Ms Lee Bee Wah: A new broom sweeps indiscriminately

Monday, 25 August 2008, 8:20 am | 1,359 views

TOC Op-Ed

Choo Zheng Xi / Editor in Chief

Mr Ng Ser Miang, Singapore’s only representative on the International Olympic Committee, highlighted the arrogance of Member of Parliament (Nee Soon South, Ang Mo Kio GRC) Ms Lee Bee Wah’s decision to fire Singapore table-tennis team manager Antony Lee succinctly: “I’m quite puzzled as to how a decision like that can be made by the Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) president, who has been in office for just over a month.”

That Ms Lee, who took over as STTA president only last month, feels that she has personal ownership over the table-tennis team is undoubted. Using the personal pronoun in her interview with the Straits Times, she said: “I have a new team and will have a new CEO and technical director”.

Ms Lee’s transposition of the authoritarian instincts of the People’s Action Party (PAP) into the sporting arena highlights the ugliest characteristics of the party. She has in one fell swoop turned the mood over Singapore’s first Olympic silver sour, putting personal pique over national interest, running roughshod over people far more qualified than herself to impose a unilateral decision that very obviously lacks the support of those with a deep stake in Singapore’s sporting success.

Ms Lee was right to ask for accountability in the fiasco that left Singapore’s top men’s player Gao Ning on courtside alone, without a coach, during his match with unfancied Croatian Tan Ruiwu. Gao lost the match 0-4. It is unfortunate that Ms Lee has chosen to overreact and create a larger fiasco by making a public example of Antony Lee without consulting table tennis officials.

Integrity, accountability

More damningly, this incident speaks poorly of her integrity. She did not have the courage to admit that the Gao Ning fiasco was the reason she fired Mr Lee. Asked by the Straits Times if this was the reason she fired Mr Lee, she said it was not and added that “she just wanted to ‘let the matter rest’.”

If we take Ms Lee for her word, she has to explain to the country why she fired the Singaporean manager of our only team to win an Olympic silver – and this after a 48-year drought. The only other conclusion to draw is that she is cravenly trying to damage control the fallout of her rash action.

Mr Ng’s criticisms of Ms Lee’s rash actions carry great weight. Unlike Ms Lee, Mr Ng has devoted much of his life to the development of Singaporean sport. He was a former national sailor, and is currently the patron of the Singapore Sailing Federation. As the vice-president of the Singapore National Olympic Council, he was a key player in securing Singapore’s bid to host the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in 2010.

Highhandedness

Having been the president of the STTA for only a month, Ms Lee can have minimal understanding of the team’s dynamic at best. More realistically, she is completely ignorant of the efforts put in by Mr Lee, and the rapport he has built with the team. To add insult to injury, she chose to fire Mr Lee without telling him to his face. Mr Lee had to find out about his dismissal from a “third party”, as he himself described it. “I’m surprised she did not tell me directly. That would be the courteous thing to do. I have to hear this from third parties. After doing so much for Singapore,” Mr Lee told the Straits Times, “I deserve a little respect.”

Ms Lee, however, said that “Antony is welcome to apply for the position when we ask for applications”. (Straits Times). It is ironic that in her “bold” public act, what has been foregrounded is her personal cowardice and highhandedness.

Perhaps Ms Lee did not want to follow the example of how her PAP colleague, Minister for Home Affairs Mr Wong Kan Seng, bungled the Mas Selamat fallout with a half-baked apology.

It is sad that she did not perceive the real lesson behind the public’s low estimation of Mr Wong’s insincerity. Mr Wong chose to exonerate the head of the Internal Security Department (ISD) without subjecting him to a disciplinary inquiry. Ms Lee has fallen on the other extreme of the same fundamental problem. By not subjecting the team manager’s oversight to a disciplinary inquiry of sporting officials with a clearer understanding of the sporting arena, she has shown a similar disdain for due process.

The lesson for our political leaders is this: due process in ascertaining guilt or exoneration matters more than well-publicised fist thumping. In Ms Lee’s case, that fist thumping is all the more galling for her inexperience and arrogance.

———-

Email this to a Friend Email this to a Friend

Bookmark this

Comments

381 Responses to “Ms Lee Bee Wah: A new broom sweeps indiscriminately”

1) blackfeline on August 25th, 2008 8.37 am

..the difference between aunty lee and diva ivy singh lim (former president of netball association)…the latter delivered and earned the right to be “loud”…sadly, the former is loud for all the wrong reasons…including her favorite “jum bun” anecdote. Even if you want to be an Empress Dowager…play your ball correctly!

Current score: 0
    2) CelluloidReality on August 25th, 2008 8.46 am

Seriously, politicians have no place in running sports federations, unless they were former athletes or sporting figures with great experience or achievement.

3) KS on August 25th, 2008 9.11 am

And MM Lee counts people like Lee Bee Wah as part of his vision of a Division one team member. He’s obviously senile and doesn’t know better anymore. If she and the insincere and incompetent fool, Wong Kan Seng are Division One, then Singapore’s future is really doomed.

4) FT Watch on August 25th, 2008 9.18 am

Lee Bee Wah was born and educated up to A levels in M’sia.

Two points.

Can now understand why Malays in M’sia want to be dominant. Imagine if she became top M’sian politico.

Is she the kind of FT we want for S’pore, and in particular, a divison 1 govmen?

5) steo on August 25th, 2008 9.24 am

Dear LBW,

Thank you for making those callous statements in regard to the team manager of a team that just delivered a silver even before the team gets back to Singapore to celebrate their success. Where a gold is plainly out of reach, the silver is gold.

Maybe your infinite wisdom of guiding and developing table tennis in Singapore is backed by some insights of hidden depth, or maybe you are the sacrificial lamb in case of a poorer show in the next Olympics. If and when we do not retain the silver or earn a medal in 2012, we all know who we can point the finger at.

In any case, good luck to you, and good luck to your constituency. Thank goodness I did not move to Ang Mo Kio.

6) Singalong on August 25th, 2008 9.35 am

The most decent to do is to have the courage to admit one’s mistake for denting the national joy of 4.5 million people and gracefully fades away in the sporting scene! Really, this is a different cup of tea for an ignorant!

7) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 9.36 am

” she said it was not and added that “she just wanted to ‘let the matter rest’.”
    What ? So fast move on ? She think she is the empress of Singapore or what ?

WEll, she taste back her own medicine one day by immediately remove her from the parliament without notifying her and give no reason for doing so. Remove her if she miss any of the people’s sesson and tell her that a a new team with a new CEO and technical director will replace her. Tell her she is welcome to apply for the MP position when gahmen ask for applications. The vacancy for brewing tea and coffee for MPs is opened and she can apply.

Now, what if Gao Ning is a Singaporean by birth, will she dare to do it as gahmen love sucking to foreigner and looking down on Singaporean ?

“Ms Lee, however, said that “Antony is welcome to apply for the position when we ask for applications.” (Straits Times). It is ironic that in her “bold” public act, what has been foregrounded is her personal cowardice and highhandedness.”

Such arrogancy can only be bleeded by PAP with LKY as role model.

People who go by the book will be judged by the same book.

8) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 9.42 am

” Using the personal pronoun in her interview with the Straits Times, she said: “I have a new team and will have a new CEO and technical director”.

This tell me all this is planned and GaoNing’s case is used as a excuse and scapegoat to remove him. Now we need a new STTA president as well for the new team.

9) Parker on August 25th, 2008 9.44 am

From various local papers, which of course support the establishments, we can already discern the implosion - the mgmt fiasco with Gao Ning, and the subsequent worse faux pas by the politico.

With IOC member Mr Ng, and Chef de Mission Mr Tan apparently not pulling any punches, this infers the distaste must run very deep.

I read that she (Mrs)Lee) has her own blog. Does anyone know where ? I’d like to read more to comment further.

10) jy on August 25th, 2008 9.58 am

Read the whole issue, I come to the conclusion that LBW is not even fit to be a class monitor. How did she become a Member of Parliament?

My views rest on the following:

a) The dismissal of Anthony: Is totally against the golden rule of law. The RIGHT TO BE HEARD was not adhered at all. LBW acted like an idiot.. Yes, I meant in the true sense of the word;

b) Then LBW said, :”Let the matter rest.” It shows that she does not have the minimum sense of responsibility, sense of PR. I cannot imagine how did she communicate with her constituents;

c) The she said Anthony can apply when they invite applications to fill the position. What? She is treating all of us, including her bosses in Istana, as idiots.

I recall that TOC sent out a interview team to cover JBJ’s party dinner; why did TOC did not send out a team to cover this story. Does TOC, apart from Choo’s writing, want to “let the matter rest”?

JY

11) Monsoon on August 25th, 2008 10.07 am

Compare this episode with how Chinese officials handled the Liu Xiang issue. We do not only need world class sportman, we need world class sports officials who understand what the public expects of them.

12) Eveline on August 25th, 2008 10.19 am

This silly woman will forever remain in my mind for her nausea-inducing 世上只有PAP好during the last election (as a newbie).

13) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 10.36 am

So much for world-class sport management by LKY’s division one team. Youth Olympic ? My foot !
    Can’t even have courtesy to inform people of dismissal. Gahmen must have look down on Singaporean. They are behaving as though they are god. Must burn joss stick to them for their protection and job security.

14) Darren on August 25th, 2008 10.46 am

The headline in today’s ST says tonnes about her attitude: “Let’s move on, says Lee” . Anyone noticed that, increasingly, the MIW have been using these three words to avoid issues? Screw things up, just say sua-sua-kee and everyone is supposed to forgive you.

15) dodo on August 25th, 2008 10.56 am

indeed i am shocked ! i am ashamed of her. obviously she does not know how to manage her emotions well to be an effective leader.

16) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 11.04 am

Last time we have “Uniquely Singapore” to promote Singapore, this time we have
    “Singapore, let’s move on” to as a very good theme as it reflected the case of Mas Selamat, GST surplus, International Bar Association’s Human Rights Institute’s “conspiracy to do us in”.

As usual, always want to move on to cover backside and honest mistake.

Singapore may have lost the Gold medal for table tennis in the Olympic but she gain a Gold medal for EQ in sport management. For that we should thank Lee Bee Wah.

Guess what her next statement ? “Conspiracy to do us in” from her idol ?

17) loop on August 25th, 2008 11.05 am

Some ppl still don’t understand why the manager has to leave. A better explanation should be provided.

18) kaypoh on August 25th, 2008 11.07 am

I am not sure if any of these comments have any effect on LBW. I am not sure if she even cares.

19) aygee on August 25th, 2008 11.18 am

My reflection of this incident, plus the many other incidents over the last few years, shows that this so-called “Div 1 team” is full of technocratic, kiasu, cover-my-arse-first, finger-pointing, arrogant, elitist, out-of-touch individuals.

They seem to be more concerned about themselves, about achieving KPIs set on them, rather than doing anything for the greater good of Singapore or Singaporeans.

If they’re truly Div 1 and care about the Singaporeans and their folks in their wards, then these individuals should change our perception of them. i dont need to hear MM Lee or PM Lee telling me they’re good. They have to PROVE that they’re good. Respect is earned, not demanded.

20) Ex-Malaysian on August 25th, 2008 11.19 am

I feel sorry for LBW.
    She seems very naive in her actions; perhaps not really intentionally high handed.
    But she is in for a rough time - of late the PAP seems to be trying to mellow down its “roughness” but here comes LBW again…….
    I think she will not be around in Parliament or even as STTA’s president in due course.
    This is tragic - it is indeed wrong timing for LBW and the PAP……….not for Manager Lee or Coach Liu

21) hansolo on August 25th, 2008 11.21 am

LBW has no EQ.

She is obviously trying to suck up to the players by being harsh on the officials, and project an image as a “people person”.

Fortunately, we can all see her true colours within a month. Hopefully she won’t do too much long term damage to the sport.

I think it’s time for her to “move on” too..

Let me also point out that it’s disingenuous to appoint MPs as heads of sports federations when they have no experience and probably no interest in it. It’s just another platform for them to play politics.

The exception is Teo Ser Luck, at least he’s an active triathlete.

As for Gao Ning, he’s just a cry baby. Yes, it’s unfortunate that no coach was present during his match. But he’s representing his country at the Olympics, surely the least he should do is try his best. But he didn’t even raise his paddle to return the service, and just gave the point away!

Both LBW and Gao Ning have behaved in disgraceful ways, no wonder they seem to get along so well.

22) Let's move on (again!) - BMW.SG - The BMW Singapore Community on August 25th, 2008 11.24 am

[...] - The Electric New Paper Sports Is sacking of table-tennis team manager Antony Lee justified? Ms Lee Bee Wah: A new broom sweeps indiscriminately : The Online Citizen - a community of singaporea… __________________ Suck, Squish, Bang, [...]

23) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 11.24 am

This is not first time in Singapore. I remember that there is a foreign bowling coach who is dismissed suddenly through SMS ! Really World-class and high-tech ! Look like only PAP is human, the rest isn’t human enough enough to worth respect.

24) Tew N S on August 25th, 2008 11.27 am

Who is this LBW ? Is she qualified to be the president of STTA ? Can’t handle things don’t talk so much. Typical Pap style. We should give due respect to the team manager , without him, Spore would not be able to get a silver medal. This bloody LBW, is not a gracious person.

25) kiasu on August 25th, 2008 11.32 am

i didn’t vote for the PAP. i don’t understand why singaporeans voted for the PAP. don’t just complain abt our gahmen, take concrete steps! Don’t vote for the PAP lah. These arrogant, high-handed politicians need a clear message from Singaporeans that we have had enough of them telling us what to do.

26) GY on August 25th, 2008 11.35 am

Nice headline. LBW’s comments, and our coach’s comments that we had only a “10 % chance of winning against China” - suggests that we really must improve in many areas - from PR to motivation. PR as in public relations, not permanent residency.

27) papsmeartest on August 25th, 2008 11.42 am

Give Her a break! I am sure she must have her reasons! It has to be something really serious and urgent…or some reasoning that should be kept under wraps.
    But I think this is of National interest, especially so much hype in encouraging the whole of Singapore to support the team!
    I do hope the explanation is also made public… since Antony and the Table Tennis management have been embaressed in Public. Otherwise, there may be just some uncertainty floating in the air that could be “indicative”?

It’s still baffling, since we want to keep Mas Selemat who has not won us a medal, and he breaks out and leaves suddenly… and its Ok to punish the workers but not the leaders. Now the Table Tennis team (including Antony and all) wins a medal, and she wants them to break up and leave, against everybody’s understanding! Must be some kind of latest management strategy in motivation.

I am sure the STTA president can now claim that she presided over the Olympic medal winning team, no thanks to the existing management! She has to be fantastic as Singapore has not won anything for 40 years, until she stepped up to the plate as president. This is excellent for her Resume! I hope that the possible reason is that She is preparing to win the Gold in 2012 single handedly….don’t need foreign talent nor existing Management but her new team who agrees with and supports her 100%.

I just hope that her leadership style does not translate to her management of GRCs as well … otherwise the equivalent to AMK is that if residency can be terminated, the equivalent reasons given is that their services (votes) may no longer be required. Residents and the Estate management will be chosen by the new MP. Those kicked out will have to find your own way home… to China or India where your forefathers are from. We have only been seconded to Singapore! We can still apply for residency again in other parts. Anyway, the AMK GRC chose her and the AMK people voted for her… so no complaints please!

It will be interesting to know how many people will remember in 4 years time! “Let’s move on”.

28) Siao Liao on August 25th, 2008 11.48 am

The whole Ang Mo Kio GRC team is a very clownish team. Lets see:

Lee Hsien Loong - Mee Siam Mai Hum

Wee Siew Kim - Father of Wee “my elite face” Shu Min. Father Wee’s “apology” for defending his daughter worsened the matter then.

Inderjit Singh - Using a private conversation with James Gomes to go after James Gomes during the elections.

Lee Bee Wah - “Pang sai” in Parliament and now this.

The fifth member Lam Pin Min now better keep his mouth shut. That would be the wisest thing to do, now that all his team-mates have made fools of themselves.

Hope WP go back and contest AMK next elections. WP might get more votes next time.

29) LKZ on August 25th, 2008 11.50 am

She has IQ but no EQ!!!

30) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 11.53 am

“The fifth member Lam Pin Min now better keep his mouth shut. That would be the wisest thing to do, now that all his team-mates have made fools of themselves.”

Never mind that, he is still a silent clown. Remember it is a team’s effort, and that is what GRC is for !

31) LAULEE on August 25th, 2008 11.54 am

I think she has ZERO EQ!!! I will sack her.

32) blackfeline on August 25th, 2008 11.55 am

think TOC should create a HALL OF SHAME segment so that thru the years we can educate our children, grand children…etc not to commit the same faux pas!

33) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 11.58 am

PAP’s pragmatisim will be their downfall => Dispose those immediately who outlive their usefulness so to cut cost.

34) CoffeeTalk on August 25th, 2008 12.00 pm

Can we do anything to show our disapproval of Ms Lee’s act? I damn feel like prote****g at STTA. She doesn’t think with her head I guess. Now our silver comes to nothing because of her. And the whole nations want an explaination while she tries to keep her mouth SHUT after saying untimely matters. She should have AT LEAST SHUT her mouth till after the celebration, though not that I agree with the firing.

Div 1? My blood is boiling…

35) jy on August 25th, 2008 12.08 pm

Mr Siao Liao,

You mentioned Wee Siew Kim, Inderjit Singh and now this LBW all from AMK, PM Lee GRC. .

Would it be correct to assume that the party would assemble only the best team for PM Lee. It must be so, right?

If this is the best team, Oh my God… what happens to the rest of the GRCs???

JY

36) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 12.11 pm

“If this is the best team, Oh my God… what happens to the rest of the GRCs???”

It is really the best team. The best team among the worse.

37) blackfeline on August 25th, 2008 12.14 pm

the entire team from AMK GRC should join the Circus de Soleil!

38) LSY on August 25th, 2008 12.31 pm

The damage have already been done, I am deeply sadden by this rude, arrogant, blind, reckless, incompetence and zero-EQ leader. As a women, I felt so shameful, she have just proved those men right, woman is no good leader. Non of the quality she demostrated proved herself as a deserved leader. She not only shamed the woman, but also set all other struggling Woman Leaders back at least a few miles.

No matter what good reasons or what wrong doing the other party did. Her behaviour is unacceptable at this time and in this manner. The damage she have done is not only on herself, but greatly on Singapore.

