Gerald Giam, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Tuesday, July 8, 2008 8:01 - 46 Comments

Young and old in S’pore want more political openness

Gerald Giam

I find it hard to believe that all the brilliant minds in the Cabinet haven’t figured out that Singaporeans are crying out for change.

Fareed Zakaria, the editor of Newsweek, recently gave an interview with the Straits Times, which was published on Saturday. I applaud ST writer Cheong Suk-Wai and the paper for publishing these frank viewpoints. Here are some gems from the interview:

Singapore is the only rich country in the world without a fully functioning multi-party democracy. That will hobble its advance in the long run, he believes, because people “want not only economic rights, but also freedom of association, freedom of speech and freedom of thought”.

“You may get lucky with a particular autocrat, but what happens after him?…If you could guarantee me in advance that you’ll get Lee Kuan Yew, that’s a whole different thing. But there’s no way beforehand to know that you’re going to get a leader like Lee Kuan Yew,” he said.

He added wryly, wondering whether this would get into print: “I think that the political system is rigged in favour of the People’s Action Party (PAP). Some of it is formal…Some of it is informal. But all of it is largely unnecessary.”

Singapore is already “a very open society in many ways”, he pointed out. “I often say this to people because they have an image of Singapore which is essentially incorrect…It is a place where you would certainly feel as if you had many, many freedoms and liberties…It has been lucky in having very wise leadership,” he said.

But it has to widen its political outlook much more, he insisted.

“Singapore’s leaders have succeeded more than they realise. They created a modern society, and in creating that modern society, they must now also trust it more than they do,” he said.

He added: “That, in some ways, is the genius of democracy. It turns the relationship between governed and governors into a two-way street, and that will make for a much greater degree of sense of loyalty and pride in Singapore for the next generation.”

He mused: “It’s funny: Whenever I meet senior Singapore government officials, I will sometimes mention this. And they’ll go: ‘Oh, no, no, it’s not a real problem, don’t worry.’ And I’ll say: ‘You know, younger Singaporeans do feel frustrated.’ And they’ll say: ‘Oh, I don’t know if you are right about that.”

“And then, as I’m escorted out by one of the young aides to the senior government officials, they will tell me: ‘By the way, Dr Zakaria, you are 100 per cent right. We are very frustrated’.”

“And these,” he noted, “are people in the heart of the political structure.”

Dr Zakaria is quite sure that if the PAP held what he calls “open competitive elections”, it would do “quite well”.

I found the paragraphs in bold incredibly amusing and so true! Having worked in the foreign service, I would say that almost all officers at my level want to see greater political openness in Singapore. Apart from discussing politics with my civil servant friends (which I often do), another barometer is their Facebook profiles — almost all politically-aware friends of mine list down their political views as “liberal” or “very liberal”. I was the only one who used to put “conservative”. (I’ve since refined it to “political liberal, social conservative”.)

In fact, even some of the ambassadors that I worked with acknowledged that the Government needs to open up.

I have journalist friends who say they long to have a more active opposition to report on, and conservative church friends whom I have been surprised to learn supported the opposition in the last elections simply because they presented an alternative to the hegemonic PAP.

And it’s not just young people who are swayed by these “liberal” ideals of democracy. Several of my older relatives are avid readers of political blogs like The Online Citizen because of the alternative views they offer. I recall even being “chided” during family gatherings for failing to critique certain government policies in my blog.

I find it hard to believe that all the brilliant minds in the Cabinet haven’t figured out that Singaporeans are crying out for change. They probably know it but don’t want to admit it, like what Zakaria found out. In any case, they still have much to be complacent about, given the feebleness of our opposition and the pragmatism of Singaporeans not to vote in a riff raff party to power.

But all it’ll take would be for the Old Guard leaders (or should I say, leader) to depart from the scene, and for some members of the elite (e.g., senior civil servants, journalists, academics or business leaders) to break ranks and cross over to the opposition, and the PAP could be faced with a tsunami of a scale similar to that seen in Malaysia this past March.

Good luck to the PAP if they want to continue their authoritarian and arrogant ways. I think it serves the opposition’s interest for the PAP to continue their current heavy-handed ways. But if they genuinely liberalize politically and demonstrate a little bit more humility, they might even better their winning margin in the next elections.

—————-

1. Political openness – for PAP only
  2. Political openness – why are the fleas still dancing inside?
  3. Youth in Politics – Young Democrat Jarrod Luo
  4. Political suicide or political maturity?
  5. Youth in Politics – The Young Reformers

46 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

James Michael Parthi
Jul 8, 2008 9:24

The crux of the matter is that as long the ruling coalition is in power,it seems inevitable that the public is getting really frustrated with the empty promises by the govt who only cares about getting fat pay cheques!Saying the same old story adage of, ” Don’t worry!The Govt cares about the citizens of this state,as long as grassroot leaders are in the loop,everything else will be fine!”

How many times have we heard these above mentioned statements?Even with wax on our ears intact,the reality of it all is if people cry out for changes,it has to start with us,the citizens,the man on the street,sometimes there is no point in just debating,raving on & on,actions definitely speak louder than words!

The burning questions remain…..CSJ has started it,JBJ has supported it,however who will end it?I leave it to the public to figure this out by themselves!

Older Singaporean
Jul 8, 2008 9:26

I suppose Fareed is not a Singaporean; as an older Singaporean, I have seen Singapore grow from the post war years and I fully understand how we got here.

I do not think the foreign writer knows much about the real history; neither is he qualified to make comments as representative of the old or the young in Singapore.

I thank the foreign writer for doing what he has to to earn a living; at best he has tried and at the worst, he must have exposed his vested interests and his real agenda.

Boboshooter
Jul 8, 2008 10:01

Dear Older Singaporean,

With all due respect (since I’m coming from a younger generation), it is very funny that your main contention about the article is that the journalist is a foreigner.

So if I extrapolate your thinking, you will only listen to local journalists because they (1) don’t have vested interests and hidden agendas (2) they don’t do it for a living?

Given the crap that our local “corporate PR newsletter” (150+? ranking in press freedom) routinely spouts, in your view those “news” reflect the journalists honest opinion as a Singaporean individual?

Let me guess, since you are an Older Singaporean, let me guess… your favourite radio station must be Gold 90.5FM – Hear Only The Good Stuff!!

ACACIA
Jul 8, 2008 10:25

Dear Older Singaporean,

Perhaps you belong to the generation of my parents, I’m just guessing, when housing was affordable and cost of living manageable, they had seven of us,
and are able to draw their CPF and live a comfortable life.
At one time they too were over the moon with the government too, but not any more!
It is a different ball game now, high HDB prices and high cost of living and government treating the citizens like customers and the country like a business entity.
Take the blinkers off your eyes and get real.
Perhaps we need foreign journalist to tell us the truth about our country and how the citizens are feeling now, because the local journalist are the paid mouth piece of the current government.
Have we reaped the fruits of our country’s “successes” I don’t think so, only the govenment has. I’m not talking just about the economic side. If we have why are our people so frustrated and angry. Perhap you could ask your own younger relatives or family members what they are feeling about Singapore, I think you are in total self denial, like our govenment leaders thinking this is a great country and having the time of our lives, yes paying and paying!

Overseas Singaporean
Jul 8, 2008 10:42

Thanks for the article Gerald.

Older Singaporean’s stance is typical of that of the Ruling Cabal; accept and agree slavishly when foreigners praise the system they perpetuate. Throw a hissy fit and cry “Foreign interference!!” when foreigners criticize said system. Read the article carefully and you’ll realize Fareed Zakaria has a lot of praise for Singapore as well as what to me, are very insightful observations into the shortcomings and seeming insecurity of the Cabal.

The PAP today gets its votes from 3 groups of Singaporeans: 1) Those who are grateful to them for bringing Singapore to what it is today, ignoring the fact that PAP ver. 1965 is a very different beast from PAP ver. 2008. 2) Apathetic younger Singaporeans who don’t know who else to vote for and vote for them since they’re the most recognizable. A twisted for of “brand recognition” (I know a few of these types) and 3) People who don’t like them but vote for them out of an irrational fear that they or someone they know working in the civil service might get a midnight invitation for kopi even though all involved are but small fries in the greater scheme of things.

The sooner these 3 groups wake up, the better it is for Singapore.

Maybe CSJ is right, the reason for the Cabal’s insecurity is that there are a few skeletons in the closet…see paragraph 9 of http://www.post.12buzz.com/singapore-democracy-or-dictatorship.htm

Dr.Huang
Jul 8, 2008 10:44

Hi boboshooter & Acacia,
I think Older Singaporean has a right to his opinion.
Let’s keep the conversation about issues and less personal Ad hominen attacks please.

I am part of the pre-65 generation.

I have friends who have both pro-PAP and anti-PAP sentiments. We can co-exist to make this place a better one for our children. There is space for everyone.

Thanks Gerald for an important post.

patriot
Jul 8, 2008 11:24

Dear Singaporeans;

feedmetothefish, Observer and me(patriot) are born in the early 50s or earlier. Some should be familiar with our blog(feedmetothefish) and comments. We have had described much of our live, time in the earlier days.

I love the past, especially before Independence. Clan relation, neighbourliness, respect for respectable elders(for righteousness and not for their intelligents alone/per se). Big family staying under one roof are common and despite poverty, most families are more than five members, not uncommon to have dozens.

Let us put our hands together, old and young, to bring back the lost humanities of yesteryears. To start off, tell everyone to celebrate National Day in dark with our own programmes, avoid any organised celebrations. Let’s seek and make our own happiness COLLECTIVELY AS THE COMMONERS!

patriot.

white raven
Jul 8, 2008 11:30

I will not be very surprised if within the PAP highest ranks, there may be people who are waiting for the last Old Guard to fade or pass away before making their moves. These people may not want to expose themselves now for obvious reasons. A split within the PAP is not unrealistic. Lee Jr. does not appear to me to be capable of holding his party together. It’ll be interesting to see post-LKY developments!!!

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 8 Jul 2008
Jul 8, 2008 11:34

[...] Daily Discourse – Recruit Ong: 9 years & 18 strokes for a victimless crime – Sgpolitics: Giving back to society should begin at the top – The boy who knew too much: The amazing disappearing ERP cards – TOC: Young and old in S’pore want more political openness [...]

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 11:53

Dear People,

Now, that is a disrespectful comment to harpoon a senior citizen “Older Singaporean” or expressing his sincere thoughts. This senior Singaporean too had suffered and contributed as much during the early development period of post war Singapore.

We are civic minded people and if we condone freedom of speech and freedom of expression, let’s engage in a discourse with an open mind to accept all views and leave the public readers to decide. It’s alright to second guess the motive and interest of the author. You cannot blame Older Singaporean for having that thought. We (I am a senior citizen as well) have been persuaded into believing that for the good of the country, coerce policies is necessary for the progress in those days. This has been played out all these years (even now, a good example is Vivian’s RI Lecture – responses to the students and constantly reminding them and coercing them).

Yes indeed if one were to experience the turbulence time of the late 50’s, early 60’s and 70’s. Obviously, we are the “privilege” to witness the full development of a young nation. From near dire situation to progress admired & envied by our neighboring watchers. It is reasonable to ponder there must be a motive where the content presented is less understood.

My dear “Older Singaporean” fellow mate, you have watched the nation’s economy transformation just like I (senior fellows) and others had, but you surely must have realized that things had started to change again after the second half of the 90 where these upright people decided to reward themselves with higher wealth, sort of merit system to upkeep the good work and integrity. I did not know that “MONEY” is one of the criteria to serve a nation for its people. But, I guess we by then had no grounds to stop it and in fact thought it is okay as they had put in great effort. I just cannot figure this reasoning. It has been bordering me a lot lately, particularly the last few years. You too must have heard or seen the sufferings of the lower percentile populace. Indeed, very helpless & hopeless. Even my Hong Kong friends and family members who just returned from their recent holiday in Singapore, echoed the same feeling for the people they encountered. None had shown a smiling happy face except sighing. They thought they were in China when they had their meals in some food courts. Sad isn’t it. Wonder what’s the pledge taken by lawyers, doctors & nurses, red-cross, fire fighters just to name a few? All these honorary professions in some way have to do with “saving” human lives during critical time. “Older Singaporean” my fellow senior mate, any thoughts on this one?

Yes, indeed, sad as it is, it is even sadder if we have to resort to hoping someone passing one before we see change. A well respectable person might I said regardless. Why must it end in such sad note?

Boboshooter
Jul 8, 2008 11:59

Dear Dr Huang,

I note your comment.

I questioned his logic that foreign reported = vested interest etc. Yes, I poked a little fun at him, but I don’t see how that translate into “personal Ad hominen attacks”, at that level of seriousness.

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 12:00

Sorry folks should read as:

“Yes, indeed, sad as it is, it is even sadder if we have to resort to hoping someone passing on before we see change. A well respectable person might I said regardless. Why must it end in such sad note?”

My apology.

Dr.Huang
Jul 8, 2008 12:51

Hi boboshooter,
Not all bloggers are as thick-skinned as you and I.
Older Sgporean obviously feel strongly about his personal and sincere views and want to express it.
Give him a break.
We want diversity of views.
What’s the point of having pro-PAP views on the MSM and anti-PAP views in cyberspace.
Both media would then be speaking to the converted.

Terence-C
Jul 8, 2008 14:45

Gerald, firstly thank you for writing (on no one’s behalf am I thanking you, its just merely courtesy).

“I find it hard to believe that ALL the brilliant minds in the cabinet haven’t figured out that Singaporeans are crying out for change”.

You are absolutely DEAD wrong, and, Naive (pardon me).

One must be in deep slumber that the gahmen do not know whats going on – as you said that Singaporeans are crying for change.

Please, be real, (quoting our MM, he said, this is a real world) you can change only at the ballot box every few years, (and let me add the obvious, Singaporeans, even then its very tough when the field is not level, and the goal posts shift when you are about to score a goal. BTW, what happen to Goal 2010?)

My simple conviction is the gahmen know what each and every Singaporean does and think. They know your heart beat, Gerald. They know what you did, and now what you do. Most of all, they know your thoughts AND your heart-beat … I don’t think I need to continue (to save space and reading exhaustion, in case).

tunkudon
Jul 8, 2008 14:58

i wonder what the P65 MP is doing . they should have feel us . younger at age and more educated. or r just behaving like the older pp. national pledge are say only or do . u think abt it

patriot
Jul 8, 2008 15:40

Hi; tunkudon:

me went into the P65 Blogs, participated in some discusssions with them but gave up, only occassionally going in to see if any of them have better and alternative ideas from their seniors and superiors.

So far, it has been regurgitations and rebroadcasts of their their policies implementations. Speeches of the Seniors are repeated by these P65ers liked, as though, worthy sermons fit for soul cleansings, if not, for imprints into subconscious minds.

They(P65) got to put their nubile brains to better uses than rote learnings which is basically copying and reprinting whats already available.

One area where their seniors have failed badly and even neglected negligently, the spiritual(non-religious) wellbeings namely happiness of the individuals, his/her happiness with the family, neighbours, colleagues; in short anybody, and the society as a whole. We are conscious of a wide and widening income gap, the haves and have-nots, the political polarization and apathy.

Many countrymen are numbed by challenges of everyday livings and simply do not have the time or spirit to seek emotional wellbeings. Our P65ers are surrounded by such people most of the time, their suffering constituents are seeking, begging them for helps. Do they(P65) not sense, see and feel their(people/citizens) plights??

patriot.

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 8, 2008 16:27

Like Gerald, I often hear people say the want political “openness” and “frustrated” with the PAP. However, I am sceptical that what people say and want people really want are not quite the same. As Gerald’s insider view noted, despite wanting something different, these so-called insider were ultimately willing to go along with the wishes of the political masters.

In his closing remarks Gerald noted: “Good luck to the PAP if they want to continue their authoritarian and arrogant ways”. It is one thing to blame the PAP’s ideology but the PAP can only exercise their ideology if people working for it choose to enforce the ideologies!

In truth, what I have often learn is that people will often say one thing but mean another thing. Look at the so-call “radicals” that joined the PAP. What have become of them when the become the insider?

Talk is cheap, action is costly!

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 8, 2008 16:32

Sorry:

This statement:

“However, I am sceptical that what people say and want people really want are not quite the same.”

Should say:

“However, I am sceptical that what people say and want people really want are really the same thing”.

ACACIA
Jul 8, 2008 17:15

Dr Huang

My reply is not meant to attack or being disrecpectful to Older Singaporean.
If it is perceived as such , I offer my sincere apologies.
I too grew up in the 60s’ and 70s’ and mentioned by some, the PAP then was very different from today. I stopped supporting them in the early 80s’ or rather voting for them but that does not mean I think of them or all their policies to be bad or ill conceived. My point is this, everyone has a right to views and if we do not speak out ( perhaps through this platform ) then we have failed individually to grow ( politically, emotionally, socially and even religiously ) and move forward as a country. What I see now and sense is that we are not happy as a nation,and it’s not about how much we have materially. I think our soul as a country is slowly but surely eroding and being lost. Don’t know what are the emigration figures but it’s an indication of loosing our souls as a country.

Andrew Loh
Jul 8, 2008 17:18

Gerald,

I am sure those in the higher echelons (or at least a few of them) know that Singaporeans want political change. I think Singaporeans have been wanting that for a long time. The way I see it, the PAP govt is playing the same game – you want change? I’ll give you more anxiety – increase cost of living, entice you with more material goods (condos, cars, high pay, etc). The aim is to keep your mind off seeking political change.

But I also see the tide changing – slowly.

I am more interested in how the opposition can seize this opportunity rather than wait for the govt to unilaterally make changes. But sadly, I don’t see the opposition making much headway.

And so the status quo remains. The govt, through the media, will play down any call for political change and at the same time keep repeating fearful scenarios to keep S’poreans on their toes, economically.

It’s the same game played out in the 80s and 90s.

And Lee Kuan Yew is a master at such a game.

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 8, 2008 17:38

Andrew:

I think Singaporeans have been wanting that for a long time.

Whilst I do not imply that this view is wrong but I have not really seen any evidence to suggest that is indeed a sentiment that is prevalent.

The opportunity to at least put checks on the PAP was available back in the 80s when the opposition chose to compete on a so-called “by-election” strategy, where the PAP is allowed to govern but at the same time for opposition candidates to be elected. Did people take up the offer?

Look at the so-called credible “opposition” strategy of the WP. Is it aimed at bring about open politics or cozying up to the PAP in order to be “credible”?

What about those radical that join the PAP wanting to make a change from the inside? Have they done that?

Even if we work on the assumption that people want change, what do people want the change to be?

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 17:44

Echoing Patriot’s call for unity, here’s another quote that I thought epitomized the sentiments of many.

“We discovered that peace at any price is no peace at all. We discovered that life at any price has no value whatever; that life is nothing without the privileges, the prides, the rights, the joys which make it worth living, and also worth giving. And we also discovered that there is something more hideous, more atrocious than war or than death; and that is to live in fear.”

~Eve Curie, French author~

Dr.Huang
Jul 8, 2008 17:44

Hi Acacia,
There is no need to apologise.
All of us meant well.
We get frustrated as the rulers sometimes seem oblivious to the feelings of the lower strata.
How we perceive their performance depends very much on our own experience with them and our own experience with the world.
There are many places in the world that are much worse than this red dot but that does not mean we should not try to improve.
Older Sgporean is partly right that we should give credit for what we have so far but I feel that we must always strive for better.
We can have economic progress as well as greater freedoms. All of us must work at it- at this platform as well as at other forums.
Change must come from within and without the PAP. Progressive minded people must seek to persuade the govt to change for the good of the nation.

Boboshooter
Jul 8, 2008 17:55

Hi Dr. Huang,

OK I agree that not everyone is as thick-skinned as you and I (haha).

However, this is the commentary section is it not? He was free to air his views. I’ve the right to disagree and question, as you also every right to take issue with my comments.

And if “OlderSingaporean” feels strongly or cares enough about his views as you say, he is also free to rebut me. I’d like to stand corrected. This is the essence of a free-flowing debate of honest, independent-minded people, is it not?

I also understand and follow your thinking that there needs to be diverse and constructive dialogue amongst the various interests / affiliations. However, I’m also somewhat skeptical about overdoing the “balanced argument” thing – this is like the state media’s habit of putting a piece of gushing propaganda after an article that says something remotely bad about our government, for the sake of “balance”.

Singaporeans like me clamour for a voice because the state media, being too blatantly one-sided, are not airing the views on the ground nearly enough. So they turn to this blog for a no B.S. counter argument on issues of national importance, which then obviously tends to sound anti-ruling-party. You can call it yin and yang, karma or even newtonian action-reaction. But I feel the interaction between the state media and the counter-arguments and comments here, is where the true “balance” of debate lies.

I therefore disagree with you about your comment on “preaching to the converted” – It is not like two religions (e.g. like muslims will probably never read the bible and christians vice versa), because in this case the two medias monitor each other very closely and seek the intellectual, moral as well as popular higher ground in response to each other.

For this reason I think we should say it straight and not be afraid to call a spade, a spade. If someone says its a shovel, then let’s examine the logic and the facts.

And if the emperor is naked, we should all say so and not have to praise him first for being well endowed, if you know what I mean.

So yes, please be diverse – but if we all let disagreements pass for the sake of diversity, without even examining the logic of their arguments, or we water down our own arguments for the sake of “diversity”, then I fear that eventually, this blog may sound more and more like that infamously “balanced” forum page I love to loathe.

I do apologize for sounding argumentative because I thought this was important. And also to Mr Gerald Giam for this rather long comment that is irrelevant to his article. Perhaps, Dr. Huang, if you so wish, we could continue this discussion over on your blog?

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 8, 2008 18:02

Dr.Huang:

Older Sgporean is partly right that we should give credit for what we have so far but I feel that we must always strive for better.

Give credit to who?

To the PAP? But which generation of the PAP? The current one or the pioneering one? If the pioneering ones are the ones that credit is due, so why should we give credit to the current generation ones?

Give credit for the policy adopted by the PAP? If policy were adopted from somewhere or someone, then who should we actually credit. For example, the Dutch economist for his proposed economic policy? Or give credit for the PAP to have the foresight of pinching other ideas? If so does that mean the PAP are really not that good at coming up with their own idea?

What about the people who went along with the policies? Should they not be given credit? After all if the people don’t slavishly go along, how would the policy work?

Ok my point is that the problem with this “give credit” mentality that you often hear from so-call moderate Singaporean is that all it does is developed a crunch dependency mentality. You see all lot of it in the so-called moderate dissident Catherine Lim, who spent more time “giving” credit to the PAP than actually announcing what they want for a changed society. All of these lead us back to the question of what change do we want? Or for that matter do we want change at all?

Observer(SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 20:45

Tan Ah Kow says: “All of these lead us back to the question of what change do we want?”

Here’s my take and wish.

I am a strong advocate of Freedom of Speech and Freedom of Expression. No Strings attached (okay, one string, the same patriot act like the US constitution, they can have it for National Security Interest. That is when the threat is foreign).
So, I would like the government to consider:

1) Remove the fine prints attached to Freedom of Speech and Freedom of Expression.

2) Remove the coporal punishment and death penalty law. Nobody has the rights to take away someone’s life.

3) For the more urgent matters: Providing more help to the low-income earners. Have already expressed my views in E-Jay’s piece in his blog.

The secondthird point as per E-Jay’s blog article, I think the government is currently trying to do it, they are aware of the problems, that’s a good gesture but I think they need to take the lead not just asking the community corporate owners, and, I certainly hope this is genuine help without making it a propaganda come election time. Don’t make it so complicate for the poor and better if they can proatively seek out the group of the needy and do it ASAP.

The first & second point is definitely a dream and it has to come from them as I personally do not envisage any change of power after 2011. But I think, its time to revise the rules and I do not wish any ill to old man although we all know things are likely to change once he had passed on. It is really sad if really have to wish for that to happen to see the change. It is just not moral to curse a fellow human being.

That is all I personally hope for. Do I think it will happen? I am not giving it up as yet.

Observer(SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 21:03

Here’s more.

1) People elected Independent auditing body – for check and balance. Equal to governing body.

2) Complete independent Judiarcy System where CJs are elected by the people not by appointment (i.e. Court of Appeal).

3) Impeachment Rule where citizens elected stateman have the right to invoke.

That’s already quite a handful.

jack
Jul 8, 2008 21:27

Elite uncaring face leader to be open for change ???? Siao Ah !!! you people !!!everything is working so fine with them, what make you so special that they will ever want to change??? Wake up lah. change to make their own life & career & income unstable. if u are in their position would u do that ? NOW , IT”S THEIR OWN INTEREST AGAINST THE PUBLIC INTEREST !!!!! who do you think is more important to them basing on their pass track record… Forget it, Just leave this sick place if you can. Let the leaders and their croonies rule over the PR & FT with all singaporean out of the picture.

Elfred
Jul 8, 2008 21:42

Just talk cock…
The old talk cock, never want cock up when they young…
Now they old, tell young cock up, and they go on talk cock…
The young cock up, they cock the young…
Basically, opening up political scene is as good as opening up a safari…
If Singaporeans think, of cos good.
If Singaproeans can think…
Why open a safari when you can’t tell a tigeress from your wife…?

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 8, 2008 21:47

Observer(SG-HK):

I am sure if you pool everyone in Singapore you will find a mood for wanting different things. Just like you and I have our wants. But the question is whether there is such a want driven by a large enough body of Singaporean that represent wanting a change from the status quo, namely wanting to throw out the PAP?

Take the UK for example. You can see pointers to wanting change without being hobbled by so-called “give credit” mentality. Churchill may have help won the war but he lost the election immediately after the war? Why did the British people not wanting to give Churchill credit by voting him back in? After all “he” won the war didn’t he?

You see Churchill represented an era that was totally out-of-synch with the real world. He wanted to keep the empire whereas the British people want a change from the old order. More importantly, the British people themselves are prepared to make the change by voting for a different administration. Thus proving that the change can only happen if people want it and not when the government grants it.

Is that happening in Singapore context?

Frankly, I don’t see that to being the case. Otherwise, groups like the SDP and others would have been hail as heroes or agents of change right now. And the moderate elements wouldn’t be so quick to embrace the status quo to be seen as credible.

Ah the next I am going to hear is complain that the “opposition” party is too weak. That is why there is no choice but to go with the PAP. Or hence, you commonly hear all this plea and not demand for the PAP to be softer. But then again, if people want change they should working towards it and not expecting others to do so.

The UK Labour party at the time was weak compared to the achievement of Churchill’s conservative party but they still defeated a party that had a track record of saving the nation! How did they do it? Well the British people was prepared to support it. Very simple.

If Singaporean wanted change it could happen now, no need to wait until LKY leave the scene. The “reformist” in the PAP could simply gang up and tell LKY to step down. The younger journalist in the Straits Times could leave the paper and start an alternative media. Members of the civil services could avoid being so high handed with PAP opponents.

Frankly, I don’t see change happening until the Singapore really descended to the state not unlike Zimbabwe before we can hope for any change.

Observer(SG-HK)
Jul 8, 2008 21:48

I can almost hear the arguments coming in that “that the western classic “a term MM always like to make when asked about democracy in press interview, it does not work for Singapore. How is it of the certainty if it was not even given a chance to take of? Isn’t this the decision of the Singapore people? Singapore should be decided by Singaporeans?

I may be old but I am not deaf and brain dead or brain washed or whatever you want to call it. We old people had tolerated long enough. We fully understand the process why this and that needs to be in place in those days. I have absolutely no problem with that even though we realized it’s authocratic. We have just got to bit the bullet then and move on. Where have the conscience of the uprgiht Lee gone to when he was fighting so hard for us against possible threat of communism taking over, riots, the useless brits and so on.

Do you know how much it hurts inside when you hear other citizenry labeling you kiasi, kiasu, bo dan, grew up with nanny, sheeps..and all sorts of stigma when you are overseas? It is not any easier living and working overseas, the sufferings is no less than what is happening on the ground in Singapore. For god sake, I am a human being not a robot. We are all human beings with feelings.

I could not articulate my feelings better like other well educated ones. Neither am I well educated enough to enter politics and I am not one that likes to be involved in politics. We know our abilities. I think many of my generation people are just plain stupid. But when things really goes overboard, it is every citizens duty to stand up and be counted. Do you think many would like to end up in a warring state? We are civilized enough to learn from history. All we asked for is a little dignity to allow us to make our decision for our life. Not for me, may be for my generation, the young, the Singapore who can live to see this. Just let me have a peaceful living. I do not need millions to survive. If I can survive on just a single loaf of bread with water for a week, I certainly can do it again and again, nothing matters anymore.

Doesn’t this quote gives you a reflection of Singaporeans?

“We discovered that peace at any price is no peace at all. We discovered that life at any price has no value whatever; that life is nothing without the privileges, the prides, the rights, the joys which make it worth living, and also worth giving. And we also discovered that there is something more hideous, more atrocious than war or than death; and that is to live in fear.”

Enough have been said and I will never ever going to repeat it, ever again. So please don’t ask this question of what we really want to change. No intention of insult. Thanks.

Gerald
Jul 8, 2008 22:59

Tan Ah Kow (17), you have to work in the civil service to know the meaning of the fear of authority. The Ministers are held in such high esteem that no one dares to question them, except the most senior mavericks (who are few and far between). Bring LKY into the picture, and civil servants are reduced to a bunch of quivering yes-men. So it’s easier said than done to not go along with the wishes of their political masters.

Overseas Singaporean said:

The PAP today gets its votes from 3 groups of Singaporeans: 1) Those who are grateful to them for bringing Singapore to what it is today, ignoring the fact that PAP ver. 1965 is a very different beast from PAP ver. 2008. 2) Apathetic younger Singaporeans who don’t know who else to vote for and vote for them since they’re the most recognizable. A twisted for of “brand recognition” (I know a few of these types) and 3) People who don’t like them but vote for them out of an irrational fear that they or someone they know working in the civil service might get a midnight invitation for kopi even though all involved are but small fries in the greater scheme of things.

Excellent observation and spot on! I’d add that (1) and (3) are often the same people. There are older Singaporeans who curse and swear at the govt in private, but would not even dare to be seen at an opposition rally (I actually know someone like that).

A lot of it is to do with the lack of (non-partisan) political education that we’ve all received, both from school as well as the media. We don’t know our rights, and so are easily manipulated.

Tan Ah Kow
Jul 9, 2008 0:00

Gerald (32):

I have worked in the so-called Civil Service for a short while about a year before I left to work overseas. I was not a degree holder so I was I didn’t have as much privileges then but nevertheless, it was quite a stress-free existence. In fact compared to my current life overseas now, I would say my time in the Civil Service was really stress-free. All I had to do was to obey orders and pretend to work and you get paid! Mind you it was quite well paid too relatively speaking.

In fact my role even at the clerical level was no responsibility at all. The public come to me with a problem, I just give standard template answers or I just bump the problem up. But why did I give up such an ideal stress free lifestyle?

Well it was precisely because I know I can get the stress free lifestyle at a price — i.e. by not questioning authority. I also know that the more I stayed on the more I enjoy the lifestyle the harder it is for more me to contemplate an alternative one. Hence, the fear factor seep in me. Just like so many of my ex-colleague — some very high paying ones — that stayed on. They have become so fearful of loosing their jobs that they feel they have to go with the flow.

Incidentally, I now have some Zimbabwean friends who were, let’s say ex-civil servant in their own country, and when you hear their story about those that stayed on in their own country, you will find a not so comforting parallel to Singapore. Like in the Singapore context, the civil servants in their country still, despite the turmoil in the country, enjoy a very comfortable existence. I was invited to a friend’s parent and mind you when I was there it was so idyllic that you didn’t know problem existed. One thing for sure, is their existence is so tied up with Mugabe that it was understandable that there is a palpable fear of change. Which also explains why people around Mugabe is so willing to carry out his orders without questions.

The big question for Singapore, therefore is this: if fear is so palpable in the inner circle of the PAP, what hope is there for change? And if so much fear is invested in LKY holding the reins of power, why would anyone want an more political openness? For LKY, what incentive is there for him to want an open political system, when fear of him is such as useful tool? Would LKY commit political suicide by opening up?

Fever Guy
Jul 9, 2008 1:35

Absolute Power corrupts the mind. In all history, there are no fairy tale endings for dictators. Why because when absolute power starts to corrupt nothing can change you and what awaits is only your own downfalls. Therefore opening up may only prolong the dictator ’s rule for some time to come but the decay had set in already. Unless more is done, i dont see why people cant seek for change. As change will seek us after all. Fear will lose its power over us when the tidal wave of change hit us like the tsunami that ripple through over northern neighbor.

aquarius
Jul 9, 2008 7:10

Assmbly of 4 person(s) is illegal. To protest, a permit is required. “What’s to do?”
Yes, we can do! Do not wait for ND, just wear black attire from today onwards like daily routine going to work in public to spread the silent words. Come on, Singaporeans! This is our choice to speak up. You want “change” & remain “unhappy & frustrated”. Don’t be “Kiase”.

“Let us put our hands together, old and young, to bring back the lost humanities of yesteryears. To start off, tell everyone to celebrate National Day in dark with our own programmes, avoid any organised celebrations”.

Older Singaporean
Jul 9, 2008 8:46

Thank you all for your comments; I am indeed happy to saviour the diversity of passionate opinions which will augur well for the future generation. I will be moving on from this earth in due course and I can only wish all of you all and Singapore well, and with a special mention to TOC efforts in giving alternative views, and providing the airing platform for all including foreigners.

One last comment – salaries of President, Ministers, GLCs staff, civil servants….
When I joined the civil service as my first job some 30 years ago, I recalled that my pay was S$900 per month; I wish I were born again to try to enter the elite service again – at present salaries who really do not want to consider but the truth is many be be called but few are chosen, and how one is chosen to be a Minister may be the key to all the disquiet……& I do feel for Catherine Lim but there is nothing anyone can do about it for now or the next 15 years.

Lim Chih-Yang
Jul 9, 2008 9:50

Dear Gerald,

I do agree that thre ruling party has been authoritarian and believe that they knows best. They have also over the past few years displayed attitudes of petulance and arrogance.

Having said the above, the opposition in Singapore is no better. I am not dismissing all of the opposition but until the opposition get serious about forming the next goverment and forming a credible alternative, we will be left with a situation where even the least credible opposition can still garner double digit percentage of the votes.

Personally, the goverment’s arrogant attiude has cheesed off many singaporeans.

regards
Chih-Yang

Sing Lang
Jul 9, 2008 11:46

Forget about those stupid Older Singaporeans. Anyway, you are going to die soon. They can continue to reminisce about the good (ironic?).old days. The young should look out for themselves. Anyway, nothing worth looking out for here in Singapore for the future. Probably in a few years time, the casinos will ruin the economy and every Singaporean males will end up having to live off their wives and sisters who have to go overseas to work as maids or what the China gals are doing in Geylang today.

Older Singaporean
Jul 9, 2008 12:38

Do take good care of yourself, SING LANG, and as you have to look out for yourself , I wish you a long life perhaps elsewhere as “the grass is greener on the other side!”

Observer (SG-HK)
Jul 9, 2008 14:20

Dear “Older Singaporean”, let’s be nice to the kids. Everyone of us will pass on, no exception. It is better to have them think independently than to be spoon fed all the time. A brain is a wonderful thing to waste. There will be a time to come for them to grow up, perhaps have children and they someday will reflect when these thoughts and words are uttered by another new kid in town.

PC
Jul 9, 2008 17:08

In the 70’s and 80’s, I am OK with theose comment like Singaporean alway listen to the government etc. In the 90’s, I just cannot take it when such comment on kiaxx and I also notice that changes are add burden to my fellow citizen and
I will be wearing dark on this national day.

Daniel
Jul 9, 2008 18:07

PC, do bring along a white flower to mourn the death of a nation because Singapore is no longer a ‘nation’ but a business corporation run by FamiLee.

sharon
Jul 9, 2008 23:57

yep, wearing black on national day is the least i could do against these monsters to show my displease.

Black
Jul 11, 2008 10:57

Would the fact that a lot of Singaporeans being seen wearing black on National Day make any significant impact? Or for that matter will that simple act of choosing to wear black in itself carry any message across to the leaders that their callous and arrogant ways have roused up this amount of dissatisafction and frustration? Perhaps but what is not possible unless we try…

It will be the clearest demonstration of the power of our will …..which will be wielded by the free exercise of choice – be it of the colour of our clothes or for that matter, the party who he choose to lead the next government. This, they can never take away from us and should be fearful of.

If this government’s does not wake up to the reality of the power of this simple and final vestige of Singaporeans’ freedom then perhaps they have not learnt the lesson that was swiftly dealt to the BN party in neighbouring Malaysia.

May we have a more gracious, equitable and compassionate country!

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 28
Jul 12, 2008 12:04

[...] should begin at the top – The boy who knew too much: The amazing disappearing ERP cards – TOC: Young and old in S’pore want more political openness – My Singapore News: Why 2 senior ministers and 2 DPMs? – catherinelim.sg: Overcoming doubts and [...]

charles
Jul 16, 2008 22:51

Hope the younger Singaporeans could really do something for themselves now and claim back what is originally ours, there is no more feel of being a local Singaporean these days.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized