Melvin Tan / Guest Writer

Question: What is the difference between the two wheels of the bicycle in the inset picture?

Or rather, the logos?

Answer: They belong to two organisations of distinct and separate existences in the legal aspect. Surprised? Because they look alike?

Indeed, with the logo of the ruling People’s Action Party resting within the sculpture of the PAP Community Foundation logo (right), onlookers can tell they have to be affiliated to each other somehow. (http://www.pcf.org.sg/).

Indeed, the PCF is “the social and charitable arm” of the PAP, according to the definition in the former’s website (www.pcf.org.sg).

And, instituted as a charity, it would probably stand a higher prospect of obtaining police approval for an activity like mass cycling – which it did – than the latter, a political party.

Or at least, based on what transpired when the Workers’ Party tried to apply for such a permit for its 50th anniversary in 2007 and was rejected.

A few bloggers, including two women WP bloggers Lee Li Lian and Ng Swee Bee, who are also members of its CEC, voiced dissatisfaction at the application, literally, of double standards after the PCF held a carnival on 31 August 2008 at West Coast that included a cyclists’ fanfare entrance by PAP Secretary-General Lee Hsien Loong and PAP MPs.

http://leelilian.blogspot.com/2008/09/double-standards.html

http://ngsb.blogspot.com/2008/09/isnt-this-sign-of-unfairness-and-double.html

One was them, non-partisan online news portal “The Online Citizen” in an article by Deputy Editor Andrew Loh, received criticism from another weblog “For Want of a Better Title” for “implying that the PAP did break a law or that the police were lax in the application of the law”.

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/09/political-openness-for-pap-only/

http://modernburrow.lah.cc/2008/09/05/did-the-pap-break-the-law/

The blogger, known by his moniker “Modernburrow”, wrote that Mr Loh “should fact check because the PCF is not a political party in the legal sense”.

http://modernburrow.lah.cc/2008/09/05/did-the-pap-break-the-law/

Ironically, “Modernburrow” has instead brought to attention an outlandish political practice seen only in unique Singapore, of parties having to register non-political entities to bypass restrictions placed on them.

Political parties, be it PAP, WP or any others, are supposed to be exemplary national role models as they seek election to enact laws and should respect and uphold them.

Should they start the trend of registering non-political entities that basically comprises the same people of same political disposition and possibility same political agenda because they are obligated to bend and go around laws, won’t the people they govern be encouraged to do the same?

The laws will be made a mockery of, as if they have not made a bigger mockery of common sense and logic when these new organisations are permitted to adopt for a logo that carries their party’s symbol.

While the PCF and PAP are different organisations, not everyone can differentiate between their logos and may confuse the two, given that the PAP symbol mainly makes up the PCF logo’s design.

Which is what happened to a writer to a Straits Times forum on 4 September 2008, Mr Tan Ghee Gay.

In his letter, ”Why ‘no’ and ‘yes’”, he wrote that “a similar request by the Workers’ Party (WP) for a cycling event in East Coast Park was turned down” and asked “why was the PAP event allowed but the WP one not”, without once mentioning PCF.

The reply in ST Forum today “Why WP didn’t get permit for event” by DSP Paul Tay of the Singapore Police Force took generally, among other reasons, the same line as “Modernburrow” – that it was “organised by the PAP Community Foundation, which is a registered charity and not a political party”.

Now, if the WP registered another organisation with a hammer plus, say, a cloud or some Adidas-like stripes, how many can tell it is not the WP that is present when they see this logo?

Why not just save the hassle and give political parties more space?

DSP Tay’s letter continued with the event being “a carnival that involved children and families from various kindergartens and educational institutions. The Prime Minister, as guest of honour, and a few other guests, made their entrance by cycling a short distance”.

From what I know, the WP’s event was also meant to be a family carnival rather than some mobile election rally prone to “disorder and unruly behaviour”, quoting from DSP Tay’s response. In addition, why should cycling be part of a charity event when a sport like cycling has little to do with charitable deeds, unless some corporation donated a million dollars for every round of cycling Mr Lee completed?

Next, to date, whether it is the political existence or the cycling event of WP that was the reason for the rejection has not been addressed.

The WP already carries out many activities and if the cycling was an issue, the police could have rejected PCF’s cycling portion and allowed it to carry on with the rest of the programme.

Or if the political existence was a problem, political parties might as well be banned.

