The STTA’s president must realise that winning an Olympic medal means nothing if we do not also have basic common courtesy – and professionalism.

Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor

Bloggers are scathing in their criticisms over the actions of the president of the Singapore Table Tennis Association, Ms Lee Bee Wah, in sacking table tennis team manager, Antony Lee.

“It took 48 years for the country to win an Olympic medal,” said blogger Ian Tan , “and it took one decision to totally kill it.”

Although the Today paper had quoted Ms Lee as saying that she “is not sacking anybody,” (Today) many still believe that she was.

She had explained that Antony Lee’s contract would expire on Aug 31, and that even before the Beijing Olympics, the Singapore Sports Council (SSC) had discussed facilitating his return. “I said I had no objection,” Ms Lee had said. “It has nothing to do with the Gao Ning incident,” she added. Indeed, the SSC’s chief, Mr Wayde Clews, confirmed this. “Antony’s secondment is until Aug 31, and the agreement with STTA was that he would return to SSC after that.”

Yesterday, the Sunday Times reported Ms Lee as having said: “I have a new team, and will have a new CEO and technical director. It is best that the manager is chosen by them. Antony is welcome to apply for the position when we ask for applications.”

The Today paper quoted her: “I didn’t say that Antony and the coach will be sacked…I feel that it’s all been blown out of proportion and now the damage is really terrible.”

However, her clarification does not seem to cut any ice with bloggers. Strategy to Freedom felt that Ms Lee should have given a more concrete reason on the dismissal. “Ms Lee has cited none so far apart from that (sic) a new CEO and a new technical director are coming on board,” he said. Sherfiee felt that the successful effort made by the coach and others should take precedence over the oversight of not having a coach being present at Gao Ning’s match against his Croatian opponent. Some felt that even if an infraction was committed on the part of the team manager or the coach, a proper inquiry should have first been arranged. “The alleged infraction must have been extremely grave to warrant immediate dismissal in Beijing!” said Dr Huang Shoou Chyuan, who blogs at nofearsingapore.blogspot.com.

“I felt she lost the plot when she went about unprofessionally and definitely showing her inexperience by indicating that Antony Lee’s services were no longer needed,” said Razorback88. “What a knee-jerk reaction!”

Jinn Pod is more concerned about the kind of message that such actions would send to athletes. “Does she even know what kind of hard work the whole team, including the coaches and managers, have gone through to achieve such success? It didn’t happen overnight,” he wrote. “So there was a slip-up. Couldn’t it be handled in a better way? What kind of message are you giving to the athletes?”

Beautiful Disarray agrees. “After guiding our female table tennis athletes to winning our first medal at the Olympics since Singapore’s independence… this is how you repay them – by telling them they’re “not needed” anymore?”

Ms Lee’s actions also brought up the concern that it would affect the morale of the table-tennis association, its athletes and the celebration which is expected when the team returns home to Singapore. “She has really dampened our Celebrations for this Olympic Silver after 48 years!” says Razorback88. Names Recall feels that how Singaporeans view her explanation “will have a bearing for the table tennis morale to come”.

Full Stomach said it was in bad taste to publicly criticise a team member on television. “It is the kind of school boy (or girl) mistake that every entry level management literature teaches you: NEVER PUT YOUR TEAM MEMBER DOWN IN FRONT OF EVERYONE,” he wrote. “But really, doing it in front of national TV is bad taste.”

Despite all the diatribes against Ms Lee, not many are calling for her resignation, though Workers’ Party member Mr Yaw Shin Leong proposed that the STTA “review(s) the future of its current president”. He added, however, that if Ms Lee’s objectives are in line with what STTA intends to do and she can still contribute, STTA should welcome her.

“Otherwise, STTA should have a new president. It is best that the new president is chosen by the STTA,” said Mr Yaw. “Also Ms Lee should be welcome to apply for the position when STTA ask for applications,” he quipped, alluding to Ms Lee’s own statement that “team manager Antony Lee could make applications to the STTA when we ask for applications”.

Yaw was quick to add that he was not saying that Ms Lee should be sacked.

What is still left in the balance is the future of manager Lee. When contacted yesterday by the Today paper, he said he had yet to hear from the STTA or the SSC regarding his future. It would thus seem that not only has Ms Lee been insensitive (with an atrocious sense of timing and some would say, arrogance), the SSC too seems to be dragging its feet over the future of the manager. The SSC should do the decent thing and let Antony Lee know about his future with the STTA soon. This is only right if we want to trumpet our silver medal win. We should not treat the person most responsible for it in such an unprofessional manner.

