Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor

This article is prompted by this blog entry, “Talk is cheap?”, by blogger da-phish.

Having been involved with The Online Citizen (TOC) for almost two years (we’ll be two on December 1st 2008), I have come across several instances of people who have related or expressed to me their fear of speaking up or in participating in events.

I can understand some of their fears but feel that others are self-imposed, as Catherine Lim said. “I believe that much of the fear we Singaporeans experience,” she explained in this blog post, “is unnecessary and self-inflicted…”

Much have been written about why Singaporeans fear so much – particularly in speaking up on socio-political issues or in participating in events of such nature. Blame has also been placed on the way the People’s Action Party’s Government has governed Singapore the last 43 years.

While it is true that the Government’s dealings with its critics over the years have had quite an effect on the way Singaporeans behave – including whether they dare to speak up or not – perhaps it is time to see if we should continue to be so fearful, or if such fears are justified.

The first instance I came across of reservations about my starting TOC was from my mother, naturally. She wondered if I would “get into trouble” for running such a blog which is critical of government policies. She too was quite concerned when I joined The Workers’ Party (WP) in 2006. “Will you get into trouble?” she asked me then. My answer to her was, “Well, I am not going to do anything silly. Let me be a member and then you see if I get into trouble.” Nothing happened to me during the two or so years when I was a proud card-carrying member of The Workers’ Party.

And nothing has happened to me either since TOC came online in December 2006.

Similar questions were asked just two days ago when editors of TOC met with a group of students. “Have you guys received any warnings or anything from the authorities?” one of them asked. I answered that no, we have not received any. The students also told us how their parents may be concerned if they found out their son or daughter was involved with a blog such as TOC. And just last night, a friend related to me over the phone why she could not attend the recent “minibonds” events at Speakers’ Corner, even though she had wanted to – her boyfriend was afraid that his career (“promotions”, according to my friend) – would be affected if he was photographed or shown on television. And then there are the teachers I know who, despite having much to say about the education system, are afraid to speak (or more accurately, they are prevented to by rules in the civil service), and how Mr Tan Kin Lian found it hard to persuade affected investors to speak at Hong Lim Park.

But for everyone who fears, I am glad that there are others – many – who are slowly but definitely casting aside such shackles. It is deeply heartening for me to see, especially, young Singaporeans not being as reserved as perhaps their parents had been, or still are. An example being the NTU students who several weeks ago took to the public stage at Speakers’ Corner to register their unhappinness with their school’s actions regarding a report on the SDP secretary-general’s visit.

This can only be good for our country. Forget about being anti-PAP, or pro-opposition. It is ordinary citizens who will, and should, be the ones who dictate and have a say in how the country is run and which direction it should go. Whether one is pro or anti-PAP is not as important as whether one is interested in the first place. And to me, that is the starting point of trying to get rid of the fear of speaking up or participating.

But how do you get Singaporeans to be interested?

It is a strange question, if you asked me. I mean, I would have thought that as citizens of the land, we would naturally be interested. This is, after all, our nation, our country, isn’t it? But that is the reality and the question has to be answered.

We need new heroes, basically – people who can inspire and re-awaken the lethargic spirits of our citizens. At least as far as political participation is concerned. Yet, sadly, such heroes are hard to find. The bureaucratic system begets bureaucrats and bureaucrats do not necessarily inspire. In fact, most times they do not. I would say that they “de-inspire” and “de-politicise”. This is not to say that bureaucrats are not important to have. Indeed, they are. Else, how would a country function? But bureaucrats are not necessarily leaders – political leaders. And that is what Singapore badly needs – political leaders who can articulate alternative visions, who will stand up and say, “There is another way for us to be and here it is!”. Leaders who have the charisma to draw others to support their visions and who can reach into the hearts of citizens.

Leaders who can bond with the ordinary citizens of Singapore.

Yet, having said that, political leaders do not have to be from just political parties. In the schools, in our communities, even at our work places, they can be. Ordinary Singaporeans who are interested enough to walk off the beaten track, as it were, and dare speak. It is this hope that keeps me engaged in Singapore, for it has never been my belief that Singaporeans are totally apathetic. Fearful, yes. Apathetic, no. There is a difference between the two.

Get rid of the fear and we will see greater participation and involvement.

Each of us then, whether we are bloggers or politicians, teachers or students, managers or community leaders, must care enough – and find people who care enough – to step forth, get their hands dirty, and hopefully, inspire the next generation.

For all we know, the younger generation – which has been criticised for being too materialistic and too disinterested – may just turn out to be the happy opposite.

All they – and we – need are heroes in our ordinary lives.

That, in my opinion, is the first step to getting people interested.

In the words of Catherine Lim: “So my rallying cry to Singaporeans is this: Think through, speak out, stand up and try not to be too afraid.

Our country depends on it.

————

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

23 Responses to “Fear, apathy – and being interested”

1. Tan Kin Lian 28 October 2008

I wish to suggest some qualities that will give you the courage to speak:
    > have beliefs and values
    > be honest
    > think of others (not self interest)
    > have courage

My beliefs are:
    > fairness
    > respect for others

I speak my mind honestly. I do not worry about what other people think (but I respect their views).

If one is honest and think of the interest of others (i.e. the people at large), it is quite easy to have the courage.

All the best. See you speak at Speaker’s Corner!

2. Mee Siam Mai Hum missing man 28 October 2008

Hi,

I believe humans the world over are the same in that they want to voice up.
    So, I believe singaporeans want to voice up like the USA / European / Australian / TW / Thai counterparts (democrats).

So, its clear the reasons why people are not voice up is specific to singapore.

So, lets drill in and analyze the CORE reasons. Mr Tan’s suggestions are great. But I believe we have not tackled the core reasons why Singaporeans are still pschologically and mentally incapable of voicing up at HLP.

I cannot discuss these reasons as I fear for my life. I become timid over the years listening to storys about the repercussions inflicted on individuals who defied.

regards
    Chua Li Li of the Hoong aka Kang Li Li of the Hoong

3. As I was getting ready to participate with my family in an event to protest transport hike by TOC in HLP, I asked my mother, “so, do you want to join us?” She replied, “No! Someone needs to be around to bail you out!”…lol…I am glad that more and more people (especially the post-65ers) are playing the role of active citizenry. All who play their part in being active citizens are heroes. As Syndrome says in the movie The Incredibles, “When Everybody is super, nobody is super.” That is the reality. Everybody can be a hero. And when everyone is a hero, there is no need for ‘Heros’, with a capital “H”.

4. I believe the internet is a good starting point for people to be interested in the current state of affairs. One day when the time calls for it, when our limits are tested, when fear no longer has a stranglehold on us, we will stand up together for our beliefs and values.

5. I think the article covers more than just literally standing up on a platform and speaking to an audience.There are many ways and channels to voice out, one of which is right here in front of us.

Why then do people are so fearful of speaking up? Here are some reasons I can offer:

1. the NO-HOPERS; who have been cowed into fear with no cures.
    2. the CLOUDED; clouded in fear from what they have heard or seen or thought they have seen & heard with their own eyes and ears.
    3. the CARERS: those who care for the family and loved ones who to do not want to bring hurt or harm to them.
    4. the PRIORITISERS; those who prioritise political struggles behind what they feel are issues that are more in touch with reality like putting food on the table and making sure their loved ones are healthy.
    5. the TIDAK-APAS; it’s not my battle, why should I get my hands dirty.
    6. the BLINDED; nothing-is-wrong-why-fix-it?
    7. the ‘BETTER-NOT-ASK-FOR-TROUBLE’ – i have things to say but what difference will they make? better keep quiet.
    8. the ‘WHAT? I DON’T KNOW LEH’ – the disinterested.

I feel that if we want to stand up and be counted, we have to seek alternative methods of bringing our voices across. We cannot go mainstream, neither can we compete by blowing our horns from the top of the mountain.

Our approach has to be more subtle and more suitable for the younger masses, for in truth, we must admit that the battle is already lost in trying to win over the confidence of the older generation who has already given in to fear – whichever type it may be.

We must set a bush fire elsewhere and I believe the internet is the way to go.

Presently, we have too many alternative voices, platforms and discussion sites that pull the audience away from all directions. We might want to find a way to pull all these sites together to become one big playground for all.

We will then have a concentrated platform that discusses a wider range of topics and bring some sort of check and balance to the govt of the day, not only PAP govt but future govts whoever they may be. This voice has to be strong and it must amplify the people’s voice.

Someone suggested TOC.tv. Why not? we must think BIG then we can grow BIG. This will be the new alternative opposition voice where everyone can speak up.

6. Mohamad Hamim 28 October 2008

Good morning everyone.
    Let’s have courage to speak up about social-politic.
    Every days life ahead is very tough in Singapore.
    We need to speak up to let our mind free.
    Difference issue wiill have difference topic.
    So we discuss difference things every days.
    Does who speak up is the hero of the day and Democracy that we want to build on the way.
    Good Day Singaporean who ever speak up.

7. gemami (#5):

thanks for listing out some reasons not only on why our people are fearful speak up, but more broadly the main reasons why our people refuse to speak up.

with a solitary ruling party ruling for such a long time and past handling of personnels who went against the govt (from political members like JBJ and Chee, to the expression of discontent by SIA pilots few years ago), singaporeans are cynical and worried of the repercussions of socio-political expression.

recent outcry of fare and fee hikes further reinforce our citizens views that nothing can be done to change the authorities’ decided policies. other than briefly explaining these “need for such hikes”, have our govt set up a committee to answer our people’s call and consider further regulate the companies concerned to ensure that such hikes are called for?

i can understand the plights of many of our people who refuse to speak up. the issue now is how to empower our people to speak up.

8. tiredsingaporean 28 October 2008

6) Mohamad Hamim on October 28th, 2008 11.59 am Good morning everyone.
    Let’s have courage to speak up about social-politic.
    Every days life ahead is very tough in Singapore.
    We need to speak up to let our mind free.
    Difference issue wiill have difference topic.
    So we discuss difference things every days.
    Does who speak up is the hero of the day and Democracy that we want to build on the way.
    Good Day Singaporean who ever speak up.

YES TOC SHOULD ARRANGE TO CONDUCT THIS ISSUE AT THE SPEAKER CORNER FOR MANY UNHAPPY SINGAPOREAN TO VOICE OUT THEIR FRUSTRATION, WE DO NOT BELONGS TO ANY OPPOSITION PARTY NOR DO WE NEED TO JOIN ANY PARTY, WE BELONGS TO THE TRUE BLUE CITIZENS OF SINGAPORE.

9. I feel we need an outreach community.

Here’s a suggestion for TOC.

Because of TKL, TOC’s profile has increased by leaps and bounds.
    Take this opportunity to expand the parameters.

1. continue to build on the momentum to promote ‘weekends at HLP’.
    2. target the weekend activity toward a family outing sort of event.
    3. go print some nice pocket calenders or bookmarks or anything that can be easily slipped into the wallets.
    4. get supporters to drop these bookmarks and pocket calenders into buses, trains, Macdonalds, KFC, football stadiums etc. The idea is to advertise your blogsite.
    5. TOC also needs to shift it’s stand toward the middle ground. It’s serves no one any good by being on the extreme left because then we will only have a choice of two extremes.
    6. Posters and commenters are given room to express their thoughts as long as they keep to some no-nos like name calling, creating racial tensions etc.
    7. Pro-Govt, Pro-Opposition & Neutrals must be accorded the same level of respect for them to share and contribute constructively toward a better Singapore for Singaporeans.
    8. set up TOC.tv ASAP.

10. Saint Splattergut 28 October 2008

“Presently, we have too many alternative voices, platforms and discussion sites that pull the audience away from all directions. We might want to find a way to pull all these sites together to become one big playground for all.” -Gemami

And become a monopoly?? Noooo… I believe that having many sites means there’s something that caters for almost everyone. :)

Those interested in the most pertinent issues will congregate at one spot, to be sure. Currently TOC is that place.

11. SELF CENTEREDness 28 October 2008

too many are just too self centered and selfpreservatory to want to voice up for the naive , weak and innocent.

You die your parsar. As long as I dont need help from others, I shall ignore them. As long as there is nothing to get out of people, I don’t care about them. Talk to my uncaring face.

I feel that this is the real reason why no one voice up at HLP except a few rare once in a blue moon ‘toast masters’.

But who can blame them? Why should a human help another when there is nothing to be gained out of doing that ? After all , all are strangers to each other.

This kind of society is sick and sad.

12. prayerwarrior 28 October 2008

Mr Tan King Lian…just want to know that we have kept you in our prayers, and we need more people like you who speaks the truth without fear, but yet was able to bring across the message in a most rational and factual way…unlike Dr. Chee Soon Juan.

13. I too do not believe that Singaporeans (or at least, Singapore youths) are more apathetic than people of other countries. But I think the issue here is fear. I mean, just look around the comments and see how many are anonymous/pseudonymous?

14. Cannot afford to fall sick or old unless you born with silver spoon 28 October 2008

if 1 man tries to defeat fear, he may not survive fear.
    if 1000 tries to do same, together, the chance is increased.
    if 10000 does the same together, fear will be defeated.

just my 1 cent.

15. minibombed 28 October 2008

Fear = False Expectation Assumed Real
    Many things people afraid of are just imaginery.

16. abettertomorrow 28 October 2008

I think it’s more important to err on the side of caution, to have that bit of reserve always regardless your political beliefs, to learn to listen rather than speak, before things get out of hand and become irredeemable. All, however, is not lost for those who decide not to hold back. Speak, henceforth, with honesty and consideration for your fellow men. Learn not to be too harsh, again, regardless your political affinities, and mince your words just a little. That way, we can all still hope.

17. i fear and i really do.

18. theonlinecitizen 29 October 2008

Hi gemami,

Tks for the suggestions. Please allow me to explain a few of the points you raised.

“Pro-Govt, Pro-Opposition & Neutrals must be accorded the same level of respect for them to share and contribute constructively toward a better Singapore for Singaporeans.”

I agree fully with you. We do allow pro-govt, pro-opposition and neutral comments here. We also try to get writers and members from all sides. (We had a Young PAP member as one of our editors in the past). If you do know anyone who might be interested in joining TOC – whatever his political affiliation – please do let us know. :)

As for TOC.tv, we sort of have that now. But it’s being improved. More details will be revealed when we have got it done. :)) Tks for the enthusiasm but it might take a while before it’s up.

Weekends at HLP.

Personally, I feel it’s a great idea. But it’ll require manpower and some effort to sustain. So, we’re considering it and see if it’s viable. Certainly it’s something worth doing..

Much is being done at TOC – behind the scenes. It will become more apparent as we go into the new year. One thing’s for sure: We’re not standing still.

19. Gilbert 29 October 2008

Thanks for opening up on this topic. I think TOC has done a good job both in providing a solid website for active online involvement and also alot of ground work by TKL for the minibond investors. I am pleasantly surprised at it’s success and short just after two years. It shows that our people need someone to lead them without any political affliation and aspiration. Just the simple need to care for the needs of the common folks and give them a voice.

I am unsure how the authorities will react to TOC’s involvement in rallying people to HLP for the minibond issue. I am sure they are not comfortable as it involves:

1. Large gathering of people to register their dissatisfaction with how their investment has gone awry though it is largely targetted at the banks.

2. A leader or a group who acted on the behalf of the common people – this is often done by political parties and not any other group or VWO for that matter. So kudos to TOC for taking up this role.

3. Gathering of mass signature for petition to the proper authorities with regard to the minibond issue.
    Nevertheless, speaking from a concerned Singaporean who is also alarmed at how little progress we have make in opening up our political front, I am all for taking the little small steps of risk here to engage the public to speak up.

If I read our authorities well, they will allow such “protest” to carry on but imited to HLP unless some large gathering go violent – which can happen. TOC need to careful here as their activities have gather much attention.

I hope I have not dissuaded TOC for taking the lead here to spearhead activities for the public and not allowed certain group to use them for their own personal gain. Keep up the good work!!!

20. It helps if you’re a lawyer or linguistic expert. In that respect, I agree with Catherine Lim’s advice.

Frankly, the fear is pervasive and larger than reality. Make one example of a couple of opposition and it’s enough to send ripples to the whole nation for years.

However, having witnessed many Speakers’ Corners in countries believed to be more advanced and democratic, you’ll probably find that more than 70 per cent are trash : topics ranging from astronomy, animal rights, superstitions, violence, to bigotry.

Who are these true heroes? Certainly not the above mentioned. Do you consider Sarah Palin a diva, heroine, or others?

21. kauter_rinsurgency 29 October 2008

Must reads for Singaporeans ( Cure for Apathy disease)

Visit Seah Chiang Nee’s blog : http://www.littlespeck.com/
    Visit Catherine Lim’s blog at : http://catherinelim.sg/2008/

Read all about it!

22. 20) Gilbert

I think you are more concern at the shift in position by TOC.

My opinion on TOC is that it is an online platform that seeks to contribute to Nation building. The priority is therefore aimed at online activities that engage and involve more and more Singaporeans as time goes by.

Any activity at HLP must therefore be seen as a mean to achieve this end. For this reason, I agree that TOC must tread cautiously but keep the courage; for this is something very new, and we do not know how the authorities might react should the crowd and activities at HLP be heightened.

We must also keep up the pressure and test the boundaries, if not, we will be failing ourselves not to make good use of this opportunity. HLP used to be a joke but thanks to TKL, it has taken a more serious clout. We must continue to build up the stature and reputation of HLP.

And, even as we do this, we must not forget to keep our online channel opened because we must not be silenced should HLP becomes history. TOC must therefore remain not only relevant but must aim to be bigger in stature than HLP.

23. Rafiz Mohyi Hapipi 31 October 2008

A highly recommended book to read on the subject is: The Fear of Freedom by Social Psychologist Erich Fromm. (sometimes available at a ~Borders~ or ~Kinokuniya~ or ~Page One~ bookstore near you) or order online at Acmamall.com.sg

Rafiz