When ERP was increased, we also reduced road tax and improved public transport. As a result, many more Singaporeans can now own cars. With more cars on the road, we need to increase ERP to keep traffic flowing.
National Day Rally Speech
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

“When ERP was increased, we also reduced road tax and improved public transport. As a result, many more Singaporeans can now own cars. ”
What kind of logic is this?? Am I missing anything??!!
I was laughing my ars* off when I heard this part of his speech… I wonder whether he even secretly felt embarrassed when he said this.
we have world-class government who cares about us very much. they care so much to fulfill our wishes to own cars, even if we cannot drive them around cos that would cause traffic congestion, but at least we can own cars….just need to keep them in the car parks. look very nice mah…
>>improved public transport.
Yup..thanks for the “Best Passenger Experience”
“When ERP was increased, we also reduced road tax and improved public transport. As a result, many more Singaporeans can now own cars. With more cars on the road, we need to increase ERP to keep traffic flowing.”
If ERP increased and public transport improved, why should people motivate to own cars ? He think reducing road tax is sufficient to cover the cost of ERP and other cost hike to motivate to get a car ? How pinkish and moron can a clown be ?
No head no tail, and he try to wiggle his way through for something that is not solved, just brush under the carpet. So isn’t the problem of traffic congestion still occurs and back to square one from his statement ? The problem is back to square one but the amount of money go to government’s pocket is unprecedented. Will any sane human believe that ERP doesn’t earn profit ?
A is the problem, B is implemented as a result, now A will be the solution, so what this clown try to say ? Déjà vu ! The original problem is the new solution ! What ? That is pure Genius ! Amazing ! Prodigy ! World-class ! Out of this world ! Thinking out of the box ! No wonder he is LKY’s son and worth millions. By the way, did he become senile too ?
His statement really show that ‘Singapore has a bright future under him’.
I have a hypothesis on what the logic is and how it might have failed.
1 – The intention is to let costs better reflect road usage, i.e. the less frequently one uses the road, the less one pays, which is good!
2 – For example, the usage (not upfront) cost of a weekend car should be much lower. Parking fees should probably be the same.
3 – A problem could have arisen when one under-estimates the cost of owning a car when the front cost is low.
4 – This is understandable since (a) some people are bad at planning, (b) future costs are hard to predict, (c) people generally resist change.
There are also other factors which might have increased road usage. So it is hard to tell if there is really an increased usage or are people generally unhappy about the change.
Openness is the key. My advice is to make transportation data public for analysis and scrutiny (while maintaining anonymity of road users)
Long and short of it is “We increased ERP so we can continue to increase ERP in future. Thank you.”
He’s beginning to sounds like ex taiwan president chen..”peng lai peng ker” Frankly I stopped watching this so called National Day Message for a long while. I rather listen to trash!
i wonder if he feels ashamed when he says such things…. pure nonsense…
I wonder what is the estimated ERP collection per day is like, today…… can anyone tell?
Good lah, increase ERP, business will drop at China town. Let the business suffer and turn China Town into a ghost town. our PM got a brilliant brain.
I can’t wait to hear that in live telecast today…
Isn’t it a vicious cycle. The solution to reduce traffic is ERP, then it becomes attractive for people to own car via tax reduction but not to drive on the road as improve bus transport improves.
If we truly believe then solve the traffic congestion, then why the 2nd part of “With more cars on the road)???
So ultimately, what LHL is saying “Gment provides incentive for you to own car, it is YOU who drive it on the road causing me to further increase ERP”. If you own but don’t drive, then Gment will not increase ERP anymore.
For goodness sake, the Gment is trying to show that Spore has high car ownership as one of the key indicator of development and affluent measurement is car pollution.
Sounds logical? Don’t mess up Gment’s plan la……
1) Shirlz on August 17th, 2008 10.22 pm
“When ERP was increased, we also reduced road tax and improved public transport. As a result, many more Singaporeans can now own cars. ”
What kind of logic is this?? Am I missing anything??!!
What is missing is:
Why did the gov changed car ownership policy in the first place to create the traffic jam and required more and more ERP?
Was the cabinet short-sighted and failed to see traffic jam coming when it changed policy to increase car ownership?
Was the cabinet decided to change policy to increase car ownership to meet public inspiration to own cars knowing full well that it would create traffic jam and trap car owners with ERP?
The end of the day Raymond shit n LHL try to clean but messed up.
Aiyah!!! People why so angry….. Think about it, under the old COE system, very expensive, no one buy car, then car dealers get f$%Ked cause no business, finance houses get f%$^ked cause no car financing deal, so no corporate taxes.
So change to cheap COE, everyone along the value change makes money, then need to cover the loss for the COE so introduce ERP…. ERP is on going, so all this rubbish about rebate on road tax cover the difference is pure crap like everything else.
Keeping in mind, this is a country where public housing’s rebate is off market prices, NKF rebate is off what you could have potentially paid, so what would you think it is with ERPs? freaking twisted logic….. how can you seek for logic in this type of setting?
Next time they increase their pay again, the ERP would probably be funding it at some level. This is a great system, create the problem and profit from it….Kaching….. this is the dream model for every business….
Sigh….you guys have to understand ok…got alot of expenses for the govt too… need to buy athletes all over the world to win medals, need to ensure no corruption in the system etc etc….
How to make ERP cheaper?
As always our lee-ders have shown great brains when they face major challanges like the road system…. I am proud of their ability to think out of the box , an always come up with good suggestions that can boost the economy and pay their sky high salary.
I dont think the opposition can come up with such plans to rid us of our MAJOR problems such as traffic flow… having an improved road system is sure not the answer, becasue it will cost us money.
Look at GST, it was meant to help the poor and I can really see how its helping right now .
By importing sports talent, this will surely help us all have a better quality of life !!
am sure they FT know the Singapore pledge by hard.
Truely Singaporean!
This is my version of PM Lee’s speech on Cigarettes.
I would so like to say that smoking kills. So therefore we must encourage others not to smoke. We must increase the the price of cigarettes so that it makes it harder for people to purchase them. We must cultivate a culture of non-smoking citizens.
However, we will reduce import tax and encourage importors to bring in more cigarettes. More business means a better economy … I still win ..you loose
Managing traffic on the roads is actually similar to managing a business.
Vehicle owners are viewed as customers !
The govt is the owner of the roads. By optimising the number of vehicles, they will maximise profits. ERPs is just one method to optimise road usage. In future, with the GPS system, all vehicles can be continuously monitored and they can start to bill you when your vehicle enters any public road.
Just remember this simple formula,
Govt + LTA = monopoly = max profits.
I think he must have blushed when he said the above statement, really made him look like he got a red nose and a red wig with a bright yellow suit.
I guess, this is like the emperors new clothes , where even the reporters cant seem to spot the blunder
What his actually trying to say, is people you are on your own!
Dont look for me to solve your problems, only way out is to increase.
And I thought his father looked into the crystal ball and said Singapore will be spared because we have India and China….
Oh by the way, I think to get a GOLD for table tennis, we should buy the winner from China and make her SIngaporean.
That way we can say Singapore WON a GOLD medal.I think its worth the money to get in quitters ….ops sorry foreign talent to represent and carry our SIngapore Flag.
While we are at it, might also want to include the swimmer from the US …. he can surely make SINGAPOREANS PROUD….. oh lets buy all the gold winners in this Olympics …;. this way we sure can be PROUD of our sporting talents…..
Event A happened, so we made Event B happen. Also, we made Event C happen so as to mitigate the negative effects of Event B. However, Event C will worsen/make Event A happen, so we made Event B happen. Also, we made Event C happen so as to mitigate the negative effects of Event B. However, Event C will worsen/make Event A happen, so we made Event B happen……
Maybe Event B isn’t really a good solution after all?
I agree with “pinky”: the govt is creative. Nowadays, the COEs are low, less car registered because business bad. There is a shortfall in the revenues collected so put up more ERPs, the nearer the better and no escape route for drivers. It is like an ambush waiting for the drivers to come around and “click” your money.
Last time they offer escape route if u didnt want to pay the ERP now “bo chap”
This policy favours those who own several cars and park at home to “Pai Swee”
Even the road tax rebate favours the big cc cars because they give a fix 15% rebate. Small cc cars also pay standard ERP rates why the disparity? How does he justify that the govt is helping the middle income?
A minister said long ago that the day would come when car owners’ pastime will be polishing their car on Sundays and have a contest for the shiniest car in the neighbourhood every sunday and holidays. This means erp will also operate on week ends and holidays. Maybe the only day erp is off is on New years day. Indeed erp stands for “everyday rob people” . The RCs will be involved and the CCCs are the sponsors in the contest. At least this will take away the attention from other issues the garment will take care for you., Great Policy!!!
to: gvhg
wa! this one of yours very the “cheem” one here. . . . . may not really catch any ball here but I think this sounds something like the garment’s policy hor! always make the people blurrrrrrr . . . .
“may not really catch any ball here but I think this sounds something like the garment’s policy hor! always make the people blurrrrrrr”
You are right on. Gahmen’s policies has always been like this:
If you can’t convince them, confuse them. Still cannot confuse them, say something like the policies may even be too “powerful” for some MPs to even understand, let alone question the policies.
Still want to question further, pinkish clown can say the following:
There are some people that trying to do us in.
ya hor! better not talk too much less tomolo I drive my car out of my carpark exit suddenly hear “teet teet” sound, kenna ERP liao. . .
>>>>“When ERP was increased, we also reduced road tax and improved public transport. As a result, many more Singaporeans can now own cars. ”
Reduced road tax for citizens; increased revenue for government. LOGICAL.
Improved public transport? YES, BKE TO CBD STILL CHOCOLATE AND
STRAWBERRY JAM plus repeated increase in fare hikes definitely “improved”.
Singaporeans can now own cars. YES, MAY BE EVEN SLEEP IN THEM? Good idea to save money too?
Roads have to be policed – good reason!
ERP – huh??
I can tell you – ERP collection in 1 day is A LOT. The money to repay German technology (speed cameras) and the all so important “remote control looking equipment” to churn out parking summonses are in billions. If there’s no way to get back what is to be invested they wouldn’t have implemented the ERP. Ahhh…the bane of “foreign talent and technology” I guess!
Thank God Singapore is only a dot otherwise imagine the number of ERP gantry points we have!
Is it true ERP also consider for Pulau Ubin and the other islands also.
whao chalat lor.