Saturday, October 25, 2008 8:10
More foreigners, down the spiral
In Quotes • 823 views • 34 Comments
If we’ve more foreigners than Singaporeans, then the Singaporeans will become like the foreigners, and we lose our basic attributes. We’ll be down the spiral.
34 Comments
Andrew Loh
MM is already senile..
I think his recent quotes reflect that he is senile. When he is marginally conscious of things around him, his esteemed ministers most probably tell him only good news or mis-represent bad news as good news, just like how relationship managers at retail banks mis-represent bad investment product as good investment product. MM Lee is in the vulnerable age group.
Sadman
Very sad indeed. MM Lee and his million dollar ministers are all “talking cock like singing song”.
Economist's guess is as good as mine
:P
My guess is No one really knows the economy.
Selamat Kang wong seng aka chua mui mui of the hoong
actually to be honest, my company toilet aunty predicted STI to drop by more than 8% yesterday, SHE was right ! But i discredit her as I feel that anyone can guess. The key thing to focus on is having predicted, is a person able to be held responsible for his claims. In this case, my toilet aunty held herself responsible for her claims. For that I respect my toilet aunty. Her prediction was more accurate than all economists with PhDs that I know.
Tew N S
All these bunch of ministers have no ideas of economy, just make predictions can earn few million dollars, waste tax payers money.
sarek_home
How can such situation happen if the gov is doing the job right?
Same on traffic congestion as a result of rising car ownership, bad policy is the reason.
MM has been testing controversial ideas in recent years. He is far from senile as every statement has a message and intention.
In this case, it’s not so much about the economy but the social fabric of the nation. MM is worried about a net loss in the migration with the continued decline of home grown talents vis-a-vis foreigners. The first generation of foreigners would not have the heart and soul of a true blue “Singaporean”. It will take time to nurture. It is meant to spur those deliberating on leaving to reflect but whether it’s effective or not is debatable.
AhKao
8) Yuchenko said: “MM is worried about a net loss in the migration with the continued decline of home grown talents vis-a-vis foreigners. The first generation of foreigners would not have the heart and soul of a true blue “Singaporean”. It will take time to nurture.”
Geez, you think? :)
You mean it took our million dollar ministers THAT LONG to figure it out?
Donaldson Tan
In this case, it’s not so much about the economy but the social fabric of the nation. MM is worried about a net loss in the migration with the continued decline of home grown talents vis-a-vis foreigne – Yuchengko (#8)
If what you say is true, then why does the government continue to adopt policies over the years to spur Singaporeans to leave? The recent MAS / DBS saga only highlights how bad Singapore is a place for one to retire, especially when you can´t even trust the local financial regulator to protect people´s life savings.
Monopolising mainstream media leads to media talents to leave Singapore for a free media environment. The government wants managed creativity while it does not tolerate unconventional ideas or thinking that is not aligned with itself. The very policies the government uses to keep its citizens in check are the very same policies that drive local talents away.
Yet at the same time, global competition for talents is immense while majority of Singapore employers expect to pay Singapore rate for Singaporean talents when London, New York and Hongkong are playing global rates to retain and attract talents.
Dan
It is nice to know that he finally woke up and face the sad reality. The head has been in the sand for too long, maybe just to spit out the sand at S’poreans and continue to bury a while more. What do the peasants know, let’s get back to selective breeding.
tiredsingaporean
wtf! this man and all his bunch of rubbish ministers always say one thing and do the other, all are nothing but liars trying to keep their $$$million salaries flowing. I think all singaporeans are being robbed of their $$$billions forced contributions all these years becos he is so confident that we the citizens of singapore can’t do much to save ourselves as he think that he has successfully locked us up all these years.
Loyola
I think he is concerned at the pace of globalisation and how it may affect what his adminstration cherished as Asian values, especially in the political sphere.
It is not hard to infer that with more foreigners, value systems will change, and if we really want to grow as a cosmopolitan city, we have to adopt certain norms of the international order that confer this status upon us.
Is this a statement talking about potential dilution of socialisational influence over the Singapore electorate? Perhaps. We don’t know for sure
It could very well be something else too.
Perhaps it is also a subtle criticism of the immigration policy practised by Lee Jr’s adminstration now. The public opinion with regards to this is very well known, and many have called for a more stringent immigration policy, that is more geared towards talent than wage-competitiveness, with a stronger focus on willingness to integrate and settle down here as citizens eventually, rather than using this island as a launchpad for greener pastures.
While he makes no sense most of the time these days, I feel this particular line that he took could be more accurate and in line with public opinion.
Mee Siam Mai Hum
Hi People, how many foreigners occupy a job created in Singapore?
1 million maybe ? and if we consider the cumulative number of jobs over the last 20 years ?
gvhg01
1) We have basic attributes?
2) If there are more foreigners then Singaporeans in Singapore, then what is/defines a Singaporean?
tiredsingaporean
soon singaporeans will become singaforeigns!
gemami
16) tiredsingaporean on October 25th, 2008 9.52 pm soon singaporeans will become singaforeigns!
forgive me – i can’t help laughing……
but it is very true and it is a very scary thought if you think about it seriously.
Lily
Now that recession has happened, he’s singing a different tune! Wasn’t he talking about a population of 5.5 to 6 million not so long ago? With that kind of population target and continuing emigration of Singaporeans, foreigners can easily outnumber locals.
What have they done about the emigration issue over the last 20+ years? Not much. It is such a serious national issue that blatantly ignoring it is almost criminal neglect. Would you let your most important resource dwindle day by day without going all out to prevent it? Do they really act in Singapore’s interest or their party’s interest?
When Employment statistics is based on Resident = PR + citizens
Where else in this world is employment statistics is displayed in terms of PRs as in using the term Residents ?
I hope all future employment statistics be shown not only that BUT also more importantly, the employment rate of CITIZENS MUST be clearly shown.
If residents statistics can be counted, definitely citizens statistics is implicitly known as well, given that Resident = PR + citizens.
TRANSPARENCY is very important, else we wont know.
tiredsingaporean
17) gemami on October 25th, 2008 10.12 pm
ultimately our national ensign may even change with only the 5 stars representing the % of local citizens left and the rest of red and white colors representing foreigners and aliens.
tiredsingaporean
19) When Employment statistics is based on Resident = PR + citizens on October 25th, 2008 10.50 pm
TRANSPARENCY is very important – agree
TRANSPARENCY with alot of changeable digits – confused, still would not know
GoodSingaporean
Talk no need $$!! that y i always think Singaporean ministers made easy $$. Thay talk as they wish, no need to be responsible…free one! If i remembered clearly, our MM said US won’t affect Singapore. NW we are going into recession!!! The economic growth can change again and again…..Do wrong things just cover up like WKS. Haiz….we are vy wrong to voted them in the last election. Folks!! pls vote carefully the next election….dun let them do as wat they like..
Sadman
World class government with A-team leaders produce:
–lawyers cheating money,
–charity organisation cheating money,
–Monk cheating money,
–prositutes flooding,
–Now banks also cheating money,
–What is next?
Very sad indeed!
Would it be good to interview Reporters why Resident figure used
We need to hear it from the Horse’s mouth, so-to-speak, about why reporters choose or were advised to use the term RESIDENT when reporting employment statistics. No matter what , Employment statistics for CITIZENS must also be reported.
We need Full Transparency when it comes to Employment rates.
yours truely,
Melissa Melvin Gay (where gay is surname)
Demand world record service for world record $
21) tiredsingaporean on October 25th, 2008 11.03 pm 19) When Employment statistics is based on Resident = PR + citizens on October 25th, 2008 10.50 pm
TRANSPARENCY is very important – agree
TRANSPARENCY with alot of changeable digits – confused, still would not know
—————————————————————————
We should learn to expect more information if we need more info.
tolerate no more
Singapore has been on a downward spiral when the majority voted to have 82 PAP MPs serving themselves and the party first, with a system similar to that in the era of emperors and eunuchs making things even worse for Singapore.
