Gerald Giam / Senior Writer

I happened to sit next to an older relative at a wedding dinner recently, when our conversation turned to politics.

My relative wondered why I had not followed my parents to Australia, and mused that he was considering moving there too. When I asked why, he cited the fear of political instability in Singapore.

That remark surprised me since Singapore is seen by many to be one of the most politically stable countries in Asia. We have had no change of government – violent or otherwise – since 1959.

When probed further, my uncle said he feared the opposition taking over in a freak election. I assured him that given the current state of the opposition, the PAP government will not be under any threat of losing an election within his lifetime. More importantly, I told him I trust Singapore voters to be wise enough not to vote a lousy party into power.

He countered by pointing out that even when the opposition had fielded “criminals” and slipper-wearing candidates, they were still able to garner 20 to 30% of the vote.

I explained, from my limited knowledge of electoral sociology, that in every election, there will be at least 20% of voters who are hardcore oppositionists and will vote for anyone who ran against the ruling party candidate. In Sembawang GRC where I live, 23% still voted for the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) team sans party chief Chee Soon Juan, even though it was running against a relatively strong PAP team helmed by the likable and Chinese-speaking Health Minister, Khaw Boon Wan. That was the largest margin of victory for the PAP in that election.

However the gulf between 23% and 50% — the latter being the percentage necessary to win a seat outright — is huge. Even in the most closely contested constituency of Aljunied GRC in the 2006 General Election, the PAP’s 55% win against the Workers’ Party would be considered a landslide in most other democracies. Consider the UK’s Labour Party, which won the 2005 election with just 35% of the popular vote. Put in this perspective, the PAP’s 66.6% overall percentage in 2006 was a blowout victory.

My uncle admires the PAP for what they have achieved, not just for Singapore, but for him personally. Growing up in a one-room flat, and now living in a private apartment, he has seen a dramatic improvement in his standard of living over the past 40 years. He reserved stinging criticism for some of his peers who “live in bungalows” and are still so ungrateful as to grumble about the government.

I cautioned him that past performance is no guarantee of future success, as investors always say. Just because the PAP has governed well in the past, does not mean that it will continue to do so for eternity. My uncle agreed that no country has had a particular party govern forever.

In the short term however, he was supremely confident that the PAP’s recruitment process will ensure that only top-notch candidates are presented in each election. In contrast, he said, the opposition was happy to take anyone who had a degree and was willing to pay the election deposit, even if they had no “track record”.

“What is your definition of a track record?” I asked him. Many of the new PAP MPs don’t exactly have a very long resume either. Nevertheless, he was sure that with the many interviews they had undergone with party leaders, coupled with the background checks, PAP candidates would definitely meet the necessary criteria for political leadership.

I asked him if he would consider voting for a non-PAP candidate if he or she were more “qualified” than the PAP candidate.

After initially saying he would, he later reasoned that it would be impossible for an opposition candidate to be as qualified as his PAP opponent. Firstly, the PAP’s recruitment process would throw up only the best men in the country. Secondly, anyone worth their salt, who genuinely desired to serve the people and make Singapore a better place would join the PAP instead of the opposition.

He was of the view that a capable person would be “out of his mind” to join the opposition, and that people who joined the opposition did so only out of self-interest or ulterior motives. Why else would someone want to oppose such an “excellent” government? Apparently, joining the opposition in and of itself indicated a character flaw.

He dismissed the possibility that some principled individuals joined the opposition because they could not see themselves joining the PAP due to fundamental disagreements with the latter’s style of governance. He also did not see the price many opposition members paid for their political beliefs as worthy of much respect.

Our heated discussion went on and on. In the end it was time to go home and we had to agree to disagree.

What the opposition fails to see

While I was slightly dismayed to hear these words from an educated senior citizen like my uncle, I have no doubt that he represents a significant constituency of citizens who have a “rags-to-riches” story to tell.

His point of view is particularly instructive for our opposition.

From my past conversations with many opposition members, I get the sense that many of them joined because they felt a need to “check” the ruling party — nothing else. And many of them think that just because they are not the PAP, and they shake a few hands and show up on Nomination Day, voters will choose them over their rivals.

This is a recipe for defeat — again and again, election after election.

What they fail to see is that the “swing” voters (i.e., those who may vote either way on Polling Day and who effectively decide the outcome of an election) are largely voting for a party to form the Government, not individuals who merely snap at the heels of the PAP behemoth.

Therefore, to win their vote, the opposition parties have to prove to these voters that they are competent and honest enough to lead the whole country, not just their ward, and will not end up flushing half a century of progress down the drain.

The opposition has two crutches that it always falls back on: One, that the unlevel political playing field created by the PAP makes it impossible to mount any significant challenge to it; and two, that good people do not step forward to join their parties.

These are both true to a great extent, but it should not stop the opposition parties from improving themselves internally, so as to present a more professional face to the voting public.

People want to hear different, and better ideas from the opposition on how to run the country, not just gripes about every little fault of the PAP.

It is not unusual that many Singaporeans hold the opposition to a higher standard than they do for the ruling party. After all, the opposition has no track record of successfully running a nation, and therefore has to prove they are twice as good as their PAP opponents before they will earn the vote.

It is my hope that our opposition will shift to a higher gear soon, and that more good men and women will join them. The next election is due by November 2011. With the economy heading south, it is likely that the Prime Minister will call for an election much earlier than that (since a poor economy generally favours the PAP over the opposition).

Time is running out, and the people’s hopes are slowly getting dashed. Can the opposition turn things around and dispel people’s fear of their success?

———–

239 Responses to “The fear of the opposition”

1. Donaldson Tan 5 November 2008

Dear Donaldson Tan, Could You kindly give me your expert opinions and understandings with regards the reactions we received and may I also request that You do me a kind personal favour of telling me your personal understandings(from reading my posts here) of what I have commented here. – Patriot (#185)

Huh? I am no expert. Just someone who got the balls to do what I deem right. There are many others at TOC who also have the balls to do what they deem right. Gerald Giam (remember the TOC Public Transport Week?) and Tan Kin Lian (remember the MAS/DBS/Lehman Saga?).

If anyone here like this discussion to become an offline activity, I don’t see any problem with it. Offline discussion in Singapore on such matters usually take place as Coffeeshop Talk or Taxi Driver Chat. Does being associated to the coffeeshop or the taxi make them less relevant? It actually doesn’t. In fact, the cofffeeshop and taxi are actually powerful platform to spread messages and ideas to people offline because almost everybody engages these 2 platforms for routine purposes.

It has to be a platform for Singaporeans to write their own news. Just imagine if Singaporeans are to tune in to TOC during election time. It will not only give the msm a run for their money but more importantly it can bring across the opposition’s cause and election messages effecively. – gemami (#189)

GE reporting and analysis is illegal during election. If the government intends to open up politically, it is essential for a plethora of independent and partisan voices engaging in political reporting and analysis of the General Election. It doesn’t help when we have a state-controlled press which is in tune with PAP’s conservative pragmatism. Ideology is one of the essential filter in using mainstream media for propaganda. However, this does not ban discussion and analysis of GE in coffeeshops. Given Singapore is so small, why should one resident of a GRC should not know what the MP candidate is saying at another GRC or SRC? Both the PAP and Opposition in Singapore are horrible at communicating policies and master plans to citizens.

Personally, although many people dislike chee, i feel that he is actually a great leader and a true example of bravery. Chee if im not mistaken is a neuro surgeon or something like that. This clearly shows that he was wealthy and was actually part of the elite. but he decided to break free and help us, and look what happened to him. – JBA (#196)

Dr Chee actually holds a neuropsychology. In fact, his masters and PhD were sponsored by his university. He is actually a scholar-turned-politician by any yardstick of measure in Singapore.

It seems that the Question has been misunderstood for a call for gathering of all netizens for collective actions supposedly on or for a political motive. I reread my comments here a few times and am certain that they have no such connotations. – Patriot (#197)

Why worry if the connotations are political or not. Politics is not a dirty word. To push for changes at the policy level, political participation is inevitable. The more suitable term here would be partisan. You can be political and not partisan. But if you are partisan, you are definitely political too. In the end, one has to take side in the regime of political parties if you were to really push hard for policy making. What we need in Singapore is a renewed sector of activists and lobbyists to champion causes in Singapore and not leave everything to PAP’s hands.

2. Gilbert, thats where the problem lies, the media is controlled, and the authorities, not much can be said about them. But maybe, just maybe, we can get through to them on ideas of family and environment as you said. Other things that actually affects our lives badly, like politics, or the current situation of the foreigners, they will never listen to us. How do you intend to solve on that? I can only think of one solution. One that many people in other countries turned to , to overcome their oppressors.

3. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 5 November 2008

To: JBA

If we dont try we never know. TOC I think is already doing something along this line – getting people to come here and blog away their political thoughts and frustrations.

It is tough getting people to share their ideas and thoughts openly and I guess as our dear Patriot has experienced, there are not many that will even come out and meet or bravely bring our dissatisfaction to the authorities. This is the problem with Singapore and it has to change for changes to happen to us.

So long as Singapore prefers to silently let the govt does what they want, we will continue to be unhappy and unsatisfied. During down time, such frustation is magnified and that is why we have the minibond protest at HLP and the Poly protest about transport cost.

4. Ah yes GIlbert, were the protests successful? I was not keeping up with it. The reason why older generation people do not want to stand protest is because of fear. If Im not mistaken, there was a protest in 1998 about the rising cost of HDB flats, and four middle-aged plump people, 2 women and 2 men, in their mid-40s who held pickets and shouted we refuse to pay, or something like that. Do you know how the government responded? They sent in 60 police officers, and 32 “123X” riot police officers to “supress” the protesters. 92 police officers for 4 protesters? Don’t you feel that someone is abit too uptight. Well, on another note, I wholeheartedly agree with you that we may never know unless we try. But this is unlike other countries. Here, we actually know what will happen to us if we do such a thing. Im sure you don’t want to spend the next ten years seeing your kids grow up through a glass pane? As for me, I’ve still got my whole life ahead of me. Trust me when i say this, if it changes this country, i will not mind sacrificing my life. I love my country, its just that the elitist scum are making it a living hell for us.
    The only solution is that all the people must unite. They can take 100 people, but can they take 100000 people? That day will come, my dear friends. It is the day when the vengeance of the common man is realised. It may be tomorrow, or the week later, or even the year later, but i assure you it will come. It will not be spurred by one man, but it will the cause of the culmulative actions that are now currently adding up. It has already begun, and its just a matter of time before it starts.

5. tiredsingaporean 5 November 2008

205) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah on November 5th, 2008 6.56 pm
    So long as Singapore prefers to silently let the govt does what they want, we will continue to be unhappy and unsatisfied. During down time, such frustation is magnified and that is why we have the minibond protest at HLP and the Poly protest about transport cost.

I can sense that singaporeans are no longer keeping silent after strings of blunders with too many questions raised and not getting the answers from those held responsible, and to make matter worst, instead of addressing the issues from those responsible, they create more frustrations to the people. All I can say that there will be more blunders to come, more tensions and more people getting more aggressions.

6. So tiredsingaporean, do you feel that actually a R*** may occur here in singapore, and do you agree with my previous post, at least to a minimal extent?

7. tiredsingaporean 5 November 2008

I do not think so, but it all depends as we can feel that aggressions are already taking place and building up, whether the responsible people wants to start doing the right things and prefer to stay on with their arroganic nature makes alot of difference to what is going to take shape in the mind of the people and keeping silent by assuming the problems can be resolve by themselves is never a good option to take, especially when people become united into one big mass, and that could make history here.

8. Donaldson Tan 6 November 2008

It is tough getting people to share their ideas and thoughts openly and I guess as our dear Patriot has experienced, there are not many that will even come out and meet or bravely bring our dissatisfaction to the authorities. This is the problem with Singapore and it has to change for changes to happen to us. – Gilbert Goh (#205)

To solve these problems, we do not necessary have to take up the confrontational route. As long as people complained to the government, it shows that the people are still reliant on the government, giving the government and ruling party an upper hand in managing dissent right from the start. The goal is how to make the government redundant? How to make citizens less reliant on the government and the ruling party? This is where civil society comes in. We can exert pressure collectively and help each other to make changes because we hold a lot of market power when we, the people, become one collective body.

there was a protest in 1998 about the rising cost of HDB flats, and four middle-aged plump people, 2 women and 2 men, in their mid-40s who held pickets and shouted we refuse to pay, or something like that. Do you know how the government responded? They sent in 60 police officers, and 32 “123X” riot police officers to “supress” the protesters. 92 police officers for 4 protesters? Don’t you feel that someone is abit too uptight. – JBA (#206)

Scaremongering no doubt. HDB refused to tackle the root of the problem or admit that HDB are getting too expensive. But the thing is this. People do have choice. If it is too expensive, stop buying. Tell your friends and relatives to stop buying HDB flats. Rent if you need a place, but if you can’t afford to buy a HDB flat, never buy and add so much debt on yourself. Adding so much debt on yourself is already ridiculous.

9. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 6 November 2008

Thanks JBA, TiredSingaporean and Donaldson for your comments here.

YA I realised that Singaporeans are frustrated but no where to turn to. Some, like me, wrote to the press hoping that they can get the authorities’ attention and things may change for the better. Many others blog away their frustration. We may have the highest number of bloggers who do this in our country!

I believe a new dawn has arrived on our shore with the minibond and Poly protest. Strangely, there is no official word from the authorities on these two protests yet. JBA, like ,e, belonged to the era of the yesteryears whereby we witnessed serious extreme clampdown on open protests against any governmental issue. the ISA is still very much alive in our country. Just recently, some WP members were arrested when they protested in the Tak Boleh Tahan saga outside Parliament. Their court cases are still ongoing.

So why are the minibond and Poly protests got away scot free whereas the opposition political party’s protesters got arrested? I believe that the former protests were done on a large scale and they are not politically associated. As the protests are carried out by the WP members related – an opposition party, the authorities may be stricter on their activities which are seen as partisan. I dont know, I am merely guessing here but it looks quite clear here. The association with any opposition party’s activities may be seen as threatening to the survival of the ruling party.

I think if we bring our protests logically and within reason, the authorities may maintain their quiet composure here. Nevertheless, if they go out of hand and there is violence or some injury, then I believe the authorities will come in and stop them.

If we don’t test the waters, they will always become unchartered but we do it within the law and peacefully. Singapore needs to change and that applies not only to the govt. We are too bochap and disinterested in how our country is governed and that may not be a good thing as the country belongs to everyone not just the ruling party. Politics is for everyone that holds the pink IC as it concerns our vision, aspiration and hope. It is also not doing anything that is anti-govt which may be wrong. It is providing an alternative voice to the govt and letting them know about our needs and frustrations. If the govt sees that we are serious, logical and rational in our activities, they will not do much to clamp down but instead may welcome this new dawn opening. TOC has done such a good job already and I applaud them even though I am overseas in Sydney now.

10. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 6 November 2008

Hi i have mixed up the opposition political party name to the Tak Boleh Tahan case. They are from the SDP and not WP as mentioned. My apologies.

11. Donaldson Tan 6 November 2008

I believe a new dawn has arrived on our shore with the minibond and Poly protest. Strangely, there is no official word from the authorities on these two protests yet. – Gilbert Goh (#211)

So why are the minibond and Poly protests got away scot free whereas the opposition political party’s protesters got arrested? I believe that the former protests were done on a large scale and they are not politically associated. – Gilbert Goh (#211)

Protest has been legalised since 1 September 2008. But it is only allowed to take place at Speaker’s Corner.

12. Donaldson Tan 6 November 2008

The protests associated with the alternative political parties were conducted before 1 September 2008. I hardly agree their protests were illegal on grounds of their political allegiance. Nevertheless, all this shows that alternative political parties had the foresight to see an avenue for air public grievance and dissent is much needed to affect change in policy-making.

13. Perhaps, in time to come, more people will be more daring to stage a protest on more unreasonable and illogical policies of the government ( Singtel hike, Electricity hike) Anyways, is it true that Hong Kong’s government lowered its electricity cost for the people, while ours is increasing our bills like mad?

14. I am sadden that patriot has left us for unknown reasons. I will miss his contributions which I have always treasured. Hopefully, should he decide to peep in again one of these days, he would return and share his comments and ideas with us once again.

The trouble with this govt is its intolerance with opposing views. It becomes unbearable for them if the views comes from any of the opposition parties. This is further worsened if the opposing views make more sense than their own.

They have this silent belief that because they have the ‘best’ brains in the land then they must have all the correct answers.

I think it is along this line that we often see ‘dissidents’ who are politically registered always get arrested, sued and destroyed in the harshest manner.

Socio-political blogs and non-partisan groups speaking up for issues on behalf of the citizens get more freedom to express their views.

This is why it is important for us to make use of this platform to challenge the govt to act. This is one of the reason why I have always maintained that online platforms would be a better tool to achieve this end – to wake up and educate all Singaporeans.

I agree with Donaldson (by the way, appreciate your level-headed analysis of the situation) that coffeshop and taxi talk are just as important but the point I was trying to make was that online discussions might just be more effective and faster. Two components that is required to ‘save’ Singapore from the uncaring PAP govt. in the shortest possible time.

15. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 6 November 2008

Yes It is sad that Patriot left us and I don’t know why he did that.

Is it because of what we said or someone offended him? He is one of those that advocated for a face to face meeting which is good and I can see that he has a good heart.

I know bloggers also have emotions as we are all human. Sometimes how people responded to us is also important as some may felt hurt by certain rude remarks. Nobody knows everything here and we all learn from one another or else we end up like a blog for the elitists.

The way some bloggers write sometimes make me hesistant to put down my comments as most of you can write so well and come up with such good ideas. Half the time I have to check the dictionary for certain words that I don’t understand from some of your bloggings.

Nevertheless I learned much from you and will continue to pen away my heart-felt comments. If I have offend anyone do forgive me.

And if Patriot reads my comment here, I want to let you know that we cherish you and that your comments here are much appreciated. Do return to us!

16. tiredsingaporean 6 November 2008

215) JBA on November 6th, 2008 11.40 am Perhaps, in time to come, more people will be more daring to stage a protest on more unreasonable and illogical policies of the government ( Singtel hike, Electricity hike) Anyways, is it true that Hong Kong’s government lowered its electricity cost for the people, while ours is increasing our bills like mad?

I am wondering isn’t PROFITEERING is an illegal thing in singapore?

17. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 6 November 2008

To JBA.

I think those in the post-65 age group will have problem with protesting against the govt policies openly. Some may even have problem going to the legal place at HLP to protest as the climate of fear is built inside us since young.

When you protest in Singapore means you will be dealth with by the law. So many people has this fear that will not go away as we are all law-abiding citizens with family members to think of.

The young I think has a better grasp of the situation here due to their exposure either abroad or through the internet. Moreover, fortunately our PM has opened up the political space for dissent but abeit legally only at HLP. Anywhere else is considered illegal assembly.

The test case of the Poly open protest at Bugis Junction this weekend is an interesting one and I think the authorities will let them go if there is not too much public complaint from bystanders.

People all over the world will have something to say against the govt and they can’t be pleasing anyone out there. Certain policy pleases that someone may irk others. So there will always be dissent and hopefully the govt is able to contain it well.

I am sure Singapore will open up and I see a new dawn rising on our land abeit slowly.

We can’t fill old wine into new skin and need to constantly renew oursevles even politically. The ruling party may have rule the land with a majority but there is at least 35% (1/2) of our population that is unhappy with the govt.

When Obama won the recent election with 55% votes, it is consider a landslide victory.

So we must give credit to our govt that there are still alot of people who like the ruling party – its philosophy and agenda. It has brought forth much prosperity to the country and is to be appreciated for its good track record.

18. Gilbert, i feel that there is a possibility that maybe the people who are “maybe” may not be as they say. Its like what you said, Fear. Fear that the gov. will find them if they condemn them. Correct me if im wrong in saying so.

19. tiredsingaporean 7 November 2008

It is a very sad thing to see alot of our fellow citizens being helplessly trapped into this tiny red dot we called singapore by our world class ruling party with their self approving $$$million salaries, who keeps repeatedly forcing on more and more unjustifiable taxes upon its own citizens even when we are already entering into a bad reccession period. I am wondering when will all these coming to a stop, how much more $$$billions is really enough for them to continue torturing its own people? when are they going to feel when enough means really enough for them and how long more are we folks going to endure all these suffering?
    How do you expect us citizens of singapore to continue supporting you when you rather squander off billions of dollars of our taxpayers hard earned monies away instead of helping your own people during this reccession time. Many are already cutting down and tigtening our belts worrying if we are able to survive through each passing month with increasing no. of households struggling to pay up their basic utilities bills and yet you further thrashed them by imposing even higher price hikes, where you want us to go? what you want us to eat? we are not criminals, we are the people who voted you in to take care of our welfare and livelihood, do you have hearts or are you just people gone so absurdly obsessed with money and power that you want to rule the world? You may have your entire army and police force under your control but please don’t forget every single one of these enforcers also do have parents like us folks who are being made victims by your extreme profit driven policies, how do they feel and what will they be thinking on their mind? to protect the nation? or to protect the citizens.

20. Beautifully said. There is nothing more sweeter than that ( other than putting them all in the streets and see get the firing squad, that is. )

21. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 7 November 2008

To: tiredsingapore and JBA

YA I can feel your frustration right from here. We can learn a lesson or two from the recent US election. The public was frustrated at the Bush govt which did not do much to make things better for the Americans especially economically. They were deep in debt and the financial crisis precipitated the swift downfall of the Republicans. The worse thing is they lost to a brand new black senate American. Talking about the worse case scenario!

Singapore is facing the same situation back home. If we don’t take our protests to the polls, the ruling party will not relent. Some of them may even mock at us saying that we are “all talk no action”.

The polls is the best form of protest as it hurts where the heart is. It is a solid form of democratic defiance indicating that we are unhappy about how things have being.

Our ruling party has won too many elections handsomely and has turned arrogant and cocky. They are unable to comprehend the aspirations and frustrations of the common people having live in big houses and drive big cars themselves. They have gone for corporate governance without really feeling how the ground is. I can see there will be alot of swing votes in te 2011 election with quite alot of youth voters.

The oppositon parties have being really very quiet during this period and it does not endear them to the public. Surprisingly, non-partisan groups like TOC has risen up and caught the attention of the public who is looking for ward to a group or leader not from the govt body to point them the way.

Maybe they have lost so many elections that they may have resign themselves to not doing much at all. Their silence in this current financial crisis is deafeningly quiet.

Except for Khaw and Tharma, I cant see the rest of our ministers coming out to touch base with the ground. MP Lee who met a few times with the Serangoon Garden workers’ quarter saga also should be appreciated for her efforts to do something for the people. Our MPs are hardly public figures and besides attending to PArliament sittings and weekly Meet-The-People sessions, they are pretty much behind the scenes.

If we don’t take our protests to the polls, I am afriad we will live be governed pretty much the same way as before. As no matter what happened, there will be that majority who will vote for the ruling party. A swing vote of at least 5-10% needs to happen before any GRC can fall. Once that happens, something revolutionary may have happen in our land – not unlike that of the recent US election.

22. 223) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah

I can see clearly that you’ve written the ‘hope’ in your heart in these pages. Many of us share the same hope.

However, hope alone is not enough to bring about a change in the political scenery. Hope can give you the drive to fight on, it can give you the strength to struggle on, it gives you the energy to plod on and most of all it gives you the believe that things can change. This is a much as it can do.

We need to do more than just ‘hope’. We need to breathe life into this ‘hope’. We need action. We need a course of action. We need a plan. We need a game plan. We need everyone who share the same sentiments to contribute their ideas, their plans, their solutions and whatever.

It does not matter if you present them as a joke, as a rebuttal, as an academic as a layman, rich or poor, tall or short, young or old, Chinese, Malay, Indian, Eurasion, these all do not matter. What matters is we are Singaporeans and we have the capacity to think, to plan, to decide what’s best for us.

We need to decide and decide soon enough. We have no time to waste.

We need change – and- CHANGE WILL COME! …. if we turn hope to reality.

23. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 7 November 2008

Gemami:

Thanks for your affirmation. I feel hopeful now with great sites like TOC and brave souls like yourself who will fight for democracy and freedom.

It takes alot of guts for people to reveal themselves here and this must be appreciated. We are not like US or Europe whereby you can criticize the govt anyhow. So credit must be given to those who continue their fight here.

At least, I found a place where I belonged:)

Thanks alot TOC and Gemami.

24. Yup, it takes raw guts to dare oppose the god-king and his oyal subjects!

25. redbean 9 November 2008

this is quite a long thread and i must confess that i did not read into every one of them. just to comment on the remarks of what is or who is a politician or wannabe politician or who makes a good politician. a politician is, or may not be, a politician especially in our peculiar context. many are just invited to be politicians and join the bandwagon and acted as if they are true blue politicians. some even claimed or acted as if they have contributed to what this country is today. the people are indebted to them.

the other point about politician, or how politicians came about in other countries, is that they are just like entrepreneurs. they are the few little businessmen that have become successful while many faded into oblivion. they went through a long process before being accepted as leaders of their countries. as contrast to our present day politicians, many are instant trees/politicians, with instant success. one day a soldier or a doctor or a lawyer, the next day full fledged politicians, tested and done battle in the arena of a general election.

actually many of you here or anywhere else have the makings of a good politician, if your heart is in the right place. there must be genuine passion to want to do something for the people and nation. too much talent in making money is not a good attribute in a politician.

try a little caring and compassion. have a heart. these are simple ingredients of what is a good politician. of course there are professional politicians who thrive in being a politicians as a life long occupation.

now, did i digress from the interesting discussions you people are into?

26. 227) redbean

We have heard of Singapore Inc where Singapore is run like a big corporation.

In politics, the equivalent of SG Inc is PAP Inc. As you’ve rightly observed, anyone who falls outside of this invite to join PAP Inc is not considered a ‘politician’. He is considered a pain in the butt.

For the same reason, all of us here; whom you have also correctly mentioned, would make good politicians but are considered pains in the butts because we too do not get invited to join the PAP White Inc.

Because of the exclusive membership, there are young academics who aspire for a life on the fast track to easy and assured riches who would do all they can to ensure that they are noticed and then get invited into this circle of exclusive membership.

Do you think these sort of people with these sort of ambitions would have the heart or the ability to speak for the people and represent them? Representing the people and speaking up for them will stall their personal advancement and might even end their dream of becoming ministers and thereafter to becoming chairman of big private corporations where the real money will flow in like water.

Look at the PAP MPs and you will notice that not one has prioritized the Singaporean’s interest over policies that make life difficult for the ordinary Singaporean.

To continue to be an exclusive member of this exclusive club and to continue to enjoy the obsene benefits that come with it, the member has to ensure that PAP Inc comes first before everything else. This is a sure road to riches.

It msut be the only place on earth where politics earns you more than you could as a businessman. Politics in Singapore is business. PAP Inc.

27. Well if you would want to know on how singapore is run, why don’t you go wiki about elitism and communism? And make sure to fill in the spots where instead of one tyrant, got many tyrants and two big tyrants. And for the communist part, people are suffering like in many other communist countries last time. ( USSR, Eastern Bloc Etc.)

28. theonlinecitizen 9 November 2008

Hi guys…

Interesting that this discussion has gone on for so long. There’re like 226 comments to this article now, most of which are excellently civil. Thanks to everyone for making it so…

Perhaps someone should compile all the comments into a little booklet and sell it at Speakers’ Corner or something – and give free copies to the opposition parties…:)

Carry on, please…

No point. WP See no evil, talk on evil, hear no evil. Maybe in hibernation.

SDP, too busy getting themselves arrested or sued. Wonder what will they do if AG and PAP ignore them.

Reform Party — vehicle for JBJ. Now shell co.

Chiam’s party — vehicle for him.

30. 231) A Tan

I wholly disagree with your comments. It sounds very ‘defeatist’.

I say this because if you are to look at ‘opposition’ in the context of a political party, then, yes, most of the opposition parties are in hibernation mode at the moment. Then, it becomes “no point”.

However, if you are to look at the ‘opposition’ as a collective voice of the people, being able to come together at one gathering point to make this voice loud enough, then, it can be more effective than you’ve otherwise made it out to be.

I believe this is the recommendation made by TOC in post #230

31. When we back the opposition, i mean not one or two, but thousands, they will be the vengeance of the common man thrusted upon the elites of this country.Only then can we achieve true democracy. Right now we do not need separate opposition. They need to be unified and come as one whole opposition and spearhead our path to freedom.

32. Hi all;

when the Finance Minister talk about money, it is to be expected and in fact it is his duty to talk about the National Economic Health. When the MM(Uniquely only in SIN), SM(another Unique one in SIN) and PM also talk about money, we will still think okay, these people have very little else to interest them(selves). But, when You find your Health, Transport, Manpower, Sports and Social, Labour

33. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 10 November 2008

I still find that there are some good politicians out there though they are in the minority. Too many of our MPs keep to themselves for their own good and didnt try to make an impact when they are serving their term. This is a pity as they are selected to be MPs to make a difference in the people’s life. Sad to say, maybe their partisan affiliation has deterred them from doing much for their constituency and country besides the weekly Meet-The-people sessions.

Politicians like Tharma, Khaw, George did a good job in their respective ministries and should be appreciated. MPs like Mdm Yacob, Lee Siew Wah, Charles Chong and some others stood out from the rest during Parliament and asked some pointed questions. Charles also led the infamous white elephant protest so that the MRT station is opened.

Singaporean politics and governance suffered from a group-think mentality and is seriously flawed from improving the lives of our people. One can see that most of our politicians are technocrats and work more for nationalistic interest ie. they care more for the welfare of the country rather than the people. They want to see Singapore prospers, make it’s mark on the world map and gain the respect of the developed countries. They want to see our GDP grows, that we boast of a cosmopolitan work force and we are seen welcoming to foreigners (talent). Most of the government’s agenda irks the population as we hold different views from the govt. on what is best for us Never have I see how detached the governance is until these past few years. The recent steep tariff increase despite reporting sky-high profits, privatisation of public utilities at the expense of increase in costs pass down to the public and unfair political tactics have all but drive the most loyal PAP supporters away.

Perhaps we have given them the mandate to rule us election after election when we were knocked left right and center. They have became complacent and govern from the “I know best” attitude.

I am afriad that our best option for change is still at the polls – like the Americans. Change is at hand if we use our votes intelligently and bravely.

Lastly, don’t ask what the country can do for you but what can you do for the country?

34. Hi all;

when our Finance Minister talks about money, we expect him to, as it is his duty to deal with the National Economic Health. When the MM and SM(Posts Uniquely SIN) talk about money, we kind of accept it because they do not seem to have any specific duties and money maybe the most valued item to them. If the PM is also talking about money more than other issues, than I suspect something is wrong somewhere.

AND when Tranport, National Development, Sports and Social Development, Health, Education, Labour Ministers and other Parliamentarians all talk about money and much less other national affairs they make me feel wary and weary.

Met up with Redbean of My Singapore News, whom I got acquainted through his Blogs, for a fews hours. Soon after our self introductions, he sang praises for our leaders. I asked him why he was so respectful and he replied that the Old Guards have made Singapore into the present prosperous state that it is now.

As he is a financial sector professional, I expected him to talk about money just liked much of the contents in his Blogs. BUT, he was different in one aspect, he emphasized ethics in ‘money-makings’.

I would like to pen here that even if national prosperity is ethically achieved, but, at the expense of other social endeavours, it will still fall short of holistic and wholesome developments. Unless ethical financial gains naturally lead to all other wholesome attributes, putting all efforts to economic progresses alone is taking a tree mistakenly for a forest, very much like saying because of one capable man, the whole country progressed because of him.

A humane and happy society is likely able to motivate its’ people to do all their best for the developments and protection of their country. Making a country rich without the wealth evenly or fairly distributed, worse, suspected to have being misused, misinvested and remunerated unjustly only make the people sad and angry.

The few hours were too short for the Two of us to discuss much, we talked briefly about Western and Oriental Cultures, a little about the History of Singapore after Straits Settlement and about bloggers and netizens etc. I told redbean that I was looking forward to have the company of Zefly, however, I did not have his contact.

I like to hereby assure Gilbert and all others that none has offended me nor am I offended by any comments. However, I was scared off, not by Authority of any kind, but complements that were too ‘glorious’ for me, here in this Thread. Over the time that I was in Blogoland, I had revealed that I am lower secondary educated, very much a menial worker that job hopped frequently and presently laid off myself from work due to burn-out and is entering the twilight zone.

Cyberspace is the School where I get free education now and my contributions of comments and views are to those that I feel deserve the accolades, supports and sometimes criticisms, which I do hope were(are) justified and fair.

May come in for a peep once a while and say hello when inspired and or aroused.

patriot

35. Gilbert Goh Keow Wah 10 November 2008

Hi Patriot

Nice to see you around again. We all learn from one another and hopefully we are better off together than alone.

Cheers.

36. Welcome back, patriot.
    It wonderful to hear from you again and to know that your disappearance has nothing to do with the comments posted – well- it might have scared you off for a while but hey, when the things you say make sense, then compliments are to be expected. Likewise, if the things you say are rubbish, then expect the worst.

I am very heartened to hear that you’ve managed to meet up with others at TOC and I hope you can continue to do so because, contrary to what I have been championing ie. online discussions, I have come to realise that there is also a need for some to meet up face to face.

What changed my stand was an article I came across recently relating how the govt intends to reach out to the citizens. This was a yr2006 plan and Amy Khor described it thus:

“….the agency is mindful that diffferent segments and demographic profile of the population are comfortable with different communication channels. Hence, the focus is not limited to online or media but a range of methods covering conventional face-to-face dialogues to SMS, web chats, discussion forums, blogs, and an interactive exhibition ………..”

Listening to this ade me realised that there is a need to reach out to the masses in the same manner that the govt has adopted. We have to compete and we do have the advantage because I believe the public has ears for news of a different kind. We have to bring this alternative to them in whatever way possible.

So you see, Patriot, your worldly-wise education has brought about an intellectual solution to a simple problem.

It proves that when one has a heart, one can see solutions in manifolds.

37. Great to hear. Good luck with your thesis, and please keep me informed of your progress.