Coming back to the post by “Modernburrow”, the blogger had expressively “checked to see if the PCF was a part of the PAP, legally, and the answers was no”.

Legally, no organisation is part of another or otherwise, why register another organisation?

However, as stated in the PCF website, even the PAP acknowledges PCF to be their charity arm and their trustees are mainly PAP ministers and MPs.

But a more noteworthy point has little with do the legal status of these organisations or their logos.

During a Parliament sitting on 27 August 2007, WP MPs Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim had queried the government on why WP’s permit application for its cycling event was rejected.

Minister of State of Home Affairs, Associate Professor Ho Peng Kee’s replies contained the following, “You may be well-behaving, but there may be other people whom you come across when you cycle who may stop you, may want to debate with you and that may attract a crowd, and therefore will result in problems the police want to avoid.”

I am sure AP Ho would not dispute that Mr Lee, who is also Prime Minister and headed the cyclist contingent, is a more important person than Opposition Leader Mr Low, who is WP Secretary-General.

Won’t more people be inclined to stop the PM to debate with him?

Won’t a PM attract a bigger crowd than an Opposition Leader?

If the Opposition Leader attracts a bigger crowd, the PAP needs to start worrying.

If AP Ho thinks the Opposition Leader is more important, the PAP needs to start worrying more.

Therefore, the authorities should note that West Coast could be unsafe for the PM to cycle in.

They should do more to prevent any possible harm that may befall the PM when he is cycling – or the person who stops him midway through and gets run down.

Alternatively, the PCF should seriously consider changing its logo to one that does not encompass the PAP’s logo, so that its members can enjoy safer cycling trips.

———–

The writer is a member of the Workers’ Party. The article first appeared on Melvin’s personal blog, melvintansg.

————

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Tags: , ,

49 Responses to “Cycling around the point”

1. Saint Splattergut 10 September 2008

[quote]the PCF is “the social and charitable arm” of the PAP[/quote]

wow, then it must be TINY!

2. From now on, I’ll protest against the PCF logo. Clearly, that would be non-political, right? Lol

3. It is illegal in the UK for a charity to propagate political agenda and be associated to a political organisation. In fact, if a charity is deemed so by the Charity Commission, it will face closure. Moreover, charities are required to demonstrate transparency and publish their financial records by law. I think there are some lessons we can draw from the UK – charitable and political organisations must be separated from one another.

4. I think it is clear. Vote the PAP out.
    They will come to realise the real power comes from the people.

5. aiyah…complain complain also no point. They’re in charge, and they can do as they please. The opposition has to find creative ways to do their events next time.

While we netizens have become more aware, thanks to blogosphere, the majority of singaporeans dont really give a hoot i think, and in the end, it plays to their (PAP) advantage.

6. simple lah.. just get WP to register a WPCF charity lor!

7. Singapore, one country, two systems!

8. aygee(#4): You shouldn’t overplay the political apathy of Singaporeans. Political apathy is not support for PAP. Political apathy is resignation of political affairs to PAP. Hence, you don’t need a majority to voice discontent over government policies. Even 1% of the population is a force (or farce in PAP terms) that PAP cannot ignore.

Let me quote SM Goh Chok Tong to explain why we should continue and sustain our efforts:

An undergraduate asked if the move towards more political openness was done out of “necessity”. Mr Goh replied: “Necessity, in a way. Because to be relevant as a government, you must know the aspirations of the people.”

“We can control you, oppress you. But we’d lose you – you’ll move elsewhere. So, we have to move with the times.”

http://www.pap.org.sg/articleview.php?id=3647&mode=&cid=23

9. 4) aygee on September 10th, 2008 5.12 pm aiyah…complain complain also no point. They’re in charge, and they can do as they please. The opposition has to find creative ways to do their events next time.

You can make a difference during the next elections ^_6

10. Hi Donaldson,

That quote from GCT, its so ironic that its comedic.

“We can control you, oppress you. But we’d lose you.”

But whatever it is, it still doesnt change the fact that they’re in charge and they still do whatever they want, and not be fair to the opposition.

But u know what i think? i think, if the request went straight up to the top, the big man would probably say, let them have their East Coast event.

I think this stopping WP from having their day in the sun, was done out of a over-zealous middle manager who wants to be on the safe side of things, and cover his ass first.

we now clearly have a PR mess in our hands, which i’m sure PAP would have wanted to avoid.

11. To jackson,

next election, they’ll increase the size of my GRC even more, and i wont be able to vote.

As i said, they’re in charge and they can do whatever they want… :-)

maybe GCT’s “prophecy” was correct, if they oppress me, they’d lose me.

12. Prior to this I had never heard of PCF, but I’m not entirely surprised that a charity organisation can be so easily registered and manipulated.

I also find it amusing that PCF is meant to be “the social and charitable arm” of the PAP, implying that the PAP itself is incapable of being “social” or “charitable”.

13. ““We can control you, oppress you. But we’d lose you.”
    Of course they lose us. They lose us as voter because we no longer able to vote, it is GRC walkover us ! That is as good as automatic vote towards the world-clown PAP.

14. aygee(#9) and Daniel(#12):

Cynicism aside, if nobody is going to charge into Parliament and demand PAP to resign from government, civil disobedience and blogging about discontent is pretty much what we all can do.

Although civil disobedience and blogging do not effect any immediate change within the parliament and the government, they contribute to building a vibrant civil society and provide a platform to invite more Singaporeans to take ownership of our affairs.

The Opposition has always lacked numbers to run an effective campaign during General Election because Singapore lacks a vibrant civil society where the Opposition can recruit motivated individuals.

Civil society has just started to grow and take root in our country. Instead of trashing it, let’s us all give it more support so that it will grow.

victor(#11):

When you were a kid, did you ever attend PAP kindergarten classes? Those classes are offered by the PAP Community Foundation. These kindergarten classes are usually held in PAP GRCs.

15. Geraldine 10 September 2008

“4 legs good, 2 legs bad”

“4 legs good, 2 legs better”

16. Donaldson Tan 10 September 2008

victor(#11):

When you were a kid, did you ever attend PAP kindergarten classes? Those classes are offered by the PAP Community Foundation. These kindergarten classes are usually held in PAP GRCs.

17. Donaldson Tan 10 September 2008

aygee(#9) and Daniel(#12):

Cynicism aside, if nobody is going to charge into Parliament and demand PAP to resign from government, civil disobedience and blogging constructively is pretty much what we all can do.

Although civil disobedience and blogging do not effect any immediate change within the parliament and the government, they contribute to building a vibrant civil society and provide a platform to invite more Singaporeans to take ownership of our affairs.

The Opposition has always lacked numbers to run an effective campaign during General Election because Singapore lacks a vibrant civil society where the Opposition can recruit motivated individuals.

Civil society has just started to grow and take root in our country. Instead of trashing it, let’s us all give it more support so that it will grow.

18. The current politiical situations in our neighbouring countries are clear signs of warning to the ruling party. If the not so “educated farmers” and rural folks in thailand are able to converge in one place and voice their demands on the govt that they perceived as a “puppet govt” of Thaksin, the Malaysian counterparts who are sick and tired of the injustices and corruption of their govt, I believe changes are forthcoming in Singapore.
    However, the changes can be positive or negative, based on the interview by St with MM, he said that “our political system has to evolve to be in sync with the changes of the world and in our society”
    Very hard to analyse what he is thinking abt?

19. Donaldson Tan 10 September 2008

Sotong: It’s hard to analyse given that the ST article actually has given us little room to think about. To me, despite PAP’s past achievements, PAP today is a white elephant which is disconnected from the electorate. They are obsolete and they know it themselves.

20. I guess what i see is 2 PAP logos that = to 1 PAP.

This is my logical way of thinking, if we turn it the other way round where it was WP’s logo, I would still say its WP, whether its for charity or sharity , its still the same.

I guess the writer hit the nail on the head, and I am sure many PAP fans are feeling the pinch right now.

We should all now wait for the infamous its a honest mistake, lets close ranks and move on….

What the PAP needs to do now is to modify its logo, and maybe change it to a WP LOGO, that they can use for CHARITY and OTHER NON POLITICAL EVENTS.

This way no one will say there its a PAP political event or branding, because the WORDS show WP with a logo instead during the charity event.

See, you don’t have to be paid million dollars to solve a LOGICAL problem.

Maybe you should have a tricycle riding event, this way only babies, kids, and students, will come to you and you can talk down to them and they will sit and listen and stare BLANKLY, and do throw in some sweets as well.

Keep their bellies full and their minds empty :)

21. ““our political system has to evolve to be in sync with the changes of the world and in our society””

It is not the political system that need reform first, it is MM that need to evolve !

““MM has to evolve to be in sync with the changes of the world and in our society””

This oldman try to push this to the political system where he himself he is the one that effect the change ?

Take a example, a father rape a woman, and then put the blame on his family but not himself. Needless to say, the son, wife fear the father and keep quiet. Now the son grow up to do likewise.

22. PeopleHadSpoken 10 September 2008

Talk and Talk also no use I think.
    The Majority have spoken from nearly half a CENTURY ago till today.

Based on this world record track record, I do not foresee any changes in near future.

Thre will be Absolutely no change for the simple fact that the Majority always want them to win.

Maority, you know who you are. Take a bow.

23. Bicycleman 10 September 2008

Singaporeans are getting brighter and smarter with each passing day, look how the internet has evolved and with more real brains surfacing, it will soon be STRIKE OUT for the PAP, if they don’t pull up their socks.

Singaporeans will vote for a govt, that takes care of its people, we pay top dollar so we must expect the best solutions that will give Singaporeans the good life.

If not it is just a waste of tax payers money……all this cosmetic make up will fade once the rain comes and washes off the cake on your face.

24. Its about time! 10 September 2008

I had a dream last night that WP also form a charity organization and apply to organize cycling to help enhance community spirit by cycling together and also encouraging donation.

I wonder what will be the outcome if they do so?

I believe singapore has a FAIR and EQUAL system : based on justice and equality so as to achieve…. I am sure the WORLD is aware of this.

25. PCF Council Members:

Mr Teo Chee Hean (Chairman)
    Mr Mah Bow Tan (Member)
    Mr Lim Swee Say (Member)
    Assoc Prof Yaacob Bin Ibrahim (Member)
    Mr Khaw Boon Wan (Member)
    Dr Vivian Balakrishnan (Member)
    Assoc Prof Ho Peng Kee (Member)
    Mrs Lim Hwee Hua (Member)
    Mr Gan Kim Yong (Member

More info http://www.pap.org.sg/community_pcf.shtml

26. 21) sotne on September 10th, 2008 9.05 pm

There is no party connection wor?

27. Do you guys remember the comic section in the straits time ?

Think its on Sat or Sundays, where you have 2 identical cartoons and theres one with some details added to it or some details missing in it….. but its still the same cartoon.

this is the same situation as with the comic strip . only thing we need to do is spot the difference, but its overall the same.

28. This is what you get when a political party holds absolute power….controlling the media, police, etc. They are both the referee and player!!!

29. “They are both the referee and player!!!”
    Oh yeah, they are trying hard now to be the audience as well ! Buying audience to sing the the lion’s roar for their own home team.

30. Burghley hope 10 September 2008

Do not forget the foundation gives help to all regardless of race,religion and political affiliation.If you think it is unfair than WP should do like wise.

31. Singapore 3rd Class Resident 10 September 2008

28) Burghley hope on September 10th, 2008 9.39pm

Ya lor….the party reminds me of the Singapore Pledge

We, the citizens of Singapore,
    pledge ourselves as one united people,
    REGARDLESS of race, language or religion,
    to build a DEMOCRATIC society
    based on JUSTICE and EQUALITY
    so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and
    progress for our nation.

32. Ho Pinkie 10 September 2008

10) aygee on September 10th, 2008 6.31 pm To jackson,

next election, they’ll increase the size of my GRC even more, and i wont be able to vote.

—————————————————-

But the real question to ask is, Does the Majority care about voting?
    Apparently, they do not mind.

How many out of all technically eligible voters actually voted in the elections?

I have absolutely no idea whatsoever.

I am clueless, nice to meet you!

33. “14) When you were a kid, did you ever attend PAP kindergarten classes? Those classes are offered by the PAP Community Foundation. These kindergarten classes are usually held in PAP GRCs.”

Nope, mine was in a church in Commonwealth. Thanks for bringing it up, after checking on the net it turns out it was registered in 1986, my bad. Nevertheless, I think at this point there is little that can be done other than to point out the blatant use of legal loophole and lament the current state of affairs. If WP/SDP tried to pull this stunt, my bet is that their charity organisation would come under intense scrutiny in the name of corporate governance.

I get the feeling that this issue is becoming a “pass-the-buck” scenario where the police dept is just stating the facts, passing on the PR damage to be handled by PAP themselves. Let’s see what comes next.

34. “Do not forget the foundation gives help to all regardless of race,religion and political affiliation.If you think it is unfair than WP should do like wise.”

You have forgotten the PAP of today is no longer the PAP of yesterday. Do not mix the Past PAP with modern PAP of greed and money. The past PAP has many great patriot gahmen who act as check and balance. What we have today ? All YES-man and YES-woman giving us nonsense and rubbish that not only insulting to Singaporean but to the world too.

GST to help the poor ? Increase ERP to help business ? Come on, give me a break. Stop giving us such lame reason.

So let’s not talk about the PAP and their greatness anymore when only pathetic old fart dictating everything. The good thing done by PAP already been negated by the Lee’s family and their money-greed mindset. Fart them out.

35. To Donalson Tan,
    PAP kindergarten, NTUC, HDB, POSB, etc all were good initiatives until they become ‘associated’ with the political party with the main key people as Ministers and MPs.

Just look al the council members of the PCF, pray tell me, is this politically affliated? Even a primary school kid know how to connect the dots. It’s obscenely glaring in his face.

Akin like telling the public that the government has no hand in Temasek. Yeah, right. Whom do you think we are – idiots and morons?

As one commenter pointed out, should the WP set up WPCF, do you think it will be approved? C’mon please don’t us as people who are dull.

Alot people just couldn’t be bothered about politics and want to get on with life. But push people in the corner and they will fight back. And that is what people are doing now – opening their eyes. Increase in utlities, prices, transport, ministers’ salaries, Mas Selamat, FT housing problems, GST, ERP, etc, while the common man pay didn’t significantly increase for the past 10 years.

So tell me, NTUC for what? Sing song and dance?

Also I have noticed a whole lot of people now contributed in their comments and ideas which I have not seen a year back. People are becoming more politically aware. They will make choices to see changes.

Kaffein

36. Melvin

PCF website gives location of where its various facilities are located.

As possible further evidence of the point you are making, what abt analysing where these locations are on the electoral map i.e. whether Hougang and Potong Pasir have a fair share of these facilities.

If these areas have a less than fair share of PCF facilities, that cannot be rationally explained away, your point would be butteresed.

But if these areas have a disproportionate share of facilities, are well …

37. Ho Pinkie 11 September 2008

26) ronin on September 10th, 2008 9.31 pm

Fortunately for singaporeans, we conform no have TW kind of problem wan.
    Ah Bian alleged to misuse country money for personal money. Alas, they cannot find enough evidence yet lor. So ah bian still freeman lor. But this allegation brought attention to the age old believe that where ABSOLUTE POWER

Ah Bian should be very honest and integrity wan. I think if pay and pay ah bian 4 million a year, he also may not get alleged corruption. High pay gets high integrity wan. The more money you have the more less money you wan wan.

Like this the whole world believe lor. Human have evolved lor. Not like monkey liao ler.

Yibah yibah untooneh neh! u no the believing of the me meh? ha ha ha

38. Mahbro Tan Koo Koo of LP 11 September 2008

35) Ho Pinkie on September 11th, 2008 7.53 am 26) ronin on September 10th, 2008 9.31 pm

Fortunately for singaporeans, we conform no have TW kind of problem wan.

—————————-

The thing about Law is that one is innocent as long as the evidence cannot be found or presented. Get it ?

Who knows? Maybe Bian did it for ultruistic reasons? Like to for NATIONAL SECURITY reasons? Maybe he can say all transactions done cannot be revealed due to NATIONAL SECURITY ? Is that not the best valid reason?
    If he reveals this accounting info har, maybe he can say nation at risk ah? maybe he can say enemy can enticipate the county moves ah and then they econ chialat chialat ah ? how? like this people scared scared ah? Bush re-elected by shock and awe ah. U no no ah? Stedi bombi bi ah?

Like this more world peace lor.

Some people actually believe you know? I have proof that many believe.
    They let them auto-pilot.

39. “The thing about Law is that one is innocent as long as the evidence cannot be found or presented. Get it ?”
    It always good to be corrupted at gov’s level. Why ? Just says it is confidential information to buy time, and mean time burn all documents and evidence.

In a corporate companies, they are not so lucky with special unit guarding the companies to make sure no hanky panky.

40. Remember many years ago when Nee Soon Central and Bukit Gombak were SDP held ? Their National Day banners were told to put down by the police because they contain (SDP) political party’s logos ? Whereas in PAP held constituencies they were ok (up to this day) because they carried the PCF’s logo ? Brilliant, isn’t it ?

41. Yes, PCF is a charity, the PA is a grassroots organisation, the NTUC is a workers union and I’m Santa. Period

42. little have change on the way things are handled
    unfairness
    organised by charity organisation? PCF?
    I bet even WP wants to register a charity organisation, say WPF, I think it will be difficult.

I do not see it as who holds the event but the content of the event.

Even if it organised by a charity organisation, the same problem of

“You may be well-behaving, but there may be other people whom you come across when you cycle who may stop you, may want to debate with you and that may attract a crowd, and therefore will result in problems the police want to avoid.”

will oso occur. Not to say about everyday the regular cyclist who goes ECP frequently.

It is always a matter of unfairness which shows not everyone in singapore will be treated equally as said in our daily pledge during our school kid’s national anthem singing.

43. Donaldson Tan 11 September 2008

kaffein(#34):

I don’t support PAP too. I had mentioned in post 18 that “despite PAP’s past achievements, PAP today is a white elephant which is disconnected from the electorate.” Their practises appals me as much as they probably do to you. Why is it illegal for citizens to put up political party’s banner even if there is no party event? Why can’t people show their support for their political party on an ad-hoc basis?

FYI, if a UK charity behaves similarly to the PAP Community Foundation, it faces closure by the Charity Commission. The Commission reports directly to the UK Parliament, not the Cabinet and in UK’s case, the Parliament is not overwhelmingly dominated by a single party.

44. Donaldson Tan 11 September 2008

Check out the White Elephant Association. It is an independent charity distinct from the PAP in the legal sense.

http://wcentral.blogspot.com/2008/09/white-elephant-being-towed-away.html

45. Check out the White Elephant Association. It is an independent charity that is legally distinct from the PAP. Click the link on my name on this post to find out more.

46. “You may be well-behaving, but there may be other people whom you come across when you cycle who may stop you, may want to debate with you and that may attract a crowd, and therefore will result in problems the police want to avoid.”

That reasoning is a slippery slope, slightly exaggerated, and can be applied to many situations and circumstances. An individual could be speaking out in a well-behaved manner at the Speaker’s Corner and it may similarly attract a crowd, people may come to debate with you, and problems could result as well. While plausible, such situations will inevitably occur in every facet of society because, hey, we are only human and humans will have disagreements whether you like it or not.

47. How_the_World_View_our_1st_worldliness? 11 September 2008

IBA has provided their comments in super world class level legally-bombastic document.

If someone is alleged to DO US IN ?
    What is that meaning?

If so serious , was anything done in response?

If not why?

for this incident, and many others, I wonder how does the INTERNATIONAL community view the handling of this cycling thing?

They must think that we are so 1st world right?

I think the local community need is mental shift and learn and be exposed to more info and events that will mature them in the aspect of social issue awareness, environmental awareness and political awareness.

Mentality can change . The mind can be cultivated.
    Internet is the only tool we can use effectively for now.
    Of course we have been using the old economy news paper for a long long long time liao. I prefer internet blogs than old economy news paper that is purely unbiased and non-partisan and written without propaganda ( correct me if I wrong ) and written and edited by people who serve your interest among others.

So bombastic peoples. No wonder I keep reading good news, among others.

no wonder ex-news chief is in AIMS wor. So modern and internet savvy wor.
    Can I say he is totally non-partisan?
    I think so lah. no question about that man of integrity wor.

regards
    Ho Pinkie

48. Dead Poet 11 September 2008

If we look at the track record of what the opposition has been crucified for, the present lot is getting away with murder by simply saying “lets move on” its a honest mistake. It just goes to prove that double standards does not only apply to cycling events. We have seen it repeatly and I believe people no longer have the respect for their leaders but are simply supporting them in fear. They do not want their wifes and sisters to become maids in another country when the whole world is waiting to do us in. We have been warned and instilled with fear that the whole world is sadomasochistic in nature and they enjoy nothing more than doing small nations in. The worst fear is that the so called non political charities will stop running kindergardens, grassroots organisations will stop running programmes in their counstituency and worst of all they estate will become a slum or become townships for foriegn workers. Until the fear is dispelled nothing is going to change.

49. A gahmen body who twist their words around even for a simple weekend event will only show the tip of the iceberg of what they are really doing at the back on bigger policies.

such a simple weekend outing event should be allowed to any organization may it be political or non-political when the intent is good and not to create any rally or riot.

Make it simple and Singaporean will love this country more, and your party.