Tuesday, October 28, 2008 11:04

Nation-building or party-building?

In Andrew Ong, Main Stories • 2,952 views • 103 Comments

Andrew Ong / Writer

Last Saturday, I came out from a Grassroots Induction Programme feeling intoxicated after being overly-fed with PAP-ganda.

This was a session organised by the People’s Association (PA) and I was there to discover more about the overview of the association.

Interestingly, the PA’s vision is “to be a leading organisation in building an active community where all contribute readily to the nation.”

However after listening to the speeches and reading through the handed materials, I concluded that the vision of the PA should be more accurately communicated as “contributing readily to the PAP”, and not our nation.

In fact, after understanding that the PA’s existence was to achieve a political objective – “namely to strengthen the Government’s presence among the people” to counter the communists’ stronghold – it seems that this association is somewhat a white elephant.

With the communist threat out, why do we need PA?

The PA- Party’s Association

Isn’t the PA supposedly a people’s association? Apparently, all of their board of members are PAP politicians led by the chairman, PM Lee Hsien Loong.

Mind you if the PA is indeed for the people, I think it would have been appropriate for representatives from the opposition parties of Potong Pasir and Hougang to be part of the board in contributing to our community.

Well, it looks quite clear that the PA is just another one of those PAP-sponsored agencies to propagate its party’s agenda (please note party, not nation). Another top-down approach.

More down-up approach

Even the NTUC, a union set up for workers is no longer for workers. This is apparent when we see that the core leadership is headed by PAP ministers.

Presently, Mr Lim Swee Say, who holds a ministerial portfolio in the Prime Minister’s Office, is the union’s Secretary-General.

Such institutions such as the PA and NTUC should be voicing the opinions of the people. But these days, the reverse of the government talking down to the people is more obvious. When this overly happens, we need to be wary as the people like you and I will be least heard more and more over time.

Here is an excerpt from a letter in ST Forum by Mr Chua Sheng Yang, that best describes the unhealthy socio-political state we are in:

“Instead of CASE taking up the cause on behalf of investors, it is former Income chief executive officer, Mr Tan Kin Lian.”

I really wonder how CASE, being affliated and part of the NTUC family, forgot to protect our consumers’ interest?

Enough PAP-ganda

When I wake up, I am in my HDB flat. I make sure I switch of my SP Power-ed lights before I leave my home to take either the SMRT or SBS Transit transport to work. If I am late, I would call for a Comfort Delgro cab on my SINGTEL mobile. My route to work will pass by POSB, SP, ITE, NUS, NUH, ST Kinetics, JTC, AH and A*Star. And work gives me money to contribute to CPF and GST.

Every where we turn, we see them. I believe fellow Singaporeans are getting sick and tired with each passing day by being “talked down” to in what we need to do and what not to do.

“Marry early”

“Make more babies”

“Put money in CPF and can take a bit out when 55″

“Put off retirement and work till 65″

“Pursue education”

Every where we turn, we hear the same party’s voice.

If it is not enough that we have to leave full decisions of our nation in the hands of the ruling party, it is equally disturbing that when we choose to speak up and voice our opinions we stand a high chance of getting slapped with defamation like Dr Chee Soon Juan or the late JBJ.

So the question begs to be answered: Is what we’re claiming to be building for our nation or for a party? I leave that answer for you to decide.

———-

1. What happened to 30 years of nation building?
  2. Singapore neither a nation nor a country – Ministers
  3. Building Bridges: Indignation 2008
  4. Nation Builders
  5. Worker assaulted by employer outside MOM building, and possibly to be repatriated

103 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

IRONY
Oct 28, 2008 11:27

While in a democracy, the People are allowed to vote to determine the next leader, not all singaporeans get to vote, time and again. This is an unquestionable TRUTH.

Spore is a country the size of a city, and it has only 1 city. I urge that all adults be given the chance to vote. If there is WALKOVERS in 1 ward, that town should be dynamically regrouped under the adjacent GRC or ward. This allows all to vote.

Is democracy not based on the majority’s voting choices? Since we wanted a democracy, why not allow ensure all gets to vote instead of walk overs? Remember, even if Spore only has 1 ward / GRC, that is not very big is it compared to China / USA / India / European countries?

Is it better if in a small city, less voted a party in or more voted that party in?
Which decision is more representative of the entire city?

With just 1 small city to manage, why split it into so many GRCs?

I am clueless, nice to meet you!

Anyone please please feel so free to reply as your views will be respected.

sarek_home
Oct 28, 2008 11:46

With the communist threat out, why do we need PA?

Communism was a social threat that infiltrate the society at the time. Even with communism gone, there can be other forces that want to infiltrate the society.

We have seen the government repackage the PA / grassroots to address different social agenda. Training them to handle mass blackout, terrorist attack etc. I think the latest is handling chemical attacks, although I don’t think I trust that will be useful. Giving them fund to provide emergency need to residents etc.

The ideas sound good – a self helping social force funded by the government. The problem is that it is also managed by the ruling party and turning this non-political grassroots body into one that promote PAP agenda and interest.

James
Oct 28, 2008 12:48

I think we should look at things without all the fluff, and evaluate the bottomline.
1. What was done
2. What was the result
3. What you forsee in the future

Are you better off today compared to yesterday? Are things improving as claimed to be? Are things being done contradictory to what is being said?
What was done FOR the people? What could have been done? What was done against the people’s interest/wishes and has no benefit to the nation?

Ask yourselves these questions, and think how you, as an individual, can make things better. As a start, exercise your rights (or whatever is left of it) as a citizen to push for changes for the better.

Tew N S
Oct 28, 2008 12:59

We the residents feel stress under this kind of govt. our country should be renamed SingaPOOR.

Tew N S
Oct 28, 2008 13:01

when you feel stress, you have less sex, and you have small population, simple logic, why the govt can’t understand. Keep moaning every National Day, less babies…. stupid ministers !!

Kaffein
Oct 28, 2008 13:05

Seems eerily like North Korea, isn’t it?

Kaffein

patriot
Oct 28, 2008 13:06

Quote:” to counter the communist”.

No, Singapore leaders do not counter communist, they are courting and wooing the Communists, China, Soviet, Vietnam and everybody where there is money. Not much different from accosting.

patriot

gemami
Oct 28, 2008 13:30

The PAP govt is building a nation for sure – a MONEY Nation – where money is its citizens.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 28, 2008 13:38

What is the defination of singapore today by most of its citizens. Its a nice place built by the many self proclaimed work class money thirst leaders torturing its people to pay up $$$billions of tax money for the benefit of foreigners and aliens to come and contribute more $$$billions to service those good-for-nothing $$$millions ministers when many of its people are still suffering in silence.

Singlish
Oct 28, 2008 14:29

Our government or should I say the PAP manage Singapore as though it is a Company. We are the workers. The PAP is the top managment. LKY is the CEO and Chairman of this Singapore Corp.

As the Company needs to increase its profit margin, it employs foreign talent. When Singaporean workers get older, the retirement age is increased so that they continue to pay tax and let the cpf remain lock up.

If the Company wants to make more money, they have new product call ERP.

This Company like all other companies also have labour representation. It is call the NTUC, head by management staff.

So we are born into this Company and work till we die in this Company.

Hahaha…

The workers are barnded as No. 1 Singaporean workforce. No other workers any where else in the world can be as obedient and loyal as us to the Company. No strike, no protest, no negotiation, no pointing fingures at the management, no nothing…..but just work hard and harder.

Observer (SG-HK)
Oct 28, 2008 14:35

To ride what Patriot had describe on ” to counter the communist”, I believe the group of people are suffering from the “Chalres Bonnet syndrome”.

If the communist really want to infiltrate , there is no way of stopping them (we free country ma!) let alone Singapore has already been inflitrated by them (if they still regard China as communist). I would certainly accord some sort of respects if they dare publicly announce that Singapore will not welcome or will not have any sort of engagement whether political, cultural, social or business with any country deemed as communist so they no need not to worry of any inflitration and had to waste tax payer money to plan to counter this inflitration thingy.

Contribution starts with the letter “C” so are Caring, Compassion, these are definitely not part of the doctrine preached, I think they need a “citizen” dictionary.

Observer (SG-HK)
Oct 28, 2008 14:37

Oops, typo error. It should be To ride on what Patriot had described…..”Charles Bonnet syndrome”.
My apology.

gemami
Oct 28, 2008 15:12

the PAP govt dare not even voice up against kuching-kurap Myanmar and it’s military regime that took over governance of the country by force and the continual detention of Aung San Su Kyi, what makes you think it will stand up for human rights? .. for .. to declare “any sort of engagement whether political, cultural, social or business with any country deemed as communist” is also speaking up for human rights.

the day they speak up against trading with communist regimes or any oppressive regimes is the day the PAP is in the opposing camp.

it is so hard to respect them, because their focus is solely on making money. It believes that money will be able to solve all problems forgeting Wisdom that tells of Money being the root of all evil.

ronin
Oct 28, 2008 17:44

S’poreans should be familiar with MIW’s tactics by now. All supposedly “non-political” organisations such as NTUC, PCF, Straits Times, PA, CASE, Mediacorp, etc are in fact machinery of MIW.

Enigmatic
Oct 28, 2008 19:22

What we have is a sham democracy- many are denied a chance to vote in the GE : not once but several times – due to the rampant gerry manderings by the incumbent -resulting in many walkovers for them: own party members hitch hike and won. Actually such victories are pyrrhic victories- their mandate are unknown: as far as the electorate are concerned.

Political aparthy is being breed when the outcome of any imminent GE quickly becomes predictable and this does not augur well for the country. If this is being repeated often – then whole idea of the GE is farcical.

nick
Oct 28, 2008 20:27

Well, in all respect, I do feel that all these reactions tend to be on the side of over-exaggeration. Certainly, there are inherent constraints in the country we live in, most commonly noted as quasi-democratic elements such as lack of free speech or imperfect competition between political parties, but which country doesn’t? Every country has their unique configurations of problems, and it’s really a matter of perspective. Just as all things can be seen as ‘half-empty’ or ‘half-filled’, it is your choice to see things as a Pollyanna or a Cassandra. In any case, when you compare Singapore with neighbouring countries, we should be fortunate that we do not experience political instability due to divisive racial policies and find ourselves lucky to be able to conduct business without relying too much on clientelism or crony capitalism.

Certainly, it may seem unfortunate that recent events have uncovered some sense of complacency on the parts of our high-paying ministers, it is often too easy to compound all the issues (which in fact are more complicated and deserve more nuanced analysis) and blame it on the government.

