Accounting for town councils’ investments – do your part

Tuesday, 25 November 2008, 11:54 am | 2,049 views

I am doing this not for TOC, not for my cat or fish but for Myself! Yes, I owe it to myself. – Comment posted on TOC. (See below)

Last week, TOC published an editorial entitled: Our money, our right to know. This highlighted the inadequate response of the coordinating chairman for the PAP Town Councils (TC), Dr Teo Ho Pin when queried about TC investments. He stated that he could not reveal TC investment strategies.

Subsequently, Minister for National Development Mah Bow Tan has publicly contradicted that position, telling the Sunday Times that:

Each town council has the duty to explain to its residents how it invests its funds, what is its philosophy, what are the risks it takes’. (Sunday Times, Nov 23)

Some may be tempted to be cynical, and dismiss this statement by Minister Mah as an attempt to bring closure to this issue. But TOC believes that this is a good opportunity for citizens to demand some accountability from our elected representatives.

Hence, we have prepared a template letter that you can use to request your own TC for full information on investments that they may have made. The MPs are our elected representatives, it is our money that they are investing, and it is our right to have this information.

You may cut and paste the template provided below and either email or snail-mail to your respective TCs. If possible, please send an email copy to TOC ( theonlinecitizen@gmail.com ), so that we can track the number of queries that have been sent. Please also keep TOC updated on any responses that you receive; we will collate this information on the investment of public funds, and make it publicly available. Singaporeans deserve this transparency.

Choo Zheng Xi/Editor-in-Chief

———–

Template

To: The Town Council Chairperson

Re: Investments of sinking funds

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am a resident of the Town Council which you chair. In light of the recent revelations in Parliament about certain Town Councils having exposed their sinking funds to troubled structured products that may now be worthless, I would like to ask for details on how the funds that have been collected from residents over the years are being invested.

Specifically, I would like to request for the following information:

1) Full and transparent disclosure of all investments currently held by the Town Council (whether they are structured products, stocks, bonds, fixed deposits or others), made using sinking funds

2) In particular, whether sinking funds have been used to invest in any structured products that are not related to Lehman Brothers, but which may now be at risk

3) The performance of the Town Council’s investments over the past three years, and whether these performance figures are based only last audited figures or include recent investment losses and/or write-offs

4) What would the performance have been, if the Town Council had used all investable funds to purchase 10-year SGS bonds instead

5) Who were the qualified persons who had advised the Town Council on its investments, and how were they appointed

6) Whether the Town Council had purchased securities or otherwise placed any investments with these qualified persons, and if so, how the Town Council had addressed the apparent conflict of interest

7) Whether the Town Council believes that it had been missold any investments (whether related to Lehman Brothers or otherwise), and if so whether the Town Council intends to take action for such misselling.

8 ) Whether there are any minutes or records of the Town Council’s deliberations on decisions to invest in structured products, and if so whether the Town Council intends to disclose them

I would like to remind you of the statement made by Minister for National Development Mr Mah Bow Tan:

“Each town council has the duty to explain to its residents how it invests its funds, what is its philosophy, what are the risks it takes”. (Sunday Times November 23)

I trust that you would agree that we residents deserve nothing less than full transparency and a complete accounting of what has happened, so that we can rest assured that our sinking funds have been appropriately handled.

I look forward to your early reply.

Yours Sincerely,

(Name)

(Address, Constituency)

———–

Addresses and emails of town councils and Members of Parliament

Aljunied TC

Serangoon North Office, Blk 147 Serangoon North Avenue 1, #01-421 , S550147

Fax: 6288 2009

Chairman: MDM CYNTHIA PHUA : cynthia.phua@aljuniedgrc.org.sg

Ang Mo Kio-Yio Chu Kang Town Council

Ave 10 Office

Blk 528 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10, #01-2385, S 560528

Tel: 6456 1633, Fax: 6456 1225

Chairman: MR INDERJIT SINGH : inderjit@singnet.com.sg

West Coast-Ayer Rajah Town Council:

Clementi Office
Block
444 Clementi Avenue 3, #01-123/125
S 120444
Tel: 1800-776 0271
Fax: 6775 1814

Chairman: MR ARTHUR FONG : arthur39@singnet.com.sg

Tanjong Pagar TC:

Block 166 Bukit Merah Central, #03-3527 , Singapore 150166

Tel: 6272 6415, Fax: 6272 6415

Chairman: ASSOC PROF KOO TSAI KEE : kootk@mindef.gov.sg

Hong Kah Town Council

309 Choa Chu Kang Ave 4, #02-02 Choa Chu Kang Centre
Singapore 680309

Tel: 6764 3295, Fax: 6764 7208

Chairman: MR ANG MONG SENG : amshktc@singnet.com.sg

Jurong Town Council
Main Office
Blk
255 Jurong East Street 24, #01-303 , Singapore 600255

Tel: 6561 2222, Fax: 6562 4997

Chairman: MDM HALIMAH YACOB : halimah@ntuc.org.sg

Pasir Ris-Punggol TC

Pasir Ris Office

Blk 577 Pasir Ris St 53, #01-88, Singapore 510577
Tel: 6585 4938, Fax: 6585 4937

Chairman: DR AHMAD MOHD MAGAD : amm@ii-vi.com.sg

Sembawang TC

Woodlands Office

Blk 306A Woodlands St 31, #02-00, S(731306)
Tel: 6368 3100, Fax: 6368 2271

Chairman: MR HAWAZI DAIPI : hawazi@mom.gov.sg , hawazi@moh.gov.sg

Bishan Toa Payoh TC

Toa Payoh Office :

Blk 125A #01-134, Toa Payoh Lorong 2, Singapore 311125 Tel : 6259 6700, Fax : 6259 9626

Chairman: MR ZAINUDIN NORDIN : zainudin_nordin@pa.gov.sg

Jalan Besar TC

Geylang Bahru Office , Blk 70, Geylang Bahru , #01-2719
S(330070)
Tel: 62989222 / 1800-2989603
Fax: 6293 2117

Chairman: DR LILY NEO : dr.lilyneo@gmail.com
Vice-Chairman: MS DENISE PHUA LAY PENG : dphua@starhub.net.sg , denisephua@pathlight.org.sg

Marine Parade TC

Main Office

Blk 50 Marine Terrace, #01-265, Singapore 440050

Tel: 6241 6044, Fax: 6444 0919

Chairman: DR ONG SEH HONG : sehhong_ong@renci.org.sg

Holland-Bukit Panjang TC

Ulu Pandan Office
170 Ghim Moh Road, #06-02, Singapore 279621
Tel : 6 416 7900 , Fax : 6416 7911

Chairman: Teo Ho Pin : TEO_Ho_Pin@pa.gov.sg

East Coast TC

Block 206 Bedok North Street 1 , #01-353 , Singapore 460206

Tel: 1800 444-9549 , Fax: 6444-0775

Chairman: MS TAN SOON NEO, JESSICA : jesstansn@hotmail.com

Tampines TC:

Block 136 Tampines Street 11, Singapore 521136
Fax : 6783 2208

Chairman: MR ONG KIAN MIN : ongkm@singnet.com.sg

Potong Pasir TC:

Tel: 6284 5000
Fax: 6284 5161

MR CHIAM SEE TONG : chiamco@singnet.com.sg

Hougang TC

Hougang Avenue 2

Singapore 530701

Tel: 6286 3533

Fax: 6283 2678

MR LOW THIA KHIANG : ltk@wp.sg

——-

Email this article to a Friend Email this article to a Friend

Bookmark this

Comments

61 Responses to “Accounting for town councils’ investments – do your part”

1) Pinkie Brinjor on November 25th, 2008 12.17 pm

The MPs are our elected representatives, it is our money that they are investing, and it is our right to have this information.
    UNQUOTE

Agree! And what is there not to disclose? To even ask this is absurd to me. They are very good and capable and honest people of the highest integrity that all their loved ones will be proud of.

Lets hope for disclosure given there is nothing that I assume everything is good good.

2) If I don't email for myself, who will? on November 25th, 2008 12.26 pm

okie, email on the way out liao!

I am doing this not for TOC , not for my cat or fish but for Myself! Yes, I owe it to myself.

3) hitachi08 on November 25th, 2008 12.31 pm

for over too many years singaporean has been kept in dark of what OUR money is being used for

TC is just part of a huge iceberg that yet to be surfaced.

How about OUR money in CPF? Has the money used for risky investment?

4) TW people got special phones to use on November 25th, 2008 12.57 pm

Agree with hitachi08.

It also bugs me why for decades people do not question more and demand more when it is so basically fundamentally commonsense that it is our DUE DILIGENCE to be responsible citizens of a democracy.

Hey, do not be mistaken, I am not asking for street violence and riots and boycotts and strikes and murders and killings and streetfightings.

just a very basic due diligence. I hold myself Fully Accountable as a democratic citizen. I do not expect people to serve me. I go out and get what i want. Initiative, not spoonfeeding.

IT’s TIME !

regards
    TDTW (berlin)

5) famie on November 25th, 2008 1.03 pm

Good effort; Keep it up! We should also insist they open up their books on all expenses spent in the upkeep and maintenance of the estates. In many town councils, service providers are appointed even though they are the HIGHEST bidders. What is the justifications in doing this when all these contractors are using cheap foreign workers?

6) panter92 on November 25th, 2008 1.32 pm

Right now, when increasing numbers of Singaporeans are facing job woes, instead of being focussed on things that have already happened, we should concentrate on how to solve the economic problems and preventing it from ever happening again and not play the blame game.

No matter how much you can compliain and lash, the money is still gone. No matter who accepts the responsibility, the money has been invested and lost.

I agree that our ministes don’t really know how to address this problem properly though. Mah BT’s and Teo HP’s statements really.. ~sigh~ With these kinds of leaders, what hope can we have?

7) Gilbert Goh on November 25th, 2008 1.46 pm

Fantastic initiave by TOC! Simply amazing ground level movement now!

There is hope now for Singapore for our children and children’s children!

Keep up the good work TOC! Singapore owes you one!

8) soojenn on November 25th, 2008 1.51 pm

Choo ZX – great write up.. with a nice template to help the ordinary netizens ask the questions necessary to understand the TC state of financial affairs, and how if they have squandered Singaporeans hard earned monies paid to them for the S & C. With this full service including the information on the various TC, who can ask for more. Have you already written to your own email to your TC?

I am sceptical if most Singaporeans will do this, especially (i) since it will expose their identities and made them vulnerable to the authorities (ii) will this exercise amount to anything but more of an information gathering process of who is currently dissatisfied with the government.

The two questions comes to mind as I will NOT be surprised that there will not be any information forthcoming. Even TKL needs to test waters before he offers himself for election. What do you think the probability of getting a response? 1%, 50%, 99%? I rate this probabilty as low, real low. If this is the possible outcome, should Singaporeans engage in this activity to provide further intelligence to the government with full details of who is who, that is dissatisfied with the current government.

SO what if Mah Bow Tan makes a statement to Sunday Times to the effect that – “Each town council has the duty to explain to its residents how it invests its funds, what is its philosophy, what are the risks it takes”. MBT does not represent anything. Are you expecting the TCs to jump and provide you information on request just on the basis of MBT statement in the ST?

By the way, would you happen to have the Town Council Act on what their responsibilties, authorities are for our online netizens to review, or where this can be obtained?

9) To panter92 on November 25th, 2008 2.08 pm

“No matter how much you can compliain and lash, the money is still gone. No matter who accepts the responsibility, the money has been invested and lost.”

Ya lo, we should not complain lo and aceept it lo. Easier said if it is not your money lo. And do we still have to pay towards conservancy and sinking fund after this lo ? What accountability lo ? Behind a faceless system loh ?

What blame game ? Hello, hello, real money lost ok ? Not those monopoly game money lost where you can start the game all over again ?

“Right now, when increasing numbers of Singaporeans are facing job woes, instead of being focussed on things that have already happened, we should concentrate on how to solve the economic problems.”

Solving economic problems ? You need real value addition work lo. ? Those people up there with phds (& high compensation also) are already trying to solve them leh ? Just ask them to juggle the “variables” correctly lah. Not easy lah ? High compensation than the rest of the world should have better juggling skills than the rest of the world lah. ? We can only complain lah ? What can we do ? Anyway, we are not fit, competent & talented enough to be sitting in par-li-ment ? That is why those talented are sitting there right ?

10) The SS on November 25th, 2008 2.41 pm

I have sent an email a couple of weeks ago and got no reply. I don’t expect they will reply to anyone of us.

11) theonlinecitizen on November 25th, 2008 2.57 pm

Come on, everyone. Lets do this. Or are we just fond of complaining and nothing more? We have received one email so far from you. Good on this person for taking the courage and copying the template to his town council.

Now, what about the rest? If we are scared to even send an email to our own MPs, then I really don’t know what we are complaining about.

I thought all of us wanted accountability?

So, please, send an email to the chairman of your town council.

Lets do this!

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

12) theonlinecitizen on November 25th, 2008 2.58 pm

SS,

Do you still have the email? Can forward to us?

Thanks.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

13) Gilbert Goh on November 25th, 2008 2.59 pm

10) The SS

Then you should email Mah BT ( Ministry of National Development) and copied to the ST forum as it is a serious breach of accountability.

Something is very wrong here as a minister has asked the population to check with the TCs on their investment report and there is no answer.

Frankly, the whole reporting system is skewed and I can see the real pushing of responsibilities here.

I am surprised PM LSL allows this to happen. The lack of accountabiltiy is shocking and very third world standard.

14) Gilbert Goh on November 25th, 2008 3.02 pm

Andrew

I realised that I have just sold off my Tampines flat so I don’t think I am a resident of their constituency now.

Sorry I cant help here.

Apologies.

15) tax-payer on November 25th, 2008 3.19 pm

To SS,

u send once they won’t reply… try sending again and again.
    But everytime u send, have this in your subject header…….

Re: 2nd time sending
    Re: 3rd time sending

If u cannot tahan already, try this…….. ‘Do i need to write to the PM to get a reply?’

16) Zeitgeist on November 25th, 2008 3.45 pm

If victims adopt forgive and forget attitudes, they are only inviting and encouraging
    more crimes upon themselves. But this is what made us a great nation, just like the Phillipines!

17) BL on November 25th, 2008 3.47 pm

I still think the only way to create some (media) attention to this issue is to have some form of gathering at Hong Lim. If we can have about 100 people turning up, there’s no way that the mainstream media can black out the news.

So, come on TOC – go and organise a “Clear the air” protest at the arboreal surrounds of Hong Lim, and I will get my friends to turn up and show support! :)

18) Singapore Resident on November 25th, 2008 3.53 pm

Can i instead write to my MP Mr Ang Mo Seng to suggest changing the name of “SINKING” fund ….afterall he did suggested re-naming hospital Class “C” [die] ward to Class “E”

http://www.depnet.com.sg/newsitem/2297/default.aspx

MP Ang calls for Class C wards in hospitals to be re-named
    Monday March 3 2008
    By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE: MP for Bukit Gombak GRC, Ang Mong Seng has called for Class C wards in hospitals to be re-named.

Speaking in Parliament on Monday, the Mr Ang noted that ‘C’ sounds like ‘die’ in the Hokkien dialect, which is a sensitive issue in oriental societies.

Mr Ang also narrated the story of an old man who would only say he was in the ward with many people instead of a Class C ward. This was because the man believed that saying it out loud would only bring bad luck.

The MP also highlighted how the Alfa Romeo 164, which sounds like ‘die all the way’ in Hokkien, did not sell well until the car’s model number was changed to 168, which sounds like ‘prosper all the way’.

His suggestion which brought chuckles in the House – was to rename the Class C ward to Class ‘E’ – as in the economy class on planes

19) Mohamad Hamim on November 25th, 2008 4.23 pm

OK i’m sending right now.
    I hope i can get reply.

20) ErniesUrn on November 25th, 2008 6.06 pm

I sent it to Jalan Besar TC – Dr Lily Neo. Here’s the instant reply message.

<>

21) ErniesUrn on November 25th, 2008 6.08 pm

*** I am now overseas and may not be able to read or reply mails until
    my return.

Regards
    Lily Neo

22) Boon Siong on November 25th, 2008 7.09 pm

I have sent the email to my TC. Unless they change their email address, or dont check their email, we will remind them everyday ( when they check their inbox) that they need to answer those questions now.

23) Zheng Xi on November 25th, 2008 10.47 pm

Hi soojenn,

The fear and apathy you highlighted is precisely the reason why we need to break out of this viscious cycle by asking these questions. And if even a handful of people like those who have already sent the letter and notified TOC lead by example and show there are no repercussions to exercising our democratic rights, it will go some way, if only a small way, in dispelling the fear and apathy you speak of.

If we get answers, we are empowered. If we don’t, we have even more reason to keep asking them until they do, until their silence becomes deafening, and finally damning.

The link to the Town Councils Act can be found here:
    http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi-bin/cgi_gettoc.pl?actno=2000-REVED-329A&doctitle=TOWN%20COUNCILS%20ACT%0A&date=latest&method=part

You can find a full internet database of laws on the attorney-general’s website, under the tab “statutes”.

24) patriot on November 25th, 2008 11.35 pm

Though I believe that Singaporeans are truly ‘kiasu’(boastful), I do not believe they are ‘kiasi’(afraid/fear of power/authority). It got more to do with not knowing the Rights, Natural, Human, Religious and Personal Rights etc.

As our Education System has always been giving the impression that there are much restrictions here and there and that teaching staff are not allow to liaise with Public Medias, it give the wrong impression of ones’ Rights.

Civil Servants too are similarly disallow to engage the Public Medias except when granted permission and as such the whole population gets instilled with the impression that all our Rights are forfeited. BUT OUR CITIZENS RIGHTS ARE OURS AND FOR US TO EXERCISE.

THE FEAR EXISTS INEXPLICABLY, for example if voting for Oppositions leads to ones’ disadvantages, discriminations and incriminations etc, then the hundreds of thousands residing in opposition wards will be in troubles. AS I SAID BEFORE IN TOC, PLEASE DO NOT SUSPECT THAT OUR GOVERNMENT IS OUT TO FIND TROUBLE WITH VOTERS.

VOTING IS CITIZENS’ RIGHTS TO SELECT THEIR PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATIVES. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO OFFENCE IN VOTING OPPOSITIONS, OTHERWISE HOUGANG AND POTONG PASIR WOULD HAVE GREAT WALLS SURROUNDING THEM.

Man(kind) should only fear doing the wrong things, causing injustice, causing evils and fear the evil man of course and fear sufferings(health/feelings).

Please tell yourself that if You are acting legally, rightly and conscientiously, THERE IS NO NEED TO FEAR.

patriot

25) Both hands up for #8 Soojenn on November 26th, 2008 9.48 am

8) soojenn on November 25th, 2008 1.51 pm

….I am sceptical if most Singaporeans will do this, especially

(i) since it will expose their identities and made them vulnerable to the authorities

(ii) will this exercise amount to anything but more of an information gathering process of who is currently dissatisfied with the government.

-=-=-=-=——————–=-=-=—————–=-=-=-=———————————-

AGREE!!! We must understand the local environment and system .
    Its not as easy as just mailing a letter to get the answers.
    Our identities will be known in a evidential and direct way.

btw, Mah BT may have said that. But is there a ‘BUT’ following what he said ? i no idea.

Lets have this scenario for discussion:
    1. Every singaporean eligible to vote is informed of this exercise of sending in the letter.

2. Out of all these, ALL those who want disclosure does as instructed, putting down honestly their names and constituency they belong to .

Ladies and Gentlemen, Tell me what has just happened?!

btw, my dog is having birthday party now. TIME TO CUT THE CAKE up into pieces . get I mean ?

Yes, I like Choo’s idea. I applaud him for the effort. But the conspiracy theories are also growing in number. The petition gathering for TKL’s bid can also give an early warning sign.

26) Both hands up for #8 Soojenn on November 26th, 2008 9.51 am

for this mental obstacle alone, there can be little if any success.
    solution required!!!
    How does other countries do it? Why they have no such worries?

27) Selene Cheng on November 26th, 2008 10.16 am

Done. Mine’s Aljunied TC.

28) Ah Cat on November 26th, 2008 10.22 am

“8) soojenn on November 25th, 2008 1.51 pm
    SO what if Mah Bow Tan makes a statement to Sunday Times to the effect that – “Each town council has the duty to explain to its residents how it invests its funds, what is its philosophy, what are the risks it takes”. MBT does not represent anything. Are you expecting the TCs to jump and provide you information on request just on the basis of MBT statement in the ST?”

If a minister, in a face of seriousness, can say things which have no effect of intention and authority, then what the HE** do we need ministers for.

Unless, you are going to the ridiculous extreme of technicality by saying that they are actually saying it in their equally valid dual capacity as a private individual.

29) Multiplier effect on November 26th, 2008 11.10 am

Its not whether they reply or not or reply to our satisfaction or not.
    its about how many have sent to which TC and the response if any.
    mails sent can indicate how many from which TC have sent in a more concrete manner.

Its about letting the netizens know what effort has been made and what is going on in a TRANSPARENT way.

Through this we can see for ourselves the REALity.
    Everyone with eyes can see for themselves.

Thus, there will be an EFFECT even if to many, getting no replies means no effect.

“To every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.” — Newton

30) The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » SG Daily: 26 November 2008 on November 26th, 2008 12.04 pm

[...] Town Councils Lose $12M Public Funds – Mindblogging Stuff: Be thankful – TOC: Accounting for town councils’ investments – do your part [...]

31) theonlinecitizen on November 26th, 2008 1.37 pm

Hi everyone,

Thanks to all who have forwarded us the emails to your town councils. But the number is not great. :(

I was hoping that more people will do it. There is still time – as long as the TCs keep quiet, we should keep asking them.

Please try and do this, ya? And forward or cc us the email. ( theonlinecitizen@gmail.com ).

Thanks.

32) The SS on November 26th, 2008 1.49 pm

Hi All, I sent my letter via their website through ‘Contact us’. No acknowledgement no nothin’. As you can see, you are asked to put your address etc which I did.
    My submission did cover the issues brought up in the example.

33) Foreigner on November 26th, 2008 2.18 pm

I am a foreigner from Europe. Pardon me, I speak little english.
    I find it shocking that Singaporeans find it so difficult to voice your concerns and demands to your Town Councils. Are they not there to help you?

We europeans do not have such fear. Maybe its just a difference in culture.

Thanks for the culture shock, singapore!

34) Selamat wong the accountable accountant under my watch on November 26th, 2008 2.24 pm

Why invest in such high-risk high-return products??

I am quoting from http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_306627.html

My understanding is that when people want high returns, they go for high risk products. What is the reason for wanting such high return at the expense of such high risk?

TC please explain.

35) Daniel on November 26th, 2008 2.43 pm

“Are they not there to help you?”

Their main job is to manage the town through cutting cost, generate profit for their master and themselves, plan how to pass cost back to the citizen, coverup for mistakes, speak rhetoric to save face, disappear when shit happens, press for citizen to pay more so that it generate money for investment. They also help you by explaining to you many nonsenses about why conservacy fee cannot bring down. Yes, in the end, they do manage the town but money seems the main reason for their existence and job notably.

For those AngMoh who don’t understand mentality of Singaporeans and their appreciation of their gov, the following is how the citizens appreciate the WORLD-CLASS gov by asking the gov not to help
    —————————————————-
    Dear Prime Minister,

We citizens of Singapore urge you to PLEASE MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS.

We DO NOT NEED your help. Every time, you mention HELP, we have to run for cover!!!

Help the poor? Raise GST!

Help traffic flow? Up ERP!

Help passenger service? Up Bus fare/MRT fare!

Help us get taxi? Raise taxi fare!

Help us get good government? Raise Minister and Civil servants’ salary!

Everytime YOU WANT TO HELP, we all PAY FOR IT!!!

THANK YOU THANK YOU…TOLONG LAH, please, we will HELP OURSELVES, no need your help liao.

We DARE NOT ask for help any more!!!

Sir, most honoured sir, I urge you NOT TO HELP Singapore INVEST also!

Everytime your wife invest, we all lose money! Kao liao, kam siah!

Just let us have a dose of bad governance, like recently the Mat Alamak case, like dat….so far, it is ok, your incompetence, we ACCEPT!

PLEASE DO NOT help us have better security! Wait we all kena PAY FOR
    IT!!

I believe ALL SINGAPOREANS PREFER NOT TO HAVE CRUTCH MENTALITY!

I think it is ok lah, please just take your salary and enjoy life ok?

Thank you thank you,

I am very chin chai (easy-going) one, any how any how, no need to help oso can one.

–A Citizen

It’s the brutal truth. SHOCK ?

36) theonlinecitizen on November 26th, 2008 2.47 pm

Hi SS,

I just checked our email and we have not received your email. Can you drop me an email at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com directly?

Thanks.

Andrew Loh

37) kelly on November 26th, 2008 4.37 pm

I have a feeling it may not be the MP alone reading your emails, so if that ONE assistant accidentally deletes your email, guess what? You won’t receive any reply. But if someone else in the same contituency writes again, taht particular email MAY just go through.

For me, I really prefer to fax or send via snail-mail. Through email, it’s just so much easier for town council stuff to treat such emails like junk. So people, if you have the time, do 3 things:
    1. Email
    2. Snail-mail and
    3. fax!

Also, make sure you place a good CALL-TO-ACTION subject when you send your letter via email. Good luck everyone! Let’s wait and see if there’s any reaction!

38) sarek_home on November 26th, 2008 5.08 pm

37) kelly on November 26th, 2008 4.37 pm

I have a feeling it may not be the MP alone reading your emails,

Just CC the whole gang of MPs of the GRC and Mah Bow Tan.

39) Cockles on November 26th, 2008 9.06 pm

The Fact that so few sent the mail indicates to me the following:

1. There is now clarity that even if got-knows how many are not happy with TC investment, very few would even send an email which will reveal their identity.

2. There is now clarity that it is safe to assume that this lot of HDB dwellers would most probably not stand up and protest in HLP given that sending email itself is a big Obstacle.This exercise has produced results – the people are either not ready to support or apathetic

3. Its now clear that even signing for EP petition is a problem. This exercise has produced results – the people are either not ready to support or apathetic.

4. Its now clear that Singaporeans are not ready to sign petitions that require their identity made known.

Maybe indeed, singaporeans would need more time to evolve. They are not used to these kinds of thingies. I think its gonna be another 10 000 years! One person waiting for the other to act.

TOC is ahead of its time. Once again. Sad but what to do?

40) Tan Sui Lian on November 26th, 2008 9.10 pm

Its obvious to me that Alternative way to get the thing done is required.

41) kelly on November 27th, 2008 1.50 am

Hmmm….alternative way….knock on door?

The other way is a public petition and those who agree just “sign” online. Anonymously if you wish! But putting your name and residential address is far more credible. You want credible answers, you need to have a credible identity in the first place.

Arr….sorry – just my opinion.

42) theonlinecitizen on November 27th, 2008 9.39 am

Hi everyone,

I’d like to thank the 14 people who have sent the email to their respective town councils.

None of the town councils have responded yet.

I’d like to urge the rest of our readers to send the template email as well.

Thanks.

Andrew Loh

43) gtiong on November 27th, 2008 7.05 pm

I have sent the email to my town council in Pasir Ris-Punggol TC yesterday at 1:51pm. Till now, I have yet to rcv any reply from them.

I sent the email to my TC address listed in TOC website and the email addr listed in my TC website, plus I cc it to all the other 5 MPs.

44) kelly on November 27th, 2008 8.41 pm

Gathering at Hong Lim Park is not a fool-proof “plan” to have the media get the news. In fact there is no fool-proof plan. The chief editor of Straits Times is the one who decides what goes in as news, what gets blocked. And ST is partially controlled by BIG BRO.

What I can imagine TOC doing is, sending a free press release stating # number of people voicing displeasure and # number of people have sent emails to their Town Councils, # of emails mailing/faxing to town councils. And zero number of replies from town councils, etc.

45) aiyoyo on November 27th, 2008 8.56 pm

aiyoyo

will TC hold AGMs?

(as TC do investments)

46) kelly on November 27th, 2008 9.04 pm

If Town Councils are considered COMPANIES, then yes, AGM is required. Town Councils are considered ‘non-profit organisations’ even if not charity. By right, collected sums are not supposed to be used as investments.

47) kelly on November 27th, 2008 9.15 pm

P.S. Aiyoyo – the answer is a resounding YES. This web page may interest you: http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/html/homepage.html (Paragraph 6 is of interest!)

48) Omong Kosong on November 28th, 2008 10.03 am

I had sent letter to Hong Kah Town Council yesterday.

Usually they have a template email reply acknowledging our email.

This time there is nothing – it seemed like the email had gone into a blackhole.

49) tiredsingaporean on November 28th, 2008 10.07 am

Maybe they already have instructions from the top not to entertain all these complain letters and just let the time pass and everything will be back to normal again.

50) aiyoyo on November 28th, 2008 10.25 am

aiyoyo

kelly thank you for your info.

I keep thinking, if TC so $$$,

why the TC surroundings dont look $$$???

I dont see the logic.

is it I never pay attention during school days,

or something amiss???

aiyoyo

51) Coffee Bean on November 28th, 2008 10.32 am

Just some of my humble comments.

if you want to query your Town Council, why do Singaporeans need a template? Are you not sure what you want to know, or is it simply a sign that you’re jumping on the bandwagon of posing questions to your TC because the others are doing so?

iT does not reflect well on Singaporeans at all. Look at it this way, you need to be given a template just to ask questions. You may not know what to ask, but there is no harm in doing some research and forming your own questions. Are Singaporeans a lazy lot?

I am just voicing an opinion, its not meant to crtisise any particular person/s. I apologise in advance if my comments have harmed you.

Thank you.

52) Tea Leaf to Coffee Bean on November 28th, 2008 10.38 am

“iT does not reflect well on Singaporeans at all. Look at it this way, you need to be given a template just to ask questions. You may not know what to ask, but there is no harm in doing some research and forming your own questions. Are Singaporeans a lazy lot? ”

Internet age lah. You learn faster this way. Now where got lazy or not ? Or clever or not clever ? Or talent or not talent ? Information and knowledge have now become cheap commodities. It is the relationship that counts.

Singaporeans can formulate a lot of good questions. Somehow, the good answers are not forthcoming anyway.

53) I modified the TOC template on November 28th, 2008 11.01 am

I have sent the following questions to Pasir Ris Punggol Town Council and also to its chairman Dr Ahmad Magad on 26 Nov using the template from TOC and modifying it slightly:

1) What is the exact amount of investments that have been lost to these structured products by PRPG-TC? Are there other paper losses PRPG-TC has incurred in other investments besides the material loss to structured products?

2) Will S&C fees be increased to cover for the losses made by the Town Council? If no, how will the Town Council ensure that residents are not penalised for the losses incurred?

3) If S&C fees are to be increased to cover for the losses, by how much would the residents have to pay?

4) If S&C fees need not be increased to cover for the losses, has the Town Concil been overcharging the S&C fees for the residents of Pasir Ris-Punggol?

5) Who were the qualified persons who had advised the Town Council on its investments, and how were they appointed?

6) Will the maintenance of our estate be affected and compromised in light of these losses? If not, how will the Town Council ensure that the service standards and maintenance of the estate is not affected through these losses?

7) Does the Town Council believes that it had been missold any investments (whether related to Lehman Brothers or otherwise), and if so whether the Town Council intends to take action for such misselling?

8 ) Are there any minutes or records of the Town Council’s deliberations on decisions to invest in structured products, and if so whether the Town Council intends to disclose them?

9 ) What is the average annual expenditure by the Town Council over a 10 year period as compared to the average annual revenue collected from the residents?

10) Will residents be informed beforehand in future when the Town Council decides to make investments in risky products like equities, stocks, unit trust funds or structured products?

11) Will the Town Council be implementing any controls to prevent such losses to its sinking fund in future?

So far I have only received an automated response from Dr Ahmad’s mailbox stating that he is out of office from 25 – 29 Nov. No response from the TC yet.

54) smallvice585 on November 28th, 2008 11.16 am

Coffee Bean (#51),

Having a template is convenient.

55) aiyoyo on November 28th, 2008 5.11 pm

aiyoyo

is there some qualified/registered accountants checking on the TC books?

aiyoyo

56) aiyoyo on November 28th, 2008 9.25 pm

aiyoyo

“Subsequently, Minister for National Development Mah Bow Tan has publicly contradicted that position, telling the Sunday Times that:
    ‘Each town council has the duty to explain to its residents how it invests its funds, what is its philosophy, what are the risks it takes’. (Sunday Times, Nov 23)”

how in the 1st place the investment loss issue being brought to light??

that person(s) that bring up this issue is really very helpful!!

aiyoyo

57) Jenson on November 28th, 2008 9.26 pm

This is a fantastic idea to rate if we’re a maturing society, whether we can overcome our fear of backlash and have the courage to pose tough questions to the elite. Please remember that they are paid to serve us, and they’re justly rewarded for their effort. There’s nothing to fear in the first instance.

I have just sent the e-mail to my town council, and looking forward to seeing their response.

I think TOC can easily monitor how many e-mails were being sent, and from which town. This can easily be done with a petition-like format, where we can check-off the relevant box, like which town, any response etc.

58) theonlinecitizen on November 28th, 2008 10.12 pm

Hi Jenson,

Would you like to forward the email to us? We’re keeping track of the emails which our readers have sent so far. We can be reached at: theonlinecitizen@gmail.com .

Thanks.

59) soojenn on November 29th, 2008 3.26 am

Hi Zheng Xi,

So have you and the members of your editorial board on TOC written to your own TCs. Can you provide the general statistics of the emails sent, to which TC’s, the responses if any, etc… for the people who read your blog. You have indicated that 14 people have written to their TC’s. Doesn’t this show that there is still the fear which is pervasive under the decades of rule in Singapore?

I will be surprised if there is any credible answers that will be forthcoming. You should also keep track of these people who have written and check with them in the future if there are suddenly (i) check and/or visits to their premises if they are living in HDB’s to see if they are following the full regulations of the HDB (Mah Bow Tan has ensured that all loopholes are closed with new additional regulations recently) lest they be kicked out on a technicality (ii) problems that they never had before sending the email to the TC’s

Singapore is practically a police state. All information about Singaporeans lies with their NRIC, the digits to the government. There is practically no individual privacy. All your bank accounts, tax information, etc.. are easily accessible by the govenrment, and linked and possibly the reason that they do not want to have a second party to shadow them and have access to this. Try leaving Singapore for not paying a road traffic fine which is overdue. They will be at the immigration counter to stop you from leaving. Without the extensive information and the linking, I cannot imagine how this is possible. Even Andrew Kuan the aspiring Presidential candidate had his employment information splashed all over the state controlled media where his superiors find his work lacklustre but continued to pay him performance bonuses at the tax payer’s expense. Where is the accountability of his superiors if this has been the case that his performace was poor? Why wait till he is offering himself for the election of the President to resort to such tactics.

60) kelly on November 29th, 2008 10.09 pm

@SooJenn >>>> Doesn’t this show that there is still the fear which is pervasive under the decades of rule in Singapore?

Yep.

Perhaps MISS PAYING the next Town Council fee and you will get a reply….guaranteed. ;)

>>>>There is practically no individual privacy.
    You are right. I was aghast when my ex-employer forwarded my contacts to other colleagues without first informing me. I was even more aghast to realise that managers are criticising job applicants right after they left, IN FRONT of other subordinates. WHERE IS RESPECT FOR PRIVACY?? What is the meaning of PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL?

The old saying will serve you well, “When living in safety, be aware of danger.”

>>>>>Even Andrew Kuan the aspiring Presidential candidate had his employment information splashed all over the state controlled media where his superiors find his work lacklustre but continued to pay him performance bonuses at the tax payer’s expense.

Good point! Why employ one when you know his work is lacklustre. Anyone can memorise a bible and still not understand what it really is about. Singaporean employers (many) fail to see that.

WU ZHE TIAN (Empress Wu Jao from 7th century China) would not hesitate to use a talented (even inexperienced) hardworking honest personnel over one who is experienced, highly-qualified but (really) inefficient or lazy.

61) 2008: The year of the blogger-activist : The Online Citizen - a community of singaporeans on January 1st, 2009 11.11 am

[...] to explain how it invests its funds. The Online Citizen acted on November 25, issuing a call to demand answers from the Town Councils. On December 5, it was revealed that the Town Councils would not reveal any more information. On [...]

Leave a comment

Bottom