We do not need MM to tell us it is a downward spiral to have foreigners outnumbering Singaporeans. Any blooming idiot can figure this out.
It makes a lot more sense to ask who and why so many silly policies were implemented ? Again any blooming idiot can tell you the policies originated from the PAP govt. The biggest blooming idiot is the one who insists on one party domination and actually believes only those in the PAP have the best ideas and are the most competent.
Donaldson Tan
We clearly need a strong opposition to keep the ruling party´s interest in line with citizens´ concerns. However, the lack of sophistication among the electorate has led the chicken-or-egg-first problem whereby PAP wins the constituency because of either walkover or perceived Oppositionś incapability, yet at the same time some PAP politicians continue to take a pro-active stance in undermining the growth of opposition politics in Singapore. To break the chicken-or-egg-first problem, we need to develop a free civil society in Singapore first.
meritocracy
There is fear that power, once consolidated, becomes used for despotic ends. Men formed societies as a means of limiting the exploitative consequence of the unequal division of power. The system of checks and balances and the separation of powers between the executive, legislative and judicial department are based on the same fears of the consequence of excessive power. We must never let PAP gain absolute power. Remember Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely?
tiredsingaporean
The present opposition parties are either still very weak to speak up for the citizens, the country badly need a very strong opp team and it have to come from the new generation group consisting of all the young enterpreneurs, doctors, professionals, teachers and students, the country needs you smarty ones to bring it to the next level as we can’t afford to let the present ones screwed the country further, save yourself young guns.
tiredsingaporean
with the existing money thirst policy suffered by your folks all these years, singapore would likely becoming a place built only for foreigners to come and go like a transit holiday resort, it has lost all its originality of what we once called our dear home. our ignorance folks has already made a big mistake so all these have to stop, we need change with action, not just complaining, we need strong and vocal ones to step out now, ppl with integrity, ppl with hearts, ppl with sense of belonging and ppl who can cares.
In some way, Activists serve the people more EFFECTIVELY than Opposition can
Case in point, the voicing up about leeman boo boo.
Everyone Opposition supporter should think neutrally and ask themselves : what is the REALity of Opposition? How effective is it? compared to young Activist groups ?
So, why did opposition only have 2 or 3 seats out of 85? use the blain ! use the blain!
meritocracy
If 33% of the voters supporting opposition by logic it should have 1/3 of 84 seats which is 28 seats. By playing with GRC, opposition has only 2 seats instead of 28. Has it not shown that GRC is a sham system which misrepresenting the real quantity of seats in the paliament?
Sgcynic
I feel that I’m on slide. The highest in the world…
elysian-
Core Singaporean attributes —– being the product of a very well-designed moral-instilling education system making us into restful putty in Gahmen’s hands.

It is hard to take MM’s predictions seriously nowadays. Only last year, he famously predicted and said S’pore was in a “golden era”. He also predicted last year that oil prices would not breach $120 or thereabouts. Oil reached as high as $148 just a few months later.
Now, he is predicting the economy will recover in “3 to 5″ years. Heck, anyone can make such a prediction – if anything goes wrong and the prediction doesn’t come true, just blame it on “external factors” and “globalisation” or whatever.
Just as PAP ministers predicted – in the first half of this year – that inflation will ease in the second half. However, just last last, Minister Lim Hng Kiang changed that to “inflation will ease in the next 15 months”.
Now, I haven’t even talk about the GDP numbers yet – which keeps changing from about 8% to the current 3%.
To me, MM Lee’s predictions and that of his ministers really are just stabs in the dark, to impress those who do not have time to keep track of their words.