Main Stories - Written on Friday, October 31, 2008 12:24 - 40 Comments
Abdul Razak Baginda acquitted
With special thanks to Malaysiakini.com:
S Pathmawathy
The Shah Alam High Court today acquitted political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda of abetting the alleged murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.
Justice Mohd Zaki Md Yasin ruled that the prosecution failed to prove a prima facie case against Abdul Razak.
The court however ordered Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, 32 and Corporal Sirul Azha Umar, 37, who are members of the Special Action Force (UTK), to enter their defence to the charge of murder.
Both decided to testify under oath. They will be taking the stand on Nov 10.
The prosecution is expected to file an appeal against Abdul Razak’s acquittal.
Altantuya was allegedly shot before her body was blown up with explosives two years ago.
Azilah and Sirul are jointly charged with murdering Altantuya, 28, at a location between Lot 12843 and Lot 16735 in Mukim Bukit Raja, Selangor between 10am on Oct 19, 2006 and 1am the following day.
Abdul Razak Baginda, 47, was charged with abetting them. He is a known confidante of Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak, having worked on government arms procurement projects while the latter was defence minister.
The prosecution closed its case against the trio on June 23 after 151 days of testimony from 84 witnesses.
An elated Abdul Razak left the court with his wife and daughter at about 10.10am.
Refusing to address the journalists who cornered him, Abdul Razak merely said: “I just want to go home”.
———-
40 Comments
at least we know we have similarities with Malaysia.
Mas Selamat escaped – blame the police warden – WKS absolved from sin.
Altantuya Shaariibuu murdered – blame the police officers – ARB free from blame.
Time for WKS and ARB to toast each other…. Yam Seng!……
2) gemami on October 31st, 2008 3.01 pm
at least we know we have similarities with Malaysia.
no lah, you forget 1 big difference liao, all cars coming in from Johor need not have to pump up their tank to 3/4 full, so good one leh!
I really feel very ma-lu (pei say) when my friends there asked me how come your garment here so cheap skate one hah!
It is the same here and there K-court.
Curiouser, and curiouser.
The prosecution take so long to investigate and makes such a poor case.
Got to see how this case develops.
Most likely casualty will be “truth”.
I wonder how much richer is the judge rite now…
This is the one of the most despicable injustice that I have come acrossed. The judial system is unbelievable. Who can believe that 2 policemen killed a foresign woman with explosive that is only available from military for no reason. The most dirty country. I do not know anyone can look into the face of these people. I would not even want to be in the room of all these people.
I remember a certain OJ Simpson as well.
OJ Simpson did not have the kind of protection Baginda received,
very powerful godfather, soon to be number one lah !
The methods used to dispatch another human is an extreme contrast.
dynamite vs knife, gross overkill.
We certainly have incredible neighbours, if only the real criminals were dispatched in a similar manner. lol
The Malaysian legal system is a sham. The judges can only safeguard their employment and pension by cooperating with the powers to be.
The American system favours the rich who could afford to pay for good legal counsel. But the law has caught up with OJ. Ironically, he’ll be punished for involvement in a more recent robbery case, not murder of his wife and her friend years ago.
Sigh. ASEAN is so far away from reaching 1st World status.
This is the one country that tell the whole whole , MALAYSIA TRULY ASIA,
Malaysia boleh!
No one really knows what happened, which is the case with most crimes of passion/violence. The very troubling thing is that the persons charged with committing the crime were law enforcers themselves. What could have happened? I speculate that the Mongolian woman probably tried to blackmail the acquitted party or made some kind of threat, and some persons decided to bum her off. How the killers were ‘contracted’ is probably the murkiest part of the case. Were the killers actually ‘given orders’, did they ‘take a cue’ from the acquitted or did they, out of frustration at being unable to handle a subject, and a foreign woman at that, decide to bum her off? And in fine fashion they did. I really don’t understand the use of explosives here. Was the Mongolian woman really so malignant as to provoke such vindictiveness?
Don’t be too happy for the acquittal at this juncture. Perhaps it was not he who had ordered the execution; perhaps it was someone higher up. I can only suspect. Will the truth be revealed?
Anyway, whoever that was behind the murder would have to face the crime squarely one day, be it crime of passion or crime of greed.
Likewise in Sickapoor, whoever that was behind the “murder” of freedom of the citizens would have to face the crime squarely one day.
No one can escape retribution! Not even god!
I think all the `victims’ got what they deserved.
Razak, will always have to live with his own guilt and face God. He has also let down his wife and family, for sucumbing to the weakness of the flesh. Even if totally acquitted ( after prosecutors appeal ) public doubts will always shadow him till his death.
The two accused of the killing will be facing the consequences.
Altantuya, call her what you like, was basically a prostitute who found what she thought was a goldmine, to threaten for ransome, although her child was not his in the first place.
Perhaps, most important is the lesson for us all. In this instance, I must praise our MM for always having his wife during his past travels.
That is what all husbands and wives should do, if they value their wedding oaths.
The state of the Malaysian courts does not imply if Singapore court is better or worse.
Whatever the web of intrigues, there is no reason or excuse for killing another human being.
The judiciary in Malaysia is not independent. Only if judges dare to uphold justice could there be positive changes.
The guilty who gets away with crime will not feel remorseful but would be encouraged to commit more heinous deeds.
To # 16 Sobri
Our MM have his wife with him during past travels ? Maybe only cos she insisted lah but I am wondering are the tax payers footing her bill ?? Remember when she fell sick in UK last time, MM ordered SIA to make a special flight just to take 2 of them back to S’pore. Is this abuse of power ?
What do you mean? Who’s happy? Anyway, you’re right that whatever goes around comes around; there’s this thing called retribution. If there’s anyone less interested in vague terms and idioms, maybe you’re be interested to know that there’s always a system of justice, or ‘justice system’ if you like, outside the state’s. The killers and those who abetted the crime will be caught in the end, not to worry.
All the victims? There’s only one victim in this case, the murdered woman– with the exception of her family of course, who are ‘victims’ in the sense that one of their own was murdered. I take it that you meant that the murdered woman deserved it, and that her family deserved to have her die.
If there is no instruction from the top, do you think the police officers will carry out anything silly ? Junior officers always follow instructions from the senior.
I think that’s where you wrong. It doesn’t matter which line you’re in; very often people who work under people– in fact there are few people who don’t have to work under other people, we’re most of us liable to someone– think they interpret something sinister for which if they do not pass on they are going to be the recipient of. Killers often kill because they think their supervisors will kill them if they don’t kill, meaning that no order is necessary– just a sinister look, a steeple made with the fingers, a veiled threat, and the killers are good to go. Now I’m not saying that the killers in this case didn’t receive orders. What I am saying is that persons who commit violent acts like murder often think they had received indirect orders to. My other contention is that the killers in this case, if they were law enforcers, probably grew weary or frustrated at how things were turning out; seeing as how this woman couldn’t be coerced with whatever they tried, either legal/enforcement authority or covert operations or both, and thinking that since she wasn’t even a citizen they could do anything to her– like make her disappear. Again, that she was not Malaysian is only one contributing factor as to why they could bring themselves to kill her. The woman it seems had tried to blackmail the acquitted.
Aside from murder I think the thing most shocking is the way in which they dealt with her. Shooting someone and burying him or her is already bad enough, and discarding a dead body in some remote or out-of-the-way place is disrespectful enough. But to blow up a dead woman with explosives I can only think is an act entailing both disrespect and perverse delight. What were they trying to tell one another or others at the scene, or the aftermath of the incident? That in Malaysia this is what happens to persons who try to screw around with the ‘establishment’; that not only the terrorists use explosives to destroy life and property? Sheer evil. They were making a statement doing all that.
Blackmail is possible because there’s wrongdoing committed in the arms deal brokered by the Mongolian lady which enriched certain people in govenrment.
But that’s no EXCUSE to take another human life.
We are sick to the bone swallowing this judicial bail-out of this rich political leech (ARB) from his gruesome crime.He earned whooping millions from the submarine deals on the back of the Mongolian girl. He turned her down like criminal after confessing globe-trotting love.She didn’t ask much, but she underestimated the greed over money of her Malaysian lover and the depth of the fiddling in the wheeling and dealing of armaments and defense infrastructures in Malaysia. She was in the know. She has to be C4ed to shut her up. We Malaysians know who ordered that. And, we Malaysians have to live with this crime of our political masters and their leeches for life.
Don’t wait for “retribution”. It may never come. Believe and hope if you want. We real people with real guts taking real actions to change things.
>19) MB on November 1st, 2008 2.32 pm To # 16 Sobri
>Our MM have his wife with him during past travels ? Maybe only cos she >insisted lah but I am wondering are the tax payers footing her bill ?? >Remember when she fell sick in UK last time, MM ordered SIA to make a >special flight just to take 2 of them back to S’pore. Is this abuse of power ?
————————————
`Maybe’ ………that means you are not sure. In the same instance, `maybe’ it was MM who insisted, right?
One thing for sure MM does not tolerate hanky-panky ………so one can safely expect that no minister or MP who appeared in any scandalous video ( if there are any ) will ever have a chance to be in power again in the government.
As for that special flight, perhaps you could ask SIA. Note that none of the opposition members make any bone out of the incident. Perhaps it is called ` respect for one’s leaders’ which I find most lacking now, especially among young people.
Maybe, a descend into a really traumatic situation, like what the Indonesians went through ………….and still are, would wake us up to the importance of having good clean leadership. I do not expect leaders to be angels, as all men have their own defects, and consequences of their leadership could even be killings. We cannot dispute that Ghandi was a good leader, but the consequences of his fight for independence got many killed in inter-ethnic – religious conflicts
@27 sobri,
“One thing for sure MM does not tolerate hanky-panky “. what a laugh !
making the judiciary suck up to him or the judiciary willingly suck up to him, which ever way you wish to see it, is hanky-panky, right ?
manipulating the elections system to win is also hanky-panky, right ?
special arrangement of family members in key positions is hanky-panky, right ?
your understanding of hanky-panky seems to be centred on extra marital activities only.
implementing a system with so many eunuchs sucking up is one hanky-panky that is truly tough to beat. what a laugh !
‘He earned whooping millions from the submarine deals on the back of the Mongolian girl.’
This isn’t very familiar with us. What do you mean?
Does it mean that Abdul Razak Baginda’s acquittal is final – end. He can go scot free for life. Like that ah! What a system! Shame! I was a Malaysian. They, the Bumis fixed me at Universiti Malaya and so I rode my motorbike down to Singapore in 1977 to start a new life. I am glad to be rid of this God forsaken country. A murderer can go free!
Some background information for gnghs if you’re interested in details of the French submarine deal involving TR Bagain, Najib and the Mongoliain girl.
Secrecy, suspicions, questions remain unanswered.
Anyone involved in incriminating the power that be will be put away.
Raja Petra in his article implicated Najib and his wife, Rosmah Mansor, in the murder. But instead of suing for defamataion, they chose ISA. Why? Afraid that cross examination would expose more dirt in the courts.
What do you mean, if any? There was this MP chap who had nude pictures of himself and his maid or someone exposed all over the media in Singapore, wasn’t there? In a case like that, pictures (whether moving or still-life) or no pictures, decisions of political leaders or without, the MP is bound to want to step out of the limelight, and there are things he can do– like resign from his position if need be. Of course there will also be persons bearing the name of political leaders, in other words, ‘name-drop’, with or without the actual decision of the latter, to “help” a person like the MP do the needful. Can’t agree with you more about how “respect for one’s leaders” is terribly lacking amongst young people now, as then. What have our leaders not done to earn the kind of respect we, unlike young people, accord them? How is respect from young people earned anyway? Is it by doing things like infringing upon their privacy and freedoms, or the opposite? Perhaps respect begets respect.
So much about Malaysian judicial systems. Guess the judges are still being fed.
Respect has to be earned. One does not get respect simply by being who they are, but by what they do.
#34, well said.
Back to the main article, you can only hope the judicial system here will get better.
WHat happens in M’sia, really should be the model, which Spore should strive NOT TO HAVE.
Bolehland, what a lousy country, run by a bunch of goons and thugs. Glad to be Singaporean.
No, not well said actually. Isn’t it supposed to be ‘One does not get respect simply by being who one is, but by what one does?’.
And #32 should have said ‘Perhaps disrespect begets disrespect.’
Have a great day.
Frye in ‘Anatomy of Criticism’:
‘…We read murder stories with a strong sense of the unreality of the villainy involved. Murder is doubtless a serious crime, but if private murder really were a major threat to our civilization it would not be relaxing to read about it…The next step is an ironic comedy addressed to the people who can realize that murderous violence is less an attack on a virtuous society by a malignant individual than a symptom of that society’s own viciousness.’
Frankly I don’t understand Frye very well on these two points here; I can understand somewhat the second statement since he is addressing fiction and ironic comedy, but on the first I should say that I often read news about murder with great apprehension and belief that the perpetrators are killers. He isn’t too far wrong though about ‘private murder’ not being a major threat to civilisation in general; he chose his words well, especially the adjective ‘major’, because one murder really is not going to pose any huge problem to everything that civilisation is. I would greatly prefer though that murderous violence be non-existent inside fiction or ironic comedy and outside of it, and I am more familiar with the kind of self-inflicted violence that is less an attack on a society by an individual than a symptom of that society’s own malignance, and voyeurism.
Way to go ! mankind can do what they like in this world but we cannot escape the laws of nature where if there is a cause,there will be an effect.If you do good,you get good results.If you do bad,yiu would get bad results……..even in this inperfect world we live in it still stands by this law.
Aye, but one wishes another could have put that in more grammatical a manner.
Anyway, court or prosecution evidence apparently showed that the defendant had indeed asked the officers to ‘resolve’ the problem. ‘Resolve’ is likely the accurate translation from the Malay, and would be akin to ’settle’– you know how some cops expect Singaporeans apprehended with traffic offences to go, ‘Bang, settle, bang?’ before expecting some currency folded nicely between travel documents handed over. ‘Settle’ or ‘resolve’, these synonyms are a good translation for the equivalent in Bahasa Melayu but let’s get to the point, which is that ‘resolve’ is a very general word. I doubt if the defendant charged with abetting the murder had actually insinuated that the victim be murdered; the defendant just had too much at stake and going for him to have made this mistake, the well-connected analyst that he is. Of course he did wish that the victim would go away and never bother him ever again– who in his position wouldn’t? That’s what the killers knew, and what the victim knew as well, although her interests in the matter were obviously in conflict with theirs. All the defendant, now acquitted, asked for however was a police beat box, probably at the entrance of his home, to provide a kind of signal to the victim that there was police presence and protection and that she ought not to make a scene at his place. But the victim apparently did not heed that, and did exactly what she was expected not to. The second time she turned up at his place, whether she created a scene or not, the officers decided to resolve the problem the way they knew how. I guess the first hypothesis in a previous comment was correct. The officers grew tired of having to contend with her. They decided to dispose of her. (That says a lot about law enforcement over there. I’m quite sure the Singaporean police don’t do things like that, or for the matter, security and intelligence forces, whether enforcement or military– in fact, it has been claimed that they do not conduct ‘political assassination’ in the conventional sense. Any kind of political assassination is conducted with the pen. Or word. But you know what I mean.) Anyway, the killers probably depended, and probably still are depending, on those they had political affinities with to cover for them, but when cover was blown, and considering the magnitude of the offence, the killers found that those they resolved the matter for were of course not going to “share the blame”. Experts at politics, you see, are better at blame-shifting and delegation of tasks (like the resolution of problems and difficult persons). Nonetheless, those who murder will pay for murder, as well as those who abet such offences. This, surely, will turn out a lesson to us all never to resort to violence.
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

can’t imagine how dirty politics in any country can be these days. . . . in the name of power and money, they can resort to anything that you can ever dream of.