And in response to germani, we really have to remind ourselves that Singapore is small, and we should not have the false impression that great economic growth means great political clout. The fact that Singapore is small means that we do not really have a choice in matters with regards to our neighbouring countries. Moreover, even if we did raise our voices in objection, what will the outcome be, when countries such as China or US could not do anything to change the minds of the military junta? Essentially, we should also recognize that Asian countries practice what is commonly known as the ASEAN Way of non-intervention.

mom
Oct 28, 2008 20:34

At the beginning, the frog will not think the water in the pot is too hot.

You talk like so confident
Oct 28, 2008 20:35

16) nick on October 28th, 2008 8.27 pm

Care to tell us your view on the fact that many unable to vote even in a small city in a country that only has this small city?

I had to ask you because you sound like you very the bombastic.

nick
Oct 28, 2008 20:47

Oops, I didn’t mean to pass off as all-knowing or anything. Just frustrated that many of the govt-bashing posts seems to be over-exaggerated. I’m more on the neutral side actually.

Anyway, my main contention wasn’t about exercising our rights as citizens of Singapore, but rather the way we perceive things to be. Countless statistics have shown how in spite of immense economic growth in many countries, its citizens were not as happy as those living in countries with significantly lower GDP per capita. In the same way, (since Singapore is classified under one of those with good eco. growth but low happiness level), I’m just saying that we should learn to see things in a more positive light and understand that things happen because many factors interact to make it happen.

In the case of political rights in Singapore and the fear culture that has seemingly perpetuated within society, perhaps we should recognize that Singapore is still a young nation, and that we have always been conservative, notwithstanding the influence of the Confucian culture that is characteristic of Asian societies.

Yup, in all, while we worry about our restricted rights or higher domestic inflation, let us also learn to appreciate the fact that our roads are safe at night, we have clean water to drink and that our education system is sound. (:

Donaldson Tan
Oct 28, 2008 21:07

All supposedly “non-political” organisations such as NTUC, PCF, Straits Times, PA, CASE, Mediacorp, etc are in fact machinery of MIW. – Ronin (#14)

Actually, NTUC is explicitly clear about is relationship with the PAP.

http://www.ntuc.org.sg/ntucunions/abt_ntuc_pap.asp

In fact, when union leaders under the NTUC wanted to run for General Election under the opposition flag, NTUC instructed them to either quit NTUC or quit from Opposition politics.

patriot
Oct 28, 2008 21:52

Singapore as a nation is indeed rich and it is rich not just because of the Present Government. Within the Malay Peninsula, Singapura has always been the Richest State before and after the Straits Settlement.

However, instead of using the wealth to create happiness, the wealth was (is) used to make more money when Independence was granted(given). AND THAT PUSH FOR WEALTH HAS NEVER ABATE BUT PUT UP MORE STEAM TO EVOLVE INTO GREED. Now greed has progressed to GREEDIER and when will the PROTAGONISTS stop? When are they satisfy with money?

For all we know Greed knows no bound and love for money has no limit.

If money ended up buying grieve for the country and disappointments for the people, all the efforts put into making the money will go into the drain.

If the money made are shared with the people, there will be happy relationships between the leaders and the people. Not that the people are ‘money faces’, many have contributed to the country, without doubt Singaporeans have been working very hard. The Leadership should be able to see the hard works and contributions of the Citizens and not deny their efforts and shares in the economic success.

patriot.

The Le

tiredsingaporean
Oct 28, 2008 22:04

Instead of sharing the prosperity and success of the nation with the citizens, they created an even bigger money making system to impose higher taxes from the people to reward themselves further. When greed is there, people becomes heartless, they start to destroy people (they fear) around them, they becomes like animals, all they have in their minds is nothing but back stabbings just to get ahead of each other, this is exactly what is Singapore today! sad but true.

To #19
Oct 28, 2008 23:08

To #19:

You are indeed right that 50 years is pretty young as nations go. However you don’t hear most people saying oh he’s just a kid, it’s okay for him to bully / steal from others. A kid has to be taught right from wrong even from young. Is it not best to make changes now than later?

Certainly I do appreciate the safe roads, and clean water, but so what if roads are safe and I have water to drink when the ever increasing inflation and ever decreasing wages just about guarantee that life will just get harder and harder? I don’t appreciate that the only future I see is in working dawn to dusk every day collecting cans or washing toilets / dishes to make a living when I’m old… assuming there’s still such jobs not taken up by foreign workers. I don’t appreciate the part the government plays in all of this.

And most of all, I don’t appreciate a government that is so high up in their ivory tower that they can no longer see or hear the people on the ground. It is a government without a heart.

loh
Oct 28, 2008 23:19

So what are you all going to do about??? Not happy about it then just post message here and then ??? Action lah… not only you….. yr family & friend… tell them ….2011 ….vote them out….. it’s about yr interest vs money minded leader’s…

tiredsingaporean
Oct 28, 2008 23:32

yes, we will have alot of safe roads filled with alot of homeless citizens flooding it soon and clean water! mind you, its not free, the minute you lost your job and can’t pay your bills, they come shutting down all your utilities and force you out of your home, no mercy! this is what singapore is today.

utopia8787
Oct 28, 2008 23:40

to nick on 18)

“In the case of political rights in Singapore and the fear culture that has seemingly perpetuated within society, perhaps we should recognize that Singapore is still a young nation, and that we have always been conservative, notwithstanding the influence of the Confucian culture that is characteristic of Asian societies.”

yes yes Confucian culture with an Eastern Democracy: the perfect model of government for the world.

say that again when you drive pass Geylang literally filled with hoards of Asian Prostitutes and sleazy massage parlours.
or whenever you see a Singaporean elderly picking up tin cans and cardboards under the rain along Jalan Besar.
so this is how Asian ladies contribute and how we treat our elderly?

uniquely asian indeed!

also to note, being conservative doesn’t mean being authoritative.

Japan and South Korea are one of the many conservative countries which are non-authoritative.

“conservative”, “Confucian values”, “Asian Culture” and “Eastern Democracy” are great excuses and cover up for our government’s authoritarian style.

Observer(SG-HK)
Oct 28, 2008 23:47

Dear Nick,

30 years ago, this old man here would have agreed with your neutral stand perspective. 30 years ago, people in my generation understand that we are fighting hard to rid off the 3rd world status and we have quietly move along with whatever policies that the government deemed fit to coerce us into believing.

Then are we really that naive and timid to speak up? Partially yes, due to the lack of channel and avenue to air our views and yes indeed partially the fear factor or rather the filial factor (more so the concern towards our parents, relatives and friends. Sort of do not want to be seen as trouble maker). You can say that due to refined Confucius teaching that were imbibed in us during our growing up process as most of us are descendents of peasant from China (the Chinese ethnic group) and for others are from neighboring countries belonging to the true working class.

The value that we understood and stand for had took on a 180 degree turn since late 90s and it has been moving towards something that we no longer recognize (at least I can speak for those in my generations). I was never a loud person until I have started venturing outside of Singapore and get enough exposure to understand in person what democracy really is. That is when I have decided that I should have my principle of believes on speaking my mind and since had been a staunched advocate of Freedom of Speech, Expression and Choice.

Invariably, I do agree there will always be differing views amongst human beings regardless of whether you are a communist, socialist or a true democrat. But when you felt deprived of and a sense of betrayal and being coerced into believing your leaders meant good by introducing policies where you have almost no right to partake in (i.e. through voting, to my recollection, I only voted twice in my lifetime). And not to mention the excessive packages (no country in this world enjoy the same kind of packages our leaders do in a little Red Dot where we are approximately only 0.0583…% of the world population).

You cited I quote: “Certainly, there are inherent constraints in the country we live in, most commonly noted as quasi-democratic elements such as lack of free speech or imperfect competition between political parties, but which country doesn’t? “, This statement will not be applicable to countries who upheld TRUE Democracy. I live in two of them over a period of over 15 years. Our leaders naturally like to justify their cause comparing to TRUE first world democratic country.

I have to admit, I once had the same perspective like you, trying hard to remain neutral and impartial in most issues. Not on events that had taken place since the past 5 years that I had heard and come across. How much compassion or care between communities do you see around you these days? What have we all become?

We are indeed the number 3 in the world in terms of SWF reserves. We should be a happy nation and should not have many poor people in general right? But look around you again and you know what I mean. No doubt, I personally do not measure my happiness or associate my happiness with material wealth. But when you see some of your fellow citizen slugging away just to barely make ends meet and sometimes have to face uncompassionate fellow mates and being discriminated upon, you cannot help but feel sad about it and wanted to give a helping hand in any form you can (including speaking up on their behalf as their priorities are focus on how to make enough to live a decent life without being frown on or being labeled people who rant and want government handouts). I believe most Singaporeans understand mandarin. There is an expression: “人可以穷,志不可以短”. There is also another saying: “冰冻三尺非一日之寒”.

Sometimes, we the fortunate ones need to take a step back and spare a thought for the less fortunate. They are not asking for the sky, just a decent living on basic necessities. If we find a cause to help that we can and are able to assist them, we should held our heads high and speak up on their behalf. I believe in reasoning and I certainly hope those young or older ministers who had not been through real hardship have some conscience and spare a thought of two for these people when they open their mouth. Who in their right sane mind would advocate chaotic or a rowdy society? We are not that naive that we do not understand the impact on economy if there are no stability in a society, but when you are always at the receiving end of policies that are catered to inflict further hurt to the already needy, once too many, I think something is really and seriously wrong and it is even more appalling that they seemed unperturbed about the sufferings.

There is no intent of lecturing (if somehow it did imply in any part, my sincerest apology and you can totally ignore what has been shared), purely, just sharing my thoughts with you and hopefully, you will have a different perspective of things. If you get a chance, try exposing yourself to other parts of the world for a period of time, long enough for you to see the differences. I truly believe you will have a change of thoughts by then.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 29, 2008 0:10

28) Observer(SG-HK) on October 28th, 2008 11.47 pm
Sometimes, we the fortunate ones need to take a step back and spare a thought for the less fortunate. They are not asking for the sky, just a decent living on basic necessities.

Precisely, but do those big shots up there really bother ? it really sick to see so many of the poor folks working their arsh out just barely to survive through their days . . . its really sad! c’mon these true blue citizens deserve a better lives, give them back their monies for heaven sake! and stop torturing them!

chorus
Oct 29, 2008 0:26

“yes, we will have alot of safe roads filled with alot of homeless citizens flooding it soon and clean water! mind you, its not free, the minute you lost your job and can’t pay your bills, they come shutting down all your utilities and force you out of your home, no mercy! this is what singapore is today.”

Yes, but in which country do people get free gas, free water? Where does one draw the line between being charitable and turning into a nanny state ala Britain in the past?

#19 nick
Hmm. I’m inclined to agree with you as I too, am mostly neutral. I actually came to TOC to take in some alternative viewpoints not found in MSM and found myself feeling that many posts are ‘govt bashing’ and ‘exagerrated’ as you put it. That said, I’ve read some really insightful alternative views too, such as #28 Observer. Maybe its cos I am only 20 years old?

#28 Observer
Enjoyed your post.

nick
Oct 29, 2008 0:30

Thanks for the replies so far! It’s been interesting reading these alternative perspectives (:

To Observer (SG-HK):
You make some good points about the state of the less fortunate, and as I agree with these points, some thoughts came to mind. In the face of a situation that may have been made worse by the inaction or mis-action by the government, I think it is more important now than ever for the emergence of bottom-up movements to help alleviate the problems society is increasing pressed with. With our ageing population, higher costs of living and whatnots, it is certainly not difficult to find places where we can do our parts in. Even as we continue to put the blame on govt policies, we should also recognize that we should not be over-reliant on the government as well. Saying that, it does not absolve the govt of any blame that is rightfully theirs. But instead of simply criticizing them, perhaps it might be better to provide constructive suggestions as to how the situation can be improved. After all, if it was already difficult to make a person realize his errors, criticms may only put them on the defence and lead to a status quo; whereas, a constructive engagement may better convince them that it is not that their decision was bad – but that there are other better decisions that could have been made.

As for the change in model to a ‘true’ form of democracy, my fear is that such a free-flowing style of democracy may not be perfectly tailored to Singapore yet. Certainly, gradual measures can be set in place to transit us in a comfortable pace towards the ‘true’ democracy. However, we may not have the foresight to envision the possible trade-offs that may crop up, or worse off, open up a Pandora’s Box of problems that may bring unfavourable change. Of course, I am not advocating stagnancy – but rather, what I am suggesting is that it might be wiser to proceed with caution into the unknown.

You noted that you have been to other countries and enjoyed the experience of true democracy. However, while the contemporary truth may delight us, we may not have experienced the trials that had accompanied them to become what they are today. In a similar vein, we often remark at how wonderful geniuses like Mozart, but we fail to take note of the hardwork that preceded their works of wonders. In Mozart’s diaries, for example, there lies an oft-cited passage in which the composer reports that an entire symphony appeared, supposedly intact, in his head. Yet no one ever quotes the next paragraph in which he talks about how he refined the work for months.

So as we marvel at the benefits of a ‘true’ democracy, let us also be rightfully wary of the unseen problems lurking beneath it.

Observer(SG-HK)
Oct 29, 2008 0:59

Dear Nick,

I understand where you are coming from and do agree gradual progression to True democracy may be the right thing to do. Yes, indeed, there is always trade off in life. I had witnessed many incidences even in true democracy state that is mind boggling, however, that has much to do with the mindset of its citizenry and the issue at large. Ideally, we expect rationalism at work but in reality, the picture is rather telling even in the greatest democracy of the world ~ US. There can be no best of both worlds and I sincerely believe when we can be exposed to these true democratic values, we will grow gradually to appreciate it more.

As for constructive criticism, true to the nail, that should always be advocated if only if the receiving party is willing to engage themselves. It takes at least two to clap. I believe there is no shortage of alternative views and suggestions to remedy a teething issue, however, when materialism is a priority atop of everything, even good plausible suggestions are ignored without reasons or counter with less credible ones.

I thank you for concurring in certain values and certainly do appreciate your candidness. I too hope people come to their senses and be compassionate enough to care for fellow needy citizens. Monetary help is not always necessary the best medicine. Kindness and Passion goes a long way.

Observer(SG-HK)
Oct 29, 2008 1:24

Dear Chorus,

Thank you for your compliment. Don’t be discouraged if you come across something that may deviate from your original thought. As long as you maintain your fundamental believes and try hard not to be influenced, you will probably see things in a very different perspective as you grow progressively.

We are only humans and as such views will differ because of our differences in background, environment, gender, age…etc. The important aspect is to respect and whenever possible be compassionate and caring towards our same human kind regardless of their background, age, gender, religious believes and status. Same value and be responsible should be accorded to all living things if you own one. Cheers!

shibuyume
Oct 29, 2008 2:07

The old rhetoric….back in those days I used to be……

I think I’m old enough to use that. I’ve never voted in my life, and when I was still in school, I too subscribed to the “Asian values”, “Confucianism”, “nation-building”, “young nation”, “freedom comes with responsibility”, etc.

Not to say that they are wrong, but the way it’s sold in Singapore? Prolly another case of mis-spelling. Confuciansm thrived in the days of aristocracy and feudalism. I’m not sure we want to talk about that, and besides, there is nothing Confucian about modern day Singapore, just look at the promiscuity of sex among other things. The only thing Confucian about us is prolly respect for authority and fillial piety. i have no problem with the latter, but the former…….the entire rhetoric about Confucianism is to cower you down to be a loyal peon. In this modern world, it’s not only irrelevant, but covertly submissive if not oppressive.

I believe in building this young nation. But do I stand a chance? I’m not a scholar, I didn’t do too well in school. GLCs, Stat Boards and Ministries frown on me. At best I can work a job to sacrifice myself to the scholars. Let them take flight. Sorry, I’m not that altruistic. Perhaps those scholars who studied so much know how to conduct altruism, and help me out a little. But going by what’s being practised in SG, I very much doubt it.

Freedom comes with responsibility. You can argue that Singaporeans are very dependent on the govt for policies, leadership, etc. But you can also argue that Singaporeans have no choice to be dependent on the govt. Everything must be inline, everything must go by the rules. The stakes are high, the penalties are swift and real. If you are told to do exactly as told, do not question authority, and just mind your own business, you will always be looking up to that authority and ask: then how har.

The people in authority may not have a good answer, since they always gotta “ask boss”. After going all the way up and filtering all the way down, the message is always distorted.

The other oft used rhetoric is that “we are listening, doesn’t mean we have to adopt your suggestions. we the elite knows best and we decide”. PLEASE. I can bring my dog here or talk to a wall to listen to my suggestions. What’s the point of listening if you are simply hearing. There is lack of any empathy from our leaders. They rule from top-down in an archaic style that is well ancient in our times. In our daily lives, if we keep talking to a wall, the only thing for us is to shut up, shut down and become apathetic.

Is this apathy healthy? No. Does it float the supremacy of the rulers? No, in a real democracy where people are required to vote.

If we the citizens do not know, how do we work our jobs? How do we pay taxes? Why do you trust me to vote with my money, to eat at MacDonald’s and spend my money in Genting or Batam, but you don’t trust me to give you a political vote? The lack of trust is very revealing, and now they have imported lotsa “foreign talents”, ah well, there is no need to even build that trust anymore.

Another point is the tax policies. Thanks to the US elections, there is lotsa coverage on economic growth and tax policies. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/adrienne-birecree/conservative-tax-policy-i_b_137836.html

“What would happen absent business tax cuts? Employers would leave the country and take their jobs with them…Companies continued to close plants and ship jobs overseas. Rather than investing to upgrade and expand capacity in their primary product lines, major corporations used the money primarily in two ways. First, they paid their stockholders higher dividends. Second, they used it to diversify into “more profitable” areas through mergers and acquisitions.

……research on business location decisions had determined that only one factor was highly significant for them – wage levels, the lower the better.

When employers opted for the incentives, they were rarely required to indicate what return taxpayers could expect. The number, quality and duration of the jobs in which the public was investing were never specified.

What has been the fundamental problem with conservative tax policy? Neither government nor taxpayers have had any control over what businesses and the wealthy actually do with their tax savings. Absent restrictions that require companies and the wealthy to use their savings for investments designed to create jobs, how that money is spent is entirely up to its recipients

Conservative tax policy has been nothing less than the socialization of investment and risk. Conservatives have very effectively used fear of job loss and economic hardship to convince the public to accept this form of socialism without questioning its underlying rationale or expected returns.”

Remember how Singapore keep lowering corporate tax, to the level that we must raise consumption tax (which is highly regressive) to fill up their coffers even much more.

It’s better be late than never. We need change. But we can’t have change.

In this company called Singapore, Inc, I’ve chosen to quit my job and continue my job hunt.

DARTH VADER
Oct 29, 2008 5:47

2011. 2011.2011. Remember this will the time for real change.Singapore prides it self on being No1 in everything. Well we will become the first country in the world when the people finally and truly exercise their rights to choose a government from within the people.

WE WANT CHANGE. WE NEED CHANGE. WE MUST CHANGE. That will be and must be our new manifesto for the people, rich , middle class and especially for the poor. This will be the year when the people of singapore really stand up for their country and show the world that we fear not the PAP. We want a change , a total real change. Talk all you like now. Complain all you like now. But come this year, show what you can do and must do or forever close down all these sites because they would have not serve their purpose.

Mimi Ju
Oct 29, 2008 5:49

First off, we have to come to terms with the reality that there is no “true” or “perfect” democracy. While some Americans are proud of their system, many are in fact disillusioned with the wheeling and dealing and money politics. The credit crunch and economic crisis is only one aspect of its weakness exposed in an ugly manner.

There is hope for the future, as Nick says, but it is going to be a slow and ardous process.

As history has shown, no nation or political system would remain static; it has to reinvent itself or else the environment would force it to. There is no doubt that the leaders realise it, hence, efforts made to engage the people. But there is still a gulf between what it is willing to offer and the rising expectations of the populace.

The PAP has been entrenched and comfortable to want to experiment with ways that empower the people for fear of losing their grip.

Who would be the arbiter and provide checks? How do we strike a balance?

To win the confidence of the people, the rulers must gain the trust of its people. A mandate to govern would be sustainable if people continue to give it legitimacy and respect. This has to be won not claimed.

aussie mum
Oct 29, 2008 7:30

I am bloody fed-up that Singaporeans like to mention about safety in Singapore and that you can walk in the streets at night compared to other countries.

Bloody hell. If my country is as small as Singapore and if its citizens still cannot feel safe, then Wong Kan Seng ought to be castrated.

I hate Singaporeans who like to make meaningless comparisons, just like their stupid leaders.

Ask Wong Kan Seng to police a nation of 20 million people or even worse, 1.3 billion for that matter. He has yet to find one limping man.

Granted each country has its problems. Don’t use such yardsticks to prove your love for Singapore, please. It only shows Singaporeans have a long way to become world class.

My brother-in-law who finally came to visit me after many invites, expressed shock and disbelief that we could go out at nights and that the whites did not beat us up at the mall or call us names when we went around.

Apparently, he had read too much of your local media. News are just news. They are reported because they are few and far apart. No one reports about people having lunch everyday. Moreover, western media don’t have the habit of reporting only good news, unlike your Straits Times. In fact, aussies like to bash the government. We see it as our duty to prevent them getting way bigger than their own head.

I think some Singaporeans are very deprived in the area of mental development. My brother-in-law was one of them. Are you?

gemami
Oct 29, 2008 8:38

34) aussie mum

As much as I agree with you on the size and safety viewpoint I however feel it is not fair to ‘expect’ Singaporeans to be ‘world class’.

Surely, you do not believe all that you read from the local newspapers (you said so yourself) – and there are many Singaporeans who feel the same way you do; aware that the local media only broadcast what they want you to hear. The alternative is silenced and dead (or so it seems).

The are 2 things ‘world class’ about Singapore
a. is its economy. I would even say, it’s in a class of it own, out of this world, considering our size.
b. our ministers’ salaries.

Our people, sadly, was left behind while this govt went on its own way to pursue the golden goose; disregarding the cries of the people. We were left very much to fend for oursleves and this probably gave rise to ’strange’ behaviours because we copied what we think is 1st world behavior from what we see.

This is why there is this constant comparison with all Tom, Dick and Harrys.

It is therefore unfair for foreigners (and high browed locals) who do not understand this imbalance to judge us by what is proclaimed by the local media and the govt – that we are world class – its people included. This is furthest from the truth.

I gather you are a proponent of govt bashing – the aussie way. This comparison is also not fair if you take into consideration what I have expressed above.

For a govt to be able to take open bashing from its citizens, it has first of all got to be a fair and democratic govt, willing to listen – something this PAP govt is not. Singapore’s govt cannot even tolerate criticisms or differing opinions from its own ranks (therefore the Whip), how so do you think it will listen to its people?

What’s worse is the conflict of interest between what this govt is pursuing (Money & more money), and what the people is calling out for – political freedom, freedom of expressions, human rights, provision of basic needs, lower living costs and all things that points to their well being, including good health and welfare.

As much as we care and keep track of where our economy is heading, we still need to survive the day to day needs for ourselves and our families.

Lastly, as much as it hurts me to say this, I have to admit that I agree with you that we are deprived in the area of mental development on social and political issues.

My point is: please give us (the people) the chance to grow even as we make mistakes along the way. As for this govt, I do not have anything more to say. My only hope if for them to start listening and avail to us the opportunity for us to become 1st world people.

How Much All TC invested in Lehman ?
Oct 29, 2008 9:05

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/386016/1/.html

anyone can tell what is the total investment sank in by all TC based on the super duper unbiased news of spore? If you can I buy you icecream, very lickable icecream.

The news gives me an impression that despite this exposure , its not a biggie ?

Sporeans, please disect this news and help me understand more about the investment exposure of TCs in lehman saga.

As there are QUESTIONS after reading this very bombastic news, I believe more information can come to light when all these questions are satisfactorily answered. ‘Live’ TV interview with teo ?

regards
Selamat wong of the ultimate Accountabilos supernova

Where TC get funding to invest?
Oct 29, 2008 9:09

36) How Much All TC invested in Lehman ? on October 29th, 2008 9.05 am

Shocking news!!!! I almost fell off my chair seeing this news!

I am deeply SADDENED ….

My only QUESTION is : WHERE DOES TC GET FUNDING from? WHO IS THE SOURCE OF THE FUNDING ?

WILL THERE BE NO ONE OR ANYONE ACCOUNTABLE IF AND ONLY IF IN TIMES OF BOO BOO baluku?

yours,
TRANSPARENCY or TRANSLUCENCY or SEMI-OPAQUE’cy?

kauter_rinsurgency
Oct 29, 2008 9:15

aiyo, you all got time to talk about Transparency ?
I more worried about why 22% electricity HIKE, Transport HIKE, Newspaper HIKE, ST INDEX Stock exchange drop to 1600 levels, hawker foods hikes, and many many many many possible hikes potentially possible could be lined up already or not?

sian ah! bo lui eh see ah!!! buay sai puah pee ah!!!

HK Liao! I mean time to go HK liao! HK liao !!!

nick
Oct 29, 2008 9:42

To aussie mum:
While it is true that the reality of safe roads might be ubiquitous in other parts of the world as well, the important thing, really, is the matter of perception. You can have all the safe roads that you want, but if you still have this overhanging belief that the roads are unsafe, then your individual sense of security will certainly be undermined.

Perhaps it is true that the media over-exaggerates or works on sensationalism, but there is also a saying that there is no smoke without a fire. It could be that the proclivity of crime in certain nations is higher that results in such skewed perceptions with regards to the safety of the roads. In any case, it is probably true that there are times when reality isn’t as important as perceived reality, because essentially our sense of security and comfort stem from our perceptions.

Hence, while we go on and say that Singapore is small and easy-to-manage (Well, have we ever managed a country? How would we know the difficulties in handling a country? Let’s not be over-presumptuous here), let us also recognize that the sense of security afforded to us through these ’safe roads’ and ‘clean water’ that we have (a contrasting case study could be China where citizens might not even be certain that the food they eat would be the last thing they taste in the world).

Finally, the point in my raising of inherent constraints within the country is that while we grumble and complain about the state of affairs, let us also learn to appreciate what we have and not be so pessimistic about everything.

You talk like so confident
Oct 29, 2008 10:04

Nick , you posted this :

19) nick on October 28th, 2008 8.47 pm Oops, I didn’t mean to pass off as all-knowing or anything. Just frustrated that many of the govt-bashing posts seems to be over-exaggerated. I’m more on the neutral side actually.

Anyway, my main contention wasn’t about exercising our rights as citizens of Singapore, but rather the way we perceive things to be. Countless statistics have shown how in spite of immense economic growth in many countries, its citizens were not as happy as those living in countries with significantly lower GDP per capita. In the same way, (since Singapore is classified under one of those with good eco. growth but low happiness level), I’m just saying that we should learn to see things in a more positive light and understand that things happen because many factors interact to make it happen.

In the case of political rights in Singapore and the fear culture that has seemingly perpetuated within society, perhaps we should recognize that Singapore is still a young nation, and that we have always been conservative, notwithstanding the influence of the Confucian culture that is characteristic of Asian societies.

Yup, in all, while we worry about our restricted rights or higher domestic inflation, let us also learn to appreciate the fact that our roads are safe at night, we have clean water to drink and that our education system is sound. (:
=============================================================

Apparently you have chosen not to give your comments about the FACT that many did not have the chance to vote in elections after elections,

AND

instead keep repeating the good news.

I am also NEUTRAL just like you. I like the clean water made possible by technology. I like the ERP systems made possible in part by people’s money and cooperation.

But I am really neutral when I highlight the Good and the BAD aspects .

Value for Money paid is basic expected performance
Oct 29, 2008 10:11

Nick, you keep urging people to focus on the good aspects and ignore the bad aspects. That is simply bias.

You keep comparing with 3rd worlds.
Why don’t you compare apple with apple?

And why avoid the bad news? Please comment more on what you feel about the bad news. I have a feeling you will say, your son holds the racket like aggassi.

Top Performance expected for World record. Its only fair.
Oct 29, 2008 10:13

43) Value for Money paid is basic expected performance on October 29th, 2008 10.11 am

should be reworded as “Top Performance expected for World record pay. Its only fair.”

gemami
Oct 29, 2008 10:29

#41) nick
(((let us also learn to appreciate what we have and not be so pessimistic about everything))).

Our parents walked alongside Singapore’s first govt clinging bilndly to the hope that the promises made by that govt would be fulfilled. And, in a way, that hope was fulfilled. Singapore progressed economocially and its stature in the world grew by the day to what it is today. At the same time, the people were promised that together with this growth, their needs would be taken care of, if they continued to work hard and support the govt (meritocracy). Again it worked and the balance was good. A good, clean and honest govt working for the good of the people.

That was the first govt – the old guards.

Most of the old gaurds have since passed on this responsibility to a newer generation of gatekeepers. Things began to change. Because of the new world order where free market rules – we begin to compete, to build up our wealth so that we can compete with the best of the best. It is here that the people became, in a way, secondary or inconsequential. Money can solve all problems – even political and social ones.

Our fear now is not because our roads will become unsafe. Neither are we not appreciative of what we have or have suddenly become pessimistic overnight.

It is because of what we have that we begin to think if we could lose them. And because of this, we begin to ask questions. Can we be faulted for asking questions to protect our interests?

Will the new PAP govt continue with the same considerations the first PAP govt gave to the people? What if they don’t? What about future PAP govts? Will they show the same level of ‘integrity’ and ‘honesty’?

Will they listen to the people? How well will they tolerate alternative opinions and views? What if they don’t?

What will happen if the people become frustrated because the govt does not listen to them anymore? Will they take to the streets? Will they vote in a new govt?
What happens if they take to the streets or vote in a new govt?

Can a new and untested govt do the job of caring for the people and making economic progress at the same time?

Bottomline is that it is not true that we are not appreciative of what we have – mostly good infrastructures. Neither are we pessismistic. We are hopeful but not pessismistic. Hoping that we can effect small changes that eventually will lead to more than one competent government.

Because if we go by your notion of appreciation and not to complain, or, ask questions, as I prefer to call it, than the danger is to become complacent and believe that any PAP govt will always bail us out. This is furthest from the truth.

nick
Oct 29, 2008 10:29

To you talk like you so confident:
As I have said, “Anyway, my main contention wasn’t about exercising our rights as citizens of Singapore, but rather the way we perceive things to be.” I am not arguing about the perceived lack of political rights nor am I preaching the good stuff, and all I am trying to say is that we should try to be more balanced in our outlook. Perhaps a good comparison would be that life is like photography – we develop from the negatives. In any case, I am not discounting the ‘bad aspects’, I am just trying to provide the alternative to what the majority content is made up of, which contains quite a lot of negatives.

To #43:
“Nick, you keep urging people to focus on the good aspects and ignore the bad aspects. That is simply bias.” Please see above.

With regards to comparisons, it wasn’t my intention to specifically pick on third-world nations. If you truly wish to compare countries based on status such as ‘first-world’, I believe that there will definitely be an abundance of content to compare with. But the main point I am trying to make is that it is very easy to fall into the trap of disgruntledness and disenchantment. Yes, we should not stop criticizing, otherwise complacency may set in, but we should criticize constructively as well.

In the end, life is not so much on the focus of what we do not have, but rather what we have. Perhaps, life can be likened to a cup of coffee – it is bitter, but it is up to you to make it sweet.

gemami
Oct 29, 2008 10:39

46) nick
(((Perhaps, life can be likened to a cup of coffee – it is bitter, but it is up to you to make it sweet))).

you make it sweet by ‘listening to the good stuff’ – good for you.
to some, they make it sweet by spitting into the coffee.
still others makes it sweet by not adding anything.
and there is the minority who does not drink coffee.

cheers :)

Zefly
Oct 29, 2008 11:53

Nick,

Gandhi is an optimist. Martin Luther King is an optimist. But they still had to take on the system to make things for the better. David Marshall didn’t just ‘constructively criticize’ the British colonialists. He organized people and challenged the Brits. In a way, our PAP ‘leaders’ learnt the lessons from challenging authority well. The ‘look-at-the-third-world-nations-to-see-we-are-better-off-so-dun-ask-for-too-much’ mentality that so many of us have is one such strategy.

It’s true we should accept the things that we cannot change. But the political landscape is something we can. And we should.

nick
Oct 29, 2008 12:06

Looks like the server reseted, but anyway, I received your reply via email:
===
germani:
(((let us also learn to appreciate what we have and not be so pessimistic about everything))).

Our parents walked alongside Singapore’s first govt clinging bilndly to the hope that the promises made by that govt would be fulfilled. And, in a way, that hope was fulfilled. Singapore progressed economocially and its stature in the world grew by the day to what it is today. At the same time, the people were promised that together with this growth, their needs would be taken care of, if they continued to work hard and support the govt (meritocracy). Again it worked and the balance was good. A good, clean and honest govt working for the good of the people.

That was the first govt – the old guards.

Most of the old gaurds have since passed on this responsibility to a newer generation of gatekeepers. Things began to change. Because of the new world order where free market rules – we begin to compete, to build up our wealth so that we can compete with the best of the best. It is here that the people became, in a way, secondary or inconsequential. Money can solve all problems – even political and social ones.

Our fear now is not because our roads will become unsafe. Neither are we not appreciative of what we have or have suddenly become pessimistic overnight.

It is because of what we have that we begin to think if we could lose them. And because of this, we begin to ask questions. Can we be faulted for asking questions to protect our interests?

Will the new PAP govt continue with the same considerations the first PAP govt gave to the people? What if they don’t? What about future PAP govts? Will they show the same level of ‘integrity’ and ‘honesty’?

Will they listen to the people? How well will they tolerate alternative opinions and views? What if they don’t?

What will happen if the people become frustrated because the govt does not listen to them anymore? Will they take to the streets? Will they vote in a new govt?
What happens if they take to the streets or vote in a new govt?

Can a new and untested govt do the job of caring for the people and making economic progress at the same time?

Bottomline is that it is not true that we are not appreciative of what we have – mostly good infrastructures. Neither are we pessismistic. We are hopeful but not pessismistic. Hoping that we can effect small changes that eventually will lead to more than one competent government.

Because if we go by your notion of appreciation and not to complain, or, ask questions, as I prefer to call it, than the danger is to become complacent and believe that any PAP govt will always bail us out. This is furthest from the truth.
===

Again, I reiterate my stand that I am not advocating stagnancy and blind acceptance of the current state of affairs. Nor do I believe that the ‘PAP government will always bail us out’. As mentioned in previous replies, I am simply asking that criticisms be more objective. Perhaps a better way to put it is that my rhetoric is more for those who simply blame everything on the government or make exaggerated claims that we are operating like a communist country.

I am all for change, because with the pace of globalization increasing in the world, we need to constantly reinvent ourselves to make Singapore more relevant to the world. At the same time, while we try to shape the political landscape to make it more amenable to us citizens, let us also recognize that if we truly wish for our views to be heard, we need to present them in a more balanced and acceptable manner. If the government appears resistant towards our calls for better change, then it is up to us to show them the change constructively through actions (Bravo to Tan Kin Lian!) and not through provocative words.

Singlish
Oct 29, 2008 12:13

To #19

You are axactly right to say taking up jobs as cleaners, collecting used cans, manning toilets when we hit 65 years of age is not the way we want to grow old in.

Citizens of other nations can retire when they reach retirement age and do not need to work till they die. Even if they do want to work, it is meant to be as a past time activity. Just to keep them occupied. But we have to work in order to survive.

At worst of all, we work as cleaners, cans collectors, etc…

giant sotong
Oct 29, 2008 13:41

People like Nick need to open their eyes, see, then do some critical thinking. Over the decades, we’ve had PAP infiltration into unions, media, PA, RCs & town councils (as highlighted in the article), kindergartens, GLCs, CASE, and even sports! Many of these organisations should not be politically affiliated/controlled at all; in fact, being so runs counter to their missions. I think we’ve reached a critical juncture; we need to start chipping away the tentacles of this monster-in-the-making. Thanks for the internet, many have awakened.

Alternative Opposition Supporter
Oct 29, 2008 14:03

Will there be more hikes coming?
use your blain!

Alternative Opposition Supporter
Oct 29, 2008 14:09

50) giant sotong on October 29th, 2008 1.41 pm

Well said. Unfortunately its my assessment that viewers of internet forums or blogs on social issues are those already converted i.e. the awakened ones.

SADLY, majority are still slogging on their computers working for their bosses and daily afraid of being replaced by FTs. They only have time to read MSM.

Change is possible to say the least. But effort has to be focused on reaching this untapped resources. Until then, people will continue living in their box for frogs.

anon
Oct 29, 2008 14:11

For a developed and sophisticated country like Singapore, it is amazing that its people only want clean water and safe roads from the government.

The government must be wishing that those minibond investors could think like that too.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 29, 2008 14:12

There are already too many areas being controlled by the PAP ruling party and too many things are being hidden from the public until being exposed. All those sweet talks on one thing and do the other is already becoming a norm to them, and do you singaporeans still want all these to go on? why should these people be paid $$$millions at the expense of the taxpayers and still the taxpayers are being cruxified?

blade
Oct 29, 2008 14:13

gemami (#37):

applause to gemami for the argument. i absolutely share your views. but i would like to reinforce some of points that you have mentioned:

“The are 2 things ‘world class’ about Singapore
a. is its economy. I would even say, it’s in a class of it own, out of this world, considering our size.
b. our ministers’ salaries.”

singapore, a small country, has managed to sell itself to the world. the first world class u mentioned is our pride; the latter is a mockery to all.

“Our people, sadly, was left behind while this govt went on its own way to pursue the golden goose; disregarding the cries of the people. ”

any govt managing singapore difficult job balancing the two: to attract investments into singapore and taking care its citizens. singapore is a small economy that depends largely on foreign investment and foreign trade. that explains why singapore has been politically neutral in many of the global events. but singapore govt has been too obsessed with attracting foreign investments that it has neglected its citizens’ needs and concerns.

“For a govt to be able to take open bashing from its citizens, it has first of all got to be a fair and democratic govt, willing to listen – something this PAP govt is not. Singapore’s govt cannot even tolerate criticisms or differing opinions from its own ranks (therefore the Whip), how so do you think it will listen to its people?”

PAP has been in power for too long. this leads to complacency. how many of our MPs has go out into the street to see the districts that they rule? how many have spoken to the man-in-the-street to see what is his concerns? does the govt get public feedback on their policy making, or they do what as they think is “right”?

with a low income and corporate tax rate, singapore is a good place for the rich. the poor struggle to cope with their daily expenses; and many of the upper middle class, who were once from poor families have seen through the system, and choose to be “quitters”. if nothing is done, there will be more people leaving singapore.

nick
Oct 29, 2008 14:24

Oh well, if awakening means blind opposition, I wouldn’t want to be awakened at all. As I have said, if you simply disagree with the govt without providing constructive opinions that could be built on for further change, then I don’t think you are very much better from the man-on-the-street who is still ‘unawakened’ and happily living in the bliss of ignorance.

And to anon:
If you can see an individual opinion as the collective consensus of the Singaporean citizenry, then it is easy to see why the government is disinclined to listen to such comments, since packaging everything into a simplistic generalization doesn’t involve much complexity, nor does it solve anything.

But in any case, everyone has their own opinions, so as I try to understand where you guys are coming from, please respect my views as well.

Lion's Ashes
Oct 29, 2008 14:44

its the same crap even for newbie citizens prior to actually obtaining their citizenship.

Zefly
Oct 29, 2008 14:46

Nick, I agree with you that it’s silly to oppose for the sake of opposing. And internet discussions tend to be a bit more emotional, in the sense that I believe the people who casually bash the ‘gahmen’ here are actually people who can think critically, but you know, it’s more fun to just complain.

However, we have to ask ourselves why some people are so eager to cast the blame on the government. Is it because we are really as politically apathetic , and look to government to solve all our problems, as the media like to paint us, or that in a society where the government keeps insisting they know best, that when the shit hits the fan, the people will turn to the government and say ‘ok, you sort out this mess.’

People are frustrated at a government that is arrogant and doesn’t listen screwing up, then expecting the people to ‘unite’ together for the sake of the country. After years of getting stuff like this, can you blame the people from just sitting back and shake leg and tell the government to pick up the pieces themselves?

There are many many questions that have remained unanswered. Do you truly know what is happening to all the reserves? The CPF? If we are supporting repressive regimes around the world? If, as rumors persist, that much of our current economy is based around being the money-laundering capital of Asia?

Has the Government admitted to being consistently wrong over many things these past few years? For eg – the unblinking support of a lassiere faire economic system that is blowing up in our faces right now? LKY’s support of George W Bush’s policies?

Why isn’t the Government answering these? In so much as I disagree with some of the actions of the SDP, why didn’t the government answer any of the questions they raised, and simply just paint them as trouble-makers?

Can you safely say you are proud of the conduct of our government in recent years? Can you say you like the direction our country is going?

gemami
Oct 29, 2008 14:58

56) nick
(((But in any case, everyone has their own opinions, so as I try to understand where you guys are coming from, please respect my views as well))).

contrary to what you may believe, and speaking for myself, i find contributions like yours very refreshing.

it takes a lot of courage to share your viewpoints especially when most of what you read here are in stark contrast to your inclinations and belief.

my wish is for you to stay engaged with us and continue to share you viewpoints, never mind the snipe remarks in between, for it is expected. tell us, better still, make us see Singapore the way you are seeing it.

for, by coming here, you have already decided to make a difference. why give up then? enllghten us instead.

we, at least I, will thank you for it.

hitachi08
Oct 29, 2008 16:09

its brainwashing to believing you to take up what they have to offer, and not questioning the reasons behind it

alternatives? migrate if you can, and if you cant dun vote for them coming 2011

patriot
Oct 29, 2008 16:21

Hi shibuyume(Post#33);

me love the substance in your post.

Confucianism is good if its’ philosophy is fully embraced. But if ‘paying homages and respects to elders(filial piety) and authorities’ without the elders and authorities earning their respects as promulgated by Confucius, then Confucianism is been misused to educate. Confucius had emphasized the importance of rulers(emperors those days) loving and caring for their subjects, that means rulers must be benign, benevolent and loving in order to be respected, even reverred like the King of Thailand now. Similarly our parents, we as parents and other elders have to earn their respects as well.

Should I say here that Singapore Leaders, liked boastful fathers, have been thumping their chests and shouting with their big mouths, declaring to the whole World that they are the best, the most talented, the most capable and most deserving of the World Record Remunerations. They are indicating that the citizens cannot be better than them and must therefore subjugate themselves(people) to their(leaders) authorities.

From my own 58 years of living in Singapore, being born here, I would say the average Singaporeans have always been working for their own survivals, with or without leaders or under any leaders. Why then are we having quarrels with our present leaders? Is it because we have found them icompetent, not respectable individually and collectively, authoritative and conceited or downright tyrannical? And there will be the suspicion that they are greedy, for wanting World Record Salaries for managing one of the smallest country . The Answer obviously will encompassed some of these reasons.

Leaders, in Confucian Tenets, must lead by examples of being humane, loving and caring. Leaders must not indulge in misuse of power, authority and wealth.
They must not bully, contrive and protect each others in schemes and any other unethical practices. Respects must be earned and not demanded from the people.

Safety(life) in Singapore, is pretty much an advertisement and a myth, just ask how many Singaporeans were killed and mugged whilst in other countries. Not only all Singaporeans returned in one piece, most long to go abroad again whenever they can afford. Of course Singaporeans should be awared of homicides in our own country and the record for suicides alone is pretty alarming. Many seemed unreported nowadays.

I know not much of politics but I do sensed fellow countrymen are very sick with problems they faced in livings. Hospitals(clinics) including Institute of Mental Health, Prisons are crowded, public transports are crowded, long queues at hawkers and foodcourts and prices of essentials are raised frequently. Can we end our complaints now, I think not.

I do not expect the well-offs and their offsprings to complain like me, they do not have to. But suspect some of them are here singing laudably of the Leadership and it is just because they do not have to face the problems we faced. Wealth, I suspect, can numb conscience.

patriot

gemami
Oct 29, 2008 16:43

49) nick on

well, the server did you no favour did it?

-Thanks for the clarification on your stand and I do understand and accept your reasonings.

As I mentioned in post #60), it is expected that you will get to hear ‘govt-bashing’ comments in this site. However, it must be taken as – just that, govt bashing; and nothing more. It is an avenue for one to released all the pent-up emotions and frustrations and what have you. We must allow it. In fact, we should encourage it if it helps the individual.

However, at the end of the day, we must be able to calm down and look at things in their proper perspectives. Even those who profess to see the picture better ought to give some space to listening to the ‘bashings’ and read beyond the uttered words.

There is a message behind every utterance. It is these messages that will allow us to come up with solutions and constructive alternatives.

This is where people like yourself comes in. You are more level-headed and have lots of experiences to share. Share them so that we can continue to bring up the level of discussion.

One thing is for sure, the bashing will not stop.

Zefly
Oct 29, 2008 17:48

62) patriot, you basically said what I had in mind, but much more eloquently. :) I’m really sick of hearing this East-West discrepancy. You know, the West is bad East is good talk. It’s just political justification, that’s all.

At any rate, go buy ‘A Nation Cheated’ by Chee Soon Juan, selling fast at kinokunya. I think everyone should read it. Not asking everyone to BELIEVE what’s written, but it shows the importance of having alternative voices. I actually suspect many of the things that were said to be true… that’s why there is complete silence on PAP’s part. Because they know that if they sue, it will be like the Durai incident. All the dirty linen will be uncovered.

Crass FM Kang Tang Radio
Oct 29, 2008 18:16

Chinese has a saying (which I loosely translate as ) “To Beat is to Like
To Scold is to Love.”

I think all these postings are not bashing but love in disguise.
Nick, you too pessimistic and negative minded. Very dangerous mindset. Very unproductive.

My boss keep scolding me but the aim and intention of his actions was to want me to improve.

I am the ‘Servant’ of my Boss, the paymaster. He ultimately has the power to sack me every appraisal time.

The more he knacks at me, the more love / warmth I feel from him.

nick
Oct 29, 2008 18:21

gemami:
I guess it’s true – the thing about the outlet for angst and all. Thanks for helping me see that (:

#65: haha what a twist xD but funny nonetheless

Lunar
Oct 29, 2008 20:04

Another one of those unconvincing articles that have been springing up on TOC. This sounds more like a rant than an intelligent discussion. Although such organizations like the PA and NTUC are staffed very heavily with politicians from a single party, one cannot automatically assume that the organization works for the party and that the organization’s objectives and aims are compromised. Even if it is easy for such politicians serving on their boards to further their personal/party agenda, and that probability of them doing so is high, the author gives no convincing evidence that they are doing so.

I believe healthy communication between the people and the govt has to be balanced and goboth ways. The author here suggests there is an imbalance here in which the govt seems to excessively ‘force’ their opinions on the people and there is a lack of regard on the feedback of the people. Then again, the author gives no evidence or argument whether such ‘talking down’ is necessary, whether it is for the good of the nation, or for their party, but goes straight to the conclusion that it is for their own political party agenda. It doesn’t take much of a brain to know that in certain highly complex global scenarios and circumstances such as the economic/financial crisis, it is natural that a group of people are in a better position and of better knowledge to tackle such scenarios, and that at times governments have to enforce unpopulist polices for the better good of the nation and in the long-run.

It is also ridiculous to use the CASE incident to ‘best describe’ the entire socio-political sphere. The author again automatically assumes that the consumer’s complaints are valid and rational for CASE to act on their behalf and that their failure to do so automatically means inaction, and that they are not working for consumers but their own ‘political’ agenda.
‘“Marry early” “Make more babies” “Put money in CPF and can take a bit out when 55″ “Put off retirement and work till 65″ “Pursue education”. The government’s overt and aggressive pursuits in telling the citizens what to do does offend alot of people including me, because they often trespass into the sphere of our private life. There are policies that dictate and force you what to do with an iron hand, and there are policies that provide incentives to what they want you to do. I believe it is the latter that is more commonly found in Singapore. And I have no issue ignoring such incentives or ignoring the government’s calls to do this and that, such as forgoing local newspapers and opting for more intelligent sources such as The Economist. Yet again, I see no argument/evidence from the author of what all these ‘things’ the government wants us to do is party-building and not nation-building.

Well Said
Oct 29, 2008 20:41

62) patriot on October 29th, 2008 4.21 pm
…………From my own 58 years of living in Singapore, being born here, I would say the average Singaporeans have always been working for their own survivals, with or without leaders or under any leaders…………..
—————————————————————————————-

Though for my personal salvation I shall not agree with you, I would say I cannot disagree with you either. ;)

Many singaporeans have proven themselves by working overseas and performing well even outside of this system or having migrated.

Thus, I think singaporeans succeed anywhere and need not be inside singapore only.

Haha
Oct 29, 2008 22:51

To #65:

Hmm… I never believed that, but now that I think on it, maybe that’s truer than I know. Right now, it is such that I would vote for any opposition at all, including the ones I do not support or agree with. But as much as I am opposed to and disgusted with the current PAP, should they actually start really listening to the people change for the better, I would be the first to vote for them.

I admit I’m not after true democracy or even freedom of speech. What I want is a government who will take care of its people – all its people, including those at the bottom. And what’s more I suspect most people wouldn’t care just how many parties are ruling either, or whether or not there’s an opposition, or whether or not the media is controlled as long as they feel the current government is good. But if real democracy and freedom of speech is the only way we can attain and retain that, then I’m all for it.

Ps. Government handouts, especially close to election time, do not count.

Daniel
Oct 29, 2008 23:03

“But as much as I am opposed to and disgusted with the current PAP, should they actually start really listening to the people change for the better, I would be the first to vote for them.”

Don’t worry. Please continue to vote for PAP because when election is near, the PAP will suddenly start listening to the people to change for the better. Remember it is ONLY LISTENING. Listening doesn’t mean action. A leopard never change its spot especially a 40++ leopard.

patriot
Oct 29, 2008 23:11

Dear Zefly and Well Said;

thanks to You Folks for the interactions.

There are goods and bads in every culture, east, west, middle, north and south and therein are the knowledges, examples, specimens, reference, arts and virtues for us to pick. There are different approaches and ways of livings, diverse range of values. The West consume and spend to drive its’ economy, they are open and liberal in their cultures in fashion, sex, film, entertainments.

The Orientals are getting influenced by the Westerners though by and large the Political Leaders are very much traditional and true to their native cultures. The Indians Leaders uses Tamil, Hindi and other Indian Languages to communicate with their citizens and others leaders in World Meets. The same goes to the Chinese, Indonesian, Thai, Japanese and the rest EXCEPT Singapore.

Singapore is the only South East Asian Country that copy the American/European Culture and Commercial Practises. HOWEVER AND IRONICALLY, its’ first Prime Minister, the Present Minister Mentor, retains a little of his root in ‘Confucianism’, knowing that the majority Chinese Race Singaporeans embraced much of the Sage Teachings and will honour and respect Authorities blindly. In fairness to Confucius, the Sage did require propriety from the rulers.

The Chinese, Indian and most other South East Asians save(contrast with spend with the West) to be rich for economic progress, almost all Asian are conservative in other cultural traits.

Singapore Culture is UNIQUE, it is neither here nor there, the Leadership picked Confucianism to lead, consumption for economic development and ENGLISH LANGUAGE FOR EDUCATION, OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATION AND COMMUNICATION. IT is also unique in that more than a quarter of its residents are foreign born and more foreigners are invited to be citizens.

Is the UNIQUENESS good for the country?

patriot

tiredsingaporean
Oct 29, 2008 23:21

the people of singapore needs at least 6 strong alternative voice inside the parliaments this coming GE, its time for the people of singapore to know and justify how our taxpayers monies are being used for, no more increasing of price hikes as you like, no more profiteering from the people, no more self proclaimed leaders and pay as you like, its time the people of singapore takes their stand and be united to do the right things for our country and for our rightful citizens.

Haha
Oct 29, 2008 23:38

To #69) Daniel

Ahem… missed out a word. Should be start listening to the people AND change for the better. And I mean really change, with real actions and proof consistently, not election time coming then change. That doesn’t count any more than the election handouts to buy votes.

Singlish
Oct 30, 2008 9:10

#71 TiredSingaporean.

Well I think the TiredSingaporean is not so tired after all. I totally agree that we need to know how our government spend our money and what percentage of this is being loss or made in investment.

I don’t see any report on the investment done by GIC for public viewing. No one really knows how much is made or loss. Which are the areas of the investment and how much have we dumped in.

Do we have the rights to know?

Are these information confidential?

Donaldson Tan
Oct 30, 2008 9:53

Singlish (#75).

GIC investment information is classified as state secrets. You need the Prime Minister´s approval before reading the document.

Patriot (#62),

Good point that Confucianism works both way. It preaches good Chinese social values, but the State chooses not to adhere it while imposes it on the people, then it becomes a one-sided authoritarian regime.

PAP´s pragmatism doctrine can be summarised by one sentence: ¨greed is a powerful agency for change¨. I believe Sun Yet-sen´s 3 Peopleś Principle is a practical alternative to the pragmatism doctrine preached by the PAP. It is a political doctrine developed by Dr Sun Yet-sen that is not only compatible with western style democracy but also preaches Confucian values as the basic values of society. Unlike pragmatism, the 3 People´s Principle required propriety from the ruling class.

Nick (#46),

If you truly wish to compare countries based on status such as ‘first-world’, I believe that there will definitely be an abundance of content to compare with. But the main point I am trying to make is that it is very easy to fall into the trap of disgruntledness and disenchantment.

Singaporeans are disenchanted. Look at the statistics on how many are leaving Singapore annually, how many Singaporeans are dropping their citizenship and how many intends to leave Singapore the first opportunity arises. Do you think the disenchantment comes from they comparing to better first-world examples or something is clearly wrong with how Singapore is governed and Singapore society in general.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 30, 2008 11:29

74) Donaldson Tan on October 30th, 2008 9.53 am
Singlish (#75).
GIC investment information is classified as state secrets. You need the Prime Minister´s approval before reading the document.

Alamak! just like asking LHL, hey! can you show me your dad’s bank accounts books! must as well ask all the rest of the PAP ministers bank accounts and all the assets each owned here and overseas, right? THINK!

Donaldson Tan
Oct 30, 2008 11:54

Alamak! just like asking LHL, hey! can you show me your dad’s bank accounts books! must as well ask all the rest of the PAP ministers bank accounts and all the assets each owned here and overseas, right? THINK! – tiredsingaporean

That is just what the law decrees.

Amused
Oct 30, 2008 11:55

Citizens giving criticism (constructive or otherwise) to the way their country is run at least still care about the country. Why would they bother to otherwise?

Besides, what good is constructive criticism when the receiver either:
-Ignores it because “they know best”
-Shoots the messenger for “bringing bad news”

Singapore, in producing record number of citizens (in proportion to total population) whose dream is to leave and have nothing to do with the country anymore except maybe for vacations, is doing really, really badly in terms of nation building.

blade
Oct 30, 2008 13:09

patroit (#62):

“Safety(life) in Singapore, is pretty much an advertisement and a myth, just ask how many Singaporeans were killed and mugged whilst in other countries. Not only all Singaporeans returned in one piece, most long to go abroad again whenever they can afford.”

the crime rate in singapore is generally low as compared to many other countries and it’s safe to walk alone at night. i lived overseas for some time. there were many incidence of pickpockets and tricksters operating in broad daylight, especially at tourist attractions. the police could do little about it.

“Of course Singaporeans should be awared of homicides in our own country and the record for suicides alone is pretty alarming. Many seemed unreported nowadays.”

the number unreported suicide cases is a concern. we need to find ways to encourage the helpless victims to come out and seek aid and even conseilling if needed. one way to encourage them to come out is to do away with the current law which make suicide a criminal act. Further discussion can be found at “Suicide statistics – the young and the stressed?” at http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/10/suicide-statistics-the-young-and-the-stressed/

well said (#67):

“Many singaporeans have proven themselves by working overseas and performing well even outside of this system or having migrated.”

agreed. the leadership of our current govt is over-rated. but i’ll have little to rebuke if you said that our 1st generation leader has set up an environment that was favourable for growth. since our times of our forefathers, we know that need for hard work to success. so no matter where we are, this value never changes.

haha (#68)

“I admit I’m not after true democracy or even freedom of speech. What I want is a government who will take care of its people – all its people, including those at the bottom. And what’s more I suspect most people wouldn’t care just how many parties are ruling either, or whether or not there’s an opposition, or whether or not the media is controlled as long as they feel the current government is good. But if real democracy and freedom of speech is the only way we can attain and retain that, then I’m all for it.”

intially i had the same thoughts. but after thinking, will the govt know what the citizens are thinking if there’s no freedom of speech?

patriot (#70):

thanks for the insightful post. it gives another view and it’s thought provoking.

haha (#72):

“Should be start listening to the people AND change for the better. And I mean really change, with real actions and proof consistently, not election time coming then change.”

majority of the people will still look at the benefits at the point of time when making choices. it is human nature. all politicians know this, and make good use of this.

singlish (#73):

“I don’t see any report on the investment done by GIC for public viewing. No one really knows how much is made or loss. Which are the areas of the investment and how much have we dumped in.”

agree that gic should be transparent about its profit and losses. but total transparency of its investment might not be a good idea. gic investment is our country assets. if details are made known to public, third countries might take advantage of this information to act against our national interest.

tiredsingapore (#75):

“Alamak! just like asking LHL, hey! can you show me your dad’s bank accounts books! must as well ask all the rest of the PAP ministers bank accounts and all the assets each owned here and overseas, right? THINK!”

the exchange has become too heated up. tiredsingapore, you’re becoming personal.. haha..

Singlish
Oct 30, 2008 13:58

#78 Blade

Agree that total transprency of GIC investment to general public may not be favorable to the nation. But somehow we need to know whereabout are our monies and if they have shrunked or grown.

No one would like to be kept in the dark about their investment. This is especially so when it concerns the nation’s asset. The nation’s asset is every Singaporean asset.

If I have a broker who manages my money, and wouldn’t want me to know where he has invested my money, I would fire him. If he has invested my money and make some good losses, I would fire him too. But can we (SIngaporean) fire our government if GIC make good losses? Do we, Singaporean have a choice.

gemami
Oct 30, 2008 14:27

78) blade

well done!
take a bow please . . .
… if only our leaders have a little of your perspective……..sigh : (

Nation Building or Party Building? « Andrew: Inside & Insights
Oct 30, 2008 14:38

[...] Note: This entry was also published on The Online Citizen (TOC) on 28 October [...]

Observer (SG-HK)
Oct 30, 2008 16:23

Regardless of party (parties), we need gracious and caring leaders and leaders with conscience for the people. This I believe is severely lacking now (I speak for myself and the group of friends who shares my sentiment).

The leaders or to-be leaders need to re-learn what is Compassion. They too need to be more in touch with the ground people like us to know our needs. A good leadership is not only strong in their head but they are also caring enough to ensure that the people’s well being are their priority (IF ONLY THEY KNEW). Rule with wisdom.

Give our less fortunate fellow citizens the sense of warmth, please, make them feel they are not left behind and please bring back the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s community camaraderie spirit.

gemami
Oct 30, 2008 16:30

Observer #82

The problem with this govt is they believe they have all these qualities you mentioned. How to make them see that they don’t?

You tell them to be compassionate and they’ll say “sure, we are. We’ve buuilt this and that to care for the people . . .blah blah blah…..”.

You tell them to get in toch with the people and they’ll answer: “Sure we do. We have meet the people sessions …..blah.blah.blah”.

The PAP govt prides itself on being strong in the head; how to tell them that they need to listen as well?

Tell them to give our citizens the sense of warmth and they’ll tell you they are house in better conditions that their parents during the kampong days……how to get through to them?…….

Observer (SG-HK)
Oct 30, 2008 17:11

83) gemami

It is exactly that you had described. So like I have mentioned in previous comment, we concerned citizenry had to pull our resources together to help each other and hopefully that may influence the government to come to their senses and conscience. A tall task but we are civic minded people and I think if we all have that will and determination, I believe every small steps we take will make a difference.

I cannot deny the fact that as far as opening up to allow more discourse, it indeed is happening comparing tot he early days. That is on a good note. But as far as higher transparency and accountability, there are rooms for improvement fromt he governing party.

what I find I cannot accept or come to terms with is the lacking of compassion of some of the current leaders. The old guards are tough but at least they are compassionate people and they do really care. So, while we continue our citizenry effort to voice our concerns, I think we can do something on a good cause at citizenry level. Otherwise, like I have commented, everything will stand still or head towards an even downward spiral. We hope to act as contagion with goodwill, good cause with proaction. i certainloy do hope the governing party do not see these kind of efforts as “Radical Movement”.

The question is can we and will we?

gemami
Oct 30, 2008 20:26

85) Observer (SG-HK)

you’re absolutely right that civic-minded citizens have to step forward and take the lead. we have to help ourselves because by looking at things around us, there don’t seem to be any help at hand we can rely on.

the opposition are so quiet – probably overly depressed and not knowing what their next course of action ought to be.

we have TOC, but there must be someone in TOC that can stand up and lead these voices. Tan Kin Lian would make an excellent candidate but we cannot impose on him can we?

one thing TOC can do is to bring in some politicians to answer directly to some of the contents found here. go get LTK for his views. CSJ also. PAP parlimentarians are also welcomed. Then we can really have some serious top level discussions.

The pen is mightier than the sword.

impossible? we won’t know until we try.

patriot
Oct 31, 2008 0:40

Hi blade;

I am glad reading the many comments You contributed.

As for pickpocket incidents, a friend of mine went marketing last week at Blk 85 Bedok North in the morning and her purse was picked. When the incident was mentioned, the hawkers over there said that it happened frequently.

My, my, across the road from Blk 85 Market is Bedok Central(Divisional) Police Station. It is not the locations of the Market/Hawker Centre or Police Station that matter, it was the description that ‘pickpockets happened frequently’ that was disturbing.

Dear Donaldson;

I believe Confucius was also a pragmatist, thanks for your response.

patriot

Donaldson Tan
Oct 31, 2008 0:45

I believe Confucius was also a pragmatist, thanks for your response. – patriot (#87)

A caring pragmatist or a cold-hearted one?

patriot
Oct 31, 2008 0:51

A responsible one, Sir!

patriot

patriot
Oct 31, 2008 0:55

Donaldson;

Confucious was a RESPONSIBLE ONE.

Because he emphasied much on filial piety, honesty, propriety and other virtues.

patriot

Chiu Yi Ren
Oct 31, 2008 12:05

Hey guys, what say you about this saying:

You should not question and voice up because
you should be glad you have a roof over your head and a job (no guarantee) ?

Is life so simplistic?

gemami
Oct 31, 2008 12:30

91) Chiu Yi Ren

Life is more than just me.

I may have a roof over my head and a good job to go along with it but when I look over my shoulders and see my friends in dire need of help, would I just turn a blind eye, scoff at them and use them as examples to tell myself that I must be so smart that I am not like them and then give myself a big pat on my back, then walk away.

Good enough?

When they came
Oct 31, 2008 21:44

To #91) Chiu Yi Ren

“When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I was not a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.”

- Martin Niemoller

Who is the real communist?
Nov 1, 2008 8:19

Yes, the PAP is right. There was a “communist” threat to infiltrate into all organisations. Today who is the “communist” that has infiltrated and taken over the control of all organisations?

At least the alleged communists in those days were champions of the people. So, in order to counter those alleged communists, the PAP had no choice but to pretend to be for the people. Today, when the power is in their hands in total, the people have become mere insignificant digits to take the bad medicine dished out under the guise of a better future. What better future, when it is already so bad today. Can’t even solve today’s hardship, still want to talk about future? Always taking the people for a ride!

I Not Stupid.

Singlish
Nov 1, 2008 21:02

Several years ago, just after the General Election, a colleague of mine took a cab and struck a conversation with the cab driver. They touched on the topic of the general election. The cab driver was complaining about the government not taking care of the cab drivers, increasing diesel tax, etc. But when asked which political party he has nominated in the GE, he relied softly – PAP lor.

The above story is not new and I do believe that many of you have heard similar story too. This shows that many want to express their unhappiness with the way our current government/PAP is running the country and do want an opposition to be in parliament to be a watchdog. But when comes to action, many still choose the PAP because of fear and many other reasons (including some lame excuses). With such mentality, it will be very difficult to have strong opposition to be voted into parliament.

Singaporean mentality has to change and get out of our shell, rid our selfishness and work as united Singaporean for a better tomorrow so that we need not to work till hit the graves and leaving a big pile of debt for our next generation to settle.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 1, 2008 22:18

95) Singlish on November 1st, 2008 9.02 pm
But when comes to action, many still choose the PAP because of fear and many other reasons (including some lame excuses). With such mentality, it will be very difficult to have strong opposition to be voted into parliament.

I do not know if it is true when I hear on various sources that the ruling party will know if you vote for other alternaive parties during GE and they may come after you and make things difficult for you to do anything like businesses and other things that requires their approval. Unless this is true, then it is sad to know that the people chose to vote the party out of fear instead of voting for a party that really can take care of their well being in singapore.

patriot
Nov 1, 2008 23:25

Dear Readers;

let us supposed that the PAP Formed Government knows which party one voted for, what consequences can You imagine?

There were 30 over percent of votes that went to the Oppositions, that means hundreds of thousand had voted for Oppositions, of course majorities were the Hougang and Potong Pasir Constituencies. Any untoward happened to them?

One must not suffer from self-induced, imagined fear without reasoning. The Government is not out to punish indiscriminately. Voting means the voter is free to pick his choice of leaders, nothing more, nothing less. Or am I wrong?

patriot

gemami
Nov 3, 2008 20:33

97) patriot

You are absolutely right. We have to start believing in the power that we yield in our hands.

I think the biggest form of fear we are seeing here is the fear of uncertainty. I strongly believe there are many out there who want change but when they look around at the options available to them, they must feel they have no choice. Change becomes a dirty word not worth looking into. To have change is to be able to choose another quality alternative.

For this reason, our alternative parties must really take a good look at themselves in the mirror and ask if they are doing Singaporeans any favour by not taking the trouble to draw up their plans for a Singapore under alternative rule.

They have to tell us what are the policies they want to keep, which are the ones they want to relook into, which are the ones that they want to throw out and then what other new policies they want to introduce. There has to be a blueprint. never mind if it fails under the scrutiny of the PAP govt. I am sure the public would expect such an outcome anyway.

The important thing is to show Singaporeans that they can plan and that they have Singapore’s interest at heart. This is the option Singaporeans are looking out for and will surely support when quality choice is available. It’s been proven by CST. JBJ & LTK.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 3, 2008 21:31

98) gemami on November 3rd, 2008 8.33 pm 97) patriot

You are absolutely right. We have to start believing in the power that we yield in our hands.
Absolutely correct Gem, if the alternative parties just sit and do nothing, then this will ultimately allowing the ruling party to start punching them like sandbags and claiming all the things they can do for the people when the time comes. Doubting whether you can do the job well for the first time is already as bad as not being able to take up the position confidently, remember how many trial and error did the ruling party gone thru since they take over office all these years? The people needs now is a sincere party, a party that can really look into the eyes of the citizens and say ‘YES’ we can and we will do the right things for you. Look, singapore will still be progressing ahead with or without the present party, ask any sensible adults in the street and they will tell you the truth, the success of singapore is in the singaporeans themselves, and no one else can claim this except the citizens of singapore.

gemami
Nov 3, 2008 22:45

99) tiredsingaporean

We need to get some oppostion politicians onto this site.

For example, Low Thia Kiang can share with us what his plans are for the next GE and what we can hope from the WP and then allow us to give feedback and comments, it will not only allow us to know exactly what WP stands for but also allow us to help him shape his ideas.

We need to draw the PAP govt into discussions on this platform. I am sure the issues raised by the opposition on this platform will be taken up by the govt and then we can engaged them over here instead of Shitty Times and all those pro-PAP news tools. They cannot ignore comments made by opposition politicians. It is too fearful of losing votes especially when it is from a medium that they cannot control.

Yah, sure – the PAP stooges will jump in with their two cents worth of threats and what not but who will care what they say – this is blogosphere – where each Singaporean has a mind of his/her own.

I do understand that the opposition might need to keep their issues and strategies under wraps before the GE but then again is it necessary? So what if their positions are made known to all of Singapore?

It does not matter if the msm tear them apart. We can balance things out over here at TOC.

Singaporeans are also no longer that trusting on what they read and hear from the msm. We must continue to show Singaporeans that the msm is not credible and work only for the PAP govt. In fact, it goes even farther by working against the people.

Singaporeans can only stand to gain.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 3, 2008 23:03

Yes, I do hope to but then again I doubt any of the present alternative party members would want to participate nor do members of the ruling would dare to involve fearing of speaking the wrong things again. However, I think it would be better if there are anyone or organisations from outside sources to contribute (lets say members from any other countries who have the sympathy and understanding towards the people of singapore).

gemami
Nov 4, 2008 8:48

Maybe I am looking a little too far ahead and being overly optimistic in my vision for a Singapore that is free from the stanglehold of the current PAP govt. In order for this vision to materialise it has to move in stages.

1. this platform has to attract a regular audience
2. never mind if the audience is a non-participative one (visitors must want to re-visit again and again)
3. this audience has to continue to grow
4. it needs to be honest and speaks the voice of the people as spoken by the people.
5. it has to provide an unbias conclusion to all issues
6. it has to provide unbias alternative solutions
7. it has to engage both the govt and alternatives alike
8. it has to be inclusive – accepting views from all quarters
9. it has to be fair by allowing all views to be shared, regardless…

As for your doubt that both govt and alternative parties may not want to engage themselves here; well, we can always force the hand can’t we? One thing is for sure, should the voice at TOC gets louder and louder, any of the politcal parties ignoring it will be doing harm to themselves, won’t it?

How can we force their hands?

Very simple. Go to the parties’ websites and bring over some of their articles to TOC for scrutiny & discussion. These are ready-made and we can then get a real picture of how Singaporeans feel towards those comments.

We will be freeing up the hearts and minds and souls of Singaporeans by giving them the opportunity to write their own comments; their own news; so to speak. Then we’ll have a discourse that delves deeper into these remarks and comments with the purpose of coming up with alternative solutions.

So, whether you are in the govt camp or the opposition camp, all issues will have to withstand the closer scrutiny of Singaporeans. This is for the benefit of a better Singapore – a democratic Singapore where each Singaporean has a role to play.

Singlish
Nov 4, 2008 17:20

I would certainly hope that Singaporean living overseas can speak out for the country sake.

From statistics, we know that many Singaporean living overseas still hold Singapore passport, not giving up Singapore citizenship, but do not like to stay in Singapore because of the “Freedom” we are having here, the political enviroment, ever escalating living cost but not match in the personal earning, the widening of income gap and paying a big sum for a property that you can’t really call your own (99 years lease).

Our fellow overseas Singaporean certainly have a sense of belonging to the country, Singapore. Otherwise, they would have taken up citizenship of their residing country and given up the Singapore citizenship. Thus this proof that the country Singapore is still their home. But they look to have the environment to be changed.

Living overseas definitely have their own set of problems. Some countries have high tax, but compensated by government subsidies, higher salary and cheaper housing.

Security may not be as good as Singapore, but there is a great sense of freedom and openess in expression.

From these you can tell that they are able to cope with some short coming of that country and able to enjoy the freedom that the country can offer to their lives.

Human being want to live a meaningful and enjoyable life. No one would want to be living a stressful life, worrying if they can continue to pay their bills, or afraid in saying the wrong thing and get sued or put behind bars. Getting fine for doing this and doing that. Having to work till you die just to have a roof over your head. Is this what life is all about – working and paying tax?

Hope that a capable opposition can transform Singapore into a country where citizens are people of the country and not workers of the economy.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook