It’s a myth that Singapore is a democracy, a complete myth.

Bob Amsterdam            

7 Responses to “Democracy in S’pore – a complete myth”

1. Kang Ah Loo 22 October 2008

The Adults have life experience in Singapore oready.

This question should be answered by the YOUTHS of today.

The answer they give WILL Determine our future.

2. one day 22 October 2008

i am a youth and i feel that there should be more democracy in singapore in the future.

3. It all begins with the revolution of the mind. There is a lot of subtle authoritarian values that have crept itself into many conservative mindsets. Even resisting change itself is a societal inertia that all Singaporean youths must overcome together.

4. Clear eyed 22 October 2008

I can name many more myths about this tiny red dot which have many people, Singaporeans & foreigners alike, fooled:
    1) that it is a nation
    2) that it is governed by super talents who deserve their astronomical pay
    3) that meritocracy is a way of life here – nepotism & cronyism are non-existent
    4) that without LKY & his gang, we will be done for in less than 5 years & all the womenfolk will have to be maids in foreign lands
    5) that our CPF money is in good hands in the rock solid CPF
    6) that the Men-In-White are as pure, incorruptible and angelic as the colour of their garb
    6) that HDB flats & healthcare are subsidised
    7) that this is an inclusive society where no one is left behind, including the old, needy and economically unproductive
    8) that ERP, COE, increased GST, increased utilities tariffs, public transport fares and a thousand other increases are all necessary and unavoidable
    9) that 5 or more people gathering together will cause a riot
    10) that frail 70+ year olds cleaning tables and toilets choose to do so and we should be happy and proud as they exemplify the dignity of employment
    11) that the massive influx of foreigners here do not take jobs away from Singaporeans or depress wages – in fact we should be thankful to them as they help create jobs for Singaporeans

I could go on and on and on, but it is very depressing …

5. Sylvester Lim 22 October 2008

The youth will determine their future and their children’s future. The older generation like myself are in this dire situation because we were naive and did not do anything when strong opposition leaders like JBJ or Dr Chee stood up. We were waiting for someone else to take the first step. No more waiting!

6. Youth or not…do not forget that Singapore is what it is today because of the superlative efforts of ordinary folks who toiled and worked hard to lift themselves out of nothing collectively over a few decades. The samsui women, the Nanyang diehards, factory operators, 1 SIR, SIA, NOL, bus drivers – these are the REAL pioneers. I am afraid this happens once in a lifetime, our present lot does not have the x-factor attributes of the pioneers. I am one of the new lot – one who is now overseas and fires away from the relative safety of cyberspace, where the amah has to pick cardboard boxes or toil at Mac for $3/hr.

7. Political Salesman 30 October 2009

Lee Kong Chen. Tan Luk Sai, Tan Kah Kee ect……they are the early pioneer. Even without Lee Kuan Yew. The early pioneer, procee to build out Singapore in another direction.Even If without the Japanese Occupation. Earlier Singapore has been born in a CrossRoad Direction. Or not Sir Stamford Raffles would not want to exploit tihs land. As comment at 4) Clear eyed: the system is just a copycat of other country ideas.
    Why LKYcan rule for 50 years, I can said for one generation only. When he came to power, he hatcher all the people’s land, get those British remain asset privatise them later sell them off, grad away public business, lands without market rate.
    If I had a chance to be goverment of this land. I can rule in such manner as a Tyrannist. A good politician can rule a country in a Democratic manner and without blood shed. Only corrupted gene politician has no ideas of running this country.