National Day or MP Day?
Monday, 11 August 2008, 12:00 pm | 4,173 views
Gerald Giam / Deputy Editor
As August 9th draws near, springing up all over the island are posters of smiling People’s Action Party Members of Parliament (MP) and Government ministers wishing Singaporeans a Happy National Day. While this might be a regular sight that Singaporeans have been conditioned to accept all these years, I question its necessity.
Like most other Singaporeans, I love National Day and the festivities that come with it. Singapore has achieved much over the past 43 years and we have much to be proud of and grateful for.
But why is there a need for politicians to splash their faces across every other National Day poster? In my little sub-constituency of Canberra in Sembawang GRC, I have counted at least two giant sized billboards.
When I travel through Ang Mo Kio, Bukit Timah and Tanjong Pagar, almost every other lamp post on the main roads is decked with smiling pictures of PAP politicians superimposed on pictures of children. The main intersection of each town has a giant billboard with all the MPs in the GRC waving, some even with their names and titles labelled on their photos, lest any resident forgets.
One huge billboard in Joo Chiat even has a politician with his fist clenched across his chest, as if reciting the Pledge. (Picture right).
The purpose of these billboards is quite clear: to give the MPs more visibility so that residents will recognize them and hopefully vote for them at the next elections.
Who pays?
I am guessing all these posters and billboards are not paid out of PAP coffers, but from town council funds — to which I contribute over $740 each year.
I emailed Sembawang Town Council and Tanjong Pagar Town Council to ask, but they did not reply. Strange, since my town council has always been very prompt in replying to the municipal problems I have raised.
Is this a prudent use of my hard-earned money, particularly in a time of a slowing economy and high inflation? Why should my town council payments be used to further my MP’s political interests?
Worse, some giant billboards are lit up the entire night with bright spotlights. What happened to our eco-friendly drive? And what about the cost of the electricity used, keeping in mind that the prices of fuel have increased recently.
In fact, some of these posters look no different from election posters sans the lightning symbol. Doesn’t the Parliamentary Elections Act prohibit election advertising outside of the campaign period?
I do not see posters of MPs in opposition wards of Potong Pasir and Hougang. In Potong Pasir, there are some posters, but without Chiam See Tong’s face. Hougang has a simple landscaped display of the Singapore flag along Avenue 2 – and no, Low Thia Khiang’s picture is not included either.
Views of other Singaporeans
I checked with a Singaporean friend living in the US whether such banners and posters appeared on the 4th of July, America’s Independence Day. There were none in the city where she lives.
She emailed me, “I personally think that the banners…look hideous and distasteful. When I tried to raise this matter up with someone a long time ago, I remember being told off that those posters were being targeted at the heartlanders.”
She added, “To put banners like the one you sent me…when there is no GE (General Election) near in sight, that’s definitely propagandistic”.
Another friend, who works in the media, told me: “It gets very confusing here. Can’t tell the difference between country, state, government and ruling party.”
I would like to suggest that the PAP and its town councils immediately stop the use of public funds to promote their partisan causes. For a start, all the spotlights for the billboards should remain off at night to save electricity.
I hope our ruling party MPs realise that National Day is a day of celebration for the whole nation, not a season to honour themselves.
Click on pictures to enlarge.———

Email this article to a Friend
Bookmark this

Wonder if there are such billboards and banners at Hougang and Potong Pasir?
The PAP has totally hijacked the National Day Celebrations. These MIWs on billboards and posters only surfaced in the last few years or so. Ever wonder why is it only PAP get to field a marching contigent in all NDPs. I find this politicising of
ND very offputting. If all posters are paid by public funds, would it qualify as case of abuse?
[...] Original The Online Citizen – a community of singaporeans [...]
Rightly commented.
Further do these banners have the permits and license issued for such outdoor “advertising”?
PAP = Government = PAP
Singapore’s history/ achievements = PAP’s history/ achievements
Recently I was travelling along Cluny Road. I was very surprised to see MP Indranee appearing on one of the ND posters. Isn’t she one of the MPs fromTanjong Pagar GRC? It’s really puzzling that Cluny Road has become part of Tanjong Pagar! Really really amazing and at the same time, ridiculous and disgusting!!
Abuse of nation’s wealth and abuse of power are what our government is capable of . Isn’t there a law that no party should not publicly promote itself this way ? And yet these coffers take advantage of its power to misuse public fund to promote their political interest. It is good that people take these photo to show how kangaroo and double standard our law is.
But Singaporeans are smarter as they know the more these coffers promote and market themselves blatantly, the more their ineptness are exposed. Fancy promote themselves without substances and capability ?
Who pays?
I often wondered over this same question too, on every National Day period.
Time for the PAP run town councils to reply, in the name of transparency and accountability, as advocated by SM Goh to the Hougang residents to check on WP run town council.
Thank you Gerald for making the extra effort to check on Potong Pasir and Hougang estates as well, whether LTK and CST are both following the PAP ways of self glorification.
I think the issue is not the billboard itself.
The issue is that the figures in the billboard are no from the people, by the people, and for the people.
They need the billboard to create the illusion that they are from the people, by the people, and for the people.
I feel sorry for them.
Thought they were to remind Taoists of the Hungry Ghosts Festival
I mean white shirts, white pants, looking very hungry … Who pays for all these, anyway?
happy PAP day …….
I appreciate Gerald’s effort in bringing this issue to the people’s attention.
Our version of Chinese Propaganda Poster/Banner?
btw…. Happy Birthday SingaPAPore!
http://img523.imageshack.us/my.php?image=singapaporewj4.jpg
Sometime in the past, residents could not recognised their MP face or even their names. So they decided to do something.
MP faces on large banners are on every PAP estate and have spot lights beamed on them at night to make sure that residents could remember the faces of MPs.
Excellent observation by Gerald !
9th August is NOT national day but PAP PROPAGANDA DAY.
Shameless politicians just never let up on propaganda activities to claim credit.
When will some of the 66.6 % stop swallowing the PAP’s ‘BULLSHIT’ ?
66.6% is a nice number to quote… but the actual percentage of all eligible voters is certainly <66.6% due to the ingenious GRC system!
Where is there the separation of state and govt (ruling party) ? I can’t help feeling they more they try to expose themselves in these billboards, they more they turn the people off. I used to like ND when I was a kid when it wasn’t so partisan and NDP wasn’t so propagandistic. Now, even the “patriotric” songs they play over and over the media are nauseating!
I have these to say of all that:
1 – Self-glorifying
2 – Self-gratification
3 – Self-centered
How much in total has been spent on these?
From which fund?
YOu think for even a moment, they will reveal any truth about where the funds came from for all these colorful display of themselves?
Not even when all the planets in our solar system aligns themselves in one straight line, will that ever happen.
i had noticed the huge poster and from an aesthetic point of view, it is crappy. cos it always have
multi- racial kids “photoshopped” with the MP, and add some feathering.. to composite the picture ..and it does not just come out during national day, but on other festivals too, perhaps not such big ones though.
The printing companies are the one making the bucks during this period of time.
Anyway, it is downright ugly, but it does make the MP presence felt, ugly or otherwise.
Correct me if I’m wrong.
Previously, political parties were allowed to put up banners and posters only during elections. In particular, posters/pictures of politicians were prohibited outside of the hustings. However after the PAP found that the constituents do not know the faces of their MPs, it gradually introduced banners containing photos of the MPs makring well-wishes. To me, the party bent/changed the rules for it’s self-interest.
17) skep on August 7th, 2008 4.35 pm
———————————
You mean, the last election was not based on all of eligible voters?
but I thought almost all voted?
Not sure how many thinks like me?
What I meant was, mandate was given right? So how much voters were counted? I hope as many as 2 million.
I find all these billboards, banners and posters downright distasteful and self-glorifying. It is downright ridiculous.
Besides the questions of where the funds for all these are from, the banners and billboards are ugly and scars the landscape. I mean, just look at that atrociously ridiculous banner hanging at Tekka of Lui Tuck Yew and his GRC gang. Whose idea was it?
Over at Bugis, right the junction, you see the Jln Besar team staring out at you.
The worse culprits, as far as I know, is the gang of PAP MPs over at Aljunied. If you travel along avenue 2 and 3, you will see that the billboards there are changed almost every month. Imagine the cost that goes into this – design, photography, printing, putting up the banners, etc. Plus, as Gerald said, they are lighted by spotlights from 7pm to 7am.
Every time I pass by that area of Aljunied, I see a different poster of George Yeo and gang.
And all these while telling Singaporeans not to ask for wages to increase?
These banners and billboards make me yearn for National Day to be over so that I don’t have to be assaulted each time I go out.
Totally disgusting.
I honestly wonder if the PAP really knows how ridicules it’s beginning to look.
How much as been spent on the whole National Month !!! not Day !!.. Every weekend for a month?
Where are these funds coming from? How many parades do you need to rehearse?
Do you really need to rehearse the fireworks? Come on…..
How about creating an online album inviting contributions from netizen…to celebration National Day
Why is it that Mas Selamat never have such a large poster consider how it is important to capture him ? Is our gahmen really so important and prominient to deserve the propaganda shit ?
Having been (un)lucky enough to have taken part in an NDP performance I find the inclusion of the PAP contingent unnecessary. It merely serves to prove that the PAP has always had this “all your base are belong to us” approach to government; more specifically they sink their roots all over the place such that the line between Singapore and PAP is blurred.
Andrew,
I guess they are putting more effort into Aljunied. After all, it fared the poorest among their GRCs.
Gerald,
I remember reading somewhere that town council funds were for maintenance use…i am not too sure though.
What is also ridiculous is that local newspapers (with The Straits Times being the worse culprit) always splash the photos of PAP MPs at every opportunity.
If we were to believe what the local press wrote, PAP MPs would have been Gods. Our local TV is even worse.
All these propaganda serves to send sublimal (wrong) messages to the masses that PAP MPs are the only ones who can lead S’pore.
What do u expect
They only appear on Pre Election Days to promise u high heaven
Gloat over posters on National Day
Sleep and Snore (oblivous) to the people’s plight during Parliment sessions
Talk and Praise Big on the Garment or Big Brother
Forget their promise to you during elections
They are your absentee MP
This is the email I sent to both Sembawang and Tanjong Pagar town councils on 27 July. I have not received a response:
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to seek Sembawang Town Council’s clarification regarding the banners and billboards that have been erected in our neighbourhood in celebration of the upcoming National Day. I have attached a few photos of these banners and billboards.
1. May I know if these were put up by Sembawang Town Council?
2. Are they fully funded, or partially funded from Town Council funds?
3. If so, may I know how much the Town Council has spent on all the banners and billboards, including the cost of installing lighting for the billboards and electricity for lighting them up at night.
I look forward to your early reply. I would be grateful if you could respond by Wed 30 July latest. Please feel free to call me or email me if you need any clarification. Thank you.
Yours sincerely,
Gerald Giam
Deputy Editor, The Online Citizen
Resident, Blk XXX Sembawang XXXX #XX-XXX SXXXXXX
Was I too rude that’s why they didn’t think it was worth replying? As a resident who is paying conservancy charges, I would have expected at least Sembawang Town Council to reply.
This evening, for the first time when I went past the giant billboard at the junction near my block, the lights were turned off.
I wonder if anyone else has noticed fewer lighted billboards in their neighbourhoods?
I think everyone should use Gerald’s e-mail template to ask their town councils the same question.
When enough people email their town council, they have to respond.
We really need an audit of this. to keep our PAP MPs “on their toes”.
Gerald,
Is it possible to ask them face to face during a Meet the People’s session?
Thank you so much Gerald for awaking the giants and all Singaporeans on this senseless and costly self-promotion.
Subliminal? It’s a bloody nightmare to have 82 self-glorifying faces staring at you all over Singapore during the Ghost Festival!
You’ve triggered me to respond on http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/
Thanks for helping a old fogey use whatever brain that’s left and stay away from Parkinson’s & dementia.
feedmetothefish
I believe all this posters and banners and publicity setups are put up by RC and CC members who carry their bosses’ balls.
It just a PR waste; who cares to a 2nd look. A man is judged by his deeds not his smiling face on a big banner which will be thrown away in due course.
It’s a 100% egotistic display with all these banners which make me wonder if I am in N.Korea.
I really hope these banners are not made with help by the estate residents with their diligently honestly paid S&CC to the Town Council.
I have always wonder what is the main purposes of having all those big banners with the constituency MPs in the picture as the main theme. The pictures of the MP in such patriotic pictures or season greetings pictures are always covering almost up to 70% of the whole banner. It really looks more like a “marketing” effort rather than sending warm greetings out to the citizens. The banners do in fact look more like GE marketing banners more.
If these banners are really funded by the TC then shouldn’t the money be put to use for more important upgrades in the estate rather than anyhow spent on cosmetic features in the estate? I have agree the landscape along the road look nicer nowadays and there are more pockets of green and garden in the estate but is it necessary to have the landscape overhaul so often? I am a green person and I like gardens, so why not the GRC put up nice landscape decoration to celebrate the festive season rather than such huge patriots of our “dear leader” – you get what I mean now with the N.Korea statement?
Maybe in the future I even need to kowtow to these patriot banners?
Following is extracted from THE PARTY’s 50th Anniversary Dinner speech by the then Secretary General, Mr Goh:
“4. Lim Swee Say told me this story. A Communist Party of China official on a study tour to Singapore visited our Party HQ. He counted only 9 full time staff working there and asked where the rest were. Swee Say told him there were no others. He explained that the Party depended on party activists and worked closely with our grassroots volunteers in reaching out to the people. In typical Chinese fashion, the CPC official captured this neatly as “” – the achievement of the PAP is everywhere but the Party itself is nowhere to be seen. And may we stay this way forever – hardly visible but invincible; no Party bureaucracy but lots of dedicated activists and volunteers.”
…. they sure are NOT INVINCIBLE NOW…..and I hope they realise it may be both literal and figurative……
I agree….with DC
Use gerard’s email template to send it to your own Town Council…
Gerard, may I? (seeking your permission)
I’m from AMK GRC.
In an earlier comment, Kingfisher wrote “I believe all this posters and banners and publicity setups are put up by RC and CC members who carry their bosses’ balls.”
That could be the case but I’m sure they didn’t pay for these ads out of their own pockets. At the empty field in front of Lakeside Estate, an electricity distribution network was run just to light up the billboard.
Can the “background people” claim royalties for having being photoshopped alongside the pappers? Monkeys see, monkeys do – since they talk $$$ all the time
best solution to this, I will light up incense & candle at every billboard sign to celebrate their future downfall in power over poor singaporean. since hungry ghost festival is here.
I’ll be using Gerald’s template to write and ask my MP too. Mine is under AMK GRC. So, guess who I will be writing to…
For a list of MPs’ email addresses, click here:
http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-MP-currentMP.htm#O
It is absolutely unfair for politicians to use National Day campaign as a means of publicity.
Likewise, the question if public funds are used for the campaign is totally irrelevant. (Does using only their personal funds for such publicity make you any happier?)
Get to the real point.
How convenient, Aljunied GRC Town Council do not have an e-mail address.
I wonder who should I email now.
The MPs are featured in their capacity as advisors to grassroots organisations in those constituencies and not as MPs of a political party.
The grassroots organisations has nothing to do with political parties.
A bunch of PAP hypocrites!!!
Oh Andrew, thanks…me too from AMK GRC and I know who u are writing to
haha
But Ok to use Gerard’s template?
I want to seek his permission first
Hi Lilian,
Ya, I think Gerald is fine with it. Alternatively, just paraphrase his words or compose your own..
)
My response to Nicholas Lazarus:
Whether they’re MPs of the govt or representative of the PAP or “advisers” to the grassroots, still spending such money at a time when everyone is anxious about their livelihoods is, to me, a sign of being out-of-touch.
Worse, it is a sign also of the inability to empathise with the average Singaporean.
On top of all these, we’ve just been told to “take precaution”, to not ask for any “wage increases” and just today, the Finance Minister is saying how we’re headed for worse times, with inflation between 6 to 7% – the highest in decades.
Now, to justify such unnecessary spending – by installing these billboards – with a simplistic and convenient excuse that they are “advisers to grassroots organisations” is just alarming.
Correct me if I am wrong but I thought grassroots orgs are suppose to care for Singaporeans? Or are they suppose to help PAP MPs glorify themselves?
Andrew
[...] years, from nation to multinational 8 Aug 2008 – Tribolum: We the People of Singapore – TOC: National Day or MP Day? – Feed Me To The Fish: Why are they staring at me during the Ghost Festival? – Deadpoet’s [...]
48) Andrew Loh on August 8th, 2008 10.17 am I’ll be using Gerald’s template to write and ask my MP too. Mine is under AMK GRC. So, guess who I will be writing to…
For a list of MPs’ email addresses, click here:
http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-MP-currentMP.htm#O
—
Should be writing to the respective town council, not to the MP.
Dear Andrew,
The posters are part of celebrations for National Day. Surely we should celebrate National Day and not hold off celebrations because of the economic climate!
The posters are to inspire people to forge closer links with each other and also through the grassroots that are helmed by their advisors. Therefore, I would say that these posters are all the more required during these times of difficulty.
These are simple posters and not extravagance such as statues or permanent structures.
The grassroots do care for Singaporeans and have many schemes to assist and help the residents. You can visit the websites to see all that is done or go to the community centres and ask the grassroots what is done.
Sad to know that there are people who are unhappy over PAP posters and other small little things.
I think we should all just be happy and celebrate our National Day as Singaporeans same as we celebrate birthdays or festive seasons…
how to move on with life when there is so much anger and unhappiness.. I wonder. It is a very heavy burden carrying on these on your shoulder.
Happy National Day to all. Cheers. Yam Seng!!!
Nicholas Lazarus on August 8th, 2008 12.35 pm …
The grassroots do care for Singaporeans and have many schemes to assist and help the residents. You can visit the websites to see all that is done or go to the community centres and ask the grassroots what is done.
Agreed. The photos of the grassroot leaders should be on the posters instead of the MPs.
Nicholas Lazarus #57
Care to share what you are aware of? Who pay for the banners and posters?
@Nicholas Lazarus
The MPs are featured in their capacity as advisors to grassroots organisations in those constituencies and not as MPs of a political party.
The grassroots organisations has nothing to do with political parties.
Can you then explain why SM Goh make a political speech talking about taking back the Hougang ward from the WP during the National Day Dinner Celebrations at the Hougang Community Club?
The tickets to the event are sold by the RCs and the CC, which are grassroot organizations under the purview of the People’s association.
With a political speech regarding partisan politics being made at an important grassroot event, it is a little naive to say that grassroot organizations has nothing to do with political parties.
Gus, No 58
Its not that we are unhappy over small things. Dont you see whats happening here. The PAP has taken advantage of the ND celebarations by promoting themselves at the public expense, even though the people have been unhappy over alot of their policies, GST increase, ERP, out of the world Minsteral salaries ,
Mas Selamat etc fiascos. Just go down the coffee shops and markets and see how many have a good word to say about the govt or the PAP
By all means, celebrate ND but don’t politicise the holiday.
Now you know why so few people are flying the flag?
Because the govt seem to equate the Nation as = PAP
@Nicholas Lazarus
The posters are to inspire people to forge closer links with each other and also through the grassroots that are helmed by their advisors. Therefore, I would say that these posters are all the more required during these times of difficulty.
These are simple posters and not extravagance such as statues or permanent structures.
Posters can’t create national identity, sense of belonging, sense of ownership and desire for self-determination. Without the national “software” in place, you can litter the entire skyline of singapore with posters but it can still serve no purpose at all. The way to go is political pluralism and liberalization.
I beg to differ about those posters being simple. If you have done some decent colour printing in places like Bras Brasah, you will know that those posters don’t come cheap at all.
“51) Nicholas Lazarus on August 8th, 2008 11.17 am The MPs are featured in their capacity as advisors to grassroots organisations in those constituencies and not as MPs of a political party”
Good & smart answer. 100 marks.
Funny leh, everything is so coincidental. But why should we be so surprised, anyway they are the talented ones holding many capacities.
How about those other professional consultants and advisers other than those MPs. Can they have their own banners being hung around. Hey everyone, go around organising your own “grassroot orgainisations” and have more advisors and consultants. I wonder whether it will be approved.
If there are any true celebration, it comes from the heart. If it is genuinely coming from the heart, there is need not do up any banners or posters to promote the message. How many NDP have we gone through and truely how many of those are celebrated without posters or banners? In the past this could be said that we celebrate with our heart and soul. Not anymore!!!
At a time when there are so much sufferings within the citizenry except those at the top 20 percentile, I think as a Singaporean whether you are abroad or at home, we need to really reflect. How can you celebrate when your brotherhood and sisterhood at in pain? Look around you and see for yourself. You see happy faces? Genuinely happy faces?
Yes, NDP is indeed a nation’s celebration of Independence, no doubt about it. However, the vibrancy of Singapore and what is it today is not entirely the effort of a single party. If there should be banners or posters, it should reflect the hard work of those who had contributed to this nation not those goons who only knows how to reap huge salary package, dodge accountability and responsibility when it is deemed (don’t shift the blame to your subordinates, you are as responsible for their ineptness as you are as their leader). Where are your conscience?
For those who think they have lived overseas, been there and know it, you aint see the reality and know nothing yet. Stay a little longer to feel the sentiment for yourself and you will find that Singapore is no longer the nation you thought of 10 years ago. Don’t feel that your current job or work is safe and sound, it can be here today and gone tomorrow, replaced just in wink by those foreign import who can just out done you with less. I am not advocating protectionism but when your own government leave you out in the cold, you cannot just sit there and do nothing, afterall, it is your birth right and you should defend this with all cost.
Although I am now living overseas but I have been keeping myself abreast of the happenings in Singapore through friends that are in different professions (including those who run their businesses). None so far had given me a good impression each time I catch up with them. It is indeed a sad state that once we thought our contribution should be recognized.
Enough of the excuses that the current regime is preaching citing that Singapore got to be competitive and by opening the flood gate to foreign import will help. The current sentiment speaks louder. What is their to celebrate about when your nation’s brotherhood and sisterhood are suffering? Particularly the old, weak and low-income are fighting for their life to survive day to day living? Complain? You be your judge.
Since the 2001 elections, I have decided not to fly the flag during national day.
Sad to know that there are people who are unhappy over PAP posters and other small little things.
If PAP thinks that people are only unhappy with PAP posters and other small little things, then it shows how far they have removed from the people and don’t understand the feeling of the people.
Then again, a PAP that raising its own pay and refuse to remove GST on essential goods and gas tax with all sort of poor excuses already show they don’t understand the feeling of the people.
I don’t think most people here are nit picking and constantly finding the smallest things to be angry with.
What does get people really irked, like myself, is when it is quite clear certain actions will definitely stir emotions, and you still get people doing it. It is as if they want to tell you “so what, what can you do about it?” It is this perceived arrogance that further aggravates this divide that is forming, and I must say, appears to be growing.
If the intent of this year’s “National Day Psychological Defence” campaign is indeed like what Mr Lazarus is suggesting, then do it in a magnanimous way lah …. include Potong Pasir and Hougang as well…..
You may be pleasantly surprised that such “quiet and invincible” actions will be picked up by the citizenry, if repeated often enough.
As it stands now….aiyo….more of the same attitude and actions will only lead to more of the same response….. not very healthy right?
@Gus
If blurring the line between citizenship and partisanship is a “small little thing” to some, it is indeed an omininous sign for the future of the country.
Celebrating ‘national day’ = endorsement of PAP policies and governance !
Spineless leadership + yes men = screwed up policies and governance !
Those billboards showing the PAP faces reflect desperate men making a fake attempt to bond with the people. Fortunately many are aware of the PAP’s agenda of using 9th Aug for their political propaganda. The PAP never fail to amaze me with what they will do to promote or praise themselves.
One of the sickening reason why we should not expect any change to the PAP mindset is because of the numerous ball carriers falling over each other to please their masters.
The PAP and their supporters can do their song and dance with each other for all I care.
The real national day is defined by the people and not by the PAP !
Nicholas Lazarus,
your explanation seems to make thing worse not better for your master consider that what you said is been refuted by those smart observers. It only get to expose the double standard of ruling party, and how they are above others and law.
Just putting on some absurd posters and show that they care for the nation ? It is more credible if the posters just put images of money and ERP gantries, building of frailing banks, and that should how we celebrate national day.
>>The posters are to inspire people to FORGE CLOSER LINKS links with each other…
Thanks for enlightning us….so come National Day..the elites will wear RED & WHITE??
Nicholas Lazarus,
What about Mr Low Thia Kiang and Mr Chiam See Tong? Why are they not a part of this celebration? This double standard merely reinforces the perception that rightly or wrongly (in my opinion rightly) that PAP is milking political capital for its own ends.
>>These are simple posters and not extravagance such as statues or permanent structures
Let us be the judge….show us the cost (not more difficult than working out the construction cost of hdb flat nor needing 52 man-yrs i hope)
74) Singapore 3rd Class Resident ….
Transparency for:
cost of each poster, banner, billboard
cost of the spot lights rental
cost of labours to set up and dismantle the above items
cost of electricity
Who are paying the bills – PAP, government, PA, town councils, RC, CCC or sponsors?
“In your walkabouts, check on the estate maintenance. …If ___ has done a good job, give him credit for it. If there are deficiencies, point them out to the residents. In short, play the role of an effective opposition….” – SM Goh
Actually, it is not just National Day that I see the mugshots of the MPs in my area (Bukit Gombak) being plastered to big posters etc…every festival as well…
And who’s paying for this?
picture speaks 1000 words..maybe the government wanted to get some models to smile and say “happy birthday singapore” but might as well get their own folks to do it..free..no need to pay modeling fees..and its a by-the-way-publicity..
For personal reason, I dont like the billboard at Joo Chiat. The rest of the billboards, I am fine with it, it add to festival atmosphere.
The billboard may provide some mileage for political reason, it may show that their electorate representatives are celebrating with them the National Day, maybe those who vote for the opposition party may not be happy then.
If this billboards do have the mileage for the MPs, the opposition MPs should put up in their own constituency too, so that their voters may not be unhappy, and they should not have problem looking for sponsors too, there are so many voices here who would support them.
@amberlife
The billboard may provide some mileage for political reason, it may show that their electorate representatives are celebrating with them the National Day, maybe those who vote for the opposition party may not be happy then.
If this billboards do have the mileage for the MPs, the opposition MPs should put up in their own constituency too, so that their voters may not be unhappy, and they should not have problem looking for sponsors too, there are so many voices here who would support them.
The bottomline is simple: celebrate a simple non-political national day. Why must the ruling party politicize the country’s birthday?
You should be glad that opposition MPs did not glide down the slippery slope with the ruling party in politcizing national day.
Can we just have a non-partisan day in Singapore for the sake of national day out of the other 364 days full of partisan politics?
just fill a balloon with paint, till midnight and toss the paint balloons at the posters and run!
show it to them! dont just bitch on the internet
i call it shameless, pompous self indulgence..
If the ruling party really want to put posters to promote their political agenda and yet does not want the backslash of the citizen, i am sure that the citizen won’t object as long as the poster show kangaroo wearing the trademark white shirt and pant waving the sign flag of the party while smiling and dancing to the kangaroo tune.
Jackson on August 8th, 2008 1.30 pm
Since the 2001 elections, I have decided not to fly the flag during national day.
Flag ??? what flag??? hang my laundry better…
I somewhat with Nic Lazarus, especially for my constituency in Yew Tee, speaking for myself and my family there is a need to remind the us here who the MP is. Cos since being a resident here for 8 years now, I’m not too sure who my MP is as I have not seen him around the area at all….. Now with 5 faces on the billboard, I can be 20% chance of getting it right…………
I’m going to email my TC and ask who is paying for the banners and billboards….. Tks Gerald.
i dont care about their pap members it their own business i care only for my business and company to make more moneys
[...] The anticipated Rally speech – Tribolum: We the People of Singapore [Recommended] – TOC: National Day or MP Day? – Feed Me To The Fish: Why are they staring at me during the Ghost Festival? – Deadpoet’s Cave: [...]
actually if they are really fair and care and really take good care of singapore we wont do thing like now. now whatever they do we will dug dug real deep for all the mistake u make . mr ong we miss u here .
Last year the banner at the Newton IRD gave my son a fright. He was traumatised by the people featured in the banner for afew days. Everytime we drove past there he would closed his eyes. I asked him why he reacted this way, his answer was that these people were “grossly huge” to be true. Quite rightly so.
(my son is 7k days old, pls spare him the trauma)
what else can they do other than to put up such prints and outrightly showing off their ‘might’. it’s one of the few occasions they can ‘brainwash’ its citizens and show off. Shameless.
It’s not just the national day.
I live in Sembawang. I have to face the dumb banner with Lim Wee Kiak everyday declaring “my Sembawang my kampong” or someting silly like that. When I go over to Chong Pang I see Shanmugam’s face plastered on another dreadful banner at the intersection. It’s sickening. Feels like the election campaign never ended.
“I somewhat with Nic Lazarus, especially for my constituency in Yew Tee, speaking for myself and my family there is a need to remind the us here who the MP is. ”
I agree too that I need to be reminded who are my MP so that I can ask him whether they did use town council money to market themselves in the poster. The poster is the evidence.
What causes Apathy?
1. Ignorance
2. Arrogance
3. 1st world mind
4. democratic spirit
5. study too much , too smart alek liao
6. distracted by day to day need to preserve rice bowl
7. FEAR
your final answer is : [ ]
As long as the MPs are selected and bred by the system – there is very little citizens can do to change things towards their views- except for disasterous self happening and costly events like Mas Selamat, NKF, Deaths of NS men & reservists., etc…..
My suggestion is for the younger and energetic citizens to go into politics and give the PAP a run – to try to get the best out of the system’s historical indulgence and setting in complacency still rewarded by all the indecent salaries in which no apologies are offerred.
Just do it, guys before it is too late and citizens take flight of fancies for all the supposedly small things , etc , which can adversely affect the adults (except for those bred in the system) and all their offsprings…
If only I can make that wish ! My future in my career will be good unless I screw up myself!
Sotong,
Hope your son is ok. That’s an unintended side-effect of these ghostly figures – especially at night. I just confirmed that the huge banner at Tekka, with Lui Tuck Yew’s giant face, is lit up at night by 2 spotlights!
*Sorry, it’s 3 spotlights, not two.
Lazarus and Veefer,
If the MP is good (or otherwise), people will get to know him/her quicky. There is no need sell yourself on hugh billboards and posters. By doing so, these people are no better than medicine man selling koyok on the streets.
Who decides if the funds were justly spent? =)
Happy Post National Day, Everyone!
The GM of my town council replied to me:
QUOTE:
“Thank you for your email of 8 Aug 08.
The banners and billboards featuring residents with our Members of Parliament were put up by our Town Council and Grassroots organisations in celebration of National Day. As these are joint projects in which other community and grassroots organisations are also involved, it will not to appropriate to reveal the cost. For your information, the costs are funded by our Town Council and GROs.
Once again, thank you so much.
Regards.
xxxxxxxx, General Manager” UNQUOTE
Why is it not appropriate to reveal the cost?
At least the TC replied although no information was given.
If the TC refused to disclose the cost to the residents what could the residents do?
Are the accounts of TC supposed to be transparent so that residents could check whether the TC spend the money in an appropriate way?
[For your information, the costs are funded by our Town Council and GROs.]
Thank you RedContactLens for the update.
I know where the bulk of the fundings in Town Council came from, the residents.
What about GROs?
Where their funds came from? People Association (PA) ? Ministry of National Development (MND) ?
If the fundings do come from PA or/and MND, I would like to know whether LTK Hougang Town Council and CST Potong Pasir Town Council also received the same fundings for their GROs?
Anyway, any funds from PA or MND are tax payers money, right?
Maybe SM Goh should provide us Singaporeans with the answers on the money flow of PAP run town councils, since he started the encouragement to Hougang residents to check on LTK Hougang WP run town council accounts.
Thks Andrew, my son is OK . This year the banner at the Newton featured some peolpe eating like in a buffet party. I didn’t actually take a closer look but my wife said that whovever was featured in the banner will be quite embarassed. (If she is wrong , pls forgive her she needs new specs which we are still saving to buy it)
I suggest that National day banner should feature some historical figures which many young Singaporeans are not familiar, National flower, the late Ah Meng, (just joking) and some other things that are associated with Singapore or people associated with the landmark such as Tan Tock Seng, or many others that have contributed to the nation of Singapore. In time to come the great leaders of today can also be featured. If they run out of people they can always take a group picture of the online citizen. What do you say?
Lilian – Sorry for the late reply. Yes pls go ahead and use my template. You didn’t have to ask, actually.
Actually, I am more grateful to the original founder of Singapore, MR RAFFLES himself.
He saw more than a fishing village in this tiny dot.
Yet, Singaporeans don’t seem to appreciate this little fact.
Lee Kuan Yew is nothing … because he can’t see beyond grades A. If he was Raffles, he would have dismissed this tiny red dot.
‘You raise expectations of your own people, and they say: ‘Let’s spend it. We’ve made 8 per cent last year – why are we keeping 4 per cent? Let’s spend 6 per cent instead of 4 per cent.’ And so on,’ said Mr Lee.
Yup…if TC discloses the cost, residents MIGHT demand for reduction in Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC)
I disagree with “Anon”.
Without MM, there will be no Singapore independent state. MM’s wisdom is always there – read “S’pre 3rd Class Resident”’s quote – it is as applicable as ever.
The problem is that palace guards also want to have some glory and to advertise themselves. Sometimes the hard times and difficult economic forecasts are simply forgotten- reacting to the times is not what Singaporeans are good at when there are possible vested interests.
Just look at the results of the Beijing Games – imports are carrying the Singapore flag – is this wise? so they say, let us move on to see the 2012 results, fine! Meanwhile the President and his entourage are flying out to support – is this wise spending of tax payers money ? Your views ?
My town council did not reply…. (AMK GRC)
I emailed them twice…
There is no issue with putting up banners and billboards to celebrate National Day funded by the Town Council fund.
The issue is the banners and billboards are full of giant images of the politicians of ruling party.
>> Lilian on August 12th, 2008 12.41 pm My town council did not reply….
Maybe they’re buzy packing for Olympic?….to support China Team B
Our NDP resembles those of the communists’.
The next step would be a national day songs, praising the “efficient and effective” leadership. That is before the song that mention our PM specifically as the great leader and beloved father.
The fine examples of self worship are all around us.
“Without MM, there will be no Singapore independent state. ”
There are a lot more fathers of Singapore then you have read from MSM. There are ten fathers of Singapore not one. LKY is just one of them. So let’s not so simply say that there is no Singapore without LKY. The reason a lot more given to LKY is because of act of convenience, rather than focus on many, focus on one to give someone of a hero to admire. It is the same for Bill Gates of Microsoft etc. They create the foundation but eventually it is the people, talented workers, citizens that responsible for the success.
[ 17) skep on August 7th, 2008 4.35 pm
66.6% is a nice number to quote… but the actual percentage of all eligible voters is certainly <66.6% due to the ingenious GRC system! ]
——————————————————
To be exact, only 34.6% of all eligible voters voted for PAP.
thank u for this insightful piece!
perhaps another interesting topic is – the chief constultant, Mdm Kwa condition.
gini
Reading this article and the subsequent comments, I am frankly befuddled by the whining and the barely articulated discontent splashed about here. Maybe I shouldn’t be too surprised – afterall this is Singapore and the lot of the comments here presumbly originated from Singaporean minds.
Or did they?
From minds I mean. Without bothering to find out who exactly pays for the National Day decorations, most of the comments here simply jump on the bandwagon and moan that “your’ National Day is being politicized. And we even have sympathy seekers (and worse, suckers who fall for it!) complaining how his 7yr old son is being traumatized by those grossly-inflated heads staring at him. If it was Pikachu or Mickey Mouse staring at the poor kid and he is STILL traumatized, then would the concerned parent bother blogging to rail against too-big-cartoon-figures?
By blindly lashing out at something as innocuous as billboards and buntings put up once a year to decorate YOUR living environment, it shows that you are unaware of the grassroots systems which administrate community living. It certainly shows that you are unwilling to participate in the system, demonstrating the exact problem with Singaporeans.
(Let me break it down for you: Housing estates in Singapore are organized around constituencies, which contain a certain number of blocks and therefore citizens. These citizens are represented by a Member-of-Parliament. These MPs also act as Advisors to the Grassroots Organizations which individually and collectively organize and drive many ground-level activities to reach out to the people who benefit most from it. These actions and initiatives come together to form an often-invisible safety-net of sorts to help many people who otherwise would really have to go without. Theses GROs are also helped by the very same Government you are pointlessly venting your spleen about through various grants, funds, programmes, sponsorships and sometimes just good old manpower. Manpower which I challenge all of you here to contribute before you answer to this or any subsequent comments.)
And kudos to the much-worshipped author of the piece, Mr Gerald Giam, for bothering to include a quote from his Singaporean US-living friend, who warns us that the practices of putting up billboards and banners is “definitely propagandistic.” As any good student of journalism knows, including a quote from an exotic source, no matter how irrelevant, automatically adds objectivity and depth to the piece. May I ask, why does your mysterious, helpful friend see fit to comment on Singapore’s political climate? And why is the US model definitely the way to go when it comes to politics? Oh right, because it allowed people like George Bush to be elected for two whole terms!
It is not PAP’s (or any ruling party’s) fault if a country does not present a credible and capable opposition. Oh I can so see the deluge of protests and accusations of shadow-play and outright bullying to keep opposition to a minimal, allowing only the token figurehead so Singapore does not suffer trade embargoes, but before you void your spleen over the internet, why not pay a visit to your local Resident’s Committee and find out what you can do to help the people you think The Government/PAP has abandoned. Or are you somewhat allergic to Volunteerism, being uniquely Singaporean?
“It is not PAP’s (or any ruling party’s) fault if a country does not present a credible and capable opposition. ”
Doesn’t we know too well that tactic of ruling party is as good as pointing a gun on someone’s head and says the choice is yours, no one force it on you.
” It certainly shows that you are unwilling to participate in the system, demonstrating the exact problem with Singaporeans.”
So what the result show so far ? Do we need to bootlick the system as the gahmen do ?
Did we all not know that or are we just living in self-denial like the gahmen ?
So will you mind telling us what did you change participating in the system ? Did you do what you preach ?
“By blindly lashing out at something as innocuous as billboards and buntings put up once a year to decorate YOUR living environment, it shows that you are unaware of the grassroots systems which administrate community living.”
You means a MPs who only appear full force in election are worthy to administrate community living ? MPs who are either ignorance or choose not to know the problem but yet move on ? Putting themselves in billboards to give the people’s impression that they care and do things for your own good ?
“Doesn’t we know too well that tactic of ruling party is as good as pointing a gun on someone’s head and says the choice is yours, no one force it on you.”
Would you like to elaborate on that? By making such an assertion I am pretty sure you have the knowledge and facts necessary to bullet-proof your statement. Kindly enlighten us and show us how irretrivably corrupt and hopeless the situation is.
“So what the result show so far ? Do we need to bootlick the system as the gahmen do ?
Did we all not know that or are we just living in self-denial like the gahmen ?”
I have no idea what you are talking about with these two statements. Can you be more articulate?
“So will you mind telling us what did you change participating in the system ? Did you do what you preach ?”
You have assumed that I participate in the system. I will state here that I do not. But what I do or do not do is not the point here. I’m simply saying, if you don’t like something, then take steps to do something about it. And no, don’t just play Journalist or Journalist’s Fan or Very Clever Internet User. Go and find out for yourself just exactly what the picture is. And form your own opinion. And see what, if anything you can do to change the situation. I know its hard for you but there’s always a first time to everything.
It is not enough to simply click on a few articles and enter a few inarticulate comments then log off and go to bed in your ariconditioned room. If you truly feel that passionate about conditions in Singapore, then get off your butt and get involved.
Again I say, find out the facts, form your own opinion, take action to change the situation! If all you are willing to do is to sit, bitch and moan about how its all hopeless and we’re all going to hell, then don’t complain that your lot is reduced to demonstrating on the Internet your inability to hold a coherent thought.
Otherwise, don’t complain about your fellow Singaporeans who are doing the best they can the best way they know how.
“You means a MPs who only appear full force in election are worthy to administrate community living ? MPs who are either ignorance or choose not to know the problem but yet move on ? Putting themselves in billboards to give the people’s impression that they care and do things for your own good ?”
Have you met your MP to express to him/her your concerns about his perceived unsuitability to represent you / your family? If you haven’t you may like to join in the next Meet-The-People session?
You still don’t understand how and why billboards are put up. I assume the Resident’s Committee was too busy to help you with your queries and efforts to register as a volunteer?
watchandlearn,
the answer is simple. Have you ever attend opposition party gathering like SDP ?
Did you not know that the police will take down your particular as and when they like it but that alone create a fear in you. That alone will make it look bad and it will jeopardise your job, and family relationship etc. Exposing the name of those who attend the meeting and publish those on newspaper ? If that is not as good as putting a gun in your head, I do not know what you call it then ? This tactic is nothing new, and I see it in NS. If they don’t get you, just get those who close to you, and you will likely to give it. I watch that personally happen before. Call me a bystander if you want to.
What kind of rules that forbid to protest against policies that is unjust ?
If indeed SDP’s method is not the way to go, how else will the government listen ? I used to disagree SDP’s method but now I see the finer of things in Singapore where the government is just getting absurb and keep repeating blunders and no ministers dare tell the emperor of thing he doesn’t want to hear.
Thing have to change and we can stop putting our trust on election that has never been fair, and policies and regulation that keep force down your throat.
Why not your ask the minister or your MPs ? How many will tell you to live with it ?
Don’t act ignorance and pretend that you don’t know about it. People who comment here know about it. Are you really new here or you just acting blur ?
Really ? Do something about it ? So what do you suggest we do ? How did you know many of us here never try talking to MPs ? Are your suggestion new at all ? What not suggest something we do not hear before ?
If all the things you suggested have been working, we wouldn’t be here commenting. Do give a thought , and let’s not treat any of us here as new bird.
@watchandlearn
By blindly lashing out at something as innocuous as billboards and buntings put up once a year to decorate YOUR living environment, it shows that you are unaware of the grassroots systems which administrate community living. It certainly shows that you are unwilling to participate in the system, demonstrating the exact problem with Singaporeans.
But if someone use your money to decorate your house without asking you how you want it to be, how would you feel?
Unwilling to participate in the system? I think people have the freedom to choose the terms and levels on which they want to participate. Your comments is peppered with intolerance. Participation need not mean joining political parties or any organizations. Voicing concerns by its own is already a form of participation.
Let me break it down for you: Housing estates in Singapore are organized around constituencies, which contain a certain number of blocks and therefore citizens. These citizens are represented by a Member-of-Parliament. These MPs also act as Advisors to the Grassroots Organizations which individually and collectively organize and drive many ground-level activities to reach out to the people who benefit most from it…..
If grassroot organizations are supposed to be politically neutral, why did SM Goh use a important grassroot dinner to give a political speech about winning back Hougang?
You still don’t understand how and why billboards are put up. I assume the Resident’s Committee was too busy to help you with your queries and efforts to register as a volunteer?
Why would one have to be in some form of organization to be qualified as a “volunteer”? Going to talk to lonely old folks in the neighbourhood surely does not require one to be registered as a volunteer at the RC right?
Volunteering can come in many forms. It doesn’t even need a “RC” or “CC”. It goes to show how narrow your view is on volunteerism.
“the answer is simple. Have you ever attend opposition party gathering like SDP ?
Did you not know that the police will take down your particular as and when they like it but that alone create a fear in you. That alone will make it look bad and it will jeopardise your job, and family relationship etc. Exposing the name of those who attend the meeting and publish those on newspaper ? If that is not as good as putting a gun in your head, I do not know what you call it then ? This tactic is nothing new, and I see it in NS. If they don’t get you, just get those who close to you, and you will likely to give it. I watch that personally happen before. Call me a bystander if you want to.”
What is wrong with attending a SDP party gathering? Is it a crime? Has anyone been thrown into jail for attending an opposition party? What exactly happens if you attend an opposition gathering party? What does the police really do with your particulars? Are you family members publicly shamed for living with someone who attended an opposition party? Your taxes get raised? Your benefits get cut? Your boss and colleagues start to ostracize you? Your en-bloc sale gets blocked? Your TOTO and 4D chances mysteriously suffer? Your plants refuse to flower? What happens exactly if you attend an opposition party and the police takes down your particulars? What happens? What?
Ok since you have heard it all before and maybe even tried some suggestions, here’s another one. Last one from me, I promise.
If you think that you can do a better job, try running for election.
Otherwise, don’t complain about your fellow Singaporeans who are doing the best they can the best way they know how.
I don’t see how “decorating” my neighbourhood with giant billboards of a dubious political nature can make the lives of lonely old folks better than just spending an hour talking and drinking kopi-o with them under the void deck.
(or any ruling party’s) fault if a country does not present a credible and capable opposition.
Then i am surprised why Nixon had to resign over Watergate. Surely we should not expect Nixon to make things fair for his Democratic rival right?
If you think that you can do a better job, try running for election.
Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn did not run for any elections, but i guess his courage and passion for his country mean that he may have much more respect from his countrymen than an elected president such as Boris Yeltsin.
“What is wrong with attending a SDP party gathering? Is it a crime? Has anyone been thrown into jail for attending an opposition party? What exactly happens if you attend an opposition gathering party? What does the police really do with your particulars? Are you family members publicly shamed for living with someone who attended an opposition party? Your taxes get raised? Your benefits get cut? Your boss and colleagues start to ostracize you? Your en-bloc sale gets blocked? Your TOTO and 4D chances mysteriously suffer? Your plants refuse to flower? What happens exactly if you attend an opposition party and the police takes down your particulars? What happens? What?”
Stop been a loser. If you doesn’t want others to insult your intelligence, stop insult others. Don’t go around preaching and talk-big if you doesn’t even experience what people who attend SDP go through. I see enough of people like you in real life, talking big as though he knows and really go through it, where in reality he merely based on his own rational assumption.
Try talking to MPs. As far as political change is concern, majority will not even dare to step on that someone’s toes.
Your tactic is nothing new. If can’t debate, just insult and degrade others. Really remind me of the gahmen’s practice.
@lim peh
“But if someone use your money to decorate your house without asking you how you want it to be, how would you feel?”
Its only temporary. Just for the season. Get over it. Surely no one reasonable can deny that the decorations do not add to the atmosphere?
“Unwilling to participate in the system? I think people have the freedom to choose the terms and levels on which they want to participate. Your comments is peppered with intolerance. Participation need not mean joining political parties or any organizations. Voicing concerns by its own is already a form of participation.”
Yes, but to what extent and to what effect? We may all voice our concerns but how many of those are genuine concerns? How many times in the past month have you been stopped on the highways by thirsty policemen wanting a cup of coffee? None? Funny, neither did I.
“If grassroot organizations are supposed to be politically neutral, why did SM Goh use a important grassroot dinner to give a political speech about winning back Hougang?”
I don’t know. Why don’t you ask him. Were you moved by the speech? Did it bother you then? Were others unthinkingly nodding along and getting high listening to empty promises and puffery? Sigh, damn sheep. They’re everywhere. What to do what to do…
“Why would one have to be in some form of organization to be qualified as a “volunteer”? Going to talk to lonely old folks in the neighbourhood surely does not require one to be registered as a volunteer at the RC right?
Volunteering can come in many forms. It doesn’t even need a “RC” or “CC”. It goes to show how narrow your view is on volunteerism.”
If you sir/mdm routinely do that then in that department you are a much much better person than I am.
However, my point is, get involved, get in the know, then if you still feel strongly about the National Day decorations, at least you’d be in a much better position to get yourself heard.
Its only temporary. Just for the season. Get over it. Surely no one reasonable can deny that the decorations do not add to the atmosphere?
Isn’t it only fair that i ask where the money use to decorate my house comes from? Adding to atmosphere? How do you know? Did you do a survey? Who are the participants in the survey? What is your sampling size? Untilthen, all these are just your own claims with your own value-judgment.
We may all voice our concerns but how many of those are genuine concerns?
What do you by “genuine” concerns? I thought the art of feedback is to take all the views objectively and hear the people out. Who should decide what is “genuine” and what is not? To slam others’ concern as not being “genuine” is a form of intolerance and bigotry in itself. And it is ironic that you lecture others to run for elections with this kind of attitude towards concerns.
@lim peh
“I don’t see how “decorating” my neighbourhood with giant billboards of a dubious political nature can make the lives of lonely old folks better than just spending an hour talking and drinking kopi-o with them under the void deck.”
Again, there are programmes and activities targeted at elderly elderly folks and others. If you would bother to just go find out from your RC and/or CC…
“Then i am surprised why Nixon had to resign over Watergate. Surely we should not expect Nixon to make things fair for his Democratic rival right?”
… huh? I don’t see your point I’m sorry.
“Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn did not run for any elections, but i guess his courage and passion for his country mean that he may have much more respect from his countrymen than an elected president such as Boris Yeltsin.”
Maybe. Will it work in Singapore? Only one way to find out. And I bet that way does not involves us sitting here and having pseudo intellectual discussions typed anonymously over the internet.
@ Daniel
Mind enlightening my high and mighty self about what happened to those people?
watchandlearn,
Are you acting at being naive or were you born here yesterday.
The mere presence of the police at the SDP gathering is enough to itimate many of the populace. Dont tell me the police are there to control the crowds or direct
traffic? Perhaps they do that in PAP organised gatherings .
Pray tell me why do they need to take down particulars of those present?
So if you only know craps about the opposition , then stop throwing you I-know-better-than-U-do smug attitude around! I have seen more than enough running dogs like you before
However, my point is, get involved, get in the know, then if you still feel strongly about the National Day decorations, at least you’d be in a much better position to get yourself heard.
Like how? What if people like you who hear it think that it is not “genuine” concerns?
Again, there are programmes and activities targeted at elderly elderly folks and others. If you would bother to just go find out from your RC and/or CC…
Erm, if i want to talk to old folks in my neighbourhood and cheer them up, why must i do it in the RC/CC way? Do i need a permit to do that now?
Maybe. Will it work in Singapore? Only one way to find out. And I bet that way does not involves us sitting here and having pseudo intellectual discussions typed anonymously over the internet.
I thought you could disparage Solzhenitsyn as a arm-chair critic and challenge him to run for elections too?
“Your taxes get raised? Your benefits get cut? Your boss and colleagues start to ostracize you? Your en-bloc sale gets blocked? Your TOTO and 4D chances mysteriously suffer? Your plants refuse to flower? What happens exactly if you attend an opposition party and the police takes down your particulars? What happens? What?”
Come on, stop making it look like I obstracize those who support SDP and their action. You twist it fast and turn it around, but I not stupid to fall into that. One moment, you seem to support the ruling party, and next moment, you twist it as though you support SDP when I merely focus on the fear created by paranoid government. So what are you ? A troll ?
I admire SDP’s courage and action to do what needed to bring social and politicial issues to the public, and I do not agree that just playing to the game of the ruling party will come out any effective result. And to do that, you have to acknowledge that the ruling party is doing whatever to render whatever opp party ineffective. The creation of fear is one of them. Without that kind of acknowledgement, everyone can just talk-big and give simplistic solution and says that opp party not to play by the rule.
To add on to the list.
Your fish will die? Your daughter will become maid ? Singapore will sink ? OUr HDB will collapsed ? Earthquakes will happen ? Opposition party will be destroyed ?
What happens exactly if you attend an opposition party and the police takes down your particulars? What happens? What?
YOu really want to know. Tell you what. Next time attend SDP meeting and gathering publicly least you talk big again. No amount of words can describe what those SDP members go through. Experience yourself first.
@ lim peh
“Isn’t it only fair that i ask where the money use to decorate my house comes from? Adding to atmosphere? How do you know? Did you do a survey? Who are the participants in the survey? What is your sampling size? Untilthen, all these are just your own claims with your own value-judgment.”
It is fair to want to know, I agree.
If you think its ugly and a waste of money then start a petition. Gather up some signatures and go see your MP to register your disgust. And then, lets see what the rest of your neighbours think.
“What do you by “genuine” concerns? I thought the art of feedback is to take all the views objectively and hear the people out. Who should decide what is “genuine” and what is not? To slam others’ concern as not being “genuine” is a form of intolerance and bigotry in itself. And it is ironic that you lecture others to run for elections with this kind of attitude towards concerns.”
Even if I did slam your concern, I think its warranted. There are worse places to live than in Singapore you know. Anyway if you don’t like it and you think you truly can’t do anything about it, leave.
@ everyone
I know I am being provocative and obtuse. However, I ask everyone to consider, is this truly the only way to go about it. Is this the only available channel left? You said that you have tried. How hard have you tried? How many times?
Do you truly believe that Singapore is going south and there’s no hope left anymore? Are you passionate enough about Singapore to do everything in your power to try and save it? Are you absolutely convinced that the government is wrong? Or is a simple police tactic of taking down your particulars enough to send you scurrying back?
Gandhi was but one man, but look what he did.
Really how hard have you tried? Have you tried to get you and your peers recognized as fellow citizens and true-blue Singaporeans by registering for a society permit, and only to have it flatly rejected year after year after year? Have you ever had your own night out crashed by the police simply for being in the company of like-minded people? Have you had a loved one horribly violated and hurt and not being able to get help and justice because the police just won’t care?
Most of you may not know this but all these and more happened and they happened much closer than you think. Thankfully, things are better now.
Singaporeans must stop this habit of being bullied into submission. Stop acting on hearsay. Get out there, find out what you can, then form an opinion. Know, intimately know who and what you are dealing with. Information is power. But information is nothing if it is not verified, analysed and understood.
And have a little faith in your fellow human. We are all trying the best we can, the way we can.
Only, are you?
Going by your standards, by writing what I have written here, I already am opening myself up for marking by “the powers”. I should kick back and enjoy my last cup of tea before the men in black come and take me away for even daring to promote independent thought, right?
Even if I did slam your concern, I think its warranted. There are worse places to live than in Singapore you know. Anyway if you don’t like it and you think you truly can’t do anything about it, leave.
On what basis is it “warranted”? How do you decide what is genuine and what is not? Please enlighten us on that.
Do you take pride to say that we are better than Ethiopia, Burma, Zimbabwe and find comfort in it?I think it is much more constructive and progressive for us to aspire to be like Denmark, Finland or Switzerland? If comparing yourself with Ethiopia, Burma and Zimbabwe can buy you some comfort, go ahead and enjoy it and i have no problem with that. But don’t expect me to do that with you.
What rights do you have to tell fellow citizens to leave the country? Aung San Suu Kyi doesn’t like the military junta and could not do anything about it under house arrest, but did she leave? She could have done that if she went to collect her Nobel Prize but she did not because she cared about the people of Burma more than anything else.
I think the most absurd thing one can do is to tell a fellow Singaporean that if he don’t like it here, he can just leave.
After all why should he leave, it is his country. He has as much right as you to stay here and do what he want to do, think what he want to think and say what he want to say. Are anyone so different that they can deny others this basic rights?
Point a gun at anyone, they fear. Deny them food, they starve. Cut them with a knife, they bleed. Forbid them water and they thirst. Unless you are telling me that the MIW do not feel all these things, then there is something wrong with them, not us.
The fundamental of any society is always to observe the will and norm of the majority. This is the very reason why the minorities are very easily outcast and discriminated against (gays in Singapore), or even burnt at stakes (witches in medieval time).
So if you or the MIW are so different that you all don’t bleed, don’t thirst, don’t get hurt, then people like you belongs to the minority and perhaps you should be telling yourself to get lost.
The rest of us are normal, so we stay and we will take back what rightfully belongs to us. Thank you.
Don’t be too presumptious “watchandlearn”, know your place in the pecking order.
Your master LKY would not have the gall to ask Singaporeans to leave !
There is already concern that too many have left and the country does not need more Singaporeans leaving.
The citizens have not run out of options to improve the political situation.
No doubt it is tough but nothing is impossible when one is dealing with humans.
The best is yet to be.
Think before you open your mouth “watchandlearn”, your two bit comments is not impressing anyone ,not even your political masters.
watchandlearn,
the topic is about the TC using public funds to promote the self-serving MIWs.ARE we celebrating MPs day or National Day?
Why are you spewing all other nonsense in order to defend the indefensibles?
Like the saying empty vessels make the most noise., It just aptly describes you!
watchandlearn, save your breath.
Like I said, the main issue here is about showing faces of PAP MPs on National Day billboards. Picking on the source of funds is just a confusing sidetrack, i.e. It doesn’t make people any happier even if the billboards are financed out of the MPs’ own pocket.
I talk about politics with friends frequently, and experience tells me that it’s often better to stop the discussion once the discussion veers off the main point.
I have also found that it’s more productive to:
- listen and identify real point even if you don’t agree with it
- check that you have gotten the message correctly
- convey just one main point at a time
- keep the discussion civilised, accurate, concise, and focused
Think about how to convey a convincing message, and try again!
The one who asked why is it that Mas Selamat never had such a large poster, makes me laugh. The largest poster I ever saw was dear leader Kim Jong-il’s portrait over Pyongyang. Just sharing this larger than life info with you.
/// 138) watchandlearn on August 13th, 2008 7.10 pm
I know I am being provocative and obtuse. ///
I was enjoying myself reading your exchanges and have not intended to wade into this. After so many entries, defending the indefensible, you finally said something that made sense. I agree 101% with your above statement, especially the last word.
I have watched and learned …
watchandlearn, don’t be impulsive. Be effective.
Don’t splatter all that is on your mind. Articulate just one cogent point.
Don’t give up. Watch and learn, try again.
QUOTE BEGIN
138) watchandlearn on August 13th, 2008 7.10 pm
I know I am being provocative and obtuse.
QUOTE END
138) watchandlearn on August 13th, 2008 7.10 pm
“Really how hard have you tried? Have you tried to get you and your peers recognized as fellow citizens and true-blue Singaporeans by registering for a society permit, and only to have it flatly rejected year after year after year? Have you ever had your own night out crashed by the police simply for being in the company of like-minded people? Have you had a loved one horribly violated and hurt and not being able to get help and justice because the police just won’t care? ”
You do not need to have a first-hand experience on electricity to know that it kills. Sometimes, you just need to know it from the regular experience of others. That is what we call “learn it from others”.
In fact, in our country, certain reported cases (if you know what I mean) are delibrately given prominence in our MSM to drive across certain points – my interpretation of course.
watchandlearn,
“As any good student of journalism knows, including a quote from an exotic source, no matter how irrelevant, automatically adds objectivity and depth to the piece.”
Thank you for pointing that out to me. I’m not a student of journalism and never knew that. From now on I shall try to quote from exotic sources more often in my articles.
“May I ask, why does your mysterious, helpful friend see fit to comment on Singapore’s political climate?”
She saw it fit to comment because I asked her and she responded.
“And why is the US model definitely the way to go when it comes to politics?”
Oh no of course we shouldn’t. A certain senior citizen said we will be finished if we have a revolving door political system like the US.
Bukit Batok is the only place that no MP photo is on the banner… but the banner looked kind of strange …
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_oYzEwTeZ9Tw/SKTNkm6TIyI/AAAAAAAAAy8/MiYlL_WPyfU/s1600-h/43+birthday+for+blog.JPG
Aiyah, I just tell you guys that my son is traumatised and you think I am funny. At least Andrew is concerned for him, I think he has compassion. My son prefers Mickey Mouse and not Pikachu and I know he is not traumatise by it,. “watchandlearn” you seem to be a knowlegaeble guy with good potential but you have to learn to be compassionate or at least pretend you care then you will go far in your political carreer if you hav’n't join any political party yet.. I think these comments are meant for citizens who care to voice out about certain issues that touches their hearts don’t be so serious la. For serious stuff, the ST forum, The young PAP. REACH is quite good go and take a look if you have not done so.
Proud or not? Singapore got olympic medal but not clinch by Singaporean?
> Proud or not? Singapore got olympic medal but not clinch by Singaporean?
Openness is the key. We are mostly second or third generation immigrants ourselves.
Openness towards people, ideas, and competition, coupled with democracy propels the USA into one of the strongest economy, political power and sporting nation.
If you are interested, please take a look at my comment (#4) in the article “Awarding scholarships – a reader’s view” (August 2008).
> Openness towards people, ideas, and competition, coupled with democracy propels the USA into one of the strongest economy, political power and sporting nation.
May I have your sincere answer then, do we practise the same degree of openess towards our very own people and the kind of democracy that is done in the USA.
It is Pap family day with you , their guests.
I do not want to say anything, because I am too scare & don’t want to be sued to become bankruptcy…