>
Video by Project 2011.
———

48 Responses to “NS For S’poreans, jobs for foreigners”

1. Tan Kin Lian 11 August 2008

Well done, TOC. You have carried the message across effectively.

I have written on several occasions in the national newspapers about the injustice that is being done to our Singaporean men through National Service, but my points have been ignored.

National Service has placed our males at a great disadvantaged compared to foreigners and females. Many Singaporeans girls prefer to marry foreigners, leaving Singaporean men to look for girls from poorer countries.

This is a key contributing reason for the low birth rate in Singapore.

I hope that our leaders realise this serious problem and take remedial measures immediately. I support the suggestion that Singaporean males should be given a gratuity or a big grant into their CPF account, on completing of two years of full time National Service.

2. “I hope that our leaders realise this serious problem and take remedial measures immediately. ”

… realize? I think they bloody well know it! But have got too much thin & thick skin on their faces to admit any flaws and or errors!

A sharo decline in voters and supporters should wake up their insolent attitudes!

3. Goodbye Man-Still No Job 11 August 2008

I am indeed hungry – but since losing my job in 2004 and more than a 100 applications later, there is still no light at the end of the job tunnel,
    I have read the newspapers of the thousand of jobs created the last few years – perhaps they must be going to foreigners, PRs or so call FTs ?
    What is happening ? Are Singaporeans being left out in the great push out in the hype to accomodate the other whites, brown, yellow ,black and mixed – what about our own Singaporean colours ? Do not NS count for something ? Already relegated to 2nd class in the job market, I am beginning to feel like a 3rd class citizen.
    For economical survival and my family , I have now to think of selling my house, packing my bags and to head elsewhere in Asia join the statistics of this rising category. Can the President, Ministers and Employers spare a thought for the ones who are displaced by the foreigners ?; FTs are welcomed but not at our own expense.

4. tiredsingaporean 11 August 2008

It’s so sad to see many “so-called Happy Singaporean” leaving the country for good these days. . . . . sigh!!!!

5. I’m sorry but the video doesn’t work. It’s just a screen there that doesn’t play. Other sites you can post video to: Metacafe.com Revver,com Blip.tv

6. i spent NS protecting government and foreigner’s assets. When I try to help ppl, I sign extra, when I harass ppl, they say its my job.

7. theonlinecitizen 11 August 2008

Hi Kelly,

It’s ok over here. Maybe something’s worng with your browser?

Andrew

8. Singapore should have the equivalent of the G.I Bill in America where servicemen are given places in university and interest free loans to see them through.

9. TKK, wait long long. . .

10. Now the video starts Andrew! Very odd. You have a few ppl in Youtube saying the video’s “gone”. May be Youtube problems.

11. I am a Malaysian PR for 6 years in Singapore . I have been working for a Finance MNC for 5 years …Most of the locals and even PRs are being replaced from other countries because of lower wages, eventually i resigned and try to look out for another job for i see there is no future in my current company. After 1 year of looking for a job i am still unemployed. Most of the job offering are given to new foreign workers because they cost 30% less then local PR and singaporean’s. Recruitment Agencies have incentive to introduce foreign workers as they get more commission from the candidates . When i apply for any of the jobs they require me to have at least 5 working years experience in them even though i 70% of their requirement ..they told me if they cant get it locally they want to hire foreigner… The question is when will ppl give someone a chance to learn when every new jobs need total experience… hence more a good excuse for more foreign workers. I am even now thinking of selling my house and move to other country.

12. Meli-go-lound 11 August 2008

Our respected Mr Tan said, “I hope our leaders realise this serious problem and take remedial actions..” on the subject of reasons of low birth rates..”

Lets face it, do you not believe our garmen don’t know the seriousness of the problem, and dont know the causes of it??? Really, paid-millions-of-dollars ministers DON’T KNOW, ??? Who are we trying to kid?? (Mr Tan, sorry I am not referring to you personnally, so please dont misunderstand and feel offended. I am only referring to what you said, and that is also I believe whats going on in many people’s minds too).

They are the smartest (as MM always said we get the best people..) that PAP has. And I can safely tell they undoubtedly know the seriousness of the low birth problem. They have a DIFFERENT AGGENDA, that’s it. And if they really dont know the seriousness of the lowbirth problem, then they shouldnt be there right and be paid obsenely high wages ? So what are we saying and beloieving.

13. Agenda? To understand how the country works, always think of it as a company. ie, Singapore Inc. Then everything would be crystal clear. Singaporean would eventually be useful as security guards (NS) .

14. Dickson 11 August 2008

What more is there to say? We have been betrayed

15. Nice video! Not having entered the working world yet (i’m still studying), I cant really comment on that area, but I think it’s really getting quite scary that EVERY eatery you go to know is staffed by foreigners. How did the businesses get by before the foreigners started coming in? More importantly, what happened to those people replaced by these foreigners?

btw, I think the example of the pilot trainee may not be that apt. If i’m not wrong he’s a regular (being a pilot trainee), so maybe it’s not the best example. But i do get your point :)

16. Watching the Beijing Games and TOC’s video – an idea came – would it not be possible to spot and train NS men in the sports they are good at, and prepare for the future games instead of relying on foreigners.
    Even though it may be an initial 2 years – the spotted talents can be further channelled to overseas training like Thai weight lifters training in China; to foreign coaches like Australian divers and gymnasts having Chinese coaches.

The thousands of NS men and reservists cannot be discriminated if they are made part of the national program – they may even get a visit from the President.
    The SSC and Mindef can follow up and work out the details.

17. That is why i boycotted the ND. No point to be loyal, this govt treat us like pariah !!

18. Ex-NS Great idea but spotted by who and when (then can) get spotted? I was best athelete in my class (in fact fastest runner in my grade” for 4 years) and no one suggested I ran for my country. Much later in life I often wondered how Singaporeans get into the Olympics!! You need to have someone who can MAKE YOU. Perhaps someone from the Sports Council or something.

19. Upon notifying my employer (MNC) of my SAF100 served to me recently, I received a one word reply.

‘AGAIN?’

20. GS you hit a note there! I feel employers should be more willing to voice out their displeasure at the “constant call for men to go for their reservists’ ” (on the flipside, what is ‘constant’ to them may not be constant to the ‘government’).

Employers should also be more compassionate to allow their employees to attend courts (take annual or no-pay leave), especially whereby children’s maintenance are defaulted and legal action need to be taken. It’s not the adults who suffer – it’s the kids who are deserving of an education.

By the way, there is also gross inequality where National Service is concerned – ever noticed that Malays (Muslims) are so conveniently excused from National Service? Or am I mistaken in this?

21. My son who recently joined a foreign bank was called up for resv. This co employed many foreigners n FTs except my son a singaporean. He told his boss that he need to go for his resv. (since he is newly employed for abt 3+ mths ) Of course his boss is’nt happy at all n told my son to get a deferment as he has alot of things to do. This is the disadvantage to our singapore men who need to serve NS and later resv. So that is why most of the MNC n SME prefer to employ foreigners or FTs rather than singapore men who are obliged to do resv.

22. It’s the usual story of most SG males in their mid 20s to late 30s who have to fight tooth and nail on the work front to keep their jobs – constantly bending over.

Bending over to put in OT for the employer to keep the job and justify being away during ICT.
    Bending over during ICT, so that we can Out-Process asap and get back to work or family.

After bending over, we still have to turn around 180, say our thanks, pay for the tissue paper to clean up and again show appreciation that there was tissue provided out of consideration.

No wonder SG men are perceived to be a weak lot, always bending over.

23. To add insult to injury, it was recently said that the young people lack the hunger?

24. Hairy thanks for your input. It didn’t occur to me why MNCs & SMEs prefer foreign employees till I read yours.

I know of someone who has a scholarship to study in Australia, applied for NS deferment. He didn’t get it. Pleaded. Govt didn’t budge. Same for those who had local scholarships. The reasoning was “national service” should come above one’s academic attainment.

25. Hunger in overseas leads to vicious and bloody riots and clashes. Are they prepared for the flip side of the coin too?

26. I don’t get it RS – Who hungry and affects who? Pls clarify RS.

27. NS overseas Notification – ALERT (must read)
    ====================================

This is a real story. Is factual not made up. If you are still active on reservist you have to read this or unless you have deep pockets to contribute to our government on their legitimate, not corrupted and most deserving 7 digit pay.

Most of our job require us to travel often on overseas assignment. One fine day, I received notification that few years back 2004/2005, I had failed to notify Mindef on my oversea trip. Have wrote in emails, faxing and leaving behind messages to the authority BUT without any response to my appeal against the one-sided offence.

On this eventful day, after completing yet another high key from reservist 2weeks back, I was with my business partners on business trip. While crossing the Singapore Airport custom. I was arrested. READ : ARRESTED AS A CRIMINAL. It was an embrassing moment as you could imagine. I was told that I have to be hand-cuffed for reasons that I could not imagine, have my flight cancelled. The shock and trauma I have to endure just because I was not informed of the outcome of my appeal above.

This is a country that will make you feel so 2nd class more than anywhere else as a citizen. We wasted > 2years serving the army and is consistently disrupted from our work for holiday camps aka reservist – high key / low keys etc. We pledge to our nation our loyalty etc etc. Make a guess how many days you need to be in Singapore to become a PR. You are going to be shocked if you know the answer.

Obviously, our government hand out citizenship/PR to the world, never ever consider the citizens here. So, to my fellow singaporeans, make sure you notify on your overseas trips if you are unfortunate to be a male singaporeans – unless you want to be arrested at the airport. This is more than a ‘FINE’ nation and beware of the authorities.

28. >>>>Make a guess how many days you need to be in Singapore to become a PR. You are going to be shocked if you know the answer.

30 days to 90 days, and at least $100,000 to 1 million bond to govt.

A China woman with no qualifications whatsoever (husband isa Singaporean hawker) can be Singapore PR within 2 f—g short years? And get this, their son was born in China. Later I found out, the woman’s father was some beer-manufacturing mogul in Xiamen.

As opposed to someone (an Indian man from India) who’s made Singapore his home for the last 16 years and has 2 sons born in Singapore. Singaporean Indian wife. I have long suspected the govt has its own wierd ways to decide who they want to make as Singapore PR.

This is a friend’s experience. He received a summon to pay for “lost equipment” (during his National Days) when he already told he returned to equipment to xx 4 years ago. ‘Audit’ of documents is really slow!! How can anyone attend trial for something that he may have already forgotten? Just beats me!

29. Anthony M. Martinez 29 August 2008

I am interested in finding out about jobs for immigrants from China. My wife will be admitted to the United States next year in April, 09, via a Marriage Visa along with my step-daughter. She speaks very little English, is there any type of work or job she can do without being proficient in English??…..Please let me know as soon as possible…What is your suggestions besides learning English first at college or adult education center…..Thanks a Million….Anthony M. Martinez

30. hi, i am colombian, 31 years young, single, and i need a job.

31. Resume

Briefly describe your ideal job.Your degree.
    My name is Umid, surname Eshmurodov.I have a degree of master of arts specialization English. I am looking for job demanding responsibility ,influencing to the development of the company, work with highly qualified and experienced partners in order to enhance my capabilty.

How do you think a friend or professor who knows you well would describe you?
    Responsible,serious,tolerable to complications,hates liars,appreciates honestness.

What motivates you to put forth your greatest effort?
    Trust of people, Obligation,responsibility.

How do you determine or evaluate success?
    I determine success from the results of my work, my slogan “Try hard and you get success”

In what ways do you think you can make a contribution to our organization?
    My contribution depends on the job which will be offered me to do, then I’ll toil for the benefit of the organization.

Was there an occasion when you disagreed with a supervisor’s decision or company policy?
    Describe how you handled the situation.
    No.But if i am wrong I confess, if I am right I exhort them to make more profitable decision with my evidences and examples.

What criteria are you using to evaluate the organization for which you hope to work?
    Legalness,frienliness with foreigners, strictness in job process,honestness.

Why should we hire you over the others waiting to be interviewed?
    I am insisting, I cant boast myself to be hired by you. I assert, you don’t regret.

Give us details of your present Employment Status.
    Uzbekistan. Termez economical college,teacher of English language.

How long can you work with our company?
    4-5 years.

What is your Future Plans for Our Company if Permanently Employed?
    To make a career, to make more contribution for the development of the company, to deserve their respect.

Give us your full details on the Following; Full Name, Permanent Mailing Address,Office/Work Mailing Address, Contact Number(s).

Eshmurodov Umid Temurovich. Uzbekistan/Termez city/4th microregion/house 4/room 44
    postal code:7330011. E.mail:libra-84@mail.ru
    Passport C/V: cs 0924463

What is your Country of Nationality? Is it different from your present location?
    Uzbekistan.No.

If married, do you intend to relocate with your family?
    Not married.

Salary Expected Per Month (In Dollars)
    high salary.

Work experience.
    2 years

32. wayang123 23 April 2009

>>”NS For S’poreans, jobs for foreigners”

ministers and their sons are mostly exempted from from NS, they never actually had to go thru the full 30 years of torment. if they were to lead by example by actually serving NS like any commoner, without the strips and stars attached, welfare for NS will be entirely different

33. woshizhonghuarenming 23 April 2009

I am come from Beijing. I got free scholarship studies here from sec 2. Now I in NTU. I really like your country leaders. I will go USA for my PhD and career so I cannot take your jobs and take citizenship with NS

34. SGyellowturban 23 April 2009

We never hear about this complain in the past, I wonder what or who triggered this. Anyway, I hope the GOV will think less of making money and think more of showing love for its people. A rich country without peoples’ support is never the same in times of despair.

35. Mr Philips You 23 April 2009

#34 A rich country without peoples’ support is never the same in times of despair.
    haha well said,.let that be our slogan this NDP09

36. Full time Investor, Part time officer 22 May 2009

What you have written really pains my heart that our local born citizens are treated like second class citizens and I am beginning to feel the same way too. Now I understand how the Australians feel.

Recently there have been many unhealthy developments in Singapore Society, the widening gap between the rich and the poor, government subsiding the studies of foreigners or rather what they termed as so called foreign talents in exchange for their comittment to take up PR and work in Singapore for 3 years. What a great deal man!!!! Or they offer scholarships to them for free and even pay for their living expenses. My friend told me that some of his friends who applied for study subsidies in university from SINDA were rejected even though they were able to enter. Because SINDA is using their funds to subsidy the studies of Indian born Indians. I have heard complaints that local students are rejected from nursing schools though they are totally eligible for entry. Because there is a quota reserved for foreigners! So the logic now is that they rather help foreigners to enter our local universities and subsidies their studies with tax from our hard earned money rather than to give the opportunities to our local born Singaporean students who serve NS and who risk their lives and endure hardship to protect our beloved country! WHAT THE F***!!!!!!

37. Man, not part of the territory 3 November 2009

I am duin my higher studies here, I spent nearly 40k SGD as a course fee and around 10-20k 2 yrs expenses. Now I cant get a job here.

38. Just vote wisely in the 2011 elections..

39. all the pigs are heavily invested in property.

A fall in property prices hurt them a lot more than ordinary citizen.

If they lose their MP job, there is no way that can sustain the monthly payment of that many property loan.

So, they need to keep the property prices high.

That’s why they pay these fts using public monies.

40. alamak
    why sg people do NS n protect sg
    but end up with jobs ($) go to forlerners?
    alamak

41. Wake up! 18 February 2010

So fellow Singaporeans who are reservist…..

So fellow Singaporeans who have sons in NS or reservist…..

So fellow Singaporeans who have sons going into NS…..

What is your decision? Continue with more of the same? or go for a Decisive Change?

42. Mao Ting Ting aka Ah Mui Looong de Cheez 18 February 2010

Hi Wake up!,

you effort in waking people here up is futile.
    We are here because we have woken up already.
    You need to think of how to wakeup people who are apathetic.

My worry and concern is sigaporeans in general seem to accept all policies without much bother to talk about it openly and publicly. I think this is nothing new to singaporeans who have not changed.

influx : sporeans seem to accept even if buay tahanly.
    jobs statistics using residents  : sporeans seem to accept even if buay tahanly.
    HDB pricing : so high already and still sporeans seem to accept even if buay tahanly.
    Investments and untold stories : ditto.
    population explosion and replacement :  ditto.

what is going on with sporeans?

43. Watching the video swelled my eyes with water. so touching.
    It reminded me of the sweat , tears and time spent.
    some of my friends came out unscaved while others got injuries and the unfortunate ones died if not paralysed either seriously or partially.
    all in all, it was a fun time to serve all as we love all.

ready to protect residents.

44. tiredsingaporean 18 February 2010

Its time all singaporeans should just start thinking very hard what do you want rather than letting the statues quo to lead you people into modern time slavery just to keep a handful of self created elites and their friends to reward themselves with millions and millions out of taxpayers money.

45. go away do-gooders 18 February 2010

“‘why sg people do NS n protect sg
    but end up with jobs ($) go to forlerners?”
    Because we not hungry enough to know how to fight for our own interests & insist persistently and make loud enough voices to get heard like what some foreigners would do.  So some self-appointed do-gooders will do it on your behalf taking you for granted and thinking that the whole world (oops sg only lah)  may collapse or some imminent bad prophecies may befall us should we carry on without the do-gooders around.

46. Man, not part of the territory
    Nov 3, 2009 13:35 “I am duin my higher studies here, I spent nearly 40k SGD as a course fee and around 10-20k 2 yrs expenses. Now I cant get a job here.”

Thanks for the contribution to our GDP. Please return to your own territory and spread the horror stories that spending SGD60k and you cannot find a job here.

47. Nice message. The video editing could be improved though.
    It’s really sad to see that the gvt views citizens are dispensable commodities which can be “replaced” by foreigners-turned-to-citizens when the originals are no longer up to standard. TBQH, I’m not that against foreign imports, because it is very important for any country to attract the best and the brightest from other countries. Hence do not just see the injustice in bringing in foreign scholars. Besides, these scholars are relatively few in numbers per year per country (e.g. only twenty from Vietnam). The grades A,B,E aren’t exactly impressive enough to get into universities. We can’t just lower the standards and jeopardise meritocracy so that every Singaporean may enter university. Another option will be to open up new universities. For example, I know of many many peers who have stellar grades but have to study overseas because popular faculties like law and med have limited spaces. With a burgeoning population, it is obvious that the three major tertiary institutions are no longer adequate to accommodate all the students.
    As for NS… well, we can’t expect foreigners with no loyalty to Singapore to defend us right? I think the problem regarding job competition between locals and foreigners lies is the TYPE of jobs. Obviously most Singaporeans would not settle much for lower-paying blue-collared jobs (domestic helpers, construction workers) and hence these go to foreigners. But I’ve often heard complaints about why Singapore only attracts the low-skilled “farmers from villages of China”. Then would you rather there be more professional foreigners competing for professional white-collared jobs? (Which is rather the case now, from what we can see.)
    I think the important thing that must be changed is the employer’s discriminatory policies. Why hire an employee based on his nationality/race? Shouldn’t it be a matter of skills? I do not for one believe that ALL Singaporeans are better than foreigners, or vice versa, in any particular skill. One’s ability is not determined by his nationality, race, gender, etc.
    However I also think that the problem is aggravated by the uncontrolled influx of foreigners due to the gvt’s lax immigration policies. Too much of something is bad enough, so says the Spice Girls song.
    It is also very obvious that there is a lack of faith by the gvt in its own people’s ability. Sometimes I feel as though the people themselves lack this faith in themselves. It’s really hilarious considering all the achievements Singapore has achieved, which Singaporeans are very proud of. I think it is important for the gvt to HAVE FAITH in the people (and not say to China “you have the creme de la creme, I only have the labourers” *rolls eyes*) in order for the people to have faith in the gvt. Mutual respect is obviously lacking here.
    Singaporeans also need to change their mindset I guess. Migration is an inevitable byproduct of globalisation and it’s here to stay, unless the country wants to close up, be self-sufficient like NK. We often hear that “no one owes Singapore a living.” I think this already reflects the gvt’s mentality that no citizen can demand the state to give him his livelihood. Personally I feel that is wrong because the state exists for the citizens, by that I mean both first- and second-gen citizens. While it is important to try and change the gvt policies to regulated immigration of FTs, I think the locals’ increasingly xenophobic tendencies will also aggravate the situation to their own detriment. We need to help make the foreign talents STAY and becoming citizens, not use the country as a stepping stone. The US was once just a place for people all over to work and then go back home with their savings, but majority of them stayed in the end. We need to ask, why?
    That brings me to my question: If NS is a determinant of a man’s Singaporean-ness, what about women? And also, is a second-generation Singaporean more Singaporean/more important/deserves more benefits than a foreigner-recently-turned-Singaporean?