Saddened though he may be, manager Lee is proud of what he has achieved. “Whatever happens, the new management cannot discount the contribution of the former staff,” he said. “I still feel proud because I can say that I’ve been part of a team that made history, a team that made the Olympic medal dream happen.”

The STTA’s president must realise that winning an Olympic medal means nothing if we also do not have basic common courtesy.

———–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Tags: ,

239 Responses to “Bloggers up in arms over Lee Bee Wah’s actions”

1. Alan Wei 29 August 2008

Lee Bee Wah should just step down. The damage has already been done.
    What’s the point of hurting someone right in front of national TV and media and apologise later.

Furthermore, being an MP and representing people in your constituency, she should think , analyse before talking to the press. (think before you talk)

Her untimely announcement at the most inapproprate time, speaks clearly she clearly listens only to the player and player alone.

As i mentioned in my earlier , it was an unfortunate incident that no coaches were available for our “Singapore No 1 – World no 12 player” The explaination given were geniune and not merely excuses.

Let’s face it, even if Gao Ning were to beat Tan Rui Wu, (which he did not beat),
    what are his chances progressing further as China’s men and womens’ team were too strong and it was on their home turf.

Is also a waste of our resources , you know how much $$$$$, we invest in him , Be my guess where all the $$$$ comes from whom.

For the sake and long term future of STTA, resign now.

i rest my case.

Alan Wei

2. tankuku 29 August 2008

honest mistakes…… move on….. heheee

3. lousy MP 29 August 2008

It makes me vomit seeing how she prostitute herself by cheering and shouting for the table tennis team in Beijing carrying the Singapore flag, she want to be spotted most prominently both in Beijing and also the Victoria parade on the bus top. She didn’t realize the silver medal was none of her effort and she is really just a parasite that the team can do without.

4. nee soon voter 29 August 2008

She might be thinking she is the most important foreign talent having grown up in the rubber plantation in Segamat coming from no where to be an MP today.

It will be better if she disappear from the public eyes and return to her dad’s farm in Segamat, we do not need foreign talent without heart.

5. Sack LBW 30 August 2008

So LBW apologised and then they say “Issue is now closed and move on”. Typical of the government style. “Let’s Move On”….how often have we heard of this phase? Countless times!!!!! Please do not sweep the issue under the carpet just by a simple sentence of apology……so maybe I commit a crime already and then I say sorry and all of us are just supposed to “move on” and think that nothing has happened? I mean, we even have to resort to asking the players to come up and say that they are “behind” LBW…of course they will have to stand together to say something nice with all the big shots there sitting at the press conference…who would dare say anything bad, unless they do not want to play anymore table tennis….

Apology is not enough except for LBW to resign from STTA pls!!!! She should pls definitely consider to even quit her role as a MP with all her crude jamban and toilet comments that is totally unacceptable at such a place such as Parliament in the first place….it just goes to show that she is not MP quality with all these screw ups one after another…

Pls LBW. I do not understand why are people still so thick-skinned and still want to stay on when you can no longer command the respect of the people at STTA and the public.

6. Disappointed TT fan 30 August 2008

Minister Bala , you need not promise anything..just ensure that LBW does the honourable thing…she should know…
    Why is the Saturday autograph session be at AMK..LBW ‘s constituency….?

7. TheGardener 30 August 2008

Thanks for the Miss Lee Blahhh blahhh. No wonder she has the habit of washing her linen in public. Dry faster huh? PAP sure knows who to select for their STUFF. Go M’sia eat Durian also dun need to bring back rotten one.

8. Let’s see if Guo Ning will be in a way punished for losing in that manner. In my opinion, his transgression was the worst and unbecoming of a professional player regardless of whether he was marginalized or not. He’s paid to do a job and he failed miserably. I can understand if he tried his best and lose but giving up?

9. People who worked with her 30 August 2008

Ms Lee has NO character of for an MP, she is just up there because PAP were recruiting people who are in the technical field and perceived high echelons of society. Many have worked with her before knows her character too well: Aggresive, Incompassionate, Unreasonable, Blaming Attitude, Overwhemingly desire to sack subordinates AT THE SLIGHTEST CHANCE. She likes chopping heads. All in her head is SACK, SACK, SACK.
    Anyone who deals with her find she has an Ego so big when she is some small time consultant. Being in PM’s ward is just like striking lottery to her. What background has she got other than being married to a Singaporean, she is just a broad from the outback of Malaysia, economic migrant and opportunist. She has NO Singaporean deep root other than being mother and wife of a Singaporean!

She would just want to MOVE ON, why not ? So good a pay MP gets, even her small little business doesn’t pay half of what she is getting.
    Some of us who worked with her before will vouch to what I mentioned.

Her compassion for fellow human being displayed in the papers are disguises to prop up her image in the ruling ward.

SHE HAS NO QUALITY OF BEING AN MP.
    SHE CAN PRACTISE HER NASTINESS TO CONSTRUCTION PERSONNELS because they are so tough.

10. Calling for Lee Bee Wah to step down

11. Si Peh TL 30 August 2008

She got NO quality & NO leadership. How can she qualified to be an MP & President of the STTA? She should step down from STTA and MP position. She is welcome to apply the positions again but best that the PEOPLE of Singapore to decide and evaluate her competency.
    She can’t even handled press conference well today. A total disappointment ….

12. putraputri69 30 August 2008

152) Alan Wei on August 29th, 2008 11.17 pm

“As i mentioned in my earlier , it was an unfortunate incident that no coaches were available for our “Singapore No 1 – World no 12 player” The explaination given were geniune and not merely excuses.

Let’s face it, even if Gao Ning were to beat Tan Rui Wu, (which he did not beat),
    what are his chances progressing further as China’s men and womens’ team were too strong and it was on their home turf.

Is also a waste of our resources , you know how much $$$$$, we invest in him , Be my guess where all the $$$$ comes from whom.”

For the past 10+ years, we’re merely importing log, stock and barrel – players, coaches, assistants and even sparring partners etc who are below “Level 1’ from the greatest table tennis nation in the world, and hoping against hope, that our imports could be locally groomed to beat the Grand Master in own his game.

However, compare this to at what our ASEAN countries had just won without relying on imports:
    Vietnam – weightlifting silver medal in men’s 56 kg
    Indonesia – weightlifting bronze medal in men’s 56 kg and bronze in men’s 62 kg
    Thailand – weightlifting gold medal in women’s 53 kg and silver in women’s 49 kg Taekwondo
    Malaysia – silver medal in men’s badminton single.

Even Togo, a small African nation with a population of 5 million and a GDP per capital of $1,700 (world’s 193rd) had won her first ever Olympic bronze medal in the men’s Shalom K-1 Canoe event.

And war-torn Afganistan, represented by only 4 competitors, managed to win her first ever Olympic medal by taking the bronze medal in the men’s -58kg taekwondo.

Is a silver or even medal won by an import worth more than a bronze medal won by a local.

Think about it, Singapore.

13. gangbang 30 August 2008

Ha old aunty you should go make baby where you are more urgentiy needed than to make stupid comments. Kian is OK but don’t be ka kian(HOKKIAN).

14. Wealth and Power Seekers 30 August 2008

Sack Her as what she done to people who has worked with her.
    She has No Compassion and No Compassion should be shown to her.
    She is just there for money and power.
    A leopard doesn’t change its skin pattern.
    The ruling party recruit her and she wasn’t screened for chararater.
    An MP has to love and serve the people and Not Ass kicking mentality.
    Being a politician is NOT about how well he/she will be well paid !
    She just got the best of both world, paid well before performance and power to change people’s life.
    She is just getting back at people for her so called miserable beginnings.
    Is Malaysia so bad, that her entire siblings ALL moved to Singapore?Running from the suppresion in Malaysia? Bullshit, her background was nothing to boast about.
    Well she is NOT so humble after all is she? As seen from her actions.
    Folks , wiithin 3 months of her appointment, her car is changed to a new MERCEDES E -CLASS to reflect her new status and wealth.

Is this what people holding office is all about, well done !

15. Arthur Lim 30 August 2008

The terms of reference used in her apology is also not right.

Misunderstood? Anyone of average intelligence would agree that there is NO misunderstanding in her remarks at the games and her followup actions.

She was very clear and concise when she made the respective statements.

Passing the buck to the manager Antony for the defeat of Guo Ning is just not right. A player is groomed over the years not onsite. The coach onsite is apart from providing moral support, onsite tips to counter the opponent. If the performance of Guo Ning slacked, a post mortem should be done to see what was the cause but certainly using the manager as the scapegoat is poor judgement especially before a thorough investigation is made.

The damage done by the outburst and the subsequent statements of LBH is not easy for the public to forget. Especially when she is a MP, that makes it worse.

Arrogance is something Singapore does not need. Remember, you are elected as a MP not because the public think that you are good. The public vote for a credible political party, and the credibility of each MP is proven over the years to have a high degree of integrity, humanity, compassion and many other qualities.

The new MPs are riding on the highly respected foundation laid by leaders like our MM Lee, SM Goh, Prof Jayakumar, Dr Tony Tan and many past and present leaders. It is over the next few years when the public will judge your character and commitment etc. A good leader does not display such outburst and take radical actions, a “Dictator” does. Fortunately the majority of our MPs are of a high calibre and do things NOT for personal ‘Glory’. New MPs must learn from our senior leaders and take whatever advantage of time to seek advice from such leaders.

The behaviour of Lee Bee Wah must be monitored further and the Government must put a leash on such a MP. The trend of her behaviour will not be accepted by the majority of Singaporeans.

No one is blaming her for Guo Ning poor play. Ultimately it is the player’s ability that counts. The core of the issue is her attitude which really put her in bad light. Lee Bee Wah should learn from our senior leaders if she wants to be in politics, if she refuses to reform herself, it is best that PAP take her out as a MP as she will be a liability to the party. She can choose live in her own cave but when you are a MP, you are in public domain and you are expected to look after the welfare of your ward, not yourself, “GLORY” or otherwise.

16. Did anyone of you heard what Teo Ser Luck said during the conference?

It was hilarious!

He said LBW is only more than one month old! (end of sentence)

LBW is one month old! haha
    ==========================================================
    Actually, he said LBW is ONE AND A HALF MONTHS OLD. But still the same, one month or one and a half month, is still a cry baby…. you know, baby like to cry father, cry mother??…… “cow peh, cow bu”
    ==========================================================
    If you studied the whole news conference again, you will notice that LBW voice is shaking, no eye contact…. TSL so nervous, his words all mixed up….. the women players didn’t want to say much, just pushed the micriophone to the next person…… all the body language and face expressions were no good…. i think Singapore ping pong is gone case if LBW isn’t gone

17. A True Leader 30 August 2008

For a LEADER in the capacity as MP and President of STTA to say “i am sorry” takes a lot for her to do that. This is the least a leader has done when it comes to a crunch.

However, this statement has swept everything under the carpet and “move on”…..hahaha

Who gives Liu and Lee the highest credit when the girls won the silver medal . . . .for being present at the match and arranging a coach there. But when we lose a game, it is someone esle’s fault.

She will defintitely take some time to earn bakc that respect in STTA and public. Anyway, she has 4 years till 2012 to earn that. Let’s wait for another drama in 2012.

18. Slow to Speak 30 August 2008

This episode has taught us to be slow to speak. As you traced back how this whole episode unfolds, it all started with the blarring from her mouth like a machine gun terterterterterterterterterterter right in front of the national TV.

She has definitely made news and history – but the wrong side of it.

19. Who ever helped Lee BW with the statement of apology is making her look even worse. The fact that Lee B W read the statement showed she agreed with the wordings and I can only conclude she is really daft and also showed her up as having no integrity. Recall Wee S K, father of infamous Wee Shu Min making a half hearted public apology ? and he never got it right after several attempts. LOL It is also important for us to remember that Ho Ching and Mrs. Goh CT have yet to retract their statements supporting TT Durai in the NKF scandal.
    The ruling party needs to do serious soul searching with themselves and their selection process. It is deplorable that they are comfortable with the situation.
    For the sake of Singapore I hope they still have a soul !

20. After watching Ch8 news 30 August 2008

LBW must step down!!

21. From the actions and non verbal gestures of those at the press conference, all the apologies and talks were not from the heart.

The ‘ give-up’ looks on the faces of the players, coach and manager showed up fear and hopelessness.

LBW has to step down to restore calm and bring back the mood to Singapore ping pong !

22. When MM apologised for the remarks he made on carjacking, muggings in JB, he was verys steady, very calm, composed and confident….. This woman?…. she was quavering, mouth was trembling, eye dipping ….. like that how can? I don’t care if she is the top enginner, top brain, head of international engineers association or whatever….. if like that, how to conduct dialogue in international arena. Already all the subordinates, ie. the table tennis players are looking bewildered…. If really want to move on…. then resign, then everybody will stop talking and really move on.

23. LBW please give Singaporeans some peace of mind…step down !! from STTP and also as an MP..the trust is gone..

24. Chia BC 30 August 2008

We should give LBW a chance to prove her worth.
    Without her outspoken comments to the media, we may not be aware of smokes billowing amongst the players towards the management and the coach.
    She shows mental strength in apologizing to the nation but her intention is never in doubt.
    I believe that with this episode, the managers and coach will be under the nation scrutiny. In sports, we need to give every players (singaporean talents included) a chance to be a winners and also to contribute to the association and nation.

25. Chai BC, agreed. We should give Lee Bee Wah full credit because without her, we never know how shitful is the PAP’s high flier.

How come no one ask who recommend her to be STTA ‘s president and base on what ground that she is the suitable candidate ? Who vote her in ?

26. Lau Lee 30 August 2008

Sack LBW from PAP she is giving all of us bad name, a bad image of Spore style management. Ask her to join another political party and become president of another sports association like the Spore Drama Club

27. The LBW Inquiry 30 August 2008

The LBW Inquiry from an Enginering Point of View

LBW is like one of the 6 concrete columns chosen to support an opulent building.

Since the completion of the building, the particular column began to show sign of cracks and bits of concrete cover was spalling off from its surface.

Of course the people who have chosen to stay with the building either did not noticed it or refusd to acknowlege that there is a problem.

The impeccable building attracted more unknowing tenants with its gleaming facade and classy facilities, and no one took noticed of the defective column.

One day the building started to tilt and everyone finally noted that the column has started to bow, exposing the corroded steel reinforcement.

The owner and building management quickly apologised to all the tenants and initiated repairs to the column by plastering and painting over it. Hoping that the problem will be hidden and long forgotten.

One day the building collapsed and killed some people and injured others.

An Engineering Inquiry found out that that instead of using steel reinforcement from reputed local source, somebody had imported defective steel reinforcement from overseas.

The owner and building managment by concealing the cracks and patching back the concrete surface, only allowed the building time to progress into a total collapse,

A sure way to solve the problem then is to replaced the defective column.

Anyway I am not staying in that building and I have moved on also.

28. RIdewind 30 August 2008

I felt compelled to express my thoughts as I have watched all the matches live including that of Gao Ning and Yang Zi. I have also shockingly witness LBW press talk to the media immediately after the incident.

The first matches of our male players Gao and Yang have a lot of similarities: both played against more obscure players who ranking are far more behind. Of course Yang has a coach there but Gao has not but it does not seem to matter because I was quite shocked to see the same glum faces on both players when they found out that the other under-ranked players could play quite well and upset their scorings. And you could easily see the fear from their eyes in just the first 2 games. For Yang, even though he has a coach to talk to, it did not seem to help. It was until mid of his third game in that match that you start to see fire back in his eyes after scouring a few straight points. Sadly, for Gao it was not so because he just never willing to amend his play tactics when it was proven time and again that it was not working.

At those moments, I was very worried. Not because the players might lose the match, not because there was no coach with Gao, but because I saw a completely lack of gutsy fighting spirit in our players. Even the English commentator in Beijing (who incidentally is very familiar with our players as he covered other table tennis meets in Asia often like the one in Japan Sapporo before Olympics) voice his worries at our players.

I think the issue of coach has been blown out of proportion. For top class players, one must possess a fighting spirit, capability to read your opponent’s tactics and adapt. Just look at the Gold/Silver medals table tennis singles where the Chinese players played each other without a coach. Top-seeds vs each other, look at Wang Nan, Zhang Yi Ning, Ma Lin, Wang Hao who were fighting without their coaches. Many of them were down first game but came back to win the match. In fact, Zhang has for the most matches lost her first game (read her opponent tactics) and came back with ways to block out the opponent attacks to win straight sets.

For the record, the first matches of Gao and Yang, no one from STTA was there too as the TV camera sweeps through the audience. I mean is it a practice that only in final that our STTA appear to give their supports? That was why I was really shocked to hear LBW talking to reporters in Beijing to assign the blame so soon so abrupt on that day because none of the STTA management were at the matches and conclusion can be drawn so soon?

To our dear Minister, it was not only her timing ill conceived but the lack of thorough investigation before making such a major announcement which puts me off.

Now before someone starts coming back at me with coaches are very important. I am not saying otherwise. However, the way the coach will influence also depends on what sports. One thing is certain, the readiness of the player is largely decided way before the match with the preparation, intensity.

While I am so happy we achieved so much in this Olympics, I am deeply concerned with the fragile fighting spirits of our players. Frankly our TT players already have world class skills but not yet hearts of steel. Here I applause all those who turn out in person to cheer for the players, those who blogged to praise them because it is of utmost important that our sport players know they are never alone in their matches. All our supporting spirits will transcend and kindle the fire in them whether they lost a set or not.

So our Sport Ministry must market all our players, more players meet people session for all sports and not just TT. Better still, hire professional MR to do this.

For those who are not aware, even before Olympics our TT players have scored very well in many regional meets. The China teams have always regard us as World #2 their closest rivals. Wang YueGu has a real formidable track records before she even join our Singapore team. In fact the Chinese media reckons her in the same league as Wang Nan, Wang Ju. These players have worked very hard for a long time in Singapore. Our female TT team coach Liu, did not even go home much in Beijing, he spent most of his time for the Singapore team. Just imagine he has not gone home for a long time.

These are great people quietly working hard.

29. seriously, if Gao Ning were to lose just because a coach wasnt present, how sure are you that a coach present will guarantee and increase his chances of winning that game? also, if the manager and chief coach has to bear the responsibility of Gao Ning losing the game, then shouldn’t our dear MP bear the responsibility of the woman players of losing their single final?She announced the dismissal when the Olympic Game is still progressing, it greatly affected the player’s state of mind and concentration because the coach was their coach has trained them for so long, so hard to achieve what they are had achieved. so shouldn’t she bear the responsibility since she affected them so much in their mental and morale during the game, and be responsible by stepping down from he position that she is not fit to claim?

30. Alan tan 30 August 2008

As clear as daylight, She has a thicker skin than elephant.
    So easy close the issue.. singaporean not fools.. we all know what is happening
    better step down. she is a misfits. Great Liar to the people of singapore

31. Disappointed TT fan 30 August 2008

To quote Arthur Lim above:
    “The terms of reference used in her apology is also not right.

Misunderstood? Anyone of average intelligence would agree that there is NO misunderstanding in her remarks at the games and her followup actions.

She was very clear and concise when she made the respective statements”

I couldn’t agree more.I do not know LBW. Obviously , she was just trying to attract attention…I had wanted to give her the nbenefit of doubt..but after seeing all the press photos durign the celebrations, it was obvious she is everywhere whenever and wherever the silver medalists were present. Where is Choo Wee Khiang? he should the one in the photos..sph..please do the needful..
    LBW, the only way to move on is.. you quit…and only that you shall regain your honour..so please do..we not asking you to do hari kiri..fo ryou are no warrior..

32. PingPong 30 August 2008

She made the comment as President of STTA (not on behalf of STTA or any other organisation?). But she apologised on behalf of ‘us’?
    The apology sounded very technical rather than heartfelt regrets.
    STTA will move on but hardly to be chanced by another of this sort.
    This is SPORTS….sportsmanship is not about hiring and firing, is it.
    Remember the Olympian Theme..One World One Dream…that’s the way to go….win or loose.

33. Outsider 30 August 2008

Now that the whole fiasco has come to an end, let’s sum up:

* Lee Bee Wah has apologised. This is politically right, because whatever clarifications she makes will invite attacks.
    * Antony Lee will stay for 3 more months. Hence, he is not sacked. Good decision.
    * Liu Guodong, considered a good coach, should not think too high of himself and hold STTA at ransom.
    *Gao Ning, who was victimised, was asked to quit by many bloggers. What a joke! To Gao Ning : Stand up for Singapore ! Fight on!
    * Many bloggers said Lee Bee Wah had no ” heard “. But it is precisely her ” heard ” that caused her the trouble. It was reported in a newspaper earlier that she felt sorry for Gao Ning.

Conclusion: All the parties mentioned above turned up to be the winners .

Wishes: Hope to see more better quality and balanced posts such as that of Terence Tseng.

34. Outsider 30 August 2008

Re my post above: ” No heard ” should read as ” No heart “.

35. My comments 30 August 2008

I am so not convinced by Lee Bee Wah’s apology.

Hopefully, someone more powerful in PAP should also sack Lee Bee Wah for her mistakes just like what she did to Anthony Lee. Do not tell Lee Bee Wah direct. Do it through TV and newspaper. After that, give Lee Bee Wah an extension of 3 months.

Seeing another of Lee Bee Wah’s photo trying to play badminton or standing beside the table tennis players is really disgusting.

36. I do not usually post comments. However, after reading the ST today and the text of the so-called Apology in the NP, I feel compelled to record my opinion (my wife just told me “She has apologised, so shouldn’t that be enuff?…” Well, it isn’t enuff, and here’s why:
    Not only is she trying to deflect blame from herself and insult the intelligence of Singaporeans, she has the cheek to implicate the STTA, the coaches and the management by giving an apology ‘on behalf’ of them…the nerve of it all!!! It comes across as self-serving, narcisstic and typical CYA speak. A SINCERE apology comes from one’s heart and a honest admission that one has been wrong. By claiming to be ‘misunderstood’ by others, she does not only not show sincerity but is lying through her teeth – feigning genuine regret and putting the responsibility squarely on the shoulders of Singaporeans and apportioning blame on the association, coaches and management. Isn’t this a classic case of avoiding the bullet, rather than swallowing the bitter medicine?? While the media has now been told in no uncertain terms (’crisis is over’…) to lay off further coverage of this, and the BENEVOLENT AUTHORITIES are hoping that this furore will die out soon, I feel it has been dismissed too easily – this is a case of glossing over the issue, putting a positive spin on the episode and covering up incompetence at high levels!

37. RIdewind 30 August 2008

To (184) Outsider:

If you’re implying only Terence Tseng is ‘balanced’ here, I think you misunderstood the passion of many people here. Sure with the heat on now, some might be expressing a little too strongly but in general most bloggers made comments here not because they are idolizing fans but were directed at the shallow handling and improper timing of LBW’s actions.

While Terence Tseng correctly point out the mental block phenomenon in an high intensity competition, not all will agree that it MUST be ONLY the coach to solve this issue. It is entirely fair that each of us may have different issue on this particular issue.

But LBW’s accusation and conclusion without even finding out enough and her one-sided press release is a different side spin which is ugly and totally unnecessary. Timing to me is an issue here not because it was just after our female team won the medal but really in such a short span of time then she could not have find out enough from the relevant parties. The time was not even enough for her to re-watch the match of all the male players. For if STTA want to be fair to the coaches, all the coach action in all the matches must be taken into account.

Talk about ‘heart’ for the players. Yeah she did tell the reporters that she wanted to be a ‘player’ manager. So my question is why I do not see her in so many of the matches esp. the earlier ones? Is she so busy in Beijing that she cannot afford the time to come watch the players she so care about? But the worse mistake she made public is choosing ‘side’ as the STTA head. That will certainly create rift between the coaches and players which the Olympic dream will sink deep into and never again revived.

Finally, why this incident is strking such a high cord with so many people? I strongly suspect similar incidents have been replayed so many times in the corporate lives of many. 10 years ago, such high handed approaches have allowed many roaches to climb the ladder fast by stepping on others. Then Singapore was one of the elite without formidable competition from the South East Asia neighbours and China. Such power plays cannot harm productivity and results. Today the environment is a very different one. Face with competitions everywhere and most notably China, unless corporate teams are cohesive with coherent mission sense, productivity and potential cannot be unleashed. The negative impact of such stepping on will therefore be very pronounced and long lasting.

38. a table tennis player 30 August 2008

Ridewind has given the most objective analysis of our male TT players.

I watch the whole match of Gao Ning and by the middle of the 2nd match, my conclusion is that he will lose the game because he just does have the fighting spirit but only fear in his eyes. From his body language and his self talk I can see clearly see shown that he just does not have the confidence to find holes in his opponent’s game. I doubt if a coach there would make a difference.

As for LBW’s apology, it is a joke, a political move than a sincere apology as pointed by many other blogger. I apology for causing grievances? what is that? I thought a sincere apology should be for a mistake a person made so that one can learn for it?

PM Lee’s GRC sure have elitist MPs voted in by the “back-door” method. First Mr. Wee and now Ms Lee.

Would anyone vote for LBW if she stand as in a single ward in the next election?

39. spin doctor 30 August 2008

PM Lee should get rid of his liabilities with a straight forward strategy which I am proposing and is my gift to him.
    Put Wee Siew Kim and Lee Bee Wah with Wong Kan Seng to run for the Aljunied GRC and wish them the best of luck. Those MPs who were caught napping in parliament could also be considered to join Wong K S. And to boost his image he should seriously put Lily Neo in his ward. Nicholas Lazarus ! now run along like a good doggie and pass this message to PM Lee.

40. Often, one’s true strength and character is revealed when one is under tremenduous stress.

Thanks to this episode, Singaporeans now know that Gao Ning is not Olympic material and Lee Bee Wah is not politician material.

I hope our Singapore government now realises that eminent professionals do not automatically translate into outstanding politicians and sports presidents!

It was really very unintelligent for our government to get an MP to helm the sports association at a crucial time like the Olympics. Look at the extent of damage done to the govt’s reputation as a result of MP, LBW’s actions. Her arrogance has served to entrench Singaporeans’ belief that our govt is elite and arrogant. As for me, I am beginning to question how many are the likes of LBW in the government. I also wonder how many votes would this episode cost the PAP.

41. worchintualiap 31 August 2008

lbw – wow, still wanna continue? Nian pi very thick, eh? I think I see better material in the wet markets.
    Do not say sorry but on the other hand, say we misunderstood you. If don’t mean it, don’t say. We do not accept too.
    So smart, go get your team of players as well. Anyway, not interested but will support but do you think will support you? Fat hope. Wait lah

42. Please note that the Chinese players playing the Gold/Silver match is playing without their coaches out of respecting their own players to have an unprejudiced match, if it’s against other countries the coach will be there. Competitive table tennis players would know that. So to use that argument here holds no water. But yah, coach not important, so no need reemploy Liu Guodong lah.

43. 173) ivy on August 30th, 2008 1.27 pm When MM apologised for the remarks he made on carjacking, muggings in JB, he was verys steady, very calm, composed and confident….. This woman?…. she was quavering, mouth was trembling, eye dipping ….. like that how can? I don’t care if she is the top enginner, top brain, head of international engineers association or whatever….. if like that, how to conduct dialogue in international arena. Already all the subordinates, ie. the table tennis players are looking bewildered…. If really want to move on…. then resign, then everybody will stop talking and really move on.

