Tuesday, August 5, 2008 10:57

The GRC cancer

In Quotes • 817 views • 15 Comments

We shouldn’t be fooled into thinking that GRCs are the only way to be sensitive to minority-race citizens.

Alex Au

1. Facebook’s bra colour campaign for breast cancer hurts more than it helps
  2. Chiam asks for two-member GRCs
  3. The relation between GRCs and cabinet appointments
  4. Double-barrelled but no big impact

15 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Jacob
Aug 5, 2008 21:20

As Gandhi Ambalam, Chairman of SDP, has famously said on many occassions, GRC stands for Group Representation Conspiracy! :-)

Curse You
Aug 5, 2008 21:55

Alex,

Do you seriously think that LAU GOH and LKY will reduce the no. of members in GRC? I can bet he will increase it to 7 members GRC and up the deposit. Now they are even more afraid of losing, like what happened to BN. All the talk is for show only, showing IBA-HR and the western world that the gahmen is thinking of being more democratic to the opposition. Only fools will believe LAU GOH stories, his promises of more good years have not materialize. Save your effort in promoting PR concept that you mentioned in your blog. Only a listening Gahmen can effectively improved themselves while a arrogant one, know the best for you type will lose big in 2011. I rather PAP continue to be arrogant and heartless so that they get voted out big time. : >

FG

Wizard
Aug 6, 2008 9:22

Reduce the GRC numbers – dream on.

In 1963 PAP captured 37 or 75% of 51 seats with just 47% of the votes and that was with so many prominent opposition members in cold storage.

In 2006, the opposition with captured 2 or 2.3% of the 84 seats with 33.3% of the votes.

This site http://www.singapore-elections.com/ provides the stats for the past elections and analysis of the figures will reveal the critical thinking behind the need for GRC and the increase of election deposit to negate the growing support for the opposition. Thus as support for opposition grows so will the GRC member numbers and election deposit. My thinking is that with the introduction of the Mayorship, the GRC will be made bigger perhaps to 8-10 and eventually into 4 major townships with a Major and his team of 20, making 84 seats

Ebenezeron
Aug 6, 2008 13:14

Quote The Pledge:

“We, the people of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of race, language or religion, to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation” . Unquote.

Forty-three years of nationhood have gone by and the pledge as quoted above has achieved nothing to build “One United People”. Aren’t the minorities and the majority, SIN-ans, and share everything in common? Why should there be GRCs to represent the minorities’ interest? Isn’t the SIN Constitution sufficient and adequate to guarantee every citizen equal rights and impartial justice as a SIN-an?

SIN is such a minute city-state, densely populated with all the races living side by side. By now, Ah Kow could accept Ahmad and Subramaniam as brothers equal before the law and the Constitution. So could Jeena accept Ah Moi and Aminah as sisters. The same goes with Sarah Barker and James Conceicao. Why this hype of GRCs? It goes deeper than what it was intended for if you could read the minds of PAP systems engineers.

The GRC will ensure the death of the oppositions however talented or imbeciles they are. There’s absolutely no neccessity for GRCs for the tiny red dot. Where in the world do you have such an engineered electoral system?

As I see it, the only recourse to a fair and just electoral system is to hold a referandum of democratic proven, fair and just systems for the people to decide. And to ensure no election riggings, corruption and abuse of power or infringements of electoral rules and regulations, etc, is to have the International Community, the UN, to oversee and observe every GE.

The foregoings may be an affront to the PAP virtually one-party government for too long and too far but it’s the only alternative to groundswells, disquiet and unrest, let alone revolts and revolutions as is happening around the world.

It’s now up to the people of SIN to decide their own fate and hopes. Every citizen has a rightful numbered vote to endorse or eliminate the one-party government, hopefully, at the next GE.

veerapan
Aug 6, 2008 14:53

Why does the Election’s Department come under the purview of the PM’s Office anyway?

less_means_more?
Aug 6, 2008 16:00

I wonder if having huge GTRs that require many many representatives, does that not mean very much more difficult for opps?

And when GTR becomes so large that automatically means less GTR to contest. Thus the less can be won or lost.

not sure dio boh like dat rationalising.

people_no_want_have_oppos_50_years_long?
Aug 6, 2008 16:07

While this site majority are not so song,
i wonder why majority chose not to have oppose for almost half a CENTURY already?

Maybe they want 1 nation under 1 party ? Very perplexing.

But of course, I am have no answer to the above.

That is why I ask.

when asked the ministor on cna morning show chinese version, why less hang the flag nowdays, he said perhaps they busy no time to do that. The best part is how the 2 comperes support this thinking. They so handsome and pretty.

singapore media world class or not?

Ya la. Perplexing lah.
Aug 6, 2008 17:31

“7) people_no_want_have_oppos_50_years_long? on August 6th, 2008 4.07 pm
i wonder why majority chose not to have oppose for almost half a CENTURY already?”

Buay song but also must wait and be patient lah. Everything has its time and place lah. We did not have internet for millenniums leh and out of a sudden internet appeared about 10 years ago. Out of a sudden now you know a lot buay song. Very perplexing also.

“The best part is how the 2 comperes support this thinking.”

Some people’s role is to act lah. No choice, if it is their job to act, they must show their best act lah. Ha, this part is not perplexing lah but has that kind of unbearable and awful smell.

lee
Aug 6, 2008 18:11

I am not legally trained but I can’t help wondering how come no one come to challenge the constitutional legality of GRCs? If the ruling party can set and change the electoral rules as they like and to their advantage, where then is the fairness to the opposition candidates and the choice of the electorate?
btw, chances of the Pappies reducing the GRCs, I would say Fat Hope!. LKY had
engineered the election rules and had realised the GRCs would allowed them to be entrenched power for a long time unless there is revolution among the people. which I doubt so knowing the 3Ks mentality of the people (Kasu,kiasi,kiabo)

you_forgot
Aug 6, 2008 22:14

there is another k : kiasai.
ke ke ke..

kelly
Aug 7, 2008 13:53

Probably they want to imitate real estate agents who feel the need to splash their faces on every ad. Call it “National Branding” but I’d prefer if the government keep the money to assist the unfortunate. :)

keepdogswhichprotectwealth
Aug 7, 2008 14:54

kelly,

i think you post your comment in the wrong section. I think you wanted to comment on Gerald Giam’s faces on banners article right?

kelly
Aug 7, 2008 15:55

Ooops! How did my comment come here? Thank you keepdogswhichprotectwealth! :)

smokescreen
Aug 7, 2008 17:02

It is a fact the PAP introduced the GRC concept to increase their advantage over the opposition, confirmed by the immense margin of victory. Having minority representation through GRC is utter CRAP ! Does anyone recall any worthy representation by the PAP MPs in parliament ?
This cancerous GRC scheme will not be the last. It is in the PAP’s nature to continue their brainstorming for more elaborate schemes as a backup. They are truly afraid to lose. Just think of the consequences to the incumbent should the skeletons fall out from the closet.
Over the years I view the PAP as the cancer that we have allowed to thrive at our expense.

jiangbao
Dec 3, 2009 12:56

The GRC is the biggest BS in the world…. back in the old days, When there is no such thing as GRC, din guys like S. Jayakumar win his own seat? If the minority is good, ppl will vote regardless of who is standing there regardless PAP or opposition.

Beside since the govt says the ppl they selected are so great, why worry about ppl not supporting them.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook