Selene Cheng / Writer

The Gurkha contingent has been ever present in Singapore’s landscape. Seen in Singapore especially since the early post-independence days, Singapore has relied on them for maximum security, especially when racial issues are concerned. Gurkhas were used to restore calm in Singapore society during the Maria Hertogh riots between the European and Malay communities, and the 1964 bloody riots between the Malay and Chinese communities that started on Prophet Muhammad’s birthday.

As a neutral, elite force known for “total discipline and loyalty”, Gurkhas today are deployed to protect important dignitaries and sensitive areas such as the Istana. Given their important role in making Singapore safe and secure, Gurkhas, as with other members of the Singapore Police Force, enjoy welfare benefits to ensure maximum operational effectiveness and efficiency. But how much welfare do they receive, and how is it accounted for? One concerned citizen shares with us his observations.

Police vehicles used for soccer training transport

On the morning of 20 April this year, Mr Anthony Neo spotted a police mini van transporting some children to the former Whitley Secondary School for soccer training. Later in the morning, he also saw a police bus waiting for the children at the school. The driver, a uniformed Gurkha officer, was there with the bus to pick up the children.

Concerned at what he saw as operation resources being misused for officer welfare, Mr Neo wrote to the police feedback unit on 24 April to highlight the incident and suggested that a private bus be used instead.

“No misuse of operation resources”

On 28 April, Mr Neo received a reply from one of the Police Force’s Quality Service Manager (QSM). The QSM said that he had checked with that Gurkha contingent unit, and clarified that “the police vehicle was used officially to transport the children for an approved Boys’ Club activity. There was no misuse of [the] police vehicle by the officers”.

Mr Neo was disturbed. Why was a police vehicle being used for a Boys’ Club activity? And why was a police official on duty assigned to fetch the children? He wrote back to the QSM asking for clarification.

On 30 April, the QSM replied that he would bring the matter to the attention of his management and keep Mr Neo informed of the outcome.

Use of police vehicles an everyday affair?

Mr Neo discussed this issue with his family members and friends as he waited for the QSM’s reply. To his shock, they told him that they had seen family members of the Gurkha Contingent being transported in the same way to the airport, clinics and supermarkets.

Worried about what he heard, he wrote back to the feedback unit on 6 May to clarify if it was the official policy to do as such. Again, as with before, the QSM replied on 7 May that the matter was under investigation, and Mr Neo would be told when they got an answer.

12 May saw a reply from the QSM, who clarified that “transport for authorised group welfare activities was provided within strict guidelines for officers of the Gurkha Contingent and their families”, but did not include leisure activities like shopping trips, and if caught, offenders would be disciplined. The QSM further elaborated that official transport was also provided for hospital/polyclinic visits approved by the GC’s clinic, and also for the officers and their families travelling to the airport when they returned to Nepal on block leave.

The letter ended with the feedback unit “[noting Mr Neo’s] comments on the appropriateness of using police vehicles for welfare purposes and [the] Gurkha Contingent will review the practice”.

“We will review the practice”

Following the QSM’s reply, Mr Neo wrote several more emails to the Singapore Police Force on the above issue.

“I’m not against providing welfare to our Gurkha Contingent or even our Singapore Police Force. My question here is why are they provided using operation resources? Why [are they] not provided through the welfare budget? It is difficult for me to accept the practice no matter how strict the guidelines”, he said.

He also queried if other police force units enjoyed similar welfare perks.

The last reply to Mr Neo came on 10 June, where it was explained that “employees in the Singapore Police Force are provided a range of welfare benefits and amenities through the Police Welfare Division”, and that these were funded through a budget and a Police Central Welfare Fund which all employees contributed monthly to. Mr Neo was reassured that there were strict guidelines for the expenditure of the money, and that “safeguard mechanisms and processes, including audit checks by internal as well as external agencies, are also put in place to ensure the proper use of such welfare monies”.

As in the previous replies, Mr Neo’s concern that police vehicles were being used for welfare purposes was noted, and he was repeatedly assured that “this practice, whilst fully authorised, is nevertheless being reviewed”.

———-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

31 Responses to “Use of police resources for welfare purposes – who is paying?”

1. Ah Siao 17 October 2008

I had served in the SPF for a short period.
    I have to say using SPF resources is a much cheaper way than to engage outside contractors for transportation purposes.
    At any time, there were more than enough vehicles and standby personnel to carry out these extra/welfare duties than to pay more for outside transport.
    And only in very extreme situation, that normal operation will be affected.
    Just my 2 cents worth

2. Why Not 17 October 2008

I believe that the police, like any other gahmen departments, have a budget to stick too. personally i think it would not be economical for police oficers to take public transport, then make claims, or to engage private transport. The cost would definitely be higher.

if the police resources are available, they should make full use.

3. I disagree.

I think that operational resources shouldn’t be used for non-operational activity.

If there are more than enough vehicles to carry out extra/welfare duties and that normal operations won’t be affected, then why is there a need for so many vehicles in the first place?

Just because we can, doesn’t mean we should.

4. adolf hitler 17 October 2008

i agree that operational resources should not be use for non operational duty.
    during my NSF time, if we have a makan session or outdoor soccer, we would do carpool and no claim be made.
    the gurkhas should play soccer at a soccer field near to where they are house.

the mas selamat case already cast a bad impression on them, the last they need is more badlight on them.

if i see them using police vehicle fetching their families members. i would ask them why. if many of us question them, i beg they dare not.

another honest mistake from WKS?

5. I believe the various estabs (SPF, SAF, etc) are occasionally involved in social activities. As such, it would be more cost effective to use internal transport rather than to hire external transport (#1, #2) – unless one suggests that they should not have such activities in the first place, which I think is a rather naive opinion.

6. I dont mind them using internal resources for their own activities as a organization. But I draw the line at personal stuff like family and what not.

7. Aiyo, why worry, only TW got scandal . Spore people trust no inappropriateness in anything wan. MSK very accountability already.

about TW story :
    its suspected that ALL ministries starting from the ex-presidente bian colluded to wash black money recieved from businessmen invited to ‘tea’ or maybe espreso with them, so-to-speak. Imagine if found true, no one can do anything when every possible person in authority has colluded. Fortunately for TW, they have a free media and Righteous people pressure the authorities to do the right thing. They educate the naive and weak and less informed about the cases. Else the naive and uneducated and less informed commoner will not know anything if their MSM is kangarooed.

Imagine a system where every person in power is in collusion from public sector to private sector and even non-profit organisations. You will not hear anything bad.

sporeans who lost money in the boo boo, are usually those who never voiced up for the rest . Now, when it hits their pocket, they crying and pleading for someone to voice up for them. see my point?

Investors deserve to be responsible for signing a contract they desire will earn them lots of money.

Investors, please be responsible for your actions.

huat ah!

Nickname edited by moderator: Dear Chi BT, please refrain from using vulgarities for your nick, even if it’s in dialect. Thanks.

8. Hi
    Let’s not make a mountain out of a molehill.
    It would be cheaper for the SPF and hence for the tax-payer to use internal resources than to get external contractors.
    Unless we can prove that operational readiness is affected, we should let things be.
    Please remember that the SPF ( including the Gurkhas) are on our side.

Dr.Huang

9. There are two sides to a coin.

Negatives:
    - If there are already operational resource issues, then they should not use the vehicles for non-operational activities.
    - Public image of police
    - Separate between work-related resources and outside-work activities

Positives:
    - If the family event is part of the Gurkhas welfare, why not? It is cheaper anyway. But i still think a private bus should be hired.

Don’t think this is a big deal. But perhaps the Gurkha team could consider converting one of the van to a non-operational vehicle so it can be used. But then how often do they need a family outing kind of vehicle?

Kaffein

10. Clear eyed 17 October 2008

Before we even ask whether operational resources can be used for welfare benefits, we need to be clear what these benefits cover. Do they cover sending their kids for soccer/sports training & matches, enrichment classes, tuition, sending their wives/maids to the supermarkets & shopping malls, sending families to and from the airport when they go home/on vacation, etc? If they do, then I agree that using police vans is more economical and efficient than getting outside contractors to provide the service. But we need to guard against misuse of resources paid for with tax money and to trim excess fat, whether it is staff or vans or equipment.

11. Agree with DC that operational resources shouldn’t be used for non-operational activity. I used to work in Bendemeer Rd, where Civil Defence HQ used to be. During lunchtime, CD ambulances were a common sight in the car parks near the food centre opp the old Texas Instruments — the drivers were using the ambulances to go and buy lunch!!

12. Yah right 17 October 2008

Dr. Huang, aren’t Gurkha’s neutral? whose side are you talking about?