LBW is structural engineer. No wonder she appears cold as steel.

44. 170) Conjob on August 30th, 2008 11.24 am “Who ever helped Lee BW with the statement of apology is making her look even worse. The fact that Lee B W read the statement showed she agreed with the wordings and I can only conclude she is really daft and also showed her up as having no integrity. Recall Wee S K, father of infamous Wee Shu Min making a half hearted public apology ? and he never got it right after several attempts. LOL It is also important for us to remember that Ho Ching and Mrs. Goh CT have yet to retract their statements supporting TT Durai in the NKF scandal.
    The ruling party needs to do serious soul searching with themselves and their selection process. It is deplorable that they are comfortable with the situation.
    For the sake of Singapore I hope they still have a soul !”

Shhhhhhhh …………… These are all 1st Division ………………………

45. SingaporeanFromTheDistance 31 August 2008

From the strings of feedbacks and uproars , it is very clear , none of us approves of LBW’s MANAGEMENT of the entire saga. Now all of us passionate Singaporeans tried to connect and engaged with the authority through the web to provide our feedbacks and our views so that we can strengthen the core of Singapore. THe authority needs to brace the facts (nothing to do with ‘face’ here) and do what is appropriate to win and connect with your citizens! From the quotes here by Dr Vivian and Teo Ser Luck…. I read it as ‘Authority Prefers Not To Connect With Your Citizens and Continue To Handle Issues The Way You Feel SHould Be Handled AND All Singaporeans Please Obey and Observe The Authority – CLOSE THE CASE!”

“Minister of Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan said the issue was caused by misunderstandings and ties have been mended.”

Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Teo Ser Luck, said: “For Ms Lee to come in and carry on this work, she will need time. She is only a month—plus old.

46. Teo Ser Luck is so nervous, he actually addressed her as “MRS” Lee. Like that, how can? You address a press conference, you must be steady lah. The way, i look at it, this BEE is gonna sting alot of people and them down with her, if she doesnt resign

I read alot of internet forums, the subject just wont go away. In fact the apology has heightened the interest … and more carlls for her to resign

47. RIdewind 31 August 2008

I do not know LBW at all. I did not even know she is our MP before this saga as I am quite politically blind in Singapore. I bear no grudges against anyone in TT or STTA because I do not even know who is who. But I am speaking out as a fellow Singaporean.

Teo Ser Luck, said: “For Ms Lee to come in and carry on this work, she will need time. She is only a month—plus old.

It is a joke because she herself is the one who initiate the clock ticking. Nobody was asking for action from her. But I guess she needed an excuse to put her own team into STTA. It is a common tactic used in hi power play here.

So now her loose finger had pulled the trigger and misfire someone’s butt. Now she is asking for the clock to stop? It is really funny.

But I’m quite sad now as I am seriously worried that this event is going to haunt the TT team spirit for a long time.

48. tunkudon 31 August 2008

so just say sorry tat all,than any dick and harry can be MP . very easy what make mistake say sorry than let move on. no wonder u cannot make it the real outside world ,if thing happen like this u ARE LONG LONG GONES!!!

49. WhatNext 31 August 2008

PAP always boast that the MP they have selected are both high in IQ and EQ, but this whole saga reveals seriously otherwise. Is Lee Bee Wah’s incident a flaw in PAP’s high profile selection process????

What we see in Lee Bee Wah is the typical authoritarian and totalitarian mentality of PAP government.

Lee Bee Wah can get away easily with such blunders in Singapore, because the PAP government’s tight control on the media and freedom of speech. In Hong Kong or Taiwan, she would have been shamed publicly for her stupidity.

We cannot expects anything with PAP government’s highly manipulative GRC policies, which brings in “back-door MPs” like Lee Bee Wah.

Many of these newly elected or appointed ministers had demonstrated that they totally have no regards and could not identify with what’s happening to the majority of the under-privileged Singaporeans who needs to struggle day in and out for their livelihood, just like Lee Bee Wah had failed to appreciate the situations of the incident and reacted just based on her own perceived elitist’s way of dealing and solving matters.

Lee Bee Wah and many other PAP MPs needs to understand and constantly remind themselves that they are in the “people” business, without which, they are of no relevance to our society!

50. Quote: “At the AMK hub NTUC Xtra this morning, Ng Ser Miang gave Antony 7 tins of milk powder.”

Ooooooooops! Sorry AL, I thought you are Gao Ning. Please give them for me.

Quote: “Ng Ser Miang presented Ms Lee Bee Wah with a pair of running shoes.”

Sorry LBW, I think this is the right size for you.