Choo Zheng Xi, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Monday, July 28, 2008 8:15 - 59 Comments

SM Goh, please love your country more than the PAP

Choo Zheng Xi / Editor-in-Chief

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong recently addressed grassroots leaders at a National Day event in Hougang. In his address, he gave Hougang grassroots leaders an idea of how to play the role of an effective “opposition” in the ward. He suggested that they:

“Study the annual accounts of the town council to ensure that the funds are properly used. Check whether the arrears for S&C (service and conservancy) charges are piling up, and eating into their reserves. Make sure that enough money is put aside for cyclical maintenance.”

Whether wittingly or not, Mr Goh unveiled the blatantly political purpose of grassroots organizations. It is also doubly unfortunate that he chose a National Day event to openly encourage this politicization: surely Singapore is larger than the People’s Action Party (PAP) and its supporters?

For Party or Community?

The People’s Association (PA) is the umbrella organization that funds all grassroots organizations. The PA website states that its mission is to “bring people together to take ownership of and contribute to community well-being” and strengthen racial harmony ties. Nowhere in its mission statement do we see Mr Goh’s goal of keeping the PAP in power.

The ideal of community bonding at the grassroots level is a noble one: a strong community spirit facilitates mutual assistance. The value of this mutual assistance should not be underestimated in our densely populated living environment. Strong community bonding can make our spatially challenged habitats not just tolerable, but enjoyable.

One of the touching examples of community spirit is the Seletar Chronice (http://seletarchronicle.com/), a newsletter set up by the residents of Seletar to highlight community events and news. This is done completely on the resident’s initiative, without prompting by a PA sponsored Resident’s Committee (RC). Some posts highlight the wildlife treks around the area, and one post nostalgically reminicises about old friends who grew up in the area but who have since moved away:

“All say that living in Seletar were among the sweetest days of their lives for the nature and the community, and the sense of historical continuity. They have settled elsewhere and made other lives, but Seletar still holds that special place for them”.

How much of such genuine community building spirit is lost when the energies of RCs are spent doing dirt-digging on the political opposition? Good Singaporeans who are passionate about creating activities for the benefit of their communities, but who do not want to involve themselves in partisan politics, will naturally be put off grassroots work. This is a pity.

Nation before Party

Mr Goh was, in my opinion, right in his criticism of Mr Low for not providing Singaporeans with an alternative to the PAP system of government, and too narrowly defining his role as that of a watchdog.

Still, frustration with the opposition aside, Mr Goh was speaking to the wrong audience at the wrong event. He was not speaking to PAP cadres at a party strategy planning forum. He was speaking at a National Day event, and Singapore consists of more than the 66.6% of the population that voted for the PAP.

One can’t help feeling there is something self-serving behind the PAP’s consistent blurring of the lines between State and Party. Lampposts are festooned with National Day banners bearing the faces of PAP Members of Parliament (MP).

While I understand that these people are faces of the elected government of The Republic of Singapore, surely there is much that Singaporeans identify more with than MPs they hardly know the names of.

On a practical level, we must question where the funds to print such banners comes from. Does it come from a general pool of money that has been set aside for National Day celebrations? If so, why are there no banners provided for opposition wards Hougang and Potong Pasir? Why are such funds being utilized to finance a subliminal annual election campaign?

This self-serving tendency needs to be controlled. There are more appropriate platforms for electioneering than our Nation’s birthday. National Day electioneering emotionally disenfranchises the 33.3% of Singaporeans that voted against the PAP, and the hundreds of thousands of other voters who would have if their electoral wards were not walkovers.

Regardless of how viscerally we dislike the PAP, there is much to love about our country and the communities we live in. I wish people like SM Goh would make it easier for people who dislike the PAP to identify with and love our country without having to associate it with partisan politics.

——————

Read also: “Why so silent, PAP Town Councils?” by Andrew Loh.

——–

1. We, the citizens of no country
  2. Hate the policy, love the paddler
  3. One country, two systems
  4. Don’t turn my country into an administrative state
  5. The right to love, marry and procreate?

59 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

AC
Jul 28, 2008 8:40

I lost my respect for Goh Chok Tong many years back, when he embarked on the character assassination of Tang Liang Hong. His subsequent electoral practices did little to change my mind.

In the last election he threatened the Hougang residents by saying that their estate is aged – if they do not vote for PAP that round, the estate will no longer be economically feasible to upgrade even if the PAP is elected in the subsequent election.

The stalwart Hougang residents thumbed their noses at Goh, and voted in LTK with a resounding victory. The failure on Goh’s end to secure a PAP victory underscored his waning prestige and influence – now it seems that Hougang is becoming a personal issue for him.

asbaa54
Jul 28, 2008 9:15

Likewise, opposition MP(s)/Leaders, in their NDP speeches, or other modes, should encourage ciitzens in PAP wards to check on the their TC, by single ward, not GRC, spending. The chances, are they cringe more than they spend for the people. How can they compare spending of an ‘family income of between 6~8, vs 1 single breadwiiner”. It will be sad if the people takes in GCT words, without fully understanding the comparison made. Play their game, that the poeple can see ‘reality’, but don’t get backfired lah! They have the “resources”, which others don’t.

Samtom
Jul 28, 2008 9:24

Yes, I got the same feeling GCT is taking this a personal issue. Or may be this is an uncomplete task assigned by his boss??
Now seem like NTUC is also under his disposal disposal to win back Hougang. If this round fail, what’s next?
I wish he just quietly takes his millions and do nothing. During NKF’s saga, he commented his wife on the insensitive remake made on TT’s “peanut” salary. Now himself is moving along that path.

Robert HO
Jul 28, 2008 9:46

RH: What can you expect of a man who LIE KY himself described as “wooden”? A seat-warmer who was totally a nonentity having to obey both LIE KY and his Son. Just a wooden figurehead who thinks he still has some clout.

The SS
Jul 28, 2008 9:48

Check TC accounts? What about PAP-run TC’s and some of thier ‘investments’? They should account to the people of those wards.

izard
Jul 28, 2008 9:49

Today I realised how low they can go and how unethical and pathetic they are. Reading about the refusal for Ms Chee to travel to Stanford and the subsequent appeal from Standford with the offer of an honorarium and the slow response so that it will be overtaken by events is just plain outstanding. Now I fully understand how effective bankrupcy can be. Not only does it keep you out of politics it also prevents you from travelling and thus spreading all your lies. It certainly seems like a form of house arrest. What are they afraid of? I just cannot understand their fear.

The SS
Jul 28, 2008 9:57

I meant the stocks that they invest in…… what is the mark to market? who runs the risk management policies? who approves purchase /sale of these equity stakes? What are the objectives of these and how are proceeds/losses treated and accounted to the households?

Tew NS
Jul 28, 2008 10:54

This peanut Goh is using the national day to play politics, he does not deserve my respect. ND is for all singaporeans.Remember pap is not spore. Spore belongs to everyone. Looks like pap is serious in wanting to take back Hougang. I appeal to all Hougang residents to unite, if they control 100%, then Spore will not have any future. This peanut Goh likes to use upgrading to threaten Hougang voters. Remember Mah Bow Tan said all upgrading of lifts will be completed by 2014. So we wait patiently, see whether they can fulfill their promise.

Andrew Loh
Jul 28, 2008 11:38

Zheng Xi,

You hit the nail right on its head – it is sad that someone as senior as the Senior Minister would try and usurp a National Day gathering to play politics. And even worse, to exhort publicly and openly, grassroots people to play this political game as well.

This, to me, is the problem with politics in Singapore – that the lines become blurred so much that even the top ministers in govt are confused, or seemingly so.

First of all, National Day should be a time of reflection and celebration – and not one of slinging political mud at one’s opponents.

Two, grassroots organisations and those who serve in it MUST rise above partisan politics – and more importantly, not be used as pawns for someone’s political agenda.

SM Goh has, as he did in 2006, lost the plot.

“Based on the places we have visited and the people I have met, they are now on a tipping point. Eric has a chance of winning this constituency.” (Channel NewsAsia).

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 28 Jul 2008
Jul 28, 2008 11:43

[...] a Goh at Hougang – TOC: SM Goh, please love your country more than the PAP – Sgpolitics: Goh Chok Tong’s remarks on role of opposition raises many alarm bells – Mollymeek: [...]

Tew NS
Jul 28, 2008 11:50

peanut Goh is redundant. What is he doing as a SM, just collect pay only, like the MM ? or his new duty is to help mee siam my hum to fix the opposition. I agree eventually pap will take back Hougang, but sad to say, peanut Goh will not live to see it !!!

jkaiser
Jul 28, 2008 11:54

They have been playing political games since 1st NDP, which was when they were already in power for 7 years.

I find it alarming that PAP cadres march in as part of Total Defence contingent. I have no idea which part of TD that they belong to. I would venture psychological defence.

What’s with MPs wearing all white during NDP? Might as well just put party pin (or do they do that already?)

tunkudon
Jul 28, 2008 12:29

yes i agree he losing respect fast and more. he ues to be very respectfully when he is PM . tat time life really not bad . now i wont say u dun deserve our respect . frankly if u r really tat good . u will get a post in GIC .

Ex-GCT Fan
Jul 28, 2008 13:01

Very sadly and reluctantly, I have to agree that the so call 3 million dollar man may need a re-valuation and a self assessment for a reality check.
Future jobwise no problem- MAS, GIC, Temasek, Keppel, SIA , soon to be privatised CAAS, etc, so I am relieved.
However please do not use the peanut issue, it is not his doing.
I am no more a fan but still remember fondly his underdog days….” wooden spoon”…..

AhKao
Jul 28, 2008 13:17

Speaking of “criminals” being elected into power…

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9F0CEFDA153FF936A35751C1A965958260

Any names stand out? ;)

Tew NS
Jul 28, 2008 13:57

So the criminal got it away? Is he from India? Mr Goh CT said a criminal can not be a minister .

ZRZ
Jul 28, 2008 14:20

While walking in a neighbourhood park, i overheard 2 joggers talking to one another as they pass me by. The more elderly, like someone who works in an office environment for ages, told the young man jogging beside him that ‘we will never lose because we have the ZRZ system…’.

sad.

awoken_frog
Jul 28, 2008 14:25

quote:
5) The SS on July 28th, 2008 9.48 am Check TC accounts? What about PAP-run TC’s and some of thier ‘investments’? They should account to the people of those wards.
end quote.

——————–

The SS has indeed pointed out a very fair criticism.
I also like to know, if cyber squad is listening,
can the people involved please demonstrate how the TC can be checked by an independent party ?
I am sure they can walk the talk.
Its time for them to shine.

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 14:27

“can the people involved please demonstrate how the TC can be checked by an independent party ?”
Simple. Put opposition party in. That is one of the role of opp party, as check and balance against the coffers.

gohkumsing
Jul 28, 2008 14:33

Its true since the last election, they have executed many events in HG.
But where does this money come from? Make a guess.

Is the LTK team not able to organize such activities ?
Is it technically difficult for them to organize?
Hire someone to do the job of event organizing.
The only problem is funding.
Does LTK team have the same funding which , as said I am not sure where it comes from given the nature of Non Profit organization.

May I suggest same funding be given to LTK team and then they organize all the same events and level the playing field?

And then maybe the newspeople also bring their cameras there and broadcast LTK saying something in response ?

so unique siah.

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 15:30

Really I don’t respect Goh as a human but I definitely respect him as a kangaroo. However even a kangaroo will be shameful to lose a PAP contest and still stick around pretending nothing has happened, losing billions, and still as SM, will even keep silent and keeping giving rhetoric and empty promises. This Goh has no risk at all whether he win or not, he still around drawing exorbitant salary and licking the boot of LKY.

Now, using MSM to promote political party, isn’t that illegal in the first place ? Oh, this is Uniquely Singapore, and isn’t this ruling party start to become a kangaroo party. Just hop to the oldman and he will feed you fat.

Tew NS
Jul 28, 2008 15:48

I hope not only Hougang will not lose to pap, if possible, next election, opposition can capture extra seats, at least 2 GRC, plus the current 2 SMC, let peanut Goh lose face, I see his face in TV also tulan. Take so much money. Activities in Hougang, use whose money ? No transparency, use PA facilities to further your political interest? This is corruption.

mina
Jul 28, 2008 16:34

Mr Goh and Mr Low should both resign their Parliamentary seats. Then hold by-elections in Hougang and Bukit Batok. Let us Singaporeans decide.

Sam Seng
Jul 28, 2008 16:49

Smug Minister Goh is at it again, criticising the opposition, when he should be looking at how badly his own constituency is being run. Look at the roads at some parts of the marine parade constituency, with all the bumps and accumulated water during rainy days (thus potentially breeding mosquitoes and making driving a hassle) make us wonder why one should vote him in if there is an election

Eric, get out of Hougang. Ask Smug Goh to contest in Hougang instead. Put your money where your mouth is. Go, Smutty Goh, contest in Hougang. If you got the guts.

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 17:18

” If you got the guts”
Since when kangaroo has gut ? Like real kangaroo who immediately run away upon encounter danger, the coffers here when encountered loss of words and reasons for their blunder, will quickly find way to move on. They hop and hop and finally hope that the issue will disappear and then continue to draw their monthy happy salary.

Seriously hope that PAP contest as a party renamed as Kangaroo Party because the PAP get a bad name as PayAndPay party. Kangaroo sound good because it really fit the action of the ruling party. That is HOP and HOP and HOP until move on. Why not they build their headquarter in the Mandai Zoo ? Australia wll be proud of our Kangaroo Party.

Needless to say, these coffers have totally no need to bear consequences of their failures whether in election or in GIC, Temasek, ERP, etc, and totally protected. They still have the shame to compare Singapore with rest of countries in the variable they choose.

Mr Goh, why appear publicly to distract the recentissue ? Did the issue with IBA move on already ? How is the lawsuit going with IBA ? How come the oldman can escape with ‘inaccuracy’ ?

kansin
Jul 28, 2008 18:51

Hi Daniel,

Hey you reminded me about IBA.
Yah, I also very keen to find out what is meant by
they “trying to do us in” .

What is that meaning huh?
Sounds like a serious allegation.
If so, must have good reasons for saying so right?
So, how come IBA not sued yet?

Integrity important right?
huh? anyone knows huh?

regards
selami not combed

Dave
Jul 28, 2008 18:53

“Study the annual accounts of the town council to ensure that the funds are properly used. Check whether the arrears for S&C (service and conservancy) charges are piling up, and eating into their reserves. Make sure that enough money is put aside for cyclical maintenance.”
Whether wittingly or not, Mr Goh unveiled the blatantly political purpose of grassroots organizations.

I’m happy that such scrutiny occurs, *regardless* of whether it is a PAP or non-PAP constituency.

If Choo Zheng Xi thinks that patriotism means never scrutinising or criticising one side of the debate, it worries me about what he and his friends will be like if they ever come to power.

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 19:33

kansin,
I like to know that too. ‘To do us’ generally means ‘to destroy us’. By giving democracy and human right to Singaporean citizen, LKY says that IBA is doing us. Look like the oldman is starting to have a sense of humour.

Are they going to sue IBA ? Not when they start to sue their own government lawyers first because these influential elites are also part of 30,000 members worldwide. They have to sue their own lawyer when they sue the organization.

Of course, oldman now trying to move on , and covering his track by unleashing his henchmen for distraction. Let me tell you a great secret. My AngMoh friends tell me why Singaporean has such a short memory span, and able to move on quickly from serious issues without complaining.
My answer to AngMoh:
“It was those asshole at work again, what to do, it’s happened.”

Since when PAP has integrity and credibility ? Just name me one major instance that they show integrity and credibility that Singaporean is proud of.

One case where they really show integrity and credibility is when they taking money from the citizen by promising us they will build more EPR gantries and increase entry charges. This at least I give credit to PAP.

kansin
Jul 28, 2008 20:11

Hi Daniel,

I could not understand why ERP not applied to incoming traffic from MY.
As mentioned in blogs, motorcyclists appeared almost like crawling near the causeway.

Incoming traffic by the tens of thousands, at least, will certainly jam up the roads right causing other roads to be congested.

So, why they so like that ? Why causeway not implemented there?

It is tauted to ease congestion right? And then leh? Strange hor?

blackfeline
Jul 28, 2008 20:39

u know in years to come…he might possibly be remembered in the history of Singapore…for nothing…perhaps just a footnote mentioned..something to do with peanuts…go figure!

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 20:54

kansin ,
don’t you think the government here is only capable of exploiting the citizen here, nowhere else ? Do you think the singa government will face backslash from the Malaysian who work here and need to return to Malaysia daily. Won’t this create a dissent of Malaysian onto those Singaporean visiting Malaysia and they will vent their anger on Singaporean visiting Malaysia because of stupid ERP policies ? Do you think the Malaysian are chicken compare to Singaporean ? Do I doubt that Singapore gov fear the Malaysian more than Singaporean ? If you have travel the crossway, you will experience the unhappiness of those malay onto Singaporean.

Malaysian people are tougher lot than Singaporean generally. Able to survive in harsh condition. And by implementing irrational money policies that reap money from Malaysian, do you think the Malaysian will just stand by and do nothing like Singaporean ? Think about it.

Beside, if Singapore gov implement ERP, the malaysian will definitely increase the price of everything imported to Singapore, increasing the inflation further.

TEW NS
Jul 28, 2008 21:16

The mee siam mine hum any how talked in the ASEAN meeting, til offended the Indonesian, and The Balaji (chia liao bee) also any how talked about the Pedra Branca issue and offended the Malaysians. Looks like our ministers are paid million of dollars, but don’t know how to talk, and give speech. Anyhow talk can attract enemy because the spore is a tiny island, these ministers are sub-standard leaders, but they are paid, CEO salaries, sigh !

Daniel
Jul 28, 2008 21:27

TEW NS,
Don’t be mislead. As in past history, the PAP has agenda. The PAP need to invoke other countries so to create a excuse to move on from issues like IBA saga, Mas Selamat, inflation, etc all these stuff. They do it at expense of other countries ,and they don’t really care after all the ministers have gurkha to protect them, whereas Singaporean in those countries have to be beware because those citizens will vent their anger on Singaporean. In the past, I will have thought why PAP is so stupid to quickly anger other countries but now I finally know why, they are actually damn smart to use other countries as scapegoat and smokescreen to move on our problems, at expense of Singaporean’s safety. Look like the world need to know how our gov works.

You die, your own business, nothing to do with government even though the government talking cock create the dissent for the hatre.

zhummmeng
Jul 28, 2008 22:09

If they dare, MM and SM should stand at Potong Pasir and Hougang in next election .Let’s see how big they can talk. The constituents will give them a thrashing and make them eat humble shit.

joe
Jul 29, 2008 2:53

Why is the seat warmer doing the “fix and buy” job for the “often missing” leader of the country. Even his old father did all the major talking. Some of his ministars talked for him. The son always want to look good. The seat warmer looked bad here. Hey, he is bad in the first place.

Where are our leader’s balls? Ask him to come out and be a real man.

Tew NS
Jul 29, 2008 11:15

Daniel,
ya hoh, you are right, this is their dirty tactic, like the UMNO in malaysia, when they have internal problems, Mahathir would whack Spore to divert attention. Now I see the true colour of the seat warmer. He asked the resident to check on TC of Hougang, but I say you better check the a/c of Temasek and GLC, to see any misuse of funds, mismanagement by the top people.

ACACIA
Jul 29, 2008 13:14

TEW NS

I share your sentiments. I think Mr Goh is foretelling the fall of the PAP in the next election. From the records of GCT speeches nothing seems to have come to pass, Swiss standard of living?!, asset enhancements?! I’m really frighten when he opens his mouth, things have gone the other way for us. Anyway I think the electorate is wiser and more info savvy not only on economic but on the political / socio matters as well. That’s why I think too that LSL does not say much these days, really too quiet for our comfort. Things don’t seem to add up very positively for us. Any way, celebrate National Day in your own way, perhaps savouring your vote, when it comes around next. Heard a few years ago, that it cost about S$10 million to celebrate our National Day including the rehersals, could be about the same today as they have trimmed down some events, like the vehicle drive pass etc.

KS
Jul 29, 2008 20:08

Goh Chok Tong is one of the most despicable members of the PAP. He shares LKY’s contempt for us Singaporeans. Bloody hypocrite dares to call Singaporeans that migrate quitters when his own daughter quit Singapore. I have absolutely no respect for this great bull shit artist.

The Motivation To Work is not Salary
Jul 30, 2008 11:10

While I am a neutral observer, not siding any party,
I just like to comment that
my understanding of political partys and its nature is in some aspects like this :

1. they speak with same voice else they appear like not agreeing with each other. They represent their party , 1 party. so they must appear in synch.

2. like many, they have to take care of their ricebowl and not just your ricebowl ;)

To be fair, I must say I believe that they ’sacrifice’ themselves so that the nation ‘progresses’.

To be fair also, its said that if no pay high high, they no come work for nation as they surely may get paid by MNCs in the private sector and then we chialat lor.

To be fair also, Herzberg’s motivation theory says improving hygiene factors like SALARY is NOT LIKELY to increase the motivation to WORK.

Having given so many fair statements, I am confused liao. 8-(

Singaporean
Jul 30, 2008 20:40

I once saluted his photo when he was the defence minister. I still remembered it vividly as I was inspired by his speech that all of us soldiers mattered not as a digit but as a human. In spite of all the corruption and shit that the army has thrown at me when I was an 18 year old, his picture and his comments inspired me to struggle on another day. Then I heard him talk of the “Swiss standard of Living” for us, then “More Good Years” and then buy more shares (during Singtel float). I supported all those. Now, older and wiser, I realised he is all talk only. All those nonsense in the SAF happened when he was defence minister. The Swiss standard of living did not happen judging by more and more oldies cleaning tables and toilets. More good years seem to be more bad years and even a Captain in the SAF is now in jail for buying more shares till broke. Now what is he saying? I do not care anymore…

Grasshoot doggie biscuit
Jul 31, 2008 12:59

I heard more good years plays golf very well. practice makes perfect. needs to spend a lot of time.

smokescreen
Jul 31, 2008 14:51

Goh C T is enjoying his more good years on the golf course. I suggest he set up a training school for elderly folks to be caddies. Those that can walk and carry the load of a standard golf bag plus clubs should be encouraged to go for retraining, using the Skills & Developement Fund.

The elderly folks will be seen to be enjoying more good years with Goh C T on the golf course. Does not matter if Goh is playing and the elderly folks are the caddies. It is good PR and the S.T. will report more elderly folks having a good life due to the PAP.
I just hope that Goh is not miserly with tips to his caddies.

Jackson
Jul 31, 2008 20:53

When I was a small kid, I liked Goh Chok Tong as a minister. Now that I’ve grown up and started to know much of the hidden truth and agenda behind the Singapore political system, he’s now relegated to an ‘AH PEK’ to me.

Harrison
Jul 31, 2008 21:32

Let me suggest another perspective to GCT’s message on “Study the annual accounts of the town council to ensure that the funds are properly used. Check whether the arrears for S&C (service and conservancy) charges are piling up, and eating into their reserves.”

This, coming at a time when we are infuriated by the infamous investments done by Temasek/GIC, could be a disguised message that we, Singaporeans, should play an effective role in scrutinizing and calling for transparency along with accountability, on those responsible for our reserves and its returns.

Singaporeans should thank Goh Chok Tong for his coded encouragement and not fail him for his hidden endeavour.

ahsayman
Jul 31, 2008 21:44

That’s a real good one Harrison. lol

Kee
Jul 31, 2008 22:09

I think GCT and his PAP people are all still liv ing on ivory tower. For him to make a speech like that just shows the PAP have lost touch with the ground. Almost all the people I met (except his RC running dogs) have got nothing good to say about the govt or PAP! He and PAP should be more concerned about protecting their turf iso talking big about taking the opposition wards. He has been bitten once on Hougang before and yet he has no shame to feel shy.

seeking salvation
Jul 31, 2008 23:05

GCT boring wooden face talk goats everyone.
Swiss Standard of Living – More Sporeans are out of job or being displace by FT
Quitters – when his own daughter is one
Staking his reputation on winning the opposition wards – what reputation has he now beside acting more hilariously stupid
His last comment on checking the opposition town council is probably a dead knelt to his IQ and sense of intelligence – please GCT your peanuts wife had let the greatest skimmer Durai skim off the trust, love, dedication and support of the common people support for the NKF.
GCT u have moral authority to speak go take a baseball bat and finish yourself off

Aberdyn
Aug 1, 2008 1:57

GCT is a spent bullet. He got nothing to offer anymore. He is always be the “sandwiched man” in between two people, and his words is not the final curtain anyway.

zheng xi
Aug 1, 2008 9:13

Hi Dave,

You’ve misunderstood the point of my article. Of course scrutiny is good, opposition or government. That’s the point of what we’re doing here at TOC.

The thrust of this piece, however, was that this was the wrong time and wrong audience to call for *partisan* scrutiny. Grassroots organizations and National Day events are the wrong people and time respectively to play partisan politics.

LH Ang
Aug 1, 2008 10:09

LTK’s response to Goh was published in WanBao last night. Yet I don’t see any report in ST regarding that. How “balanced” is ST in reporting this? I’m disgusted…

GO
Aug 1, 2008 10:20

SM Goh carries a kindness with him still.
However of late, the non verbals of distress signals are begining to show and perhaps he too should move on, With no worries of needing to make ends meet, – Go to do things that can inspire the oldies to better lives.

JenC
Aug 1, 2008 16:59

LH Ang, what was LTK’s reply?

I agree that it was at a most inappropriate event/time to indulge in party politics. Perhaps evidence that PAP is feeling the heat, and hence resorting to such tactics.

LH Ang
Aug 1, 2008 18:17

The full report can be found in the following url. I do think that journalists from ST and CNA have the opportunity to interview LTK. Guess they just choose not to.

http://www.omy.sg/news/localnews/200807/20080731_5866.html

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 30
Aug 2, 2008 11:14

[...] a Goh at Hougang – TOC: SM Goh, please love your country more than the PAP – Sgpolitics: Goh Chok Tong’s remarks on role of opposition raises many alarm bells [Recommended] [...]

Dwink
Aug 2, 2008 16:42

Intriguing. I’ve myself long given up that the PAP upper-crust will take their role for what it is – not just leaders of a political party, but people with enough influence to engineer young citizens’ minds. He is ignoble, for he cannot go above his concerns for his party’s survival and start caring for his country. The opposition is already down, would he not be a more magnaminous man if he doesn’t take potshots at them?

meesiam maihum
Aug 6, 2008 13:34

Just don’t understand why? Presidential election candidates in the US do not threaten their citizens! If you follow closely The candidates will always say you vote for I’ll do this or I’ll do that for you. They don’t tell, you don’t vote me I will not upgrade your estate or county. I just hate our kind of politician, IN US they can say whatever to each other and they don’t sue. We the people of Singapore ought to do something about it, that is on the election day to show Singapore is peoples’ power not you the PAP. Without our grand dads and grand mas you thin you hv the chance sitting comfortably there. You say you’re the one, let me tell you one alone cannot do much. You can’t fight a war alone right.

Singaporean
Aug 6, 2008 17:43

Even the Bible has to change from the old testament to the new testament. In the old testament, the style is “Do not steal, Do not do this and do not do that”, In the new testament, it is “Love your neighbour etc” Even the Bible has changed with the times to be more positive, and that was over 2,000 years ago.

Danielle
Apr 7, 2009 7:08

Commenting usually isnt my thing, but ive spent an hour on the site, so thanks for the info

Oh Holy
Nov 25, 2009 15:47

I remember Catherine Lim many years ago, whose he ask her to shut up after she comment a policy in the paper and she is not even criticizing the PAp, if she wants to comment, she should join a political party…so much for …free press…dot dot dot.

Needless to say, she was never commenting on the papers again, her editor prolly got fired too.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized