Tuesday, August 5, 2008 0:35

An accident waiting to happen (updated)

In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 2,789 views • 48 Comments

Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor

Update (August 5): The Land Transport Authority and the Traffic Police have replied to my email. The LTA says they are widening the road at Jalan Eunos and the bus stop will be shifted and a pedestrian crossing will be added by Oct 2010. The Traffic Police says that its officers will monitor the situation in Eunos and “actions will be taken against pedestrians who flout traffic rules.”

Tens of people risking their lives every morning. A police post that operates only from 12 noon. A town council official who doesn’t acknowledge your email. And the Traffic Police who, apparently, doesn’t take the situation seriously.

Over at Eunos, on the eastern part of Singapore, a situation is developing which could be aptly described as an accident waiting to happen.

Every morning groups of workers alight from the buses at the bus stop located at the junction between Jalan Eunos and Eunos Crescent. They would then wait for an opportune time before making a dash across the road — even though a traffic crossing for pedestrians is located just 30 or 40 meters away. This would normally not be alarming except that in this case the traffic at Jalan Eunos is very heavy at all times of the day. Vehicles are either heading towards the Pan Island Expressway (PIE) or coming in from it. Coupled with the traffic coming out from Eunos Crescent, the danger for both pedestrians and motorists is multiplied.

Yet, it seems that the authorities are not taking the situation seriously enough — even when it is apparent that they have known about it for at least more than a year.

Where has common sense gone?

If you watch the video below, taken one recent morning between 7.30am and 8.30am, perhaps you will understand better what I am trying to say here. The alighting point for the workers requires them to make a big detour in order to get to the other side of the road, to either go to their offices at the industrial estate or to take the train at Eunos MRT station. They have to walk about 30 meters to the first crossing, get across the road, and repeat it again at the second traffic light junction at Eunos Crescent. I figure it’s about a 80 to 90 meters’ walk to get from where they have alighted to the other side of the road. A dash from the bus stop to Eunos Crescent saves them all that trouble. That is why, I guess, so many of them do it.

However, it is not only a lazy thing to do but also a very stupid thing to do — to risk one’s life so carelessly, and irresponsibly too because doing this poses not only a danger to oneself, but also to motorists. There have been instances where motorists would jam on their brakes to avoid slamming into these people dashing across the road. You will also see in the video below the unnecessary danger these people put themselves in – by standing right where the buses are coming in to the bus stop. Your heart skips a beat and you hold your breath. You can almost sense the anxiety of the bus drivers as well, as they try to avoid hitting anyone.

Why anyone would tempt fate, as it were, in such a fashion every morning and evening, is beyond me. Where has common sense gone?

The authorities

I decided to seek some answers from the nearby Kampung Ubi police post, located about two blocks away from the junction. Earlier this year, I had seen policemen posted at the junction to deter and “book” those who were crossing illegally. Well, the shutters were down at the police post. It surprised me. It was almost 9am. Why is the police post shut? I then noticed the sign outside it — the operating hours for the police post was from 12 noon to 10pm daily. I was stumped. A police post which opens only at 12 noon and only for 10 hours every day? Perhaps Ms Sylvia Lim was right — our Home Team is short of manpower and is stretched too thin. I decided that I would ask about that another day — when the police post opens at 12 noon.

In the meantime, I went home and wrote an email to the Member of Parliament for that area, Mr Ong Seh Hong. The area is part of Marine Parade GRC, led by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong. In my email to Mr Ong, I asked if he was aware of the situation at the junction, what was being done and whether he has brought it to the attention of the relevant authorities. Mr Ong also holds his Meet-The-People session every Tuesday at a block near that junction.

The property manager of Marine Parade Town Council replied to my queries. Well, sort of. He didn’t so much reply as to “carbon-copy” — or cc — me when he forwarded my email to the LTA and the traffic police. His one-sentence email said: “Please refer to the mail from Mr Andrew, appreciate your follow up action.” That’s all. Not even an acknowledgement to me, or that he received my mail. And he didn’t even bother to answer or acknowledge the questions I had posed for the MP either. Not even a simple “thank you”. So much for courtesy.

I encountered the same with my own MP in my ward in Ang Mo Kio GRC when I wrote to her about another matter. No acknowledgement. She too just “cc-ed” me when she forwarded my mail to the relevant authorities. I am beginning to wonder if it’s so hard for an MP to even type a short thank you or acknowledgement to residents or Singaporeans who bring important matters to their attention. But I have to say that the police officer who handled this other matter in my estate was extremely professional, friendly and understanding.

Back to the traffic situation at Eunos. On Sunday night, I made a trip back to Eunos to speak to the officers at the Kampung Ubi police post. The first thing I noticed when I stepped into the police post was that there was only one officer there. Later, I was told that the post was indeed manned by only one officer, and he would be stationed there from 12 noon to 10pm, as mentioned earlier. The officer didn’t really explain why this is so.

After I related the traffic situation to him, he told me that it was the responsiblity of the Traffic Police. When I enquired further, he suggested that I speak to the MP and he assured me that they, the police post officers, are aware of the situation. “So, why isn’t anything done about it for so long?” I asked. He replied that they are busy with other matters in the neighbourhood which are just as urgent and he repeated that this was the responsibility of the Traffic Police. “But people are risking their own lives and endangering others every day — every morning and evening. Isn’t it important that something be done about it?”, I asked him again. The officer assured me that he will inform his supervisor about the matter.

I told him that I had taken a few videos of the situation at the junction and if he’d like to watch them. He didn’t express any interest. I left the police post feeling really disappointed.

Responsibility

What I would like to suggest to the Traffic Police, the LTA and the MP for the area are:

1. Put up barriers at the bus stop to prevent the workers from crossing there.

2. Re-locate the current traffic crossing. Perhaps an overhead bridge can be built instead, further down from where the bus stop is. After all, not many people use the current traffic crossing because of its incovenient location, and Jalan Eunos is a very busy road at all times of the day. An overhead bridge would allow traffic to flow more smoothly too.

3. That the Traffic Police take such matters seriously. If it’s important enough for the police to station officers at the junction to deter jaywalkers, then it is important enough to do something about it – a permanent solution – and not a temporary deterrent one.

4. That the MP for the area be mindful that just because something is under the purview of another government agency doesn’t mean that he should ignore it, especially when it involves the safety of the people in his ward. After all, he is in the area at least once a week, just two blocks away from that particular junction, and should be aware of such a situation which has existed for more than a year at least.

It’s been five days since my original letter to the MP, Mr Ong Seh Hong. I’ve yet to hear from him.

Meantime, let’s hope the Traffic Police will be more responsive.

Otherwise, besides those who put their own lives, and that of others in danger, the police will also have to be held responsible if someone should be fatally injured one of these days at that junction. All it takes is for one driver to be distracted and a whole group of people will be very seriously injured — if not fatally so.

The situation, to me, is an accident waiting to happen.

———–

1. Change will not happen if we wait for some other person or some other time
  2. Breaking News: Prof stabbed, student dies at NTU (Updated with NTU press release)
  3. HDB replies: Waiting time for rental flat is now reduced
  4. MFA update on accident involving Romanian embassy vehicle
  5. Letter to TOC (Updated)

48 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

spursian
Aug 5, 2008 1:58

Not just this Eunos area. I’m sure everyone knows the number of stupid jaywalkers along Orchard Road, in between Tangs and Wisma Atria, despite the presence of an underpass! Don’t tell me our traffic police are so blind and oblivious to this recurrent happening? It’s more than common knowledge yet I never see any traffic police stationed there to ‘book’ these idiots. They rather waste time planting secret cameras and hiding in bushes. And why did they remove the barriers? I remember they used to be there before Swing Singapore.

denniswang
Aug 5, 2008 2:38

Having worked with the police, I can understand the attitude of the officer in the police post. Reporting this incident to his supervisor is most likely disadvantageous to him and his colleagues. Best case scenario: The supervisor transfers the case to the Traffic Police with the video and report and case closed at least for the police in your neighbourhood. Worst case scenario: the commanding officer of the NPC in charge of the police post hears of it, and decide to send officers down at the junction to deter jaywalkers.

And who are the officers going down there? It will be the officer you lodged the report to and his colleagues. Having been overworked since they joined the force and faced with decreasing manpower, never ending paper work and increasing cases to follow up, this is one less thing they can do without to burn their off days (of which many are already burned for various reasons). And that same officer will get cursed and sweared at by his fellow colleagues for weeks to come everytime they do OT at the junction. And they hate doing this, because they also know this is just a wayang show for the commanding officer and for YOU, the man who lodged the report, to keep you happy.

In short: they do not want to invite trouble and make their job more tedious. Being a policeman is not like during the 80s or in the movies anymore. Now, a policeman is all about service. Many arre disllusioned in the job scope of a junior police officer now. And not being enthusiastic about the job, many aim to just avoid complaints so as not to delay their promotion in rank or affect their year end bonus is the most important. They are not interested in doing the RIGHT things anymore, they just don’t want to do WRONG things.

Sad to say, this attitude is also prevalent in many other agencies

Saint Splattergut
Aug 5, 2008 6:55

Ah? Video no longer available? Oh dear.

goondu
Aug 5, 2008 7:52

Send this to STOMP.

blackfeline
Aug 5, 2008 8:34

try checking out..the horrible traffic junction between Bugis Junction and the old Bugis “marketplace”…screaming for an accident soon!

sobri
Aug 5, 2008 9:15

If you were one of the workers alighting at the bus stop, would you do the same?

Chances are you would ( and so would I ). If you study carefully, the situation is similar to most junctions where pedestrians could cross and turning traffic has to give way…………..only this time, it is not an assigned pedestrian crossing.

Perhaps it would be wise to designate it as such, even temporarily, so that turning traffic can be wary of pedestrians crossing. Of course it would delay traffic at the junction a little more, but what price for safety?

80m to 90m of extra leg work is a lot to a pedestrian especially if they late or tired after work. To a motorist ( like me ) it is just a short step on the accelarator. So rather than resorting to drastic measure of fining jaywalkers, who will then play a cat & mouse game with the authorities, a more positive approach could be taken.

Dan
Aug 5, 2008 9:37

I am not surprised at the inaction. I too have made many emails/calls to various depts over 2 years regarding cars running red lights at junction of Upp Pickering St/South Bridge Rd. Nothing was done, i can only remember 1 email reply (standard type). Till today, cars are still running the red light, ignoring pedestrains who have right of way. It has become a game of dare.

bochappeople
Aug 5, 2008 9:54

Feedback to Town Council – Town Council c.c. to Traffic Police – Traffic Police asked for your personal particulars including address and IC number, and your consent to testify in court – that is my experience when I complained about motorcycles parked on sidewalk.

Write to Traffic Police directly, they ignored you completely.

Platinum337
Aug 5, 2008 9:56

You should know by now this “FIRST WORLD” government will only “wake up’ when fatal accident happened. Traffic police only work for the ‘LEEDERS’, not we peasants. It is the government’s police force, not our police force.

gtiong
Aug 5, 2008 10:08

I used to be one of those dashing across the road risking my own life pedestrian, so I guess it would be fair for me to give the reason why ppl are risking their life dashing across the road.

If it is a simple matter of 80 to 90m of extra leg work, then I would agree that it is really a stupid idea risking one’s life. But we have to look at the distance and inconvenience one has to endure if one choose the safer route.

First we have to look at how the traffic flow and stop. Near the upper part of the video, the traffic flows from left to right. Below it, the traffic flow from right to left. At the bottom of the screen, there are traffic coming out, that can turn right or left. So the traffic light timing is like this.
1) Left to right and right to left traffic green light. Bottom traffic red light.
2) Left to right green light + right turn arrow (turning to the bottom). Right to left and bottom traffic red light.
3) Bottom traffic green light. Left to right and right to left red light.

Now, let’s see the pedestrian flow and you will see how inconvenience it is. On the left side of the yellow box, the crossing is split into 2 sections, upper and lower.
a) To cross the upper section, one has to wait for the traffic flowing from left to right to come to a halt or the scenario 3 described above.
b) By the time they reached the lower section, they faced a red man. To cross this section, one has to wait for scenario 2 to happen, meaning one has to wait out the remaining of scenario 3 and scenario 1 to finish.
c) When the reached the bottom section, they again faced a red man. To cross this section, one has to wait for scenario 1 to happen, so one has to wait out the rest of scenario 2 and scenario 3 to end.

In short, choosing the safer option, one has to wait through 2-3 cycles of scenario 1, 2 & 3. And the timing of scenario 1 is especially long, as it is the main road and a very busy one. Maybe someone can find out the time involved.

For myself, as my bus stops at Eunos bus interchange and I am transferring to the MRT to work. So I can afford to choose the 3rd option, also a very long winded one. Walking to MRT from the bus-stop in the video takes around 5-10 mins. By bus, it will do a huge detour, encountering no less than 5 traffic lights along the way, and will takes around 10-20 mins. The only comfort is the bus is air-conditioned, but you will still have to pray that the bus is not too crowded and the bus driver won’t make you nausea by his reckless driving.

John
Aug 5, 2008 11:01

To Singapore Resident – u you great! if he is there , probably u will see 50 policemen with Commanding officers there! haha

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 5 Aug 2008
Aug 5, 2008 11:46

[...] Discourse – Hear Ye! Hear Ye!: Red or white – TOC: An accident waiting to happen – Singapore Fountain Pen: Of The Best And Worst Singaporean [...]

actorandactress
Aug 5, 2008 12:04

hello Polices and authorities what u all doing wake up your fucking ideas lah peoples u all must care how can you dont take this matter seriously must scold u all then u take actions take action i dont care u are police or
authorities i want to see justices to be done i will mend your business if you all wont do it it my problems now dont let criminals have chance to do it in scot free

AJ
Aug 5, 2008 13:34

Please don’t spoil what is otherwise a pretty good site with such articles calling for a greater nanny state.
Just as with the piece on Karang Guni men, this sort of piece is better suited to the small-minded ramblings found on sites like Stomp!
The good arguement/criticism regarding the lack of action typical of our elected officials was lost in the pettiness of the call for police action to prosecute jay-walkers. Come on, keep it real, and if you haven’t got anything useful to write, write nothing.

Toonrox
Aug 5, 2008 13:43

I have staying in the area and using Eunos mrt for almost 15 years. That area, including the way people crosses the road, hasnt change a bit.

Khoo Hung Kim
Aug 5, 2008 14:12

Thanks to TOC for the article. I agree with ’spursian’ that another place waiting for an accident to happen is Orchard Road. I highlighted this issue to URA about two years ago and they promised to do something. But nothing has been done. Though there are two underground passages, there are insufficient signages to direct commuters to them. The current signages are either poorly placed or are in a language not understood by many tourists.

Daniel
Aug 5, 2008 14:25

I might not think this is a serious problem wise Singapore really really become a nanny state if police is really to enforce this. Will a bridge rather than underground pass solve the problem ?

Charles
Aug 5, 2008 14:34

Singapore needs to take risk and stop the diktat of the motorists:

Singapore needs to wake-up, and start using:

ROUND-ABOUTS.

they are “auto-traffic, auto-speed regulation systems”

Yes it will be a mess for a a few months, but it is the only solution.
But LTA cannot take risk of a few months mess and loose face.

xtrocious
Aug 5, 2008 14:36

Hmm…seems like everything here is an accident waiting to happen…

Have things gone wrong with the social engineering, opps, I meant education system?

