The Attorney-General has applied to the High Court for contempt proceedings to be instituted against three individuals who scandalised the Singapore judiciary by publicly wearing identical white T-shirts, imprinted with a palm-sized picture of a kangaroo dressed in a judge’s gown.

S’pore Government statement (The Canberra Times)

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

79 Responses to “Kangaroo t-shirts not allowed”

1. Will he quit? 16 October 2008

I used to respect the man. A liberal chap, I thought.

Wonder if his hand was pushed? This is uncanny.

Needs to answer to his paymaster??

2. one day 16 October 2008

Actually someone/group might have been instructed/pressure by another someone/group to do certain things. So no choice.

3. one day 16 October 2008

ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag ag age

4. lessons from TW 16 October 2008

TW has many stories about Ah Bian and his wash black money ‘syndicate’.
    Upto now, almost all ministries under Bian is being implicated and not just the chief investigator who upon receiving top secret info from international anti-corruption agency about ah bian , informed ah bian what he knew.

about 30billion tw dollars are suspected to be washed in Japan.

a public servant paid peanuts compared to some super honest people, can buy super luxury items, and lead lifestyles of that level.

Absolute power ………… fill in the blanks.

The biggest mafi…a is ……

who can guarantee the next bombastico is not or will not be tempted by GREED given that All humans are not saints and to sin is part of our human nature (at least to 99.999% (six sigma) people).

Oh I know, i should say such crimes will not happen in s…….. cannot say, else kenna checked ….die mati ….no mafia… thanks major of the ity. for state of the quo

5. tewniaseng 16 October 2008

Yesterday I told my wife abt the kangaroo court, she said why the govt so petty, they must have felt guilty. I told her the govt is talking abt openness, but now they act like N Korea or Cuba.

6. small Enginner 16 October 2008

A t shirt showing HURRICANE Katrina …… revenge & retribution.

7. si mi kor ai tan 16 October 2008

53) small Enginner on October 16th, 2008 12.35 pm A t shirt showing HURRICANE Katrina …… revenge & retribution.

no can do – MUST have kangaroo ………

8. is that wat PM LEE meant by’ liberalising’ Singapore in his national sppech?

i personally find it absurb and uncall for the authorities to react in that manner by wearing kangaroo shirts.
    if that is offensive to the authorities, then how abt those wearing revolutionist che guevara shirts which is a common sight in SG – does that means that plp whoever wear revolutionary shirts wana overthrow the govt or marxist supporters?

9. i’m getting fedup of this unnecessary work created by the A-G.

10. Lim SS can be a good PM, better than mee rebus mine hiam, his pay is only slightly more than one million. S’pore can save $2.76 million per annum by employing Lim SS.At this critical recession moment, we have to remind Pap to save cost. After all, Singapore’s economy depend largely on external factors, it does not depend on how talented a PM is, you put MM Lee in charge also the economy will be in downturn, so we are talking abt cost saving, those high pay ministers should be retrenched.

11. I sincerely request TOC to start a petition entitled:
    Singaporeans Protest Court’s Charging of 3 Men Wearing T-Shirt as a waste of Taxpayers’ Money

I’ll be one of the first to sign on the petition!

By the way, the 2 Malay chaps look young. A possible jail term will most likely ruin their bright future! So TOC and fellow readers, please give the 3 guys some support!!!

Thanks!

12. Donaldson Tan 16 October 2008

Sometimes I wonder if the true purpose of the continued persecution of SDP and its associates (despite almost all of them are bankrupt) is to make them leave Singapore illegally, so that they can never be allowed to return again.

13. tiredsingaporean 16 October 2008

There is only 1 and only motive here. That is to destroy the entire SDP party and its roots by sueing them into bankruptcy. So, there will be no more second voice to represent the people of singapore to check on them anymore. Moreover, no bankruptcy is allowed to participate in the next coming GE, so no more opp thread to the ruling party anymore, making most of the GRC a total walkover. See so simple to eliminate all these opp parties, so if WP tries to be funny, they too will face the same consequences. What can you ppl do to us, we are the ruler of singapore now and forever. Not happy, pack and leave!

14. tiredsingaporean 16 October 2008

Even they don’t give a damn about the IBA commenting abt our system, you think they bother abt what the citizens feel or say? They have made so much $$$ out of the citizens that they can even sue any foreign media firm that dares to criticise our governing system. Maybe, they sue youtube and close them down one day, who knows?

15. “Sometimes I wonder if the true purpose of the continued persecution of SDP and its associates (despite almost all of them are bankrupt) is to make them leave Singapore illegally,”

Anyone here can easily guess the ruling party’s motive as it is clear enough as indicated by tiredsingaporean. That is to sue SDP until they bankrupt and thus unable to stand for election and so that the kangaroo regime can be smoothly erected again. Since bankrupt, SDP will not be able to run election. Is that intentional ? Why not ? Remember what JBL mention about privy council rule that kangaroo change at will ? Now I begin to see how kangaroo fits the whole picture together. The gov really kangaroo a bad name. Won’t buy kangaroo toys for children anymore. Of course, other opp parties will not want to play into the coffer’s game and hence do nothing but just highlight issues which is somehow ineffective as it will downplay by the coffers anyway.

16. wah kan seng 16 October 2008

Don’t complain , you people vote for ‘jumpy and uptight’ people to run this country. u have a choice but give it up easily. good luck!!!

17. sporeans really richer than they think 16 October 2008

Sporeans are richer than they show they are.
    For example,
    whatever is the hike, they accept eventually.
    Can I say, never in history did a sporean not accept a hike?
    There you go.

sporeans are richer than they appear. some minority just like to kpkb by nature. Actually, they accept hikes, eventually.

dunt waste time hoping and hoping for change.

I bet it will be status quo in that opposition may not progress by winning any GRZ, though I am not happy to say so.

prove me wrong.

18. justkaypoh 17 October 2008

any legal experts here? I think they are sued because of the statement in the Tshirts says “This is a kangaroo court” , but it did not say which court leh.

The main reason they are sued, I think it because the say that in front of an OLD man.

19. Close down youtube? Please don’t give them too much credit.

20. eh dun mock PAP lei..the kangeroo is a symbol of ridicule and they say such things in a supreme court wad..actually i hold PAP in high esteem since young..bec although my family is poor, the govt helps to make sure everyone has a fair chance to go schools..thus many of us, poor or rich can afford to go Uni..

Only recently I feel that the ignorance of the mis-selling banking issue, N Parks anyhow fine the man although its his 1st time, Mindef(tight-tipped abt deaths) incidents which cause me to lose confidence in the govt. Maybe the good guy MMLee is getting alittle old,but nonethless he is trying his best ma..its hard to find a replacement for him..

21. A thought 17 October 2008

#70)
    Reminds me of something I read on an expat forum. While it isn’t from a Singaporean forum, I believe it is still worth thinking on. I used to think government help the poor = good too. Now however…

Since it was quite a long time ago, I cannot remember or find the exact post, but this is the gist of it:

If a man works hard and long hours, he should be able to feed his family at the very least. His wages shouldn’t be so low that even holding down 2 jobs, he still has to go to the government with his cap in hand to beg for help.

That writer has a point don’t you think?

22. A thought 17 October 2008

You know the Chinese saying… outsiders can see more clearly than those in the thick of things.

23. Donaldson Tan 17 October 2008

Jerry (#70),

I agree with you to a certain extent. But my conclusion is that even among PAP members, there is nobody credible or competent enough to take over Lee Kuan Yew. Hence, it is time to open up Singapore politically, so that talented citizens would rise to the occasion to run for public office. PAP monopolising talents in Singapore is detrimental to Singapore´s long-term future.

24. #70 – jerry
    MM getting old, you say?
    More like disinterested, else he offends the SON.

Remember the infamous quote?
    “I will rise from my grave when I see Singapore in trouble”.

Singapore is now in trouble. Where is he?
    I am sure he will answer like this: “. . . but I am not in my grave yet what!” . . . or maybe even like this: “You ask me, I ask who? Find the answers yourself. Want me to ask my Son meh?”.

#73 – DT,
    I understand your point and would have agreed with you but only for the last sentence you used to describe the monopoly of talent in pap.

We do need talented people who can articulate properly the policies & programs when countering the pap’s.

To say that the pap has monopoly over such peoples is not true and not accurate.

PAP has a team of ‘talented’ people who fits into its mold. The primary and foremost criteria when sourcing for talent is the candidate’s ability to say “Yes”. No need to be talented to do this right?

This is one of the biggest flaw of the pap so much so that there are not enough candidates in there to do the thinking for the people especially when policies are in the process of being drawn up.

The “Yes” dogs would be running here and there at the commands of the elite-of-the-elites, where got time to think with their talented brains?.

Sad to say, the talent over at our kangaroo court falls into the same category.

25. Donaldson Tan 17 October 2008

That is to sue SDP until they bankrupt and thus unable to stand for election and so that the kangaroo regime can be smoothly erected again. – daniel (#65),

They are already bankrupt, so what´s the point of adding up more money they owed to the Lees and their associates. Almost all Singaporean dissidents are living abroad on a self-imposed exile, without PAP actually have to resort to tarnishing its reputation by officially sentencing them to exile.

gemami (#74),

Catherine Lim is the original proponent of the idea of PAP monopolising talent. Your description of how PAP monopolises talents in the political realms is exactly what I meant by monopolising talents. I don´t extend this monopoly to all sectors of the economy.

Their practise of ¨if you are for us us, you are against us¨ continues to make local talents either to become more apathetic or frustrate them enough to emigrate. Non-PAP talents can see where this country is heading to in the long run and they are not welcomed to fix the problem. Singapore´s demise has already started since the 1990s.

26. #75), pt 1.
    I think there is a difference here, the Chees were already bankrupted long ago but in order to complete the job of crushing them completely they have to crush the banner by which they belong to – together with all Chees’ followers. Therefore, SDP has to die!

the main purpose of the last lawsuit against the Chees were not the Chees themselves but SDP. Crush the SDP and the followers will scatter.

27. come to think of it. maybe we ought to wear cat t-shirts.
    our national cat – the kucinta – would be a good idea!

the message? –

“Priceless National KITTY of Singapore?”

this way, we can spare our Aussie friends from hopping mad!

28. wakeup too late 18 October 2008

now i suspect no one in spore will dare to wear any kangaroo t-shirt liaoz.
    Good ah!
    kuai.

1st wer

29. Ive written my feelings about this whole saga on my blog. Please visit and comment I would be extremely privileged to hear from both sides. thank you!