Tuesday, October 14, 2008 8:48
Chasing that elusive Singapore Dream
In Main Stories, Ravi Philemon, Top Story • 2,758 views • 80 Comments
Ravi Philemon / Writer
Peter faces difficult choices. Peter, who is a diabetic with a heart condition, barely makes enough money to pay the rent on the 3-Room HDB house that he is renting from a friend of his son, pay for transportation costs and to put food on the table for his family of five.
It is a constant struggle even though Peter works as an Administrative Assistant in Singapore Press Holdings and his wife works as an Administrative Assistant in a secondary school. Together, they bring home $1800 after CPF and loan deductions. Of this, they spend $1200 as rent, $400 for transportation costs and are left with a mere $200 to buy provisions and to put food on the table.
Peter often has to scrimp to pay for the medicine he has to take for his diabetic condition. The medicine costs about $250, but he can only deduct $150 from his Medisave account and has to pay the remaining $100 in cash. Peter has 3 children – a 22-year-old son doing his national service and two daughters aged 13 and 10 still in school.
His problems started in 2005, when he fractured his leg in a motorcycle accident. His employers of ten years had to retrench him. As he was not able to service the mortgage loan that he had taken from the bank, he had to sell his 5-Room flat at a loss of $18,000. As his household income is above $1500, he is not able to rent a flat from HDB. He did not have sufficient money to pay the cash over valuation (COV) to buy another flat from the open market. He went to seek help from his Member of Parliament (MP). After an appeal from his MP, HDB referred him to EM Services, which rented him a 3-Room flat at $1300 per month. It was later reduced to $850 on appeal by his MP.
This September, EM Services rejected his application to extend his tenancy after his contract with them expired. When he reached out to some social service agencies, he was advised that they could help by arranging for his children to stay in a shelter but Peter declined this ‘help’ as it would mean effectively breaking up his family. It was at this point that his son’s friend provided a temporary solution for his predicament.
“My son’s friend allowed me to rent his house for 3 months. It was very kind of him. But what will I do after the 3 months?” asks Peter. “The government should help Singaporeans like me. But nobody wants to hear my story”, he laments.
Peter’s story is but just one example of a new classification of the ‘needy’ in Singapore. Just like Peter, a substantial number of families in Singapore, with dual income are struggling to make ends meet. We are in the midst of a sociological change where a new class of poor is being created. Many families are in the workforce, many even with dual income; but most of it is based on short-term job contracts. These people are the emerging faces of the new poor in Singapore – a nation which was built on the belief that “if you work hard, you can make it”. But the ladder to a better life for some hardworking families seems to be getting harder to climb.
Sarah a 36 year old who works as an attendant in a home for the aged says, “The work is emotionally fulfilling. I feel like I am serving my parents who are not around anymore. But it is financially frustrating.” Her husband works as a taxi-driver and together they have a combined income of about $2300. Their HDB flat was repossessed by the banks for non-payment of loans, and now most of their income goes towards renting a 4-Room HDB flat. “I have 3 children and my husband’s parents stay with us, so we have to rent a bigger house. After paying $1800 for the rental of the house, I am left with very little for food and other necessities. And during festival seasons, it is even more pressing as my children expect us to buy new clothes and gifts like the other children,” she says, “I think I am a failure as a parent.”
The runaway prices of HDB flats have made home ownership out of reach for this “new poor”. Home prices have risen faster than wages for low-to-moderate-income families. While many jobs are still being created, the higher paying jobs are still out of reach for this “new poor” who often lack diplomas or degrees to qualify for such jobs. These people who work as administrative assistants, taxi-drivers, laboratory technicians, hawkers and teaching assistants, seem to be chasing an illusive Singapore Dream for a better life.
———-
About the author:
Ravi Philemon serves in a community services agency serving the homeless in Singapore. He recently returned from the United States, where he worked in a directorial position for a faith-based community outreach service, serving the homeless.
———–
80 Comments
loop
I think that every society has its fair share of people in financial difficulties. Life is generally not a bed of roses.
That said, I still think that the government is able and should extend its scope of social responsibility. As Singapore hurtles along the path of globalisation at a relentless pace, it is imperative for the government to step out of its fear of welfarism and reorient its policies (housing,public transporation,key utilities,taxation, social help) to better reflect social needs.
A different time calls for a different apporach. While it is true that most developed countries today grapple with the emergence of the “new poor”, the government should not use that as an excuse to assume a hands-off approach.
It is always cases like this that reinstate my belief that the Singapore government, namely PAP ministers, are too rigid and inflexible in their policy planning and execution.
They speak from their ivory towers of luxury and elitism and can barely understand what is poverty and helplessness.
Think Vivian Balakrishnan who asked insensitively, ” Three meals in a hawker centre or in a restaurant?” during a hearing for PA subsidy. These needy folks barely have enough for three basic simple meals.
Frogs in a Well of hum
unique sporeans is reportedly generally quite well travelled.
But do they know or can they explain why sporeans behave differently than any other 1 world citizens of the democracy kind?
unless they only travelled to 3rd worlds most of the time?
So my challenge to self-proclaimed smart sporeans is this.
How 1st world do you really think you are?
How right are you , you think?
Why sporeans in general and especially those who are highly qualified and experienced and influential do not voice up at Hong Lim Park until last Sunday’s gathering for the FIASCO where many may or already lost their entire life savings?
When these people do not voice up for others like transport or electricity hikes, just to name a few, why is it that they expect others to do service for them for free?
Want to pragmatic? So, why should anyone speak up for them? Just question, though.
regards
Grass Rot Lee Der of the Kang type
RIP
loop, what are you talking about??? if the protagonists are asked to pay $3000 as rental for a 3-HDB flat, would you still pass the cynical remark that couples earning so little shldn’t have more than one kid? what level is comfortable for you – $1300, $3000 or $30,000?
the crux is: the rental market has spiralled up much faster than the snail-paced growth of the wage market. think: in early 2006, one could actually rent a 2-bedroom CONDOMINIUM for $1500. and 2 years later, you’re asked to pay $1300 for a hdb-room – with the “help” of a MP too!!!
this is obviously part of a structural problem CREATED by the bureacrats running the economy.
what is singapore dream? contrary to the american dream, i think our dream is simply making enuff to stay alive and having a job till we die…
rebel peasant
Agreed. Our ministers have been so used to living the good life that they have forgotten what it was like to be poor
blade
Alex (#2), Rachel Chung (#3):
it is sad to noe tt the govt has nt done enuff to cushion the high cost of living in sg. frm the non-action of recent price hike in essential items (transports, electricity, newspaper, phone fixed line). our country, our govt might be financially rich, with temasek holdings and GIC possessing hundreds of billions of fund, but so many of our people are suffering.
our higher ranking officials are mainly made up of elites, many born with silver spoon. they have not been through tougher times, thus do not understand the difficulty of the lower income.
Frogs in a Well of hum (#4):
well travelled, as you’ve mentioned. but to what extent is travelling related to awakening? many might envy the democracy found in other 1st world country, but general mindset is “there’s nothing they can do in singapore”. With political policing, how many people are willing to stand up for their rights?
many of our people suppressed their thoughts and views because they don’t feel their voices heard. as you mentioned on the above case, i believe if Tan Kin Lian has not taken the lead, our people will just let the matter rest as the time passes.
I applaud Tan for his proactive action. But how about other drastic measures passed through recently? Are there other “Tan Kin Lian” who are willing to stand up for our rights?
Yamasam
I found the comments made by loop highly insensitive and regrettable.
If loop had read the story of Peter more carefully, he/she should have realised that Peter’s children are 22, 13 and 10 years old.
May be 10 years ago, Peter is earning sufficiently to support a family of 5 or more. But quite clearly, things are not well for his family 10 years on and have fallen on hard times.
Also, Peter was retrenched in 2005 after an accident. People who have been retrenched before will tell you that it is very difficult to find good paying jobs since the start of the new millenium. And this applies to both blue and white collar workers/professionals.
In life, a person’s financial circumstances will change. If one is unlucky, one may fall on difficult times, just like Peter. When such situation occurs, I believe they deserve assistance from our govt and society.
Of course, if one is already in financial difficulties and continue to have babies, then that is a different story. I will agree that the parents are irresponsible in this situation.
Tew N S
I thought our PM said GST increase is to help the poor. How come there are still so many cases surface. Costs of living have escalated til so high, I don’t think by helping the poor can solve the problems. govt should control the price and not let to market forces. Govt likes to increase the hike for everything, looks like it is incompetent of it purposely suck more from the residents.
ordinaryman
To loop…….# 1
“This is always the same old problem. Why does couples earning so little gave birth to more than one child? “………….
So are you saying, if only all ppls. are wise then there will be no problem in this world? Not all humane are make the same , some are less intelligent than other, some are more fortunate than other, some are more discipline than other, etc………… .If you are mature or live with your eyes open you may undersstand(or else you are also consider less observance than other..)
it also consider mentally handicapped,but not physically…….Nobody fault, one cannot choose to born as he or she like…. That is why the words “HELP ” come in.
I need to pay alot more attention n advise to my son ,cos he is very slow in learning n also less smarter than other. I will still continue to help him for as long as i live.. reason is very simple , I am his father….. Likewise, we expect the country do same to the citizens.
blade
ordinaryman (#1):
“I need to pay alot more attention n advise to my son…… Likewise, we expect the country do same to the citizens.”
when our country pay more attention (road congestion, oil price increase, transport fare structure, etc) and gives advises (increase in ERP, EMA approval to increase electricity tariff, PTA approval to increase transport fare), our people suffer, when the relevant parties earn exorbitant profits.
Instead of plainly giving advices and implementing them, I do hope our country can understand our people and consider inputs from our people.
Similarly, ordinaryman, remember to listen to your son.
ordinaryman
blade, sure i will…… the very special bond between father n son….. same goes country n citizen…hahaha… nice day. blade
Keep on dreaming
What dream ?
We would be lucky if we are able to be gainfully employed till we die at about 85+ (statistics say so lah) so that we can pay off our 1st class (AAAAAAA++++) rated essential services at such at affordable prices offered by 1st class G-linked-here-linked-there companies.
blade
Tew N S (#9):
“I thought our PM said GST increase is to help the poor.”
did our PM really say that?
it doesn’t much sense, since GST is a regressive tax.
Consider 2 families:
Ah Gold with monthly income $20k
Ah Beng with monthly income $2k
With GST of 5%, let’s assume both spend $1050 per month.
Now GST increase to 7%, both would be spending $1070.
To Ah Gold, the increase of $20 is only 0.1% of his income,
but to Ah Beng, it’s 1% increase of his income, 10x more than Ah Gold.
(the case is used to show how the regressive tax works)
tiredsingaporean
9) Tew N S on October 14th, 2008 11.33 am I thought our PM said GST increase is to help the poor.
Read properly. GST increase is to help the poor . . . all papee ministers to think of ways and means to squeeze the blood out of each and every singaporean cos the old man thinks and feels that he owns the entire country including all the things and people that comes with it. In any country where rulers become too engrossed into money and power, the people suffers and these are facts of life in history.
Frogs in a Well of hum
7) blade on October 14th, 2008 11.06 am
There is political policing i believe in any country.
Why singaporeans so special?
Are sporeans not smart enough to improve things?
How smart are they?
Being well travelled without ability to learn from other democracies is an indication of lack of wisdom.
Tell me the meaning of Democracy. either it is or it is not a democracy.
What is wrong with speaking up based on FACTs?
Tan KL speak wisely and clearly based on facts.
Why are the other many more talents not voicing up?
Ok lah then let all be selfish and not help anyone. When you need help, see who will help you! Only wake up when they themselves pocket hurt , lose every cent of their hard earned money. Okay lah, Tan why Tan stand up for these who never voiced up for others? Any explaination from anyone here? helloooo!!??
blade
ordinaryman (#12):
good day to you too.
i hope for this bond between the country and our citizens…
blade
Frogs in a Well of hum (#15)
“Tell me the meaning of Democracy.”
i’m not well versed in politics, nor well literate in such terms. i only know that our voices are left unheard.
“What is wrong with speaking up based on FACTs?”
you’re right. there’s nothing wrong stating facts. our citizens air their views in forums and on papers based on facts, but what is being done by the parties related to the issues?
it’s about effective communication, to put our message through. our people might be highlighted issues to our families and friends. but we need a reputable person to put our message across.
perhaps we are all coward, expressing our views through anonymous means. at least, we leave the views on various issues, exchange these views with others, and come up with proposals for issues sometimes, in the hope that these can be heard by the authorities or another Tan.
gemami
16) Frogs in a Well of hum on October 14th, 2008 12.09 pm
Tell me the meaning of Democracy. either it is or it is not a democracy.
True democracy does not need telling. You will know it when our first class economy managed by our first class ministers is match by a first class people who fully understand that the govt is there to serve them and are not afraid to demand the service expected of these servants.
Each poitician is a servant to the people who electted him or her. How can we expect democracy when we treat our servant-politician different from our servant-maids? The former, we pay obsenely to serve us while the latter, with peanuts and abuses.
I am also not very well-versed in politics but hey! who cares for the politicking when my stomach is rumbling and my children are looking at me with mouths open wide and hands stretched out?
Who needs the hear the blueprints for a first-world economy, how to plan for the future etc. when i am dying at your doorsteps? The doorsteps of the servants I employed to take care of my well-being.
We must wake up and realise that we are the employers and the govt our employees. In which organisation do you have employees telling their employers what to do?
I agree with gemami. An elected government is composed of civil servants that must ultimately answer to its people.
This is not to say that we deny their mandate for decisive leadership. Rather, leadership must be to some extent managed by the people themselves; that checks and balances are in place to curb the government’s hand.
A top-down leadership approach that has always been in place is inappropriate in today’s globalized world. It is, at best, boring,callous and uninspiring. It makes our people parochial and self-centered; politically apathetic because national decisions lie largely out of their hands.
gemami
Alex, may I just add these to continue with the ending statement of your post (#20).
. . . . . politically apathetic because national decisions lie largely out of their hands. . . . which reduces or even eliminates the need for accountability.
There must be accountability for every action or non-action.
Greedy Evil Selfish Kangaroo teach their sons the way to succeed is to ...
I believe the Majority owe the people a thesis explaining the mentality of THE uniqueness.
gemami
‘Unique’ is such a dirty word when used to described Singapore and her people.
Because we are ‘unique’, we MUST have a one-party govt.
Because we are unique, others cannot meddle in our affairs.
Because we are unique, our 1st-class minister gets to keep his job when a 1st- class terrorist escaped, or rather, took a walk out of our 1st-class lockup.
Because we are unique, we must not get to hear dissenting views.
Because we are unique, we must pay our govt top dollars to make fun of us.
Because we are unique, we have members of parliament entering parliaments by the backdoor (coat-tails and skirts ) of glorified superhuman ministers.
Please, I do not want to be unique – normal will do for me.
lzy
Another sad case :(
#1) “Why does couples earning so little gave birth to more than one child?”
How many couples who wish to have children but can’t even have 1?
Children is a blessing not burden.
————————————————————————————————-
HDB only look at money, no money no talk, no money sleep void deck, it’s your problem.
isa
“I have 3 children and my husband’s parents stay with us, so we have to rent a bigger house. After paying $1800 for the rental of the house, I am left with very little for food and other necessities. And during festival seasons, it is even more pressing as my children expect us to buy new clothes and gifts like the other children,” she says, “I think I am a failure as a parent.”
Can someone gives this woman a financial literacy course…
Paying $1800 to rent … and after 20years, that is money down the drain..
Why not use that $1800 to pay for the installament of a smaller flat… and after 20 years, you have got a flat that you can sell or whatever you do..
The righteous care about justice for the poor, but the wicked have no such concern. Proverbs 29:7
James
@ gemami
Lol well said.
Because we are unique, we must have our own monies locked up in CPF.
Because we are unique, higher taxation is supposed to help the poor.
Because we are unique, someone has a unique $3.1m pa salary too.
More good years ahead!
lzy
Hi isa :D
I read that they’re not able to pay for the “cash over value”, their previous 5-room flat is sold at a loss of $18,000, “HDB referred him to EM Services, which rented him a 3-Room flat at $1300 per month. It was later reduced to $850 on appeal by his MP but EM Services rejected his application to extend his tenancy after his contract with them expired.”
There’s no help from HDB but only add fuel to fire for them.
isa
#28, Izy,
I am talking about the 2nd case… SaRAH
I speak my mind
Sorry man, u try sleeping at void deck also will be FINE !
If you are really poor (at their standard) the “competent” depts will help. If your combine faimily’s income is above $2000 k (any one can confirm on this) then you are not poor in their “standard”
I really didn’t know $2000 is still “so big” in current singapore context.
gemami
isa, i.s.a. – is your name really isa or are you here as part of i.s.a.’s scare tactics?
Ayn Rand
30) I speak my mind on October 14th, 2008 3.59 pm
“There’s no way to rule innocent men. The only power government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws.” – Ayn Rand
gemami
Didn’t you hear?
Old fart writing a book.
It’s called: A thousand and one ways to becoming a criminal
MMSMPMMC
Case 1:
1988 a new 5 room HDB flat unit was selling at $95k in Boon Keng, a junior engineer monthly salary is around $800 a month. The ration is 118:1 monthly.
Case 2:
1998 a new 5 rm HDB flat unit was selling at $280k a month in the same estate. A fresh graduate junior engineer monthly salary is around $1600. The ratio is 155:1 monthly.
Case 3:
2008 a new 5rm HDB DBSS flat at Boon Keng was seen quoted at $780k during the launch. A freshly graduated engineer makes around $2500 a month. The ratio is around 300:1 monthly. If the engineer look for a resale unit of 10 yrs old in the same estate, it will easily cost him $480k with COV of at least $25k. Case 2 home owner will most likely be calling this price due to the MRT. The ratio for the resale unit is 201:1 monthly.
From these case studies you can easily spotted that HDB housing are growing a a rate of 120% whereas the fresh grad engineer salary are not growing at the same rate. With the DBSS HDB flat, the jump is even over 200% if compare with unit of the same size 10 years ago.
HDB is suppose to be a public housing stat board building “affordable” public houses. Why come out with so many different scheme to “make more $$$”. Why is there a income cap of $8000 and yet selling HDB units that are priced like a private condo?
To me , all the so call public service stat boards are all making ginormous profit over the last few years including S-Pools. Where have all these “profits” gone? The sinking fund in Town Council are also in gastronomic level of multi-millions. IIf the sinking fund is so high why some of the 4 storeys HDB flat has yet to get their elevators and why are HDB flats that only has elevator that stop at 1-6-11 or 1-5-9-12 still not getting their floor landing lift yet?
The best part of all is the recent 22% electric hike, SPower is not losing $$$, they are making profits. So why the huge adjustment? Why HKG public power can get reduced by 3% and Singapore has to be so uniquely increase 22%?
Why has Singapore becomes so “Expensive”??? We don’t want or need any hand-out since we are still living ok (please do pass hand-out to those not so fortunate families), but don’t make it too expensive for us that we caanot have a ok life living in Singapore.
tiredsingaporean
32) Ayn Rand on October 14th, 2008 4.30 pm
Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them.
You are damn right about this Ayn Rand. The system is made in such a way to make you ppl pay and pay as long as you are alive. If you can’t pay, case goes to court and they slap you now with a court summon, still cannot pay, go to jail becos now you owes money to the court and not the one who brings you to court. See! automatic criminal conversion system.
lzy
#29 isa,
Can someone gives this woman a financial literacy course…
Paying $1800 to rent … and after 20years, that is money down the drain..
Why not use that $1800 to pay for the installament of a smaller flat… and after 20 years, you have got a flat that you can sell or whatever you do..
——————————————————-
sorry my mistake earlier.
Their HDB flat was repossessed by the banks for non-payment of loans – so they won’t be able to loan from banks.
Even HDB is willing to loan to them, it’ll be the same as the Yaps case – give you a very low loan amount – take it or leave it (and they’ll need to come out with a lot cash)
Arthur Lee
Hi Izy & ISA,
Indeed, there’s no help from HDB.
HDB is quick to washed their hands, they had tendered out the rental flats to EM services. Hence, it will be harder to rent flats via HDB in future. Btw, EM Services is a joint venture between the Housing and Development Board and Keppel Land Limited, Hence as a business unit whatever appeal by MP will not work because the interest of the shareholders are more important.
gemami
1) loop on October 14th, 2008 9.49 am This is always the same old problem. Why does couples earning so little gave birth to more than one child?
1. because God says so: “I give you dominance over the creatures of the land, sea and sky . . . go forth and multiply . . . “.
2. because PAP says so: “our people are greying and not enough young people to contribute to cpf”.
3. because my grandmother/grandfather says so: need to continue the family name.
4. because the couple say so:
a. “we were hoping for a son but keep getting daughters; or;
b. we were hoping for a daughter but keep getting sons”.
5. because i am greedy: “baby bonus”
isa
#31 , GERM,
“isa, i.s.a. – is your name really isa or are you here as part of i.s.a.’s scare tactics?”
ISA stands for Introverted Singaporean Asshole.
Is my understand of ISA the same as yours?
gemami
well, the acronym belongs to you – no arguements if you say so.
Please wash your hands
“HDB is quick to washed their hands, they had tendered out the rental flats to EM services.”
They keep goreng their pisang from one round to the next and then to the next.
After a few rounds, the pisang will mutate into a piece of black burned piece of charcoal.
If you complain, the pisang provider will claim that they only provide good pisangs. As for getting a piece of charcoal, they will point their finger to the fire.
Ah too
u stupidly chose people to tekan yourself. ask u to vote for them, u blindly believe in them. now they ask to u eat yourselves, u lan lan eat. u still believe in all their bull shit. serve u right.
James Michael Parthi
Hi all,
I have a suggestion,since Peter is having medical n financial problems,why not all of us band together to help him n his family as much as we can,i know that that there are good Samaritans out there who are more than willing to help Peter,what say you all?
When we talk the talk,lets walk the walk!
Cheers
A7X
tiredsingaporean
41) Please wash your hands on October 14th, 2008 7.06 pm “HDB is quick to washed their hands, they had tendered out the rental flats to EM services
This is exactly the same case when they pass on the service of the independent town councils to managed while these TC are still being run by the PAP MPs working behind the scene as their consultants. Now we know who is responsible for all these TC investing their sinking $$$million funds on private housings instead of using it to help the citizens maintaining their HDB flats, while sametime when citizens could not afford to pay their TC fees, they just penalized them to court. What is happening to Singapore these days? Who can believe such things can actually happened to the Singaporean citizens. Now the question on every singaporeans mind is who can they trust now?
oasis
At some point in your life, you have to take responsibility for the choices you’ve made. That’s what being an adult means, that’s what being a citizen means. You failed to anticipate changes, you failed to prepare, and you made bad decisions. Like many Singaporeans, you deferred your better judgement to the experts, maybe because you were scared or didn’t know any better or didn’t bother to try. It happens to everyone, but that doesn’t absolve you of responsibility. Now, you think it does. Now, you want someone else to clean up your mess. You think, ah, but they have so much, why can’t they help me? The minute they do, the principle is broken. No one is responsible for themselves. And when that happens, the someone you appoint to be responsible for everyone, will exercise his prerogative to ensure that you live responsibly. Thus you have the government you deserve.
roastbird
That’s why we have CPF la. So the poor can afford housing and nonid sleep on streets.
Ravi Philemon, THANK YOU for doing good and helping the poor amongst us. This sandwiched poor middle class “new Singaporean” suffer in silence and shame. With regards to help or advice, they are often vaguely unsure where help can be found in an increasingly expensive and complex Singapore where rules of engagement are dynamically changing. Thank you for being God’s hand and feet and a voice of justice to the poor among us. May the Lord raise up an army of people like you and me to flood this nation with His grace and mercy . . . in these uncertain, turbulent times.
Hard Copy Brochures of Help Resources For the Poor
Two weeks ago, I went to the Meet the People Session with an individual who needed help. While waiting for the long queue, I asked two officers whether there were any hard-copy brochures of Help Resources for the Poor with details of contact phone numbers, agencies to call and maybe how much help was given. The reply given was – Go to this and that website (: .
It’s about time Singapore has a comprehensive hard copy listing of family service centres, homeless shelters, ministries, aid-agencies, help groups, organizations, societies or even corporate entities that provide help and assistance to the poor and disadvantaged among us.
BTW – the PAP Meet the People Session Was Efficient, Fast and Good. A Positive Experience I Will Never Forget.
lzy
45) roastbird on October 15th, 2008 12.03 am That’s why we have CPF la. So the poor can afford housing and nonid sleep on streets.
CPF cannot pay for rental (flat directly rent from HDB) so where do the poor sleep if they can’t afford to buy a flat (direct or resale)?
James Michael Parthi
Since Peter has medical n financial problems,why not all of us band together to help this needy family,lets walk the walk since all can talk the talk,its more beneficial for Peter’s family.
A7X
pillow
44) oasis on October 15th, 2008 12.00 am
At some point in your life, you have to take responsibility for the choices you’ve made. That’s what being an adult means, that’s what being a citizen means. You failed to anticipate changes, you failed to prepare, and you made bad decisions. Like many Singaporeans, you deferred your better judgement to the experts, maybe because you were scared or didn’t know any better or didn’t bother to try. It happens to everyone, but that doesn’t absolve you of responsibility.
well said! – - – now could you direct the same sentiments towards the government?
They have to be ‘adult’ enough to take responsibility, they have to play the part of being a citizen to help their fellow citizens . . . or do they view themselves as from another planet?
They have to take responsibility for:
1. current turmoil because we, the citizens exercised ‘our responsibility’ and voted for a ‘clean, competent, honest, trustworthy and reliable’ government but they have absolutely failed us – allowing the banks and financial institutions to tell lies right in front of their noses!. (you bet your last dollar we WILL take responsibility in the next GE; however, while we wait for that to come around, we still need to live in the here and now).
2. for the escape of Mas Selamat.
3. ignoring the basic needs of the same people who voted for them – never mind those who did not.
I get so tired repeating these I shall let the other posters add on to them.
Don’t preach responsibility when you cannot gaurantee certainty . . . not when the creme-of-the-crop (people arguably smarter than them in money matters) could bring down the world’s financial market . . .like it is now.
gemami
#47 hard-copy brochures
forget it . . . it’ll just be nice to look at (like all pap brochures) but without any substance when it comes to really helping the poor . . . in the end the bill for the printing of these brochures will be passed on to us . . . no thanks.
blade
Hard Copy Brochures of Help Resources For the Poor (#48):
“BTW – the PAP Meet the People Session Was Efficient, Fast and Good. A Positive Experience I Will Never Forget.”
but is it efffective? will our MPs stand up for us and put our voices across in the parliament? or rather, they prefer to voice their own views, which they think their policies are good for us?
blade
James Michael Parthi (#50):
a more effective solution will be to approach the social organizations, like NKF (since he has diabetic), and other welfare organizations for aid, since they have professionals who can advise them and help them tide through this difficult times. maybe you can try and look around for such contacts?
To tiredsingaporean
35) tiredsingaporean on October 14th, 2008 4.43 pm
I recommend you this article. Perhaps you may have read it already.
gemami
55) To tiredsingaporean on October 15th, 2008 10.45 am
wow! good link . . . thought it would be good to reproduce part of it here . . . .
In economics, rent seeking occurs when an individual, organization or firm seeks to make money by manipulating the economic and/or legal environment rather than by trade and production of wealth. The term comes from the notion of economic rent, but in modern use of the term, rent seeking is more often associated with government regulation and misuse of governmental authority …….
To gemami
Pleased to know that you find it useful.
I must credit my understanding to some poster somewhere in the Net quite a while back who commented on this ‘rent-seeking’ stuff in our context – the topic which I vaguely came across without paying much attention during my younger student days.
I thought it would be good to share it as it has much relevance in our case.
Amused
Although seeking the help of good samaritans would be useful, it does not solve the root of the problem.
Namely, the ridiculous increase in relative cost illustrated by MMSMPMMC.
Besides, if these people managed to obtain “good samaritan assistance”, the “powers that be” would have even less incentive to be helpful. (Not like they are of much help right now)
single woman
Why you people and TOC writers like to comment on social issues wan?
shhhh!!! keep quiet and don’t ever question lah.
we are unique remember?
don’t change things leh.
May there be zero protest and complains and questions to our ruling people from the past till eternity and remain unique. That is the educated way of thinking and truely 1st world.
Best is to have ZERO opposition and let there be only 1 party state.
Last but not least, ACCEPT ALL HIKES that CAME your way and ALL that will COME ( i think). Now, everyone, repeat after me : I , , shall accept any and all hikes whatever comes my way.
Say it! repeat this 10 minutes every evening just before you sleep, 10 mins the same just when you awake, and just 5 mins during your lunch break. You will feel better. Trust me ;)
gemami
“I , gemami , shall accept any and all hikes whatever comes my way” . . .there . . . have recited it for the past 10 minutes.
I am going to sleep now – wah! so refreshed! so peaceful!
great recipe, sw, – - – don’t know can wake up tomorow morning or not to do the 5 mins exercise !?
Powderful
So is the article claiming that the middle class are the new poor in Singapore?
ACACIA
Why do we keeping bringing up the same ideas or suggestions when we know that not much can be done. Do what I’ve been doing , vote them the PAP out at your area and start at the next election. I think by then we will have very credible opposition.
Who raised the prices of HDB flats? Who is incharge, a PAP minister, vote him out and the rest of them! If we are vioceless now, we will have a bigger voice at the next election, collectively.
We can wait for Robert Ho to turn up and comment on that last comment…if only it was that easy to uproot the PAP! Then they wouldn’t be so arrogant in thinking that they can’t be moved!
A loud voice is useless if say ur watching TV and there’s a mute button.
I believe for the party calling itself “world class”, prove it – without dangling carrots that is. I’ve seen enough citizens being turned into asses (donkeys).
They can either:
1. prove themselves by looking lesser into their pockets and actually address the people’s concerns. For telling the people to solve their own problems is like stating the obvious, and I believe we need no such people, unless the general public lacks common sense.
2. be lucky that the next election a walkover – I’m sure everyone has seen this happen many times in history.
So will it be the blue or red pill?
Someone may wish to examine the Iron Triangle concept too.
anon
i don’t think singaporeans can ever vote out the PAP in an election. Not when the rules are changed to their advantage always.
There are only two recouse for pissed off singaporeans … civil disobedience or migration.
Those who can afford will choose to migrate. Like me.
Those left behind will one day, out of no choice, choose civil disobedience to end it all.
Singaporeans keep saying the opposition is not up to mark. Ask yourself, what has the PAP done these two years that is “up to mark”?
I think that is only an excuse for the inertia. Singaporeans need to be fried up their assholes to really want to do something.
I predict it will probably take another 5-10 years to reach that level of misery to see something happening in Singapore.
It is also the time when most likely LKY will not be around. A headless bunch of PAPees with an unhapppy lot of peasants is a very potent mixture for chaos.
It is also why there are more singaporeans leaving … we don’t want to wait for that day to come.
gemami
i believe in collaboration. there must be collaboration among the opposition parties – independent candidates included.
the collaboration must be such that each oposition party specifically tackles one or two issues only.
do your homework, hold discussions with pro-pap supporters to get their opinions and use these information to prepare your counter approach.
each opposition to harp on the same topic they have undertaken throughout the duration of the rally period – best is to plan for complete coverage within 9 days – you’ll get no more than this for sure.
during the hustle and bustle of campaigning, ignore all accusations and threats of law suits – focus just on your attacks. if you are threatened with law suits, you’ll definitely get it no matter what! countering them will only add flame to the fire.
in every past ge, the pap was able to defend its position because the issues tackled by the opposition were too similar. This made it so easy for the pap to counter with its whole machinery and the opposition would then be cornered in no time.
this time the opposition must work to stretch the pap from all directions so that its machinery has to turn to all the directions the opposition is attacking from. When we are able to get all the ministers and their kachang putehs talking, then we might just be able to catch on some slips here and there.
private individuals supporting the opposition’s cause would do well to remember to book the speakers corner as soon as the ge is called. we can then chip in with our 5cents worth of opinions.
Gus
hoi Ravi,
two sad stories are not enough to justify any stand relating to the Singapore Dream lah. I know there a lot more sad stories.
I have my sad stories also you know.
But slowly and surely, struggles after struggles – there is still a Singapore Dream to wake up to.
If no dream, how dream can come true?
Do you know how many of these people who work as administrative assistants, taxi-drivers, laboratory technicians, hawkers and teaching assistants, etc owns HDB flats and are OK? You don’t. So your just two sad stories is not enough to hold water lah…even less to term it as the elusive Singapore Dream.
gemami
Gus, i totally disagree with your comments.
if you are only reading the article as a story or like you would a novel and being unfeeling to the characters therein – then, yes; what you say might just be true – that it is not enough to fight the case.
however, we are talking about real people with real lives to live through each day no matter what. every ONE suffering person in this world today is one too many. what more if it is a country with a 1st world economy.
blade
gemami (#67):
very good point on collaboration.
i also believe in politician who are willing to serve its people, to take care of its people, each and every one of us, to listen to us, to understand us.
i dun quite agree on the point on ignoring accusations during campaign. currently, most of our oppositions are hot-headed. how can we expect them to represent us in the parliament when they get into lawsuit even before walking into the parliament?
if you look at the the pap politicians, i would say not many are good public speakers. but they are calm in interview and during campaign, choosing to answer questions that are in their favor and avoiding questions that may be detrimental to their policies. that’s politics, you must know when to say what’s right.
the point i’m trying to put across is, we need oppositions who are cool-headed, who can think carefully before they act. it’s not just about fighting their opponents just for the sake of fighting.
gemami
The thing about lawsuit is because the pap have a whole machinery at its beck and call to produce clips upon clips and from every angle on what each opposition speaker says or even how he conducts himself.
Remember Mohd Jufrie? even his goatee was a problem.
The opposition must do likewise, or at least channel some resources into doing the same. I am sure the PAP big guns would sit down after every rally to study, scrutinise and pick up any small details that can be used against the opposition and even to use them to direct the flow of traffic with intention to entrap them.
Likewise, the opposition must collaborate to unite their resources to do the same.
I am sure ministers like LSS could be cornered easily. See the other article where he describes LKY along the same line as Deng Xiao Ping. He is insinuating that LKY is communist. He even went into details on their similarities.
Another point i missed out earlier, the opposition must work around the msm. This is one of the biggest hurdle if not THE hurdle. It is here that the PAP speakers would correct the mistakes they make or slips of the tongues etc. during the heated campaign trail.
It’s a long road but the opposition must start to stategize otherwise it would be another futile attempt to win anything.
And the big losers will be – again – you and me.
blade
gemami (#71):
agree. the opposition hasn’t been strategic in their campaign for election.
i wasn’t active in current affairs, not to say politics, so i’m ashamed not to understand the full length of your post, especially on Mohd Jufrie, the issue on msm. i’ll check them up some other times, or maybe you can give brief explanations…
victor @young ganeration@
hahas…
lost lost lost…
we singaporeans always have a great lost…
but NOT..ALL WILL CHANGE..
CHANGE…
HEHEHEHE…
totally sad about LKY le…
not effort made by him le…all the good ha made,has gone,,…
hai.
wake up./….
wake wake up up./..
The Tamil Poet and Social Activist Barathi said, “We will destroy this world if even one man does not have food” (paraphrased).
gemami
72) blade
briefly; it was the 1997 ge and SDP was then at the fore-front of opposition representation in parliament, having won 3 seats at the last ge.
1997 ge was then termed, the watershed ge where expectations were high and Singaporeans were gearing up to see a good fight.
The PAP, in order to place itself in an advantageous position, increased some of the GRC teams from 4 to 6 candidates in each team. The press and media were all geared up to entrap the opposition upon the instructions of the mighty rulers.
The ge got off to a slow start and feeling bored, LKY then created the first stir.
Fearing the fiery oratory delivery skills of Jufrie Mahmood at the previous night’s rally, he resorted to comment that he looked more like a gangster with his unkempt goatee.
Next morning, photos of JM was pasted all across the news mediums. That night, JM, at his rally, talked about the lack of issues from the PAP and because they had nothing better to do, they resorted to name-calling and making remarks that attacks the person. Somehow, JM made some reference to himself being a malay and that was IT . . . . ! ! !
It was the ’slip’ the pap was looking for – - – “blasphemy!” they shouted!
The press followed the wind and its full machinery went into overdrive.
LKY then coined and branded JM a communalist!
Together with the press it became the election issue – nothing else mattered.
This is how it has been eversince . . . . .
gemami
one more thing I forgot to add:
JM was the part of the SDP’s team contesting Jalan Besar GRC. The others in the team were Low Yong Nguan, Gandhi Ambalavan and David Chew. If you have been following opposition politics and their politicians, you will understand that this is a group of people with fiercely superb oratory skills that could work up any crowd any where. Herein lies the danger.
In the opposing camp were the incumbents, headed by Lee Boon Yang and his team of relatively new and unheard of politicians.
Do you now get the picture why LKY and his whole machinery had to step in to lend LBY his hands?
If left alone, LBY would have been crushed and PAP’s GRC program would have collapsed and backfired. Oh, it must not happen – at ALL cost!
JM was later sued for defamation. His team-mates were not let off either – just for being there that night.
blade
gamami (#75)
thank you for the brief intro
We, the citizens of Singapore : The Online Citizen - a community of singaporeans
[...] to be turned away? What is the value of being “we the citizen of Singapore” for the likes of Peter and Sarah, the “new poor” for whom even the basic needs of a home remain a distant dream? How many [...]
fievel
If the widening gap between the haves and the have-nots in Singapore is a sign of things to come, then Singapore is really regressing, not progressing, as a nation. We are becoming a 3rd world nation in the society DNA.
In any case, it is not just the lower-income Singaporeans who are suffering at the hands of PAP. I mean, unless your family has got properties or a great business on the side, the get-a-degree-work-hard class of citizens are just as squeezed by the inflation. No doubt they, including yours truly, can downgrade their lifestyle – they can go from car to bus, from condo-aspirations to 3 room flats..but where does this stop? When does this endless downgrade in aspirations stop?
The majority of the citizens no longer benefit from the extra GDP dollars generated by our govt’s economic policies. For every extra dollar I get, I pay $2 more as a result. I much rather I earned $1k less and have $100,000 more in purchasing power or retirement money.
My parents were primary school educated, but as blue collar workers 20+ yrs ago, they had higher real (inflation adjusted) income than my wife and I.
In any case, if I didn’t know better, I might have listened to some old man’s recent nonsense on some farce-of-a-forum, saying this is an inevitable global phenomenon. I know cos I have Singaporean friends living outside of this little island nation, doing exactly what many of us would have wanted for a simple life – to be able to afford a home we are satisfied with, and not merely making do with a lousier smaller place that cost more than their original dream home – and be saving enough to look forward to a normal retirement at age 50+.
Again the old man said people shouldnt retire so young cos they will most probably “die” once they stop being active..heck…the ability to retire and the actual retiring are two separate issues. He knows cos he has the ability to.
Talk about putting yourselves in others’ shoes. Honorable leader? Yes, maybe 15yrs ago. Not anymore.
fievel
I have already stop chasing that Singapore dream. No car, no condos. Zilch.
All I want now is to get out of this bloody island.

This is always the same old problem. Why does couples earning so little gave birth to more than one child?