Main Stories, Top Story, Uncle Leong's corner, Uniquely Spore - Written on Monday, September 1, 2008 10:57 - 42 Comments

A tale of two countries

Leong Sze Hian / Columnist

Politicians should stick to what they do best – politicking!

I refer to the various news reports of Ms Lee Bee Wah’s apology and the press conference by the Minister for Community, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan. (See links below.)

I would like to contrast Singapore’s silver medal win with Jamaica’s haul of six golds in the Beijing Olympics.

When Singapore became independent in 1965, one of the countries which Singapore looked to, as a model, was Jamaica (Source : the book “Jamaica Betrayed” by Professor Locksley I Lindo of the University of the West Indies).

Jamaica – graciousness and forgiveness

As highlighted in the media all over the world, the Jamaicans have perhaps been unique in that almost none of its athletes have succumbed to offers of money and citizenships to run for other developed and rich countries.

The patriotism of the Jamaicans, and their success in developing world class sporting talents, despite its economic state – its per capita income is many times less than Singapore’s and population is about half Singapore’s – is something that we could learn from. In 2006, Jamaica’s per capita GDP was US$4,600, compared to US$31,400 for Singapore.

The Jamaicans have shown us that importing foreign talents, which in the case of our table-tennis team were 100 per cent former Chinese nationals, may not be the only way to become world class in sports.

As a Singaporean, I look forward to the day when another Singaporean, like Mr Tan Howe Liang, wins a medal for Singapore.

The Olympics, which was incepted in 776 BC, was originally a festival meant to be a celebration of the achievements of the human body (source : Wikipedia), and there were no medals or monetary rewards. It is only in modern times, that perhaps emphasis (too much) has been given to the winning of medals.

Another contrast is perhaps that whilst the entire Jamaican nation is celebrating in unity, Singapore is mired in the controversy of the departure of our table-tennis team manager, and the uncertain tenure of our head coach.

Even the dropping of the baton by the Jamaican relay team hardly received any recriminations in Jamaica. Such graciousness in forgiving mistakes is perhaps something that we can learn from too.

Singapore – questions left unanswered

Although the president of the STTA has apologised for causing “any grievances and stress”, many questions were left unanswered at the press conference. For example, the fact that Mr Anthony Lee will have to leave the STTA, even though he has been given another three months to write his Olympic reports at STTA.

The head coach has now become one of two head coaches separately for the men’s and women’s teams. Since we had a winning formula that worked so well that we have an Olympic medal, why the sudden change now to have two separate head coaches?

As reported in the media, why did the head coach say on one day that he was happy to stay and continue, but the next day that he was having second thoughts?

Why did it take such a long time (8 days), and only after ministerial intervention, before an apology was given? Apology notwithstanding, I think Singaporeans may still like to know what actually transpired.

As to the remarks by the minister that “some mistakes were made”, can we be given more details as to what they were, and who made them?

Since the decision not to renew the team manager’s contract was made before the team left for the Olympics, why wasn’t he told, such that he had to “learn it from someone else”?

What were the reasons for not renewing his contract? As to the reason given earlier by the president of the STTA that the team manager’s contract was due to expire on 31 August, I am puzzled by the manager’s remarks that he never had a contract with the STTA, and that he had yet to hear from the STTA or the SSC regarding his future.

As our table-tennis is arguably Singapore’s most successful sport, and our best medal hope which the team delivered exemplarily to end our 48-year medal glut, is this the way to treat its manager and head coach?

I think the millions of Singaporeans who have been rooting for the team with our eyes glued to television screens deserve a better explanation than the one offered – that: “As for the change in the team management structure, the association is looking to recruit a CEO and a technical director. Once these positions are filled, STTA will decide who the next team manager will be”.

Perhaps Mr Choo Wee Khiang, the former President of the STTA, who led it for some 20 years until only about a month ago, can shed some light on the above.

Accountability

Although parliamentarians are also human, I think some Singaporeans may expect a much higher standard of accountability and transparency for their actions, particularly on issues that receive worldwide coverage, like the Olympics.

With regard to the remarks that “(the) sport could learn from this incident”, this saga may raise a fundamental question – and that is, why do we have politicians heading sports associations?

Shouldn’t those with the experience, interest and passion for the sport be leaders instead?

For example, we had a politician who lead the Football Association of Singapore (FAS). Ask any football fan, and the goal stated of getting to the World Cup Finals in 2010, is a joke, considering our dismal showing in recent years. Of course, Goal 2010 has since been abandoned.

Perhaps politicians should stick to what they know best – “politiking-ly” speaking!

The author was a former Honorary Consul of Jamaica to Singapore

News reports:

“I didn’t say they would be sacked.” (Today, Aug 25)

“Is something seriously wrong.” (Today, Au 25)

“Sports body, not a business.” (Today, Aug 25)

“Move is too harsh.” (Today, Aug 25)

“We are puzzled.” (Today, Aug 25)

“Why so glum?: They’ve attained Singapore’s greatest sporting achievement in 48 years. You wouldn’t have guessed that from their expressions.” (New Paper, Aug 27)

“I’m sorry, Singapore.” (ST, Aug 30)

————–

1. Philippines must demand deep and early cuts in GHG emissions from developed countries in Copenhagen
  2. The ability of countries to reduce their emissions will vary, says PM Lee
  3. Sharing of information between 3 countries led to Mas Selamat’s arrest – Star Online
  4. Bloggers up in arms over Lee Bee Wah’s actions
  5. Ms Lee Bee Wah: A new broom sweeps indiscriminately

42 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

BigFoot
Sep 1, 2008 11:23

The STTA was headed by Lim Kim San, who was a minister. Now they give the job to a MP.

Anyway, Ng Ser Miang had a hidden message for her by presenting her a pair of over-sized shoes.

It is either she had stepped on others’ toes or her feet are too big for the shoes.

http://i346.photobucket.com/albums/p408/bluediamond888/bigshoes.jpg

http://i346.photobucket.com/albums/p408/bluediamond888/bigfeet-01.jpg

My Foot
Sep 1, 2008 12:04

You mentioned accountability: It runs from the top through the line. If thecolumn is not straight, how can you expect the support beam be straight.
(chinese proverbs).

I am disturbed that whenever a mistkae is make, the offender simply says “Let’s move on…” . We should forgive and forget but that should not be a excuse to commit mistakes and expect forgiveness MUST be given.

If one is not sincere in seeking forgiveness and gracious enough to accept, then don’t ACT it out.

I remember my lecturers and trainers always say “ppl can feel your sincerity. You can’t bluff.”

sarek_home
Sep 1, 2008 12:08

I would like to add some questions.

Why is Ms Lee Bee Wah elected as president?
What was her tie with STTA before that?
What qualify her as the president of STTA?
What is the STTA Consitution or By-Laws that govern its operations and president election?
Is there a meeting minutes for the STTA president election meeting?

Look at the STTA Board Members list, does it really need so many members? What do they do? How much are they paid?

Advisers
Ms. Grace Fu Hai Yien
Mr. Liang Eng Hwa
Mr. Yeo Guat Kwang
Mr. Chan Soo Sen
Mr. Choo Wee Khiang

Honorary Presidents
Mr. Goi Seng Hui
Mr. Tony Phua
Mr Seah Moon Ming

President
Ms. Lee Bee Wah

Deputy Presidents
Mr. Jack Soh Tze Churn
Mr. Ng Ah Hwee
Mr. Seah Chwee Lim

Vice Presidents
Mr. Low Chee Seng
Mr. Chew Soo Sheng
Mr. Teo Hock Hoe
Mr. Han Ngge Juan
Mr. Lau Pub Taai

Honorary Secretary
Mr. Soon Min Sin

Honorary Assistant Secretary
Mr. Teo Nam Meng

Honorary Treasurer
Ms. Judy Sim Hock Cheng

Honorary Assistant Treasurer
Mr. Tang Shiuh Huei

Legal Adviser
Dr. William Koh Hai Keong

Committee Members
Mr. Foo Soo Peng
Mr. Chia Wing Yew
Mr. Tang Mun Fai
Mr. Pang Tow Chai Richard
Mr. Oh Eng Tiong
Mr. Ong Teng Dit
Mr. Tan Guan Kee
Mr. Thomas Yong
Mr. Loh Men Kuan
Mr. Chan Pong Heng
Mr. Steven Loi
Mr. Chang Foo Chiang
Mr. Timothy Ng Cheong Lum
Mr. Ho Kok Khun
Mr. John Tan Wui Meng

Chief Executive Officer
Mr Jackie Tay

Auditor
C C Yang & Co

putraputri69
Sep 1, 2008 12:11

Need we have to look so far as Jamaica?

Look at what our ASEAN neighbours had just won with their locals:
Vietnam – weightlifting silver medal in men’s 56 kg
Indonesia – weightlifting bronze medal in men’s 56 kg and bronze in men’s 62 kg
Thailand – weightlifting gold medal in women’s 53 kg and silver in women’s 49 kg Taekwondo
Malaysia – silver medal in men’s badminton single.

