Friday, September 12, 2008 15:38
Bus rides are unpleasant nowadays
In Main Stories, Selene Cheng, Tan Jian Wei • 1,750 views • 21 Comments
Selene Cheng, Tan Jian Wei
Public transport companies SMRT and SBS Transit have applied to the Public Transport Council (PTC) to raise train and bus fares on October 1 2008, citing higher fuel, energy, and operating costs from more trips and asset upgrading. Commuters in turn have been up in arms over this news, as the likelihood that the fares will be approved is high.
But while a lot has been said about costs, there has been little discussion on service standards or the commuter’s experience on board public transport.
In this respect, The Online Citizen provides a glimpse into a typical bus commuter’s experience.
Long waiting times, no standing space
Just when you need the bus the most, you can’t get one. It’s paradoxical. Buses arrive at more regular intervals of about every 10 minutes during peak hours, but frequently are packed to the hilt so you can’t get on, especially those going to the Central Business District (CBD) and/or which stop at an MRT stop along the way. Everyday Joes going to town see an average of two packed-like-sardines buses pass them by before they can board a bus. If you’re taking a bus to the CBD and your boarding stop is at the half-way or two-thirds mark of the journey, forget about trying to board after 8am. There’ll be no standing space for you, and if there was actually some place for you to get on, you get to enjoy the lovely smell of Essence of (Somebody Else’s) Armpit.
The (lack of) the sound of silence
Whatever happened to the good old sound of silence? It seems non-existent on board our public buses today.
People are forced to listen to noise of all kinds on their bus trip. Respect for personal peace and privacy have gone out of the advertisement-obscured bus window. It is so common now for bus commuters to have to put up with teens blasting their music, more often than not of the techno genre, out of their cellphones. One wonders if these teens have known of the invention of headphones and the concept of manners.
Then there are the mostly middle-aged (30-50 year old) uncles talking loudly on their handphones. Sometimes it seems like they think the louder they speak the better their friends will be able to hear them on the other end. It’s to the extent where they are practically shouting into the phone. Worst are those who cuss and swear down their blocky Nokias; I swear (no pun intended) that you can get an education in Hokkien vulgarities this way.
And of course, who can forget the ever-present TV Mobile. Blessed are those who take SMRT buses, for they shall escape the scourge of TV Mobile. Mr Tan Shao Yi, who had written a letter to the Straits Times forum page calling for TV Mobile’s silencing, had the unfortunate honour of receiving the inane reply from Mediacorp that “the TV Mobile audio level on buses is calibrated for everyone’s comfortable listening pleasure”.
As pointed out by one of this article’s writers before, given the proliferation of high-end mobile phones and their widespread ownership, almost any commuter can tune in to any station he wants — including TV Mobile’s 98.3 FM’s. But no, Mediacorp insisted that “not all TV Mobile viewers have easy access to FM receivers”.
Despite the barrage of letters to the Straits Times Forum page, past and present, calling for TV Mobile’s muting or removal, SBS Transit has been pin-drop silent on the issue, when it is clearly within their jurisdiction to ask Mediacorp to mute TV Mobile. One wonders what happened to SBS’ service promise to give commuters a pleasant (which includes peaceful) ride on the bus. Instead, SBS Transit and Mediacorp maintain their cosy commercial relationship by taking commuters aurally hostage in exchange for cash, with the former claiming on one hand that revenue from advertisers helps to keep fares low, while on the other hand applying to the PTC for the right to raise fares.
That coveted seat
We can’t blame the bus companies for everything. While yes, they have exacerbated the problem of crowding by refusing to provide more buses and running them more frequently, the lack of grace from fellow commuters also form part of the man-in-the-street’s woes of taking public transport.
If you want a seat, be prepared to fight for it from the minute you reach the bus stop. First, everyone strains to see the bus coming in the distance – is it my bus? Yes it is! See how everyone suddenly awakens. You hear the quick steps of people as they rush up in a bunch to the bus entrance, with some elbowing or pushing others in order to be nearer the door.
All is not won once you’re in the bus. You only have one shot to scan the bus for available seats. Take too long to look, and there goes the seats. People subtly fight for the coveted empty ones: window seats that have the ledge for you to rest your elbow on. Witness silent battles as people glare at each other when they fail to score their plump seat.
Then there are the seat hoarders who deprive others of a place to sit. Aunties are especially guilty of taking up two seats by putting their groceries on one seat and occupying the other, and brazenly persist in doing so even when the bus is crowded. People sitting in the seats opposite the backward-facing seats put their feet up on the ledge meant for those in the backward-facing seats.
Most people usually just leave such seat-hoarders alone, and choose to stand. Given the current crowded conditions, it’s time to stop such selfish behaviour. Be the one to buck the trend. Tap the offending seat hoarder on his/her shoulder and gesture for the seat. For those backward-facing seat feet-space hoarders who only move their feet a little bit backwards even after you’ve indicated you’re going to sit, look at their feet, then at them, and say “Excuse me” – a bit more loudly – and they should move.
Fighting the daily fight
There’s no doubt about it – bus rides are unpleasant nowadays. The question that comes to mind, though, is why? Why should commuters be forced to wait ages for buses, and fight daily for standing space and seats?
People who can afford to take taxis or drive cars will never understand what it is like being squeezed cheek by jowl into a bus, daily, in the morning and evening. It is time to speak up about this ridiculous deterioration of service standards and ever-increasing fares. It’s time to stop fighting for seats, and start fighting for rights.
See you this Saturday @ Hong Lim Park.
—————
21 Comments
Faber
Manish
The issue is clearly with fellow Singaporeans and not the bus company. Its simple as that, we are just too self-serving and selfish in our needs from time to time. Singaporeans believe in pragmatism. So start throwing in a few fines and start seeing the reduction of noise pollutants and more space opening up.
If not, lets start a campaign, If not lets start to just our conscience and give others a seat and reduce our noise pollution. Come on Singaporeans. Lets do it for each other. Lets be considerate and share the joy of being Singaporean with each other. No fines, no compaigns, just consideration and love for each other.
aygee
I live in HK and compare my bus rides against Singapore’s..
1. There are 2-3 bus companies competing for the same routes. Thus each company try to outdo each other by giving better service and riding experience.
2. When SARS hit us, and economy was bad, the bus companies actually requested the govt that they REDUCE their fares, so that more people take buses.
3. When bus companies wanted to increase rates, they opened up the debate to consumer councils, bus unions etc, and everyone decided it’s not good to increase fees. The govt then stepped in and said no increase in fees, but the govt will help supporting the rising costs. For the current inflation situation, the govt gave tax breaks and subsidies to the bus companies.
the crux of all this is that whatever that drives govt decisions, consumers come first. in singapore, unfortunately, business comes first.
what_do_you_expect ?
Long waiting times, no standing space – agree. But have the majority complained? I have not witnessed any evidence about this. Thus, I would say, this gives the operators a good signal.
More and more FT and expats and tourists and PRs . What do you expect? Surely more crowded!
If ask them to increase frequency, they may have ‘profitability’ constraints?
I have never seen a company as profitable as these.
well done singapore, without your undying support, there is no operators.
best citizens in the world.
watergate
People are complaining. always. with friends, colleagues etc but somehow seldom reflected in the media …
The environment can shape people’s behaviour. When “seats” become a rare “commodity”, it’s human to become more selfish, taking into consideration the discomfort involve.
I stopped taking public transport for some years already. It’s a very painful experience …
Even driving is now a painful experience … 99% jam on expressways after 630pm weekdays.
Not pro-family at all.
ronin
We should install TV Mobile in Raymond Lim’s car !!!
Let him experience first hand how “great” it is!!
What say you?
Daniel
“Long waiting times, no standing space – agree. But have the majority complained? I have not witnessed any evidence about this. Thus, I would say, this gives the operators a good signal.”
People complained, million-dollar minister downplay it saying that it is the same elsewhere with their selective example to boost their claims.
Complain to bus driver, bus driver says no choice, nothing he can do. Complain to bus management. Wayang king, says take into account, but nothing change.
malefemale
ya must figth for our right
malefemale
sorry fight
This probably comes too late for the HongLim Show this afternoon.
Before we go ranting about the Asos and Ah Peks. Let’s put a fixed and have a consensus on what are the 3 most important performance measures for the bus company form the public’s eye …other than safety, that a given.
If someone can do a definitive survey. we can take it from there.
If any one from PTC is reading this, hope you can respond. In the last national transport plan, there were a lot of journalistic style reports on surveys done.
Nothing seems definitive. Definitely did not see a statement from the Transport Moghuls that they agree to, or subscribe to any new standards. If they did at their meeting with PTC, No concrete action plans to achieve these were published…other than aspirational statement in their annual reports.
As companies granted a public charter. I think this they must do…Make this public, transparent, put their salaries and bonuses on it . Open themselves to periodic public scrutiny.
You want to take home a million dollars…ask the Singapore Commuters.
Auntie Ho PINKIE
5) watergate on September 12th, 2008 9.29 pm
…………I stopped taking public transport for some years already. It’s a very painful experience …
Even driving is now a painful experience … 99% jam on expressways after 630pm weekdays.
Not pro-family at all.
…………….
———————————————————-
There is stomp but I suggest Youtube is very fair and you or your friends should use the power of Video and Internet youtube or Facebook to show the jam conditions. Record the time, route and day. Keep uploading these videos and maybe they can see it for themselves. Remember, when main roads are expensive, the small roads gets more cars plying these roads causing jams. Traffic lights have timings which should be monitored how the timing and traffic lights are coordinated. I recommend a study on these and collect statistics on these.
Some people work can start very late and goes home very early so they never see the problem. Others are simply too loaded with money and seldom need to top up their cash card which has stored value of $1000 or more. To them, its called PEANUTS. To rich, more ERP is good. It shows how rich they are. But i caution this can divide a tiny town into a rich-poor categories. society may become more Elitist.
sy
sheesh,
I so agree… to be honest, I get xenophobic each time I take a crowded bus. Makes me wonder if we really have enough space for the foreign talent we draw…
don
I have some comments w.r.t the article written by TOC.
Whilst I agree that the state of public transport clearly leaves much to be desired, some of the aforementioned demerits are clearly overstated. Many of the problems lie in the behaviour of the commuters and not in the transport company itself.
However, there are also a few areas in which standards could clearly be improved and where responsibility clearly lies with the transport company.
1) Level of cleanliness.
2) Frequency of trips
3) Number of buses
4) Quality of bus ride
Some of the points are obvious. As a pub transport user, I have witnessed numerous times buses of the same route-number arriving at the bus stop at the same time. This is frustrating – it indicates poor planning, poor frequency and longer wait for commuters thereafter.
The pool, and I would say even the size, of buses needs to be enlarged. Of course, I am well aware of the limitations including the acute shortage of bus drivers. Less and less people are willing to take up this job and this is a valid concern.
The state of the buses also falls short of reasonable standard. Faulty air conditioning, dirty floors and even handrails. The quality is clearly declining.
In this regard therefore, the onus is really on public transport to spend more. First and foremost, remunerations should be improved to attract people to work as bus drivers. It is a lowly paid job with very long working hours, few off days and bad working conditions. Secondly, more should be done to improve the state of the buses i.e repair whatever faults that needs to be repaired, clean up whatever that needs to be cleaned up Thirdly, more and bigger buses should be provided. With the burgeoning amount of people taking to public transport as their primary means of travel, this is really a neccessary step. Lastly, improve the planning system i.e frequency. Its a waste of resources to see buses of the same route-number crowed together in the same bus stop, while commuters thereafter have to wait a longer period of time.
Of course, why these have yet to achieved is due to the profit-driven nature of public transport. To maintain a high margin, they choose to scrimp on the neccessary and at the same time raise prices continuously. They can afford to do so because of the tight political control in singapore, and also they face no competition. Competition should be introduced because it would force them to adopt the aforementioned measures and become inefficient. Till then, it will always remain so – inefficient, self serving and unilateral in its actions and policies.
http://ugly–singaporeans.blogspot.com/2008/08/top-10-bus-passengers-from-hell.html
Check this website out. Compilation of ugly Bus passengers in Singapore.
Cynic
The LTA, SMRT and SBS executives should get through “A Day In the Shoes of An Average Heartlander” and then see if they have the right reasons to propose another fare hike.
patriot
Just to relate some experiences with Public Bus Services.
Had seen some cases of passengers rushing hard and fast to catch buses about to move off from bus stops. On some occassions, would be passengers knock at the entrances of buses, but drivers totally ignored them. Imagined how these students and workers felt.
Recently, me got into similar situation with SBS Service 5 at East Point Bus Stop. I saw a double decker Registration Number SBS 9661 without Service Number at the rear, at said Bus Stop, hoping that it was a Service 5, I rushed towards it and found that it was. It was about to pull out of the Bus Stop when I reached its’ entrance and knock few times at the glass panel with my knuckles, but the Driver totally ignored me. It was about 1920hrs. This incident was on Friday 12 Sept 2008.
On Saturday, I was onboard SBS Service 17, near the Tampines Round Market, a young couple rushed down from the upper deck and asked the Driver if they could alight, as the Bus pulled of the Bus Bay(bus stop). Due to traffic Light head in red and heavy traffic, the Bus waited within the Bus Bay but refused to allow the young couple to alight. The next bus stop is way off at Changi Hospital.
WHY ARE BUS DRIVERS SO HARD HEARTED? How not to be flabbergasted!
patriot
On Saturday
mars
Hong Kong residents queue for buses at bus-stops, queue for MTR trains and even queue to enter lifts.
Hong Kong bus commuters are not afraid of asking bus passengers to remove bags etc from empty seat.
dodo
aiyo, bus companies have to make monies like other companies. they also have to pay erp, road tax, diesel tax, foreign worker levies, etc. you should point your finger at the right culprit . . .
boh chiap
Increasing of incidences where students on buses especially when they are in a group seems to talk louder. One talk even before the other has stop talking. Some scream while other shout at each other. Is our schools not teaching the students to be socially gracious??? despite the millions poured into the school re-construction projects???When government says one thing and means another that is DISINTEGRITY despite the fact that many opposition members are made bankrupt because someone is trying to protect the INTEGRITY of the government.
Please petition removal of TV MOBILE for a more pleasant bus ride.
student
the new buses these days are noisier and less comfortable then compared to the old skool volvo. i very much prefer the old buses, they dun give so much of a jerky feeling. the new buses are no match in terms of comfort. pls stop purchasing the new buses SBS!!!

signthe tv mobile petition and spread it on! http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?tvmobile&1