From Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE: Singapore citizens may organise or participate in demonstrations at the Speakers’ Corner without having to obtain a police permit from September 1.

The demonstrations may relate to anything except matters concerning race and religion.

Placards, banners, effigies and self-powered handheld amplification devices such as loudhailers will be allowed at the Speakers’ Corner.

The Speakers’ Corner will be opened 24 hours a day, seven days a week, throughout the year.

Singapore permanent residents can also participate in a demonstration, but they are required to obtain a police permit if they wish to organise the demonstration themselves or to speak at the Speakers’ Corner.

Current rules, however, still apply to foreigners.

They have to apply for permit if they wish to conduct or participate in any activity at the Speakers’ Corner.

Police and the National Parks Board (NParks), which will manage the site, said the Speakers’ Corner will continue to be supervised with a light touch.

NParks will administer the registration for the use of Speakers’ Corner, while the police will focus its role to deal with any public order concern or public complaints.

Online registration, which starts from August 30, can be made at the NParks website.

———–

1. Going to Speakers’ Corner? Inform the Hong Lim Gardener
  2. Big Brother descends on Speakers’ Corner
  3. NTU students protest at Speakers’ Corner
  4. Join SADPC & TOC at Speakers’ Corner this Sunday
  5. Raffles Institution’s students take to Speakers’ Corner this Sunday

If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. We thank you for your kind assistance. (All donors' information will be kept confidential)

16 Responses to “S’poreans can demonstrate at Speakers’ Corner from Sep 1”

1. tunkudon 25 August 2008

first thing first sack lee BW first

2. No point… gahmen wont listen to us. speak also no use.

3. Duh…they have a speakers corner but they don’t listen…

4. Fever Guy 25 August 2008

When is SDP going to organize the tak boleh tahan again?

5. the police will not have an overt presence but covert presence…..
    you can operate anytime but noisy stuff only from 9-10pm…..noise pollution is not included in this package
    no need police permit but registration is needed
    if Anwar is speaking, police permit is required and police will maintain an overt and covert presence
    make sure the plants are still alive after the demonstration
    what about littering? it is an offence to litter in public places …burning of effigies not allowed except during the 7th month of the ghosts…….but bring your own containers
    Wonder whether power generator is allowed…..cannot be hand held though
    Any damage to park ‘furnishing ‘ must be made good.
    lastly, again search for any hidden small print…….the place is mined.. tread with caution

6. we should just get as many ppl as possible and just go there. no need to say anything. numbers will speak for themselves.

7. teardownthesewalls 25 August 2008

what has opposition done in this respect?

8. Regardless of one’s political inclinations, one has to admit that this is quite a step forward by PAP standards. I think it’s more freedom that what our current opposition and civil society can use. I hope we can all make good use of it.

9. Saint Splattergut 26 August 2008

Agreed that it’s a good step forward. But how much of a step forward, only time will tell…

10. blackfeline 26 August 2008

Will any of the yes man/woman from the MIW take the challenge of meeting their opponents at the Corner?

11. Sing Lang 26 August 2008

To test water, the onlinecitizen should organize a rally big mass protest on 1 September and get 10,000 people or more to participate, then see what happen.

12. leondna 26 August 2008

The first demonstration should be……

1) SACKED LEE BEE WAH from the presidency of STTA!!!!

2) Remove LEE BEE WAH from Ang Mo Kio GRC!!!

she is disgracing our beloved GRC. I am not sure if I will contniue to vote for the PAP if Lee Bee Wah is in the team!!! She is such a mega turn off for me now!

13. watchtower 26 August 2008

They should hold a demonstration to force the woman Lee Bee Wah to resign as president of the STTA…and appoint a man to the post.

No offence, but this woman is messing things up simply after one month.

14. sumokong 27 August 2008

Speaker Corner is just for show. It’s ain’t any park or square of true demokrasi. Video tape and recorders will be there and you waiting to be sue. Nobody ain’t as a holy cow as white as a snow white. S’porean of today has no guts to do it. Down with LBW.

15. its good to see this
    but why the restriction on permit for PR and no change of rules to foreigners?

This isnt a show of fairness.
    At this current age, Singaporeans are not stupid and easy to be sway off by those who are talking rubbish.
    They can judge whether its true or not

Look at the last Singapore election, what is the crowd size for the oppositions? its huge, why? People want to hear an alternative voice instead of the same old thing which PAP dictates. Whatever is set by PAP, that’s final.

You can cry and protest, but nothing will work to change it.

And you call this fair?

I have never doubt the capabilities of PAP but dislike their way of handling things without actually find out what the citizens want.

16. jason Ang 1 September 2008

Don’t be foolish.I have talked to many people of all ages and background,only 1 in 10 of them are aware of the LBW saga.Many are only concerned about bread and butter issues.To the man on the street,who cares about whether singapore will win any olympic medals at all?All they care about are things which affect their livehood.

Leave a Reply

-->
theonlinecitizen on Facebook