On one hand, our PM emphasized how important are talent needed in Singapore (be it foreign or local), on the other, this “SMART” lady openly demonstrate some very familar and typical leadership that drives away many genuine local and foreign talents that may have good contribution to Singaopore.

We may not be heard, and are always forced to be lead by the leaders that is not our choice, but this is my country, I have the right to voice out that she is definitely the kind of leader that I will not vote for. She is just lucky to be group with the PM to be elected, otherwise, she will not pass the election test on her own.

It’s clear that she need to be REMOVED just on the damage she have done, any further clarification is meaningless. It will be very interesting to see how our PM handled this incident and manage his team.

39) putraputri69 on August 25th, 2008 12.47 pm

It’s puzzling indeed. Why did she do what she did?

As president of STTA she should be in the limelight instead, to claim the laurels of our first medal after 48 long fruitless years.

Only she knows, I hope.

40) Singapore on August 25th, 2008 12.51 pm

The broom works on all smooth surfaces and low nap fabrics. Singapore

41) Parker on August 25th, 2008 12.51 pm

The things with GRCs :
    - One person can screw up, but the rest of the team gets elected back to office
    - One person can die, and no by-election is needed.

Scores of MP –> Dozens of GRCs -> FIve CDCs -> One Government. Might as well make Singapore one great big ‘GRC’. Easier to win that way.

I doubt the AMK slate is the strongest, but PM Lee is the anchor, and a strong anchor at that.

42) blackfeline on August 25th, 2008 1.06 pm

suddenly i realised she’s the female version of the other equally “kumpong jum bun” style MP…Ong Ah Seng. Musing over it…she’s not entirely useless…perhaps they should send her to other less refined areas like geylang.

43) Alan Wong on August 25th, 2008 1.09 pm

This is what happened when :-

1) sports are mixed with politics
    2) slipshod bureaucrats make hasty decisions
    3) political parties become dominant and arrogant
    4) biased officials rule the day

So much for Singapore sports and politics ! It really
    makes a Big Joke out of our Olympic Silver Medal.

44) Fed-up on August 25th, 2008 1.16 pm

Only the PAP people are saying the politically correct things, e.g. ‘I do not have all the facts, so…’ If they don’t rebuke her, they are going to get political demerit points.

What facts do you need? It’s so straightforward. You don’t make these kind of announcements at a timing like this. Lee Bee Wah made a mess of this. And all she would say is ‘let’s move on’. Even our sports elder statesmen Ng Ser Miang and Tan Eng Liang disagreed with the way this whole thing is done. (Read Sunday Times 24/8 and ST 25/8)

I’ll make sure all the voters of AMK GRC remember this when the next election comes.

45) Disappointed on August 25th, 2008 1.26 pm

I am extremely disappointed at Lee Bee Wah, the current president of the STTA who showed no care for human feelings, and chose to pour cold water on the whole table tennis team and support staff at the wrong time and place. She gave no consideration for all the hard work behind the scenes, the strategic talent-scouting, the hours of hard training, and the great support and cheering of all involved in putting our table tennis team on the world stage, not to mention the large amount of money and resources that has been devoted to realising this 48 year-old dream. The silver represents the hard work, sweat and tears of the team, but also of many people behind the scenes over a period of years.

In contrast, the current head of the STTA, only having been appointed a month or so ago, literally came in at the last minute to steal all the limelight. Speaking personally, this does not bother me, as there has to be someone representing the STTA and thereby our country in the Beijing Olympics 2008. Furthermore, it may well be the case that she has plans in mind for the next Games in London in 2012, and is thinking of how to get another medal. That is fine with me.

However, I am very shocked by her behaviour which is not befitting of any organisation’s president. Why could she not just wait a while longer so that the whole country could celebrate first? All those that deserve credit should bask in their share of the glory and happiness before the release of such bombshells. Lee Bee Wah has really spoiled the party for many Singaporeans. I do not think that such a person with such deplorable levels of EQ, who shows no consideration for the feelings of individuals as well as for the national mood of Singapore can be a good leader at all. Lee Bee Wah should be sacked and a more able leader, who is equipped on all fronts, should be nominated and appointed with due diligence to plan for the Games ahead.

46) jy on August 25th, 2008 1.40 pm

OPEN LETTER TO MR CHOO WEE KIANG,
    Former President of STTA

Dear Mr Choo,

No one can deny the efforts that you have contributed to winning the Silver.
    You and your team of colleagues had put in tremendous time and efforts in building STTA to what it is today. For reasons unknown to the public, you were replaced by LBW at the last general meeting.

I remember reading that you would be going to Beijing to support the team. Apart from a small interview by the media about a week ago, you have been left out of the limelight completely. Don’t tell me that this LBW has the able to tell the media to shut you out; or is there an invisible hand in doing so.

Please tell us the truth picture of the whole thing. You owe a duty to Singaporeans to tell us the truth.

JY

47) Boboshooter on August 25th, 2008 1.41 pm

I think this latest twist of events is a confirmation that we should do away entirely with the rather “perverse” practice of luring foreign sportsmen with megabucks just to win medals for the government.

Li Jiawei wannabes will now think very hard whether to play under our flag. It just goes to show that despite their protestations about “foreign talents”, this government treats them like they treat everyone else, like commodities to be used, dumped and kicked out at their whim and fancy.

If I were them, since this government can treat me like BATA sports shoes (Buy And Throw Away), then the only reason I will ever play for them is that they agree to pay me megabucks. And don’t expect me to be grateful or loyal to the country after making big money, because I’d be under no illusion, that at any time if things went the other way, I’d be at risk of being cut.

I thought this premier league government should understand the basic reality that it “cuts” both ways?

48) stevey on August 25th, 2008 1.42 pm

If LBW is what MM Lee refer to the Div 1 team member, Singapore is screwed. She has no leadership quality, no EQ, no sense of justice. Just arrogance.

A leader must earn the respect of others. Not just do as she please because she is appointed as the President of a sport association. [Anyone how she is appointed as the President of Singapore Table Tennis Association?]

It is unprofessional to give an outburst in front of the media after the match without first finding out the fact of the matter.

It is unprofessional not to inform the manager that his contract is terminated without holding an inquiry of any wrong doing

It is total lack of management or leadership skills to announce to the press that the manager who has help Singapore getting a silver medal in half a century without recognising his contribution to the effort.

I am totally ashamed to have such a appointed leader to one of our beloved sport.

