Wednesday, August 20, 2008 14:14
I like PM Lee :)
In Quotes • 317 views • 25 Comments
I never knew the government did so much and gave us so much money. I wonder if they receive any thank yous and if so, from who. Cause all along, i’ve never heard anyone thank the government. I’ve only heard people complain and blame and resent the government. those people, shen zai fu zhong bu zhi fu.
25 Comments
J L
k
Of course she does! She is Amelia and she almost got gold for napfa! And she is certain that she is going to live eternally!
hairy
Wait till the FTs take away her job n everythings than she will know… Oh I forgot she may be one of them.
Dear Amelia
Dear Amelia
” I wonder if they receive any thank yous and if so, from who. ”
They are not doing us a favour. They are compensated very heavily for doing a job (emphasis intended). In our context, compensation means they get the first big bite and we get to share the second bite, if they feel the neccessity of wanting to share (distribute).
Imagine their pays are pegged to the high side. Common people do not even have minimum wage (minimum peg) to beat inflation (not some additional real spending). Only nut cases can come to accept and support this double standard citing all the lopsided economic theory.
You do not say thank you to those who act so brutally economistic. Thank yous are reserved for those student volunteers, etc who genuinely contribute their work and time for a good cause without preaching and trumpeting in self serving marketing.
camelia
I wonder if Amelia thinks their salary should be increased to reward them for doing work based on jd?
LLS
That’s Singapore money, not their. there did so much but there also get paid much.
There reversed so much just for them to look good when the day where there need to give a bit like now..
Dear Amelia,
Thank you for mentioning abt the “Thank yous” Don’t worry every month the citizens have been sending thank you notes in the picture of the First President in different colours and figures.
I have sent mine, how abt you?
;-) I like PM Lee too. I think I am gonna get flamed again for this but why not?
I think there is a serial bunch of pessimists residing in the TOC – critical of the FTs, envious of the salary packages of our MPs, disgusted with the transport system, frustrated about the high living costs and vocal about the less-fortunate.
The above group is nevertheless harmless, and continues to voice their displeasure about everything ‘wrong’ in the internet.
I am proud of our little nation, and I am proud that we have a group of able leaders. Till the day when the real crisis strikes, hopefully the same group of pessimists will come out of the internet and lead the country out of the woods.
Best to all Singaporeans,
Eaststopper
edn
Amelia’s comment is an obvious sign of naiveness or ignorance at its best – who does not know what the lower strata sporean is going thru and those who have lost their jobs to gov policy that screw up so many lives and families.
I am sure that she is jolly well aware of her fellow classmates who may not be as lucky or fortunate as she is in material comfort, is silly enough to pass on such senseless remarks.
Conjob
Amelia, this govt should be thanking the ordinary folks for their contribution to the country and thanking them for their votes whereby this govt is able to stay in power for over 4 decades.
This govt should also be thanking the folks for giving them such a lop-sided victory that they can help themselves to obscene remuneration, they deem it not necessary to be transparent and accountable for very questionable activities.
Wee Shu Min deem it proper to kick blokes in the balls for worrying too much and not trying hard enough, and now it is you Amelia who deem it proper to praise this govt to heaven, when it is they who have gobbled up most of the pie.
Amelia, Start a signature TQ letter and ask SG people to sign. PUT your mouth where the action is.
blackfeline
sadly..on the other end of the corner..we have naive people like her who are living in their little palace..oblivious to the many who are suffering outside
locallycatchnoball
Return back all life long CPF savings to all the old folks at the originally 55 years retirement age. I believe that the folks might not only feel thank you whole heartedly, they may even worship you and this is sure made big history to the garment for the first time in 40 years.
Daniel
“I never knew the government did so much and gave us so much money. I wonder if they receive any thank yous and if so, from who. Cause all along, i’ve never heard anyone thank the government. I’ve only heard people complain and blame and resent the government. those people, shen zai fu zhong bu zhi fu.”
“Gave us so much money ?” Didn’t someone says that there is no free lunch ?
“Gave us so much money” after taking much more money from the citizen ?
The gahmen never knew the citizen did so much and gave them so much money because the latter have no choice and no voice. I wonder if the citizen receive any thank yous and if so, from who. Cause all along, i’ve never heard the gahmen thank the citizen. I’ve only heard people complain and blame, resent, oppress and ridicule the citizen. those coffers, shen zai fu zhong bu zhi fu.
kiasu king
so many comments here and i know those commented have pocketed the money and also did not Thanks the govt. ha ha ha ….
Now I’d like to give my thank-you! Thank you, Grandpa Lee for the Hongbao! As your dutiful child who never complains even if you are often unfair, I thank you for sometimes giving me some pocket money! And then I thank you for telling me how to behave. You scold me when I pick my nose on a bus but you praise me also when I help people pick up things. You are so gracious. I am so glad I never have to grow up! I don’t mind those little ERPs beeping because I know you mean well. You even tell me I save money but when I object that I pay more when I actually use my car you just laugh and say: “Too many cars on the road already, little fool” Thanks Granpa!
kingfisher
Boy, isnt she naive until kns?
why should anyone gives thanks for what they deserved?
in fact, democratic citizens in other countries would have created a furor if they were to be treated like Singaporeans.
too bad most Singaporeans are like Amelia, one who know nuts about her citizenship rights and democracy.
Sq
Amelia is right. We should be thanking the our rulers on bended knee.
Daniel
“Amelia is right. We should be thanking the our rulers on bended knee.”
YOU ARE RIGHT. We should be thankful. So to government, please help us to lose more billions because we citizen truly always appreciate what you done for us. We have given you the eternal mandate to rule and forever be grateful no matter how much honest mistakes and inaccuracies the father, sons and family makes. Long live the dynasty !
opeth
Amelia, are you working or still studying? Wait till you join the workforce then you think back about what you said. Its your parents who feel the pinch, not you. You just have to stretch out your hands now & your parents will give you money.
sobri
Amelia, in one way you are right. If we look at many countries, even in this region, much less is given to the people, and more goes into the pockets of well-connected wealthy people. As for the leaders…… very much more, though I must say perhaps not all of them. I’m sure there are also honest people in the leadership.
It is also human to be dissatisfied with what we get, because the appeitite becomes greater. Perhaps that is why you will not find that overt Thank-you gesture. However, Singaporeans do convey the `thank-you’ by voting the PAP in every election since independence! I’m sure the government aka PAP, knows that.
On the other hand, each time the leaders announce more help to be given to the less privileged, FEAR is sent down the spines of the so-called wealthier Singaporeans! Many a time it also meant that property tax for private properties will go up! More ERP gantries will be set up. Somehow, more people will be fined for all kinds of offences ranging from jay-walking to driving 10 km over the speed limit. GST being raised…………OR…were these just my perception?
At present, I still question why the 44 cents per litre petrol tax could not be removed, if we Singaporeans should be `trained’ to accept the reality of high oil price. Why are HDB flats not being given the actual subsidy, instead of market subsidy?
AND why that piece of roti prata price can always go up……..BUT never come down?
Perhaps these are some of the reasons why Singaporeans find it very difficult to say `Thank You’.
Amelia has apparently shut down her blog. I guess, TOC, it would do well if these comments were then made anonymous if they are drawn from personal blogs…
NgaiTiow
Amelia –
Assuming you have a very big and powerful landlord. He walks into your home at his own free will. He takes away whatever valuables and money you have.
He is so big and powerful you can’t defend yourself anyway.
On his way out of your home, he throws a few dollars on the floor for you.
Do you say thank you to the landlord..?
Fan
I like PM Lee too – he has the passion and is really well meaning. Time will also tell.
I can see that he is really trying very hard; but may have too many “yes men & women and palace guards” around which are not helping him to connect well with the ground.
One difficult thing I wish him to do is to revise the salaries of president and ministers downwards to reflect the present difficult times. Say what you like, this bold move will narrow the great divide and help unite the nation to face the bumpy road ahead.
If we were America – PM Lee as president with Dr Lily Neo as his running mate will be the dream team.
Best wishes.

I wonder if she was forced to say this.