Saturday, August 23, 2008 1:14
I am not celebrating
In Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story • 653 views • 113 Comments
The following article is contributed by Anthony Yeo, Consultant Therapist. TOC thanks Anthony for taking the time to pen his thoughts for us.
Anthony Yeo
In the final analysis, the more I ponder over this matter, the more inclined I am to hang my head in shame as I am not celebrating our Olympics success.
Now that Singapore has finally won a medal at the Olympics after a 48-year wait, there is much euphoria and accolades for what the table-tennis team has achieved.
The Straits Times editorial of 18 August was all praise for the table-tennis players and their achievement, their being imports from China notwithstanding.
Likewise, columnist Chua Mui Hoong also categorically stated that,“No matter their country of origin, what matters is that Li, Wang and Feng, and many, many more of those watching the finals at home, and their forefathers – made a conscious choice to be Singaporean and to be part of Team Singapore”. (ST Aug 18, 2008)
As the nation celebrates, I am perturbed.
A need to make a distinction
It has to do with the perpetual issue about foreign talent. Put bluntly, we have adopted the view that for all intents and purposes, Singapore needs foreign talent. As the editorial affirmed, “The case will be made ad infinitum of why Singapore must continue to make itself welcoming of research scientists, artistes and creative people, entrepreneurs, academics and wealth creators. There is no substitute for skill.” (ST Aug 18, 2008)
Although we can acknowledge the value of foreign talent in the areas indicated in the editorial, we need to further clarify who these people are and their place in our society.
There is no need to debate the value of contribution that foreign talent can add to Singapore. It is axiomatic that an open society should be hospitable to such talent to augment the wealth of a nation, materially or otherwise. Nations have been enriched culturally and spiritually by the interaction of talents from all sources.
Unfortunately, we seem to misunderstand the infusion of foreign talent in the field of sports, mainly the table-tennis imports from China. There is a distinction we must make between importing talented foreign sportsmen and women and those others we attract to enrich other aspects of life in Singapore.
For one, other foreign talents may not necessarily make Singapore their home. That is a choice that is not denied to them. They come to offer their contributions and may or may not become citizens. This is true of scientists, academics, artistes, religious teachers and a host of talented people whom we welcome for enriching our nation.
We do not insist that they become citizens in order to make their presence and contribution felt, although some have been persuaded to take up citizenship. If they do, we embrace them as representatives of Singapore. If they do not, we will still acknowledge their contribution without claiming ownership.
Furthermore, when foreign talents come, Singaporeans can learn from them and in the process, may have the potential to replace them if necessary so that Singaporeans can benefit from their contribution. This will make us less dependent on foreign talent for an extended period. If need be, there can be a collaborative endeavour in harnessing talents for the enhancement of knowledge and skills in various disciplines.
There is a difference in the field of sports, namely the importation of foreign sports people for winning awards for Singapore.
Questions we need to ask ourselves
In the case of the table-tennis players, they were intentionally scouted and enticed to come to Singapore for the expressed purpose of helping us win in competitions — and in this instance to end Singapore’s Olympics medal drought.
In a sense these players from China have no choice but to be made citizens if they wish to represent Singapore. They also come to us with the sole intention of advancing their goal of being recognised sportswomen. Inasmuch as we want them to win for us, they also want to win on account of us. It is a reciprocal, symbiotic relationship that can be devoid of any values as it is deemed a fair exchange.
Yet there is a value issue for Singapore. It behooves us to search ourselves and be bold enough to ask certain questions.
The questions we may need to ask include:
- To what extent is this the way to go in building up our talent pool in the field of sports?
- What is our goal for participation in sports, just to win, or primarily to participate?
- What values are we communicating to our young in terms of how they should value themselves since we are implicitly placing greater value on those who can achieve by having such imports?
- How might such talented players contribute to nurturing local talent when they are mainly playing to win?
- In what way is sports “coming of age”, as declared by one government official, when we can have instant sportswomen groomed by others but capitalised by us for winning ways?
- To what extent might this stifle local talent, as it would take a longer time to nurture local sportsmen and women when we can easily import skilled players from elsewhere?
- What is the long-term commitment to Singapore from such imports and their ongoing contribution to development of sports in Singapore?
We must confront such questions and more, so as to think about what it means to aim for shortcuts to success in the field of sports. This may apply to other aspects of life for us, as we need to clarify as to what extent we wish to evolve a culture of short routes to success.
Value
We need to consider how we could be instilling in the minds of our young that they are not valued as much as foreign talent, as it may take too long to nurture them to high-level performance. Could we unwittingly be communicating that we would prefer to import people than to invest money and energy to nurture local potential sportsmen and women? It could also be possible that we would be telling our young that it is not worth their efforts trying to aspire to be winners since we can always go hunting for ready-made winners.
Of course we may refer to other countries which do the same and proclaim that this is a normal practice elsewhere.
This obviously does not justify what we do as we often profess to be unique and that we need not always emulate other countries. We consider Singapore as not like any other and we pride ourselves in our ability to survive and flourish as a nation.
We do not need to do what others do just to aim for prized success.
Differentiating an immigrant from an import
Sometimes we refer to the fact that Singapore is a nation where our forefathers were primarily migrants. Hence there is no reason why we cannot now attract foreign talents to bolster our chances of success in every field and win Olympics medals as well.
This seems to confuse the issue, as we are not differentiating between an immigrant and an import.
For example, mention was made that all our Olympics medallists hail from China, with particular reference to Tan Howe Liang, our original silver medallist.
But there is a difference between Tan Howe Liang and the table-tennis China girls.
Tan Howe Liang migrated to Singapore, not to be a weightlifter or to win Olympics medals but to live and work. He made Singapore his home and became a weightlifter on his own initiative. When he finally made it to the Olympics, he did it with his own resources and when he returned as our hero, there was hardly any fanfare.
All that came much, much later with each Olympics that came along until he was relieved when he learnt that Singapore was on the way to winning an Olympics medal after what he had achieved so very long ago.
No shortcuts
If we truly wish to be a sporting nation, we cannot pay lip service and resort to shortcut measures for competitive sports. We may include foreign talent but our primary pool of sportsmen and women must be people of the soil.
Otherwise, we would be constantly sending a team from another country to play against the team from their country of origin. No wonder it was said that we had a B team from China representing Singapore playing against the A team from China.
If we were to stretch the argument further, what is to stop us from importing a whole football team from Brazil as intimated by a writer of the forum page (ST Aug 21) or any other sporting team from any country just to be winners in international competitions?
In similar vein, what would stop other sports from deciding on emulating the table-tennis association? Where do we draw the line?
In the final analysis, the more I ponder over this matter, the more inclined I am to hang my head in shame as I am not celebrating our Olympics success. In fact I am ashamed and deprived of a sense of dignity for being a Singaporean.
————
113 Comments
spin doctor
Table Tennis Saga: Part 2 « Man in Haifa
[...] A nice article to read here. [...]
denniswang
Another point to ponder about. Suppose a top research scientist comes to Singapore, attracted by the big money offered by A*STAR and then became a citizen. One year later, he was nominated and won the Nobel Prize lets say in Physics. But the work which made him so outstanding was 95% done when he was in his home country. Do we embrace him and the government lauds him for winning a Nobel Prize as a Singaporean? Will there be as much discussion or hatred for him? Will there be disgust as the government is trying to claim the prize as one for the country?
2nd point to think about. Some are biased against Wang Yuegu and Feng Tianwei for being very auntie-like. If they had looked like Zhang Ziyi and Liu Yifei, will they be embraced as Singaporeans more easily?
A Tan
Gd piece TOC to publish. I was abt to bitch abt yr coverage of this issue: No not another piece!
Gd stuff Anthony. Like the difference between import and immigrant.
Better than the others published: combined.
Nick
Many countries are doing the same to import foreign players. So to me, so long as you dorn the Singapore colours i.e, you are representing Singapore.
Anthony, I agreed with your reasoning put forward on the difference between import and immigrant.
Why we have to waste our bloody time arguing over the issues of foreign talents. There are some who use Singapore as a stepping stone for greener pastures but there are also some who want to make Singapore their home. We just cant simply blame the govt if such import play us out one of these days when they get tired of being a Singaporean. The govt of the day like every local Singaporeans would very much wish we make the right judgment. After all, the foreign talents are human beings and not robots which can be programmed to be a Singaporean eternally.
UCF
Mr. Anthony Yeo and Xtralicious have both stated their views very clearly – it’s the foreign talent policy and not the fact that the players are foreign-born that is the issue causing Singaporeans to be unhappy.
This represents the broad view of the commenters here as well. We have emphasized this numerous times.
Unfortunately, there has been repeated attempts by government supporters to deliberately misrepresent this view as racism or xenophobia. Such a strawman position is easier to attack because you can label critics as bigots, or racists or luddites and dismiss everything they say.
This letter to the ST forum is a classic example:
“Let’s learn from Canada” – by Cheong Wing Lee
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_270895.html
Not only do they muddle the issue, they also repeat it again and again and again to force the message home, as if all Singaporeans are made of stupid.
Their strategy is that if you repeat it often enough people will eventually give up and believe. That is why there are so many articles in the MSM glorifying the silver medal win to the extent that it is making people puke.
If you keep denying it, then the problem will go away. If you keep saying that it is a minority opinion, then somehow magically it will become one and everybody’s brain will magically turn off. They should be aware that their constant drumming is having a counterproductive effect.
George
These posting, albeit strongly worded in parts, in the ST forum are spot on:
Pushkin62
Today, 09:39 AM
Singapore is not a sporting nation. It is the government that wants to go all out to win a medal at all costs, no matter what it takes. As ordianry Singaporeans, none of us aspire to be an Olympian or to win an Olympic medal. We are generally contented with earning money and living a peaceful and quiet life. All this hype and propaganda about foreign-born atheletes winning medals for Singapore is purely to justify the influx of foreigners into Singapore.
Yes, I accept the fact that indigenous Singaporeans do not have what it takes to win an Olympic medal. I accept the fact that Singaporeans will never be able to win an Olympic medal on their own merits. So what is wrong with that? Are we worse off than other countries? Are we worse off than China, Russia, America and other sporting nations? No. I am comfortable with that.
But I feel revolted and repulsed when foreign-born atheletes are put on the pedestal, hero-worshipped and lauded for bringing so-called fame and glory to Singapore. Whose fame? Whose glory? Glory to themselves – for being able to enrich their bank accounts by a 6-digit sum. Glory to the MIWs – for being able to justify the influx of foreigners to Singapore to compete with you and me for jobs and scholarships.
Li Jiawei was in tears when she lost the bid for bronze against China in the singles event last night. She was shedding tears not because she did not get the bronze medal. She was shedding tears because $500,000 disappeared before her eyes. She is a shameless, mercenery traitor to her motherland – a double-headed snake. When interviewed by CCTV in Guangdong last month, she said: `I am a Beijing native and a Chinese national. I hope to win a medal on home territory’. Note that she still considers herself a Chinese national, not a Singapore citizen. Singapore citizenship is only on paper. The Chinese psyche, outlook and attitudes cannot be erased.
Time for Li Jiawei to pack her bags and return to motherland. Question is whether or not motherland will want her back. China does not take very kindly to traitors – they were beheaded in olden days.
wagga
Today, 10:58 AM
I agree with pushkin62.
At the end of the day, being a Singapore citizen alone is not enough. You have to be immersed in the culture and at “one” with the people. That’s why you find that “locals” have more things in common and share somewhat similar values with one another, albeit of different races and religion, when it comes to social mix.
New citizen should try to work hard to blend in as much as possible. Only time will tell if they will be accepted as Singaporean.
As for citizenship for sport, I don’t think it is that important for Singapore.
I remember when SIngapore soccer team was playing against an international team and was telecast live overseas (I am located overseas). I actually came back home early for the match. After watching for a couple of minutes, I realised half the team are not “locals”. Suddenly, I don’t have that Singapore feeling about the team. Off the TV and did other stuff.
I can’t explain it. It just a hollow feeling when you know your “countrymen” are imported.
I wonder, if Jiawei knows more than a dozen other people of other race since being a Singapore citizen.
Amazed
Busy trying to make ends meet, I am amazed that so much time, attention and money is spent on foreign imports or so call talents in anything they do or are seen – it is time to really take stock of the situation.
Do we need to spend millions of dollars?, newspaper editors writings to comment on what we are? ministers and president’s time to “cheer “?
What a waste of resources in such an uncertain time. Perhaps some people have nothing to do, and others like the newspapers editors need busybodying as their only way to earn their living.
It is a time to really prioritise the nations efforts- the Government can start and set the example by doing volunteering work – start with the elderly – they are the parents of all of us afterall – give them some appreciation and comfort in their final years, and include Tan Howe Liang!
Timeline
A fine example of a business relationship that percolates an entire nation. Time for the merchants to step back?
Why Spore don’t train locals to be sportsman/women. Spore wants easy way out. Pay the ministers so much, no solution, even the population policy talk so long, from father to son, also no solution. They are really no world standard minister, but in terms of salary, world number one, can get a GOLD medal .!!
Olympic dreamer
PAP failed and will fail miserably as long as this country of theirs cannot and do not produce a home-bred, home-built Olympic medallist if they are so hard-up of one, other than Howe Liang Tan.
No matter what they say, how they say, what they do and how they do – nothing will count if any athelete is ‘bought’
mel
i quote, “importing foreign talented sports men and women and those others we attract to enrich other aspects of life in Singapore.”
there seems to be some form of distinction between the two. i feel that this implies that these foreign sports talents are imported and not attracted here. if they were scouted, but if they were not attracted to singapore, what would make them come? it should be possible for them to reject the offer and stay in their own country is that not? if they have made the choice to come over and play for singapore or any other country just like many other countries are, it could be said that they were attracted here, not because they were “imported”.
it is also said that the primary pool of sportsmen and women should be from the local talents. we must first question if we do have that large pool that many other countries have. we don’t have a large population and that reduces the number talents we have locally. even for countries with large populations, they do have foreign talents in their national teams as well. the second thing is, will singaporeans support our own local talent? would we support them even though they may not be of international standard? i don’t see much of support for local sports, how can you expect so much out of local talent when singaporeans don’t even suport them?
with globalization, you cannot stop the movement of people, and these so called foreign talent. there is increased mobility, if you reject the idea of foreign talents playing for singapore and becoming PRs, you could say we have given up on the fight since so many countries are doing the same. we have to move with the world to keep up and not be left behind.
on the other hand- indeed, i would be sad if they were truly here for the money. i guess we wouldn’t truly know- until then, i guess many singaporeans, including myself, could stay delusional and accept that they really want to fight for us.
DA
“PAP failed and will fail miserably as long as this country of theirs cannot and do not produce a home-bred, home-built Olympic medallist if they are so hard-up of one, other than Howe Liang Tan.
No matter what they say, how they say, what they do and how they do – nothing will count if any athelete is ‘bought’”
…I’m sorry, are you blaming the PAP for Singapore not having an olympic medalist?
Are you serious?
lim
The entire US women’s table tennis team comprises of China born women. Quite ironic that when they reached the quarter finals, their press supported them 100% and not a single question on their nationality was raised except to celebrate their success at reaching where no other women representing the US in table tennis have gone before. Same thing too with the chinese in the Dominican republic and the other 17 teams with China born players.
Yet today, we have people including so called “singaporeans” casting doubt on the success of individuals who, despite what anyone might doubt, represent Singapore in their capacity as Singapore citizens.
I personally rejoice in the Singapore team’s achievements at this Olympics. If representing Singapore is not an honour and celebrated, no sportsperson in Singapore will ever be honoured. Today, we question the birth place. Tomorrow, why not parentage? What about sex and weight and looks?
The Olympics is not about differences but unity. I would expect Singaporeans cherishing unity should be united in the celebration of their success. I certainly am.
Jackson
The table tennis victory to obtain the silver medal is an achievement for Singapore, but at the same times goes to show that foreign talents do better than Singapore, which is in some way not an acceptable views for some.
Even as of now, I will only truly support Team Singapore if everyone is 100% Singapore and not of any foreign origin in any sense. During the victory ceremony last Sunday, I wonder if any of our 3 players Li Jiawei, Feng Tianwei and Wang Yuegu got sing China’s national anthem or not. If they do, it shows they are here not exactly for Singapore.
Kent
Lest we forget, Singapore is a nation of immigrants.
Many of the politicians (old guards) were from Malaysia, including Rajaretnam and Hon Siew Sen and Devan Nair. Lim Kim San was from Medan.
Many of our own forefathers came from China, india, Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, the Philippines and even Yemen. This is diversity of a special kind.
The CEO of DBS bank is a foreigner and so is the CEO of the OCBC bank. Many of the senior executives at the GIC and Temasek are foreigners, guarding and growing our foreign reserves, and we hire them because of the conventional wisdom that “knowledge creates wealth.”
The media director of SIA is an Englishman. SIA’s first and second MDs were ex-Malaysians. Today many of its pilots are foreigners !!
The first Singaporean to climb Mt Everest was born in Malaysia. Catherine Lim was born in Malaysia. Do we cut our noses to spite our faces just because they were not born here?
Many of the FT who clean our toilets at the Airport and employed in the lowly paid construction jobs are foreigners. Do we despise them or do we welcome them?
Our national footbal team has a couple of FT. Do we despise them too?
The French football team won the world cup with Zidane who was born in Algeria and Henry Tierney is a French African. The British team at the Beijing Games is littered with African sounding names.
Almost all the paddlers playing in the last 16 at the Beijing Olympics have chinese sounding names and they play for such diverse national flags such as Sweden, Germany, Canada, Nederlands, France, Australia, Turkey, USA and the Dominican Republic.
So why not Singapore, when we have such a small talent pool to start with?
Do we just roll over and play dead during the Olympics every four years or do we play the game like everyone else and be grateful that some foreign-born Singaporeans like Howe Liang and Jia Wei can do, at least most of us, proud?
I say stop complaining, be gracious and welcome all new Singaporeans to our shores.
UCF
Kent – not again.
Maybe if you guys keep twisting this argument one more million times, you can turn black into white.
Jie Kai
“As ordianry Singaporeans, none of us aspire to be an Olympian or to win an Olympic medal. We are generally contented with earning money and living a peaceful and quiet life.”
What an encouraging attitude. I wonder if that’s the sort of attitude that’s going to be shown to the next kid who’s dreaming of being the next Olympic champion, or european-club level footballer, artist, fashion designer, etc.
This is a country which to some extent really does celebrate mediocrity. To put it in one way, I hear many stories of parents who aren’t ready to let their kids pursue their dreams away from the confines of this island. If parents of Brazillian footballers had this lack of can-do spirit, we wouldn’t really be finding many top level players at the famous European clubs would we?
shawn gilbert
I celebrated after the 2 singapore player finished their journey in the woman semi-finals. Expected lah. They can only win if we pay for them to train full-time in china and not step into singapore cos when they are localised like us, there is no fighting spirit. thanks to our environment and the bunch of people who create it. without you people , Singapore would not be like this today — All cannot think cos top people think only , you just follow. Don’t say the people everything also bo chap. you create us. Everyone want to work hard then leave for good. Count on me singapoooo.
Yamasam
I am happy that they won the silver medal but I’m NOT proud that Singapore won a silver medal. From my point of view, there is nothing to be proud of when the team that do us that “honour” was contracted to do so on commercial terms. Becoming Singapore citizens is just part of the contractual terms and conditions the girls have to fulfill. Now that they have fulfilled their obligations, they will be duly rewarded.
But it is not the girls fault. It is just unfortunate they are borned in a country where there are hundred of thousands of good table-tennis players. They have to be in the top 3 or 4 to have a chance to represent China and perform on the biggest stage like the Olympic Games and the World Championship. If they can’t make it in China, the only way to achieve their personal goals, they would have to look elsewhere. And there are willing buyers (the various countries willing to natuaralise them), so they become willing sellers. These are just commercial arrangements. And a successful medal-bearing one too for Singapore.
As far as the govt and NSAs are concerned, they will feel that the FTS for sports is a success now that a medal is bagged after 48 years. But is it really a success?
When the scheme was conceived, one of the key argument put forward was that it would raise the standards of our local players and will inspire more of young talents. Was this KPI met ? And I wonder, is it still a KPI ?
As far as table-tennis is concerned, the team has measurable success for the past 10 years. Jin Jun Hong finished fourth in the 2000 Games and Li Jia Wei also finished fourth in 2004 Games. Surely, finishing fourth at the Olympics Games must be inspiring to our local talents. But where are our local talents ? Did they help our local talents raised their standards or inspire them in anyway ? Have our local talents really benefitted from their presence in our midst ?
In the past, the team has Tay Paey Fern, a local. After her, there is no one else but just imported citizens. When Zhang Xue Ling decided to return to China, the NSA conveniently replaced her with Feng Tian Wei to keep their medal hope alive. Will such practice inspire our local talents knowing that it is so easy for the NSAs to import a citizen then to invest in our local talents ?
In reality, I believe our local talents will be discouraged. Because no matter how talented they may be and how hard they train, as long as they are not good enough to win a medal for Team Singapore, they will be replaced with imported citizens.
All dedicated sportsman aspires to compete at the highest level. Performing their best is always a goal and winning a medal is a bonus. But if their chance to compete is going to be taken away if the NSAs deem winning medals is more important by importing citizens, then I’m not sure if anyone wants to continue to sweat their butt off.
Angie
Our forefathers came here with difficuties to earn every cent and dollar with blood and sweat. Not like present foreign ‘talents’. The question is are they really ‘talents’?? I doubt so..
Somehow, table tennis is no longer a game with multi-national participants, almost all countries used China’s sportmen. This set me thinking that should table tennis be one of the ball game in the Olympics coz apparently, it was like China Team A vs China Team B in most games.
Coco
Agreed with Anthony! Not proud at all. I remembered earlier on this week, there’s also an article with the title: “Siver medal for Singapore! Really?” – Quoted the title from a local blogger. Hmm.. but quite strange, it was removed after it was only up for a day on online citizen. More than 60 comments were made and majority were negative comments against Singapore winning. Maybe that’s why it was removed to avoid an impact too harsh. I like the article too. The viewings hit more than a thousand just for that particular day. For those who didnt get to read it, a pity.
Only true blue Singaporean Sportmens are our nation pride even though they won no medal. Their courage to stand on the world stage is already a recognition. Thanks for their hard work in the Olympics!!
We should put the money in good use to train local bred sportmen. Even if we didnt have a good one, we should used the money for the needy in our nation. Foreign Talent Sportmenship Scheme should be cancelled. Just consider, do we really need to hire foreigners to win that Olympics medal so desperately? We have won many medals throught S.E.A, Asean games and etc by our local bred sportmen. And just think; How many of our Singaporeans are struggling with money for children going to school and struggling with daily expenses? How many of our elders are helpless with expensive medical expenses??? Consider and Think again.
tiredman
To me, nothing is great about the winning the silver medal. Li Jiawei, Feng Tianwei and Wang Yuegu had done a great job. Congratulation you had won the silver medal. This was your own personal achievement. This was your chance to prove your ability and you had made it. You should take whatever rewards that were planned for you. However, I am sorry I got to say this got nothing to do to Singapore’s achievement.
I know, people response to incentive, so I am not going to direct my anger to these player.
From lim’s and Kent’s comments, I see they are implying that we CANNOT ACCEPT FOREIGNERS. They are suggesting hatred.
These innocent ladies who are from China might not even know what is happening in Singapore. Should we hate foreigners then?
No, it’s the policies that bring them here. Kent and lim are trying to say we do not welcome foreigners. Unless it is foreigners like Amit Nagpal, I would not even express I do not welcome them. I would accept them and divert the anger to the group of people who had created this situation.
tiredman
Just to add in… I personally do not hate them but I do not welcome them.
Fire Phoenix
Kenya and Jamica did not rely on foreign talents to win their gold medals. They just concentrate in the sports that they do best.
xtrakm
I am happy that they had chosen to represent Singapore and won the silver medal. We should welcome them with open arms as they have made the decision to come here. My father emigrated to Singapore and raise a family here. Does it make him a lesser Singaporean just because he was born in a foreign land?
Let’s not belittle or begrudge the achievements of our foreign sportspersons who wear our colours. Singaporeans should have a big heart and a place for those who wants to make this little red dot home.
I hope to see Singapore becoming a more cosmopolitan and vibrant city which is able to attract the best in the world to come and work or live here. I’m all for attracting the best foreign talents.
Conjob
China has a population of ~ 1.3 billion and the number of people playing table tennis far exceeds all the countries put together. How can a tiny country like Singapore hope to compete against such a giant in this sport ? This govt deem it fit to shop for their second tier players and it would be silly for China to release potential world champions to Singapore. Objectively, this govt will need to repeat the process of shopping for China players to replace the likes of Li J W and company. When does this process end ? refer to @ 20) for insightful comments.
Does anyone out there think it is possible for a home grown Singaporean talent to match China’s players ? In 4 years time China would have probably screened thousands of young players that will emerge to challenge the present imports that we have. So we can now see that it is not a clever idea to start with and I agree with netizens that we need to look at other sports that gives us a better chance. Realistically we can never match the sports power houses like China and USA.
Jamaica, Kenya, Ethiopia, NZ etc focus on what they do best.
The most important thing about sports is the participation and character building of our young people and we should continue to encourage them and not be distracted by this silly idea of winning at all costs. To me our sportsmen/women are already winners if the participation has helped to instill in them the right values.
I think this FT policy is really the good eh.
Here’s why.
1. Olympic is also about different countries sending their proud citizens to compete with the best from other countries in hope of bringing home honor.
The FT policy in this aspect have proven some things.
Yes, all along many locals believe our locals sports standard is not as great as the best in the world. Maybe due to pragmatic pursuit of economic excellence or lack of talents because of our small population.
Now, our new citizens who are ex-china citizens only a year to a few years ago are representing singapore. I wonder how they feel? I wonder how ex-local-born-national heroes feel now? I wonder how current national level potential sporting greats feel about our great super duper FT policy for sports?
Take too long to win olympics? No issue. Invite and see if they join. If they join, ho say liao. Got chan. big chan. They brought home 1 medal liao. So solid de FT policy right?
Olympic spirit. National identity. Pride.
good nite everyone!
Comments edited by moderator.
pumpkin
I am happy that Singapore has finally won a Olympic medal after almost half a century of efforts.I am not proud the way we went about it . It showed the end justify the means. It is easier to source the world for good players to don our national colours. It is harder to develop a comprehensive sports scheme and culture to nurture and sustain our sports talents.
We just find a easy way of a situation and it is difficult to sustain such a solution.
tks
Just look at our neighbouring countires. Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia have won medals through thier citizens. They do not import forigen talents to help them to win medal. Our leader forever obsess to be number 1 in almost everythings but when come to sports, they have no shame to shout out loud for winning the emdal, through the short cut way.
money talks
the next time our leaders tell us that we need to pay top dollar to get the best talents, we know that is not true.
look, we offered to pay our players top top dollar, so much more than what Phelps is getting for all his 8 GOLD medals, and yet we’re still getting second-rated performance.
top money not equal to top talent ok!
doublejeopardy
“When the scheme was conceived, one of the key argument put forward was that it would raise the standards of our local players and will inspire more of young talents. Was this KPI met ? And I wonder, is it still a KPI ?”
that’s bullsh*t. sports excellent has reached to a point where, apart from an insane commitment to a goal and ensuring access to all the latest training methods, the right coach and environment, you need to be a freak of nature like usain bolt or have that X factor to win. there are exception of course, like group sports, where pure sweat, determination,team efforts and luck may make a difference but, nobody can guarantee we can achieve even that. best bet for,getting a medal is to aim for a sport that requires that special X factor in a sportsman. and that’s exact what we did. they know our country is unlikely to produce a sporting star, they cooked up a convincing story( double talk) to justify ’shopping’ for a medal else where. now if you are in their shores, which sport star would you pick that you think majority singaporeans will mostly likely accept? of course the chinese kind lah because, singapore is predominantly chinese mah!
shameless as it is, that’s the quality of our thinkers and leaders basically.
so in a nutshell, the whole story of singapore. – use anybody anywhere and at any costs( legally of costs though can be….twitched) to justify the end!
their approach, at the end of the day, is nothing but a slap in the face of all our local sports persons for being…..at their best in the most restrictive environment which they are born in to but …not good enough for a medal.
in other words, the country( rather the leadership) reject its own!
Anthony Yeo does not need to hang his head in shame. The people who should be ashamed of themselves are those responsible for this sham and shame. While their orgasm hasn’t stop, I’d like them to know that it’s a pyrrhic victory. It may bring more harm than good!
Money can keep reluctant ministers in their jobs; money can buy medals; money can fix opposition and buy votes; money can even buy sex; but sorry chums, money cannot buy me love, nor peace, nor truth, nor loyalty nor national pride. Money also doesn’t buy fear of arrogant leaders!
I pity those who still insist that since other countries are doing the same, we should follow. To those who compare the 3 table tennis immigrants to our ancestors who came to Singapore, please get real. My grandpa wasn’t bought by the ego seeking schemers. He came on his own without fear or favour or life jacket in a boat.
As we are really into this slippery slope of casinos (IR’s ?) and prostitution, I guess it doesn’t hurt to be orgasmic about a pyrrhic victory! What next? Instead of imported yellow table tennis players, we may have black athletes representing Singapore in London Olympics in 2012. Last I heard, Singapore scouts are heading to Jamaica to buy some.
feedmetothefish
seeking salvation
what do u expect from agovt that also buy votes by dangling the upgrading package in the opposition ward and use the same stick to keep the voter loyalty
they are now doing it with the olympics
buying China B team to get a medal
this is a good article and we should reflect on the moral value
which is morally wrong
pedestrian
like someone said, it’s all a business transaction. the manipulators are the big dogs who eat small dogs( you don’t call it a dog eat dog world for nothing). if small dogs are willing participants, who are we to judge them?
but if you are leader dogs and make decisions that affect all of us who are basically minding our own business, than, be prepared for the people to reject your dog vomit!
fighting on moral ground? pls, you must be joking. no one is that perfect to win on that ground. the only place one can win on moral ground( and justice) is in COURT – if you know what i mean.
Jumbo
FT has been increasing involved whenever there is shortage of manpower ,even in sports. At the end , Singaporean will not need to fill any vacancy as FT is ever available. I think , someone will propose FT to be allow to vote because of their contribution to the Nation. Singaporean will then have to sit back as reserved in their own turf. You know how much reserved player will earn.
LadyLuck
I wonder what they will buy next. Human Decency perhaps? LOL.
bystander
If anyone deserves praise, it should be our OWN long suffering sports personnel who patiently endured the INSULTS of their masters for all they could possibly give of themselves to this nation except …. a metal.
its_all_about.....economic...hum
I had a funny and strange and weird thought.
Next olympics, all the qualifiers from all the countries of the world (usa, britain, japan, germany, russia, australia, skorea, rest of europe, all of middle east) for the olympics ping pong are all ex-china top calibres who have potential for medal at international level.
Then, I think olympics become really…..I cannot find a right word to describe. Please help fill in the blanks.
A lot of national pride ler.
watcanmoneynotbuy?
We also can have a citizen who went to the moon if …..he. …… accepts citizenship ? ….I……wonder ….only…..lah….
But why not political talents from overseas ? why stop there?
afterall, its said that political talents are in short supply.
taiwan sportsmen also get asked to become politicians. why?
what cannot be a political thing?
cna broadcasted taiwan ex-olympiads running for campaigns for political parties.
if there cannot be strong alternate voices, can we invite for new citizens to replace the old guards? for prosperity and progress ….based on justice and …..
so help us.
worrisome - chef de mission
what he says is scary – that we should aim for gold next time – which means more money to be pumped into this. I can only agree to this after we have sufficiently paid our 60+ year olds a monthly stipend – to prevent them from begging for money in exchange for tissue paper and empty drink cans. The govt cannot be a welfare state for China ‘quitters’ who cannot make it to their A team – while our old folks are left to fend for themselves. WE cannot compartmentalise these 2 issues! I agree with Yamasan 20) How has this helped our young Singaporean table tennis players? Zilch. We will just pay more for foreigners. We are missing the story altogether!
TPM
Singaporeans should be pasionate about what they love…. That’s what will produce gold medals. The money used to import the foreign talents in Singapore sport should be better used for young Singaporeans who are passionate about the sport. With better funding for Singaporeans we will certainly achieve a “real” medal in the Olympics one day. Everyone can be trained to be the best in their respective sport. All it takes is some time and money. Is anyone willing to invest the resources in a young local athlete who is passionate about his or her sport whatever it may be?
feedmetothedogs
feedmetothefish,
why do some people say politicians,lawyers and religious leaders are beneath prostitutes?
maybe because prostitutes don’t justify their ‘unrighteous ways’ like them?
looking at all the scandals around us( from east to west), it is truly amazing how our leaders are in such ‘pristine white’ condition.
can’t help feeling how proud i am of their ‘righteous ways’ because, somehow, only in singapore, we can produce such a ‘perfect specimen’.
kowtow to our Millionaire Ministers. i am a proud citizen, not rich, but proud of our unique system of governance, rewards and..justice.
feedmetothefish,
how do you suppose such great achievement of high standard and quality of morality , justice and equality etc etc are attained? what’s their ‘trade secrets’ where others have failed miserably and perhaps can learn from?
you have any idea? :)
Kent
For those who moan and groan let me remind them that with globalization, like it or not, the world has changed.
There is now a world without borders or borders that are very porous and “big” is better : bigger banks, bigger corporations and bigger foreign reserves. This is one reason why we are tyring to increase our population to 6.5 million to match that of HK, which is our most ardent competitor in the financial/tourist industry.
In the USA alone there are 21 million Mexicans who have croosed the borders and are vying for jobs that the Americans don’t see fit to apply for and instead opt for the dole. The USA is going downhill fast with debts of major proportions as people don’t save anymore. They just spend like there is no tomorrow. The US education system is dumbing their kids. Their number of talented people have declined.
We, as a small nation, must play the game and grab all the talented people we can get or otherwise this is the beginning of the end for the republic.
Right now we are not even able to reproduce ourselves even with the baby bonus. Now that the gahmen has increased the incentives I hope more people would walk the walk and talk the talk and produce more babies and stop complaining.
Here is an old proverb that we should pay attention to before we criticize others :
“Think of your own faults the first part of the night when you are awake, and of the faults of others the latter part of the night when you are asleep.”
This morning ST carried the news that the STTA president is sacking the team manager and probably the coach Liu Guo Dong. The other evening she appeared on TV to voice her anguish over the lack of coach in a man’s TT game. She demanded “Accountable” to the people in charge. I am appaled by her response. As a president she should check and investigate what had happened before going on the camera to make such an accusation(after all she is incharge no point telling the whole world) If she truly cares for the “livlihood of the player” how abt the coach and the manager. The govt should have checked the type of character that they are putting up as president of NSAs, whether they are suitable before appointing them. She is certainly not suitable as a leader and I wouldn’t want her as my MP.
tiredman
Kent,
It is globalization that makes people (citizen) feel disgust and pack up their bags and leave the country. If Singapore leader do not give or hardly give or treat Singaporeans the same as foreigners while still having too much liabilities, what is the point of staying here? If opportunity arises elsewhere and can give me more time to spend with my family without any liabilities, I am better off than staying here right.
Sometime, I am not surprised when I hear PRs mother says it is okay to have a baby girl born in Singapore. If it is a boy, it is better to be born in Malaysia. Perhaps, they will still have a chance to escape N******* S******. LoL.
I am not very surprise when I hear PRs start to complain that they do not get GST rebates, Singapore shares, this and that. Kent, perhaps you can give them all these, PRs second generation need not serve NS and give them all the rebates. I am sure you will win the heart and minds of these foreigners.
Be reminded, Kent please do not “over use” the word COMPETITION. Else if I get nasty, very likely you will be the first one to be kicked hard by me on your little devil butt during the election. You can leave me with no chance to vote, but I believe there will be thousands of “me” out there and you have no idea how tie our legs to this miserable place called Singapore. Be reminded again this is globalization.
Kent, let me teach you this; help your fellow citizen when times are bad (economically) else citizen will ditch you when peace time is over(you can see the effect now already. lol ). Get it. Cheerzz…
psychophants
you know, kent is right. more good years ahead. hahahaaaaaa
SINGAPOREAN 52
kent, just to remind you again, ppls. here are not really complaining,this is a good place to share their tot(their honest tot)… seem like you dont quite like honesty and frankness???
I’m just an ordinary ,simple old man living all my life in sg., I ‘m not in either side of the fence… Kent, such issue been discuss almost every corner of sg. .. coffee shop void dect, taxi dr,n pax, market place…etc….
For your information , ( i swear from my heart) most ppls. i talk to agree on Anthony (the above writer).
Dear kent , what you read here is very mild, compare to the heartlander , their honesty and frankness can make you mad,with your kind of mind set…finally,i would like to ask you to be more gracious ,just let them speak their mind, at least here….(as you know main media are always one sided) thank you so much kent…good day..
PC
I will be proud only the local Singaporean take part the 42 KM run even he is the last to complete.
Level playing field ?
How much does the government spend on building up local sportsmen / sportswomen? The NZ government’s high-performance funding grew from $19m in 2001 to $34.5m in 2008, with a total direct involvement in Olympic sports since Athens of $60m. With a population similar to Singapore’s they won 9 medals including 3 golds. Jamaica’s population is smaller than Singapore’s and they won 6 golds !! Insteading of importing talents , they should spend on developing local talent!
Kent
Tiredman : “It is globalization that makes people (citizen) feel disgust and pack up their bags and leave the country.”
Ok, that is your perogative. This is a free world. But where would you go where you are absolutely free from the vexing effects of globalization? Timbucktu?
The likely destination of our beloved “quitters” is good old Australia, more likely Perth, which is barely 4 hours away so that these voluntary Spore expats can sneak back into S’pore to exercise their felial piety once a year to see the parents and extended familes they have left behind and to savour the local fares.
So what is life like in Perth? In my opinion, you will be confined to a very small community of Asians who have made the same flawed decision to quit their own countries. Trust me, it’s very lonely out there, my friend. There are only so much tourist sites that you can visit , so much wine you can drink and so much lobsters you can eat, after that you back to reality! LONELINESS!!!
And with globalization it is you who will be laid off first out there unless you are an indispensible heart surgeon. If you are an average Ah Beng you are history when the Sh*t hits the fan in an economic downturn in Perth !
Sure, with your CPF in hand and the proceeds of the sale of your condo or HDB or HUDC or landed properties you will be able to afford a quarter-acre block of land with a five BR home and a swimming pool in the sprawling backyard.
And if you have lots of money from your inheritance you may not even have to work. But you just rot and go downhill in the fast-lane or you will spend your days at the Burswood casino, mindlessly losing all your hard-earned money !
At best the Australians only tolerate your presence. They don’t openly discriminate against you as this against the law. But often times in their company in a cocktail party or a wedding party you will feel like you are invisible as they will converse with their own mates, right through you, as if you are not even there!
I was once told in no uncertain terms by a Club Med hostess from Queensland that Australians resent us buying up their houses and apartments !!!
If you like the idea of being a second class citizen then migrate by all means !
As for ” if I get nasty, very likely you will be the first one to be kicked hard by me on your little devil butt during the election.”
Why be nasty when I am not even a politician? Why not debate like a civil person?
As Prof Thio Li-Ann once wrote ” Let speaking in the public square with reason, passion, honesty, civility, even grace be the mark of a Citizen of Singapore.”
How about it pal?
blowme
@ 48, i applaud your good intentions.
i despise ball-lickers and their opinion, so no worries about kent or lim.
they do not have enough skill to convince us or the heartlanders that you mentioned.
pathetic leaders beget mindless followers. lol
Fever Guy
“lim on August 23rd, 2008 2.30 pm
The entire US women’s table tennis team comprises of China born women. Quite ironic that when they reached the quarter finals, their press supported them 100% and not a single question on their nationality was raised except to celebrate their success at reaching where no other women representing the US in table tennis have gone before. Same thing too with the chinese in the Dominican republic and the other 17 teams with China born players.
Yet today, we have people including so called “singaporeans” casting doubt on the success of individuals who, despite what anyone might doubt, represent Singapore in their capacity as Singapore citizens.
I personally rejoice in the Singapore team’s achievements at this Olympics. If representing Singapore is not an honour and celebrated, no sportsperson in Singapore will ever be honoured. Today, we question the birth place. Tomorrow, why not parentage? What about sex and weight and looks?
The Olympics is not about differences but unity. I would expect Singaporeans cherishing unity should be united in the celebration of their success. I certainly am.”
They dont win $750,000 as reward and most of these US Chinese players wanted very much to be in USA. USA never import them and go out to lure them with carrots. Not like Singapore. Goin all out with carrots to lure rabbits. I can bet if there is no $750,000 or $500,000 rewards these china girls wont even come to Singapore. Why not ask Lee Jia Wei to donate half of the rewards to less than fortunate Singaporeans. Do you think she cares? Dont be stupid!
FG.
cynic
As Prof Thio Li-Ann once wrote ” Let speaking in the public square with reason, passion, honesty, civility, even grace be the mark of a Citizen of Singapore.”
Only when you have the economic and judicial advantage kent, and may i add, all the backing of law enforcers at the back of your calling.LOL.
Fever Guy
Kent,
“In the USA alone there are 21 million Mexicans who have croosed the borders and are vying for jobs that the Americans don’t see fit to apply for and instead opt for the dole. The USA is going downhill fast with debts of major proportions as people don’t save anymore. They just spend like there is no tomorrow. The US education system is dumbing their kids. Their number of talented people have declined.”
You talk as if you kids are there studying and has become dumb. Your generalisation is indeed very wide. If Americans are dump, why do they have innovative products such as Iphone, Windows, Intel Chips and so forth. Do we Singapore even make such items…i thought our education is even better than US? Sometimes ask yourself this…what have our education system produce? A nobel scientist? A nobel Artist? A nobel winner? NOPE! Nothing. Not even a home bred Olympic Medalist without having to import them from China FARM. My friend, SIngapore dont need us…coz imports are ready to fill our shoes. In USA, fat hope if you think foreigners can get a job that easy. Unless you dont mind washing dishes, taxi drivers or labour jobs while holding a degree and even masters. While in Singapore, we are as easy to replace as 123. Great to know we are so dirt cheap.
FG
Kent
SINGAPOREAN 52 : “i would like to ask you to be more gracious ,just let them speak their mind, at least here….(as you know main media are always one sided) thank you so much kent”
Dear SINGAPOREAN 52 – If I appear to be “ungracious” you have my apologies. No such stance was intended. The objective of debate is that all views are aired in a public debate in a civil way. Only then will the truth prevail. My view is only one of the many views aired today. This is diversity and it is healthy. I am not saying I am 100% right but I am prepared to defend what I wrote without pillorying anyone. If anyone has another better view I am always ready to hear it. Thank you.
Blowme : ” i despise ball-lickers and their opinion, so no worries about kent or lim.”
You are free to despise me. This is a free world. But say what you like I am not a ball licker. My views are are my own independent views!
Cynic : “Only when you have the economic and judicial advantage kent, and may i add, all the backing of law enforcers at the back of your calling.”
Then go an do something about it. Don’t moan and groan !!
Fever Guy: “If Americans are dump, why do they have innovative products such as Iphone, Windows, Intel Chips and so forth.”
If they are so clever why are they the world’s biggest debtors ever in all of mankind’s history?
UCF
Kent, as mentioned umpteen times before, changing the subject to “globalization” and “competition” or “2nd class citizen in Australia” is not going to distract the people here from the actual issue of foreign talent policy and winning sports medal by questionable method.
Feedmetothefish, Tiredman, Singaporean52, Fever Guy and others have clearly expressed their views; their views are not minority and you cannot make them disappear by misdirect or muddying or denial.
Obviously, not all Singaporean are made of stupid. In fact I believe most of them only pretend to don’t care or act blur but they know what is going on. You cannot force them to believe there is no problem, they will only pretend to agree with you.
Anyway this is not relevant to the sports talent issue, but you seem to know too much details about life as a second-class citizen in Perth. If you are not even in Singapore how to lecture us about adjusting to globalization?
Also you seems to be big fan of Prof Thio Li-Ann – unfortunately she didn’t practice what she preach during S377A debate so not a good example to follow at all.
theonlinecitizen
Dear everyone,
Please refrain from using personal attacks and derogatory terms. If this continues, this thread will be closed for further comments from those engaging in such personal references.
Be civil! Listen to Mah Bow Tan! :)
Curious
TOC,
What are you talking about? Care to reveal to us what you know and how you know what you know that others may know what you are talking about?
How does it all work here? Please enlighten what’s the …excitement about? :)
Cuious
TOC,
One more thing, how can personal attacks be possible when we are mostly anonymous. Are there illegal practices committed by certain people that the laws maybe invoked?
Kent
UCF : “Obviously, not all Singaporean are made of stupid. In fact I believe most of them only pretend to don’t care or act blur but they know what is going on.”
Yes I agree. Singaporeans are smart and they are well educated too but some of us are “knockers” and are always complaining instead of doing something about what they perceived as social injustices.
And their first line of defense is to migrate into a strange culture, into oblivion and into a life of irrelevance and loneliness!!
UCF : “you seem to know too much details about life as a second-class citizen in Perth. If you are not even in Singapore how to lecture us about adjusting to globalization?”
I am a Singaporean and I live in Singapore but I have visited Perth many times.
That was the observation I made. In fact I know of a family that has returned to Malaysia. They find it too dull and too lonely in Perth ! One of my own friends has returned from Canada. He found it too COLD !!!
UCF : “Also you seems to be big fan of Prof Thio Li-Ann – unfortunately she didn’t practice what she preach during S377A debate so not a good example to follow at all.”
She is a wonderful human being. I am a straight guy but personally I think S377A is flawed. Satisfied ?
To all those who moan and groan pay attention to this old maxim : “To climb a tree to catch a fish is talking much and doing nothing.”
bent
To all those who moan and groan pay attention to this old maxim : “To climb a tree to catch a fish is talking much and doing nothing.”
I wonder whether some people will dare go for a lie detector test or told to swear in the mosque like our friend from a neighboring country.
Why censured if there is no dark corners to hide? How to represent the people when you are no different from the powers that be?
We are no fools, we know who has the resources and people also has their ways to trap these idiots.
Who has climbed the tree and fallen on his jaws?
Are you honest, do you have integrity yourself before you attacked someone else?
tiredman
Kent ,
I am sorry you write as if you are a minister. You seem to have lots of oversea working experience. Why not tell us more about the life there? It would be interesting. lol
If you experience negative reactions from the locals over there, why do you not think the same reaction would happen here? Do you really think Singapore is really very unique? Maybe you are the one that is unique. In your opinion, you will be treated like a stranger (hmm alien??) but you suggested welcoming the foreigners as friends… woooo… You are indeed unique, impressive.
Kent, I believe Singapore has a very competitive market, so does Australia. Life is already very hard to compete against the local. Is’nt the presence of you as a foreigner creates more trouble?
It’s simple. Since we are treated the same as the foreigner, there would not be a difference to be a foreigner in the other country. (Our G has realized this (eg baby bonus, medical subsidies, GST rebates) However, I hope there will be more changes cos I need to serve)
Are we already the second class citizen? Our first class PR citizens dare to write to ST and scold us lo. I cannot imagine what will happen next. Are Armit and Manish Grover your friends?
Hence, going back to the main topic, the time has already come for a change; use our local born players to bring a medal back. That would be a second medal.
Haha, let the general public decide Kent, okay? Trust me, I think only some unique people would stand to your side.
patriot
‘It is a free world’, globalization is real.
Is the above statement true? Right? Accurate?
If there is no/nil money to make here, will foreign talents come? If they do, for what motives? To help and protect us?
Can I travel without a passport and settle anywhere in the Free World?
patriot
Kent
Bent : “Are you honest, do you have integrity yourself before you attacked someone else?”
I can also ask of you “Are you honest, do you have integrity yourself before you attacked someone else?” too. Where does it all end.?
A maxim is not meant to attack anyone. It is meant to educate.
Jason
let the PAP bath in their own joy of another sucessful transaction that has brought them fame.
We Singaporean will continue to toil away, its PAP silver medal, it has nothing to do with me.
The silver medal won’t provide me with job security and free speech.
So count me out Singapore
yawnz
Show over? So fast?
:)
nameless
tireman, surely you knew that all along? you part of their…team?
just curious, you sending a message to the rest to cow them or what?
Maxim
People who break laws should tell others to keep the laws?
You think that’s a good maxim? LOL.
>>>>Tan Howe Liang migrated to Singapore, not to be a weightlifter or to win Olympics medals but to live and work. He made Singapore his home and became a weightlifter on his own initiative. When he finally made it to the Olympics, he did it with his own resources and when he returned as our hero, there was hardly any fanfare.
All that came much, much later with each Olympics that came along until he was relieved when he learnt that Singapore was on the way to winning an Olympics medal after what he achieved so very long ago.
Indeed, there wasn’t as much fanfare for Tan Howe Liang back then. This isn’t the way to treat someone who brought our country glory.
Er….one more thing, it should be ‘immigrated’ instead of ‘migrated’. People immigrate, animals migrate. Overall I find Anthony’s article to be sincere and thought-provoking.
Pls correct me if I am wrong…cos I may be wrong. >,<
AC
Kent:
The point that some are trying to make, is that our table tennis team is the result of a deliberate policy to purchase trained table tennis players and to deploy the same players in the shortest possible time frame to compete in our name.
This policy is deplorable because it is basically using money to buy a shortcut to instant success. What is the value of the medal bought? Does it grow our economy? Does it create jobs? Does it improve the lives of Singaporeans? Are there much better ways to spend this money?
Why should we splurge fortunes to invite derision and disparagement for a gaudy medal? The inspirational value is suspect – the comments on this thread stands testament to our doubts; other nations are hardly impressed by our sporting prowess; and where is the spirit of sportsmanship in chequebook Olympics?
Wizard
Imigrants and migrants are not in the same category as our table tennis players. These players are what I would call “sports mercenaries”. They sell their skills to the highest bidder, ply their skills and get rewarded. It does not matter to them whether they are playing for Singapore or Papua New Guinea. There is no pride involved just dollars and sense. It is a joke that we are trying to squeeze out some pride and patriotism out of these mercenaries’ work. We paid, they delivered and so we say thank you. Don’t ask me to wave the flag and sing the anthem, when these people will soon name a new asking price for their services. We pay top dollars for top talent don’t we..
FT
Maybe these foreign born Singaporeans really want to become one of us, and play for the hounour and glory of Singapore, and benefitting from it at the same time. Everyone needs to eat right? Most of the local born Singaporeans don’t take part actively in International sports because they would rather spend their time making money, isn’t it.
Give them a chance. They may truly want to be Singaporeans but seriously, who wants to be part of a society that doesn’t want them. All this negativity just makes me want to puke. What a gracious society we are!!1
FT
Oh one other thing I would really like to ask all local born Singaporeans, and I ask this of myself all the time:
“What have you done for your country?”
loop
Not many Singaporean parents are willing to let their children do full time sports. That is why we need foreign imports. Anyway, what is the point of asking Sporeans to give birth more as alot of them are unwilling to take up certain jobs. e.g. Service sector.
T
/// 12) mel on August 23rd, 2008 1.38 pm
i feel that this implies that these foreign sports talents are imported and not attracted here. if they were scouted, but if they were not attracted to singapore, what would make them come? it should be possible for them to reject the offer and stay in their own country is that not? if they have made the choice to come over and play for singapore or any other country just like many other countries are, it could be said that they were attracted here, not because they were “imported”. ///
Not true mel. Welcome to Singapore, Inc.
They come here because it is a win-win business transaction with Singapore Inc. They win medals for Singapore and Singapore pays them well. Period.
You asked a good question – why come to Singapore and not stay in their own country? Isn’t the answer obvious? If they had stayed in China, they will forever be in the B Team or C team. Any Chinese (from China) ranked higher than 6 would likely be sitting on the bench or not even be invited into the Olympic stadium. By being exported (or imported by any other countries), they instantly become top ranks in the new countries and stand a chance of representing their newly adopted countries and a shot at fame and fortune.
So, if you were them, will you remain in China to mop the floor of the training centres, or come to Singapore and stand a chance of winning $1,000,000 – that’s RMB5,000,000.
GY
Prescient and insightful. Thank you to Anthony for the commentary. It’s a shame we won’t see this in the press at large – or will we?
T
Prescient???
jjb55
Dear TOC team,
If you would like to wrestle for political power, why do you have to say that you love the FT sports team but hate PAP’s FT policy, and use emotions against FT to stir up negative emotions against the PAP and other FTs in general?
Such underhand move neither help the society nor raise the quality of alternative voices.
Please do not delete my comments again.
Kent
Tiredman : “I am sorry you write as if you are a minister. You seem to have lots of oversea working experience. Why not tell us more about the life there? It would be interesting. lol”
If you read my previous post again you will see that I am not a politician. My own observation of the conditions in Perth was gleaned from many visits there and I
shared that with posters in this thread who may contemplate migrating there.
TIredman :”If you experience negative reactions from the locals over there, why do you not think the same reaction would happen here? Do you really think Singapore is really very unique?”
Two wrong don’t make a right is the old proverb. My pooint is that we as a small nation needs to GRAB as many talented people we can get our hands on if we are going to continue to prosper. This is the game everyone is playing, so why are we so conservative? No one in this thread is against using foreign labor to clean our toilets at the airport or work in low paying construction jobs or work as our maids, so why is this outpouring of negative vibes when we import talented people? Are we going to cut off our noses to spike our faces? Do they threaten our livelihood? Is the foreign CEO of DBS or OCBC or the high powered execs at the GIC or Temasek threaten our jobs? I say No ! They help to create wealth for us.
