Friday, September 12, 2008 11:48

Breaking News: Bus and train fares up on 1 October

In Main Stories, Top Story • 1,560 views • 57 Comments

Excerpts from Channel NewsAsia:

SINGAPORE – Most bus and train journeys except those for children, students and national servicemen, will see fare changes from 1 October 2008.

The Public Transport Council (PTC) has given the green light for an overall net fare adjustment that will result in fare changes that will range from a 7-cent reduction to a 4-cent increase per journey.

Adult EZ-Link fares on buses and trains and the senior citizen concession EZ-Link fare, will see a flat increase of 4 cents per ride.

However, this will be offset by the 15-cent increase in transfer rebate from the current 25 cents to 40 cents.

Visit Channel NewsAsia for the full report.

The PTC’s press release can be viewed here.

———-

1. Fare hike for public transport in October?
  2. Breaking News: $12m in troubled products
  3. Breaking News: Proposals to restructure minibond notes received by MAS
  4. Breaking News: Another death at NTU
  5. Breaking News: Mas Selamat reportedly arrested in Malaysia

57 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

C J
Sep 12, 2008 13:04

Really… what’s xxxx_ing new?
I mean, go a xxxx_ing head man, price everything to the moon!
I don’t xxxx_ing care anymore…!

So when the numbers of Singaporeans as well as Foreigners starts increasing dramatically, THEY should know why, and SHUT THE XXXX UP & DO NOT point their finger at anyone else but the mirror they look into!

C J
Sep 12, 2008 13:06

Amendment:

So when the numbers of Singaporeans as well as Foreigners who are leaving starts increasing dramatically, THEY should know why, and SHUT THE XXXX UP & DO NOT point their finger at anyone else but the mirror they look into!

NickSG
Sep 12, 2008 13:47

Is there are any way for the thousands of commuters like me to protest this fare increase? Who speaks for us? Is the PTC really that useful if all they do is approve fare hikes?

FREQUENCY_OF_HIKES
Sep 12, 2008 13:50

I hope the non-naive people of the spore
recall the number of hikes introduced rather consistently over the years.
How many times already?
How much is the total hike already?

With each hike, what is the increase in the level of service quality?
Do buses still dirty and stink?

Is oil again the reason used?
Else what is it?

What if oil price drops ?
Any undoing of the hike?
The non-naive people must find the answer.

they say take less car, more public transport. Save money.
Is it?
How much more hike to come ?
Can I make a wild guess that the eventual price will be like that of London and the likes? But Londoners earn 1st world salaries for comparable jobs. Are you?

I suspect 1 thing only. The People will accept without any complains. Based on historical truth evidence and track record for almost half a CENTURY non-stop.

Congratulations, more good services coming your way.
Though there are many hikes and more to come, I predict, the people can take it and that is why they always predicatable.
So, I have no more to say except, Enjoy your 1st world system.
Paywise, please understand that 1st world salary is not for everyone even though, comparable jobs in 1st worlds like europe is much much higher.

HO PINKIE

ronin
Sep 12, 2008 13:51

So fares continue to go upwards whilst service standards continue to drop!!

Tak Boleh Tahan
Sep 12, 2008 14:05

Tak Boleh Tahan! PTC is Useless – Those Bloody Suckers!

Lets protest against this increase tomorrow at Hong Lim Park!

Steven
Sep 12, 2008 14:19

I think we have to stop whining, especially those 66.6% who voted for the PAP. They do not have any rights to whine, they voted for this government and jolly well live with their policies. Like the other 33.4% of Singaporeans, I hope that these 66.6% will finally wake up from their PAP lala land and vote wisely.

alky
Sep 12, 2008 14:19

More money for the elites….huat ah!

I wonder who is the biggest shareholder of SMRT and SBS…hmmm

up-up-n-away
Sep 12, 2008 14:32

I’m not surprise, these xport companies which Temasek Hd is the major shareholder will go all way out to squeeze every drops of our sweat & blood to plug up the holes left by the recently losing investments from the first class goons. As for the PTC which approved the fares increase, u must know who are the ppl in the commitee. There r 90 % of them from the PAP garhem doggy, so no need to explain further. The xport co shld solve the pack mrt/bus problems to justify the fares increase.

Jackson
Sep 12, 2008 14:47

I think I will start walking wef 1 Oct 2008.

hongjun
Sep 12, 2008 14:53

It benefits those who transfer like myself :)

aygee
Sep 12, 2008 15:44

Tak Boleh Tahan, comment #6.

making a protest at Hong Lim Park is ill-advised.

Any commotion, they will shut you guys down like a light switch. Then, the overall objectives and messages the TOC team wants to put out will be affected.

and then – it will make the govt take a u-turn on allowing more freedom for protesting in Hong Lim Park.

Dont follow your emotion. Take rational actions: talk to your MP, write to press, write to PM office, get opposition MPs to raise it in parliament.

I know – some of the more cynical folks will say, to what avail, its useless to take rational actions. But protesting loudly wont help either…

Put that negative energy into a positive action.

lim
Sep 12, 2008 16:01

It would be interesting to maintain a comparison of global transport fares to see where Singapore stands. Such comparisons should include how much investment into public transport, transport capability, waiting times, how efficiency is measured, fare to income ratios.

Right now, its a bit difficult to say if the PTC’s fare determination is a reasonable one.

The People's
Sep 12, 2008 17:12

In a word of fairness, every single cent counts. We cannot pay public bus price but expect limousine service.

I worked in the public transport sector before and life isn’t easy delivering buses to the public on time and in spick and span condition.

With an increasing demand on the public transport standards, we should be prepared to pay more before demanding more. With the current standard, the public transport here is considered dirt cheap if I were to compare them to the ruthless punctuality and excellent service Deutsche Bahn. But of course to pay a premium price for that.

The morning rush here in Singapore with that type of price is considered very reasonable. If we want anything better, we should consider driving or taking a cab.

Therefore it will be better when we make negative remarks on the public transport system here, first go and visit the other countries and try them. Also, work in a local public transport company and experience the job first hand before hitting at the local operators and everyday men who run the system.

Singapore Resident
Sep 12, 2008 17:14

For once i’ll obey the order of MM & be responsible – no more “unnecessary travels” for me…

http://app.mfa.gov.sg/pr/read_content.asp?View,9332,

…However, he is not in favour of subsidising transport ‘because then you will have unnecessary travel’.

He said: ‘In this way, we impose on every individual the responsibility for his life.’

alky
Sep 12, 2008 17:28

comment #14,

Is the average income of the commuter on the Deutsche Bahn higher compared to our SBS commuter?

If yes, is it still considered a premium to them relatively?

lim
Sep 12, 2008 17:51

Considering that SBS and SMRT have bought a number of new Euro IV compliant buses, I won’t be surprised if fares go up significantly to offset this added cost.

sooanonymous
Sep 12, 2008 18:16

let the 66.6% wake up their mousey ideas.
Enough with the chest-beating, propagandic Straits Times crap.

put this up everywhere:
“we are anonymous and we will bring down the ministers’ pay.”

sotong
Sep 12, 2008 19:21

The PTC is just a rubber stamp committee who will just approves anything that the bus company wanted. Because none of them in the committee is hurt or affected by the increase. The root of the problem is there is no member of the committee truly represents the people’s interest(not MP or NTUC member, they are not the endusers)

WHY HIKE AGAIN n AGAIN ?
Sep 12, 2008 19:44

The FT & PR & expat population have increased greatly in recent years and still increasing. They usually take public transport as most would not want to buy cars not that they cannot afford it.

So, I thought their PROFIT should logically have been increasing.
What is the REAL reason for these hikes?

I see absolutely , completely, totally, entirely no reason whatsoever for raising prices again and again so very frequently.

I think the people will gladly accept this, once again. I am glad for the operators.
Not sure whose bonus will be more than last year?

But I am sure they would not squander the hard earned profit they earned from the cooperative people whom I dare presume is the most cooperative people living on the face of this planet for 1st world citizens.

Singapore is so good to employers.

Singaporeans must show their gratitude. Pay and Pay is the way to a better future.

Daniel
Sep 12, 2008 22:48

“As for the PTC which approved the fares increase, u must know who are the ppl in the commitee. There r 90 % of them from the PAP garhem doggy, so no need to explain further.”

Conflict of interest ! Do these clowns have stake in the transportation company’s profit , and how much ?

feb
Sep 13, 2008 2:30

just my two cent worth, just don’t understand why first class fare and yet some of the 187 and 178 buses provided by the transport company are not of first class condition and standard, quite a let down and disappointed, very old buses as compared to other buses provided at the Boon Lay interchange,

The People's
Sep 13, 2008 22:58

Quote:
16) alky on September 12th, 2008 5.28 pm comment #14,

Is the average income of the commuter on the Deutsche Bahn higher compared to our SBS commuter?

If yes, is it still considered a premium to them relatively?

The commuters of the Deutsche bahn varies extensively. You have tourists, businessmen, fellow EU citizens who commute on it. They earn from a normal person to even high earners.

The price of one ticket which I travel from Frankfurt Hbf to Schweinfurt Hbf is 39Euros. Ticket have to be booked in advance via the internet with my credit card. The distance covered isn’t very long too. 39Euro is close to SGD$80, with it on our local MRT, it can be used to commute a much longer distance.

If you travel extensively and use the various transports around the region, you will find the Singapore has one of the cheapest and most efficient public transport in the world. And this remark is not only my personal opinion. My German colleagues who travel even more extensively than me also mutually agreed to this point. That’s why he was surprised why would the locals here by so discontented over so many things.

While we should check and balance the ruling regime’s style, we should also not disagree for the sake of disagreeing. Rather, view things from a very subjective view and not to hit on it because it is a PAP related issue.

I will only entertain mature discussions. Immatured flamers will be ignored.

Daniel
Sep 13, 2008 23:15

The People’s ,
if you compare this way, what’s there to improve on Singapore transportation system ? That same kind of argument can be used to justify price hike without having to do any improvement. The gov will be glad to take in your argument .

We ask for justification and accountability to price hike not comparison to other country’s transportation in negative light only. Yes, other country might be expensive but their high wages made up for it. So please do not consider only one aspect of cost. NOw ask if German transportation system is much better than Singapore.

Yes, if german people not happy with their government, they can raise the issue and vote them out. Our gov ? Pathetic, own the military, own the police, own the court, own everything, then what to ask them to improve without been calculative ?

Daniel
Sep 13, 2008 23:47

“The price of one ticket which I travel from Frankfurt Hbf to Schweinfurt Hbf is 39Euros. Ticket have to be booked in advance via the internet with my credit card. The distance covered isn’t very long too. 39Euro is close to SGD$80, with it on our local MRT, it can be used to commute a much longer distance.”

If that is the country’s cost structure so be it, and it is up to German people to decide if they are happy with the cost. Why are you bringing their cost structure as example ? What are you converting to Singapore dollar ? What are you trying to prove ? Are you taking the worse case ? Do you have any positive real life experience of other country where transportation is cheaper and better than Singapore ?
Just because you live with expensive fare in other country doesn’t mean Singaporean have to live likewise in Singapore, right ?

Just because other country have GST has 12% doesn’t mean Singapore have to beat that too, right ?

Other country has no tax on rice, and how come Singapore don’t follow likewise ?

Come on, don’t give argument like gahman that treat Singaporean as moron and gullible.

I have been to other countries like France, USA , Australia, Thailand etc but I do not compare them one to one with Singapore simply because it is meaningless and inconclusive. Singapore gov always claim they are world-class and deserve exceptional high pay so let them earn their claim and show through their action then, and their salary need to commersurate wth reality and performance rather than qualification and nonsense.

the people's
Sep 14, 2008 3:27

It seems that my points are not comprehended. I have nothing much to add on but I can only advise all who thinks that the local public transport is very bad to consider travelling extensively to experience the lower end cheap public transport in our region and the developed nations. From there you can do a better comparision and decipher the doubts yourself.

I was also very pissed with the local public transport system and lamented the weakness of our public transport. After getting into one of the public transport company, I realised its limitations and how much the employees have lost out in order to satisfy the public outcry of ’squeeze till you are dry’ cheap transport.

After working there for 2 years, I joined an EU MNC which required me to travel extensively. Many of my clients run public transport companies and from them, I see the unsung comfort of Singaporean public transport. And felt so utterly ashamed that I was one of those who insisted local public transport is very bad.

Regarding paywise, for every dollar to dollar, the Germans actually earn about the same to Singaporeans. But they pay 19% GST. Fuel is 1.5EURO for RON95 (SGD$3) in Germany(Friedrichshafen) and 1.2EURO for RON95 in Austria. A simple basic un-upsized BK single whopper meal costs 4.99Euro, A ticket from Bremen Hbf to Frankfurt Flughafen Regional bf costs 101Euro (S$202) And do not forget there are students who have to work during their holidays in order to have something to scrimp and save for the ticket back home. Their wage in terms of dollar to dollar is not much different from what we are experiencing here.

However in Malaysia it is different. If we are earning at SGD2000, we will earn also about RM2000 in Malaysia. But the things there costs exactly in exchange rate to what we pay in Singapore.

We need to be fair. By going on demonstrations and putting down the public transport companies is extremely unfair and unjustified to the average Joe who runs the system for you everyday. I understand there may be unpleasant events every now and then. But they should be dealt with separately.

Lastly, I’d like to assure everyone, there is no such thing as paying public transport fares getting limousine service. I felt that the limitations of the public transport is not something I am prepared to tolerate, at the same time public tranports cannot satisfy my transport needs thats why I opt to drive my own vehicle. If you think that the public transport is not able to meet your standards, render yourself capable of making choices. Get your own vehicle. (Don’t tell me that its not easy all these; because this is just an excuse to be lazy)

the people's
Sep 14, 2008 3:31

And I need to stress this point strongly: It may apply or not.
I’ve never been a supporter of demonstartions. Having known that demonstrations have a very low success rate of getting things done, it also bad reflects on the immaturaity of the people who conducts the demonstration. There’re many better ways of getting things done.

Bang for Buck
Sep 14, 2008 7:11

Dear no 14:

In a word of fairness, every single cent counts. We cannot pay public bus price but expect limousine service.

Yes very true but lets clearly identify if our Transport system is private or public ?

If its private, lets say it as it is and clearly outline its business priorities and objectives.This will prevent any confusion from arising …… and the commuters have every right as paying customers to feeback about this.

With an increasing demand on the public transport standards, we should be prepared to pay more before demanding more.

We should not be prepared to pay more, we should invite more competition from other independent transport companies to enhance the paying customers experience. This will really give the PUBLIC transport system a kick in the nuts to wake up. What we are lacking in, as always is healthy competition to give the people of Singapore the best.

If we keep going on with this PAY and PAY mindset, Singaporeans will be poorer and the system will be rich.

With the current standard, the public transport here is considered dirt cheap if I were to compare them to the ruthless punctuality and excellent service Deutsche Bahn.

Dirt cheap for who? for the poor that see their dollar value shrinking ? If the poor are the ones that say its dirt cheap thats all good.

The morning rush here in Singapore with that type of price is considered very reasonable. If we want anything better, we should consider driving or taking a cab.

Why should we consider other means of transport when we claim to have a world class transportation system, If we claim that its world class, why do we not see the ministers taking the trains and buses ?

Ivory tower mindset you might call it. General question, if it were so GOOD, would you give it a miss ?

Also, work in a local public transport company and experience the job first hand before hitting at the local operators and everyday men who run the system.

If the culture of the transport system has issues just like any other company, than it is best they sort them out before passing the cost of to the customer.

F-lee
Sep 14, 2008 18:06

To those parents with kids, as long as it does not affect you and yr family – continue to do nothing. Let yr leaders do what ever they think is good. Let yr kids suffer as they grow in our environment. Sooner or later, yr kids will blame you for doing nothing. Anyway it is good to be bochap cos as long as the fire don’t reach your house it is none of yr business. well done .

*Handle (Nick) edited by moderator

Daniel
Sep 14, 2008 23:19

“And I need to stress this point strongly: It may apply or not.
I’ve never been a supporter of demonstartions. Having known that demonstrations have a very low success rate of getting things done, it also bad reflects on the immaturaity of the people who conducts the demonstration. There’re many better ways of getting things done.”

I hate the demonstration too but public demonstration do give a wake up call to the gov to stop having complacency mindset. At least, it create awareness and pressurize the gov to do something. That is the point of protest. Don’t we aware that LKY and SM once says that because Singaporean do nothing then the it is not a problem and that if it works then stick to it ? So what can Singaporean do ? Petition already try. MSM downplay issue as its main role is a mouthpiece and loudspeaker. So the alternative is to protest and give demonstration.

“There’re many better ways of getting things done.” Sure enough but out of 82 MPs belonging to PAP, how many raise the issues concerning the citizen’s complains ? Most of them just brush it off, and you can even count how many are really for the citizen with ten fingers.

to prevent wayang, why not all parliament debate be available in Youtube ? From there, you can actually see how many dare raise issue while majority is in “motion”, sleep and “cover backside” mode.

GRC look more for benefit of certain political party than for the benefit of citizen.

With a centralized system and small country like Singapore, is that too much to ask for good planning and service-orientated transport system rather than overly profit-orientated service ? A country with totally no natural disaster to disrupt transportation operation compare to Hong Kong, should have done better.

If the ministers cannot improve the transport system then the ministers should shut the fart up and not ask for pay increment, and this should be the whole gov’s issue not just certain ministry. Certain critical issues should be the responsibility of whole government not just to ministry of transportation.

One underlying problem is that the transportation system cannot handle the load due to the great influx of foreigner coming in.

Michael
Sep 15, 2008 17:47

I think younger Singaporeans ought to be tele-transported back to the 1960s
and experience what life is back then and then curse, swear and condemn
however much you like.
Try living in cities like Stockholm, UK, China or Thailand for a period of time and you will appreciate this Tiny Red Dot with all its “flaw” a little more.
Most of us are tired of the PAP for sure. But where is the matured alternative?
We are surrounded by water. Can all of us swim?

Donaldson Tan
Sep 15, 2008 19:00

Michael (#31): What logic is there to compare any aspects of Singapore to worse examples? A hidden conspiracy to circumvent the pressing need for improvements? I have tried public transport in Beijing, London, Barcelona, Paris, Nice and Amsterdam. London’s public transport is surprisingly resilient. The tube (MRT) system was restored to working order in less than a week after it was bombed during the 7/7 Incident. Beijing has just started modernising its public transport system. It is heavily constrained by the volume of people in Beijing. In Barcelona, there is limited use for buses because there is high density of metro (MRT) stations all over the city. In Amsterdam, the buses and trams share an exclusive road lane, so there is no need to compete with individual vehicles (eg. cars, motorbikes, lorries. vans) for road space and it is hardly affected by traffic jams on the road.

Daniel (#30): We need demonstrations in Singapore to reclaim our right to accountability from the government. A good mix of political parties would provide the adequate check and balance to ensure the parliament is still somewhat accountable to the public but Singapore is effectively a one-party state. Demonstrations have a track record of bringing down governments that lack accountability. If we can’t vote PAP out because of dysfunctional parliamentary system, demonstrations cannot be ruled out at all. Non-violent demonstration comes in many forms, such as civil disobedience, peaceful protest or even concerts. The 2005 Live8 concert was public demonstration for poverty eradication in response to the G8 Summit in Gleneagles. I like your youtube idea. In the UK, there is a dedicated TV channel (BBC 80) for parliamentary debates. The public can watch Select Committees compiling reviews and recommendations, and also see the MPs debating during parliamentary sessions. The UN makes public webcasts of their conferences.

Michael
Sep 15, 2008 23:17

Donaldson (#32) : My logic is simple: If I live in a Tiny Red House and have great plans to beautify and renovate it, I don’t need to abuse my parents and tell them to get lost so that the workers can function better. On the subject of fishball noodles, the whole point is on price increases of food in general and not only balls. I questioned the rationale behind the unchecked increase in food prices. I’m aware of places in Singapore where cheap food are still availble. What is not noticeable is that if prices remained status quo, ingredients in the bowl has shrunk a lot. There is no co-relation between fishball (food) and transport hike increases insofar as measurement of public outcry is concerned. Anything that hurts our pockets warrants concern. I’m just sadden by the lack of wisdom and depth in which some of the comments are posted here.

Daniel
Sep 15, 2008 23:30

“I think younger Singaporeans ought to be tele-transported back to the 1960s
and experience what life is back then and then curse, swear and condemn
however much you like.”

Don’t have to transport back because it is impossible but you will have more credibility asking us to go to Amazon jungle and wait for the taxi boat and risk eaten by piranha if we fall off the boat due to overloan.

Instead of asking the citizen, why not ask the ministers to transport back to 1960s where they must work hard to build Sinapore without exorbitant salary and mee siam mai hum ?

Daniel
Sep 15, 2008 23:34

“There is no co-relation between fishball (food) and transport hike increases insofar as measurement of public outcry is concerned.’

The answer is simple. No one trust a government like Singapore who wayang has been exposed. Like in Army , you get do whatever you want, be it wayang, act blur, act smart, but just don’t get caught in the act, if you do , pay the price. Justified the GST increase that is the root of the issue. Did you not even know the justfication of GST increment is because it is natural thing to do after every election. Don’t we not even know this ? If so , why give the crap of excuse ?

Donaldson Tan
Sep 16, 2008 0:07

Michael (#33):

Let me give you an insight into fish ball noodles and price hikes. A major price hike of fish ball noodles occurred when GST increased from 7% to 9%. How did a mere 2% increase in GST resulted in such a hike?

GST consists of an input tax and output tax. Input tax would be what the GST the fish ball noodle stall pays when it purchases ingredients from its suppliers. The output tax is the GST the fish ball noodle stall charges its customers. If the output tax exceeds the input tax, the difference goes to the government. If the input tax exceeds the output tax, the government refunds the difference. This sounds equitable in theory but how does it work out in practise?

Unless the fish ball noodle stall’s annual turnover exceeds S$1M, it is not required to be GST-registered. If the fish ball noodle stall is not GST-registered, it cannot make claims on input tax, but it still must charge output tax regardless. In another words, the fish ball noodle stall cannot recover the GST it paid for procuring ingredients through GST refund, yet at the same time the GST it charges its customers goes to the government. Consumers have to pay more for their fish ball noodles as a result. To further compound the issue, the GST hike took place in the background of frenzy commodity prices which has fuelled inflation globally.

Michael
Sep 16, 2008 11:11

Daniel (#34) – I apologise if my comments seemed “offensive” to some. It was not intended to be so. Singapore, in my opinion, relies much on “Gen-X” ans belongs to “Gen-X”. By all means make noise and louder noise (and whatever else) so that we are heard by gahmen and our standard of living continues to improve. Bettter still form an alternative gahmen. What seems to be generally the vibe here is the general dislike for anything that is “connected” to govt or its “extensions”. Discussions or deferring views if to be taken seriously ought to be devoid of rudness and fiiled with more substance and not eloquence or criticisms for its own sake.
“Gen A” won’t be here for long or forever. I can only wish all our younger citizens good luck and keep the flag flying -high!

P/s – I was among the first of the lot to run up “good morning” and “peng kang” hills. Cheers!

Michael
Sep 16, 2008 11:13

Donaldson (#36): Must we teach Airbus aerodynamics or avionics?
Cheers

How are you today, Michael.
Sep 16, 2008 14:31

“Michael on September 16th, 2008 11.13 am Donaldson (#36): Must we teach Airbus aerodynamics or avionics?”

I did not know that a simple discussion on fishball noodles could aggravate to “Airbus aerodynamics or avionics”. People who are Airbus like you should have no problem comprehending a lot of things. Anyway, for prices of fishball noodles that you may find unhappy about, CASE is always around the around.

“What seems to be generally the vibe here is the general dislike for anything that is “connected” to govt or its “extensions”.

This is precisely the problem that they have to unravel. Let me give you some clue. If you are so dominant and all encompassing in almost areas of people’s life, you have unwittingly set yourself up as a very BIG BIG target which is not too difficult even for BoBo to miss. Hey, please do not use the Airbus analogy on me also lah.

Is Michael in ?
Sep 16, 2008 14:37

“What is not noticeable is that if prices remained status quo, ingredients in the bowl has shrunk a lot. ”

Well, the distance from point A to point B ten years ago is also same distance today. While the distance does not skrink, I notice that the prices have regularly lenghtened (oops should use the word increase). What say you, Michael. Please please, please do not use the Airbus analogy on me.

Michael
Sep 16, 2008 16:09

DV : I’m Ok. how about you? Thanks for your clue. The discussion on fishball and 4 cents has not “aggravated” as you perceive. I quoted Airbus because I’m more familair with it and welcome any healthy discussions or something new to talk about. I did not teach my parents how to suck eggs. No offense again lah.

Donaldson: Ans your Pt A Pt B first. When roads in Singapore existed AND also disappeared, I suspect u were still in planning stage. Point A – Point B still same distance? I think when you’ve raised 2 kids and sponsored them to post-grad strudies (one local, one o’seas) and know what your 1st million dollar feels like, we can talk on level playing fireld. Till then, I rest my case and wish you all the best at UofC. I’m a “been there, done that guy” (sorry for the cliche).Tired of all these rubbish lah. Hey I’m also aware of the thing called Pseudo Logic. So please, please, please refer to #37 above. I really meant well. Cheers!

Hello, Michael.
Sep 16, 2008 17:47

41) Michael on September 16th, 2008 4.09 pm

Referring to your#37, we are not rude lah. In Singapore, you do not stand a chance to be really rude and too way off the line. At least, we are very controlled already lah – only engaging in words only. We do use stick to drive our point across.

“Tired of all these rubbish lah.”

I do not think that you are feeling tired lah. If you are really tired, why waste your time coming into site and ever bother to do the fire fighting work and getting yourself even more tired. Am I right ?

“I think when you’ve raised 2 kids and sponsored them to post-grad strudies (one local, one o’seas)”

Your own past achievements are commendable in your own rights but it should not be used as a benchmark to decide who is more ‘qualified’ to discuss issues which are affecting us. Our environment keeps on shifting, sometimes frightening so.

There are people facing real problems – e.g buying a house, giving birth, etc. It may not have been caused by you but you are defending them.

Just to pluck some examples, big big names (darlings of the past) in the financial world are slowly facing deeper and deeper problems. Past achievement is never guarantee of future performance.

Like you, I mean well. For your information, please do not mistake me for Donaldson who uses a fixed name, I think.

Michael
Sep 16, 2008 18:30

* 42) Hello, Michael. on September 16th, 2008 5.47 pm*
I know what you are not Donaldson. I thnik may be Darth Varder (somewhere) . All your points are noted with thanks! I did not want to mention what i’ve said but
for me it was like killing ant with a cannon. But you’re right anyay, I respect you for that!
In my view, you’re among those who will succeed in life – anywhere, anything.
When you lump all that I’ve said on this site so far into one big fishball, you’ll knwo waht i mean.
Experience tells me that a doctorate degree is no sure fire way of sucess in life. I’ve a couple of them in my family and also my circle of friends.
What’s happening in Singapore is no different from the many cities I’ve been to and stayed there. All seem to be beset by enocomic, social and even worse problems than us here.
Back to my basic point – we need our younger group of Singaporeans who care enough for SG to come forward, offer good suggestions but minus the “cockiness” in that process. We’ve all benefited from the system in some way. We need good people (with that X factor) to continue this process and make it better unless we want to go somewhere else and become 2nd class citizens.
Cheers!

Michael
Sep 16, 2008 19:46

* 42) Hello, Michael. on September 16th, 2008 5.47 pm*
Sorry, on 2nd thought, I think I’ve mistaken you for “Donaldson Tan” (#41 above).
That’s indication of tiredness.
Hope you can do your bit here if you have further fresh ideas to add to the 4 cents hike or anything to new on how to make fishballs. Btw, I come to this site to tune in to Gen-X. Can still afford to do that lah. We need level- headed pple like you here! No cockiness, no show-offs.
Cheers

Bang for Buck
Sep 16, 2008 19:52

When prices go up, profits go up
When prices go up, Singaporeans pay more
When profit goes down, Singaporeans pay more
The end of the equations shows that Singaporeans end up paying more

The word affordable seems to be a key word for the PAP govt.

What we need is to vote them out and get a real govt that will work for its people andl pass savings to its people and not the other way around.

We are all paying their sky high salary and if they dont meet our expectations, please get another better player. It has nothing to do with other countries having good or bad transport systems. What we want to see is a transport system that can get us everywhere ontime with decent conditions.

How to do it ? Well I leave it to the million dollar brains….but please don’t tell me the only way is to pay more money…. thats an excuse as it does not solve the woes of transportation.

just a tip, maybe the elites should all be taking their very own medicine and have a feel of the WORLD class transport system. Please join us in the morning squeeze and please take the bus to work.

Another tip, please consider TOC’s feedback as this is as real as it can get.
MSM is old school with lots of costmetic and plastic sugery to look youthful and hip.

You are leaders, please lead by example.

Donaldson Tan
Sep 16, 2008 21:09

Michael (#38):

The correct question, in my opinion, is not “Must we teach Airbus aerodynamics or avionics?” but “What circumstances require us to teach Airbus aerodynamics or avionics?”. I am not familiar with the aerospace industry but there are many examples of complacent incumbents who failed to reinvent themselves in the automobile industry and subsequently became obsolete. As a result, their employees went out of work and had no retrenchment benefit to tide them over. A recent case would be Chrysler in the USA. Out-dated designs and poor manufacturing practise had led to poor sales and high cost. Chrysler workers are still contemplating whether they will have a job tomorrow, whether someone from the White House will save the Chrysler pension deficit. Isn’t Chrysler an obvious case of “we must teach Airbus aerodynamics or avionics”? Is Singapore not in a similar situation too?

Busman
Sep 16, 2008 22:31

Good day Michael,

Singaporeans need not have a flash back of the past to appreciate the present.
What Singaporeans need is a working system that takes care of Singaporeans.
This in return will solve many mysteries (CPF, GST, Minimum Wage,NS,PUBLIC housing, PUBLIC transport, and the list goes on) that the current PAP can’t seem to resolve and are coming up with really lame reasons.

A matured alternative, first and foremost they have to admit that they have run out of ideas, and not pass the buck to the people.

In the grand scheme of things it has to do with 2 things.

1) Policy formulation
2) Singaporeans

The cost of things don’t just increase by itself, and this has nothing to do with inflation ,period

tiredsingaporean
Sep 16, 2008 23:12

You are correct Busman. The cost of many things here do not increase by itself. You, me, and everyone else here knows the scene behind all these happenings. But we all Singaporean do have a choice, don’t we?

Michael
Sep 17, 2008 1:12

Busman: Very well put. 2 thumbs up! You’re another potential.I really can’t say the same for some others here.

Donaldson Tan
Sep 17, 2008 5:07

Michael (#44):

Attacking the character and qualification of the person behind the post and not the logic behind the post is a sign of immaturity. We should all refrain from this, regardless of one’s age and achievement. In multi-stakeholder case such as public transport, consensus building is more relevant than seeking approval from elders.

Busman
Sep 17, 2008 6:01

Dear tiredSingaporean.

Just to share, we all have a choice right now. The internet has brought us all together and the awareness is starting to enlighten Singaporeans on how their country is being managed, with issues like the aging population, retirement, Medical costs and minimum wages still ongoing with no balance or end in sight,

I can say we can do 2 things.

1)Exercise your vote wisely, nothing will change if we don’t make the difference
2) Share the TOC website with your friends and family.

Am not a balls carrier, but TOC will be a good starting point for alternative news to enable Singaporeans to make informed decisions.

The PAP’s solution to almost everything is to PAY and PAY, and the infamous quote for it’s citizens are

1) GST to help the poor
2) People are homeless by Choice
3) We made cards affordable, so now to regulate traffic we need more ERP
4)No one is left behind
5) Dont think of retirement
6) Your wifes and sisters will be maids in other countries
7)Pay more to prevent corruption

Busman
Sep 17, 2008 6:30

By the way is our transport system (the bus and MRT) classified as public or private or is it a hybrid ?? I always thought it was PUBLIC and under that classification it would be a non profit organization.

Would anyone be able to ascertain this, Forgive me I might be ancient in thought.

If its private, they should share their business objectives and business priorites, or then again its PRIVATE.

As in most business, we want to maximise profit and minimise costs. it would be good to know the yearly financial targets versus actual performance.

SAFETY ASPECT

Also with regards to safety, how do we ensure a certain cabin is not overpacked ?
Like in the clubs, they only are allowed to accept a certain number of people in, to prevent overcrowding, as this is a safety concern.

Is that such a measure in place ? or they are going to form a commitee later on when something happens to study, how they can improve and move on.

Michael
Sep 17, 2008 10:23

Eh, Busman, Kudos to you! I really like reading your postings here. Thanks, very thought-provoking, intelligent and refreshing. This is the calibre of contributors TOC would be better off having instead of some here who seemingly keep on asking: “Mommy, you really don’t how to make babies meh?” “Mommy, let me teach you how to make babies.”
Look forward to seeing more of your contributions.

Michael
Sep 17, 2008 10:47

Donaldson Tan (#50) : Points noted. Thanks again for teaching me how to suck eggs. In case you’re not aware the bookworld is totally diffrent from the Real or the online world. You’ll know soon enough. Real Life experience seems to be the best teacher, not books. Some times I ask myself : “This PAP MP is quite intelligent what, why am I so pissed with him/her?” Get that answer and you hit the jackpot.

Michael
Sep 17, 2008 13:00

Oppss…sorry, must go tog wt books lah. I just hope Singapore does not produce o’seas scholars or super smart pple who return here to just distribute leaflets at Mrt stations.

Michael
Sep 17, 2008 17:02

$$ ~ 51) Busman on September 17th, 2008 6.01 am ~ $$

Eh Busman, u forgot THEE most important one:
*Every citizen counts*

My tagline: Money speaks louder than anything on earth …….and yes even hell!

Cheers

feb
Nov 18, 2008 1:28

can still remember the 2008 national day rally speeches of how our kind government is actually trying to help singaporean to cope with rising costs by helding back some of the increases on service and conveyance charges.

They still have the intention to increase service and conveyance charges despite with so much town council funds on hand.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook