Monday, July 28, 2008 15:32

Promote entrepreneurship – but what kind of stupid rule is this?

In Uncle Leong, Uniquely Spore • 2,526 views • 38 Comments

Leong Sze Hian

If your wages have not been catching up with the transport fare increases, what do you do? Become an entrepreneur, as the Government has been encouraging people to be.

In the report, “PM Lee says public sector should embrace entrepreneurial culture” (CNA, Jul 17), PM Lee was quoted as saying:

Public sector entrepreneurship requires officers to take risks, because new methods and technology may fail to work. But, when they do, when they work, they can bring very significant benefits to Singapore.

I refer to the letter, “Give vendors a chance to continue supporting themselves” (New Paper, Jun 14), in response to the article “Goodbye Pushcarts” (New Paper, Jun 13). In the New Paper report, it was said that the Housing and Development Board (HDB) has instructed town councils that they are not allowed to let out space for commercial activities on a permanent basis. Town council rules prohibit permanent business activities, and according to the HDB, pushcarts are considered permanent business activities.
What kind of a “stupid” rule is this?

What is the rationale for such a rule?

It puzzles me that while non-permanent business activities are allowed, permanent business activities aren’t!

In October 2002, all five community development councils (CDCs) launched a Retail Incubator Training Programme (RITP) to teach and help unemployed Singaporeans run small retail businesses. Why weren’t the unemployed Singaporeans who were enticed to join this programme then told that their businesses would only be on a temporary basis? Or did this rule not exist then?

After these entrepreneurs have put their “blood, sweat and tears” in building the business, it may be a big blow to them, and cause financial hardship for themselves and their families.

How many of these entrepreneurs are affected?

Since they are currently paying about $1,000 in monthly rental to the town councils, will the HDB gain as they may end up bidding for HDB shop rentals instead?

In a sense, the residents of town councils may also lose out as the town council’s loss of such revenue may translate into higher service and conservancy charges (S & CC) for residents.

Residents will also be deprived of the convenience from the services and goods provided by such pushcarts, such as picking up a quick snack as one gets into the bus interchange or MRT station.

One of the reasons given for the pushcarts to be disallowed was that the carts were also messy and caused obstruction to the walkway. One wonders how many complaints the HDB has received in this regard. Strangely, if this was a problem, why has it taken the HDB five years to decide to do something about it?

For those pushcarts that were “messy”, were the owners given any warnings first?

I would like to suggest that we have a rational debate on this issue. What harm can there really be in allowing pushcart businesses to continue?

I see them everywhere in Singapore, as well as in practically every country in the world.

What’s so unique about the HDB and town councils in Singapore?

Since the NEA’s Street Hawking Scheme is allowed, why not the town council’s pushcarts scheme? What is the difference?

This is reminiscent of the high-profile mobile food vans scheme, which was terminated by the URA, even though five out of the original 30-plus vendors were able to succeed in building a viable business, despite the arbitrary restrictions on where (only in carparks) and when they could operate.

Has our government agencies not learnt anything from the above?

How can we promote entrepreneurship when thriving businesses are forced to close, because of some silly rule, like “town council rules prohibit permanent business activities”?

————-

1. MM Lee: I am exception to the rule
  2. Character assassination of the most uncharitable kind
  3. TOC Blog Feature: The expats will rule Singapore
  4. The Rule of Law and Judicial Independence
  5. Don’t be a stupid cupid

38 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Dr Syed Alwi
Jul 28, 2008 15:49

Dear Sze Hian,

I am 100% convinced that you should be our Finance Minister. Please run for political office. Singapore needs you !

Fever Guy
Jul 28, 2008 16:02

The main rationale is that HDB will be the biggest loser. As they earn nothing from the push cart rentals. However, permanent shop rentals will suffer as the same business from the push cart create an uneven playing field. This will drive down the prices of some shop houses and push down the selling price/ rentals of HDB shop houses. HDB will lose more. Mr MahBT is no stupid man, he is a $ man. No money no talk with such kind of minister no wonder life for the poor and struggling singaporeans are hopeless.

Andrew Loh
Jul 28, 2008 16:12

Dr Alwi,

So Sze Hian for Finance Minister and Kin Lian for President? Cannot la. Like that then TOC how? haha…

On a more serious note: One point in the article we should notice is that the Town Councils collect rentals from businesses as well, on top of S&CC. Which brings me back to the question of why these PAP town councils aren’t doing anything more concrete to help singaporeans.

Sze Hian, I agree it is a stupid rule – which can only come from high above, from people who have sat in their invory tower castles for too long.

A stupid, stupid rule.

C J
Jul 28, 2008 16:41

The government, their agencies, & policies, are like one big earthworm chopped up into many individual pieces, and all these small bits are wriggling in their own individualistically horrid ways – none, forming a WHOLE.

As you know, the head of an Earthworm has no eyes….

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 16:53

It is the same moronic reason for taxi stand in CBD. Moron is running the show.

tunkudon
Jul 28, 2008 17:01

i think ENOUGH is ENOUGH . i wonder so many thing happen u still sleep well …

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 28, 2008 17:07

Wow, what a smart PM we have. 金玉良言好难得. I think worth $5 million yearly package. Such wise advice is hard to come by. How come we all so stupid, cannot think of such clever scheme? No wonder we are still working class and cannot be Entrepreneur or PM. 大家真的要好好反省。

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 17:40

OUr PM is worth millions because he make us feel stupid to make him feel smart. Keep it up, Joker Lee ! Yes, Singapore will have a strong entrepreneurial culture in the future under your leadership, yes, the elephant will grow wing one day under your leadership, yes, it will be a golden period. Yes, yes, yes, yes,…

PM, you’re the best ! Now, tell me what happened to your wife’s investment in frailing bank ? How much of our reserves have been lost under your leadership ? Will my daughter now become maid ?

Lobert Tan
Jul 28, 2008 17:46

Good one, Sze Hian !!

kansin
Jul 28, 2008 18:57

Mr Leong can be my President (check and balance with Great experience in Accounting ) ;)

If there is a by-election, of course I must say I do not wish for that ;) , I shall vote for Mr Leong, the man of our time.

Lets liberate the HDB for entreprenuership!

Maybe in my dreams.

Sad. :(

TEW NS
Jul 28, 2008 21:41

Support Mr Leong, independent candidate for any constituency, will do, I hope Mr Leong can fight the Lim Sia Sway in the Holland Bukit Panjang GRC. I will be volunteer to help in the campaign come 2010 or 11.

re_dot
Jul 28, 2008 22:52

Compared with HongKong for the past 30 years, Singapore is being stifled with too many “cannot” rules resulting in a very low entrepreneurship spirit. Practically every business to-day must apply for a license or permit also contributes to it.

Our tertiary education policies are also driven mainly to satisfy the immediate needs of the market place and not necessarily an individual’s interest. The consequence is that because of the balancing of the supply and demand it tends to over-produce a particular profession hence resulting in umemployment.

Entreprenuership must be cultivated and promoted through less rules and regulations and not by edict. It seems that the government only promotes entrepreneurship when the economy is down or when the country is in recession with massive unemployment.

OsamaObama
Jul 29, 2008 0:01

We save like hell and must put our money in the CPF. At the end of our “working days”the value of our CPFmoney is very much lower. We have to pay more to buy food and other items. Is CPF saving really meant for the raining day ? Why can’t our rich Government donate 20% to our CPF savings when we hit retirement so that the Singaporean working class will not look stupid because they save up for less !
Osama Kita Tak Boleh Tahan

LeongSzeHian
Jul 29, 2008 8:37

Malaysia’s EPF (Employees Providend Fund) has just been cited by an international pensions organisation as one of the best in the world.

I am in Kuala Lumpur now – just read about it in the newspaper.

I understand that historically, it has been paying dividends (intereest) of 4+ to 8+ %.

Cheers

Leong Sze Hian

Once bitten, twice shy
Jul 29, 2008 8:55

Singapore Inc is all about money, the rest of the other stuff, like family, graciousness, entreprenuership, smiles campaign are all a load of hogwash frankly.

Infact, come to think of it, Singaporeans are the CEO’s of this country and we should all decide how this country is managed by setting key performance indicators for our fund mangers.

If the cost of maintaining a group of managers outweighs the returns to the shareholders, aka Singaporeans, then the shareholders have to exercise their votes to get a prefered return.

Singaporeans aka shareholders, should set the bar high and have high expectations because we are paying top dollar.

In short, if you are not getting the returns that you have invested in, use your vote intelligently.

mrbiao
Jul 29, 2008 14:23

Even in the States, and notably, NYC, there are plenty of street side stalls selling all sorts of food – this provides a low-capital business opportunity for many who would never have the means to rent a place to do business in a city where rental rates are sky-high.

Singapore should really consider doing the same – it helps the marginalized population to have another means of living (besides working in those low income jobs), and who knows, with this opportunity, some of the more successful stall owners can eventually earn enough to start their own restaurants!

I suspect the reason why the government is unwilling to allow such forms of businesses is that they deem them as ‘eyesore’ to our ‘garden city’. It’s really subjective, though. Personally I feel that it can inject more life and colour into both urban and suburban areas.

Imagine walking along Orchard Road in the evening, where dozens of stalls selling local delicacies line the walkway – satay at $0.25, rojak at $1.50 (they ought to be cheaper with the lower operational overheads!)

rebel peasant
Jul 30, 2008 20:45

This is called contradicting yourself. The PAP has done this countless times, so it’s no surprise that they have done it again. I don’t see why “pushcart businesses” should not be allowed. It doesn’t have any negative effects unless you count some inconsiderate people shouting and ringing some bell over and over again to get customers in the middle of the night.

LeongSzeHian
Jul 30, 2008 20:55

Hi Rebel Peasant

You have brought up a very good point.

I wonder whether any of the the town councils questioned the HDB’s decision on not to allow pushcarts anymore?

Cheers

Leong Sze Hian

why_talents_no_wan_help_opps?
Jul 31, 2008 19:53

With the inflation problem, I would think that having more entreprenuers could help lower prices in areas like food . eg. more hawkers means more competition and help maintain the lower price longer.

Terence-C
Jul 31, 2008 23:25

Any wonder that so far for donkey years if my memory never fails me (anyone can help here??), only 1 or perhaps 2 true blue entrepreneur this little dot has produced – Sim Wong Hoo, and perhaps our Poh Piah King of TYJ.

Landlord
Jul 31, 2008 23:47

Look no further, the true blue entrepreneur is LKY. Show me anyone who can turn a country into an exclusive business.
Sim Wong Hoo, Poh Piah King and whoever you care to name, are just renting space from the old man to do their little business. LOL

PAPer
Aug 2, 2008 12:29

Mr Leong, you so smart, why don’t you stand for election?
As usual, you don’t have the guts, only talk, talk, talk, no actions.
The PAP, they act, that’s the difference between them and you armchair critics (bunch of impotent smart alecks).

ahsayman
Aug 2, 2008 12:47

TOC is taking a break until Sunday and it seems that this forum’s F-22s are in their hangers as well. I’m just an A-4, I don’t think I can handle this with finesse.
Some MiG-21s are just so lucky.

Terence-C
Aug 2, 2008 12:59

To paper:
You have overstep boudaries by making personal attacks on Mr Leong. Since you critised Mr Leong, what have you yourself got to show – you have plenty of guts or are you also merely a yes-piece-of-paper?

I am no yes-man nor no-man. I listen to both opinions of both sides of the coin for your information.

Harrison
Aug 2, 2008 13:02

PAPer,

Lets discuss related matters. What’s your view on Mr Leong’s article here, if any? We would love to have PAP’s representative to rebut our opinions here, uncensored and undistorted.

By the way, thanks for your compliments and encouragement. Come next election, you will have the answer for your challenge here.

Waiting…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Terence-C
Aug 2, 2008 13:59

Harrison,
Yes, I support you – as with all lookalikes of Mandela, Gandhi or wannabes, we engaged in constructive debates, no personal attacks on paper at least, even tho we are not in the bull-fighting political arena.
Cheers.

JustMe
Aug 2, 2008 14:30

We should be more flexible and realistic in all our dealings.

smokescreen
Aug 2, 2008 15:51

PAPer, you are so clever ! ……….to talk only !

How can you say Mr. Leong has no guts ? He is visible to the public and your masters. Why don’t you be visible like Mr. Leong ?

PAPer, do you recall any PAP members rebut what Mr. Leong has been saying ?
Silence means they agree with Mr. Leong ! and he has been speaking out for many citizens. What about the PAP MPs ? Impotent and castrated ! lol
The smart ones don’t join the PAP to be castrated and you will have the chance to see them in 3 years time.

Jackson
Aug 2, 2008 22:38

moral of the story: there is no logic in singapore.

Daniel
Aug 4, 2008 1:01

PAPer sound more like a Toilet PAPer stained with shit that should be flushed down the toilet bowl just like majority of the PAPpies. Be Liquid PAPer as it is more useful than toilet PAPer.
In other words, PAPpies should make themselves useful and not be stained with shit of the emperor. Even pragmatism must have a limit.

Saint Splattergut
Aug 5, 2008 6:04

Welcome to Singapore Inc… …

CoffeeTalk
Aug 5, 2008 16:47

PAPer, think before you talk please.
Or you will like to say something else?

kelly
Aug 7, 2008 13:59

I must say this is one of the stupidest rule ever to assist. The pushcart auntie selling newspaper in my neighbourhood is doing well and we’re in a HDB estate!!!

I am reminded of the proposal to turn Sin Ming estate into a funeral hub when we are NOT expecting an epidemic of deaths. Please MR. GOVERNORS, you need to re-think who you hire for such ideas and stop pissing people off.

alky
Aug 8, 2008 10:11

Hi kelly,

The reason why they want to turn sin ming into funeral hub is becos the land lavender sits on now can be worth a lot more if they are able to rezone it to attract the developers. Its always about the money they can make for themselves here in singapore, not about the people.

Amused
Aug 8, 2008 13:45

Haiz.

Even dead people can’t rest in peace?

kelly
Aug 8, 2008 19:42

Yes Alky, you are right. They shoulda known that there are so many other ways to develop land! May be someone thought embalming humans centrally can make more money!! Thanks Amused. :)

Dickson
Aug 10, 2008 11:47

The sterile atmosphere and total lack of commercial life in the HDB estates is ridiculous.. its about as far away from a typical Asian urban landscape as you can get. Just look at Taipei or Hong Kong.

Everytime we get a pasar malam, things get a lot more convival and relaxed… I think its a hidden goal for the bureaucrats to sterilise Singapore and minimise any form of “messiness”. 

kelly
Aug 21, 2008 4:21

I agree with you Dickson and Alky! But you cannot promote social entrepreneurship without teaching people how to be entrepreneurs first. That obviously didn’t cross their mind.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook