All is fare
Sunday, 7 September 2008, 11:32 pm | 448 views
With the economy doing better, the fare hikes of up to 20 cents are fair… The proposed bus and train- fare hikes of up to 20 cents are fair and have not come too soon, because the economy is doing better and transport workers should also benefit.
Dr John Chen, Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology and National Development,
Straits Times, April 28, 2000.
Email this to a Friend
Bookmark this

Dr John Chen, is he the MP who died recently? May he rest in peace…
Nope. The one that passed away was Dr Ong Chit Chung, my MP in Bt Batok.
Thus, my estate has no representation in parliament. =(
Whether it’s 1 cent or 4 cents or 20 cents, it seems that these are ALWAYS “STILL AFFORDABLE”!!!! I am sick of MPs, GPC Chairmen, ministers, PM all defending the transport companies!
Who defend the commuters? Nobody!
Does John Chen and his family even take public transport ?
20 cents may not even be small change for people like you but think of those living on a tight budget with many family members taking public transport. It all adds up. Many of us will bear this in mind should you come around during elections to ask for support. Losing many seats is very affordable to the PAP.
20cents… That’s cheap… For the average office person who takes one bus trip to work and one bus trip home, that’s only max $10 a month. Too bad if you need to change buses/MRT to go to work, or if you’re constantly going from place to place by bus. If you take too much bus, switch to a car, and welcome to the world of ERP.
Of course, don’t forget, this price hike, as many others, is to help the poor. In this case, it was the poor transport workers. In the GST hike, it was for the poor of Greater Society. How magnanimous. Greatest good for the greatest number, don’t forget…
this stupid MP spends his time pursuing a hopeless dream of singing..no look no voice no taste…he makes william hung looks like a superstar!
Eh who is John Chen and where did he come from?
Why are ministers and MOS being promoted quietly?
Probably their first task on the job is to shoulder some shit of the more senior ministers?
All is not fare.
I am forced by unpleasant feeling to make this comment, which normally
I would not like to do.
Your new media, together with the mainstream media is spreading
unwelcome and unpleasant feelings around. It can be felt keenly
outside your blogs and websites. I see some Singaporean people
are visibly very upset.
Go seek some counselling if you need to, especially those with
unrealistically high expectation of Singaporeans, or having
anti-Singaporean views, including some of those higher ups in
political office. There is no need to say more.
Beyond a certain point, it will be all unpleasantness and
unhappiness. It can also be mentally sickening and depressing.
I am posting this from pay-per-minute computer terminal in a
public library. There are no persons watching my back, except
the security cameras and the library computer network administration.
affordable my foot!..
eh John, “economy doing better”..haven’t translate into wage increase leh, so dun anyhow say…
note that this is a quote from year 2000. I think that TOC shouldn’t be using quotes from such a long time ago. Its 8 years already, almost can ruin Singapore twice over.
But the point is the situation 8 years ago and now is pretty much different. using this outdated quote is a little misleading.
The discussion is more meaningful if one states clearly what it means as “economy doing better”. I have no intentions to go into an English discussion. When we say something is better (or worse), there’s a comparison. Against what in this case ? prior year’s performance month on month ? last month ? 2 quarters back ? The reference point is unclear to me unless there was a previous context I missed.
Next point is, doing better, by how much against what comparison ? insignificant improvement ? so obviously, the context must be significant economic improvement (in order to justify for fare increase). How was the conclusion on significant improvement arrived ?
I look forward to be convinced with the statement “economy doing better” being put forward. Explaining this kind of statement with a clear context is important, and I have seen professionals earning less than 10% of any ministerial pay, faring better
Acturely, even before Johnny said that, I already guessed what he would say.
Do you people know how I get to be so smart?
There is never a bad fair hike, as far as I know.But if there was one before , let me know.
some more, they use very fair system . This change has to get approval from PTC, a very super duper fair panel of talents who cares for the public.
Everytime I analysed the news about why there is fare hike, always great reasons given. So stedi until cannot the boon bi bi.
The most important thing is the People. They always support it.
Even keeping quiet about it or have no comments or no opinions about fare hikes is a form of accepting the decision.
People, please continue your great effort in supporting our highly performing transport operators. Without you, where got they?
The word “affordable” is Uniquely Singapore’s government’s
favourite vocab. It saves them all the trouble of explaining and
justifying their price hike policies in favour of businesses.
Workers are just another cost element and the NTUC appears
to have the “mandate” of suppressing it “for the good” of
Singapore.
Twelfth years or so ago when the COE shot up to almost $100K
was considered affordable by the then Minister of Transport. When
the HDB prices break half a million the government also
considers this affordable. The list goes on and always the magic
word “affordable” seems appropriate for all occasions.
price raise in a good economy? sure.
we are facing a recession now, can we have 20cents off our transport?
economy doing better”.. is they,salary increase also is they…
poor people and some stupid singaporeans quiet,,Becos they like to say”ALL IS FOR YOUR OWN GOOD”..hahas.
but still have some toot people like to VOTE THEM..
HAI,,,singaporeans so not muture..don scared to die lah,don vote them would die de lah..hahas.
only one logic ALLL singaporeans need to know,,
VOTE them,,PAY AS much as possible to them…
BECOS transport is under tamask holding,,need to earn profit,so they will say,u ALL AFFORTABLE.thank for support,,
so stupid singaporeans will support,but i regrard tat not all singporeans R stupid..hahas..:)
Not fair on govmin to quote him.
He kanna cuttlefish some time back, if I not wrong.