Even Togo, a small African nation with a population of 5 million and a GDP per capital of $1,700 (world’s 193rd) had won her first ever Olympic bronze medal in the men’s Shalom K-1 Canoe event.

And war-torn Afganistan, represented by only 4 competitors, managed to win her first ever Olympic medal by taking the bronze medal in the men’s -58kg taekwondo.

Is a silver medal, or a gold for that matter, won by foreign-born worth more than a bronze medal won by a local?

tunkudon
Sep 1, 2008 12:23

tat the whole problem with her , so sick of her cant even do the proper thing so sack her , dun side step problem

mina
Sep 1, 2008 12:28

After watching the Beijing Olympics 2008 from opening to the final closing ceremony, one cannot help but to admire how the Games had truly instilled national pride to the Chinese people.

If our China-borne TT players and coaches choose to return back to their Motherland one fine day, could anyone fault them. We are just a Little Red Dot.

No wonder some Singaporeans are thinking of retiring in China.

did_it_ever_occured_to_you?
Sep 1, 2008 12:32

have any of you ever pondered who gave who a position?
was the best most suitable person wearing the shoes?

why appoligise ? is that admission of mistake? why make the mistake in the 1st place? I expect leaders to be able to do their job well . Now, I am not sure how to tell if someone is doing their job well. is there really mistake made?
what should leaders do when they make mistake?

as people are allowed to make mistake, i think more people can wear the shoes.

was the staffing done correctly and suitable ‘talent’ given the rice bowl?

should the members of stta vote the leader for them given that they are the ones who knows best what kind of quaification is expected of their leader?

did_it_ever_occured_to_you?
Sep 1, 2008 12:36

3) sarek_home on September 1st, 2008 12.08 pm

given there are so many on the STTA board, i like to ask on behalf of all those who may also like to know, are they being compensated for being listed? if so, how much? who is paying them?

i like pingpong and pingpong likes me . So dat why i asking ler.
my pingpong balls are nice and round. just ripe for use.

Wow Pian. Wu Hiah Boh.
Sep 1, 2008 12:45

3) sarek_home on September 1st, 2008 12.08 pm

Is this real. I thought I was looking at some board & management structure of a corporate behemoth. Totally stunned and speechless.

I hope most of them are doing it as volunteers (just hope lah, cannot meh).

Conjob
Sep 1, 2008 14:10

Jamaica is the best example because of their superior achievement in the Olympics with such a small population and a small per capita income to match.
Thank you Sze Hian for pointing this out and I agree that we have much to learn from the Jamaicans.

The Jamaicans showed the world that it is possible to win with home grown talents…….we showed the world and China it is possible to win by shopping.

Winning in such a manner for the Jamaicans is a lot sweeter, earns more respect and truly bonds the people……it is bittersweet for us and it has superficially bond some of our people.

Loyalty and pride to the Jamaicans representing their country is valued more than maximizing wealth……..the PAP ministers are clueless what these values mean.

The politicians from the ruling party should focus on politics and leave the running of sports to people who have passion and can make a difference.
We can brag about our infrastruture and per capita income but can we claim to bond as Singaporeans ? LOL

slohand2
Sep 1, 2008 14:43

Just like LBW said she never mentioned sacking Anthony Lee, she never said she is sorry. She said, ‘I had made comments which had been misunderstood and had upset some Singaporeans. I sincerely apologise for causing any grievances and any stress.’
In my layman’s understanding of the English language, she admited making some comments , which had been misunderstood and had upset some Singaporeans. She is in fact saying sorry to the fact that the group of singaporeans could not understand her, and to that she feels sorry.
The apology to me rings hollow.

whiterthanhuai
Sep 1, 2008 14:58

I am not gonna side anyone.
I just like the phrase,
leaders should be whiter than white.

siaoliao
Sep 1, 2008 15:26

Sarek,

That list of personnel is stunning! I think we don’t even have so many people in such positions running our GRCs of a hundred thousand people or more.

So many “honorary this” and “honorary that”. Got president and CEO and vice prez and what not.

Can nsomeone from the press report this? The list makes even Microsoft look like small fry. STTA is just about ping pong, right?

Singapore Resident
Sep 1, 2008 15:49

@ 12) whiterthanhuai

>>leaders should be whiter than white.

Come 2012….STTA player will be in all-white attire :)

Laniaz
Sep 1, 2008 15:53

Many people as well as I never felt proud of what we achieved.

Unfortunatley, in it did the opposite of being felt shame

For any international competition involving sports does one common thing:

People irregarless of race, language or religion of a country suddenly become
one nation.

For many years sports people have been thinking that we have a good chance in team sports.

I wonder is it because of the waterpolo or football team, hopefully not.

How wrong they were and still are

We have had sucess in swimming but it is an expensive sport.

Nobody has ever thought of the track events especially the sprints and long distance events.

It cost very little because you don’t need a sophisticated or cost involving facilities.

Running is a live long thing just as swimming is.

It is not too late to have a national policy or goal that requires every able bodied person to be good in either running or swimming?

Of course if it will cost the government then there it goes to be buried in the ocean.

The Games showed us athletes from small and less developed countries like Kenya and Jamaica can perform well.

Let see if any of these smart scholars running the various sports infrastructures will come with tangible ideas.

Singapore Resident
Sep 1, 2008 16:36

Forget the Olympics…let’s stick to records closer to MIW’s heart:

- longest kaya toasted bread

- longest chain of balloon hat-wearers
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20070722/ST_IMAGES_XYPM.jpg

Sep 1, 2008 17:22

i think singapore small population isnt an excuse that we cant perform in sports
but its the way that our govt has change us every since we gain independence.

looking back in the older dates, there were very few supports or “carrots” for our sportsman and yet they did quite well. You just look at badminton, we have one of the few top players in the world then. By it went down as time goes, and now we are left only with imports.

It seems that as time goes back, we are seen more as “buying” back medals than winning them because all these are “imports”. I have nothing against them as I understand my ancestors are also from elsewhere. But they work hard for everything, without any support whatsoever. But they still can do it.

Why? A serious question which the govt should ponder on.

Leong Sze Hian
Sep 1, 2008 19:41

Hi sarek_home

Thanks very much for point this out – 1 minister, 3 MPs, and 1 former MP in the STTA

Superweighted!

Cheers

Leong Sze Hian

money money money
Sep 1, 2008 19:57

once money comes in, it kinds ot stink everything up and gives off a bad stench.
PM and ministers pay.
silver for olympic medal
and guess what – Teo Ser luck abd vivian bala will probably get good performance bonus no matter how broken the spirit of singapore is right now.
The louder the ST shout – let’s move on-
the more broken we all feel.

Away From TT
Sep 1, 2008 20:27

Pondering over all that had been said by players, coaches, officials, politicians….
that have happened – none of which can be undone, I cannot help but feel deeply saddened.
I have come up with the conclusion that it is better to abandon the TT plans for 2012 because:
(1) the China born players are tired – not physically but emotionally….and affected, and there will be a time when enough is enough….. and they are in demand elsewhere
(2) The present head coach Liu was a very good player and is a very good coach – he has reasons to be proud, and he can be in good demand elsewhere too
(3) STTA management even backed by the avalance of advisors, massive board size, and new CEO, new technical director and support staff – has the baggage of LBW to carry.
(4) Politically it should be gainful with TT, but now things are different – STTA may even be a liability to the PAP in the 2010 GE.
(5) Playing ping pong in Singapore is not now just playing a sport but mixed with politics. It may be very hard to attract new China born talents to come to Singapore from now on – even if Choo Wee Kiang were reinstated, and with the China born players wanted by many other countries.
(6) Singapore born paddlers may be only good up to SEA standards.

Thus to pre-empt the possible disaster- it may be better to concentrate on sailing – to catch the wind instead.

Annonymous
Sep 1, 2008 20:42

“Even the dropping of the baton by the Jamaican relay team hardly received any recriminations in Jamaica. Such graciousness in forgiving mistakes is perhaps something that we can learn from too.”

Look at all the vitriol against lee bee wah. That’s graciousness?

James
Sep 1, 2008 21:39

since goal 2010 is a joke, they must hv decided to focus on TT ….. thus the heavy weighted set up. LBW probably let the whole thing get to her head and blew out … watever is the external or internal details, this is sure – they are using TT to prove FT policy in sports and wash over soccer.

ronin
Sep 1, 2008 21:43

I sense the Lee Bee Wah is being sacrified to make Teo Ser Luck and Vivian look good. This is all about MIW spin doctoring.

I fail to see what “big achievement” TSL and Vivian have made in “resolving” this easy “problem”.

ronin
Sep 1, 2008 21:45

Honestly, how many S”poreans give a hoot about some table tennis team comprising entirely of China-born players??!!!

bohpianlah
Sep 1, 2008 22:20

slohand2, you are sharp – not fooled by The Straits Times headline. Indeed, Lee Bee Wah never apologised for her action. She was only “sorry” that her comments had been misunderstood. So please don’t misunderstand her again. Her “sorry” is not an apology for her elitist behaviour, high handedness and arrogance.

If_how?
Sep 1, 2008 23:20

I had a dream last nite.

and I dreamt of a new party formed comprising of Obama , Clinton, John Howard and Sarkosi. They converted to new citizen. (dream onlyz har, don’t take serious hor). They are top aides to LTK and Sylvia and contest for GRZ.

There is some time before the next big E and guess will they win?

I shall not comment any more. For fear for my life. (i mean if get flaming from internet squad).

The question is IF they can get FTs like them to come make history.

If_how?
Sep 1, 2008 23:21

There is bling bling rainbow at the other end of the tunnel.

HaiGong
Sep 1, 2008 23:29

What kind of resolution is this? She only feels sorry but sorry also must resign lah! stupid.

laserpointer
Sep 2, 2008 0:27

i will like to ask…

those many in the list… do they play table tennis?

“If Roman Abramovich helped me out in training we would be bottom of the league and if I had to work in his world of big business, we would be bankrupt!”

-Jose Mourinho quote

even he knows this much:

“If I made a mistake then I apologise. I am happy that I’m not going to jail because of that.”

Ahsiao
Sep 2, 2008 4:26

I remember we had a pretty strong men TT team in the mid-seventies. A close friend’s brother , in his teen at that time, actually qualified into the man single’s quarter finals of the world championship. We can roughly say he could be ranked at least #8 in the world. Maybe someone in this forum can dig out these records from the STTA?
At that time, there were little support from the govt, not to mention foreign coaches. With a little help from the govt, who knows they could have achieved much more.
To those who say we need FTs, I say talents are right here at your door step. Just like Jamaica, we need to discover and nurture them. FTs is just an easy way out.

Which GRC ?
Sep 2, 2008 10:10

18) Leong Sze Hian on September 1st, 2008 7.41 pm
“Thanks very much for point this out – 1 minister, 3 MPs, and 1 former MP in the STTA.”

Which GRC ?. Is it some new GRC in the pipeline. I did not get to hear it in the last election.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 2 Sep 2008
Sep 2, 2008 11:35

[...] Pong Pandemonium – TOC: A tale of two countries – Feed Me To The Fish: Money for Nothing But Heartache & Shame for Free – Hard Hitting in the [...]

sarek_home
Sep 2, 2008 11:38

Interestingly, the list of PA Board Members is much shorter that that of STTA.
Interestingly, for a non-political grassroots entity, its chairman is our PM.

PA BOARD MEMBERS (2007 – 2009)

CHAIRMAN

Mr Lee Hsien Loong
Prime Minister

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

Mr Lim Boon Heng
Minister, Prime Minister’s Office

MEMBERS

Mr Mah Bow Tan
Minister for National Development

Mr Lim Swee Say
Minister, Prime Minister’s Office

Ms Grace Fu Hai Yien
Senior Minister of State
Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Education

Dr Amy Khor Lean Suan
Mayor, South West District
and Senior Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of The Environment and
Water Resources

Mr Zainudin Nordin
Mayor, Central Singapore District
and Member of Parliament for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC &
Adviser to Bishan-Toa Payoh Grassroots Organisations

Mr Hri Kumar Nair
Member of Parliament for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC &
Adviser to Bishan-Toa Payoh Grassroots Organisations

Ms Nora Kang Kah Ai, PBM
Member, NTUC Central Committee

Mr Tan Boon Huat
Chief Executive Director

* Mr David Tay Poey Cher, JP, BBM
President
The Photographic Society of Singapore

* LTC (Ret) Timothy James De Souza, PPA, PBM
Honorary Member
Singapore Youth Flying Club

* Mr Tan Cheng Kiong
Deputy Chief Commissioner
Singapore Scout Association

* Mr Abdullah Shafiie Bin Mohamed Sidik, BBM
Singapore Silat Federation

anon
Sep 2, 2008 13:14

Something tells me there is a serious problem with our education system, particularly our english language education.

Singaporeans seem always misterpreting the elite’s english.

The elites can’t be wrong and sprouting bad english so it must be that our schools are teaching the average joes very bad english so much that we can’t comprehend the english used by our elites.

I think the Minister of Education should be the one to resign. He is responsible for our low standard of english.

Jackson
Sep 2, 2008 18:01

Singapore bad at everything, including sports, but good in getting taxes out of poor people.

tankk
Sep 2, 2008 23:26

“I think the millions of Singaporeans who have been rooting for the team with our eyes glued to television screens… ”

Oh really??
I doubt so. Hardly anyone cared if not for the orchestrated media blitz.

Mr. Wonder
Sep 3, 2008 12:01

Just sack Lee Bee Wah. Everything will be solved.

Gold2010joke
Sep 3, 2008 14:19

We used to have many sporting stars and championed in badminton. We used to be in swimming in Asia. No longer now. Don’t just put the blame on others, Mr in-charge. The systems must be tuned. I salute Junie Sng, Ang Peng Siong, our soccer team in the 80s, Kim Song, Jos Yeo etc. Thank you all for making Singapore proud, whether you have had an Olympics medal or not.

I agree with another post, if the Ministries still not doing anything to clean up the pollution in Languages used in Singapore, particularly the English and Mandarin, we are going to lose our competitiveness. Do not let your kids watch Channel 8.

kanasai
Sep 4, 2008 2:12

yes, eyes glued to the television sets, but rooting for anything but the tiny, tiny dot. Hooray, to ….. guess who. Get paid if correct.

singaporeismyhome
Sep 4, 2008 14:55

I love being a Singaporean because it is safe and we do not have unrest like our neighbours. I think our government has done a good job to keep our country alive after we separated from Malaysia. As a small country with little resources, we (including the government whom we elected) have to do all we could to stay competitive and ensure that no one born a Singaporean or accepted as one should starve or be deprived of basic needs. Whilst we have moved away from the poverty during the early days of our independence, our lives have also improved tremendously. What we fail to see is that all these improvements are taken for granted. Our nation has become a nation of people who complain about the slightest discomfort. For the LBW incident, the timing of the incidents were unfortunate but the essence of the action are for the better good of the STTA.

Why are certain countries’ atheletes better than ours despite their weaker economic situation? Maybe its because they are still hungry, and their country have not progressed to a stage where if they do not succeed, they still have other choices. Does that mean that we need to bring Singapore back to those struggling days so that we can have another home grown Olympics medalist? My answer is no. If our atheletes train with the understanding that they always have a backup plan, then would they push their limits? My answer is no again.

Instead of looking at foreign talent with such disdain, perhaps we can start looking at all the positive contributions that they have made to our country. I think graciousness and compassion towards another human being is what we should strive for first. And we can start by accepting an apology graciously and applaud those who have courage to admit their mistakes.

To singaporeismyhome
Sep 4, 2008 16:00

“40) singaporeismyhome on September 4th, 2008 2.55 pm
Our nation has become a nation of people who complain about the slightest discomfort. ”

As compared to a lot of other countries and relelatively, our people’s complaints are actually a whimper.

In a lot of countries (both first or third world), sometimes the people do not complain at all, they just do it (just like what they say in NIKE advert) in the form of even noisy protests / demostrations / strikes which may sometimes cripple the whole economy. You are lucky if they do not serve you some side-dishes which come free from the house like burning a few cars & buildings here and there and injuring a few public officers in which I am definitely very against. Words (even noisy ones) can do but strictly no violence.

Singapore’s people are actually very obedient already and yet those people cannot take these complaints. I like Singaporeans precisely because they know when they should not cross some serious line.

I do not know who actually is the one unable to take the slightest discomfort. The people who are complaining or the garment who do not have the ability to manage / handle these complaints.

“Why are certain countries’ atheletes better than ours despite their weaker economic situation? ”

You should be asking garment instead of us. They have 40 over donkey years dominating almost every aspect of our lives here.

Try the following which I got it from some internet forum.

“It is incorrect to surmise our government will implement policies without a thorough understanding of all the possible consequences. Behind every policy moves are capable civil servants who will analyse all possible outcomes and it is highly unlikely there will be unintended consequences. Everything that happened is planned: well, almost all.

I have faith in our government that they would have considered all unintended consequences and all consequences will be fully intended.”

So dead sure and arrogant. They think they hold a crytal ball to everything in the future.

http://comment.straitstimes.com/showthread.php?t=11170&page=5

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 36
Sep 6, 2008 10:59

[...] – mrbrown: the mrbrown show (video): beat it (the singapore ping pong song) music video! – TOC: A tale of two countries – Feed Me To The Fish: Money for Nothing But Heartache & Shame for Free – Hard Hitting in the [...]

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized