Thursday, September 25, 2008 9:22
Opening up through disobedience
In Quotes • 397 views • 23 Comments
The actions of the SDP and other pro-democracy activists, which included the use of civil disobedience, have led to the opening up of Speakers’ Corner for demonstrations, albeit in a very limited way.
John Tan, S’pore Democratic Party
23 Comments
lim
lim certainly has a agenda against the SDP.
So far all his postings have been anti-SDP
without giving credit when credit is due.
He certainly behaves like a jilted lover full of fury
scorned by someone in SDP
lim
lol. Sticks and stones. If you think I’m lying about anything, feel free to correct my post. Don’t see any corrections at the moment.
I’ll post one accurate and undeniable achievement that I believe the SDP achieved to address the issue of where credit is due.
The SDP managed to get 3 MPs into parliament. :-)
Ah Miow
2) lee on September 25th, 2008 1.38 pm
Well, dear Lim + some brothers is MSM à la internet. Don’t play play, you think you can have fun here but they are always around.
lim
“So far all his postings have been anti-SDP” – lee
lol. Another exaggeration/lie, isn’t it? That’s something these SDP advocates seem to be very good at…
hoodwinking
2) lee,
agree with your observations on lim. i thought only jilted women behave this way.
any chance some kind soul arrange for lim to kiss and make up with Chee ?
Chee needs all the moral support he can garner, including lim.
Imagine all the pro Chee postings alone from lim, this may spur Chee to do even more to get this bloody govt to open up.
1) lim, what say you lim, kiss and make up with Chee ?
lim
lol. Sticks and stones. Insults are normally what the SDP advocates are well-known for when facts fail. I won’t stoop to your level.
Have a nice day.
hoodwinking
lim,
a conciliatory suggestion for you and Chee to kiss and make up can be interpreted as sticks and stones or insult.
I have been following some of your arguments and comments, especially on Chee. Most readers will agree that you give the impression of having a personal grudge. Pity Chee is not likely to read your posts. I am sure he would engage you in a proper debate. Afterall he had the guts to confront the PM and MM. How many of us including yourself lim, have the conviction to do rather than just talk behind the screen ? Does not matter whether we agree on political ideology.
Claire C
Proud one sided comment
Claire (#9):
Give credit when it is due. I may not support the current PAP but I do give credit to their past achievements when PAP was under the Old Guards. It is just so obvious ever since the time Goh Chok Tong took over Singapore as PM, Singapore has been going downhill. If you look into history, you will find that many cities have a typical boom period of 40 years and Singapore has lived through most of these 40 years.
Lim (#7):
Do you sincerely believe the change comes from PAPś hearts or through external pressure from Singaporeś civil society and foreign criticism?
CC
Don don’t believe everything they say. As if it was theri single handed actions that brought about change
CC (#11): Who is they?
lim
“Do you sincerely believe the change comes from PAPś hearts or through external pressure from Singaporeś civil society and foreign criticism?” – Mr Tan
No I don’t. But I can be sure of one thing. The PAP doesn’t make such decisions based on pressure from SDP.
“a conciliatory suggestion for you and Chee to kiss and make up can be interpreted as sticks and stones or insult. ” – hoodwinking
After comparing myself to a jilted woman, to be able to say that its not an insult is indeed remarkable. lol.
Isn’t that like Gopalan saying “prostituting” isn’t insulting. lol.
Sorry, I won’t stoop to your level. Best Regards.
hoodwinking
@ 13 lim,
Calling a spade, a spade. Just to give you a little wake up call lah !
Your numerous posts in TOC putting Chee down must be a record in itself.
I have never seen anyone with such relentless personal grudge.
And still claim ” I won’t stoop to your level”.
lim, you have already done yourself in just by displaying your personal grudge for everyone to see.
I believe Chee may still engage you in an open debate despite your personal grudge. Shall we arrange an open debate for you at Hong Lim Park ?
Time to show Chee that you also have the conviction, right ?
Daniel
“I have never seen anyone with such relentless personal grudge.”
There are some persons that I see that has such personal grudge is LKY, LHL and some paid PAP moles to do the discreditation.
LKY
“He called Mr. Chee, a “liar, a cheat and altogether an unscrupulous man.” Not to mention “a near-psychopath.” Mr. Chee, for his part, referred to Mr. Lee as a “pitiable figure.”"
LHL
“He’s a liar, he’s a cheat, he’s deceitful, he’s confrontational, it’s a destructive form of politics designed not to win elections in Singapore but to impress foreign supporters and make himself out to be a martyr,” Mr. Lee ranted. “He’s deliberately going against the rules because he says, ‘I’m like Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi. I want to be a martyr.’””
http://lwb.lawnet.com.sg/legal/lgl/rss/supremecourt/58857.html
PAP moles
hmmmm, the quotes might just be found in some comments here and other post on online citizen. Having engage some, the comment seem to be the same, repeating the same thing again and again of how Dr Chee’s characters. Mention Dr Chee, someone will just spring out on him “full of sound and fury” but it is really “signify nothing” to those who sense something wrong with this commenter. Whether the commenter is a mole or not, leave it to rest to decide.
NOw this commenter reminds me of the contest for president where the final verdict by ruling party decide that Prataman is the best president among the candidates while using MSM and gahmen-related personals to engage attack on the president candidates, and keep repeating the same thing over and over again about how characters of other contestants are so doubt. Of course, the gahmen always use MSM to paint a good picture of ruling party and prataman. Prataman now live happily after and doing nothing. Strange, isn’t it that he still a good president in LKY’s eyes ? Wait, my dog is barking loud now, time to chain him up again, now going to play some golf and eat mee siam mai hum now.
Oh wait, someone is calling Daniel a loser again… you see, the same thing will repeat and repeat again. Much better thing to do now than replying him. I have vomit enough blood, and need to take care of my health.
V S RAAJ
Rules relaxed at Speakers Corner has got NOTHING to do with any political party drumming up causes, for the matter SDP! Totally agree with CC – not a single group is responsible for it except due process to create a platform for matured citizens to voice their their discomfort or discontent of any rulings that effect their lives.
It is one way the govt. wanted to collect postitve or negative feedbacks and at the same time relieving fellow citizens of bottling up discontentments, study how the new generations like handling their ‘democracy’ and foremost, if there were real issues that effects the mass – the govt. would study and rectify their policies. Its for the betterment of Singapore, overall!!!
lim
lol. I don’t go around writing articles about Chee being bad. What I do is respond to ridiculous claims like the above or how the NTU is the bad guy in a Chee/SDP created incident.
You can call me a PAP mole, the TOC knows my name and can email me if they want. Never been in a political party in my entire life nor am I working in the govt. Yet I’m sure, those facts won’t matter. Since when do insults rely on facts? lol.
Was Chee sued for defamation? Was he accused of lying? Sure he was. Did he trespass NTU grounds illegally? Sure he did.
Now I’m expected to close my eyes and said none of these happened? lol.
That’s the definition of “free speech” of SDP and Chee advocates that I come to expect. lol.
Haven’t read any corrections or facts that disproves what I said yet. But I know these insults are just another attempt to avoid/distract from the underlying issues.
You can insult me, that’s what you guys do best. I still won’t stoop to your level. Have a nice day.
lim, the fact is through your postings, your plain bias against Chee and his
post Chiam SDP is for all the world to see. Nobody here, least of all I is insulting you. When ever someone post a thread about Chee or SDP, you go into a
knee-jerk reaction to post your complaints like there is personal vendetta.
Certainly Dr Chee is no angel, but he is perhaps the only proactive opposition
around and I think due partly due to his constant prodding the Govt and the PAP that they are becoming alittle more sensitive to citizens.
I haven’t seen you post anything negative against the PAP like you did against the SDP, so your comments would not be considered OBJECTIVE by us
To lim
“16) lim on September 26th, 2008 1.28 pm
You can insult me, that’s what you guys do best. I still won’t stoop to your level. Have a nice day.”
Keep it up. Lim. Nice to see that you are exercising good self-control.
What you are facing is also very natural, especially on the many pro-establishment positions that you seem to be holding.
Bottled up pressure from many years of displeasure will just explode through the next available opening. That is why channels for open discussions like TOC are necessary and very important.
hoodwinking
@ 16 lim,
Nobody is depriving you of free speech in TOC.
My suggestion that you show conviction by having an open debate with Chee still stands.
Hong Lim Park has been designated by the ruling party as a venue for free speech and you should take up the offer if Chee agrees to engage you.
Isn’t debating with Chee openly a clear example of free speech ?
Come on lim, stop giving the excuses that I am insulting you and use this to squirm out of an open debate. Show some conviction and take the offer.
Daniel
Lim really reminds me of LKY during election where people ask for PAP’s mandate, LKY and the rest of his coffers jump together with MSM to talk about opp party member’s characters about honesty and credibility. It is so dubious because it is as though these coffers are very perfect in terms of these characters in the first place. If they are good, why do they need MSM to talk good and praise themselves, do coverup, and make them look great in the eyes of the citizen while discredit the opp party to nil recognition ? Instead on focusing on Singapore and citizens, the majority of election time focus characters of opp party members. Fact or lies, smart people here could recall.
Where people ask for mandate, PAP talk suddenly about opp party’s character. Same here, when people talk about effectiveness of Dr Chee’s strategy and engagement, suddenly this Lim spring “out of sound and fury” to talk how Chee characters are this and that, and that he will not trust this guy and convince us not to trust Chee. But smart people here know about this distraction and similar pattern, so even assuming if Dr Chee’s characters is not perfect, what have us to lose compare to the expensive and imperfect gahmen who are so money-minded and deceitful who can twist words like no other in the world and exploit citizen which seems more concern to us ? It is like a small goldfish comparing to a big shark , so should you be careful of goldfish that bite or a shark that bite you ? So this Lim keep focusing on this goldfish on how its bite is so unprecedented and unwanting while not mentioning anything about the shark. Yes, some commenters notice it too so I am not alone. Does that tell anything something ? Did this Lim has something to do with the “shark” ?
YawningBread noticed too that the gov sing its praise on opp parties other than SDP and Dr Chee as the former is the lesser “evil” of the two. Nevermind supporting the one that is less threatening to the regime as the government play its game.
Notice these patterns on someone here that is “full of sound and fury” but yet “signify nothing” to us here who can see through this.
Daniel
A fox will show its tail one day matter no matter how well it conceals it.
Daniel
“Come on lim, stop giving the excuses that I am insulting you and use this to squirm out of an open debate. Show some conviction and take the offer.”
Good suggestion. The best is to engage Lim with Chee openly and publicly in HOng Lim Park, ready your voice recorder because Lim going to unleash his “factual” reasons that “full of sound and fury” but whether it “signify anyting” to Dr Chee is another matter. I’m sure of one thing. Dr Chee must have whole lot of patience to keep listening to the same thing over and over again.

I’ve learnt a better quote from a certain Mr Tan Ah Kow.
“Pure coincidence”