13. Just an observation only.
    I see them using their operational vehicles to transport stuff and people (staff & families) to East Coast Park on some Sundays.

For BBQ and gatherings.

Funny thing is that they can be strict on us but we cannot be too strict on them.

14. patriot 17 October 2008

Police Operational Equipments and Manpower should not be utilized for non operational purposes.

Police Forces liked Fire Engines and Ambulances are for Emergencies and unforeseeable events and calamities. They should be available for any contingencies.

If Gurkhas Police is allowed to use operational equipments, why not other organizations?

patriot

15. 8) Dr.Huang on October 17th, 2008 10.47 am
    —————————————————————

erm….you mean, oops! its happened, lets close runks and move on?

16. Donaldson Tan 17 October 2008

To be fair, the Gurkhas hardly has any real welfare, despite contributing to our security:

1. After 6 years of service they are allowed to bring their wife and children to Singapore until the end of their service.

2. Their children are not allowed to stay after reaching 21 years of age. If this rule is not met, they can be arrested by the immigration authorities. The children are only allowed to study in Singapore.

3. The children along with their wives are also not allowed to seek any kind of employment.

4. The entire family lives in a ghetto otherwise known as Mount Vernon Camp.

17. i know of a hospital that uses its fleet ambulances to ferry patients medical records and all sorts of other documents from one hospital to another.

to think you have to pay $50 (is it?) when you call for an amublance.

oh, and you might even get fined for calling an ambulance for non-emergency situations.

18. victor @young ganeration@ 17 October 2008

what u said is correct,,,,gemami…

First,,police car for what???
    for transport police man to other area by purpose…
    but now…,,,family times??

hey,we pay the TAX for police salary…now they use the police car for WHAT PURPOSE>….>>___<<<

wake up man…
    same as Police Operational Equipments….
    ALL THE TRANSPORT IS JUST BENEFIT WITH THEM…BUT WE WE WE,SINGAPOREANS PAY PAY PAY…

think lah..rambutan..

19. victor @young ganeration@ 17 October 2008

then the gov pp can use the *just for gov plane to go to holiD* le lo..and not doing bilateral relationship..

hai..

20. With reference to #16.

As you have known about these conditions of being Gurkhas in Singapore, the Gurkha wannabes would also hear of these conditions from their seniors too, right? They can choose not to be in these situations after hearing about these conditions. Right?

So, for those who are here “servicing this country”, they choose to be treated this way with the full knowledge of the conditions that you have stated. Of course, I somehow do not like the way they are treated in the way described by you.

Remember it is our government who give them this kind of “special treatment”, not the common people of Singapore.

21. victor @young ganeration@ 17 October 2008

LOUSY…lousy..lousy..
    is we pay for the transportation,,
    this is doing GOV work,,,not private sector…

i disagree of this unfair policy..!!!

it should be cancel away to ^you have to pay $50 (is it?) when you call for an amublance for transport.^

22. 20) Joe on October 17th, 2008 2.09 pm

the domestic maids have also heard about the plights of those who have came before them. why do they continue to come?

does this mean we can continue to have the ‘right’ to abuse them they way some of us do?

23. I see a lot of angst from the people who abhor the Gurkhas’ ‘misuse’ of SPF resources.

Will we complain if we get such treatment? If your boss decides to provide such welfare for you using company’s resources, be it public or pte sector, i think no one will complain right? Maybe a small percentage of us will stil have that bit of moral obligations to induce a notion of guilt, but we’ll still take the offer anyway hehe.

As a regular Singaporean male who has been through NS, all i can say is, everyone wants a bit of welfare. So instead of abolishing such practices…Standardise la! If they allow such welfare, then implement it across the board! Have the Army indent tonners and whatever ‘available’ vehicles to ferry the poor (both literally and as a figure of speech) NSF home on weekends. Some of us had to spend money to travel from one end of the island to the other when we booked out. How different are other uniformed servicemen and women from the Gurkhas? Everyone slogs, gets a salary, and as mentioned by someone, gets holed up in a ghetto-like environment.

24. chobolang 18 October 2008

Friday, 17 October 2008, 8:01 am | 883 views
    Selene Cheng / Writer

I think you are a female naive writer. Before you write this shit piece of article you should have checked with your male writers whom I believed most of them have served NS one way or the other. Do not just just based on public’s comments or pics and stated throwing wild gusses and allegations of wrongdoings. On your part, investigate and confirme any wrongdoing first before publishing it. You have to reserve some credits for those men in blue trying to make Singapore a safe place.

I agreed with Dr.Huang on October 17th, 2008 10.47 don’t make a mountain out of a molehill.

25. ” Mr Neo was reassured that there were strict guidelines for the expenditure of the money, and that “safeguard mechanisms and processes, including audit checks by internal as well as external agencies, are also put in place to ensure the proper use of such welfare monies”. ”

Didn’t someone said something along the same line about NKF before Durai was busted?

26. Drakco 9 July 2009

Please do not post if you do not have sufficient knowledge of these cases.
    Firstly,the Gurkhas do not use the SPF resources for family purposes like what most of you believe.The Gurkhas only use the police bus for important events that usually involve a Gurkhas personnel.E.g(Participation of the SPF in Karate tournaments)
    Since the bus is already headed towards the venue,is carrying a few more passengers who may also be heading to the same venue called misuse?Obviously,this is not done while on duty.Doing so,would result in severe penalties.
    Secondly,those who complain about paying for the equipment and employment of Gurkhas,should be ashamed of themselves.How much do you think the Gurkhas are earning?If you compare their earnings to a regular/average Singapore Police Officer,you would see that they are paid either equally or lesser.Most are paid lesser I believe.Gurkhas are willing to sacrifice themselves for peace and justice just as their forefathers have done so.Do you really believe that your money is enough to compensate for that?Gurkhas are willing to work and fight hard even though you pay so little for them in your taxes.

Thirdly,the issue of discipline shouldn’t even be raised.The Gurkhas definitely have good reasons for the use of SPF resources like the buses.They have strict codes of conduct and any slight display of weakness in discipline can result in harsh punishment.If there are cases of misuse,(which I am sure there are not),their superiors are more than sufficient to handle these cases.

Therefore,please stop speculating about the misuse of resources by the Gurkhas.

27. Drakco 9 July 2009

And forgot to mention:Since so many singaporeans complained,the Gurkhas are no longer able to use SPF resources for transportation.I hope you people are happy for making the lives of Gurkhas harder.Now, Gurkhas that are going back to Nepal due to retirement have to use external transport even after all that they have done for Singapore.Talk about gratitude!The use of SPF resources was probably restricted because the SPF did not want to upset the public even though the public fails to see the true picture.
    I am sorry if I have offended anyone in these two posts but I truly believe in the Gurkhas!

28. Ho Wei Pin 25 October 2009

This is a rather silly thing to complain about in my opinion. Would the regular member of public prefer that they engage outside transport? Its the tax payers money after all. Its not as if a transport by internal sources is gonna cost much compare to engaging outsiders to transport police officers.

Not to mention that police officers always keep extra vehicles simply because we have no idea when there is gonna be a need for the extra vehicles. Would you prefer to see police taking a cab to a site that was perhaps a target of a suicide bomber?

29. Bobby Tan 27 November 2009

To me the Gurkha contingent is an anarchronism…..the earlier We disband it the better for Singapore…..Why cant We trust our own citizens?

Is the PAP governent telling citizens they cannot be trusted? Then are We a Nation yet? After 50 years We still need Gurkhas? Why? To protect Politicians from the citizens?

I say disband the Gurkha Contigent…let the Gurkhas who wish to remain to apply for PR and citizenship…and ship the rest unapproved cases back to Nepal where they are needed…

30. I think this is a small matter as compared to the deployment of Gurkha 7 x 24 to guard Lee Hsien Yang’s private resident. I drove by his house once and noticed at least 3 Gurkhas on duty.
    Lee Hsien Yang is no longer in civil service.  He is not a MP, why should public resources be used to guard his house?  His salary is huge enough to get his own security or at least the company he manage should be paying for private security instead of using Gurkhas.

31. I really think you shouldnt stick your nose into the Gurkha Officers affairs. They have travelled thousands of kilometers to serve in our country, they are respected soldiers and 1st rate infantry men. In Singapore they protect key installations and the ministers homes. In my humble opinion , I cant care less if they use police transportation to travel to schools or other government facilities.

I live very near the Gurkhas and I see them running everyday and have taken the bus with some of them when I dont drive. always presentable, always fit and always loyal . I bet you are one of those complain kings from national service.

This is not an abuse of Police resources!