I watch the whole match and I would only said our player has no mental fitness and gave out too quickly when the game goes against him. Blaming the loss on not having a coach not present is all bullshit. I expect a world class player would take responsibility for his failure and learn from it.

49) Mr Jason on August 25th, 2008 1.43 pm

Hey everyone, I’m calling for an urgent boycott of any Olympic homecoming celebrations today and anytime until this matter is satisfactorily closed. Spare thoughts for the team manager and head coach, how can they celebrate knowing they will be left without their respective jobs?! They should be feeling joyous and proud after helping the nation clinch an Olympic medal after 48 years. Who is Bee Wah and why is there a full-page advertisement in Straits Times today congratulating her ?? If I have your support, pls boycott any celebrations today. We can delay the celebrations til next week or later.

50) mrjason on August 25th, 2008 1.49 pm

Hey everyone! I’m calling for a boycott of today’s Olympic homecoming celebrations. Spare some thoughts for the team manager and head coach. They should feel joyous and proud after helping us win an Olympic medal after 48 years, but how can they when they know they will soon be jobless!! Let’s boycott the celebrations until this matter is satisfactorily closed! We can celebrate later ….

51) Husky on August 25th, 2008 1.55 pm

At least LBW has a supporter from our TNP sportwriter Lim Han Ming “Lee knows what’s best for her team”. He urged all singaporean to let her do her job, she know best. Well LBW can take heart, she got a FAN in Mr Lim. If she knows what’s best, we will not even have so many forums and valid comments about her ability to lead and motormouth her comments. Obviously she can’t even get her timing right to motivate the team, and her action is more damaging to the morale. So Mr. Lim, you may want to apply for the Team Manger position in LBW team to deliver our GOLD in 2012. 2 wrongs don’t make it right. She should step down immediately, that would be the best move on of this issue.

52) patriot on August 25th, 2008 2.03 pm

Sports have long been politicized, monetised and incentivised. It is not wrong to say sports equal politics nowadays.

There are no more sporting spirits in the Modern World!

patriot

53) Just a commoner on August 25th, 2008 2.04 pm

This is the first time I am commenting; felt so strong that I needed to write something as an ordinary layman on the street.. Agreed with most of Choo’s assessment on Ms Lee as this is what most would feel based on the newspaper reports so far.

The 1st impression I had after reading the newspaper was that Ms Lee lacks tact and realism. She got the timing absolutely wrong, choosing to dampen the entire nation’s celebration for the silver medal acquired by our women paddlers - unless she had craved the publicity and wanted to show who’s boss. But she certainly made the headlines for the wrong reasons. The matter should have been resolved behind STTA’s doors. To Ms Lee, it is impt to be humble. Being a people-elected leader does not means superiority above all. Take this as a lesson learned.

54) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 2.11 pm

We should trust Lee Bee Wah to deliver the gold because she can cast herself as single and double player in next Olympic, and outshine any of the China players. She already start training hard for Olympic as shown in the picture
    http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_271708.html
    We should give her a round of applause.

55) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 2.12 pm

“There are no more sporting spirits in the Modern World!”
    To be more specific
    “There are no more sporting spirits in the Singapore World!”

56) Daniel on August 25th, 2008 2.13 pm

“Lee knows what’s best for her team”.
    Isn’t this what the old Lee always says and he end up moving on and disappear for good ?

57) Ahsiao on August 25th, 2008 2.48 pm

Heard from some “Insider” LBW is a “kiss up kick down” kind of person.

58) Talk Talk on August 25th, 2008 2.54 pm

Guys, give this LBW a break ok? It’s just bad timing - its the time of the month.

Div 1 politician handling a mammoth situation and big publicity - I am the first to applaud her!

Come on now, STTA presidency is set up for her to claim the medal credit. Now that she has scored, time to celebrate!!

Hoping to see this LBW around no longer than till the next GE but for now, bring some popcorns and soda.

59) Ah Seng on August 25th, 2008 3.06 pm

I hope LBW does not show up at all and spoil the homecoming celebrations this evening. ..

60) Smdoe on August 25th, 2008 3.10 pm

I guess this is the way of showing who’s the boss, its just so unfortunate that it was on the expense of the national’s celebration of the first Silver Olympic medal in 48 years. Thank you Ms. Lee.

Due to the fact that Ms. Lee shoots her mouth, now whatever the STTA puts forward seemed to be excuses to save her from embarrassments. an reaffirming her mistakes

Anyone knows the Hokkien term used when lousy striker stumble upon an empty goal-mouth and scored?

Yup, its “Tai Kho”. Do you think 1 month in the job can turn the table tennis team into Olympic Silver Medalists? Personally I don’t. Well, let’s see if she has the shortest regime as the president in STTA history. Maybe then, we can really celebrate :)

61) Singalong on August 25th, 2008 3.12 pm

The national badminton coach of Malaysia is offered with a “datukship” while it’s amusing to see that the table-tennis coach of Singapore is threatened with an “Axe”.

62) tunkudon on August 25th, 2008 3.29 pm

SACK HER.

63) GS on August 25th, 2008 3.41 pm

This is a complete joke and I am certain that the repercussions are far from over.

These are the incidents that have increased my local political awareness in the last 2 years.

Div 1 team??? IMHO, not even fit for ‘C’ Division Boys/Girls caliber

Disgusting and disgraceful.

64) Olympic fan on August 25th, 2008 3.56 pm

My opinion STTA should conduct a disclipine enquiry before announcing publicly to the media why there isnt a coach there when it should be one… As president of STTA, Lee, should ensure restraint her opinionated view and said there will be a need for further investigations by STTA… instead of announcing Anthony Lee contract will not be renewed and if he is interested in CEO job he can apply…

65) Talk Talk on August 25th, 2008 4.02 pm

Hi Ms LBW,

Thank you for being honest and frank letting us know who you really are and what you are made of.

In your position, you must be very busy and I fully understand why you must go now.

Thank you for your time with STTA. Your contribution has been truly in no small portion and shall be in etched in our memories for a long time to come.

Bye!

66) jy on August 25th, 2008 4.11 pm

Mr/Ms Smdoe,

It is 瞎眼鸡抓到虫, in hokkien is Chi Mei Kuay Tok Tio Tang.

67) siao liao on August 25th, 2008 4.37 pm

First question: How did Lee Bee Wah get the job to be president of STTA? Was she a table-tennis player herself? What history does she have to be given the job?

Second question: Does she not know the procedure when it comes to dismissing employees? As president, she should know!

Third question: Why did the STTA change president about only one month before such a huge event like the Olympics? Again, what did Lee Bee Wah do to land the job JUST RIGHT BEFORE THE OLYMPICS?

Fourth question: It’s the perennial question of accountability. It is HORRENDOUS to read in the Straits Times that Lee Bee Wah wants to “MOVE ON”. Is this the kind of Division One MPs we have from the PAP?

These are questions that need answers.

Any reporters dare to ask them?

68) aiyah - commission of inquiry lor on August 25th, 2008 4.38 pm

aiyah - simple - hold another COI to find lim bee wah free from all guilt (PAP mp what)
    then sack antony lee after that.
    But seriously, if the new direction is to give more Singapore Born primary school and secondary students a higher CHANCE to play at olympic - I am supportive of her!!

69) bioengineer on August 25th, 2008 4.41 pm

When bringing up arguments in issues between our leaders and leaders from a neighbouring country, one can witness the LACK of emotional control, coherence, intelligent diplomacy and plain maturity of thought displayed by many of the leaders from the neighboring country… with a lack of such fundamental attributes, you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to imagine the sort of leadership qualities they possess.

but I realize here, she has not been brought up and educated in the formative years in S’pore … surely it is never easier to choose a capable and deserving president.

70) Swisscom on August 25th, 2008 4.42 pm

LKY please do not give her PB, this year. Thank you.

71) CT on August 25th, 2008 4.46 pm

We had been asked to be gracious, forgiving and not to forget the past credits of our leaders in their mishandling of the security lapses that led to the escape of Mas Selemat but at the same time not only we could not do that to our team of Table Tennis Team head coach and manager whom had done us proud in bringing back a silver medal in the olympics after a long long wait of 48 years on whatever wrongs they may or may not have done, they have to be embarrassed this way over the public…What a joke and What a shame….This is my first time writing in to give my views as really I could not hold back my disappontment and the shock…

72) Chan PK on August 25th, 2008 4.53 pm

Only one month in the job and already a major blunder. Now we know what she is capable of. If i can meet all the players and officials in the open, i will shake everybody hands except hers!

73) opeth on August 25th, 2008 4.58 pm

Wa! she really kena condemned already!!!! So many replies. I wonder if shes regretting her decision now?

74) feedmetothefish on August 25th, 2008 5.11 pm

jy,

I doubt you’ll receive a reply from Choo Wee Kiang. If you do, it’ll be awesome.

Anyone wondered why Choo Wee Kiang was kicked out as President of STTA in the first place?

If Choo is the same ex-MP Choo Wee Kiang with some unsavoury history, could it be that some high-up leaders wanted him out of the way to save face and maintain clean image of STTA should it win anything in Beijing?

Instead of saving face, the the face now got splashed with a flying silver coated cake!

Even money and power cannot escape Murphy’s Law :)

So is the bitter sweet homecoming of STTA’s silver medalists, coaches and officials this evening a time to celebrate or mourn?

I remember Tan Howe Liang’s homecoming in 1960, though simple (and inexpensive) without any song and dance, was a pure celebration without any after taste or mixed feelings.

feedmetothefish

75) cynskep on August 25th, 2008 5.18 pm

74) feedmetothefish on August 25th, 2008 5.11 pm

Yes the ex-STTA president is the former MP who resigned…but i’ve no idea why he was replaced recently…perhaps somebody can enlighten us of the real reason?

76) Justsad on August 25th, 2008 5.27 pm

Why? Why? Lee Bee Wah, why can’t you just be abit more patient? At least wait after the triumphant homecoming celebrations of our table-tennis team before showing your high handedness.
    Forget about the cry baby, Gao Ning. If he is good, even without a coach, he shouldn’t have scored 0-4 over an unknown player !
    But our female paddlers, they surely deserve all the praises and celebrations for winning a silver medal for Singapore after almost 5 decades. Though I’m not a table-tennis fan,I watched the match they played against South Korea. They really played hard and won. I’m so proud of them and the head coach too!

77) small Enginner on August 25th, 2008 5.40 pm

In arguing issues, leaders of a certain neighboring country often show a LACK of emotional control, coherence, intelligent decision making and maturity of thought. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know the sort of leadership qualities they possess…
    I realize she was not educated in the formative years in S’pore… it should not be at all difficult to replace her with a deserving, capable & mature president…for the sake of S’pore’s sportsman & sportswomen.

78) Husky on August 25th, 2008 5.49 pm

With so many comments from various forums on LBW. She has already trying to “MOVE ON” on this issue. We been writing in view of given an answer. In fact she should be the one standing in for the enquiry of what her motormouth outburst and GRACEFULLY step down. This is where STTA will move on.
    LBW please stand up and be counted now to start TALKING

79) Smdoe on August 25th, 2008 5.51 pm

Its not hard to imagine who will be Singaporean’s Most Hated Person 2008.

Let’s see if this matter will rest the “Singapore” way like it used to all the time when someone of LBW’s status make mistakes like this :)

Think a few more heads will roll to cover up the first mistake LBW made. Maybe LBW will axe LJW coz she spoke to the press about retiring after Beijing 2008, which I think she did not consult with LBW.

80) bioenginner on August 25th, 2008 5.56 pm

The manner she commented (in the aftermath of the men’s loss game) to the media and shown on the news is surely a disgrace to all educated engineers… to add salt to the wound, after airing her childish, loser comments, the news presenter mentioned the missing coach in question had been taken ill… hey even the news presenter is more smart and savvy

81) bioenginner on August 25th, 2008 6.02 pm

And yeah, her brilliant (div 1) idea to ensure S’pore’s continued success in table tennis.. introduce table tennis in the kindergardens and nursery school or preschool…such brilliant idea

82) Andrew Loh on August 25th, 2008 6.07 pm

Don’t play play.

Singapore MP Lee Bee Wah makes history with elite global award
    Source : Straits Times - 25 July 2008

By Zakir Hussain

REASON TO SMILE: Ms Lee is the 34th fellow of one of the world’s top engineering associations. — ST FILE PHOTO

MEMBER of Parliament Lee Bee Wah has made history by becoming the first Asian woman - and Singaporean - to be admitted to an elite group of the world’s largest body for structural engineers.
    She has been named honorary fellow of the Institution of Structural Engineers (IStructE), which is based in Britain.

It is a rare honour, as there have been only 33 such fellows since the title was introduced in 1958 to recognise people who have contributed to the institution and the profession.

The list includes luminaries such as renowned architect Norman Foster and Britain’s Prince Philip, the first fellow.

As a civil engineer, Ms Lee, 47, has been championing her profession, burnishing its image to convince students to opt for it over better-paying jobs in business and finance.

The first woman to be elected president of the Institution of Engineers Singapore, she said she is ‘happy and humbled’ by the award.

But more importantly, she hopes the award will inspire more students, especially women, to take up engineering.

‘Although we may not be the top earners, we are one of the top contributors to the nation,’ she told The Straits Times yesterday.

Pointing to the many major construction projects, both completed and ongoing, she said these have helped propel Singapore to First World status.

‘To remain competitive, we need to continue to attract the top brains to engineering,’ she added.

Elected an MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC in 2006, the voluble Ms Lee is a partner in engineering company LBW Consultants, which she founded in 1996.

This evening, she will receive her award at a dinner of the local chapter of IStructE, which had nominated her. It will make her the 34th fellow of the global association.

Formed in 1908, the London-based IStructE has 20,000 members in more than 100 countries, making it the world’s largest professional body dedicated to structural engineering.

Professor Wang Chien Ming, who chairs IStructE Singapore, said the award was ‘a true recognition of Bee Wah’s outstanding contributions to the engineering profession’.

‘It also serves as an affirmation of the increasingly important status of women professional engineers,’ he pointed out.

83) Ryan on August 25th, 2008 6.13 pm

LBW, you made a bloody mess of things and have the galls to say ‘Lets move on.”. YOU are the one who shd move one… the sight of you sickens people. get lost!!! Singapore dun need you.!!!!
    you just manage to f**k up the whole show…. first medal in 48 years… even our PM give face via his NDP rally for the table tennis team… but you shoot off your stupid mouth this way…
    boy I am glad I am not living in AMK GRC.
    TOC shd have a list of ‘hall of shame’ for these MIW and their recent blunders..

84) Darren on August 25th, 2008 6.14 pm

Re Choo Wee Kiang, he was the one who said that Little India very dark (hei qi qi)because of the Indian there. Also falsified invoices to secure $1.83 million in loans in 1999 (http://www.asiaone.com/specials/ge2006/news/20060503_story4_1.html). Jailed two weeks and fined $10K.

85) Darren on August 25th, 2008 6.14 pm

Re Choo Wee Kiang, he was the one who said that Little India very dark (hei qi qi)because of the Indians there. Also falsified invoices to secure $1.83 million in loans in 1999 (http://www.asiaone.com/specials/ge2006/news/20060503_story4_1.html). Jailed two weeks and fined $10K.

86) crybaby on August 25th, 2008 6.22 pm

May I know where was Ms Lee Bee Wah when Gao Ning was playing his match? Why didn’t she try to rectify the situation when it happened instead of blaming others?
    I also want to know who is sponsoring her trip to Beijing or did she pay for herself. If she is sponsored by the STTA, it is clearly a waste of taxpayer’s money. She was of no help and did nothing except to wave the Singapore flag like a crazy woman. Totally no class at all.

87) disgusted on August 25th, 2008 6.24 pm

What can I say about this Malaysian born Lee Bee Wah who only came to Singapore in her twenties, NO CLASS! How to did we pick this type of MP for AMK GRC

88) Ryan on August 25th, 2008 6.31 pm

She has this elitist atitude… so what if she is some structural engineer big gun… big f**king deal… she got no brains to tink and no EQ… go to hell lah. Singapore will not forget and ‘move on’…. LBW you wait for next election… or will you hide behind PM Lee again in a GRC…???? I guess LBW will have not guts to stand in a single ward constituent….

89) Smdoe on August 25th, 2008 6.36 pm

Thank you Andrew Loh :)

Well what a wonderful way of directing everyone’s attention away from the STTA incident. *APPLAUS* The more they try to protray LBW as a wonderful woman, the more she appear silly over the STTA incident.
    Didn’t they mention that she was also the first Asian woman to sack officials during Olympic games where the country just won its only Silver Medal in 48 years???
    It gets better in the Chinese evening papers.

90) disgusted on August 25th, 2008 6.39 pm

her CV

Name : Er Lee Bee Wah (Member of Parliament)
    Constituency : Ang Mo Kio GRC
    Party Affiliation People’s Action Party
    Place of Birth : Johor, Malaysia
    Date of Birth : 06.10.1960
    Marital Status : Married
    No of Children : 2
    Religion : Buddhist

Educational Qualifications
    1967-1972 PSLE (Kiow Min Chinese Primary) (Malaysia)
    1973-1973 (Sekolah Dato’ Dol Said) (Malaysia)
    1974-1978 ‘O’ Level (Notre Dame Convent) (Malacca)
    1979-1980 ‘A’ Level (Gajah Berang) (Malacca)
    1981-1982 National University of Singapore
    1982-1985 Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) Nanyang Technological University of Singapore
    1989-1990 Master of Science (Engineering) University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)

Present Occupation
    1996 Principal Partner, LBW Consultants / LBW Consultants LLP

Member of Parliament
    06.05.2006 Ang Mo Kio GRC

Select Committees
    Estimates Committee Member 11th Parliament, 1st Session

Career
    1985-1994 Senior Engineer, St Construction Pte Ltd
    1994-1996 Asst. Project Manager, Wing Tai Property Management Ptd Ltd

Nothing to brag about and not an outstanding person all these years look closely at her CV. Started working for Wing Tai 1994, took 5 years and 2 university to complete her Bachelor Degree

91) Joyce Cheah on August 25th, 2008 6.50 pm

I am so disappointed with Ms Lee. Those people who had trainned the team for many years sure deserved more respect thanyou who just came into the picture and start trying to “take control” It put PAP into shame as this is the kind of people PAP grooms to lead us….. low EQ leaders. My faith in the new generation of PAP leaders is now all gone.

What others say about our goverment is quite true. A bunch of arrogant people. The word sorry is not in their vocabs.

The possible thing our garment might do “as a form of appology” should be to award Anthony lee and the coaches a civil medal in recognition for their work to help bring a sliver medals for the nation. Ms Lee should be replaced by a non-political figure.

92) Glowsh on August 25th, 2008 6.55 pm

This outrageously mindless act is totally uncharacteristic of any decent chief or head of an organisation. And this arrogant woman is a carefully selected MP who had gone thru many rounds of intereviews and coffees. I had always thought that one of the must-have criteria of an MP is level mindedness under stress. Sadly, she was totally emotional by speaking to the press w/o even listening to her officials first. And then declaring loudly thru her coarsely repulsive voice that drastic action would be taken!

Living up to her insanity, she fired the Anthony Lee, all w/o a thought to what her stupid act will do to the whole sporting fraternity at the Beijing Olympics and Singapore in general. Does she even realise how one arrogantly senseless act from her has caused embarrassment to the whole of Singapore and made us a laughing stock? We are supposed to be celebrating the triumph and acheivement of a nation with the crossing of a milestone in our sporting history, but out pops a senseless idiot, who with a single stroke put a whole nation to shame.

With only a single month as the STTA president, what does she knows anyway. For one who is not born and bred in Singapore and probably cannot appreciate the magnitude of this 48 years and therefore the tremendous joy and relieve of a nation, she is a complete shame and absolute misfit to be given any decision making position. When Gao Jing lost his match, she declared to the press that drastic action will be taken. Now, I plead with the authority out there to take some drastic action on her before she screws up many more things!

93) Derf on August 25th, 2008 6.57 pm

I appreciate LBW’s concern over the absence of a coach during Goa Ning’s match with our worthy opponent from Croatia. However, I believe that her mannerism and attitude of quickly identifying someone to blame for the whole situation is an absolute disgrace to Singaporean’s representatives in Beijing.

Her screaming and shouting in the media is not exactly what SIngapore wants to be known for a GRACIOUS society.

I am really appalled and disgusted by her actions.

94) Disappointed on August 25th, 2008 6.59 pm

Ms Lee,

Do consider doing the right thing: Apologise and reverse the decision.
    If you want to remain stubborn about it, then do the next right thing: Justify your decision with good reasons.
    Don’t hide behind new committee or phrases like:” lets move on!”

95) Zilch on August 25th, 2008 7.01 pm

LBW!

What’s your contribution to the Singapore table tennis team winning the olympic silver medal?

Duh…Absolutely Nothing!!!

96) tunkudon on August 25th, 2008 7.03 pm

LBW step down la … we singapore should on the one who say move on ,who are u to say . so move on u r fired

97) Mocking at Singapore on August 25th, 2008 7.10 pm

Ms. Lee Bee Wah made another history for herself and Singapore. This time, she made a 100% mockery of a Singapore sporting association who has helped to bring honour to Singapore in 48 years. I wonder what follows … whatever it may be, Ms. Lee Bee Wah must not be given another chance to score an infamous first for Singapore.
    Our highly respected PM Lee Hsien Loong must do the most sensible task now - that is to remove immediately Ms. Lee Bee Wah from his AMK-GRC and all political and governmental responsibilities, lest more damage is done to our Singapore and Singapore’s sporting arena.
    Ms. Lee Bee Wah is better off as a Structural Engineer in the civil engineering world rather than pulling down the organisational structures of a sporting body in Singapore.

98) commoner on August 25th, 2008 7.11 pm

Her CV shows that she is not an outstanding person. Started her first job from 1985 to 1994 (10Years) in St Construction Pte. Ltd ( never heard of - must be small co.) from 1985 to 1994, thereafter at Wing Tai Property Mgmt Pte. Ltd ( a subsidairy co of Wing Tai)only as an Asst. Project Manager.

NO wonder she lack total exposure - NO MNC experience at all. Is this the type of people we want and are look for as an MP

99) Fed-up on August 25th, 2008 7.17 pm

Now… now…

after reading the article #54 posted and seeing the picture of LBW in training, I now repent of the disrespect I showed her in an earlier post. Obviously she knows a thing about table tennis… I mean, just look at the way she swings herself to execute that back hand:

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Sport/Story/STIStory_271691.html

I’m sure she’ll deliver good medals at the next Olympics. Come on all of us who are uneducated about the sports…surely she knows better! Let’s give her the benefit of the doubt. Surely, this must be forward planning. Surely, this must be called looking ahead… Surely, this must be leadership by example.

Oh plurleeeez. Somebody, pls get the Straits Times to take down all those obnoxious politician-trying-to-be-one-of-us pics. I’m feeling nauseous already.

100) Aaron Tam on August 25th, 2008 7.45 pm

I am a volunteer at the PAP. Lee Bee Wah I met few years ago. Actually, it was rather obvious that she was trying her best to get selected to be an MP for quite a while. She tried to participate in a one constituency and when she realised that it wasn’t going the way she wanted, she moved to another constituency to try her luck, and when that didn’t work, she moved again. If I recall correctly, I believe she moved constituency 03 or 04 times before finally being spotted and finally selected.

She may possess certain qualities that the govt is looking for ini building the new singapore but they may have overlooked her true intentions when they selected her.

101) Kimmel on August 25th, 2008 7.48 pm

i am glad people like WKS and LWB provided fodder for this forum.. go on, shoot off your bloody mouth without tinking.. you find youself cannon fodder for the tabloids… this will translate into votes into the next GE… 66.6% of you take note..!!!
    btw, straits time and the CNA forum will never allow citizens to criticise their MIW no matter wat wrong…… totally disgusted…. i am really glad we have this forum….

102) zhummmeng on August 25th, 2008 8.07 pm

first taste of power, like that already. Now got powder to appoint CEOs…..
    sacking manager is small matter, next time can sack CEO…wow..even more powderful.

103) Smdoe on August 25th, 2008 8.18 pm

wrg to #98

No wonder ask people to move on.
    She has been moving on to different constitueuncies.
    So moral of the story, move on after a mess, especially when you create it.

104) leondna on August 25th, 2008 8.25 pm

I am utterly disappointed with the recent events unfolding after our table tennis team had won the silver after almost 50 years. And what a way to celebrate.

To sack the team head coach or manager after they had contributed so much to Singapore success is unheard of. Yes, the team made a mistake by leaving Gao Ning alone in his match. However, the coaches had expected GaoNing to win