people on your side.

it is all wrong from the top down, and all anger from the down up – throw in the FTs and an implosion is pending. Add on the GST, ERPs, etc, and more will begin to move out to other parts of Asia.

in the end all is left are the FTs – they can afford to pay the salaries to experience the best and selected few. soon they will ship out too.
Good Luck

aquarius
Jul 25, 2008 2:28

PY is talking cock!! What ’s kind of English ? PAP MP’s English…..what’s a shame! Don’t treat us like a retard!

Lai CF
Jul 25, 2008 3:57

Nothing original on that remark as it is straight out of Dr Goh Keng Swee Economy Re-structuring in 1978.

Can somebody brought outt hat article of The Straits Times on how to keep Singpaore workers working uring their productivity years instead of indulging in a hedonsitic lifestyle due to easy money when NWC recommended 20% to 30% salary increment.

Give you a clue…it was when HDB prices started to double, triple….to its obscene value as of today.

Lai CF
Jul 25, 2008 4:13

“An organisation, no matter how democratic in theory, was not so in practice, because of domination by those in positions of authority”

Robert Michels “Iron Law of Oligarchy”.

izard
Jul 25, 2008 7:59

Going by his comments, a lot of MPs and Ministers should have been replaced.

Kelvin Poh
Jul 25, 2008 9:57

So one must be ‘hungry’ in order to make more babies. Otherwise, our population growth will suffer a negative growth rate. In addition, ‘hungry time’ ought to be right to make a brilliant baby who would feel hungry 20 years later…..

Is that what Yeo’s logics are??

chen sj
Jul 25, 2008 12:14

There was this piece of report in lianhezaoboa, 24-07-2008, page 12. I did not find it in st. it went like this:

“To be officers of the edb, they must be able to bullshit and lure those investors. I asked a scholarship recipient, have he ever been to bars and red light districts. His answer was no. we don’t want bookworms that only immerse themselves in libraries, and don’t know what lives are. Or else, Singapore will become a library, and not a country. What we want is elites that are brave, aggressive, know how to react fact, and full of self confident.”

py talks about scholarship holders

Sorry for the bad translation. Could someone help to put it right? But that was basically what reported.

What was this louyemchong saying? He expects those school leavers and graduates to have first hand experience in getting prostitution, and must be bar goers? Presumably, he will ask our young daughters, would they prostitute themselves in order to gain a contract. Or worst, are they willing to have sex with one of the louyemchongs for a scholarship with edb. Parents out there, be sure don’t send you children to edb, unless you don’t mind, or they are already having high score in the py’s criteria and that is their own chose. What value this louyenchong trying to advocate? This rubbish is from one of the top civil servants. There are always many other ways to convince our clients, besides taking them to bars and get them prostitutes. And how offend he practiced these in his early days. Though I am not a religion guy, it is totally wrong in the value I hold to prostitute oneself for a profit or return, absolutely unacceptable. And what did he mean “live” in his words? yes, I do try very hard to squeeze a little enjoyment out from my poor live, but never have I once had in my mind to enjoy that kind of “live” he mean. Really disappointed in these suckers.

Again, sorry for my poor English. Wish everyone here well.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook