Sunday, August 17, 2008 23:00
35,000 jobs – or 20,000 jobs?
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 1,432 views • 23 Comments
Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor
In his National Day Rally speech in Chinese, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong was quoted by Channel NewsAsia as having said the following about the number of jobs the two Integrated Resorts (IRs) would create:
The two IRs will need another 20,000 workers. They will not be able to recruit Singaporeans to fill all these positions. In fact, they would not have decided to invest here had we required them to recruit only Singaporeans. (Link)
This is quite a turnaround from the 35,000 jobs which Singaporeans were told would be created by the two IRs. In fact, in Parliament on 18 April 2005, Prime Minister Lee himself cited the figure of 35,000:
Altogether MTI estimates that the two IRs will create about 35,000 jobs, counting jobs within the IRs, plus spinoffs throughout the economy. (Link)
This figure of 35,000 jobs was repeated by then-NTUC Chief Lim Boon Heng the next day in Parliament, 19 April 2005:
So this is not an easy decision, but when there are 35,000 jobs, I cannot say no. (Link)
So, the obvious question one would ask is: Why the discrepancy? What happened to the 15,000 jobs (35,000 – 20,000)? Was the projection wrong?
———-
23 Comments
rs
Omg! Did someone give our PM a wrong script? Maybe there is a one real figure afterall…..
Currently Spared
35K “counting jobs within the IRs, plus spinoffs throughout the economy.”
20K “two IRs will need another 20,000 workers”
15K in spinoffs?
Tan Ah Kow
35K or 20K, these are just guess-itmation anyway.
The real question is how did they work out the number in the first place? What were their assumptions?
no lah. they are counting on our forgetfulness…
Nitpicker
Aiyah, you start with needing 35,000 jobs. Then you fill 15,000 jobs. That leaves “another 20,000 jobs”.
Truly TOC is a worthy successor to the “156th” in its “fair and balanced” coverage.
Daniel
It is the same excuses as saying that FT bring more jobs ! This time the object is IR. So what’s next ?
blackfeline
is someone suffering from amnesia?
kay
15,000 workers already involved in the planning, construction etc of the two IRs, so there are 20,000 left for grabs
Aiyah this one also dunno!! They’re placing bets and gambling on the number of jobs the two IRs can bring in lah!! ;-)
tiredsingaporean
Since when did the garments have any real figure to come up with, just humtam a few numbers, anyway whether correct or not, what can you people do?
Honest mistake
Order, order, order. This is a honest mistake. Next.
sarek_home
35K “counting jobs within the IRs, plus spinoffs throughout the economy.”
20K “two IRs will need another 20,000 workers”
15K in spinoffs?
Yes, 15K in spinoff.
putraputri69
35,000 or 20,000 what does it matter? The crux of the matter is that the majority of the jobs created will be for the service-orientated – croupiers, cashiers, security, receptionists, waitresses, chambermaids, etc. These are the jobs normally shunned by Singaporeans, so do expect more influx of foreigners.
Very Honest Mistake
Hey, come on, the figures are given over a period of almost 3.5 years apart.
If the father can have an honest mistake over an incident which is last than 1 year ago (or shorter), surely the SON can make another honest mistake.
Give this guy a break, it MUST BE A HONEST MISTAKE.
CJ
Post #3 sums it up nicely. Com’on, I expect TOC to be better than this. We speak up on issues. But this is nitpicking.
Andrew, it is ok PM Lee may have decided to cut down the 15k of FTs that are not needed. If, not others in this forum will help him to moderate the figures.
Small matter, after all the citizens already received 3.15 billion even before stagflation. We should use the monies wisely as I heard from one MP onthe news.
lim
“Truly TOC is a worthy successor to the “156th” in its “fair and balanced” coverage.”
To be fair, most of it is individual opinions. People can be dumb but everyone has the right to show it.
“plus spinoffs throughout the economy”
In fact, private property experts assessing impact on rentals recently expect 75,000 jobs…
Opinion ?
“18) lim on August 18th, 2008 6.41 pm
To be fair, most of it is individual opinions. People can be dumb but everyone has the right to show it.”
Hey Lim, I am beginning to like your style. So there are so many links (all from MSM), so which one to believe.
I am also feeling giddy. 35,000, 20,000, 75,000, all in tens of thousands. Wow man, nowsadays, people are so liberal & casual about figures & numbers.
You are right boy, people can be dumb but everyone has the right to show it. Here everyone, please do not take too seriously about the numbers that are coming from our MSM or should I say our officers in the future, they are just opinions.
Well, I hope those individual unemployed looking for jobs do not feel so offended lah. Anyway, it is just figures.
Commitee
We will form a commitee to investigate this matter and the board will consists of independent members.
Once this is done, the report will be submitted to LHL
This is a mere oversight, how much does the ERP pull in a day ?
Anyone with the closest answer will get a year of no ERP when they drive pass the gantery
Daniel
” Here everyone, please do not take too seriously about the numbers that are coming from our MSM or should I say our officers in the future, they are just opinions.”
Of course, we won’t take it seriously. But not when these are the number gahmen hum-dumb to justify their policies, action and decision. This also increasingly encourage them to use blown-out numbers because people don’t question them anyway. Think about that, if publicly can hum-dumb figures, how about decision make privately that affect Singapore ? Is the investment make in other foreign companies due to hum-dumb figure as well ?
Now waiting for gahmen to hum-dumb their salary as well.
white raven
Aiyah, 20K is for locals lah..and balance 15000 are for FWs which will be quietly hired after all the wayang show..and when the debate dies down. Acc to Dependency ratio for the services sector, you can hire up to 1:1 mah. So talking abt the other 15000 now is just going to raise temperatures,so why not say 20000 which may indeed be for Singaporeans lor.
loop
The 2 IRs are not completed yet. We do not know how many Singaporeans will actually be recruited. There are certain jobs which are shunned by Singaporeans. There are also employers who will discriminate against pregnant womens & elderly people. Not exactly sure how many Singaporeans are qualified for the jobs offered by the 2 IRs.

sharp observation.
something worth investigating indeed