Choo Zheng Xi / Editor-in-Chief

The Straits Times today ran an article exposing unaccredited Panama based university West Coast University (WCU): a dubious outfit that sells degrees with little or no corresponding obligation on its students to clock class time.

The issues at stake are larger than that of “fraudulent or substandard degrees issued by institutions such as WCU. Allowing unaccredited overseas institutions operate to out of Singapore, especially ones that have been outlawed overseas, makes a mockery of Singapore’s attempts to be an “education hub”. It also has an implication on those pursuing reputable private degree courses in Singapore: how are employers to separate the wheat from the chaff given the poorly regulated nature of private degree education?

It is thus shocking to learn that instead of pushing to outlaw universities such as WCU, former Minister of State for Education Chan Soo Sen was actually the guest of honour at the “fraudulent”degree seller’s convocation.

His excuse? He had not been given any information about WCU’s accreditation, and his presence at the convocation was not meant to give the university credibility.

This explanation might possibly hold water if he was a random member of the public, with no knowledge of issues such as accreditation.

However, given that the Straits Times has previously run several exposes on degree mills (as the article points out, the reporter’s dog was registered to receive a doctorate), and Mr Chan was a former Minister of State for Education up until 2006, to claim ignorance is a poor defense.

Further, to claim that he did not intend to lend WCU credibility is missing the point.

Mr Chan might genuinely have neglected to do his due diligence and been ignorant of WCU’s background. However, in the eyes of those receiving the “fraudulent or substandard degrees”, as well as their family and friends, the presence of a former Minister of State for Education could only be interpreted as a seal of approval.

———

76 Responses to “MP Chan Soo Sen’s Uni presence sends wrong signal”

1. How come TOC trust ST reporting on WCU?

Remember all the misinfo that disinfo come from ST on 2006 election.

If TOC had investigated WCU and say it is “paper mill” then I believe it is paper mill. But to quote ST ….

2. #39 –
    who was the opposition during the last election? was joo chiat a single member constituency?

Joo Chiat was a single member constituency and Mr Chan contested against someone named Tan Bing Seng (i think…cant recall, as he wasnt exactly a stand out either, to be fair) from Workers Party.

3. 48) Concerned Moderator

I’d like to believe that the older generation has a deep affection for MM especially those who have ‘fought’ alongside him from the days of separation to this modern era. It is this belief that has seen the PAP stay in power for the longest time.

I’d also believe that most of us would accord him this credit and even compliment him for setting Singapore on the course toward modernisation.

But, unfortunately, we can only go as far as the point when he decided to hand over the PMship.

You see, things (esp politically) began to degenerate when he started tightening the reins in preparation for his handover. He needed to make sure that his successors had to be adequately protected against all forms of attacks. Probably he foresaw that his son would be premier in the not too distance future.

Defamation suits, sticking labels to anyone who opposed the regime and making sure the oppositions big guns were all either sued into bankruptcy or driven out of the country. Control of the MSM. This was the starting point of where Singapore politics were to be heading. . . in the wrong direction.

Now, one thing led to another. The transition of power was effected and GCT was handed the baton. MM was still vocal behind the scene to ensure that Sg did not navigate away from the course he had set.

You said: “Singaporeans must eventually come to term with the subjective pay structure of ministers”

Whether we come to terms with it or not (I will never) is not for either side to suggest but yes; I do agree with you that it is SG standard that when left there long enough, it will eventually ‘come to term’. And yes; it is the key motivator to ‘get the best’. But my question is: “best in what?”. The best servants? for this is what it is. To be in politics is to serve the greater good of the people in the country. This was what made LKY popular – and this will be the downfall of his successors because they have yet to learn how to serve the greater good.

You also said: “All these episodes are learning curve for the Government and if anything,….”.

No; i would beg to differ. There is no learning curve when it comes to the lives and well-being of the citizens. When you are paid so well and with all the means and resources at your disposal, you are EXPECTED to do your homework well, deliberate well and make the best decision for all – nothing lesser than this.

I understand the emotional affection you have for LKY but LKY is not Singapore and Singapore is not LKY. Neither is Singapore PAP and vice versa.

As for hearing ‘less and less’ of SM & PM; well; to each his own. The less said the better. I definitely would not miss not hearing them. For each time we hear them talk – my pocket gets lighter and lighter.

If there is any advice this young punk can give to an old hat like yourself it would be this: Passion first before emotion.

Thanks for sharing.

4. To 50) No breaks! No Free Lunch!:

“I recall Gerald said not all newspeople ’so like that’ .
    I then think to myself, news reports are released to public domain after its cleared by the chief Editor who could also ‘advise’ the writers what to write (or not to write). Is my understanding correct? If so, I like to know in more detail what was Gerald trying to say. How does he know? Even if writers tell him not all are ’so like that’, writers still report to chief Editor (directly or not) and news is serious business where articles and reports are checked before released to public domain. I hope Gerald could clarify on what he meant.”

I’m not sure what you’re getting at. Yes journo’s reports are subject to their editors’ corrections and approval. But it does not automatically make the journalists themselves sycophants, as many of us would mistakenly assume they are. That’s what I meant.

5. Rushking 23 October 2008

A piece of paper only. Why people paid so much like $19,000.00 or 25,000.00 for a piece of paper (degree) even when they know it is worthless. Because somewhere in their conscious or unconscious minds, they convinced themselves they are ” Investing” in their future. So these degree mills sell them “HOPE” in the form of a piece of paper by urging them to Invest !!

Another kind of worthless paper now. Here we have the more innocent victims of the “Lament Brothers”, I mean, “Lehmen Brothers”. These innocent and unfortunate investors were sold worthless pieces of papers that come with sophisticated names like “minibonds, high notes, pinnacles etc”. By now these have become worthless papers – 10,000 victims and $350 million dollars later. How can anyone believe that the victims can understand or should understand funny words like “first default or credit events” ???? It is more like pre-meditated and deliberate bad designs by twisting the English language where such funny words are concerned – so as to camouflage real words like “bankruptcies and winding ups” which all of us, most of us, will have no problems to understand. Sounds more and more like pre-meditated murders ??
    So you see how both cases involved in selling papers (worthless papers) to people who are Investing in their futures (degrees) or Investing their wealth for retirements (minibonds) – and you can see Paper business is the Best Business.
    This is the Big Growth Business of today and even tomorrow as long as people remain trusting and gullible. Next time, we should all be very cautious whenever the products anyone selling us is made from Paper – degrees or minibonds.

6. 55) Rushking

Well said!

Now whoever is in support of the English language, or rather, Queen’s English – put your hands up ………….

Next, whoever is in support of Singlish, put up your hands ………………

Moral of the story: make sure the banks and FIs read and write in Singlish.

7. logicalman 23 October 2008

Well said, No. 53) Gemami.

Most of us don’t have any problem with LKY during the times the old guards were around. That’s when their policies were mostly sound and aligned with the needs and values of the people they were leading.

As the old guards disappeared one by one, and the leadership transitioned to the new generation of leaders, suddenly the leaders realised they are sitting atop a money-making machine. Singapore became Singapore Inc, and the leaders started drawing pay packages matching that of best of the top professionals. CPF has been tweaked countless times in the last 5 years. I will give the benefit of doubt to GST and ERP as they are bound to happen sooner or later in any respectable country. But what about privatisation of the supply of basic goods and services, resulting in costs going up, rather than down? What about the decision to build the IRs (not one but two, on a small island nation), and the subtle embracing of alternative lifestyles? What about the countless massage joints in HDB neighbourhoods providing questionable services? What about the influx of FTs, taking up jobs at all levels, leaving Singaporeans to beg, sell tissue paper, and sleep in the parks, benches and bus interchanges? What about CPF Life, which was built atop the basic assumption that people still do not know how to manage their own money after working for 40 over years? I don’t even want to start talking about Mas Selamat, about our overseas investments, or point out how illogical the reasons were behind the 21% electricity tariff hike.

Yet, through this all, the ordinary citizens suffered quietly. The US presidential campaign talked about Joe the plumber. I will tell you that I am the average Singaporean. I have 2 young kids, live in a HDB flat, don’t own a car, and commute to work by bus & MRT in 3 hours daily to & fro. My wife and I have 2 aging parents to support. I will speak as an average Singaporean, or if I sound below average, that’s fine.

Kids & teachers are put through punishing paces in schools, to the extent that professionally trained counsellors are now a regular feature in schools, and teachers take turns to use up their medical leave. What does the escalating teenage suicide rate tell us about Singapore? Parents worked hard to cope with the rising costs on all fronts, all this while having faith that the Govt will do what’s best in the interests of the citizens, given the track record of the old guards. Unfortunately, what’s done seem to mostly benefit Singapore Inc, to uphold our brand and reputation as seen through the eyes of other nations and rankings. Grievances are muted. Cries for help are mostly directed to VWOs. Have you seen the Monday night show on Channel 8 about households in need? I think those are the worst of the lot, where at least one or more members have broken down mentally or emotionally. Many others are just trying hard to get by. Surely we do not need to see them break down before helping them?

Most people including me, are not advocating for any form of handouts from the Govt. Instead, we are asking “is it necessary to raise GST, transport charges, electricity tariffs NOW?” Can the Govt afford to postpone or to stagger it? We are not asking them to artificially suppress prices as MTI claimed; we are asking them is it necessary to raise them? As for CPF, deferring the withdrawal age is fine, but is it necessary to raise the minimum sum and force CPF Life on us?

8. Rushking 23 October 2008

56) Hello Gemami,

Here’s my one humble vote for English – or Queen’s English – as long as it is Honest & straightforward English that don’t mislead or cheat our uncles and aunties of their money.
    We must outlaw those deliberately bad English used in selling equally bad & wicked products – we should outlaw and label them as Bank English ( I mean Bad English ) and Lament English (I mean Lehmen English). These misleading words belong to “Cheat_glish” because they are not honest and straight English.

We should go back to good, simple, honest, Englsh that everyone can understand – no jargons, no technical or legal bullshits, no sophisticated voodoos, in product brochures, prospectus, or contracts. Make this law now &do the Right Thing !!

9. good point Rushking.

indeed, the key words are simple and honest – just like Singlish. It is as simple and honest as it can be – a ‘straight-to-the-face-no-strings-attached’ lingo that even uncles and aunties can understand.

I’m not saying i am advocating Singlish but when it comes to Bank-English or Law-English or any other types of English where English doesn’t sound like English and which does not sit on any land mass with a national flag on it, then it is imperative that a Singlish version of any legal document be made available for the common Singlish citizen.

Otherwise, it will always be “Cheat_glish”

10. 57) logicalman

thanks for a wonderful piece of sharing.
    i must admit that when I was replying to #48) Concerned Moderator, I did not even condifer these details. thanks for filling in the blanks.

11. logicalman 23 October 2008

60) gemami: thanks for a wonderful piece of sharing.

Thanks gemami. Just being logical here :)

59) gemami: Otherwise, it will always be “Cheat_glish”

Actually, there’s nothing wrong with the English used, except that it’s normally used for contracts, and to understand the terms and the context , one needs to be legally and financially trained. And of course, how can uncles and aunties be so naive? Well, they can because they trust in the name of the establishments.

Sorry, digress a little; I know this is about Mr Chan, not mini-bonds.

Someone said if you do not know what they are selling to you, don’t buy. I agree, but if they make it sound like it’s fixed deposit, and most uncles and aunties do know what’s a fixed deposit, then that’s what we need to fix.

I have personally seen a bank manager walk up to everyone in a queue in our homegrown bank, inviting them to buy a product. Is that wrong? Well, it’s not, but should that be encouraged? I don’t think so. If we are queueing up to do banking, we obviously are not shopping for new financial products. If we need anything, the better educated ones among us will know how to pick up a brochure from the counters or check the web. So if they solicit down the queue, guess who will end up being the customer? Most likely the uncle or auntie who’s just collected monies from CPF.

Banks (and while we are at it, hospitals & clinics) are not supermarkets; let’s not cheapen them. They sell products that cannot be sampled or easily understood. If they want to give out flyers, that’s fine, but leave out the canvassing please.

12. Tan Kin Lian 23 October 2008

I know Chan Soo Sen to be a sincere, hard working person, who is very much on the ground. Just like me.

If I were invited by this university, I would probably have accepted and be embarrassed by this incident.

Lesson: do not be so harsh in judgement. This is an oversight. If the university is accredicted by CASETrust, one can assume it to be all right. It may be difficult for a person working alone, without the backing of a big government ministry, to carry out the detailed checks.

Here is another angle. If there are many students in Singapore that are graduating from this unversity, perhaps it is all right to grace the occasion and give them the honour.

13. Mr Tan, you’re really too kind.
    Still having the time to defend the integrity of a fallen ‘all-white’ angel.

Leave him be, he will not know how to reciprocate your kindness.

Well, I do sincerely hope I am proven wrong though.

14. I wonder is it because CSS is a sincere, hardworking & on the ground person which explains why the gahment let him fall (because he fails the elitist test).
    => no offense meant

15. “62) Tan Kin Lian on October 23rd, 2008 6.33 pm

Lesson: do not be so harsh in judgement. This is an oversight. If the university is accredicted by CASETrust, one can assume it to be all right. It may be difficult for a person working alone, without the backing of a big government ministry, to carry out the detailed checks.

Here is another angle. If there are many students in Singapore that are graduating from this unversity, perhaps it is all right to grace the occasion and give them the honour.”

Cheers Mr. Tan sir.

Many would do well to have even half of your balanced judgment and thought out views.

Now I see why so many speak well of you.

16. Oscar Choy 24 October 2008

Alot of people are talking and utter rubbish in this TOC and used profane languages to colour their pts. But the question is who are these people? They are just one track mind people with stupid limiduts…. covering their own weaknesses. They think they are saint, they are perfect and always right. They are actually dumbnuts…… eg. when everythings/events are unfolded, they used events that are jumbled up to curse and swear the garment. Will the garment able to predict the financial crises now one year ago? then you are sure U will not have GST talking cock shop. Then again U will not have these Minibonds, Notes problems etc. and these “greed” or “smart investment” people (again depends on events/situations to coin the termed) will collect their coupons and go home happily. Looking back, people always gave their comments that is already history. They never excercise their thinking & power wisely when the time is right or they excercised wisely but regret later. Two years from now ie. 2010/2011 (the FUTURE), think carefully b4 U excercise your power and put the right X in the right place B4 you will start talking and writing rubbish again after that to blow your stupid frustrations. Who cares?

17. 66) Oscar Choy

thanks for the insight – albeit from a very arrogant and blunt perspective.

you asked “who cares?”.
    well, did you realise you’ve answered your own question? By posting your comments here, it showed that you cared . . . care enough to share with us your point of view.

So, point us, allow us to share in our own little dramatic way, according to the colourful people that we are. It’s democracy isn’t it?

18. lol wat a lame excuse. these papaya elites have been taking us for fools and belive that we’d swallow whatever published in the ST.

time to wake up papaya. u wont be who u’re if urs not getting support from ppl. its too late to realize if u lose ur lose in the next GE

19. amberlife 24 October 2008

I lived in Joo Chiat constituency. I respected all the other MPs for their hardwork, you may observed most of their hair turn grey after less than a term, but sadly I have different respect for my own MP.

Where is Mr Chan during the Everitt Neighbourhood Saga, as a MOS of Education then,

I personally believed that it did not reflected well for the image of the teaching profession, especially it was aired on TV news, for the neighbouring countries to see. I was concerned for my son moral education in that school.

Also so much talk about, what Mr Chan would do to get Joo Chiat out from the special map, but I believed the residents themselve did more.

20. chansosian 25 October 2008

Mr Chan is a stanford grad and he did not even bother to check before he goes to attend something. Maybe he is not bona fide stanford grad.

Anway, when he was doing the Suzhou industrial park project, he was every bit as screwed up as he is MP for Joo Chiat. There were rumours he enjoyed wine and song (karaoke) and maybe other elements of the floating world. That perhaps explain why when he took over Joo Chiat, the bastion of the nongya culture was transformed into a world class whore haven, bringing in plenty of GDP contributions to the area and a lot of liveliness as well.

21. hopeless 26 October 2008

Mr Tan Kim Lian,

You said, “I know Chan Soo Sen to be a sincere, hard working person, who is very much on the ground. Just like me.”

Please tell us what are the good results brought about by Chan’s “HARD WORK ON THE GROUND” to the people in Joo Chiat and to Singaporeans as a whole when he was Minister of State in Education.

I will not judge him. But, I want you to produce facts to back up your views.

22. he should come out and sincerely apologies for his error

23. hopeless 27 October 2008

Mr Tan Kim Lian,

I refer to my post No. 71, please provide me with details on the good side of Chan Soo Sen so that I could change my perception of him. You simply said HARD WORK ON THE GROUND by him is not enough. Give us real cases.

I am sure you could cite some facts and actual good works carried out by him. But please do not quote some of the simple tasks in MOE or CDAC.. he was paid almost million a year doing some routine job.

24. We should give MP Chan Soo Sen’s credit especially in this saga, the credit is tremendous and far-reaching but it is really not something we didn’t know.
    So great credit for MP Chan Soo Sen for showing us that :

- highly academic qualification and credential don’t mean that they are any more intelligent and diligent.
    http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Org-MP-CV-ChanSooSen.htm
    1973-1974 GCE `A’ Level (Catholic High School, Singapore)
    1975-1978 BA (Honours) (Oxford University, UK)
    1986-1987 M Sc (Stanford University, USA)

- That gahman is not infallible. He is after all human like rest of us. That is why check and balance are so important in government and yet we don’t have the proper check and balance other than the gov themselves. Isn’t there is a conflict of interest ?

- Most importantly, THESE GOVERMENT CAN TALK BIG BUT DOESN’T EVEN PRACTICE WHAT THEY PREACH ! They can talk about caveat emptor when investors are mislead into buying financial product because they did not do due diligence but yet the gov could not apply caveat emptor when their very own gahmen fail to practice what they preach, which is to perform due diligence and asking lawyer for advice prior to agreement on deal.

25. the high and mighty got his comeuppance!
    serves him right!

26. I feel that nowsaday, Singaporeans show little respect for Government Officials.

I call up Traffic Police hotline at 18800 5471818 and spoke to Mr Hasmir at about 5.55pm on 28 Aug 2009.

I gave feedback that were lots of illegal parking along the 2-way lane with centre while between unit 252 and 250 Tembeling Road. There were no actions taken by the Traffic Police in spite of numerous call made on the situation. The illegal parking has created high probability of a collusion as it creats “blind spots” for vehicle coming in and out of the lane. Mr Hasmir gave little respect to Mr Chan Soo Sen when mentioned he is not bothered if the compliant gets to him.

I hope to be able to get the updated email address of Mr Chan Soo Sen so as to be able to share more on the matter. His previous email address always bounce back my emails sent to him.