Tiredman : “Are we already the second class citizen? ”
Absolutely not !! But if any citizen thinks he/she is a 2nd class citizen then he/she should tell us why. Is it because of an inferior complex or lack of education? If so then by pulling up roots and go to another alien culture is not going to help. It will be like jumping from the frying pan into the fire !
Tiredman : “The time has already come for a change; use our local born players to bring a medal back. That would be a second medal.”
That would be GREAT but waiting for 48 years is a tad too long already don’t you agree? Where are all our sportsman and sportswomen? Can they really beat China in table-tennis or badminton? Be realistic !
AC : “The point that some are trying to make, is that our table tennis team is the result of a deliberate policy to purchase trained table tennis players and to deploy the same players in the shortest possible time frame to compete in our name.”
Yes, I think so. But AC everyone is doing it so why don’t we?
AC : “What is the value of the medal bought? Does it grow our economy? Does it create jobs? Does it improve the lives of Singaporeans? Are there much better ways to spend this money?”
The medal itself is worth the price of the metal plus maybe a slight premium depending of the overnight silver price at the London Metal Exchange and the Olympiad gloss but it is the pride of seeing the Singapore flag raised at the Olympics that is worth its weight in gold !
By itself it does not create jobs but it is supposed to rally the people of Singapore to the flag (pride and loyalty) and if it attracts talented people to our shores then it is cream on the cake and it will help to create more wealth for Singapore and increase the economic pie and improves our lives. Is this so wrong?
The alternative is to roll over and pretend to play dead every four years when the Olympic games come back !
Can the money be better spent? Yes, by using it to train our own athletes but can they beat China in table tennis or badmington in the next 48 years? If they cannot then will that money be well spent ?
Sports is a nation-building activity. It makes us all proud to belong to the Singapore TRIBE when we win in the international arena. If that is not good enough for some of us then please tell me what is the best alternative ?
Whitestar
I’m just curious whether one day, as what my friend had commented, that all table tennis teams competing in the the Olympics would be made up of only Chinese nationals.
Hi feedmetothedog,
“how do you suppose such great achievement of high standard and quality of morality , justice and equality etc etc are attained? what’s their ‘trade secrets’ where others have failed miserably and perhaps can learn from?
you have any idea? :)”
I love the way you describe the whiter than white politician.
Unlike some, I’m not here to educate but merely to state my views and rant which my doctor and cardiologist prescribe to help me prevent another heart attack.
My idea?
The pledge of democracy, justice and equality is just fish food and dog food to dull the minds. Morality? you must be kidding. Mockery of morality, maybe.
Their trade secrets? Simple as ABC.
A. Buy the people (including potential medal winners and money makers)
B. Fix the people (especially opposition)
C. Brainwash and Scare the shit out of them!
Oh, buying prostitutes is included in A :)
feedmetothefish
Fever Guy
Kent,
” Fever Guy: “If Americans are dump, why do they have innovative products such as Iphone, Windows, Intel Chips and so forth.”
If they are so clever why are they the world’s biggest debtors ever in all of mankind’s history? ”
If we are so clever why are we holding so much of their currency. Ask our dear gahmen why they hold billions in US treasury? Come on, dont brush all america with the same foolishness. I know BUSH? is stupid but our gahmen also follow them and praise bush so much. We singaporeans are stupid enough to trust everything on our gahmen and we are so blind to the point that we believe western nations are more stupid than us. We all just look in the mirror to ask why are we so weak and useless. If you think Singapore is smarter than US, you can jolly well dont travel to the god forsaken USA, stop using windows/linux and anything dumb from them. Start living your 2nd class citizen dream right here in SG.
FG
Conjob
proverbs ? and educating netizens ? how presumptuous can one be ?
we should be doing it because everyone is doing so…..so does that mean we should sell our butts by this silly reasoning ?
we can never beat China in badminton or table tennis ….tell me which country can beat China consistently ? ……. Singapore can beat them in bowling and sure as hell can compete with the best, [ pity it is not an Olympic sport.] , this govt just don’t have enough brains to identify the sports that Singaporeans will stand a chance.
Raising the Singapore flag at the Olympics is worth its weight in gold….yes, to this govt and its stooges, but ask ourselves how many put up the flag on national day ?…..that says a lot about the sentiment. The flag does not bond the people. It takes more than that and this govt and its stooges just don’t get it. LOL
Winning in the international arena with foreign imports only bonds this govt with its stooges……remember the kallang roar during the golden era of football ?….this is what bonding should be even though the football team were not worldbeaters ! I still respect those players and the coach !
Only fools suggest we roll over and play dead just because we do not have a chance of winning at the Olympics…..we only need to identify the sports we can have a realistic chance and be patient. The biggest problem is we do not have a sports culture comparable to NZ, Jamaica, Ethiopia or Fiji. We have to learn the hard way and not go for the silly shortcut, where even my PRC friends do not respect the manner in which we got the silver. I rather Singapore be like Fiji, where the rest of the world respect them tremendously for the way they play with 7 men on a rugby field. And one day the Olympics may include this sport.
Kent
Fever Guy : “If we are so clever why are we holding so much of their currency.”
The Singapore dollar is backed by a basket of hard currencies and gold. We don’t put all our eggs in one basket. I thought you knew that.
Fever Guy : “If you think Singapore is smarter than US, you can jolly well dont travel to the god forsaken USA, stop using windows/linux and anything dumb from them.”
I did not say Spore is smarter than them. Once we think that we are smarter than others that is pure hubris and that will be the end of the Singapore dream. I said their number of talented folks have come down. I have stopped going to the USA as there are over 200 million hand guns there.
BTW Linux is not from the US of A. It was written in 1991 by Linus Torvalds from the University of Helsinki, Finland. See link here and get free softwares below”
http://www.linux.com/whatislinux/119700
Now it is linked to Sun Mircosystems and you can download open source office here FREE of charge instead of buying Microsoft Office 2007.
Try open source softwares , its free and good.
Fever Guy : ” Start living your 2nd class citizen dream right here in SG.”
Are you kidding me?
Conjob : “proverbs ? and educating netizens ? how presumptuous can one be?”
Someone said I used it to attack someone. I said it’s not. Maxims are used to educate not attack. if you think I am here to teach you are wrong. I am here to debate and in debates you use all the tools you can get to get your point thro.
Conjob: “we can never beat China in badminton or table tennis ….tell me which country can beat China consistently ?”
You are wrong.
In the 50s Singapore’s Wong Peng Soon was the most celebrated All England Singles’ Champion. What happened in the interveening period?
But you are right that we can beat them in Bowling. It’s should have been included in place of such “sports” as synchonized swimming in the Beijing Games!!
Conjob : “The flag does not bond the people. It takes more than that and this govt and its stooges just don’t get it.”
Then pray tell what does? 4D, TOTO and horse racing at Kranji??
Conjob : “we only need to identify the sports we can have a realistic chance and be patient. The biggest problem is we do not have a sports culture comparable to NZ, Jamaica, Ethiopia or Fiji.”
I agree we need to identify the sports that we have a chance to win a medal and I think Badmington is one of them and bowling is the other. We have a sports school and maybe you ought to go there and vocalise your thoughts for the sake of our future sports glory.
tiredman
Kent,
I think we should stop here. Else, I would be repeating what I had said before again and again and you will REPEAT what our wonderful govt had always told us. I am sick and tired of it. How about telling me a better story? If you have great ideas ha! Contribute to help Singaporean then. Of cos, it should never be competition. Competition floods Singapore. Singapore is already very COLD.
Kent do you understand the poor? Have you been one of them before? I doubt. I doubt. If not your words will not influence me. However, you don’t try to be one when you are not. God will know. The people will judge. Take care.
regards,
tiredman
bertlsc
Sigh! Singapore will never learn!
Daniel
Of course, we are not celebrating. Who get to keep the medal ? Singapore or the foreign athlete ? When foreign athletes leave for greener pasture, they will bring along their medals and Singapore will no longer has the medal in its land !
Wakeup Singapore, before been rename SinkInAPond.
Kent
Tiredman: “I think we should stop here. Else, I would be repeating what I had said before again and again and you will REPEAT what our wonderful govt had always told us.”
No one tells me what to write. It’s all my own views. They may not be 100% right but at least they are my own views. If it dove-tails with the gahmen’s views it’s only an unintended coincident.
Tiredman: “Kent do you understand the poor? Have you been one of them before?”
I emphatise with the poor. They need all the help we can muster. Spore is a rich country and there is no excuse for our people to be “poor”. That I agree with you.
The problem with Asian society is that it does not value “labor” and the end result is low pay for the bottom rung of workers. They make this mistake from Karachi to Kuala Kepong and to Indonesia and India and even in Spore. Japan is an exception.
For example in the junk food industry here they pay only about $3.50 per hour for the service people servicing hamburgers at the counter.
In Aust they pay Aust$17.50 an hour !! There is only a slight different between the pays of the educated and the unskilled workers there. Here the difference is as big as a football field.
The flawed rationale here is that we must remain “competitive” but we can never be competitive with the likes of China and India when it comes to salary.
We need to go up the value chain and the people must be willing to go back to school to upgrade their skills so that the corporations can justfiy a higher pay.
At the very least we need to relook a minimum wage system to enable the people to live a life of dignity and yet able to save for their retirement. How can anyone save for his/her retirement if they are paid a 3rd world salary?
“Have you been one of them before?” I was fortunate to attend univ and as a result was able to escape the poverty trap but that does mean that I don’t emphatise with the less unfortunate people. I really do. Bye and regards.
Sing Lang
Don’t be naive. “People of the soil”, you mean like the bumimputra policy in Malaysia, see what got malaysia to. Well, I doubt if any “people of the soil” will want to soil their tears and sweat out to do well in sports. So singaporeans are as bit to be blamed as the govt.
remember JFK’s words: “Do not wait for the govt to do something for you, do something for yourself and your country.”
Mr Sorry
Excelling in sports, one must have these two main factors:
1. The natural God-given talent and flair for the sport.
2. 200% total dedication and training towards the sport.
One can be “good” in that sport if you have either factor but to actually be “world class”, successful and earn a decent living through it, you really need both factors.
What Singapore lacks in most of our locally bred athletes are either factor 1 or 2. The problem for that is the lack of support from the status quo itself.
To spot a natural talent in a particular sport is not so difficult as one might imagine. Just drop by one of the primary or secondary inter-school competitions and I can assure you will be treated some “talents” right there. I’ve on occasions been treated to some real sporting displays by these kids. I can attest that most of these kids play with their hearts out as the reason is simple, they love and enjoy the game they are playing. However sadly, 90% of these talented kids will never be groomed for future sporting glory as the “paper chase” mentality will always prevail in our society. Thus the factor 2 will never come into play for these kids in the later future in which deprived us of what might could have been future sporting stars.