TTY
Aug 5, 2008 16:43

I stay in this block for about 30 years. It has been like that for as long as I can remember. A few times a month, traffic police will deployed one or 2 officers at this junction, and the officers will hide behind the trees at the far bank. (from the bus-stop).

I always think, whenever I see officers at this junction, that if they are truely sincere in trying to prevent any accidents or more keen in booking and fining the jaywalkers.

Firstly if they hide behind trees, they will have a massive number of jaywalkers for them to book. But still it does not elimimate the risk of the other road users should an accident occurs.

If they made their presence known, at the opposite of the bus-stop, those whom see them will cross the junction using the lights while those who did not see, will become their target. Still it does not eliminate the risk of the road users.

If they are sincere in preventing any potential accident from happening, they should deploy at the near bank (at the bus-stop) and make sure ALL would-be jaywalkers see them, and that no one really cross the road dangerously. Although it will still be a cat and mouse situation but it at least ensure safety for the motorist during the time that they were deployed there.

Each time I approach this junction, I take extra precautionary measure because I know of the dangerous situation. But in Eunos, there is a market that is famous to many ppl, and many drivers like driving here every Sat or Sun morning for the market, without knowing the danger of this junction. Recently after expanding the Eunos Crescent 1 lane to 2 lanes road, there are more vehicles using this junction.

I always tell my friends who will drive here that, be very careful. It is not worth to risk losing a driving license just because running down a stupid jaywalker.

cx
Aug 5, 2008 16:55

i hope this is an elaborate send up of the complaint routine in stomp/newspaper forums. problem–>complain in v self righteous tone to authorites –> gripe when nobody does anything –> mount a very high horse and complain to internet forum.

unfortunately it probably isn’t. isn’t all this video taking trip recording finicky poo just too funny for words? i mean, can;’t you see how ridiculous all this is?

i’m with AJ, post (13) above.

cf. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Whitehouse

mr kit
Aug 5, 2008 17:36

nothing new. its singapore. move along, move along

spursian
Aug 5, 2008 17:38

I don’t think it has something to do with being a nanny state. It is to highlight responsiblilties that are supposed to be done are not done. No one is asking them to be present all the time, but at least make some effort to reduce such risks.

Sometimes it doesn’t need constant monitoring of the area by the police. Couldn’t they do it once in a while, have the mass media report how many people were severely fined? Once it becomes a well-known statement that the police are watching, wouldn’t that deter a lot of people from taking the risk of jaywalking? Sure there’ll still be some jaywalkers, but most will be deterred.

DA
Aug 5, 2008 18:24

I believe there are two issues here. The first is “why isn’t the government doing more to stop people from risking their lives by jaywalking”, which is entirely silly. As much criticism as we have for the government, are we really trying to pin blame on them for people’s own choice of breaking the law. Consider the alternative and they set up barriers as proposed by this article: we would start complaining that the government is taking too much control of our lives, nanny state, etc

Rather, the second and more important issue would be “should there not be something done about the ineffeciency of the road system here, and why have the relevant authorities not done anything despite this situation having been apparent for a long while”. There is some legitimacy to this issue, but I really don’t think asking “why aren’t there more traffic police/why are they not position better?” is a valid question to be asking

ash
Aug 5, 2008 19:35

Good article, and this is really citizen journalism, compared to STOMP. Ignore the negative comments from some readers.

One point to add is, this road is frequented by learner drivers from Comfort Driving School and this is also a route for the Traffic Police driving test. Why i raise this, because I failed my PT test because of the jay walkers.

Anyway, good piece of article. I hope the MP will give an official explanation and hope someone will pick up your article and highlight in Parliament or in the main stream media.

Cheers, ash

Life through these eyes :: An accident waiting to happen? Or is it really… :: August :: 2008
Aug 5, 2008 20:33

[...] a post from The Online Citizen titled "An Accident waiting to happen" in which Deputy Editor [...]

Leong Sze Hian
Aug 5, 2008 21:02

Complacency?

mole
Aug 5, 2008 22:04

These are mainly foreign workers? Somewhere near my place at Bukit Batok, there’s a new hostel built for foreign workers. Mainly the MAINLAND CHINESE! They are so damn irritating, and the way they sit at the kerb of the bus stop and around the bus stop just reminds me of the same kind of people crowding in China! It totally ruins the image of Singapore.
I can understand your situation of the MPs in your area and Marine Parade. My friend staying in AMK experience the same problem with his MP. They think that they are with someone strong and therefore would not lose the support.
Occasionally, I help out with the Meet-the-people-session (MPS) at Yew Tee, which is served by Yeo Cheow Tong. Although there are many bad rumors about him, I actually saw another side of him. He actually meets every single resident who wants to complain to him, and also, once, there was this guy who sent an email to him complaining of a matter I can’t rmb. Unlike what your MPs replied to you, he actually informed the guy about the MPS timing and location personally.
I lodged a complaint to the Transport Minister recently of a matter which I found particularly serious considering the way the staff at LTA handled it. He did not give a hoot to reply.

spursian
Aug 5, 2008 22:08

To DA: With reference to your first point, isn’t it the police’s duty to punish people who break the law and as such, prevent future occurences and ensure people obey the law? Obviously the jaywalkers are breaking the law and the authorities know about it yet nothing is done. That is the issue. Why must we always wait for the ticking time bomb to set off before we impose measures? (e.g. seat belts in buses etc) Do we need to wait for someone to get killed, driver gets jailed, before we start acting?

Fever Guy
Aug 5, 2008 22:10

No time. No Time.

Traffic police only have time to escort Mugabe of Zimbabweto to hospital from airport. TPs also have time to escort SM to airport at 70km/h on the first lane kicking other cars out. TP have time for resident of EUNOS? NO they dont.

LTA no time to build bridge, but alot of time to erect ERP gantries. No time to review road safety for pedestrians coz they dont pay ERP!!! Less $$$$ priority. Time is Money they are practical.

Eunos MP has no time, he has to work balance his directorship at various companies and as long as no one died, he is fine…counting $$$$.

Police has no time, since they are the busiest of them all. 236 : 100000 residents. WKS still need them to catch MSK. Police no time to do report, they busy catching thieves and illegals. Very sad.

Singaporeans no time. They cross illegally as if they are insured of millions. They find time more expensive than their life.

The gahmen has no time. They are busy with making $$$$ and bad investments and busy with increasing ministers pay and bad policies. They have no time.

Who have time? No one.

atomant
Aug 5, 2008 22:18

This is Singapore, No body died, No action taken, just look back what had happen in the past incident, example: dragon boat. NS training…..

Kit Tan
Aug 5, 2008 23:15

Just a short comment. I think to call this an “accident” waiting to happen is rather misleading. Yes, the distance to the crossing is quite an inconvenience, but the fact remains that there is one. If these jaywalkers so choose the short cut for the sake of convenience, knowing full well that there is a risk to their lives, in my opinion they have no one to blame but themselves if they get knocked down in the process.

There is no “accident” here. It is simply a choice made and the consequences to be lived with, if so applicable. To expect the authorities to be involved (yet again) in even the mediocre aspects of citizens’ lives gives our citizens far too little credit.

GS
Aug 6, 2008 1:22

I would like to know the breakdown of these jaywalkers by nationality.

I frequent this area and sometimes get confused if I am actually driving through Geylang or Little India.

Ned Stark
Aug 6, 2008 2:25

Kit Tan,

I am not too familiar with the traffic rules, but I think that in Singapore that the person who knocks these people down will be liable for their accident. If that is true then it is indeed an accident waiting to happen.

cheekenwing
Aug 6, 2008 4:11

The jaywalking looks messy by Singapore standards but it is definitely orderly by Southeast Asian standards. If you have crossed roads either legally and illegally in neighbouring countries, doing the same crossing along this Eunos stretch is cakewalk. There is no risk when jaywalkers cross the road in a bunch because motorists will slow down, but there is some risk when some inexperienced jaywalker decides to cross the road alone. It’s a bad move, but can be a candidate for the Darwin Awards.

Having TP stationed there more often is simply a waste of govt resources. If it is truly an accident-prone area, then a more permanent solution such as a bridge, underpass, or zebra crossing is preferable.

Gus
Aug 6, 2008 6:11

The police should consider implementing a pedestrain crossing system adopted in some countries – where the vehicles from all direction stop and pedestrains are allowed to cross in all directions including diagonally. Then after that all the vehicles are allowed to go smoothly uninterrupted until the next cross.

Not everybody can use a bridge.
Police officers are much needed elsewhere – priority cases such as serious accidents, fights, etc
too expensive to build underground crossing with escalator.

Besides we are aduuts and we know are all expected to use the crossing for our own safety. so cannot shift the blame to others.

I am sure motorists will slow down at these junction to allow people to cross. We can all learn to be gracious and tolerant.

Pushing the blame and unkind remarks, etc are usually the easiest things to do.

opeth
Aug 6, 2008 9:16

“The police should consider implementing a pedestrain crossing system adopted in some countries – where the vehicles from all direction stop and pedestrains are allowed to cross in all directions including diagonally. Then after that all the vehicles are allowed to go smoothly uninterrupted until the next cross.”

Just like Tokyo……

TTY
Aug 6, 2008 9:48

Just a quick note.

After reading this article yesterday, I sent a short email to the MP at 5.17pm highlighting the imminent danger mentioned in the said article and the various encounters.

The MP replied personally at 6.12pm acknowledging this issues and that has informed the relevant departments to take immediate action.

As to some commentors who said those jaywalkers deserve it, please note that in the event of an accident, it is most likely that the driver or rider himself who will get all the troubles/problems/facing the law etc. (the jaywalker could already be no-longer around).

Another senario that could happen will be that a motorcylist while trying to prevent running down the jaywalkers by making a sudden and sharp turn, thereby being knock down by a truck travelling just next to him and killing him. So who is to blame for this? The jaywalker? The truck? The motorcyclist? or those who are now make aware of these problems, but choose to ignore?

Unkind remarks are bad
Aug 6, 2008 9:53

“36) Gus on August 6th, 2008 6.11 am Pushing the blame and unkind remarks, etc are usually the easiest things to do.”

You are right boy. However, sometimes this step has to be taken so that positive pressure will nudge the relevant party (ies) into taking the rightful necessary action.

If friendly reminders / feedbacks can do the work, all the better. Did not the author already try to do that.

Andrew Loh
Aug 6, 2008 10:14

Hi everyone,

Allow me to address some of the questions briefly.

I don’t think it matters where this issue is brought up – whether on TOC or STOMP. The more important thing, to me at least, is that people’s lives are in danger. You watch the video. It is self-evident.

I wasn’t trying to politicise the issue. This particular case at Eunos has been going on for a while. Only recently did I have the time to observe and take the video, which I feel explains better what I saw and was trying to say.

My main concern, besides the safety of the pedestrians and the motorists, is why nothing permanent was done about it – given the fact that the situation has existed for a long time.

I am glad that the LTA and the Traffic Police has replied. I am also glad that a new traffic crossing will be installed and the road widened. However, the fact that these will only be completed in 2010, as the LTA said, I am concerned about what will be done in the meantime. I have asked the LTA and the police and am awaiting their replies.

Regards,
Andrew Loh

A Tan
Aug 6, 2008 10:40

Well said Andrew.

I was just about to criticise AJ for his comments.

Yr piece will have done more gd for the credibility of what you and the others are trying to achive than any amount of commentaries.

You all have yr feet firmly on the ground, not like JBJ, the Chees & Co: forever posturing.

My feet need to be firmly on the ground.
Aug 6, 2008 10:59

“41) A Tan on August 6th, 2008 10.40 am Yr piece will have done more gd for the credibility of what you and the others are trying to achive than any amount of commentaries. You all have yr feet firmly on the ground, not like JBJ, the Chees & Co: forever posturing.”

Is it ? Fallacy of false alternative. Trying to curry favour one or two in order to exclude others. Hey internet age lah. This kind of old tricks do not work anymore. Try something new lah.

goodnewskult
Aug 6, 2008 11:20

Dear Andrew,

Please allow me to take this chance to highlight related kinds of risk conidtions waiting for disaster to happen.

I wish to bring to your attention that at EVERY major Events in Suntec and The Expo, like the PC Show among others, there is a HIGH RISK that when someone shouts BOMB! , a human stampede may result in injuries and possibly deaths (causes by heart attacks, stampede , suffocation etc) due to the overCROWDing.

Foreigners know the problem well and one of the things they get turned off about singapore is the overcrowding that they are not used to in their true 1st worlds where quality of life is much higher.

To the credit of the organizers, they have deployed some marshalls to help control the traffic in recent major event like PC show.

Sadly, that does not help address the problem of possible stampede as the crowd is still exceeding the safety limits, in my view. To crawl from point A to point B 20 meters away may take 20 minutes.

While singapore is business oriented and pro-business, the safety of the people must be considered 1st before anything else. 1 Life Too many.

I hope that after raising this alert, the authorities and most importantly the people can voice up more about such concerns as singapore is really just too tiny a dot full of shopping malls and people and new migrants, PRs and foreign workers.

If TERRORISTS want to cause some chaos in this society, may not be as difficult as you think. The thing to note is that such tragic events have not happened before in singapore.

can it handle such situations?

Based on current overcrowding situations, I fear not.

Regards
Sad_but_true.

sarek_home
Aug 6, 2008 11:39

a new traffic crossing will be installed and the road widened. However, the fact that these will only be completed in 2010, as the LTA said…..

When will the traffic crossing completed? It should not take that long. Hope LTA is not bundling it with the road widening. BTW, when they say 2010, it can means 4th quarter of 2010, I am serious.

The civil servants only work fast when there is some publicity on issue raising the heat. Complacent.

nice vid
Aug 6, 2008 16:20

fior a moment I thought the footage was taken fromThailand or Manila or Indonesia. Then I realise its from the 1st world Singapore.

Fever Guy
Aug 6, 2008 23:50

They have no time…..until 2010. In the meantime, wait lor.

Terence-C
Aug 7, 2008 14:06

This reminds me of the Nicoll Highway incident. Who were the guity parties? Who got the blame? Who got the fines? And lastly, who got away?

I can recall couple of individuals, and one corpn. Nishimatsu were being fingered prominently. The rest seemed safe.

iceman
Aug 8, 2008 18:23

Everyone seems to just be blaming the authorithies except the individuals whom blatantly break the laws for convinience sake.

The crossing is there, a bit far, but so what..u choose lah..They chose the dangerous way and the writer goes around blaming the authorities?

Its a behaviuor issue..enforcement can help..but for how long? at the end of it, its still people’s choice..is the writer implying that Police is to be blamed if someone gets an accident there? Wheres the logic?

People have to have personal responsibilities and not blame others..I think the Police have done their part abeit that they can do more. I think LTA has provided the crossings, railings and you cant put barriers at the bus stop??Thats dangerous and the bus stop is too near the junction!! and the MP must surely have tried his best.Only one I cant figure out is the Town Council?But I guess they got the easiest part – just referring the email..hahaha.

Move along everyone! Happy National Day to all..

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook