The number of non-residents grew by 19 per cent, while the resident population went up by a mere one per cent.

Channel NewAsia

9 Responses to “Whose home?”

1. Tell me its not gotten more congested 27 September 2008

The dot is tiny.

Already, how do you feel about the human traffic in places like orchard road, pc show and malls?

enjoying your weekends in crowded shopping malls?

having a relaxing time?

is it more relaxing and peacful when there is more people or less people?

already having one of the highest population densities, the density will continue to increase due to whatever the reasons given.

random pick a person on the streets, chances are he is foreigner or newbie.

such population design is great for employers to have plenty to choose resources from so that they can get the ‘best’ price. not sure how good it is for employees?

weekends spend in crowded malls and dense HDB, for the majority.

i can only say, the majority loves this lifestyle.

I can only congratulate the majority .

I think they no need wish for More Good Years – they will get ‘more good years’ for sure – though global recession is looming. Companies are gonna be sacking people as shown by the banks leading the way.

enjoy less crime.

enjoy spacious and uncrowded public transport. people coughing in the buses. stench and all. grease and all. communicable diseases and all. no worry, no problem wan. pay and pay then maybe can get better service lor.

Retire in a super dense blocks of flats. pay medical bills and live longer. work until death is near is good for you and provide fast food restaurants cheaper labor.

Pay and Pay is the way. for you, i should say.

regards
    Kangaroo Chua of the Mui Mui Land of Bee Hoon full of concentrated MSG reading the MSM.

2. To some people, it is the more the merrier.

I really do not understand why these some people simply cannot empathise with the Local Born and what’s in their brains?

patriot

3. tiredsingaporean 27 September 2008

Simple! the incoming of newbies will not stop and thats what the garment wants (bringing in more $$$ duh!) forcing the local folks either to leave the country, (if they have the means to) thereby leaving behind the rest to rot here. We, each and everyone of us got ourselves screwed far too long and thats the way things are and will be, simple!

4. Is anyone supposed to be surprised by this population statistics? – remotely surprised even?

So now what? What is this report supposed to do? What is it supposed to bring about? Can the people of Singapore DO ANYTHING about it?

I mean, WTF for?
    Really… WTF?

5. Based on my observation commuting via MRT everyday, my personal observation is:

“The number of non-residents grew by 50 per cent, while the resident population went up by ZERO per cent (possibly declining too).”

Of course, there is no accuracy in my statistic as the word CITIZEN, PR, EMPLOYMENT PASS or STUDENT PASS is not stamped on their forehead.

Only by the way they look and speak.

lol.

6. Whitley-gate 28 September 2008

I have said, sorry but I think its worth restate, foreigners are vital for Singapore’s economy (not country per se) to enable then that its not unfair to give ministers million-dolllar salaries.

7. “foreigners are vital for Singapore’s economy (not country per se) to enable then that its not unfair to give ministers million-dolllar salaries.”

No one says that foreigners are not important to Singapore’s economy. Only how much is enough ? Quantity or quality ? Research shows that productivity is dropping in Singapore due to high influx of foreigners.
    http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/press_room/press_releases/2008/20080314-LM.html

Productivity should be commensurated with quality not quantity of foreigners. High influx of foreigners make up for economic growth rather than productivity ? Still some will argue that volume of cheap labours will make up for productivity but that is absurb because cheap labour depress wages and depress productivity per par.

When ministers take the easy way and use money to resolve the economy (that is use quantity rather than quality of workers to grow the economy, do you think the minister deserves the million-dollars ? Even entrepreneurial Ah Beng, Ah Seng and Ah Lian from Malaysia also know the economics of using cheap labours for cost saving. No need for expensive ministers to tell us so.

Even Gopalan Nair knows the economical reasons well
    http://singaporedissident.blogspot.com/2008/05/singapore-believe-it-or-not-foreigners.html
    Do this former Singaporean need to be Singapore citizen to teach us ?

8. including thousands of lounge hostesses and sex workers (from China/ASEAN) now living in the heartlands and HDB areas.

so much for talking about defending the elusive “family values”. why do we import so many such women to seduce our men (for their money) and break up our families?

Prof Thio Li-Ann, a stalwart proponent of “family values” shouldnt be keeping quiet in parliament.

9. “including thousands of lounge hostesses and sex workers (from China/ASEAN) now living in the heartlands and HDB areas.”

Maybe these workers are productive after all in helping Singapore produces more babies for economical value and NS ! With these uncontrolled proliferation of these “sex” talents, Singapore will soon be nickname Sexyapore.

Notwithstanding Singapore seens the success of social escort service. Wow, could this also produce elite baby for next generation gov ?