It just makes your blood boil

Thursday, 20 November 2008, 12:39 am | 3,576 views

Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor

It is hard not to be angry. And be very angry at that.

Consider this:

On 15th September 2007, according to Channel NewsAsia, the HDB said the following with regards to the new flats in Punggol:

… 81 percent of residents said they were willing to pay more for service and conservancy to enjoy the new flat designs. About half of them said they were willing to pay above S$10 more than the usual rates.

And on 5 May 2008, Aljunied Town Council even wanted to raise S&C for the “dirtiest precints”:

Officials also said they will consider raising the conservancy charges for the dirtiest precincts to cover the extra work that goes into maintaining them …

Later, after some public outcry, the town council backtracked and said they never intended to raise S&C at all but that they were going to have the dirtiest precints cleaned more frequently instead.

And now, of course, we hear they have $1 billion of funds in their kitty. No wait, they have $2 billion. If you’re wondering which is which, I too am unsure.

In Dec 2007, Straits Times reported:

This new rule, which kicked in yesterday, applies to more than $1 billion in sinking funds managed by the 16 town councils in Singapore.

The Straits Times reported the same, one year later, on 17 November 2008:

The 16 town councils manage more than $1 billion in sinking funds.

But CNA, on 17 November, reported:

Based on the 14 PAP town councils’ latest financial statements submitted to the National Development Ministry, these investments amounted to 0.6 per cent of their total funds of S$2 billion.

So, perhaps the understanding is this: They have $1 billion in their sinking funds and $2 billion in total? Now, as many have asked: What on earth are town councils hoarding – yes, it’s plain simple hoarding – such a huge sum of money?

Considering that S&C charges, which on average is about $40 or so per household, that’s a huge amount of money! And as I wrote in an earlier article, why aren’t the town councils helping residents more with such a huge sum of funds at a time when the cost of living has spiraled out of control and Singaporeans are experiencing record inflation?

None of the town councils have reduced their S&C charges.

So, when Mr Teo Ho Pin, co-ordinating chairman for all the PAP town councils, said:

They (residents) should thank the Town Council for working hard to come up with a diversified portfolio to generate income so that residents do not have to fork out more money…

It just makes your blood boil.

Yes, boil.

Especially so for those who were brought to the courts for failing to pay their S&Cs, or who are presently having difficulties paying their S&Cs. (I can relate to this, remembering how my mother used to be worried sick every month thinking about how she was going to pay the S&C charges for her 3-room flat.)

Or for those who have had their flats repossessed by the town councils because they could not pay their S&Cs. Yes, town councils now have the power to do that.

So, it’s hard not to be angry.

The town councils should, in all decency and honesty, come clean.

And stop engaging in smug arrogance with atrociously insensitive remarks.

At the very least, it makes the MPs look stupid.

Such naked arrogance is, truly, beneath those who claim to be “public servants”.

———

Email this article to a Friend Email this article to a Friend

Bookmark this

Comments

49 Responses to “It just makes your blood boil”

1) reader on November 20th, 2008 1.34 am

Network – Mad as Hell Scene
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMBZDwf9dok

i think this describe what many of us are feeling

2) laserpointer on November 20th, 2008 3.20 am

so how much did those pucks lose on citigroup, ubs and morgan stanley from september till now?

billions billions billions…

and not a single news.

3) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah on November 20th, 2008 6.19 am

Ya this is a peice of very bad news for the ruling party and I dont know how they will close the books on this one. I am sure PM in his ususal closing speech will touch on this.

If you are not aware, some softening on the part of the govt has came about:

1. Electricity tariffs will come down by next month

2. Budget 09 will arrive one month earlier from Feb 09 to Jan 09.

3. HDB flats will be priced cheaper from now on.

4. IRs will not be bailed out by the govt coffers

5. More goodies will be introduced soon to offset the current recession.

6. ERP charges will come down as soon as this month.

Let’s hope that they have learned their lessons and do a self-check and change as there is no one now to check them at all in PArliament. Only the People can check them now with whatever voice they have.

4) Daniel on November 20th, 2008 6.30 am

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah,
    we should not tolerate the nonsense from our gov anymore. I bet that it will be like election with promises that will not be kept and thousands of excuses of why it cannot be done when the times come. Learn lesson ? Did they learn any lesson in every election ? So what make you think they are going to do it this time ? Whose head on the stake to make their promises ? LKY, Pinky, Woody ? The answer is no one is accountable to the promise and then how do you expect them to keep the promise that they never make and responsibile in the first place ?

It really amazing time after time that no one from the gov , no matter how expensive these clowns were , will never be accountable and responsible for anything at all, and it is the citizen all this while to bear the burden and cost of the gov’s follies.

The clown Helping us again ? So what’s the string attached ? I thought those clowns always tell us no free lunch ? The clowns right now may become more sensible to avoid saying wrong thing but their action always speak otherwise. It’s time to dismantle the largest timebomb, aka PAP gov, in Singapore. They have kept more than enough skeleton in the closet, and they have give enough false hope and security all this while.

5) Daniel on November 20th, 2008 6.43 am

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah ,
    beside with so much money and reserve lost in terms of billions and millions, the gov suddenly realize that mistake ? Isn’t it natural for gov to lose billions and move on and act blurt ? If the gov mends their way, the white tiger might have become vegetarian.This gov is always calculative and shrewd when it comes to taking money. The only thing I see is just temporary measurement to pacify the citizen with unrealized carrots and sweet unkeepable promises for the time being, and once the time come again to keep the promise, you will see things like forward contract, peg to oil kind of nonsense. Desperate gov always go for desperate measurement. This gov has zero/negative credibility, integrity and moral authority.

Are we going to fall another trick of giving you back some , taking back multitude of time back again ?

Remember the $4 billions casino has to be bailed out, by crook or by steal since next year they have to be launched, progressive or not progressive. Next year will be worse with more gov-made calamities appear on the surface one by one, all this just the tip of the iceberg.

They can even shamelessly talking about taking reserve money when they could have use those money manned for “stupid investment” to tide over the unforeseenable period.

6) gemami on November 20th, 2008 7.23 am

1) reader

Thanks, and I believe that’s the way things are at the moment.

7) Daniel on November 20th, 2008 7.32 am

from #1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMBZDwf9dok
    The following is the transcript for the above video taken from http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0074958/quotes

Howard Beale: I don’t have to tell you things are bad. Everybody knows things are bad. It’s a depression. Everybody’s out of work or scared of losing their job. The dollar buys a nickel’s work, banks are going bust, shopkeepers keep a gun under the counter. Punks are running wild in the street and there’s nobody anywhere who seems to know what to do, and there’s no end to it. We know the air is unfit to breathe and our food is unfit to eat, and we sit watching our TV’s while some local newscaster tells us that today we had fifteen homicides and sixty-three violent crimes, as if that’s the way it’s supposed to be. We know things are bad – worse than bad. They’re crazy. It’s like everything everywhere is going crazy, so we don’t go out anymore. We sit in the house, and slowly the world we are living in is getting smaller, and all we say is, ‘Please, at least leave us alone in our living rooms. Let me have my toaster and my TV and my steel-belted radials and I won’t say anything. Just leave us alone.’ Well, I’m not gonna leave you alone. I want you to get mad! I don’t want you to protest. I don’t want you to riot – I don’t want you to write to your congressman because I wouldn’t know what to tell you to write. I don’t know what to do about the depression and the inflation and the Russians and the crime in the street. All I know is that first you’ve got to get mad.
    Howard Beale: [shouting] You’ve got to say, ‘I’m a HUMAN BEING, Goddamnit! My life has VALUE!’ So I want you to get up now. I want all of you to get up out of your chairs. I want you to get up right now and go to the window. Open it, and stick your head out, and yell,
    [shouting]
    Howard Beale: ‘I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!’ I want you to get up right now, sit up, go to your windows, open them and stick your head out and yell – ‘I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ Things have got to change. But first, you’ve gotta get mad!… You’ve got to say, ‘I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ Then we’ll figure out what to do about the depression and the inflation and the oil crisis. But first get up out of your chairs, open the window, stick your head out, and yell, and say it:
    Howard Beale: [screaming at the top of his lungs] “I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!”

8) gemami on November 20th, 2008 7.38 am

Hi Gilbert & Daniel,

Let’s hope that they have learned their lessons and do a self-check and change

I don’t think it is as simple as self-checks anymore. There have been too many things that had been left unchecked and are only now surfacing. How much more we do not know?

This is the result of our own misplaced trust in a govt who had been able to sweet-talk its way into our hearts, minds and souls.

There have to be checks and these checks have to be made by the people of Singapore. We must now demand full disclosure.

Everything they invested in and how they perform have to be laid out in the open.
    There is no longer any choice.

Singaporeans have lost their trust and faith in the PAP govt. Even their most ardent supporters are beginning to lose faith in them, what more you and I, whose eyes have been opened to their rubbishy promises all along.

Like Daniel said, they cannot blame anyone or anything. People like you and I have seen it coming for ages. The way they have been handling affairs of the state and especially when they go about doing their politicking. We have seen and known all along that trouble was over the horizon. How can they not see it coming when the voices out here are clear and loud enough for them to hear.

They have been so arrogant and self-believing that they have cloistered themselves away from us, and now they want us to listen to them and their continued rubbishy reasonings?

Like the late JBJ used to cry out: “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!”.

Have you had enough?

9) slohand2 on November 20th, 2008 8.28 am

The billboards, bearing the ugly faces of these MPs are put up at every opportune time. There are at least 4 major festivals with different themes and I see them sprouting at every corner. The town council pays for them, with our conservancy fees.
    For Teo HP, who declares that we should be glad that they are making every effort to enhance the sinking funds, I would say spare us that effort. You can see that every one of them are cosying up to gain favours, from CC members to grass root leaders. They are self serving as I am sure that they get handouts along the way in terms of projects.
    Vote them all out.

10) Jackson Tan on November 20th, 2008 8.34 am

I’m not so much angry but disappointed. And I feel that I will be disappointed more as more TC discloses their losses.

How many more TCs has yet to declared their involvement in these investments? Until then, I suppose it is justified for us to claim that these TCs lost up to 35% of their sinking funds.

11) me on November 20th, 2008 8.51 am

“If you are not aware, some softening on the part of the govt has came about:

1. Electricity tariffs will come down by next month

2. Budget 09 will arrive one month earlier from Feb 09 to Jan 09.

3. HDB flats will be priced cheaper from now on.

4. IRs will not be bailed out by the govt coffers

5. More goodies will be introduced soon to offset the current recession.

6. ERP charges will come down as soon as this month.”

they are softening? Oh my oh my..i see snow outside my window…HEY WAIT sorry..elections time.
    they will learn? well, singaporeans ought to be thankful to them for working so hard first..

12) gemami on November 20th, 2008 8.55 am

You’re right Jackson.

Even if we are later assured that it wasn’t that much that was lost, the thought that we could have potentially lost up to 35% of our sinking funds’ monies is frightening enough.

It’s just too much idle money for TC people who have no experience in handling this sort of amount to handle.

The more they have to be open and transparent.

13) what can $12 million do? on November 20th, 2008 9.21 am

I too cannot stand the waste of SC charges, putting up mega posters of PAP MPs beaming down at us during major festivals.

PLEASE STOP THIS WASTAGE!

14) The SS on November 20th, 2008 9.35 am

How can voters not see this arrogance and blatant disregard of respect? I just don’t understand why still 66.6% are blind to such things. $2 billion is alot of our money and to lose tose $16M is an absolute waste when in the first place they hoard so much!
    Sigh….. I guess we deserve the people we vote in…

15) gemami on November 20th, 2008 9.47 am

Does anyone knows how much each of the hoarding costs?

I noticed that after Ong Chit Chung died, the ones in Jurong GRC which carried his posters were taken down and new ones erected with Tharman and Yeo CT included in the group.

This was just a couple of months back. Real waste of financial resources if you ask me.

Always near but never there.

16) Steven on November 20th, 2008 10.12 am

Softening? I completely disagree…

1. Electricity tariffs will come down by next month – They should not be there in the first place. Instead electricity bills should be coming down with oil at $50plus per barrel now. We are being short-changed!

2. Budget 09 will arrive one month earlier from Feb 09 to Jan 09 – Take so long?!!! Other governments have already released key points of their fiscal policy stimulus. You sure we are paying for Division 1 government?!!

3. HDB flats will be priced cheaper from now on – It should never have been so expensive in the first place. HDB flats cost only $50K – $70K per unit to build!!!

4. IRs will not be bailed out by the govt coffers – Yah, they will send in GLC like Capitaland to take over the projects and Capitaland largest shareholder is the government!

5. More goodies will be introduced soon to offset the current recession. – PAP is planning to do a GE soon to get their bloody “mandate”

6. ERP charges will come down as soon as this month. – No need to be so fancy, putting up gantries and operating it costs taxpayers’ money.. Controlling the number of COEs is the most cost efficient way to managing the number of cars on the road.

17) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah on November 20th, 2008 10.12 am

Ya I can sense the anger here within me too.

Few things the TCs can do to appease the public:

1. Start to be more transparent in their accounting especially how much they have invested, losses against gains and any investment strategy.

2. Remove investment element totally our of the TC’s money as we don’t want any possible losses. If we can do with FDs and govt bonds, it shoud be enough to tide us through.

3. Stop collecting for a period so that the extra surplus capped can be creamed off. Start collecting once that surplus limit is breached.

4. Have a limit to how much surplus can be collected. $2 billion is simply too much a surplus to keep. When you have excess money, your mind wanders and you start to invest there and there. Half a billion surplus seems reasonable.

5. Use the surplus to help out those who have problem paying their S & C fees due to unemployment or other financial problem. CDCs can liaise with the TCs on this. An inclusive society will think of ways to help the poor instead of hoarding the extra money for investment.

6. Start a proper reporting practice. As of now, we all know that TCs report to the Ministry of National Devt but how the chain works is a mystery. Where does the buck stops when there is a big problem like now?

7. Stop collecting co-payment for lift upgrading when there is a huge surplus. Use the surplus to totally pay for such upgrading programme.

I hope change will start from within the govt as promised by PM just few day ago and that self-check is in place.

18) BL on November 20th, 2008 10.38 am

Change cannot come from within the PAP itself. Change must be forced by the people. If only every eligible Singaporean can get to exercise his vote, we will have a clearer picture of how much mandate the PAP can command.

Abolish gerrymandering and the stupid GRC scheme, and make every Minister/MP contest a ward on his own merit.

And give Singaporeans the chance to vote.

We own this country and we have a right to exercise our voice.

19) James on November 20th, 2008 11.33 am

Someone please verify on their claim that investments have profited them $24m before.

20) 253SA on November 20th, 2008 11.40 am

Folks, I don’t see the need to get so upset over this Town Council/PAP thing. We’ve been getting “sheet” from the ruling party since they invented colour telesion, but you know what? Come GE time, bloody lightning will win hands down! For sure, the “lighting gang” will get an odd blood stain on their otherwise pristine white shirts and white trousers, but on the whole, no bodily harm will come to them, regardless.

Are Serangoon Gardens residents going to unanimously send their GRC MPs packing after the dormitory business? Don’t think so. Are Bukit Panjang residents going to tell Teo Ho Pin to fly his Lehman Brothers kite? Don’t bet on it. Singaporeans are like England football supporters : never won anything for 40 years, yet will sell the house and dump the family just to watch the team play anywhere in the world. What’s worse though is that the players are laughing all the way to their bank.

So, why waste your time ranting?

21) tiredsingaporean on November 20th, 2008 11.48 am

I am just tired, tired and very tired of all these rubbish from this papees party, we hear new dirts almost every week as the people continue digging and digging out all their hidings, its been 40+ years the singaporeans were being played left right centre by these ruffians. Ain’t you people not tired of all these LIES after LIES? I am not into supporting any other parties but I am very clear now that this present one have to go for good, the citizens cannot afford to let you continuing screwing them up their lives anymore. Enough is Enough!

22) 253SA on November 20th, 2008 12.14 pm

Just 3 months before GE day, you will discover that :

(a) the traffic cops won’t book you for running a red light or issue summons despite you parking illegally

(b) your town council cleaners are cleaning up your estate day and night

(c) someone will actually answer the phone at a government agency and be polite to you instead of giving you the runaround

(d) someone will actually replace that faulty corridor light which has been out since the last GE

(e) your CPF account has a bit more money, and its not from your salary

(f) COE rates will mysteriously fall and car prices are suddenly reasonable

Sounds familar? I’m sure you know who won the last time.

Moving forward, I think the next GE will see, on top of what I’ve listed earlier :

- a unexplained drop in ERP rates
    - town council cleaners coming to clean your house, and ask you if you need them to come another time
    - ntuc fairprice will offer 50% discounts on their housebrands
    - dbs/posbank announcing a tripling interest rate increase for their deposits

End of the day : tick the box with the lightning

23) Blind man on November 20th, 2008 12.37 pm

Hi there

How do we know that they lost this amount in the Leman investment ?
    Where can wefind this INVESTMENT FOOTPRINT if we want to look outside the Straits times that reported this LOSS

Could this amount be more instead ? Why is there a need to disclose this information SUDDENLY ??

Also should the amount loss be returned to the Singaporean public as we did not agree for this money to be taken in an investment ?? I know the casino is stalled but the Lemans investment is as good as blackjack.

Also Town Councils should be “TOWN COUNCILS”, you should look after the place that we live in and not be fund managers with access PUBLIC funds.

Also why do you have obsence access funds while there are people out there who cannot afford to pay the montly charges and have to pay a penalty?

Do you think this is right ? where you raise the charges and people get poorer and they pay fines because they cannot afford to pay the monthy charges……

This is a sad state of affairs I must say. Best thing you can do right now is to have a REAL INDEPENDENT ENQUIRY and report the findings back to the SIngaporeans.

Last but not least, do whats right. Return the access money back to the people…..and stop doing investments period.

Times are already bad and this is making matters WORSE. It’s ok to lose your own money, but its not OK to lose the Publics money.

We all the statements by the different PAP MP’s, it really goes to show Singapore CANNOT have dominant one party ruling.

TOC, if its not too much to ask, can you have a website in the other local languages, this is to raise PUBLIC awareness for the folks that are fluent in other local languages.

To the contributors of TOC, my hats off to you for bringing Singaporeans together.

Its just a website, but it has evolved into a reliable content provider

24) saga on November 20th, 2008 1.03 pm

On 15th September 2007, according to Channel NewsAsia, the HDB said the following with regards to the new flats in Punggol:

… 81 percent of residents said they were willing to pay more for service and conservancy to enjoy the new flat designs. About half of them said they were willing to pay above S$10 more than the usual rates.

And on 5 May 2008, Aljunied Town Council even wanted to raise S&C for the “dirtiest precints”:

Officials also said they will consider raising the conservancy charges for the dirtiest precincts to cover the extra work that goes into maintaining them …

Later, after some public outcry, the town council backtracked and said they never intended to raise S&C at all but that they were going to have the dirtiest precints cleaned more frequently instead.
    =============================================================
    for the punggol issue, who conducted the surveys? why results not release? i dun think that anyone would want any increase at all for now. also, what new flats design? they just give you choice A or B and you choose? don’t they understand?

For dirty precincts, why is it dirty? they should find and evaluate the issue. they backtracked becoz they kena F by the public. is it the aljunied grc? i think next elections sure gone. They just know how to raise prices and keep their coffers happy. oops, scholars again???

25) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah on November 20th, 2008 1.58 pm

Saga

YA this is a sad revelation and my fear is that there are many other issues that may be not very transparent.

It is long suspected that we are overpaying for new HDB flats even though Mah BT has strongly advocated that the flats are priced reasonably.

How one can pay $600,000 for a brand new HDB flat even though it is in the red hot Tg Pagar area is still beyond me. I believed that many Singaporeans are tricked here into overpaying for their prized possessions and have to work their socks off to repay back those HDB loans. We may be in for a shock if we have chance to dive into those accounts.

GIC and Temesak Holdings have all along help to invest the country’s surplus money on the country’s behalf but they behave like private entities. Their accounts are hidden from the public eyes in the interest of national security and it is very difficult to believe that our government is transparent here. Mind you it is not the government’s money but it belongs to the whole nation but the way the govt acted it is as though the money belongs to them.

Social service now increasingly gets quite alot of money as as when the population ages we need more money to set up social welfare programmes for them. Nevertheless, much still needs to be done here. The really poor and out are seldom mentioned and sometimes they are there but could not have access to aid due to various barriers set up. They tend to fall through the social net so call.

I have always said that we are a rich country but the population remains poor due to the constant hike in cost of services. I believe at least half of our income goes to paying for utilities, services and fixed bills tha twe only have the other to spend.

26) NORTHGATE2007 on November 20th, 2008 2.53 pm

Wonder why Pinky Wants to bring early Budget? and also the Election news…

27) Zheng Xi on November 20th, 2008 4.45 pm

Hi Blind Man,

We tried translating a few of our articles into mandarin before, but had problems with maintainning the consistency of it because of a lack of resources: we only had one translator. If you know anyone who’d like to help us on a voluntary basis we would be very happy to take him on.

Interesting to note that the Auditor General’s report on the MInistries and the Stat boards under their care does not include TCs.

28) ET on November 20th, 2008 4.56 pm

Why dun they do a “NKF” similar cleanup on the town councils? And why the difference between the town councils for the amount collected? Transparency should and must be given to the residents for the usage of the funds since they are the contributors…treat each town council like a company where the shareholders are the residents and the board of this company shall be made answerable…it can serve two purposes, check and balance as well as community engagement!

29) leo on November 20th, 2008 5.21 pm

lim peh use your money invest and make money for you = you should be thankful

lim peh invest in non-principle fund and loss everthing = you also should be thankful

why? why? why?

because … who’s your daddy? lim peh lah!

LIM PEH CAN SAY ANYTHING I WANT, SO YOU BETTER BE THANKFUL!

30) James on November 20th, 2008 8.03 pm

Would they take the citizen’s call to stop investments as yet another excuse to raise charges and taxes?

31) rebel peasant on November 20th, 2008 9.50 pm

I think they would. To them,any way which does not hurt their already overflowing pockets is a good solution. Then when people ask,they’ll just say that’s it’s our fault for “not being grateful”.

If only I could vote….I am only in sec school…damn.

32) DARTH VADER on November 21st, 2008 2.59 am

Our leaders travel around the world showing off how wealthy they are and live in 5 Star hotels at the taxpayers expense.

Monthly they collect huge salaries to justify their contribution to be so called voted in leaders. And they show such disdain for the poor. It is a sad day for all singaporeans to finally realise the simple truths that they are not what they semm to be. Government of the people for the people but really for themselves.

They dont seem to have any guity conscience.Thank god I am not one of them and never will. I have never voted for the PAP and never will. Even on my dying bed I will not. They truly stand for Pay And Pay, Pain and Pain And Pray And Pray that the day will come when they will have to Pay for their Pains that they have caused to all singaporeans.

Please dont associate yourselves with all of us. What goes around comes around in due course.

33) hitachi08 on November 21st, 2008 12.11 pm

PAP MP is not only stupid, but idiotic as well …

34) hitachi08 on November 21st, 2008 12.25 pm

our TC practice remind me of NKF …

there are so many similiarities

- huge reserve (more than what they need)
    - no transparency
    - overcharge in fee
    - no apology no guilt no accountability

the only differences?

- NKF by TT durai –> charged & jailed
    - TC by PAP —> honest mistake, lets move on

35) Q on November 21st, 2008 1.19 pm

YES Let’s not be fooled by them again! They never have the hearts to serve the people in the first place!

36) 59er on November 21st, 2008 7.00 pm

Quote gemami

“I don’t think it is as simple as self-checks anymore. There have been too many things that had been left unchecked and are only now surfacing. How much more we do not know?

This is the result of our own misplaced trust in a govt who had been able to sweet-talk its way into our hearts, minds and souls.

There have to be checks and these checks have to be made by the people of Singapore. We must now demand full disclosure.

Everything they invested in and how they perform have to be laid out in the open.
    There is no longer any choice.

Singaporeans have lost their trust and faith in the PAP govt. Even their most ardent supporters are beginning to lose faith in them, what more you and I, whose eyes have been opened to their rubbishy promises all along.”
    —————
    I agreed totally with what gemami said. For decades we have supported the PAP govt fully in their decisions and activities, many a times against our personal interest as well as better judgement.

I quote from LKY’s memoir-From Third World to First, page 143
    “Our critics believed we stayed in power because we have been hard on our opponents. This is simplistic. If we had betrayed the people’s trust, we would have been rejected.”

Yes, the PAP have betrayed the people’s trust, and I question their legitimacy to govern.

37) hitachi08 on November 21st, 2008 8.28 pm

LKY is history …

looks at what people say of him in sg forum –> “LKY when are you going to die?”

thats what the younger generation think of him, remember him, and pass down to the future generation

it makes me sad reading that forum topic

38) logicalman on November 21st, 2008 9.57 pm

No. 10 Jackson Tan “How many more TCs has yet to declared their involvement in these investments? Until then, I suppose it is justified for us to claim that these TCs lost up to 35% of their sinking funds”

At least we know it’s 35%. For Temasek and GIC, how big and deep their losses have been, no one knows. Any wonder why the old guard still has to literally guard these closely? He’s not working hard for Singapore, just trying to preserve his reputation as long as he can.

I think we should also seriously support the next Elected President challenger to PAP’s pick. I don’t believe self-checks will work. If so, there’s no need for external auditing for business and corporations, and yes, like a regular poster’s pseudonym, pigs can fly

39) logicalman on November 21st, 2008 10.01 pm

No. 13 What can $12 million do? “putting up mega posters of PAP MPs beaming down at us during major festivals”

They look more like they are laughing at us and looking down at us, hapless citizens useful only for fattening their paychecks.

40) logicalman on November 21st, 2008 10.18 pm

No. 36 59er “If we had betrayed the people’s trust, we would have been rejected”

Let’s give LKY credit. He said “We”. Indeed, “we” refers to the old guards who have passed away; they are a mostly respectable group. Now, whatever track record and accomplishments Singapore had did not come about through LKY alone, the new generation of PAP leaders or the current President. This tripartite can look us in the face and ask us whether we accept them, and what they will get is a resounding “Phui!”

41) TC on November 21st, 2008 10.54 pm

I’m getting increasingly furious at the ruling party, at the hubris, at their increasing arrogance, at how they are looking at themselves, forgetting that they are elected to SERVE, not to LORD it over the people. I can’t believe my eyes when that guy who lost $8m can say that the people should be thankful to them for making money over the last 5 years with the sinking funds. I can’t believe it when GCT 4 months ago says that people should monitor Hougang TC’s accounts carefully and it turns out that its their OWN TCs that are playing fast and loose with the people’s money, AND no one comes out to apologise or be held accountable for it. I can’t believe it when the government would rather take the side of the banks (read: big business) against the people. I can’t believe it when after all the fiascos under this one-party, no-accountability, no-transparency system, they can say that the one party system is still the only system for Singapore. I can’t believe it when the people continue to take all these thrown their way, hook, line and sinker.

And the worst part? I will predict that come next GE, people will still fear “rocking the boat” and will dutifully tick the box next to the lightning sign, and nothing will change, and I will still say even then that I can’t believe it.

Not to be cliche, but I need change I can believe in.

But I despair that I will ever see it in this lifetime.

Un-f-ing-believeable.

42) Teo Hopeless Pin on November 22nd, 2008 7.39 am

The PAP has lost touch with reality. That is what happens when you pay people astronomical salaries. They no longer understand what the common man goes through. They have become arrogant and only see themselves as an elite taking care of a dumb and incapable populace. People like Teo Ho Pin have learnt the art of arrogance well from his master, LKY.

43) sick on November 22nd, 2008 12.29 pm

I was so naive in thinking that our TC don’t have much money for the montly budget.How wrong i was.They even have surplus to play the stockmarket.What is our elected opposition going to do?absolutly nothing.Like President Obama say,time for a change.

44) tiredsingaporean on November 22nd, 2008 12.48 pm

With all these ugly things already discovered by the people, how much more are still tightly hidden? We cannot just stop here, the digging have to be continual. Even if we cannot get rid of these idiots in GE, we will ensure that the 66.6% be down to 50/50 at least to get in more alternative parties to represent the people’s accountants in parliament. These garments are already too good with their backdoor activities all these years and the people must not let them do what thay like anymore.

45) Teo Hopeless Pin on November 22nd, 2008 1.53 pm

So at the next GE, let’s all do our best to encourage those who will be able to vote to cast a vote against the PAP.

46) SimpleAsThat on November 22nd, 2008 2.38 pm

Teo Ho Pin should be thankful he is drawing high salary from the people.

Simple as that.

47) jefj0901 on November 24th, 2008 10.50 pm

$16 million dollars went up in smoke and we only got to know it after the egg turned bad. At least we got to know of it.. I didn’t know TC could invest in risk investments which apparently it did . I mean we should know of this before they make a decision in investing..At least now we can see whats cooking in our govt backyard..

48) tiredsingaporean on November 24th, 2008 11.01 pm

It feel so sick that so many citizens are fighting like mad just barely to make ends meet while the TCs illegally losses the 16millions of our taxpayers monies and still can say its just a few percentage only, and worst when those who are jobless or being retrenched and cannot afford to pay their monthly dues, these TCs just throw them in court and further slapped them with another fines, where do you want them to find that extra $$$ to pay the fines when they already unable to pay their SC&C charges? you are just driving the people to their graves!!!!

49) aiyoyo on November 28th, 2008 6.46 pm

aiyoyo

do anyone know who are being interviewed???

aiyoyo

Leave a comment

Bottom