So the fastest and easiest way to ascertain an Olympic medal would be “signing” these FTs over. Very much like how a professional football club would be run, eg. signing a foreign import to further improve the state of the club, just like how Abbas Saad and Jang Jung were instrumental in bringing the last Malaysia Cup win that “Singapore” had.
However having said much, I personally don’t like the idea of FTs representing other national teams. Though it is ongoing in other countries, I would however prefer we go the Jamaican, New Zealander or Luxemborg way, which is showcasing locally bred athletes in Olympics or whatever international meets. I also would love to see “another and much improve versions of” Fandi Ahmad, Joscelin Yeo, Ang Peng Siong, Jack Wong or Zarinah Abdullah out there representing Singapore. Maybe that can come from the kids in the Sports School one day…
Conjob
@ kent
Wong Peng Soon was someone in the 50s and I am talking about the present and the future. China is a sports superpower house in badminton and table tennis and they can match the entire world put together. So I don’t agree that tiny Singapore has a realistic chance unless we repeat the process of importing their 2nd tier players and hope someone will fuke a victory over China’s players. I am talking about beating them consistently. Have you thought about the sentiments of other races in our country with regards to our China imports?
I am surprised that you have no idea how people in a country should bond under than raising a flag at some Olympics. And you show yourself as another stooge of this govt when you suggested TOTO, 4 D , horse racing. Why not summarise and say that having kiasu,kiasi,kiamsiap and bochap traits bond Singaporeans.
Right now, this govt does not deserve any input from me on how to bond with the ordinary people. Think about it . If they are truly div 1 , they should figure this out and in fact would have been on top of the situation. Like I mentioned, how many citizens put up the flag on national day ? And how many actually agree with the manner in which we obtain the silver ? Vocalising my thoughts at the sports school will not be effective, this country needs more opposition in parliament and not 2 vs 82. Many of the grossly overrated MPs and Ministers have to be given the boot and then we can have a realistic chance of seeing an improvement in the sports culture and more importantly, real bonding of Singaporeans.
Dex
Very well written article, i agree with the majority of the points brought up.
The government’s purpose of sport is clearly a nationalistic one: it has clear intentions to build up the love of our nation (and state, ironically). So yeah, in that aspect (in fact with a lot of our countries int he world), we’re trying to make Singapore look like a great new progressive hug-and love-a lot society. Ugh… Team Singapore’s purpose has always been crystal clear anyway: Winning the Gold/Silver for Singapore so that we can be PROUD of Singapore.
By having more foreign atheletes we are effectively closing doors for potential atheletes to come ahead and shine, so yes, we need to stop with the wholesale importing of table tennis players. We need to stop with the wholesale importing of anybody from Engineers to Scientists, and take a look at our own guys.
What should be done with Sports:
1. Ease away from the Nationalistic “Go Team Singapore” scheme. This reminds me of how China plays the sports game itself.
2. Work with kids from young, NOT by coercing them into “successful sports” like Table Tennis or swimming, but help them find the love of sports through their own participation, and let them find out which sport they can excel in.
3. Take in less foreign players over the next few years and then stop importing them completely when we’ve got our momentum . Groom our own young, not help a B-Team has been to achieve a 2nd placing.
4. See if atheletes would like to shift into another sport they feel equally comfortable with, or have an interest in. For example, Team GB’s Rebecca Romero shifted from her silver winning rowing team in Athens to a Gold Medal Position in Cycling at the 08 Games. (hint, hint)
5. Find a better way to fund sports, and don’t narrow focus to “winnable sports”. As i’ve seen in the recent Olympics, Singapore weren’t even close in a majority of “winnable sports”. I actually think we were very lucky enough to get a silver, due to draws and all.
6. Get people interested in sports (not just through couch watching table tennis).
7. Overseas Singaporeans can be encouraged to participate in sports, they actually may be moving to countries where sports training is better. Example: Kirsty Coventry can win Zimbabwe some medals in swimming (when the majority of her training is in the US). Of course, that is if any Singaporeans overseas would like to join in with the “Nationalistic” Team Singapore…
Kent
Conjob : “I am talking about beating them consistently.”
Then you are talking only about bowling or how fast our teens can do SMS?
Conjob: “Have you thought about the sentiments of other races in our country with regards to our China imports?”
No. Are there any resentment? What about Susilo? Is there also resentment cos he is another Indonesian Chinese? All the last 16 nations in the Beijing Table Tennis have Chinese sounding names. Did the other races in the USA resent their China imports? I don’t think so. Did Australia’s other races resent their table tennis imports from China. I don’t think so. They all play the GAME!!! They are all very understanding of the term “horses for courses.” Why are we different?
Conjob: “I am surprised that you have no idea how people in a country should bond under than raising a flag at some Olympics. And you show yourself as another stooge of this govt when you suggested TOTO, 4 D , horse racing.”
I am also surprised that you failed to detect sarcasm when I suggest 4D et al. I asked you to pray tell how a country should bond but you evaded the issue by bleating ” Right now, this govt does not deserve any input from me on how to bond with the ordinary people.” If not now when ? Are you an expert in bonding?
And BTW stop saying I am a stooge. I am not !!
Conjob : “how many citizens put up the flag on national day ?”
Not many unless you buy the flags for them I guess. Did you put up a flag?
Conjob :” And how many actually agree with the manner in which we obtain the silver ?”
From the outpouring of sentiments at the airport and at Raffles City I say a lot. But cynics can say that too is faked ! Its a no win situation from the knockers’ perspective I guess. Cest la vie !!
Conjob : “Vocalising my thoughts at the sports school will not be effective, this country needs more opposition in parliament and not 2 vs 82.”
So more opposition MPs equate to more Olympic medals? Is that a valid argument? While I agree to more opposition MPs in parliament I don’t see what that has got anything to do with winning medals. I say keep politics out of Sports.
Conjob
@ kent
Besides bowling , we can focus on shooting, sailing and some other sports that other netizens can suggest. We have so many young men doing NS. Take note that India won only 1 gold with a population of 1 billion !
Other countries are doing it……yes, but they have worthy champions in other sports and also a sports culture to back it up…….Singapore ????
Why must it be foreign imports for table tennis ? why not other sports ?
Remember I mentioned the kallang roar. The ordinary people could identify with the football team in the 70s and they were not world beaters. I assure you the outpouring of sentiments for the table tennis team is no where compared to what I have experienced in the 70s. I don’t expect you to understand if you were not from that era.
Govt stooges need to understand that the ruling party’s self serving governance and policies have a direct impact on the country and its people. Since the topic is about sports, then there is more reason to have men/women in parliament who can influence the direction of the country to acquire a sports culture. For example, one Ivy Singh can do more for sports than many of the MPs put together. Now try hard to visualise if we have more quality opposition members who are in parliament chipping in and the chance of winning medals gets better. Let’s be honest and ask STTA whether we have potential world champions other than the 3 China imports. [one has given notice of retirement. ] or do they need to do another round of shopping ? Why not ask PM Lee himself, if he has a solution other than shopping …..govt stooges are in a good position to meet him. LOL
And also don’t forget to ask him what he understands by bonding with citizens.
PM Lee is obliged to explain it to you, right ? LOL
Kent
Conjob : “Besides bowling , we can focus on shooting, sailing and some other sports that other netizens can suggest. We have so many young men doing NS.”
Are we not focusing on sailing and shooting? We have good sailors and shooters but they did not win in Beijing. Why not?
Conjob: “Take note that India won only 1 gold with a population of 1 billion !”
Here is the paradox. If India with 1 billion people is capable of winning only 1 gold medal how many gold medals do you expect 3.6 million S’poreans to win?
Conjob :”Why must it be foreign imports for table tennis ? why not other sports ?”
Because the impossible we will do immediately, miracles take a little longer.
Conjob : “Since the topic is about sports, then there is more reason to have men/women in parliament who can influence the direction of the country to acquire a sports culture. For example, one Ivy Singh can do more for sports than many of the MPs put together.”
But can you legislate to win a gold medal? If you can then Spore is really unique!!
Conjob: “Now try hard to visualise if we have more quality opposition members who are in parliament chipping in and the chance of winning medals gets better.”
Sorry I am not as insightful as you Conjob. Please amplify .
Conjob : “Let’s be honest and ask STTA whether we have potential world champions other than the 3 China imports. [one has given notice of retirement. ] or do they need to do another round of shopping ?”
We have a potential winner for the fastest hands in doing SMS ! A Singapore teen won the world contest last year but too bad this is not an Olympic event.
As for one “has given notice of retiremen” is it any wonder she is getting out, with so many ungracious S’poreans baying for her blood?
Conjob :”Why not ask PM Lee himself, if he has a solution other than shopping …..govt stooges are in a good position to meet him. LOL”
If it makes you better to be nasty then by all means call me a stooge. Its hurts me like water off a duck’s back. Since this debate has decended into gutter politics its pointless to carry on. Go and do some heavy breathing exercise to bring down your rage and BP !! Not good for your health to be so angry with the world.
Conjob : “And also don’t forget to ask him what he understands by bonding with citizens.”
Tell me if you are an expert in the art of bonding too first. If you are not and you are just an armchair critic then don’t bother !! Don’t waste my time !!
Conjob
@ kent
you are wasting my time too and I expected better replies from you.
I am looking at things on the national level because it impacts most of us and you ask me whether I am an expert in the art of bonding. So if I am not, I am wasting your time ? Is this your attitude in debating ? I am more concern for PM Lee because he is suppose to be the leader and how he bonds with the people will affect the mood of the country. I pointed out that it takes more than raising the flag at the Olympics for people to bond with each other. Firstly we have too much of this kiasu, kiasi, kiamsiap and bochap traits as a people that does not foster bonding as a nation.
I believe most of the problems are a result of self serving governance and policies. No worries mate, on your exaggeration of my rage and bp. LOL
Kent
Conjob : “I am more concern for PM Lee because he is suppose to be the leader and how he bonds with the people will affect the mood of the country.’
Then join or form a new political party and take him on in 2011. Let the people decide if you have what it takes to bond the people.
Conjob: “I pointed out that it takes more than raising the flag at the Olympics for people to bond with each other. Firstly we have too much of this kiasu, kiasi, kiamsiap and bochap traits as a people that does not foster bonding as a nation.”
Then why not visit the Philipines or Indonesia or Thailand or Pakistan and see for yourself if you like their social and political mores there?. I am sure they can use your expertise in bonding too.
Conjob: “I believe most of the problems are a result of self serving governance and policies.”
Then join or form a new political party and take on the ruling party in 2011. Let the people decide. Why take it out on me ? End of discussion. Bye.
Conjob
@ kent
You have an ego problem. easy does it mate. not taking it out on you.
Singapore is way past the stage to be compared with the countries you mentioned. Come on mate, surely we should be looking at Paris, New York, Amsterdam, Munchen, Sydney, Melbourne, Tokyo for comparison.
Your suggestion that I should join a political party is valid. I just need to think about the conflict of interest. LOL
Olympic dreamer
To Kent:
I have been reading many of your postings amongst the others. You are clearly a damn embarrassing stooge. If you have the balls admit it. I say it one more time – your postings reflect those of a damn disgusted stooge. Full-stop. If you dont admit it, sad to say that you lacked good conscience. Full-stop.
Rather pathetic that fought to keep on scoring debating points , but sad to say you lacked sorely real solid points of rebuttals. Eg you are damn too picky, for eg. to clarified about Linux invented by Linus something blah blah blah when someone quoted Microsoft etc. Admitedly this one you are good at which I heap praise on you.
You are only welcomed here because many of us are gracious enough to ‘let you post’ so to speak (of course it’s the TOC team’s decision ). But go and stand in front of a hugh mirror (if you can go and find one as big as the PAP national day billboard at Bishan or anywhere which is not too difficult to find). Otherwise if you can’t find a hugh mirror, said to say we readers, writers of this site are your mirrors la hor.
Please rebutt (and when you do it, haha you have fallen into a trap…)
jjb55
Kent, you sounded quite harsh, but I hear you.
Some people have no idea what the rest of the world is becoming, how they are impacting us, and how vulnerable the Singaporean economy is.
It is disheartening to see some people in the TOC manipulating people garner political power. I wonder how better are such people than the PAP.
“The world has learned about China, and China has learned about the world”, said the president of the International Olympics Committee. It is also globalisation that is forcing the PAP is opened its doors.
At the end of the day, we have to realise that it is true sincerity the voice and a listening ear that make democracy serves its end. Without civilised effective communication, alternative voices can’t shed its image as a brat who whimpers to get nothing but attention. How better then is this brat compared to an PAP with poor communication skills which make it look arrogant?
jervois
Anthony i agree with you 100%! The PAP govt has lost its plot and can only think of money money money.
seaporter
What’s the big deal about celebrating in getting the silver olympic medal? This is just another import from world class China and furthermore a ‘B’ team. I’m wondering what will the future of sports in Singapore be like? Using money to buy over hearts and skills to achieve short term gain but compromise on the future of our children. We will sink further in economic disparity as well as sporting glory where there is none of a fighting spirit and confidence in facing the other giants like China and India. With no natural resource, we have only brains and skills but exploited at the gain of PAP to shut out our own talents. Why not invest in our present generation and reap long term gain of economic progression, creativity, survival skill and fighting spirit, nevermind the medal … it’s just a piece of medal for public display.
To Kent
“98) Kent on August 26th, 2008 9.38 pm Then join or form a new political party and take him on in 2011. Let the people decide if you have what it takes to bond the people.”
My dear friend. Your calling sounds so familiar with one of our previous chosen ones. The problem is, why must we be guided by your suggestion on how we should engage matters of interest.
WE are the people you see. Currently, we feel very comfortable in giving our views here in order to bond the people in a manner we find convenient, except maybe for you who may not feel bonded judging from your point of view.
To jjb55
“101) jjb55 on August 27th, 2008 9.32 am
Without civilised effective communication, alternative voices can’t shed its image as a brat who whimpers to get nothing but attention.”
Hi jjb55, I hear you too.
Why are the alternative voices here deserving of your attention in coming into this site and your attention of precious time in replying a line or two. Yes, I forgot, you could be here by accident with your brother in arms.
Kent
To Kent: “My dear friend. Your calling sounds so familiar with one of our previous chosen ones. The problem is, why must we be guided by your suggestion on how we should engage matters of interest.”
That is only a suggestion. In a democracy any change must be peaceful and thro the ballot box like in Permatang Puah ! The alternative is anarchy that we are now vividly witnessing in Bangkok. Is that what you prefer? I don’t, for the sake of my family and the future generations of Singaporeans. We must live in harmony !!
To Kent : “WE are the people you see.”
Then get your act together. The country belongs to the people not to any party !
To Kent : “Currently, we feel very comfortable in giving our views here in order to bond the people in a manner we find convenient, except maybe for you who may not feel bonded judging from your point of view.”
There is free speech in Spore so long that you don’t stir or inflame sectarian violence and religious hatred or defame anyone. If you feel unconfortable to write to the MSM then the TOC forum is an excellent avenue to start.
seaporter
Are we deceiving ourselves that we really won a medal at the Olympics? THL is still the ONE person who won an Olympics Silver medal for the Republic. Compared to the bought imports from China, he trained himself w/o any perks and $$$ from the government. I guess what he received was not much compared to those imported talents from China. These talents just came here because of money and use Singapore as an alternate way of appearing in world class competition since China has so many talented kids. But I believe their hearts are still with their motherland. Did they sing the Majulah? Why is LJW dragging our Singapore flag w/o any sense of respect. I bet they don’t even know what’s the meaning of our national anthem. Once they earned enough, they will depart to Aus or NZL or Canada for sure. Cos Singapore is just a good place to earn more money, save it and go spend elsewhere. Why is it that the PAP always like to take shortcuts in using money to buy medals rather than developing our local talents; be it 10, 20 or 30 years. We will reap more benefits than relying on the imports who may not choose Sinkapore as their place of retirement. The PAP also knows it for sure the many who departed right. Afterall, what are fruits of sports or a sporting nation? Professionalism, fighting spirit, endurance, never-say-die attitude, perseverance, discipline. I believe if we didn’t win any medals, these traits are equally satisfying and beneficial to Singapore. But kudos to LBW who has damaged the season of celebration for our medal after a “good” 48 years. Anyway most Singaporean don’t regard this medal as ours since it’s bought with CASH and not with our own sweat.
Jimmy
it is nugatory indeed, for singapore to import foreign talents, when they do realise the fact that there will never be a 100% dedication and passion put into their games. in fact, it is seemingly obvious that they are using singapore as a platform to be successful as sports people, where they are wanted and are paid for. as mentioned many times earlier, the term singapore citizen is only embedded on them so that they can further develop their career. there is absolutely no sense of true pride and belonging. we are aware that at the end of the day, once they’ve made their debut and earned enough capital, they will probably return to their motherland. however, these are only our perspectives. we will never know what the foreign talents themselves are thinking. perhaps time is the best judge. there just might be this small possibility that they are playing the games as a true singaporean, dedicating their hearts and souls with pride and dignity. but of course there’s not much to hope for.
Longzikai
The government has taught people that you don’t need to be hardworking and groom a person to be hardworkding. All you need to do is to buy FT, give them the citizenship, and lure them to bring you medals by giving out huge sum of money (the carrot). The China government only gives out S$75,000 for gold medal, as compared with our silver medal $750,000 and 1.5 mil for gold medals, no wonder the media always says silver medal is “as good as GOLD”. I think it is even BETTER than gold. Li Jia Wei earned > 100,000 for this silver medal, is already getting more than Zhang Yi Lin already. Of course, without this carrot, we will not have FT here… and seriously speaking, there is not much of “glory” to bring to Singapore. At the end of the day, where is Singapore’s rank in the olympics? Is a medal that important? I am also surprised to see my colleagues shared the same feeling as mine when I am cheering for Korea’s team instead of Singapore team in the semi-finals. How bad that our government has used this to divide us instead of unite us.
James
Basically Singapore has failed to be nurtured as a nation:
1. fertility rate/population growth (which impact almost every other factor);
2. social graces
3. education purposes
all largely because of its pragmatism and economic imperatives. a nation without one body one spirit, almost everyone just a digit.
so i think these are the root causes.
(sorry I missed this whole post and comments. I browsed through – it is not uplifting)
Olympic dreamer
Hi James,
Yea, you comments are about right (your understanding of all comments) with regards to this whole thread, except a couple of smart writers in a perpetual state of denial which of course they are entitled to.
In support with what you said, we are not a nation, we are subjects of PAP, a political party who was not and do not wants to establish this little dot as a nation in its truest sense (as compared to many other countries, since our PAP likes to make comparisons only when it favours them) but an economic entity where the ministers salary are benchmarked, calculated and rewarded (as enumerated by old man during the past debate).
Very sad. Now the latest hot off the press, we wants to create a ‘Mini Denmark’. Oops meaning to say, I can anticipate someone drawing cartoons to be published in the ST, haha. LOL how are the cartoons going to turn out??
putraputri69
For the past 10+ years, we’re merely importing log, stock and barrel – players, coaches, assistants and even sparring partners etc who are below “Level 1’ from the greatest table tennis nation in the world, and hoping against hope, that our imports could be locally groomed to beat the Grand Master in own his game.
However, compare this to at what our ASEAN countries had just won without relying on imports:
Vietnam – weightlifting silver medal in men’s 56 kg
Indonesia – weightlifting bronze medal in men’s 56 kg and bronze in men’s 62 kg
Thailand – weightlifting gold medal in women’s 53 kg and silver in women’s 49 kg Taekwondo
Malaysia – silver medal in men’s badminton single.
Even Togo, a small African nation with a population of 5 million and a GDP per capital of $1,700 (world’s 193rd) had won her first ever Olympic bronze medal in the men’s Shalom K-1 Canoe event.
And war-torn Afganistan, represented by only 4 competitors, managed to win her first ever Olympic medal by taking the bronze medal in the men’s -58kg taekwondo.
Is a gold medal won by a foreign-born worth more than a bronze medal won by a local?
Think about it, Singapore.
seaporter
Singapore’s sports excellence is getting nowhere with no clear direction! Import and import and more imports for the past 10 years and spending tons of money on foreign talent in exchange for a medal in the olympics but still not yielding any success on the local scene. Is is worth the money? Furthermore, we know that they are not to stay once they got rich. They will move to a more democratic and vibrant country like Aus, NZL and Canada. Here in Singapore, everybody is fearful of speaking out their mind and hypocritically speaking whatever that bring down others so as to benefit oneself in the work place as well as school. The competition is killing all grounds of a graceful nation. Even a medal that was bought by the people’s money does not gain any benefits but created a mess by LBW. A success on international arena only tell the world that Singapore has the money to spend and manage sports but yielding no clear results. Does Singapore need a medal so badly that we have to spend useless money to buy talents. Will they really teach the locals to do well in the sports and train us hard? All for the love of money and not aspiration and of the higher realm. I would say a healthy Singaporean would benefit the country more than any medals. For example, Singaporean living longer to work (which is what the gov wanted), percentage of people exercising at least 2 times per week, no of locals participating in the local bay run or nike run etc. You can see that the percentage is increasing along the years. That’s what the eventual benefit of sports right??

Agree with your sentiments Anthony !
I applaud China’s B team for their efforts in winning the silver for themselves and the Singapore govt. More importantly, my thanks to the other sportsmen/women who represented us at the Olympics. Winning is not everything.
Values such as integrity, pride, honour, sense of fairplay, spirit of competition, respect for opponents come to mind when I make my judgement on this govt. Their very questionble methods employed to win elections reflect the lack of such values and I personally cannot respect this govt’s political victories. So it comes as no surprise to me when this govt went for the shortcut to buy the silver.