Friday, August 8, 2008 0:42

TOC writers’ National Day thoughts

In TOC Feature • 689 views • 9 Comments

Below is an email exchange I had with a friend, Edmund, a new member of TOC.

Andrew, I remember when I was much younger, in my school days and NS Days, the National Day Parade (NDP) was a must-see on TV. When I was a boy scout, I craved to participate in it.

That patriotism has long gone. In fact, I have not watched the Parade for more than 10 years already. The only thing that interests me is the fireworks, that’s it.

When I was in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, in 2003, I read an article on the Internet that the spore’s NDP attracted 120,000 people celebrating at Marina Bay (can’t remember the exact location) – I told myself that is insane. Lethbridge (the 3rd largest city in the Province of Alberta) only has a population of 70,000. Our NDP alone attracted 120,000 ppl in one small plot of land?

There is really nothing for me to feel proud of in being a Singaporean.

The reason why I came back, is job, job, job – that’s it. I basically have no sense of belonging to S’pore – mainly because of the Government. Singapore is too much intertwined with the PAP, as though they are siamese twins.

Singapore is so different now, compared to, say, 10 or 20 years ago, when one felt a sense of bond to the country. That part of me is gone, and lost. Sometimes, I wonder if those good old days will return one day.But that will never happen. I miss those days! I believe it is going to get worse. I often admire those who say they love S’pore as their country, but not the PAP. I do wonder how true that really is. No offense please, Andrew. That feeling of disgust and wearing of red on National Day to heed the PAP’s call – really makes me sick and want to throw up.

So, that is my feeling for National Day.

That is all I have to say.

Edmund Lam

——–

Hi Edmund,

I can understand how you feel. At times I too feel the same. I wonder if it is because people like you and me have a too-deep sense of fairness, and whether that is a good thing. haha.

Nonetheless, I think a nation or a country is where you’re anchored. The place of your birth, of your parents and grandparents. Yes, it is a relentlessly uphill task to preserve what we hold dear and close to our hearts, especially in the face of a determined government who seems hell-bent on all things economic and money-making. Perhaps what will keep us sane are our families and loved ones.

For me, maybe I am naive or idealistic, but I await the day when citizens’ voices are loud enough to make a significant difference. Will I ever see that day? I don’t know. But it’s this hope that keeps me going. It’s also why I’m doing what I’m doing – despite all the fatalistic and negative comments I hear all around me.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Andrew

——–

1. TOC welcomes 5 new writers
  2. The thoughts of an NSman to a friend
  3. TOC award for best articles/reports by its writers
  4. National service, national responsibilities
  5. The Singapore of our National Pledge

9 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Nifty Blogs - The Online Citizen « Safe In A Crazy World
Aug 8, 2008 11:43

[...] voice from what you get in mainstream press i.e The Straits Times. for example, today’s feature is about the lack of patriotism in some citizens even when preparations for the National Day parade [...]

tunkudon
Aug 8, 2008 12:12

totally feel the same .. no more i love my country (pap) no sense of belonging . more like pap birthday . tomorrow all the ghost will celebrate with you(pap)

hongjun
Aug 8, 2008 18:33

National Day to me is
Got off day or not?

Just one Singaporean
Aug 8, 2008 18:42

Edmund Lam

You have nicely described our present situation. Singapore is too much intertwined with the PAP.

Singapore should be intertwined with every Singaporean. They are so successful in dominating every “sense of space” that a lot of people feel left out in the process. Of course, there will always be those who really benefit from the system.

Any level of participation for those not really included in the true sense has that uncomfortable pseudo effect.

Beijing 0808
Aug 8, 2008 19:08

The newspaper reports that only half thinks that Singapore is good for the kids……
When parents think and act, the young are influenced…..

Sometimes I wonder why we work so hard….other than for economical survival, for what now when I too have no more feeling for National Day.

Increasingly Citizens’ voices are not meant to be heard anymore.

Moving on, it seems that my neighbourhood too no longer fly the Singapore flag.

Luckily there is the Beijing Games on now and it will drown out thoughts of President and Ministers’ salaries, FTs, Mas Selamat, Peanuts, etc for a while

Dan
Aug 9, 2008 10:09

Me too. I can’t help feeling more excited with the Olympics than our NDP. The biggest problem, I feel is the make up of the new generation of Singaporean is very different now and this generation of PAP leaders are not embracing it.

We want to have a voice in how decisions are made… not another Show Time in parliament for our MPs to talk among themselves on national television.

I continue to worry about Singapore….

Olivebranch
Aug 10, 2008 20:58

You summed up exactly my feelings. Why? because this govt force me so.
Actually the other night, I had more pride as a Chinese watching the Olympics opening because it was awesome and the Chinese govt did not make it a propaganda show unlike our NDPs which I had stopped watching many years ago because I know it would be the same old propandanda crap year in and out.
Some may say National Day in about Singapore and PAP is well…
But you can’t help it if the govt always equate PAP as Singapore.
Just look at the coffers huge posters and billboards all over the island and you
get the idea.

wahtever
Aug 13, 2008 12:35

walao leh u u think wad act seh ah dun think juz coz u study abroad can keh kiang HOR

Keh KIang no good lah
Aug 13, 2008 12:49

8) wahtever on August 13th, 2008 12.35 pm

So what u think seh and what say you leh. Some ppl are drooling all over their shirt to get outside people leh – not only those keh kiang ppl who studied abroad.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook