Sunday, August 24, 2008 8:57

Before you speak, please…

In Quotes • 202 views • 19 Comments

Please don’t destroy the plants, don’t disturb other people…do it within certain hours, don’t make too much noise… Please exercise the freedom to demonstrate. Please do it within the rules. Please respect and recognise that we are a multiracial, multi-religious society.

Mah Bow Tan – on using Speakers’ Corner

1. Will S’poreans speak up for others?
  2. Our hope for Singapore – activists speak up
  3. Speak, act, change – We will influence the decisions
  4. Malaysian politicians to speak at NUS
  5. Why students do not speak up

19 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

zhummmeng
Aug 24, 2008 11:25

Also don’t do these:
Please keep your voice low, you may disturb the insects.
Please don’t scuffle when demonstrating, you may disturb the frogs
Please don’t use expletives you may break some ear drums
Please remember the police station is nearby
Please no PA system, it is not getai
Please don’t demonstrate if you have no good reason
Please don’t sing, singing requires entertainment license
Please don’t busker, strictly for speaking and demonstrating,(Gigong excluded)
Please don’t do all the above too early and not too late . We can’t keep up with you.
Just do and don’t break the law. Remember to read the “don’t do” in small prints

Tew N S
Aug 24, 2008 13:49

Better still, please don’t demonstrate, stay home watch movie, let Pap decide our future. Mah Boh Tan, you don’t talk cock, you are the worse minister, you turn HDB from a non profit org. to a money making machine. You are a blood sucker.

C J
Aug 24, 2008 14:28

I think, Please Do Away with Speakers Corner altogether.
It’s a pointless venue, & an equally lame attempt at ‘opening up’…

Forget it, shelve it. Save people all the frustrations.

SINGAPOREAN 52
Aug 24, 2008 14:36

so many “PLEASE”.ar???

itneednotbee_dun_be_too_sensitive
Aug 24, 2008 15:41

Please Pay Me More….
I mean pay me more peanuts.
I mean barter trading.
I mean pay me more peanuts for butter and barter trading.
ooops! wrong post.

School teacher
Aug 24, 2008 16:05

He sounds like a school teacher taking down to his students.

i guess all of them after products of our great education system, where there isn’t a need to think, just memorize and repeat it over and over again until it start making sense to you…. i think you call it brain washing or drain washing…..

He forgot to add silent demonstations where people are so pissed that they keep quiet and vote out this “repeaters” during elections …..

Anyone seen MSK by the way ?? or WKS for that matter ……..

zhummmeng
Aug 24, 2008 16:37

Please don’t shout , the residents across the street might complain. Don’t say i didn’t tell you, ah.
If you need to, please rent the meeting room at the nearby building for a fee, and you can shout and scream and demonstrate but keep all doors closed and locked so you don’t disturb the peace of passers by..
Please, please one more thing to remember, keep it to the speaker
corner and no spill over to the road, your right ends here. Again, don’t say I never give you freedom, ok?

blowme
Aug 24, 2008 17:18

mah bow tan should engage his little brain before opening his mouth or stop his blowing activities when he is trying to say something meaningful.
since this govt is so kiasu and kiasi, just relocate the speakers corner next to changi prison and name it changi park. mah bow tan will then have no worries !

speakers corner
Aug 24, 2008 18:14

Its funny how we call it a speakers corner, but there are restrictions on speaking …

How about a gathering corner, where a group of more that six is allowed.. this will be the first in the world !!! I think its pretty cool !!

Mah bow tan, should also have a drinking corner , like they did a smoking corner .. this way people can stay clear of the area.

Also to keep the city state clean and looking clean for the youth AUlimpigs, we should have an eating corner which is at the outskirts, to keep our city state clean.

guojun
Aug 24, 2008 18:37

Demonstrate also need rules. In the end its the same lor. Back to school! Speakers Corner machiam PE lesson like that. Please don’t do this, please don’t do that…Mah Bow Tan would have made a GREAT primary school teacher…just replace ‘Please’ with ‘Children’ can liao.

zhummmeng
Aug 24, 2008 19:10

I wonder how to accommodate the crowd if you get Anwar to speak only at the speakers corner? Sure kenna stop…
Next ‘don’t’ will be , “please don’t invite foreign speakers to speak” or “foreign speakers are banned”., only local speakers corner.
If you have a big crowd how to ’siam’ the plants. again kenna…It seems a lot of traps there. I think the Mah powtan has in mind of a 5 or 6 people demonstrating and an audience of another 5 or 6 making it a dozen.
He said the police bochap now..sure or not..rather grey.

blackfeline
Aug 24, 2008 20:54

can someone pls tell that guy to SHUT UP!

Andrew Loh
Aug 24, 2008 21:51

As Hossan Leong sang in the video – “We Live In Singapura”:

“Want to protest go indoor.”

When you have foolish laws, this is what happens. During the IMF/World Bank meeting here in S’pore, demonstrators were allowed to protest – but indoor – in a carefully demarcated box. (I think it was 4m X 4m or something.)

Now, the Burmese protesters are being penalised for protesting outdoors.

Singaporeans lagi best – Please don’t shout, don’t scream, don’t step on the plants, don’t disturb other people, do it within certain hours.

I think better we go indoor protest la. And this is called “opening up”?? It sounds more like shutting down.

Jie Kai
Aug 24, 2008 22:08

To be fair that’s all fairly common sense behaviour at outdoor demonstrations elsewhere in the world. No one really wants violence or looting on neighbouring shops around the vicinity of Hong Lim Park.

Let us prove the government wrong by being civilised participants in demonstrations ( in whatever cause we see fit to support), when they open up Hong Lim Park.

Daniel
Aug 24, 2008 22:37

“Let us prove the government wrong by being civilised participants in demonstrations ( in whatever cause we see fit to support), when they open up Hong Lim Park.”

If peaceful demonstration have proven them wrong, it means the gov who love to claim that the protest = riot have deprived us of this right by feeding propaganda. In MSM and gahmen’s speech, protest always means violence and chao. Now if peaceful demonstration is successful, that’s means the gov is guilty of distorting the truth that protest != riot. Now who to bring them to court ? Opss… how to ? If they already buy over the kangaroo courts, military and the the police ?
haha, damn they do and damn they don’t.

well they can always say It is a honest mistake and that will allow them to get away scoff-free.

Singapore Channel
Aug 24, 2008 23:19

What he means is…

“Please don’t speak about me, not holding a candle to Chiam See Tong.”

hereslookingatyoukid
Aug 24, 2008 23:20

well they can always say It is a honest mistake and that will allow them to get away scoff-free.

precisely.

A.Z Tan
Aug 24, 2008 23:59

Who then can SPEAK FREELY with all these people and rules breathing heavily down your neck? I bet there will be well placed CCTV and hidden microphones to tap on content and plain clothes policemen mingling around with the innocent crowd.

guojun
Aug 25, 2008 6:52

yes can we just move on? it’s happened, let’s move on! HAHA

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook